DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5 are pending and under examination.
This application is a DIV of 15/531,308, which was a National Stage application of PCT US2015/0262768, now US 11,468,969, which claimed priority to two provisional applications filed 11/26/2014. The effective filing date for the pending claims is that of the provisionals, 11/26/2014.
Claims 1-5 correspond to Group II of the restriction in the ‘308 parent application. The prosecution history of the parent application has been reviewed.
This application has published as US PG-Pub US 2022/0415436 A1.
The preliminary amendment filed 9/1/2022 has been entered.
The substitute specification filed 9/1/2022 has been entered.
The replacement drawings filed 9/1/2022 and the remaining original drawings filed 8/11/2022 are suitable for examination.
The replacement abstract filed 9/1/2022 has been entered.
The IDS filed 8/11/2022 has been entered and considered.
Claim Interpretation
The claims are drawn to “A library comprising a plurality of variant antigen binding molecules for screening for binding to an epitope of interest…” where the library is made by process (a)-(f). This is a product-by-process claim.
MPEP 2113: “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted)”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural product without significantly more.
Applicant is directed to MPEP 2106 for the most current and complete guidelines in the analysis of patent- eligible subject matter. The current MPEP (9th Edition, Rev. 07.2022), published in February 2023 is the primary source for the USPTO’s patent eligibility guidance.
With respect to step 1: Yes, the claims are drawn to a statutory category of invention: a physical library of “variant antigen binding molecules.”
With respect to step 2A-1: Yes, the claims recite a product of nature. The collection of antigen binding molecules encompasses naturally occurring antigen binding molecules, and non-naturally occurring antigen binding molecules that do not have markedly different characteristics compared to what occurs in nature. (MPEP 2106.04(b-c).).
For a product-by-process claim (e.g., a claim to a cloned farm animal produced by a nuclear transfer cloning method), the analysis turns on whether the nature-based product in the claim has markedly different characteristics from its naturally occurring counterpart. (MPEP 2106.04(c)).
Claim 1 is drawn to “A library comprising a plurality of variant antigen binding molecules for screening for binding to an epitope of interest…” where the library is made by process (a)-(f).
Step 1 of the markedly different analysis is the identification of the naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state.
The naturally occurring counterparts to “Antigen binding molecules” are naturally occurring antigen binding molecules, including antibodies, which bind to a given antigen.
Step 2 of the markedly different analysis is the identification of appropriate characteristics of the product.
The characteristics of the antigen binding molecules for comparison from claim 1 are highlighted in bold. Additional elements are highlighted in italics.
1. A library comprising a plurality of variant antigen binding molecules for screening for binding to an epitope of interest, wherein generation of said library comprises the following steps:
(a) analyzing binding affinities of a set of possible template antigen binding molecules for the epitope of interest and selecting sequence data of a template antigen- binding molecule from a said set of possible template antigen binding molecules, wherein said selected template does not bind the epitope of interest and wherein said set of possible template antigen-binding molecules consists of a plurality of known antibodies that do not bind the epitope of interest, wherein said selecting sequence data comprises screening three-dimensional structures or structural models of the set of possible template antigen- binding molecules based on one or more of the following criteria: shape complementarity to the epitope of interest, physico-chemical complementarity to the epitope of interest and the predicted free energy of the interaction with the epitope of interest;
(b) selecting at least one residue position in said selected sequence data of the template antigen-binding molecule of (a) for mutation, wherein said selecting said at least one position comprises
(i) screening the three dimensional structure and/or a three- dimensional model of the template antigen-binding molecule sequence data selected in (a) to identify residues that contribute to binding to the epitope of interest; or
(ii) conducting multiple sequence alignments of the nucleic acid or the amino acid sequence of the template antigen-binding molecule selected in (a) to identify substitutable positions;
(c) selecting at least one variant residue to substitute at the at least one residue position selected in the sequence date selected in (b), wherein said selecting the at least one variant residue comprises for each residue identified in step (b), identifying one or more amino acid substitutions that are preferred, allowed or neutral at that residue position;
(d) substituting at least one variant residue at the at least one residue position selected in (c) in said sequence data;
(e) generating sequence data of one or more variant antigen binding molecules and synthesizing one or more variant antigen binding molecules of said template antigen- binding molecule, wherein said sequence data of the variant antigen binding molecules comprises at least one substitution identified and substituted in the sequence data of (d); and
(f) screening said variant antigen binding molecules synthesized, said molecules comprising antibodies or antigen-binding fragments thereof, for binding to the epitope of interest, and selecting variant antigen binding molecules that bind the epitope of interest; wherein said library of variant antigen-binding molecules comprises said substituted sequence data of said template antigen-binding molecule.
BRI: The library is a collection of antigen binding molecules, comprising antibodies or antigen-binding fragments thereof, that bind the epitope of interest, and may contain sequence variants when compared to a known sequence.
2. The library of claim 1, wherein said preferred, allowed and/or neutral substitutions in the sequence data are determined by analyzing the amino acid sequences of a plurality of known antibodies compared with the sequence data of the template antigen-binding molecule, wherein analyzing comprises comparison of said amino acid sequences, analysis of composition of said amino acid sequences, analysis of AAG of binding energy, probability of mutation from said germline sequence, or sequence-similarity search algorithms, or any combination thereof.
BRI: this claim modifies the process by which the library is made, and does not provide additional characteristics.
3. The library of claim 2, wherein said substitutions in the sequence data comprise - a position prone to somatic hypermutation; - a position selected based on sequence analysis using multi-sequence alignment to the template, wherein said analysis is by machine learning; or - a position based on structural analysis, wherein said analysis is by machine learning; or a combination thereof.
