DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Applicant’s Request for Continued Examination ("Response”) received on February 4, 2026 in response to the Office Action dated November 6, 2025. This action is made Non-Final.
Claims 1, 4-6, and 9-15 are pending.
Claims 1, 14, and 15 are independent claims.
Claims 1, 4-6, and 9-15 are rejected.
Applicant’s Response
In Applicant’s Response, Applicant amended claims 1, 4-6, 14, and 15 cancelled claims 2, 3, and 7, and submitted arguments against the prior art in the Office Action dated November 6, 2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS(s)) submitted on 02/13/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 C.F.R. 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 9-11, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gauvin, US Patent 9,305,170 (“Gauvin”), and further in view of Luoffo et al., US Publication 2006/0031309 (“Luoffo”).
Claim 1:
Gauvin teaches or suggests an image processing apparatus comprising: a processor configured to:
acquire information from an external link destination of an external link inserted into a document in a document format that is viewable without special software(see Fig. 3-6; Abstract - identifying a document that may include at least one link to content external to the document, retrieving the content external to the document from the link; col. 2, lines 9-12 - identify a document that may include at least one link to content external to the document, (2) a retrieving module programmed to retrieve the content external to the document from the link; col. 5, lines 7-19 - identification module 104 may identify a Portable Document Format ("PDF") file with programming examples that includes a hyperlink to a web page with further documentation of the functions used. Any reference to a resource, including but not limited to hyperlinks, uniform resource locators (URLs) and/or uniform resource identifiers.);
in response to the acquired information being a web page, convert the web page into a file in the document format (see Fig. 3-6; col. 2, lines 13-14 -convert the content external to the document to embeddable content in a secure format that can be embedded; col. 5, lines 7-67 - identification module 104 may identify a Portable Document Format ("PDF") file with programming examples that includes a hyperlink to a web page with further documentation of the functions used. Converting module 108 may convert the external content to embeddable content in any of a variety of ways; col. 5, lines 20-22 - term "content" generally refers to any information expressible and/or embeddable in a document, including text, images, objects and/or files; col. 6, lines 35-58 – transforming the content into a format which may prevent malicious affects. create a secure version of the document at least in part by embedding the embeddable content that has been converted to the secure format into the document. regenerate the PDF file to include the original content and the screenshot of the web page with programming documentation; col. 8, lines 7-50 - may embed content from the linked web page into the PDF to create a secure version of the PDF. convert the external content into a format which may be secure and which may be embedded within the document. The computing device may create a secure version of the document at least in part by embedding the reformatted external content. Creating the secure version of the document with the external content embedded.);
store the file obtained from the external link destination ... in an offline environment ... and set an in-document link between the external link in the document and the file (see col. 5, lines 20-22 - term "content" generally refers to any information expressible and/or embeddable in a document, including text, images, objects and/or files; col. 7, lines 1-9 - creation module 110 may create the secure version of the document by modifying the link to point to the embeddable content within the secure version of the document. For example, link 406 as it appears in document 412 may have been modified to point to the instance of content 408 that may be embedded in document 412. In one example, creation module 110 may modify a PDF including a link to a web page such that the link points to the embedded screenshot of the web page; col. 8, lines 25-27 – link modified to point to an embedded representations of content retrieved from the link; col. 8, lines 49-52 - Creating the secure version of the document with the external content embedded may allow the external content to be securely accessed from restricted network environments and/or local networks which are not connected to the Internet.); and
in response to the external link being selected, display the file stored in the device in the offline environment (see col. 3, lines 18-19 - allows for the content to be accessed in restricted network environments; col. 5, lines 20-22 - term "content" generally refers to any information expressible and/or embeddable in a document, including text, images, objects and/or files; col. 7, lines 1-9 - creation module 110 may create the secure version of the document by modifying the link to point to the embeddable content within the secure version of the document. For example, link 406 as it appears in document 412 may have been modified to point to the instance of content 408 that may be embedded in document 412. In one example, creation module 110 may modify a PDF including a link to a web page such that the link points to the embedded screenshot of the web page; col. 8, lines 25-27 – link modified to point to an embedded representations of content retrieved from the link; col. 8, lines 49-55 - Creating the secure version of the document with the external content embedded may allow the external content to be securely accessed from restricted network environments and/or local networks which are not connected to the Internet. enable users access to vital information which would otherwise be unavailable in a highly secure environment.).
