DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 4/28/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-9 and 11-21 remain pending in the application.
Applicants amendments to the claims have overcome the claim objections previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 3/19/2026.
Applicants amendments to the claims have failed to overcome all of the rejections under 35 USC 112 previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 3/19/2026. Specifically, the rejection of claim 15 under 35 U.S.C. 112b was not overcome.
Examiner notes Applicant did not properly indicate all amendments made to the claims. All amendments must be properly indicated. See 37 CFR 1.121, section (c)(2). Although these amendments were not properly indicated, they have been entered.
In claim 19 “a thread that extends along an inner surface of the flexible finger” is underlined as new. Claim 19 however previously already required “a thread that extends along the flexible finger”. Claim 19 should have amended to state “a thread that extends along an inner surface of the flexible finger” as only “an inner surface” is new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 15,
Line 1-2 recites “a first end of the inner body”. Claim 15 depends on claim 1. Claim 1 introduces "a first end of the inner body". It is unclear if the first end of the inner body in claim 15 is the same as the first end of the inner body of claim 1 or if the first end of the inner body of claim 15 is a different additional end to the first end of the inner body of claim 1. For examination purposes Examiner construes them to be the same. Examiner suggests replacing "a first end of the inner body" in line 1-2 of claim 15 with "the first end of the inner body".
In regard to claim 19,
Line 6 recites “a first end of the housing”. Line 3-4 recites “first and second ends of the housing”. It is unclear if the first end of the housing in line 6 is an additional first end to the first end of line 3-4 or if the first end of the housing in line 6 is the same as the first end of the housing in line 3-4. For examination purposes Examiner construes them to be the same. Examiner suggests replacing “a first end of the housing” in line 6 of claim 19 with “the first end of the housing”.
Line 12, line 16, and line 22 recite “the first end of the housing”. Line 6 and line 3-4 both introduce a first end of the housing. It is unclear which first end of the housing line 12, line 16, and line 22 refer to. For examination purposes Examiner construes the first end of the housing in line 6 and 3-4 to be the same. Examiner suggests replacing “a first end of the housing” in line 6 of claim 19 with “the first end of the housing”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 11-13, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Poncon (U.S. PG publication 20140142553).
In regard to claim 1,
Poncon discloses a coupling device (see all of figure 5A not including item 60 or 61) for medical tubing (Examiner notes for medical tubing is a functional limitation. The coupling device is fully capable of being used with medical tubing comprising a luer lock connector 60 as supported by figure 5A and paragraph [0003]-[0004]; Examiner notes the medical tubing is not positively required by the claim), the coupling device comprising:
a housing (figure 5A item 40; Examiner notes the housing can alternatively be considered as item 40 and item 10 collectively) having a first end (see figure 5A and 5B wherein one end of item 40 forms the first end), a second end (see figure 5A and 5B wherein the opposite end of item 40 forms the second end), an inner surface (see inner surface of item 40) forming a cavity (see cavity of item 40) between the first and second ends of the housing (see figure 5A and 5B), a first opening extending through the first end of the housing to the cavity (see figure 5B), and a second opening extending through the second end of the housing to the cavity (see figure 5B); and
an inner body (figure 5A, item 30; Examiner notes the inner body can alternatively be considered as item 30 and item 20 collectively) having a fluid passage (see figure 5A), extending through the inner body (see figure 5A), and a coupling sleeve (see coupling sleeve formed by both items 34 in figure 5A) at a first end of the inner body (see figure 5A), the coupling sleeve comprising a flexible finger (figure 5A, item 34; Examiner notes the finger can be flexed as shown in figure 5B compared to figure 5A and two fingers 34 are shown in figure 5A and 5B) and at least one channel (see figure 5B, 2, and 3 wherein a channel is present between each finger 34 and extends along each finger 34 to an end of the collar 31; Examiner notes two fingers 34 are shown) that extends through the first end of the inner body and along the flexible finger (see figure 5A and 5B), and a thread (figure 5A and 5B, item 37) that extends along an inner surface of the flexible finger (see figure 5A), wherein the inner body is positioned within the cavity and between the first and second ends of the housing (see figure 5A) with the coupling sleeve extending toward the first opening of the housing such that the housing and the inner body are movable relative to each other (see position in figure 5A compared to figure 5B);
wherein, in a first position of the inner body (see position shown in figure 5A), biasing of at least a portion of the coupling sleeve comprising the flexible finger in a direction that is radially outward is configured to be resisted by engagement of the coupling sleeve with the housing (see figure 5A; paragraph [0056]); and wherein, in a second position of the inner body (see position shown in figure 5B), the coupling sleeve has been moved through the first opening of the housing in a direction that is away from the second opening of the housing such that at least the portion of the coupling sleeve comprising the flexible finger can be biased radially outward (see figure 5B; paragraph [0055] and [0057]).
