DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15, 17-19, and 21-22 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al (US 20100100755).
Regarding claim 21, Lin teaches
An information processing apparatus, having a first mode (Fig. 1 (normal operation mode)) with a first power consumption, a second mode (Fig. 1 (light-sleep mode)) with a second power consumption lower than the first power consumption, and a third mode (Fig. 1 (deep-sleep mode)) with a third power consumption lower than the second power consumption, comprising: ([0025], “Device status indicates a current mode of the mouse, wherein a normal operation mode represents that the mouse is being used normally. When the user stops using the mouse, the mouse enters an idle status, and a timer is used by a system to count a trigger time. The trigger time is an interval time that the input device is restored from a light-sleep mode to an operation mode due to the operation of the user.” [0027], “When the mouse is idle over the deep-sleep start time ST, the mouse enters a deep-sleep mode so as to further reduce power consumption.”)
a processor, configured to:
in response to the information processing apparatus not being operated by a user after a first time has elapsed in the first mode, transition the information processing apparatus from the first mode to the second mode; (Fig. 1, where the idle status time is the amount of time before entering the first low power/light sleep mode, [0025], “ When the user stops using the mouse, the mouse enters an idle status, and a timer is used by a system to count a trigger time.” And [0026], “wherein the input device enters the light-sleep mode when being idle over the fixed time T.sub.MIN.”)
in response to the information processing apparatus not being operated by the user after a second time has elapsed in the second mode, transition the information processing apparatus from the second mode to the third mode; (Fig. 1 [0027], “When the mouse is idle over the deep-sleep start time ST, the mouse enters a deep-sleep mode so as to further reduce power consumption”)
in response to a power saving setting of the information processing apparatus being changed from a default first setting to a different second setting, calculate a third time shorter than the second time based on a usage status of the information processing apparatus; and ([0024], “Accordingly, the present invention is to record the users' patterns and dynamically adjust a sleep start time that the mouse enters a power-saving mode, based on the usage states thereof. When a time interval of operating the mouse is short, such as browsing through web pages, the present invention sets a deep-sleep start time of the mouse shorter.”)
in response to the information processing apparatus being in the second mode for over the third time, transition the information processing apparatus from the second mode to the third mode. (Figs. 1 and 3, [0024], “the present invention is to record the users' patterns and dynamically adjust a sleep start time that the mouse enters a power-saving mode, based on the usage states thereof. When a time interval of operating the mouse is short, such as browsing through web pages, the present invention sets a deep-sleep start time of the mouse shorter. When the time interval of operating the mouse is long, such as word processing, the present invention sets the deep-sleep start time of the mouse longer, so as to meet the users' requirements and habits.” And [0027], “Accordingly, the present invention is to record the users' patterns and dynamically adjust a sleep start time that the mouse enters a power-saving mode, based on the usage states thereof. When a time interval of operating the mouse is short, such as browsing through web pages, the present invention sets a deep-sleep start time of the mouse shorter.” And [0035], “If the mouse is to enter the deep-sleep mode, the index value corresponding to the current trigger time is calculated based on a weighted method (for example, a weighted value, 3, is added. If the weighted index value exceeds T.sub.MAX, the index value corresponding to T.sub.MAX is adopted) so as to obtain a weighted index value for replacing the oldest index record value (Step S335). Thereafter, a new sleep start time is counted and the start time of the next deep sleep is updated (Step S340).” Where the third time is the updated time after the averaging of the new idle timings. For example like Figs. 2A and 2B where the sleep start time is changed.)