Guavin does not explicitly disclose as an attachment associated with the document such that the file is stored separately from the document and not combined with the document ... in a case wherein the file matches a predetermined attachment condition.
Luoffo teaches or suggests as an attachment associated with the document such that the file is stored separately from the document and not combined with the document ... in a case wherein the file matches a predetermined attachment condition (see Fig. 1, 2; para. 0006 - detect an attachment. If the email contains an attachment, the attachment is detached from the email. The detached attachment is stored in a storage location on a storage medium. The email is modified to include a link, the link at least identifying the storage location and the modified email is stored; para. 0019 - email agent 30 is configured to receive an email with an associated attachment, remove the associated attachment, store the associated attachment in a particular location in local attachment storage 34, and modify the received email by embedding a link pointing to the particular storage location, based on received user policies; para. 0020 - local email storage 0.32 is depicted as including a plurality of emails 40 with embedded links 42, and local attachment storage 34 is depicted as including a plurality of email attachments 50; para. 0022 - detaches, or removes, any associated attachments from the received email, stores the detached attachments in local attachment storage 34, modifies the received email by embedding in or appending to the email a link or other pointer, indicating where the detached attachment or attachments are located in local attachment storage 34, and saves a copy of the modified email in local email storage 32. email that has a 10 MB size attachment would be stripped of the attachment. server copy would be only 24 kb in size, instead of 24 kb+ 10 MB, and a drastic storage reduction is realized; para. 0027 - configured to detach only attachments meeting a certain storage size threshold or other characteristics.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Gauvin, to include as an attachment associated with the document such that the file is stored separately from the document and not combined with the document ... in a case wherein the file matches a predetermined attachment condition for the purpose of efficiently managing attachments with specific characteristics and storing the attachments separately, improving attachment management and storage optimization, as taught by Luoffo (0022 and 0027).
Claim(s) 14 and 15:
Claim(s) 14 and 15 correspond to Claim 1, and thus, Gauvin and Luoffo teach or suggest the limitations of claim(s) 14 and 15 as well.
Claim 4:
Luoffo further teaches or suggests wherein the predetermined attachment condition is a case where the number of pages of the file is a predetermined number or more (see para. 0022 - email that has a 10 MB size attachment would be stripped of the attachment. server copy would be only 24 kb in size, instead of 24 kb+ 10 MB, and a drastic storage reduction is realized; para. 0027 - configured to detach only attachments meeting a certain storage size threshold or other characteristics; para. 0029 - configured to receive user policies from a user to govern the operation of email agent 30. User policies can include user preferences or rules for how often email agent 30 scans received email for attachments, where attachments and/or email are to be stored, notification preferences, link format preferences, thresholds for detaching attachments and other suitable preferences or rules. Or other suitable characteristics.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Gauvin, to include wherein the predetermined attachment condition is a case where the number of pages of the file is a predetermined number or more for the purpose of efficiently managing attachments with specific characteristics and storing the attachments separately, improving attachment management and storage optimization, as taught by Luoffo (0022 and 0027).
Claim 5:
Luoffo further teaches or suggests wherein the predetermined attachment condition is a case wherein the user selects to attach and store the file (see para. 0019 - Email agent 30 is also configured to receive user policies and other input from a user and to generate and store modified email and associated attachments based on received user policies; para. 0027 - configured to detach only attachments meeting a certain storage size threshold or other characteristics; para. 0029 - configured to receive user policies from a user to govern the operation of email agent 30. User policies can include user preferences or rules for how often email agent 30 scans received email for attachments, where attachments and/or email are to be stored, notification preferences, link format preferences, thresholds for detaching attachments and other suitable preferences or rules. Or other suitable characteristics; para. 0033 - whenever the user elects to modify existing policies or establish new policies.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Gauvin, to include wherein the predetermined attachment condition is a case wherein the user selects to attach and store the file for the purpose of efficiently managing attachments with specific characteristics and storing the attachments separately, improving attachment management and storage optimization, as taught by Luoffo (0022 and 0027).
