DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office action is in response to the amendments filed on December 30, 2025. Claims 97-119 are currently pending, Claims 97, 103-104, and 117-119 being amended.
Response to Amendments
Regarding amendments, submitted December 30, 2025, the Examiner maintains the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Applicant’s arguments pertaining to the teachings of Shashua pertaining to determining relevant traffic signs to each path (see page 10 of instant arguments), the Examiner is unpersuaded. Shashua teaches that the relevant local map and relevant landmarks in the vicinity of the vehicles may be stored in memory, and that relevant landmarks are determined, identified, and associated with a corresponding road segment relevant to a location in which the vehicle is traveling. In other words, Shashua teaches that a landmark is relevant to a lane segment on which the vehicle is traveling (see at least Paragraphs [0338], [0376], [0382], [0465]; Figures 11B, 22, 28 of Shashua).
Shashua further teaches that the system determines an offset (i.e. lateral or forward distance) between the vehicle and the landmark to determine if the vehicle is driving in the correct lane, and if the landmark is determined to be relevant to the vehicle path, the system uses the offset to correct the vehicle trajectory. In other words, Shashua teaches that a distance to a landmark is determined to determine relevant paths for the vehicle to take (see at least Paragraphs [0892]-[0893], [0897]-[0899], Figures 7B, 82B-C of Shashua). Schneider, in a similar field of endeavor, more explicitly teaches that relevant road signs are determined and utilized for vehicle navigation, but irrelevant signs associated with a secondary route are ignored (see at least Paragraphs [0011], [0032] of Schneider). Shashua, in view of Schneider, teaches that landmarks are identified, and filtered so as to use only landmarks relevant for navigation by determining how close the landmark is from the vehicle or from the current lane of travel. As such, Shashua, in view of Schneider, teaches the features of the claims as written. The Examiner is unpersuaded and maintains the corresponding rejections.
The remaining arguments are essentially the same as those addressed above and/or below and are unpersuasive for essentially the same reasons. Therefore, the corresponding rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 97-115 and 117-119 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0010618 A1, to Shashua, et al (hereinafter referred to as Shashua; previously of record), and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0180435 A1, to Schneider (hereinafter referred to as Schneider; previously of record).
As per Claim 97, and similarly for Claim 103, Shashua discloses the features of a system for navigating a host vehicle, the system comprising (e.g. Paragraphs [0008], [0165]; where the system may use crowd sourced data for autonomous vehicle navigation), the system comprising
at least one processor comprising circuitry and a memory, wherein the memory includes instructions (e.g. Paragraph [0375]; where sparse map (800) may be stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium provided onboard the vehicle, and a processor (e.g., processing unit (110) may access sparse map (800) stored in the storage device in order to generate navigational instructions for guiding the autonomous vehicles as it traverse a road segment), that when executed by the circuitry cause the of least one processer to:
receive an image acquired by at least one camera onboard the host vehicle as the host vehicle traverses a road segment (e.g. Paragraphs [0096], [0326], [0371], [0530], [0866]; where a road feature is captured by a camera onboard the vehicle; and where the system (100) may use two or more image capture devices (122 and 124) in providing navigation assistance, and processing unit (110) may combine the processed information derived from each of the image capture devices and determine visual indicators, vehicle location, etc.);
detect a representation of at least one traffic sign in the acquired image (e.g. Paragraph [0330]; where the image analysis module may include instructions for detecting a set of features within the set of images, such as lane markings, vehicles, pedestrians, road signs, highway exit ramps, traffic lights, hazardous objects, and any other feature associated with an environment of a vehicle);
access a crowd-sourced map generated based on drive information collected from a plurality of vehicles that previously traversed the road segment (e.g. Paragraphs [0438], [0616]; where the processing unit (110) may access one or more local maps corresponding to the road segment being traversed; where each vehicle may communicate with a remote server, and the server may process the collected data to generate an autonomous vehicle road navigation model, and the server may then transmit the collected data to the autonomous vehicle road navigation model or the update to the model to other vehicles that travel on the road segment at later times),