In regard to claim 2,
Poncon discloses the coupling device of Claim 1, wherein the at least one channel extends from the first end of the inner body toward a second end of the inner body (see figure 5B).
In regard to claim 3,
Poncon discloses the coupling device of Claim 1, wherein the at least one channel comprises a first channel and a second channel (see analysis of claim 1 above and figure 5B and 2), wherein the second channel is spaced apart from the first channel (see analysis of claim 1 above and figure 5B and 2), and where a first portion of the coupling sleeve between the first channel and the second channel forms the flexible finger (see analysis of claim 1 above and figure 5B and 2), and a second portion of the coupling sleeve between the first channel and the second channel forms another flexible finger (see analysis of claim 1 above and figure 5B and 2 wherein two flexible fingers 34 are present).
In regard to claim 4,
It is noted for the rejection of claim 4 the inner body is construed as item 20 and 30.
Poncon discloses the coupling device of Claim 1, wherein the inner body comprises a luer tip (figure 5A, item 20) that extends within the coupling sleeve (see figure 5A), toward the first end of the inner body (see figure 5A).
In regard to claim 11,
Poncon discloses the coupling device of Claim 1, wherein the first opening of the housing comprises a first cross-sectional width (see figure 5A), and an outer surface of the coupling sleeve comprises a second cross-sectional width (see figure 5A), and wherein the first cross-sectional width is equal to or greater than the second cross-sectional width (see figure 5A), such that, the first end of the inner body is longitudinally movable between the first position and the second position through the first opening of the housing (see figure 5B compared to figure 5A).
In regard to claim 12,
It is noted for the rejection of claim 12 the housing is construed as item 10 and 40.
Poncon discloses the coupling device of Claim 1, wherein the housing comprises a ledge (figure 5B, item 13) that extends radially inward from the inner surface of the housing into the cavity (see figure 5B).
In regard to claim 13,
It is noted for the rejection of claim 13 the housing is construed as item 10 and 40.
Poncon discloses the coupling device of Claim 1, wherein the housing comprises a tubing channel (see tubing channel formed by item 10) that extends through the second end of the housing (see figure 5B wherein the second end of item 40 forms the second end of the housing) and intersects the second opening (see figure 5B).
In regard to claim 15,
Poncon discloses the coupling device of Claim 1, wherein a distance from a first end of the inner body to a second end of the inner body is greater than a distance from the first end of the housing to a distal end of the cavity (see figure 5A).
In regard to claim 16,
Poncon discloses the coupling device of Claim 1, further comprising a cap (figure 1 and 5B, item 31) coupled to the first end of the housing (see figure 5B), the cap forming at least a portion of the first opening of the housing (see figure 5B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poncon (U.S. PG publication 20140142553) further in view of Peters (U.S. Patent no 6217564).
In regard to claim 7,
Poncon discloses the coupling device of Claim 1.
Poncon fails to disclose wherein the inner body comprises a spline that extends from an outer surface of the inner body, in a direction that is radially outward away from the outer surface of the inner body.