Claim 6:
Gauvin further teaches or suggests summarize details of the file and then store the file (see Fig. 3-6; col. 2, lines 13-14 -convert the content external to the document to embeddable content in a secure format that can be embedded; col. 5, lines 7-67 - identification module 104 may identify a Portable Document Format ("PDF") file with programming examples that includes a hyperlink to a web page with further documentation of the functions used. Converting module 108 may convert the external content to embeddable content in any of a variety of ways; col. 6, lines 35-67 – transforming the content into a format which may prevent malicious affects. create a secure version of the document at least in part by embedding the embeddable content that has been converted to the secure format into the document. regenerate the PDF file to include the original content and the screenshot of the web page with programming documentation. Document 402 may include content 404 and a link 406 to content 408, which may be located at URL 410. Modules 102 may identify document 402, retrieve content 408 from link 406, convert content 408 into content a secure format, and create document 412. Document 412 may include content 404, link 406, content 408, URL410, date 414, and/or copyright 416; col. 8, lines 7-50 - may embed content from the linked web page into the PDF to create a secure version of the PDF. convert the external content into a format which may be secure and which may be embedded within the document. The computing device may create a secure version of the document at least in part by embedding the reformatted external content. Creating the secure version of the document with the external content embedded.).
Claim 9:
Gauvin further teaches or suggests acquire information from the external link destination inserted into the web page in a case where the external link destination inserted into the document is a web page and an external link is inserted into the web page, set the web page as a second layer webpage, and convert the second layer webpage into a file in the document format in a case wherein the web page is a fist layer webpage and information acquired from an external link destination inserted into the first layer web page is a webpage, and store a file obtained from the first layer webpage in an offline environment (see Fig. 3-6; col. 2, lines 13-14 -convert the content external to the document to embeddable content in a secure format that can be embedded; col. 5, lines 7-67 - identification module 104 may identify a Portable Document Format ("PDF") file with programming examples that includes a hyperlink to a web page with further documentation of the functions used. Converting module 108 may convert the external content to embeddable content in any of a variety of ways; col. 6, lines 35-58 – transforming the content into a format which may prevent malicious affects. create a secure version of the document at least in part by embedding the embeddable content that has been converted to the secure format into the document. regenerate the PDF file to include the original content and the screenshot of the web page with programming documentation; col. 7, line 50 - because the external content includes many links; col. 8, lines 7-50 - may embed content from the linked web page into the PDF to create a secure version of the PDF. may retrieve the external content, which may include recursively retrieving further external content from links within the original external content. convert the external content into a format which may be secure and which may be embedded within the document. The computing device may create a secure version of the document at least in part by embedding the reformatted external content. Creating the secure version of the document with the external content embedded; col. 8, lines 49-52 - Creating the secure version of the document with the external content embedded may allow the external content to be securely accessed from restricted network environments and/or local networks which are not connected to the Internet.).
Claim 10:
Gauvin further teaches or suggests store a file obtained from a predetermined number of layers of webpages derived from an external link inserted into the document in the offline environment (see Fig. 3-6; col. 2, lines 13-14 -convert the content external to the document to embeddable content in a secure format that can be embedded; col. 5, lines 7-67 - identification module 104 may identify a Portable Document Format ("PDF") file with programming examples that includes a hyperlink to a web page with further documentation of the functions used. Converting module 108 may convert the external content to embeddable content in any of a variety of ways; col. 6, lines 35-58 – transforming the content into a format which may prevent malicious affects. create a secure version of the document at least in part by embedding the embeddable content that has been converted to the secure format into the document. regenerate the PDF file to include the original content and the screenshot of the web page with programming documentation; col. 7, line 50 - because the external content includes many links; col. 8, lines 7-50 - may embed content from the linked web page into the PDF to create a secure version of the PDF. may retrieve the external content, which may include recursively retrieving further external content from links within the original external content. convert the external content into a format which may be secure and which may be embedded within the document. The computing device may create a secure version of the document at least in part by embedding the reformatted external content. Creating the secure version of the document with the external content embedded; col. 8, lines 49-52 - Creating the secure version of the document with the external content embedded may allow the external content to be securely accessed from restricted network environments and/or local networks which are not connected to the Internet.).