the crowd-source map including a plurality of drivable paths associated with road segment (e.g. Paragraphs [0017], [0380], [0509]; Figure 11C; where the sparse map may include representations of a plurality of target trajectories for guiding autonomous driving or navigation along a road segment (i.e. a plurality of drivable paths), and a target trajectory may be associated with a single lane of the common road segment, and the road navigation model may include a plurality of target trajectories, each associated with a separate lane; and where additional trajectories may be stored to representing intended paths of travel for vehicles in one or more lanes), wherein
the crowd-sourced map stores relevancy information indicating, for each individual drivable path of the plurality of drivable paths, whether the traffic sign is relevant to the individual drivable path (e.g. Paragraphs [0338], [0376], [0382], [0465], [0492]; Figures 11B, 22, 28; where the relevant local map and relevant landmarks in the vicinity of the vehicles may be stored in memory; and where landmarks are determined, identified, and associated with a corresponding road segment relevant to a location in which the vehicle is traveling (i.e. relevant to a path or plurality of driving paths)), wherein
the indication that the traffic sign is relevant to the individual drivable path is based on a distance in the crowd-sourced map between the individual drivable path and the traffic sign (e.g. Paragraphs [0892]-[0893], [0897]-[0899], [0931]; Figures 74, 77B, 82B-C; where the processor determines an offset between the vehicle and the at least one recognized landmark, and determines a lane assignment of the vehicle based on the indicator of the lateral offset distance between the vehicle and the landmark and a lane edge closest to the landmark to determine that a current lane assignment of the vehicle is correct (i.e. determines the distance to the relevant traffic signs based on the current path of the vehicle));
determine, based on the accessed crowd-sourced map, a drivable path of the plurality of paths along which the host vehicle is traveling (e.g. Paragraphs [0380], [0402], [0509]; Figure 11C; where the sparse map may include representations of a plurality of target trajectories for guiding autonomous driving or navigation along a road segment (i.e. a plurality of drivable paths); and where additional trajectories may be stored to representing intended paths of travel for vehicles in one or more lanes; and where the target trajectory may represent a preferred path of a host vehicle (i.e. at least one drivable path));
determine that the at least one traffic sign detected in the acquired image is relevant of the drivable path along which the host vehicle is traveling when the relevancy information indicates that the at least one traffic sign detected in the acquired image is relevant to the drivable path along which the host vehicle is traveling (e.g. Paragraphs [0067], [0428], [0535], [0579]; Figures 28, 33b, 40, 50; where the recognized landmark may be a stop line, traffic light, stop sign, etc.; where landmarks that are directly relevant to driving may include traffic signs, lane markings, traffic lights, stop lines, etc., and a tag of relevant landmarks derived from GPS coordinates and positioning may be stored and used to determine which data is relevant for navigation); and
in response to a determination that the at least one traffic sign detected in the acquired image is relevant to the drivable path along which the host vehicle is traveling, cause the host vehicle of take at least one navigational action relative to the at least one traffic sign (e.g. Paragraphs [0330], [0333]; where the system may cause one or more navigational responses in vehicle, such as a turn, a lane shift, a change in acceleration, and the like).
Schneider, in the same field of endeavor, more explicitly teaches the features of indicating that the traffic sign is relevant to at least a first path of the plurality of drivable paths; and determine that the at least one traffic sign detected in the acquired image is relevant of the drivable path along which the host vehicle is traveling.
Schneider teaches a method for determining relevant road data proximate to a vehicle’s trajectory, where the driver assistance system detects road signs on the main and secondary routes, but ignores actions associated with traveling on the secondary route (i.e. ignores irrelevant data) (e.g. Paragraphs [0011], [0032]; Claim 4).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the adaptive navigation system in Shashua, with the feature of determining where vehicles stopped in the system of Schneider in order to provide the most relevant information to the driver based on its current trajectory and location (see at least Paragraphs [0008] and [0010] of Schneider).
