DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication dated September 30, 2025, claims 1-12, 14-18 and 20-22 are pending. Claims 1-3, 7, 10-12, 14, 16-18 and 20 are amended, claims 13 and 19 are presently cancelled and claims 21-22 are newly added.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that Shafer teaches emulating a charging of a battery rather than a discharge from a battery (see page 9 of applicant arguments).
Applicant’s arguments and amendments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hara US20230163374A1 as detailed below in combination with Shafer.
The applicant argues that Gorlin is concerned with a battery that uses silicon as a negative electrode.
The reference of Gorlin has been withdrawn and Sasaki US20050088138A1 is newly cited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-12, 14-18 and 20-22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “emulates a discharge voltage curve of a dry battery while the rechargeable battery is being discharged” in the last 2 lines. It is unclear whether the rechargeable battery is a dry battery or whether the rechargeable battery is being discharged in manner similar to that of a dry battery or whether there are two batteries – a dry battery or a rechargeable battery. Further details are required if the lithium battery is behaving like an alkaline battery or carbon battery as recited in claim 2.
Similar language appears in claims 10 and 20 and are rejected for the same reasoning.
Claims 2-9, 11-12, 14-18 and 21-22 are rejected at least due to their dependency from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara US20230163374A1 in view of Shafer US20240348159A1 and Sasaki US20050088138A1.
Regarding claim 1. Hara discloses a converter (114) for a rechargeable battery (111), the converter comprising:
a direct current (DC) to DC converter (114) that includes:
a switching circuit (bridge circuit 304) configured to receive an output voltage of the rechargeable battery (see FIGS. 1-3 where the output of the battery is output to a DC-DC converter)
a microcontroller unit (MCU) (310).
Hara does not explicitly disclose the switching circuit to generate a pulse width modulated (PWM) voltage from the rechargeable battery, wherein the switching circuit is configured to set a variable duty cycle of the PWM voltage; and a filtering circuit (tank filter 204) configured to convert the PWM voltage into a DC output voltage for electrical equipment, the DC output voltage having an output voltage level that is set in accordance with the variable duty cycle of the PWM voltage; the controller configured to adjust the variable duty cycle of the switching circuit such that the output voltage level of the DC output voltage emulates a discharge voltage curve of a battery while the rechargeable battery is being discharged.
Shafer discloses a switching circuit (bridge circuit 202) to generate a pulse width modulated (PWM) voltage from the rechargeable battery (¶48 – produces a first and second waveform), wherein the switching circuit (bridge circuit 202) is configured to set a variable duty cycle of the PWM voltage (¶49 – the operational frequency is adjusted thus is variable); and
a filtering circuit (tank filter 204) configured to convert the PWM voltage into a DC output voltage for electrical equipment, the DC output voltage having an output voltage level (¶31 – tank circuit provides the necessary output response from the bridge circuit) that is set in accordance with the variable duty cycle of the PWM voltage (¶31 – the bridge voltage serves as excitation of the tank circuit 204 thus depends upon the duty cycle set by the switching circuit);
a control unit (130) configured to adjust the variable duty cycle of the switching circuit (¶23 – controller controls the DC-DC converter 200 to a modulated operational frequency) such that the output voltage level of the DC output voltage emulates a discharge voltage curve of a battery while the rechargeable battery is being discharged (¶23 – the output boundaries for the controller 130 is defined by the voltage state of the charge of the battery).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the details of the DC-DC converter of Shafer to the system of Hara in order to use a known DC-DC converter in a vehicle.
The combination of Hara and Shafer does not explicitly disclose a dry battery.
Sasaki discloses a battery (2) to charge a load that via a DC-DC converter (10) where the battery (2) is a dry battery (Sasaki; FIG. 4).
Because it is well-known in the art to provide a dry battery to the system of Hara in order to provide a battery that has a standardized shape and is easily obtained. The dry battery of Sasaki is used to charge an electronic device. Because Hara discloses a battery charging a device 130, a person of ordinary skill in the art would know to use a dry battery to chare low power devices.
Regarding claim 2. Hara discloses that the rechargeable battery is a lithium battery (¶39 – battery is a lithium ion battery).