Peters teaches wherein the inner body (figure 4, item 22 and 7), comprises a spline (figure 4, item 28; Examiner notes spline 28 is received within groove 27 of the housing) that extends from an outer surface of the inner body (see figure 4), in a direction that is radially outward away from the outer surface of the inner body (see figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify item 30 of Poncon to include a spline that extends from an outer surface of the inner body, in a direction that is radially outward away from the outer surface of the inner body and to also modify item 40 of Poncon to include a groove to receive the spline, as taught by Peters, for the purpose of effectively keying together two components to enable longitudinal displacement without rotation (column 4, line 50-65 of Peters).
In regard to claim 8,
Poncon in view of Peters teaches the coupling device of Claim 7, wherein the spline is configured to be positioned within a groove (see figure 4, item 27 of Peters and analysis of claim 7 above) extending along the inner surface of the housing such that the housing and the inner body are rotationally coupled (see analysis of claim 7 above).
In regard to claim 9,
Poncon in view of Peters teaches the coupling device of Claim 8, wherein the housing and the inner body are movable, relative to each other, along a length of the groove (see analysis of claim 7 and 8 above and column 4, line 50-65 of Peters).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poncon (U.S. PG publication 20140142553).
It is noted for the rejection of claim 14 the housing is construed as item 10 and 40.
Poncon discloses the coupling device of Claim 13.
Poncon fails to disclose wherein at least a portion of the tubing channel comprises a cross-sectional width that is greater than a cross-sectional width of the second opening.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Poncon to include wherein at least a portion of the tubing channel comprises a cross-sectional width that is greater than a cross-sectional width of the second opening since applicant has not disclosed that having wherein at least a portion of the tubing channel comprises a cross-sectional width that is greater than a cross-sectional width of the second opening solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs. Furthermore, absent a teaching as to the criticality of wherein at least a portion of the tubing channel comprises a cross-sectional width that is greater than a cross-sectional width of the second opening, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 11-12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheffer (U.S. PG publication 20130167841) further in view of Poncon (U.S. PG publication 20140142553).
In regard to claim 1,
Sheffer discloses a coupling device (see figure 4 and 5, item 66: wherein the coupling device is construed as the entire device in figure 4 and 5 not including item 28 or 42) for medical tubing (figure 5, item 42 and 28), the coupling device comprising:
a housing (figure 4, item 70) having a first end (see figure 4), a second end (see figure 4), an inner surface forming a cavity (see figure 4) between the first and second ends of the housing (see figure 4), a first opening (opening of item 70 closest to item 74) extending through the first end of the housing to the cavity (see figure 4), and a second opening (opening of item 70 furthest from item 74) extending through the second end of the housing to the cavity (see figure 4); and
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (Coupling sleeve)][AltContent: textbox (Inner body)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
an inner body (see figure 4 above) having a fluid passage (see figure 4 above), extending through the inner body (see figure 4 above), and a coupling sleeve (see figure 4 above) at a first end of the inner body (see figure 4 above), the coupling sleeve comprising a flexible finger (figure 4, item 72; paragraph [0035]) and at least one channel (see channels between item 72) that extends through the first end of the inner body and along the flexible finger (see figure 4), wherein the inner body is positioned within the cavity and between the first and second ends of the housing with the coupling sleeve extending toward the first opening of the housing (see figure 5) such that the housing and the inner body are movable relative to each other (see figure 4 and 5; paragraph [0035]-[0036]);
wherein, in a first position (see position of inner body shown in figure 5 relative to the housing) of the inner body, biasing of at least a portion of the coupling sleeve comprising the flexible finger in a direction that is radially outward is configured to be resisted by engagement of the coupling sleeve with the housing (paragraph [0036]); and wherein, in a second position (see position of inner body shown in figure 4 relative to the housing) of the inner body, the coupling sleeve has been moved through the first opening of the housing (see figure 4) in a direction that is away from the second opening of the housing such that at least the portion of the coupling sleeve comprising the flexible finger can be biased radially outward (see figure 4 and paragraph [0035]; see also figure 11).