Claim 11:
Gauvin further teaches or suggests store designation of an external link inserted into the document (see Fig. 3-6; col. 2, lines 13-14 -convert the content external to the document to embeddable content in a secure format that can be embedded; col. 5, lines 7-67 - identification module 104 may identify a Portable Document Format ("PDF") file with programming examples that includes a hyperlink to a web page with further documentation of the functions used. Converting module 108 may convert the external content to embeddable content in any of a variety of ways; col. 6, lines 35-58 – transforming the content into a format which may prevent malicious affects. create a secure version of the document at least in part by embedding the embeddable content that has been converted to the secure format into the document. regenerate the PDF file to include the original content and the screenshot of the web page with programming documentation; col. 7, line 50 - because the external content includes many links; col. 8, lines 7-50 - may embed content from the linked web page into the PDF to create a secure version of the PDF. may retrieve the external content, which may include recursively retrieving further external content from links within the original external content. convert the external content into a format which may be secure and which may be embedded within the document. The computing device may create a secure version of the document at least in part by embedding the reformatted external content. Creating the secure version of the document with the external content embedded; col. 8, lines 49-52 - Creating the secure version of the document with the external content embedded may allow the external content to be securely accessed from restricted network environments and/or local networks which are not connected to the Internet.).
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gauvin, in view of Luoffo, and further in view of Välkkynen, Pasi. "Hovering: Visualising RFID hyperlinks in a mobile phone." Proc. Mobile Interaction with the Real World (2006): 27-29 (“Valkkynen”).
Claim 12:
As indicated above, Gauvin teaches or suggests the offline environment.
Valkkynen further teaches or suggests determine whether an acquisition destination of the information is the online environment or the … environment according to characteristics of the information obtained from the external link destination in a case where information is obtainable from an online environment when the external link inserted into the document is selected by a user (see Fig. 1-3; §2 - hovering, the user can ‘hover’ the mobile terminal over a link similarly to how hovering works in desktop web. In desktop web browser, when the pointer is hovering over a link, additional information about the link is typically displayed. The browser usually displays the address the link leads to in the status bar and if the link has a title, it is displayed as a tooltip next to the link. In this mobile phone based hovering, the link information is displayed in the mobile phone screen before the link is actually selected and activated. This way the user can quickly check the contents of several links before actually selecting any of them; §2 - displays some information about the link and the user can hover over several links to check each of their contents; §4 - Optimally the links are visualised also in the physical objects, so that the user can know how to select the link and what action it contains. Hovering can help 1) visualise the action if only selection technology is visualised in the tag (for example NFC symbol), and 2) give additional information about the link such as the actual URL.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Gauvin, to include determine whether an acquisition destination of the information is the online environment or the … environment according to characteristics of the information obtained from the external link destination in a case where information is obtainable from an online environment when the external link inserted into the document is selected by a user for the purpose of efficiently collecting link information and displaying the link information to a user, improving user awareness and resource navigation, as taught by Valkkynen (§2 and §4).
Claim 13:
Valkynnen further teaches or suggests perform display control such that the acquisition destination of the information obtained from the external link destination selected by the user is discriminable (see Fig. 1-3; §2 - hovering, the user can ‘hover’ the mobile terminal over a link similarly to how hovering works in desktop web. In desktop web browser, when the pointer is hovering over a link, additional information about the link is typically displayed. The browser usually displays the address the link leads to in the status bar and if the link has a title, it is displayed as a tooltip next to the link. In this mobile phone based hovering, the link information is displayed in the mobile phone screen before the link is actually selected and activated. This way the user can quickly check the contents of several links before actually selecting any of them; §2 - displays some information about the link and the user can hover over several links to check each of their contents; §4 - Optimally the links are visualised also in the physical objects, so that the user can know how to select the link and what action it contains. Hovering can help 1) visualise the action if only selection technology is visualised in the tag (for example NFC symbol), and 2) give additional information about the link such as the actual URL.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Gauvin, to include perform display control such that the acquisition destination of the information obtained from the external link destination selected by the user is discriminable for the purpose of efficiently collecting link information and displaying the link information to a user, improving user awareness and resource navigation, as taught by Valkkynen (§2 and §4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s further arguments have been considered but are not persuasive because the arguments do not correspond to the rationales as used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
/ANDREW T MCINTOSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2144