Hara does not explicitly disclose the discharge voltage curve of the dry battery is a discharge voltage curve of an alkaline battery or a carbon battery.
Sasaki discloses in the dry battery discharge curve is for an Alkaline dry battery (FIG. 6)
Because it is well-known in the art to provide a dry battery to the system of Hara in order to provide a battery that has a standardized shape and is easily obtained. The dry battery of Sasaki is used to charge an electronic device. Because Hara discloses a battery charging a device 130, a person of ordinary skill in the art would know to use a dry battery to chare low power devices.
Regarding claim 3. Hara does not explicitly disclose the switching circuit (bridge circuit 202) is configured to control switching the PWM voltage on and switching the PWM voltage off in accordance with a feedback signal level of a feedback signal from the filtering circuit; and the MCU is configured to generate a PWM control signal that is applied to the feedback signal to adjust the feedback signal level such that the DC output voltage emulates the discharge voltage curve of the dry battery while the rechargeable battery is being discharged.
Shafer discloses the switching circuit (bridge circuit 202) is configured to control switching the PWM voltage on and switching the PWM voltage off in accordance with a feedback signal level of a feedback signal from the filtering circuit (FIG. 7 – when the output current of the DC/DC converter needs to be adjusted to the desired output charging, the detected output current being the feedback signal; ¶48-50); and
Shafer discloses the MCU is configured to generate a PWM control signal (operational frequency) that is applied to the feedback signal to adjust the feedback signal level such that the DC output voltage emulates the discharge voltage curve of the dry battery while the rechargeable battery is being discharged (FIG. 7 ; ¶49-50 - adjusting the operational frequency according to a comparison against the predefined output voltage).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the details of the DC-DC converter of Shafer to the system of Hara in order to use a known DC-DC converter in a vehicle.
Regarding claim 4. Hara discloses the MCU (310) is configured to enable the switching circuit (304) (¶54 – controller generates control commands for the bridge circuit 304 and controls the switching of the switching elements).
Regarding claim 5. Hara discloses a charge discharge control unit (120) configured to detect when the rechargeable battery is being discharged (¶71 – charge and discharge control device 120 determines the output of the battery module thus determining whether there is discharge) and
enable the MCU in response to detecting that the rechargeable battery is being discharged (¶74 – output is assigned to the battery module),
wherein the MCU is configured to enable the switching circuit in response to being enabled (¶54 – controller 310 generates control commands to the bridge circuit).
Regarding claim 8. Hara does not explicitly disclose that the switching circuit and the filtering circuit are configured such that the DC to DC converter is a step down DC to DC converter.
Shafer discloses that the switching circuit (bridge circuit 202) and the filtering circuit (tank filter 204) are configured such that the DC to DC converter is a step down DC to DC converter (¶30 – buck mode is a step-down mode of operation in a DC-DC power converter).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the details of the DC-DC converter of Shafer to the system of Hara in order to use a known DC-DC converter in a vehicle.
Regarding claim 9. Hara teaches that the rechargeable battery is a lithium battery (¶39).
Regarding claim 20. Hara discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a rechargeable battery (111) configured to generate an output voltage (FIGS. 1-3);
a converter (114) configured to convert the output voltage of the rechargeable battery into a DC output voltage (FIG. 1 – converter is a DC/DC converter) having an adjustable output voltage level (¶49 – the operational frequency is adjusted thus is variable); and
a controller (310)
Hara does not explicitly teach the converter having an adjustable output voltage level and the controller configured to adjust the adjustable output voltage level of the DC output voltage such that the adjustable output voltage level emulates a discharge voltage curve of a dry battery while the rechargeable battery discharged.
Shafer discloses the converter having an adjustable output voltage level (¶49 – the operational frequency is adjusted thus is variable).
the controller configured to adjust the adjustable output voltage level of the DC output voltage (¶23 – controller controls the DC-DC converter 200 to a modulated operational frequency) such that the adjustable output voltage level emulates a discharge voltage curve of a dry battery while the rechargeable battery discharged (¶23 – the output boundaries for the controller 130 is defined by the voltage state of the charge of the battery).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the details of the DC-DC converter of Shafer to the system of Hara in order to use a known DC-DC converter in a vehicle.