Sheffer fails to disclose a thread that extends along an inner surface of the flexible finger.
Poncon teaches a thread (figure 5A, item 37) that extends along an inner surface of the flexible finger (figure 5A, item 34; see figure 5A wherein the thread 37 can mate with thread 62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sheffer to include a thread that extends along an inner surface of the flexible finger and to also modify item 52 of Sheffer to include a thread which can mate with the thread of the flexible finger, as taught by Poncon, for the purpose of forming an improved safe connection (paragraph [0008] of Poncon).
In regard to claim 2,
Sheffer in view of Poncon teaches the coupling device of Claim 1, wherein the at least one channel (see channels between each finger 72 shown in figure 4 of Sheffer. Examiner notes multiple channels are present) extends from the first end of the inner body toward a second end of the inner body (see figure 4 of Sheffer).
In regard to claim 3,
[AltContent: textbox (Another flexible finger)][AltContent: textbox (The flexible finger)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Sheffer in view of Poncon teaches the coupling device of Claim 1, wherein the at least one channel comprises a first channel and a second channel (see figure 4 of Sheffer; Examiner notes four channels are present, and the first channel and second channel are construed as the channels which the first flexible finger and second flexible finger are between), wherein the second channel is spaced apart from the first channel (see figure 4 of Sheffer), and where a first portion of the coupling sleeve between the first channel and the second channel forms the flexible finger (item 72 of Sheffer; paragraph [0035] of Sheffer), and a second portion of the coupling sleeve between the first channel and the second channel forms another flexible finger (item 72 of Sheffer; paragraph [0035] of Sheffer).
In regard to claim 5,
Sheffer in view of Poncon teaches the coupling device of Claim 1, further comprising a biasing element (spring; paragraph [0039] of Sheffer) positioned between the first end of the housing and the inner body (paragraph [0039] of Sheffer).
In regard to claim 6,
Sheffer in view of Poncon teaches the coupling device of Claim 5, wherein the biasing element comprises a spring configured to direct the inner body toward the first position (paragraph [0039] of Sheffer; Examiner notes the spring functions to direct the inner body toward the first position by moving the housing which directs the inner body toward the first position as shown in figure 5 of Sheffer).
In regard to claim 11,
Sheffer in view of Poncon teaches the coupling device of Claim 1, wherein the first opening of the housing comprises a first cross-sectional width (see figure 5 of Sheffer), and an outer surface of the coupling sleeve comprises a second cross-sectional width (see figure 5 of Sheffer), and wherein the first cross-sectional width is equal to or greater than the second cross-sectional width (see figure 5 of Sheffer), such that, the first end of the inner body is longitudinally movable between the first position and the second position through the first opening of the housing (see figure 5 of Sheffer and figure 4 of Sheffer; see figure 11 of Sheffer).
In regard to claim 12,
Sheffer in view of Poncon teaches the coupling device of Claim 1, wherein the housing comprises a ledge (threads on locking sleeve 70 of Sheffer as disclosed in paragraph [0037] of Sheffer form a ledge) that extends radially inward from the inner surface of the housing into the cavity (paragraph [0037] of Sheffer; see figure 4 of Sheffer wherein the threads are located on the inner surface to engage with the threads of item 78).
In regard to claim 15,
Sheffer in view of Poncon teaches the coupling device of Claim 1, wherein a distance from a first end of the inner body to a second end of the inner body is greater than a distance from the first end of the housing to a distal end of the cavity (see figure 4 and 5 of Sheffer).
Claims 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheffer (U.S. PG publication 20130167841) further in view of Poncon (U.S. PG publication 20140142553) further in view of Thomas (U.S. PG publication 20160067435).