in response to the information processing apparatus being in the second mode with the second setting set for over the third time, transition the information processing apparatus from the second mode to the third mode. (Fig. 3, [0035], “If the mouse is to enter the deep-sleep mode, the index value corresponding to the current trigger time is calculated based on a weighted method (for example, a weighted value, 3, is added. If the weighted index value exceeds T.sub.MAX, the index value corresponding to T.sub.MAX is adopted) so as to obtain a weighted index value for replacing the oldest index record value (Step S335). Thereafter, a new sleep start time is counted and the start time of the next deep sleep is updated (Step S340).” Where the second setting is interpreted as replacing the weighted index value)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuroda (US 20110283121) in view of Saegusa (US 20210240410)
Regarding claim 1, Kuroda teaches
An information processing apparatus, which has at least two operating modes differing in power supply settings, comprising: ([0073], “although when performing normal operation, a transition is made to the sleep state in the case where, for example, a user operation is not performed for a predetermined time period, a time period shorter than that predetermined time period is set.” Where the normal operation mode is one operation mode and the sleep state is another operation mode)
a processor configured to:
determine whether a power saving setting of the information processing apparatus is in a default first transition time in the information processing apparatus; and ([0073], “ a sleep mode transition time period setting button 2001, a print layout setting button 2002, a print color setting button 2003, and a backlight setting button 2004. Further, each button has a check box for making the setting valid or invalid.” Where when the setting is invalid it is interpreted as a default setting)
in response to the first transition time (Figs. 11A and 11B (2201 – normal sleep mode transition time period - invalid)) in the information processing apparatus being changed to a second transition time (Fig. 11A and 11B (2201 – normal sleep mode transition time period -valid) – [0073], “each button has a check box for making the setting valid or invalid. The sleep mode transition time period setting button 2001 is for setting a time period for transitioning to the sleep state in the case where power saving control is performed.” Where in response to an invalid normal sleep transition period the user presses the valid button to validate the “normal sleep mode transition time period”),
change the power saving setting of the information processing apparatus to a third transition time (Fig. 11B (2202 – sleep mode transition time period when performing power saving control)) in which a power saving effect is higher than in the second transition time based on a usage status ([0073], “where … a user operation is not performed”) of the information processing apparatus, ([0084], “In step S2101, the CPU 1201 reads set content of the power saving control from the RAM 1202 or the HDD 1204 in the electric power saving mode. Next, the processing proceeds to step S2102, where the CPU 1201 determines whether or not sleep mode transition time period setting is valid based on the read power saving setting. Here, the processing proceeds to step S2104 when the setting is not valid, whereas if it is determined that the setting is valid, the processing proceeds to step S2103, where, for example, a sleep mode transition time period is changed to be shorter (two minutes in the example in FIG. 11B)”, [0073], “power saving control setting screen includes a sleep mode transition time period setting button 2001 … setting a time period for transitioning to the sleep state in the case where power saving control is performed. … when performing normal operation, a transition is made to the sleep state in the case where, for example, a user operation is not performed for a predetermined time period, a time period shorter than that predetermined time period is set.” and [0076], “a time period for transitioning to the electric power saving mode if there is no data input or user operation for a predetermined time period is set to five minutes in the normal mode, and set to two minutes when performing power saving control.”)
wherein the third transition time is a transition time during which a mode of the information processing apparatus transitions between each of the operating modes, the third transition time being shorter than the second transition time, and ([0084], “step S2103, where, for example, a sleep mode transition time period is changed to be shorter (two minutes in the example in FIG. 11B)”, [0073], “power saving control setting screen includes a sleep mode transition time period setting button 2001 … setting a time period for transitioning to the sleep state in the case where power saving control is performed. … when performing normal operation, a transition is made to the sleep state in the case where, for example, a user operation is not performed for a predetermined time period, a time period shorter than that predetermined time period is set.” and [0076], “a time period for transitioning to the electric power saving mode if there is no data input or user operation for a predetermined time period is set to five minutes in the normal mode, and set to two minutes when performing power saving control.”)
wherein the usage status of the information processing apparatus includes an operating time of each of the operating modes. (Fig. 11B (normal sleep mode transition time period) and (sleep mode transition time period))
Kuroda does not teach but Saegusa teaches
wherein the third transition time is a transition time during which a mode of the information processing apparatus transitions between each of the operating modes, the third transition time being shorter than the second transition time, ([0026], “At the first shift time, the printer 20 is shifted from the operation mode to the standby mode. When the first shift time is elapsed in the operation mode without using the printer 20, the printer 20 is shifted to the standby mode. At the second shift time, the printer 20 is shifted from the standby mode to the first sleep mode. When the second shift time is elapsed in the standby mode, the printer 20 is shifted to the first sleep mode. At the third shift time, the printer 20 is shifted from the first sleep mode to the second sleep mode.”)
wherein the usage status of the information processing apparatus includes an operating time of each of the operating modes according to a history of usage of the information processing apparatus.([0025], “The mode shift setting unit 2006 sets the first shift time, the second shift time, and the third shift time to the mode shift setting information 224 per time zone based on the usage history information 222.” [0044], “The mode shift setting unit 2006 sets the first shift time, the second shift time, and the third shift time to the mode shift setting information 224 per time zone based on the usage history information 222.”)