The combination of Hara and Shafer does not explicitly disclose a dry battery.
Sasaki discloses a battery (2) to charge a load that via a DC-DC converter (10) where the battery (2) is a dry battery (Sasaki; FIG. 4).
Because it is well-known in the art to provide a dry battery to the system of Hara in order to provide a battery that has a standardized shape and is easily obtained. The dry battery of Sasaki is used to charge an electronic device. Because Hara discloses a battery charging a device 130, a person of ordinary skill in the art would know to use a dry battery to chare low power devices.
Regarding claim 22. Hara does not explicitly disclose that the discharge voltage curve of the dry battery that is emulated comprises: a beginning section in which an output voltage decreases with increasing speed but decreasing acceleration; a middle section in which the output voltage decreases with a constant speed; and a final section in which the output voltage decreases with increasing speed and increasing acceleration.
Sasaki the discharge voltage curve (FIG. 6) of the dry battery (AAA Alkaline Dry battery) that is emulated comprises: a beginning section in which an output voltage decreases with increasing speed but decreasing acceleration; a middle section in which the output voltage decreases with a constant speed; and a final section in which the output voltage decreases with increasing speed and increasing acceleration (see reproduced and annotated FIG. 6 below.
Because it is well-known in the art to provide a dry battery to the system of Hara in order to provide a battery that has a standardized shape and is easily obtained. The dry battery of Sasaki is used to charge an electronic device. Because Hara discloses a battery charging a device 130, a person of ordinary skill in the art would know to use a dry battery to chare low power devices.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara US20230163374A1 in view of Shafer US20240348159A1 and Sasaki US20050088138A1 in further view of Yang US20160241051A1.
Regarding claim 6. Hara does not explicitly disclose that the charge discharge control unit is configured to disable the rechargeable battery from discharging in response to a rechargeable battery discharge current having a current level that is above a threshold current limit.
Yang discloses that the charge discharge control unit is configured to disable the rechargeable battery from discharging in response to a rechargeable battery discharge current having a current level that is above a threshold current limit (¶53/60/61 – the discharge controller controls the flow of the discharge current by turning on and off, thus limiting the discharge current level. It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to limit the discharge current in order to prevent overcurrent which could cause damage to the battery and the load ).
A person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the charge/discharge control unit to the system of Hara and Shafer as taught by Yang in order to provide effective management to the charging and discharging of the battery and provide power to a load in a stable manner (Yang; ¶6-7)
Regarding claim 7. Hara does not explicitly disclose that the charge discharge control unit is configured to detect when the electrical equipment is connected to receive the DC output voltage from the filtering circuit.
Yang discloses that the charge discharge control unit is configured to detect when the electrical equipment is connected to receive the DC output voltage from the filtering circuit (¶52 – integrated controlling unit 15 monitors the load and may control operations based on the monitoring result; ¶54 – when the battery pack is supplied to the load the switch is turned on and power is supplied to the load).
A person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the charge/discharge control unit to the system of Hara and Shafer as taught by Yang in order to provide effective management to the charging and discharging of the battery and provide power to a load in a stable manner (Yang; ¶6-7)
Claims 10-12, 14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara US20230163374A1 in view of Von Novak et al. US20100277003A1 and Sasaki US20050088138A1.
Regarding claim 10. Hara discloses a method of converting an output voltage of a rechargeable battery (111) (FIGS. 1-3), comprising:
generating voltage from the output voltage of the rechargeable battery (FIGS. 1-3 illustrate the output voltage originating from the battery 111);
converting the voltage into a direct current (DC) output voltage having an output voltage level (via DC/DC converter 114); and
Hara does not explicitly teach that the voltage generated is a pulse width modulated (PWM) voltage; it is the PWM voltage that is converted into a direct current (DC) output voltage having an output voltage level that is set in accordance with a variable duty cycle of the PWM voltage; adjusting the variable duty cycle of the PWM voltage while the rechargeable battery discharges, wherein the adjusting of the variable duty cycle of the PWM voltage causes the DC output voltage to continuously decrease
Von Novak discloses generating a pulse width modulated (PWM) voltage from the output voltage (¶76 output from comparator 361 is converted to a PWM signal);
converting the PWM voltage into a direct current (DC) output voltage having an output voltage level that is set in accordance with a variable duty cycle of the PWM voltage (¶85 – DC impedance is controlled by adjusting the duty cycle of the PWM signal to the DC-DC converter 350); and
adjusting the variable duty cycle of the PWM voltage while the rechargeable battery discharges, wherein the adjusting of the variable duty cycle of the PWM voltage causes the DC output voltage to continuously decrease (¶85 – DC impedance is controlled by adjusting the duty cycle of the PWM signal thus adjusting the output of the converter; claim 10 - adjusts the duty cycle of the pulse-width modulation signal to reduce a power output on the DC output signal).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the details taught by van Novak, of the DC-DC converter, as taught by Hara, in order to provide a known DC-DC converter for providing an acceptable amount of power to the device-to-be-charged.