In regard to claim 17,
Sheffer discloses a coupling device assembly (see all of figure 4 and 5) comprising:
a housing (figure 4, item 70) having a first end (end of item 70 closest to item 74), a second end (end of item 70 furthest from item 74), and an inner surface forming a cavity (see figure 4 and 5), wherein the first end comprises a first opening into the cavity, and the second end comprises a second opening into the cavity (see figure 4 and 5);
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (Second end portion)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (First end portion which comprises a coupling sleeve)][AltContent: textbox (Inner body)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
an inner body (see figure 4 above) having a first end portion (see figure 4 above), a second end portion (see figure 4 above), a fluid passage extending through the first end portion and the second end portion of the inner body (see figure 4), the first end portion comprising a coupling sleeve (see figure 4 above) formed by a wall having an inner surface that extends around a longitudinal axis defined by the fluid passage to form a recess extending from a first end of the inner body toward the second end portion (see figure 4 above), the wall comprising a flexible finger (figure 4, item 72; paragraph [0035]) and at least one channel (see channels formed between item 72) that extends through the first end of the inner body and along the flexible finger (see figure 4), wherein the inner body is positioned within the cavity and between the first and second ends of the housing such that the housing and the inner body are movable relative to each other (see figure 4 and 5; paragraph [0035]-[0036]);
a biasing element (spring; paragraph [0039]) positioned between the first end of the housing and inner body (paragraph [0039]); and
a tubing (figure 5, item 42), wherein an end portion of the tubing is coupled to the fluid passage of the inner body (see figure 4 and 5).
[AltContent: textbox (First end of the inner body)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: rect]
wherein, in a first position (see position of inner body shown in figure 5 relative to the housing) of the inner body, the first end of the inner body is longitudinally aligned with the first end of the housing (see figure 5 above) such that biasing of at least a portion of the wall comprising the flexible finger away from the longitudinal axis is configured to be resisted by the housing (paragraph [0036]), and in a second position of the inner body (see position of inner body shown in figure 4 relative to the housing), the second end of the housing is away from the second end portion of the inner body such that the first end of the inner body is longitudinally spaced apart from the first end of the housing and at least the portion of the wall comprising the flexible finger can be biased away from the longitudinal axis (see figure 4 and paragraph [0035]; see also figure 11).
Sheffer fails to disclose a thread that extends along an inner surface of the flexible finger; and a tubing extending through the second opening of the housing and into the cavity.
Poncon teaches a thread (figure 5A, item 37) that extends along an inner surface of the flexible finger (figure 5A, item 34; see figure 5A wherein the thread 37 can mate with thread 62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sheffer to include a thread that extends along an inner surface of the flexible finger and to also modify item 52 of Sheffer to include a thread which can mate with the thread of the flexible finger, as taught by Poncon, for the purpose of forming an improved safe connection (paragraph [0008] of Poncon).
Sheffer in view of Poncon fails to disclose a tubing extending through the second opening of the housing and into the cavity.
Thomas teaches a tubing (figure 2 and 8, item 15 and 12) extending through the second opening of the housing (opening of item 81 that item 15 is received within; see figure 8) and into the cavity (see figure 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify tubing 42, connection 40 and bore 44 of Sheffer and the coupling device assembly of Sheffer in view of Poncon to include an adaptor 15 of Thomas and an opening sized to receive the adaptor 15 to result in a tubing extending through the second opening of the housing and into the cavity, as taught by Thomas, for the purpose of forming an air tight seal (paragraph [0037] of Thomas).
In regard to claim 21,
Sheffer in view of Poncon in view of Thomas teaches the coupling device assembly of Claim 17, wherein another portion of the tubing is coupled to the second opening of the housing (see analysis of claim 17 above, figure 4 of Sheffer, and figure 2 and 8 of Thomas; Examiner notes another portion of the tubing is coupled to the second opening of the housing indirectly via the end portion of the tubing; Additionally as shown in figure 8 of Thomas the very end/end portion of item 15 of the tube is coupled to the second opening and another portion of item 15 is also coupled to the second opening of the housing).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheffer (U.S. PG publication 20130167841) further in view of Poncon (U.S. PG publication 20140142553) further in view of Gish (U.S. PG publication 20190381306) further in view of Thomas (U.S. PG publication 20160067435).