As per Claim 104, Shashua discloses the features of a non-transitory computer readable medium containing instructions, that when executed by at least one processor comprising circuitry and a memory, wherein the memory includes instructions (e.g. Paragraph [0375]; where sparse map (800) may be stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium provided onboard the vehicle, and a processor (e.g., processing unit (110) may access sparse map (800) stored in the storage device in order to generate navigational instructions for guiding the autonomous vehicles as it traverse a road segment), that when executed by the at least one processor, cause the of least one processer to perform operations comprising:
receiving an image acquired by at least one camera onboard the host vehicle as the host vehicle traverses a road segment (e.g. Paragraphs [0326], [0371]; where a road feature is captured by a camera onboard the vehicle; and where the system (100) may use two or mor image capture devices (122 and 124) in providing navigation assistance, and processing unit (110) may combine the processed information derived from each of the image capture devices and determine visual indicators, vehicle location, etc.);
detecting a representation of at least one traffic sign in the acquired image (e.g. Paragraph [0330]; where the image analysis module may include instructions for detecting a set of features within the set of images, such as lane markings, vehicles, pedestrians, road signs, highway exit ramps, traffic lights, hazardous objects, and any other feature associated with an environment of a vehicle);
accessing a crowd-sourced map generated based on drive information collected from a plurality of vehicles that previously traversed the road segment (e.g. Paragraphs [0438], [0616]; where the processing unit (110) may access one or more local maps corresponding to the road segment being traversed; where each vehicle may communicate with a remote server, and the server may process the collected data to generate an autonomous vehicle road navigation model, and the server may then transmit the collected data to the autonomous vehicle road navigation model or the update to the model to other vehicles that travel on the road segment at later times),
the crowd-source map including a plurality of drivable paths associated with road segment (e.g. Paragraphs [0017], [0380], [0509]; Figure 11C; where the sparse map may include representations of a plurality of target trajectories for guiding autonomous driving or navigation along a road segment (i.e. a plurality of drivable paths), and a target trajectory may be associated with a single lane of the common road segment, and the road navigation model may include a plurality of target trajectories, each associated with a separate lane; and where additional trajectories may be stored to representing intended paths of travel for vehicles in one or more lanes), wherein
the crowd-sourced map stores relevancy information indicating, for each individual drivable path of the plurality of paths, whether the traffic sign is relevant to at least the individual drivable path (e.g. Paragraphs [0067], [0428], [0535], [0579]; Figures 28, 33b, 40, 50; where the recognized landmark may be a stop line, traffic light, stop sign, etc.; where landmarks that are directly relevant to driving may include traffic signs, lane markings, traffic lights, stop lines, etc., and a tag of relevant landmarks derived from GPS coordinates and positioning may be stored and used to determine which data is relevant for navigation), wherein
the indication that the traffic sign is relevant to the individual drivable path is based on a distance in the crowd-sourced map between the individual drivable path and the traffic sign (e.g. Paragraphs [0892]-[0893], [0897]-[0899], [0931]; Figures 74, 77B, 82B-C; where the processor determines an offset between the vehicle and the at least one recognized landmark, and determines a lane assignment of the vehicle based on the indicator of the lateral offset distance between the vehicle and the landmark and a lane edge closest to the landmark to determine that a current lane assignment of the vehicle is correct (i.e. determines the distance to the relevant traffic signs based on the current path of the vehicle));
determining, based on the accessed crowd-sourced map, a drivable path of the plurality of paths along which the host vehicle is traveling (e.g. .g. Paragraphs [0380], [0402], [0509]; Figure 11C; where the sparse map may include representations of a plurality of target trajectories for guiding autonomous driving or navigation along a road segment (i.e. a plurality of drivable paths); and where additional trajectories may be stored to representing intended paths of travel for vehicles in one or more lanes; and where the target trajectory may represent a preferred path of a host vehicle (i.e. at least one drivable path));
determining that the at least one traffic sign detected in the acquired image is relevant of the drivable path along which the host vehicle is traveling when the relevancy information indicates that the at least one traffic sign detected in the acquired image is relevant to the drivable path along which the host vehicle is traveling (e.g. Paragraphs [0067], [0428], [0535], [0579]; Figures 28, 33b, 40, 50; where the recognized landmark may be a stop line, traffic light, stop sign, etc.; where landmarks that are directly relevant to driving may include traffic signs, lane markings, traffic lights, stop lines, etc., and a tag of relevant landmarks derived from GPS coordinates and positioning may be stored and used to determine which data is relevant for navigation); and
in response to a determination that the at least one traffic sign detected in the acquired image is relevant to the drivable path along which the host vehicle is traveling, causing the host vehicle of take at least one navigational action relative to the at least one traffic sign (e.g. Paragraphs [0330], [0333]; where the system may cause one or more navigational responses in vehicle, such as a turn, a lane shift, a change in acceleration, and the like).
