DETAILED ACTION
This is a response to the Amendment to Application # 17/885,300 filed on April 8, 2026 in which claims 1, 4, 10, 13, 19, and 105 were amended.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 4-10, 13-19, and 105-108 are pending, which are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed March 12, 2026 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 C.F.R. § 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because it includes duplicative documents that have been cited on the previous information disclosure statement dated August 10, 2022 and the Notice of References Cited dated July 15, 2024. It has been placed in the application file, but the stricken information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 C.F.R. § 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Therefore, Applicant’s statement under 37 C.F.R. § 1.97(3) that none of these references were known more than three months prior to the filing of this information disclosure statement that was included on the information disclosure statement dated March 13, 2026 is a materially false statement on the record.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-10, 13, 15-19, and 105-108 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ben Shalom et al., US Publication 2015/0210276 (hereinafter Ben Shalom), as cited on Notice of References Cited dated July 15, 2024, in view of Sajjadi Mohammadabadi et al., US Publication 2020/0293796 (hereinafter Sajjadi Mohammadabadi).
Regarding claim 1, Ben Shalom discloses a system for navigating a vehicle, the system comprising “at least one processor comprising circuitry and a memory.” (Ben Shalom ¶ 85). Additionally, Ben Shalom discloses “wherein the memory includes instructions that when executed by the circuitry cause the at least one processor to: receive a first image frame acquired by an image capture device” (Ben Shalom ¶ 127) where the forward facing cameras (i.e., image capture devices) may receive images. Further, Ben Shalom discloses “wherein the first image frame is representative of an environment of the vehicle, the environment including at least one traffic light” (Ben Shalom ¶ 79) where the images are representative of a traffic light above the vehicle (i.e., in an environment of the vehicle). Moreover, Ben Shalom discloses “detect in the first image frame a representation of the at least one traffic light” (Ben Shalom ¶ 315) where traffic lights are determined from a set of images and includes determining a color associated with the traffic light. Likewise, Ben Shalom discloses “receive a second frame and a third acquired by the image capture device, wherein the second image frame and the third image frame include representations of the at least one traffic light” (Ben Shalom ¶ 315) by analyzing “a series of acquired images” (i.e., second and third image frames) of the traffic light. Ben Shalom also discloses “determine motion information indicating a motion of the vehicle between a time when the first image frame was acquired and subsequent times when the second image frame and the third image frame were acquired, the motion information including at least a distance traveled by the host vehicle between the time when the first image frame was acquired and the subsequent times” (Ben Shalom ¶ 284) by detecting that the vehicle has traveled 10 meters between the captured images frames.
In addition, Ben Shalom discloses “determine, based on the motion information and a location in the first image frame of the representation of the at least one traffic light, expected locations of the representations of the at least one traffic light in the first second image frame and the third image frame” (Ben Shalom ¶ 155) by “track[ing] the candidate objects,” which is determining a position of the object in each analyzed frame (including the at least one additional image frame), and using the data such as position relative to vehicle 200 (i.e., the motion information) and a “location[] in the images likely to contain traffic lights.” Ben Shalom discloses that the candidate objects may be traffic lights. (Ben Shalom ¶ 167).
Furthermore, Ben Shalom discloses “extract subsections of the second image frame and the third image frame based on expected locations” (Ben Shalom ¶ 314) by analyzing only the locations representative of the individual traffics lights, those locations must necessarily have been selected (i.e., extracted1) from the remainder of the image. This is based on their expected locations or the system would not know what locations to extract. Moreover, Ben Shalom discloses “determine, based on a comparison of at least a portion of the first image frame and the extracted subsections, that the at least one traffic light includes a blinking lamp” (Ben Shalom ¶ 315) by determining that the traffic light is flashing based on comparing the images to determine that a first image is “illuminated” and a second image is “darkened.” The images include the detected traffic lights and, thus, include the expected locations of those traffic lights. Likewise, Ben Shalom discloses “determine a color state associated with the blinking lamp” (Ben Shalom ¶ 315) by determining a color associated with the lamp. Finally, Ben Shalom discloses “based on the determination that the at least one traffic light includes the a blinking lamp and the color state of the blinking lamp, cause the vehicle to implement a navigational action relative the at least one traffic light” (Ben Shalom ¶ 316) by causing a system response based on the status of the traffic light, which includes both the color and blinking status.