The combination of Hara and Von Novak does not explicitly disclose a dry battery.
Sasaki discloses a battery (2) to charge a load that via a DC-DC converter (10) where the battery (2) is a dry battery (Sasaki; FIG. 4).
Because it is well-known in the art to provide a dry battery to the system of Hara in order to provide a battery that has a standardized shape and is easily obtained. The dry battery of Sasaki is used to charge an electronic device. Because Hara discloses a battery charging a device 130, a person of ordinary skill in the art would know to use a dry battery to chare low power devices.
Regarding claim 11. Hara discloses that the rechargeable battery is a lithium battery (¶39 – battery is a lithium ion battery).
Hara does not explicitly disclose the adjusting of the variable duty cycle emulates a discharge voltage curve of the dry battery is a discharge voltage curve of an alkaline battery or a carbon battery.
Sasaki discloses in the dry battery discharge curve is for an Alkaline dry battery (FIG. 6)
Because it is well-known in the art to provide a dry battery to the system of Hara in order to provide a battery that has a standardized shape and is easily obtained. The dry battery of Sasaki is used to charge an electronic device. Because Hara discloses a battery charging a device 130, a person of ordinary skill in the art would know to use a dry battery to chare low power devices.
Regarding claim 12. Hara does not explicitly disclose controlling switching the PWM voltage on and switching the PWM voltage off in accordance with a feedback signal level of a feedback signal from the filtering circuit; generating a PWM control signal (operational frequency) that is applied to the feedback signal to adjust the feedback signal level such that the DC output voltage emulates a discharge voltage curve of the dry battery while the rechargeable battery is being discharged
Von Novak discloses controlling switching the PWM voltage on and switching the PWM voltage off in accordance with a feedback signal level of a feedback signal from the filtering circuit (¶81 – desired voltage achieved by providing a feedback term that compares the input voltage to the desired impedance term and adjusts the pulse width).
Von Novak discloses generating a PWM control signal that is applied to the feedback signal to adjust the feedback signal level such that the DC output voltage emulates a discharge voltage curve of the dry battery while the rechargeable battery is being discharged (¶81 – desired voltage achieved by providing a feedback term that compares the input voltage to the desired impedance term and adjusts the pulse width) .
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the details taught by van Novak, of the DC-DC converter, as taught by Hara, in order to provide a known DC-DC converter for providing an acceptable amount of power to the device-to-be-charged.
Regarding claim 14. Hara discloses detecting when the rechargeable battery is being discharged (¶71 – charge and discharge control device 120 determines the output of the battery module thus determining whether there is discharge); and
enabling an microcontroller unit (MCU) in response to detecting that the rechargeable battery is being discharged (¶74 – output is assigned to the battery module),
wherein the MCU is configured to enable the switching circuit in response to being enabled (¶54 – controller 310 generates control commands to the bridge circuit).
Hara does not explicitly disclose that enabling a switching circuit that switches the PWM voltage on and the PWM voltage off.
Von Novak discloses enabling a switching circuit that switches the PWM voltage on and the PWM voltage off (¶81 – because the PWM signal by definition switches on and off, it follows that this is enabled by some sort of switching circuit).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the details taught by van Novak, of the DC-DC converter, as taught by Hara, in order to provide a known DC-DC converter for providing an acceptable amount of power to the device-to-be-charged.