Schneider, in the same field of endeavor, more explicitly teaches the features of indicating that the traffic sign is relevant to at least a first path of the plurality of drivable paths; and determine that the at least one traffic sign detected in the acquired image is relevant of the drivable path along which the host vehicle is traveling. Schneider teaches a method for determining relevant road data proximate to a vehicle’s trajectory, where the driver assistance system detects road signs on the main and secondary routes, but ignores actions associated with traveling on the secondary route (i.e. ignores irrelevant data) (e.g. Paragraphs [0011], [0032]; Claim 4).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the adaptive navigation system in Shashua, with the feature of determining where vehicles stopped in the system of Schneider in order to provide the most relevant information to the driver based on its current trajectory and location (see at least Paragraphs [0008] and [0010] of Schneider).
As per Claim 98, and similarly for Claims 105 and 110, Shashua, in view of Schneider, teaches the features of Claims 97, 103, and 104, respectively, and Schneider further teaches the features of wherein the memory further includes instructions that, when executed by the circuitry, cause the at least one processor to: in response to a determination that the at least one traffic sign detected in the acquired image is not relevant of a drivable path along which the host vehicle is traveling, cause the host vehicle to forego a navigational response relative to the at least one traffic sign.
Schneider teaches a method for determining relevant road data proximate to a vehicle’s trajectory, where the driver assistance system detects road signs on the main and secondary routes, but ignores actions associated with traveling on the secondary route (i.e. ignores irrelevant data) (e.g. Paragraphs [0011], [0032]; Claim 4).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the adaptive navigation system in Shashua, with the feature of determining where vehicles stopped in the system of Schneider in order to provide the most relevant information to the driver.
As per Claim 99, and similarly for Claim 106 and 111, Shashua, in view of Schneider, teaches the features of Claims 97, 103, and 104, respectively, and Shashua further discloses the features of
wherein the at least one traffic sign is a stop sign (e.g. Paragraphs [0382], [0391], [0392]; where map data may include data relating to a plurality of predetermined landmarks (820) associated with a particular road segment; and where the landmarks may include traffic signs, directional signs, general signs), and
the at least one navigational action includes braking the host vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0316], [0333], [0741]; where the system (100) may provide control signals to one or more of the throttling system (220), the braking system (230), and steering system (240) to navigate the vehicle; and where the vehicle may automatically control the braking, acceleration, or steering; and where braking of the vehicle may be initiated a certain distance from recognized landmarks, such as a stop line, a traffic light, a stop sign, a sharp curve, etc.,);
As per Claim 100, and similarly for Claims 107 and 112, Shashua, in view of Schneider, teaches the features of Claims 97, 103, and 104, respectively, and Shashua further discloses the features of
wherein the at least one traffic sign is a yield sign (e.g. Paragraphs [0382], [0391], [0392]; where map data may include data relating to a plurality of predetermined landmarks (820) associated with a particular road segment; and where the landmarks may include traffic signs, directional signs, general signs), and
the at least one navigational action includes braking the host vehicle and changing a heading direction of the host vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0316], [0333], [0741]; where the vehicle may automatically control the braking, acceleration, or steering; and where braking of the vehicle may be initiated a certain distance from recognized landmarks, such as a stop line, a traffic light, a stop sign, a sharp curve, etc., and the system may cause one ore mor navigational responses such as a turn, lane shift, and change in acceleration).
As per Claim 101, and similarly for Claims 108 and 113, Shashua, in view of Schneider, teaches the features of Claims 97, 103, and 104, respectively, and Shashua further discloses the features of wherein the drivable path is stored in the crowd-sourced map as a three-dimensional spline (e.g. Paragraph [0370], [0380]; where the sparce map (800) may include representations of a plurality of target trajectories (810) for guiding the autonomous driving or navigation along a road segment, and may be stored as three-dimensional splines).
As per Claim 102, and similarly for Claims 109 and 114, Shashua, in view of Schneider, teaches the features of Claims 97, 103, and 104, respectively, and Shashua further discloses the features of wherein the plurality of drivable paths stored in the crowd- sourced map are determined by aggregating driving paths followed by the plurality of vehicles that previously traversed the road segment (e.g. Paragraphs [0401], [0404]; where the representation of the target trajectory include in sparse map (800) may be an aggregation of two or more reconstructed trajectories of prior traversals of vehicles along the same road segment).
As per Claim 115, Shashua, in view of Schneider, teaches the features of Claim 97, and Schneider further teaches the features of wherein the relevancy information further indicates that the traffic sign is not relevant to at least a second path of the plurality of drivable paths and wherein the memory further includes instructions that when executed by the circuitry cause the at least one processor to determine, based on the relevancy information that the traffic sign is not relevant to the second path.