Regarding claim 2, Kuroda teaches wherein the second transition time is a power saving setting of another apparatus. (Figs. 10-11, [0033], “The image forming apparatus 102 receives information on the power consumption of the image forming apparatus 102 from the electric power measurement apparatus 101a. Further, the image forming apparatus 102 receives power saving control time period information and a target power value from the management apparatus 106. The image forming apparatus 102 implements power consumption control, based on the received information and power saving control setting values” where the management apparatus sends the power saving control time period as used above in [0073] and Fig. 11B)
Regarding claim 3, Kuroda teaches wherein the processor is configured to: change the power saving setting of the information processing apparatus to the third setting based on the usage status of the information processing apparatus in a case where the power saving setting of the information processing apparatus is changed from the first transition time to the second transition time at a time of an initial setting of the apparatus. (Figs. 10A and 11, [0065-66], “where the CPU 1301 transmits information on the target power consumption and the amount of power for transitioning to the electric power saving mode to all the image forming apparatuses via the LAN 3300. … the CPU 1201 of each image forming apparatus receives information on the target power consumption and the power saving transition power amount transmitted from the management apparatus 106, and records the received information in the RAM 1202 and the HDD 1204. Next, the processing proceeds to step S1907 (FIG. 10B), where the CPU 1201 starts target power consumption control based on the received information on the target power consumption.” and [0084], “ the CPU 1201 reads set content of the power saving control from the RAM 1202 or the HDD 1204 in the electric power saving mode … step S2103, where, for example, a sleep mode transition time period is changed to be shorter (two minutes in the example in FIG. 11B))
Regarding claim 5, Kuroda teaches wherein the processor is configured to: change the power saving setting of the information processing apparatus to the third transition time based on the usage status of the information processing apparatus after the initial setting is performed after a predetermined time elapses from the time of the initial setting in a case where the power saving setting of the information processing apparatus is changed from the first transition time to the second transition time at the time of the initial setting of the apparatus. (Fig. 14, [0033], “The image forming apparatus 102 receives information on the power consumption of the image forming apparatus 102 from the electric power measurement apparatus 101a. … the CPU 1201 reads set content of the power saving control from the RAM 1202 or the HDD 1204 in the electric power saving mode” where after receiving the information there is a predetermined time period where the CPU reads the information and implements it.)
Regarding claim 7, Kuroda teaches wherein the processor is configured to: change the power saving setting of the information processing apparatus to the third transition time based on the usage status of the information processing apparatus until the power saving setting of the information processing apparatus is changed to the second transition time in a case where the power saving status of the information processing apparatus is changed from the first transition time to the second transition time after the information processing apparatus is used over a predetermined period from a time of an initial setting. (Fig. 11B, [0035], “A timer 1211 has a function of clocking the time of the image forming apparatus 102 and generating an interrupt at fixed time intervals.”, [0073], “a transition is made to the sleep state in the case where, for example, a user operation is not performed for a predetermined time period, a time period shorter than that predetermined time period is set.” And [0076], “a time period for transitioning to the electric power saving mode if there is no data input or user operation for a predetermined time period is set to five minutes in the normal mode, and set to two minutes when performing power saving control.”)
Regarding claim 9, Kuroda teaches wherein the processor is configured to: display information indicating that the power saving setting of the apparatus is changed to the third transition time on a display. (Fig. 15, [0087], “if it is determined in step S2201 that power saving control is being performed, the processing proceeds to step S2202, where the user is notified of the content of power saving control by the display on the console unit 140.”)
As to claims 19-20, Kuroda and Saegusa teaches these claims according to the reasoning provided in claim 1.
As to claim 4, Kuroda and Saegusa teaches this claim according to the reasoning provided in claim 3.
As to claim 6, Kuroda and Saegusa teaches this claim according to the reasoning provided in claim 5.
As to claim 8, Kuroda and Saegusa teaches this claim according to the reasoning provided in claim 7.
As to claims 10-16, Kuroda and Saegusa teaches these claims according to the reasoning provided in claim 9.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuroda and Saegusa further in view of Goda (US 9898064).
Regarding claim 17, Kuroda teaches wherein the processor is configured to: display information indicating that the power saving setting of the information processing apparatus is changed to the third transition time on a login screen first displayed after the power saving setting of the apparatus is changed to the third transition time. (Fig. 15, [0087], “if it is determined in step S2201 that power saving control is being performed, the processing proceeds to step S2202, where the user is notified of the content of power saving control by the display on the console unit 140.”)
Kuroda and Saegusa teach displaying information related to the power saving on a display but does not specifically mention displaying it on a login screen.