Regarding claim 17. although Hara discloses generating a voltage (V1b) from the output voltage of the rechargeable battery (111), Hara does not explicitly disclose generating the PWM voltage from the output voltage of a power source with a switching circuit; generating the DC output voltage from the PWM voltage with a filtering.
Von Novak discloses generating the PWM voltage from the output voltage of a power source (receive antenna 304) with a switching circuit (FIG. 10A illustrates the details of the DCDC converter – switch S1)
Von Novak discloses generating the DC output voltage from the PWM voltage with a filtering circuit (¶82 – filtering circuit including diode D4, inductor L1 and capacitor C4).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the details taught by van Novak, of the DC-DC converter, as taught by Hara, in order to provide a known DC-DC converter for providing an acceptable amount of power to the device-to-be-charged.
Regarding claim 18. Hara does not explicitly teaches enabling a switching circuit that switches the PWM voltage on and the PWM voltage off, wherein the switching circuit and the filtering circuit are configured as a step down DC to DC converter.
Von Novak discloses enabling a switching circuit that switches the PWM voltage on and the PWM voltage off (S1) (¶82 – PWM signal controls switch S1),
wherein the switching circuit (S1) and the filtering circuit (¶82 – filtering circuit including diode D4, inductor L1 and capacitor C4) are configured as a step down DC to DC converter (¶81 – the pulse width is adjusted up or down, when adjusted down, the converter is a step down converter)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the details taught by van Novak, of the DC-DC converter, as taught by Hara, in order to provide a known DC-DC converter for providing an acceptable amount of power to the device-to-be-charged.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara US20230163374A1 in view of Von Novak et al. US20100277003A1 and Sasaki US20050088138A1 in further view of Yang US20160241051A1.
Regarding claim 15. Hara does not explicitly disclose disabling the rechargeable battery from discharging in response to a rechargeable battery discharge current having a current level that is above a threshold current limit.
Yang discloses disabling the rechargeable battery from discharging in response to a rechargeable battery discharge current having a current level that is above a threshold current limit (¶53/60/61 – the discharge controller controls the flow of the discharge current by turning on and off, thus limiting the discharge current level. It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to limit the discharge current in order to prevent overcurrent which could cause damage to the battery and the load ).
A person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the charge/discharge control unit to the system of Hara as taught by Yang in order to provide effective management to the charging and discharging of the battery and provide power to a load in a stable manner (Yang; ¶6-7).
Regarding claim 16. Hara teaches detecting when a load (130) is connected to receive the DC output voltage (FIG. 1-3 – power is converted to a DC power for the device 130)
Hara does not explicitly disclose enabling the switching circuit in response to the detecting indicating that the load is connected to receive the DC output voltage.
Yang discloses that enabling the switching circuit in response to the detecting indicating that the load is connected to receive the DC output voltage (¶52 – integrated controlling unit 15 monitors the load and may control operations based on the monitoring result; ¶54 – when the battery pack is supplied to the load the switch is turned on and power is supplied to the load).
A person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the charge/discharge control unit to the system of Hara and Van Novak as taught by Yang in order to provide effective management to the charging and discharging of the battery and provide power to a load in a stable manner (Yang; ¶6-7)
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara US20230163374A1 in view of Shafer US20240348159A1 and Sasaki US20050088138A1 in further view of Von Novak et al. US20100277003A1.
Regarding claim 21. Hara discloses that the output voltage of the rechargeable battery is relatively constant (¶38 – the voltage is controlled to be a constant voltage i.e. V1)
Hara does not explicitly disclose that the adjusting of the variable duty cycle of the switching circuit causes the DC output voltage to continuously decrease.
Von Novak discloses the adjusting of the variable duty cycle of the switching circuit causes the DC output voltage to continuously decrease. ¶85 – DC impedance is controlled by adjusting the duty cycle of the PWM signal thus adjusting the output of the converter; claim 10 - adjusts the duty cycle of the pulse-width modulation signal to reduce a power output on the DC output signal).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the details taught by van Novak, of the DC-DC converter, as taught by Hara, in order to provide a known DC-DC converter for providing an acceptable amount of power to the device-to-be-charged.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859