In regard to claim 19,
Sheffer discloses a method for providing a coupling device (see figure 4 and 5, item 66: wherein the coupling device is construed as the entire device in figure 4 and 5 not including item 28 or 42) for medical tubing (figure 5, item 42), the method comprising:
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (Coupling sleeve)][AltContent: textbox (Inner body)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
inserting an inner body (see figure 4 above) into a cavity of a housing (figure 4, item 70) and between first and second ends of the housing such that the housing and the inner body are movable relative to each other (see figure 4, 5, and 11; paragraph [0035]-[0036]), and a coupling sleeve (see figure 4 above) defined by a proximal portion of the inner body extends through a first opening at a first end of the housing (see figure 4 and 5), the coupling sleeve comprising a flexible finger (figure 4, item 72; paragraph [0035]) and at least one channel (see channels between fingers 72 in figure 4) that extends through a first end of the inner body and along the flexible finger (see figure 4);
inserting a biasing element (spring; paragraph [0039]) such that the biasing element is positioned between the first end of the housing and inner body (paragraph [0039]);
inserting the medical tubing (figure 5, item 42) and coupling the tubing to a fluid passage extending through the inner body (see figure 4 above);
[AltContent: textbox (First end of the inner body)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: rect]
wherein, in a first position (see position of inner body shown in figure 5 relative to the housing) of the inner body, the first end of the inner body is longitudinally aligned with the first end of the housing (see figure 5 above) such that biasing of at least a portion of the coupling sleeve comprising the flexible finger away from a longitudinal axis of the fluid passage of the inner body is resisted by the housing (paragraph [0036]), and in a second position (see position of inner body shown in figure 4 relative to the housing) of the inner body, the second end of the housing is away from a second end of the inner body such that the first end of the inner body is longitudinally spaced apart from the first end of the housing and at least the portion of the coupling sleeve comprising the flexible finger can be biased away from the longitudinal axis (see figure 4 and paragraph [0035]; see also figure 11).
Sheffer fails to disclose a thread that extends along an inner surface of the flexible finger, inserting a biasing element into the housing such that the biasing element is positioned between the first end of the housing and the inner body; inserting the medical tubing through a second opening at a second end of the housing, and the thread can resist separation of a mating connector coupled to the coupling sleeve.
Poncon teaches a thread (figure 5A, item 37) that extends along an inner surface of the flexible finger (figure 5A, item 34; see figure 5A wherein the thread 37 can mate with thread 62) and the thread can resist separation of a mating connector (figure 5A, item 60) coupled to the coupling sleeve (paragraph [0008]; Examiner notes “can resist separation of a mating connector coupled to the coupling sleeve” is a functional limitation. The thread is fully capable of the recited function due to its structure. A mating connector is not positively required by the claim).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sheffer to include a thread that extends along an inner surface of the flexible finger and to also modify item 52 of Sheffer to include a thread which can mate with the thread of the flexible finger, therefore resulting in a thread that extends along an inner surface of the flexible finger and the thread can resist separation of a mating connector coupled to the coupling sleeve, as taught by Poncon, for the purpose of forming an improved safe connection (paragraph [0008] of Poncon).
Sheffer in view of Poncon fail to disclose inserting a biasing element into the housing such that the biasing element is positioned between the first end of the housing and the inner body; and inserting the medical tubing through a second opening at a second end of the housing.
Gish teaches inserting a biasing element (spring 220 in figure 2A; see figure 2A where two springs are present) into the housing such that the biasing element is positioned between the first end of the housing (figure 2A, item 108) and the inner body (figure 2A, item 102).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sheffer in view of Poncon to substitute a biasing element which is in the housing and positioned between the first end of the housing and the inner body in place of the biasing element of Sheffer, as taught by Gish, because the substitution is a simple substitution that would yield the same predictable result of biasing the housing (paragraph [0039] of Sheffer and [0025] of Gish). Furthermore, Sheffer supports modifications can be made (paragraph [0062]-[0063] of Sheffer).