Goda teaches
a login screen (Claim 2, “wherein the display displays a login screen for enabling a user to input necessary information for identifying the user when the printing apparatus is shifted from the power-saving state to the power-on state.”)
Kuroda, Saegusa, and Goda are analogous art. Goda is cited to teach a similar concept of entering/exiting low power modes. Kuroda teaches operating in different low power modes and normal modes. Goda teaches changing the display to a login display after waking from a low power mode. Based on Goda, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Kuroda and Saegusa to display a login screen after exiting a low power mode. Furthermore, being able show a login screen after a low power mode improves on Kuroda and Saegusa by being able to provide better security to the system. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention it would have been advantageous to make this modification because better security to the system.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuroda and Saegusa further in view of Ogashiwa (US 2011031436).
Regarding claim 18, Kuroda and Saegusa do not teach but Ogashiwa teaches wherein the processor is configured to: change the power saving setting of the information processing apparatus stepwisely based on the usage status of the apparatus in the third transition time. (Figs. 4, 8, and 10, [0044], “ the idle time watching part 32b determines whether the idle time Ti(n) is equal to or greater than an idle reference time Tx (e.g., 15 minutes). If the idle time Ti(n) is equal to or greater than the idle reference time Tx (Yes), the counting part 32c increments a consecutive repeat count N by one (1) at S7.” And [0079], “the shifting time setting part 32d refers to the power saving mode shifting time decision table 60 shown in FIG. [8] based on the consecutive repeat count N and sets the power saving mode shifting time corresponding to the consecutive repeat count N as the power saving mode shifting time. For example, when the result of the consecutive repeat count N is three, the power saving mode shifting time is 15 minutes.”)
Kuroda, Saegusa, and Ogashiwa are analogous art. Ogashiwa is cited to teach a similar concept of entering a low power mode early based on usage conditions. Kuroda teaches changing power saving settings. Ogashiwa teaches changing power saving settings (the power saving time period) incrementally/stepwisely. Based on Ogashiwa, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Kuroda and Saegusa to incrementally reduce the entrance time into a low power mode when a job frequency is low. Furthermore, being able to incrementally reduce the time for entering a low power mode improves on Kuroda and Saegusa by being able to further reduce the power usage by the device by entering a low power mode earlier. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention it would have been advantageous to make this modification because “there is an advantage to suppress unnecessary power consumption when the frequency of print job data is low and to reduce the waiting time for printing to start when the frequency of print job data increases.”, [0014]
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Griffith et al. (US 20160103481).
Regarding claim 22, Lin teach using usage status to control power mode operation but does not teach that the usage status can be the number of times a transition from a third power mode to a first power mode occurs.
Knight teaches wherein the usage status is a number of times that the information processing apparatus transitions from the third mode to the first mode. ([0029], “ The storage device driver 126 can then determine whether the projected cycle number 134 exceeds (or is likely to exceed) the maximum number of power on-off cycles 120 within the warranty period 118 of the storage device 112, and control the frequency of the storage device being powered-off if the projected cycle number 134 exceeds the maximum number of power on-off cycles.”)
Lin and Griffith are analogous art. Griffith is cited to teach a similar concept of power management of an electronic device. Griffith teaches counting the number on/off cycles of a device to determine whether the low power mode entry time should be increased or decreased. Based on Griffith, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Lin to count the number of power mode transitions to determine whether to increase or decrease the low power mode entry time. Furthermore, being able to adjust the low power timeout improves on Lin by being able to increase the longevity of the device. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention it would have been advantageous to make this modification because “An idle timeout of the storage device can be increased if the storage device is being power-cycled at a rate that may negatively impact its longevity.”, [0014]
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15, 17-19, and 21-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant’s representative argues that Lin does not calculate a third time only upon a setting change, calculating a third time, and transitioning from a second to a third mode based on the time. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant argues that the sleep start time is continuously updated based on recent user behavior and not “only” based on a power saving setting change but the Applicant does not claim that it is only changed based on a power saving setting. The claim language recites “in response to” which means that this is a condition but not necessarily the “only” condition that will place the apparatus into a third mode. Lin recites a power setting of a “weighted index value” and Lin recites a change in the power setting by changing a “weighted index value” which then causes a change in the time period that the apparatus transitions from a second power mode to a third power mode as recited in paragraph [0035] and Fig 3. The Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
/CHERI L HARRINGTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2176 January 27, 2026
/JAWEED A ABBASZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2176