Schneider teaches a method for determining relevant road data proximate to a vehicle’s trajectory, where the driver assistance system detects road signs on the main and secondary routes, but ignores actions associated with traveling on the secondary route (i.e. ignores irrelevant data) (e.g. Paragraphs [0011], [0032]; Claim 4).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the adaptive navigation system in Shashua, with the feature of determining where vehicles stopped in the system of Schneider in order to provide the most relevant information to the driver based on its current trajectory and location (see at least Paragraphs [0008] and [0010] of Schneider).
As per Claim 117, Shashua, in view of Schneider, teaches the features of Claim 97, and Shashua further discloses the features of wherein the relevancy information is determined based on a comparison of positions of the traffic sign in the crowd- sourced map with positions of one or more road features in the crowd- sourced map (e.g. Paragraphs [0072], [0371], [0772], [0814]; where the road features each have a digital signature, which is compared to the signature of the road feature that is captured by a camera onboard a vehicle traveling along the same road segment at a subsequent time, to determine if the image data associated with the road feature is locally unique in the area; and the processing unit (110) may determine the location of the vehicle by comparing the determined local feature and the stored road signature (i.e. compares position of a road feature against landmarks and the digital signature to determine position information)).
As per Claim 118, Shashua, in view of Schneider, teaches the features of Claim 97, and Shashua further discloses the features of wherein the relevancy information is determined based on a proximity of the traffic sign in the crowd-sourced map to the one or more road features in the crowd-sourced map (e.g. Paragraphs [0371], [0785]-[0786]; where the combination of known lengths for specific segments (e.g., typically close to an intersection) together with statistics regarding consistent segment lengths and spacing are used to determine the signatures for road features to determine if the signatures match the local feature (i.e. proximity to road features); and where the road features each have a digital signature, which is compared to the signature of the road feature that is captured by a camera onboard a vehicle traveling along the same road segment at a subsequent time, to determine if the image data associated with the road feature is locally unique in the area; and the processing unit (110) may determine the location of the vehicle by comparing the determined local feature and the stored road signature).
As per Claim 119, Shashua, in view of Schneider, teaches the features of Claim 97, and Shashua further discloses the features of wherein the distance in the crowd-sourced map between the individual driving path and the traffic sign is a lateral distance between the traffic sign in the crowd- sourced map and the individual drivable path (e.g. Paragraphs [0371], [0898]; where the processor determines a lane assignment of the vehicle based on an indicator of the lateral offset distance between the vehicle and the at least one recognized landmark, based on a lateral distance from the recognized landmark to a lane edge (i.e. drivable path) closest to the recognized landmark, to any lane edges present on the road, to a target trajectory associated with a road segment, or to multiple target trajectories associated with the road segment, etc.; and the determined indicator of lateral offset distance between the recognized landmark and the host vehicle may be compared to any of these quantities, among others, and then used to determine a current lane assignment based on one or more arithmetic and/or trigonometric calculations).
Claims 116 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shashua, in view Schneider, as applied to Claim 97 above, and further in view of German Patent Publication No. 102008043155 A1, to Janssen, et al (hereinafter referred to as Janssen; previously of record).
As per Claim 116, Shashua, in view of Schneider, teaches the features of Claim 97, and Shashua further teaches the features of wherein the plurality of drivable paths includes at least a first drivable path associated with a first lane of travel along the road segment and a second drivable path associated with a second lane of travel along the road segment, the first lane of travel and the second lane of travel being adjacent to each other and being associated with the same direction of travel (e.g. Figures 76, 77A-B; where a first and second driving lane are determined and presented, along with relevant signs and road features on each side and around the vehicle).
The combination of Shashua, in view of Schneider, fails to teach every feature of wherein the relevancy information indicates that the at least one traffic sign detected in the acquired image is relevant to the first drivable path and is not relevant to the second drivable path.
However, Janssen, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method for displaying road sign information to a driver, where a displayed traffic sign is determined to be relevant based on the lane in which the driver is traveling, or is determined to be relevant for another lane (e.g. Paragraphs [0002], [0016]; Figures 2, 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the adaptive navigation system in Shashua, in view of Janssen, with the feature of determining which sign is relevant to the traveling lane of the vehicle, in order to improve the representation of information to the driver (see at least Paragraphs [0002]-[0003] of Janssen).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERRITT LEVY/Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663