Ben Shalom does not appear to explicitly disclose that “the expected locations being determined based on expected changes in image coordinates corresponding to the distance traveled by the host vehicle” or “wherein the comparison includes providing the at least a portion of the first image frame and the extracted subsections to a trained model.”
However, Sajjadi Mohammadabadi discloses a method for detecting objections at an intersection, including traffic lights (Sajjadi Mohammadabadi ¶ 38), that predicts pixels corresponding to bounding boxes (i.e., expected locations) of the items, wherein “the expected locations being determined based on expected changes in image coordinates corresponding to the distance traveled by the host vehicle” (Sajjadi Mohammadabadi ¶ 77) where the predictions are adjusted (i.e., the expected locations are determined) based on prior predictions (i.e., using expected changes), the prior predictions being bounding box coordinates 108, using (i.e., corresponding to) motion information between consecutive images (i.e., the distance traveled by the host vehicle).
Additionally, Sajjadi Mohammadabadi discloses “wherein the comparison includes providing the at least a portion of the first image frame and the extracted subsections to a trained model” (Sajjadi Mohammadabadi 56, 73) where the trained model receives input values associated with the sensors, which may be cameras (Sajjadi Mohammadabadi ¶ 22) and post-processed data (Sajjadi Mohammadabadi ¶ 56). The post-processed data are “extracted subsections” because it is generated by performing functions, such as filtering, on the images that results in a portion of the image. (Sajjadi Mohammadabadi ¶ 73).
Ben Shalom and Sajjadi Mohammadabadi are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor,” namely that of traffic light detection systems.
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Ben Shalom and Sajjadi Mohammadabadi before him or her to modify the general action of detecting an expected position of the traffic light of Ben Shalom to include the specific method for detecting an expected position of the traffic light of Sajjadi Mohammadabadi.
The motivation/rationale for doing so would have been that of applying a known technique to a known device. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (U.S. 2007) and MPEP § 2143(I)(D). Ben Shalom teaches the “base device” for detecting a traffic light based on an expected location. Further, Sajjadi Mohammadabadi teaches the “known technique” for detecting a traffic light based on an expected location where the expected location is “determined based on expected changes in image coordinates corresponding to the distance traveled by the host vehicle” that is applicable to the base device of Ben Shalom. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system.
Regarding claim 10, it merely recites a method implemented by the system of claim 1. The method comprises computer software modules for performing the various functions. The combination of Ben Shalom and Sajjadi Mohammadabadi comprises computer software modules for performing the same functions. Thus, claim 10 is rejected using the same rationale set forth in the above rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, it merely recites a non-transitory computer readable medium embodying the system of claim 1. The medium comprises computer software modules for performing the various functions. The combination of Ben Shalom and Sajjadi Mohammadabadi comprises computer software modules for performing the same functions. Thus, claim 19 is rejected using the same rationale set forth in the above rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claims 4, 13, and 105, the combination of Ben Shalom and Sajjadi Mohammadabadi discloses the limitations contained in parent claims 1, 10, and 19 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Ben Shalom and Sajjadi Mohammadabadi discloses “wherein the trained model is a long short term memory (LSTM) network” (Sajjadi Mohammadabadi ¶ 55).
Regarding claims 6, 15, and 106, the combination of Ben Shalom and Sajjadi Mohammadabadi discloses the limitations contained in parent claims 1, 10, and 19 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Ben Shalom and Sajjadi Mohammadabadi discloses “wherein the navigational action includes stopping of the vehicle in response to a determination that the at least one traffic light includes a blinking lamp having a red color state” (Ben Shalom ¶ 315) where the light may be recognized to be flashing (i.e., blinking) and have any of a color red, yellow, or green.
Regarding claims 7, 16, and 107, the combination of Ben Shalom and Sajjadi Mohammadabadi discloses the limitations contained in parent claims 1, 10, and 19 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Ben Shalom and Sajjadi Mohammadabadi discloses “wherein the navigational action includes slowing of the vehicle in response to a determination that the at least one traffic light includes a blinking lamp having a yellow color state” (Ben Shalom ¶ 315) where the light may be recognized to be flashing (i.e., blinking) and have any of a color red, yellow, or green.