Sheffer in view of Poncon in view of Gish fails to disclose inserting the medical tubing through a second opening at a second end of the housing.
Thomas teaches inserting the medical tubing (figure 2 and 8, item 15 and 12) through a second opening at a second end of the housing (opening of item 81 that item 15 is received within; see figure 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify tubing 42, bore 44, and connection 40 of Sheffer and the coupling device assembly of Sheffer in view of Poncon in view of Gish to include an adaptor 15 of Thomas and an opening sized to receive the adaptor 15 to result in inserting the medical tubing through a second opening at a second end of the housing, as taught by Thomas, for the purpose of forming an air tight seal (paragraph [0037] of Thomas).
In regard to claim 20,
Sheffer in view of Poncon in view of Gish in view of Thomas teaches the method of Claim 19 wherein, when the inner body is in the second position and the mating connector (figure 4 and 5, item 28 of Sheffer), coupled to the coupling sleeve, is moved in a direction away from the first end of the inner body, engagement of the mating connector with the coupling sleeve directs at least the portion of the coupling sleeve away from the longitudinal axis (paragraph [0035] and [0007] of Sheffer).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regard to claim 18,
The prior art of record does not teach or otherwise render obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in combination with all claim limitations the coupling device assembly of Claim 17, wherein, when the inner body is in the first position, a length of the tubing between a second end of the inner body and a distal end of the cavity, adjacent to the second end of the housing, is longer than a distance between the second end of the inner body and the distal end of the cavity.
As shown in figure 5 of Sheffer, a length of the tubing 42 between a second end of the inner body and a distal end of the cavity, adjacent to the second end of the housing, is not longer than a distance between the second end of the inner body and the distal end of the cavity. Paragraph [0057] of the instant disclosure further provides a benefit for this specific arrangement and states that “Because the length L1 of the tubing 16 within the cavity 118 is longer than the distance D1 between the inner body 150 and the distal end of cavity 118, movement of the inner body 150 away from the second end 114 of the housing may not be resisted by the tubing 16”. The subject matter of wherein, when the inner body is in the first position, a length of the tubing between a second end of the inner body and a distal end of the cavity, adjacent to the second end of the housing, is longer than a distance between the second end of the inner body and the distal end of the cavity, in combination with all other limitations of claim 17, could not be found nor was suggested elsewhere in the prior art of record. Accordingly, claim 18 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in regard to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 that the claims were amended in the manner requested in the Office Action. The rejection of claim 15 under 35 U.S.C. 112 was not addressed. As no further arguments regarding the rejection of claim 15 under 35 U.S.C. 112 were presented, the rejection remains.
Applicant argues that Poncon and Sheffer fail to disclose the “thread that extends along an inner surface of the flexible finger”. This argument is not found to be persuasive as Poncon discloses a thread 37 that extends along an inner surface of the flexible finger as shown in figure 2 and 5A-5B of Poncon. Sheffer was not cited as teaching a thread that extends along an inner surface of the flexible finger.
Applicant argues in regard to claim 1 that Poncon and Sheffer fail to disclose the features in which “the inner body is positioned within the cavity and between the first and second ends of the housing with the coupling sleeve extending toward the first opening of the housing such that the housing and the inner body are movable relative to each other”. This argument is not found to be persuasive as the inner body is positioned within the cavity and between the first and second ends of the housing as shown in figure 5A-5B of Poncon and figure 4-5 of Sheffer. The claims do not require the inner body to be positioned only within the cavity i.e. not extend out of the cavity when in the first position. As shown in figure 5A-5B of Poncon and figure 4-5 of Sheffer the inner body is positioned within the cavity and has a portion which extends out of the cavity. No other specific arguments in regard to Poncon or Sheffer have been presented.
Applicant argues independent claims 17 and 19 and the claims that are dependent on claims 1, 17, and 19 are allowable for similar reasons as claim 1. See response to arguments in regard to claim 1 above.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRA LALONDE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/KEVIN C SIRMONS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783