Regarding claims 8 and 17, the combination of Ben Shalom and Sajjadi Mohammadabadi discloses the limitations contained in parent claims 1 and 10 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Ben Shalom and Sajjadi Mohammadabadi discloses “wherein the navigational action includes causing the vehicle to yield in response to a determination that the at least one traffic light includes a blinking lamp having a yellow color state and wherein the blinking lamp includes a directional arrow” (Ben Shalom ¶¶ 315-316) where the light may be recognized to be flashing (i.e., blinking) and having a directional arrow.
Regarding claims 9, 18, and 108, the combination of Ben Shalom and Sajjadi Mohammadabadi discloses the limitations contained in parent claims 1, 10, and 19 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Ben Shalom and Sajjadi Mohammadabadi discloses “wherein the navigational action includes causing the vehicle to yield in response to a determination that the at least one traffic light includes a blinking lamp having a green color state” (Ben Shalom ¶ 315) where the light may be recognized to be flashing (i.e., blinking) and have any of a color red, yellow, or green.
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ben Shalom in view of Sajjadi Mohammadabadi, as applied to claims 4 and 13 above, and in further view of Steven Parker; What binary number represents off?; January 6, 2016; Treehouse Community; Pages 1-2, as cited on the Notice of References Cited dated July 15, 2025.
Regarding claims 5 and 14, the combination of Ben Shalom and Sajjadi Mohammadabadi discloses the limitations contained in parent claims 4 and 13 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Ben Shalom and Sajjadi Mohammadabadi does not appear to explicitly disclose “wherein the LSTM network is configured to output for each of the one or more lamps included in the at least one traffic light a logical "0" if the no blinking is detected and a logical "1" if blinking is detected.”
However, Parker discloses that the generally accepted convention is that 0 represents “off” while 1 represents “on.” (Parker 2). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that when Parker was combined with Ben Shalom and Sajjadi Mohammadabadi, that no blinking would be represented by 0 because blinking is “off,” while blinking would be represented by 1 because blinking is “on.” Therefore the combination of Ben Shalom, Sajjadi Mohammadabadi, and Parker at least teaches and/or suggests the claimed limitation “wherein the LSTM network is configured to output for each of the one or more lamps included in the at least one traffic light a logical "0" if the no blinking is detected and a logical "1" if blinking is detected,” rendering it obvious.
Ben Shalom, Sajjadi Mohammadabadi, and Parker are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor,” namely that of computer programming.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Ben Shalom and Sajjadi Mohammadabadi and Parker before him or her to modify the assignment of values of the LSTM of Ben Shalom and Sajjadi Mohammadabadi to include the use of 0 for “off” and 1 for “on” of Parker.
The motivation for doing so would have been that such an assignment follows the generally accepted convention of programmers. (Parker 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 8, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the combination of Ben Shalom and Sajjadi Mohammadabadi does not disclose “wherein the comparison includes providing the at least a portion of the first image frame and the extracted subsections to a trained model.” (Remarks 10). Specifically, Applicant argues that Sajjadi Mohammadabadi merely generally discloses the use of an LSTM. (Remarks 10-11). The examiner disagrees.
As discussed in the rejection above, Sajjadi Mohammadabadi discloses this limitation. Specifically, Sajjadi Mohammadabadi discloses the use of a machine learning model, which had previously been disclosed to be a trained machine learning model (Sajjadi Mohammadabadi Abstract), that receives as input both sensor data and post-process data. (Sajjadi Mohammadabadi ¶ 56). Thus, Sajjadi Mohammadabadi discloses “wherein the comparison includes providing the at least a portion of the first data and the second data to a trained model.”
Further, Sajjadi Mohammadabadi discloses that the sensors may be cameras. (Sajjadi Mohammadabadi ¶ 22). As a result, Sajjadi Mohammadabadi discloses “wherein the comparison includes providing the at least a portion of the first image frame and the second data to a trained model.”
Finally, Sajjadi Mohammadabadi discloses that the post-process data is obtained by performing functions on the image data, such as filtering. (Sajjadi Mohammadabadi ¶ 73). A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that when a filter is applied to the image, the non-filtered portions are being “extracted” within the plain and ordinary meaning of the term. Therefore, Sajjadi Mohammadabadi discloses “wherein the comparison includes providing the at least a portion of the first image frame and the extracted subsections to a trained model” and Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 C.F.R. § 1.136(a).
/ANDREW R DYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662
1 “Extract.” Merriam-Webster.com Dictionary, Merriam-Webster, www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/extract. Accessed 6 Feb. 2020, Page 2.