BRI: this claim modifies the process by which the library is made, and does not provide additional characteristics.
4. The library of claim 1, wherein said at least one residue selected for mutation is in a CDR region of the sequence data of the template.
BRI: the claim adds the additional characteristic that the variant may be in a specific region of the antigen binding molecule.
5. The library of claim 1, wherein the at least one variant residue selected for mutation comprises an at least one residue that is in less than all of the CDRs.
BRI: the claim adds the additional characteristic that the variant may be in a specific region of the antigen binding molecule.
MPEP 2106.04(c): Appropriate characteristics can be expressed as the nature-based product’s structure, function, and/or other properties, and are evaluated on a case-by-case basis. Non-limiting examples of the types of characteristics considered by the courts when determining whether there is a marked difference include:
• Biological or pharmacological functions or activities;
• Chemical and physical properties;
• Phenotype, including functional and structural characteristics; and
• Structure and form, whether chemical, genetic or physical.”
Overall, the characteristics of the library of claimed antigen binding molecules comprise:
A library, which is 1) a physical collection of antigen-binding molecules, comprising antibodies or antigen-binding fragments thereof, 2) that bind the epitope of interest, and 3) may contain sequence variants when compared to a known sequence of an antigen binding molecule, including in the CDR region(s).
Binding to an antigen or epitope of interest is a biological/ biochemical function or activity.
Antigen-binding molecules include antibodies which have known structural aspects, and functional aspects associated with portions of structure.
Antigen-binding molecules are generated by a naturally occurring biological process, wherein germline genetic sequences encoding antibodies undergo processing and rearrangement in response to an immunological challenge.
Step 3 of the markedly different analysis is “to compare the characteristics of the claimed nature-based product to its naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state, in order to determine whether the characteristics of the claimed product are markedly different.” MPEP 2106.04(c)).
“The courts have emphasized that to show a marked difference, a characteristic must be changed as compared to nature, and cannot be an inherent or innate characteristic of the naturally occurring counterpart or an incidental change in a characteristic of the naturally occurring counterpart. Myriad, 569 U.S. at 580, 106 USPQ2d at 1974-75. Thus, in order to be markedly different, the inventor must have caused the claimed product to possess at least one characteristic that is different from that of the counterpart.”
Sela-Culang (2013; of record PTO 1449) reviews naturally occurring antigen binding molecule structure and function.
“Antibodies (Abs) have two distinct functions: one is to bind specifically to their target antigens (Ags); the other is to elicit an immune response against the bound Ag by recruiting other cells and molecules… The diversity of their binding capabilities is particularly striking given the high structural similarity between all Abs.” P1
“The adaptive immune response involves two types of lymphocytes: T cells, which recognizes Ags that have been processed and their fragments are presented by MHC molecules, and B cells which produce soluble Abs that can identify also the intact Ag in its native form.” P1.
“A fundamental characteristic of the immune system is its ability to continuously generate novel protein recognition sites. Ab-Ag interfaces, therefore, are often considered a model system for elucidating the principles governing biomolecular recognition (9-13).” P2.
Figure 2 of Sela-Culang represents a 3D structure of a naturally occurring antibody.
“As shown in Figure 2, Abs are all-beta proteins consisting of four polypeptide chains: two identical heavy (H) chains and two identical light (L) chains (61). The light and heavy chains are linked by disulfide bonds to form the arms of a Y-shaped structure, each arm is known as a Fab (61). The Fab is composed of two variable domains (VH in the heavy chain and VL in the light chain) and two constant domains (CHI and CL) (62). In the pairing of light and heavy chains, the two variable domains dimerize to form the Fv fragment which contains the Ag binding site. Within each variable domain lie six hypervariable loops (63), three in the light chain (Ll, L2, and L3) and three in the heavy chain (Hl, H2, and H3), supported by a conserved FR of β-sheets. The light and heavy variable domains fold in a manner that brings the hypervariable loops together to create the Ag binding site or paratope. Two additional domains of the heavy chain, CH2, and CH3, compose the Fe region which is responsible for mediating the biological activity of the Ab molecule.” P3
Complementarity defining regions (CDRs), are regions of the Fab hypervariable loops that are highly variable and some amino acid positions within the CDR are indicated to be directly involved in the binding of the epitope/ antigen. CDRs can contain “hypervariable” regions as compared to a generic template sequence. P3-4.
“While identification of paratopes is often done through identification of CDRs, not all the residues within the CDRs bind the Ag.” P4
“the residues that are directly involved in the interaction with the Ag are also, in general, the most variable ones.” P4
“Despite this integrated effect of the CDRs, Abs can be also considered as a modular system, composed of different elements (such as the Fab, VH and VL, or the six CDRs), which may bind the Ag on their own.” P6
The same single antigen or epitope can be bound by multiple different antibodies having differing amino acid sequences in their variable regions. Sela-Culang illustrates this idea, providing the antigen (protein) HEL, and analyzing the epitopes of HEL actually bound by three separate naturally occurring antibodies. (Fig 1). The antibodies were naturally generated in animal model systems after administration of HEL as the antigen.
“This lack of intrinsic properties that clearly differentiate between epitopic and non-epitopic residues and the fact (demonstrated in Figure 1) that most of the Ag surface may become a part of an epitope under some circumstances (54-57) suggest that epitopes depend, to a great extent, on the Abs that recognize them. This is exemplified in Figure 1: most of the HEL surface residues are part of an epitope of at least one Ab (Figures 1 A, B), even though this figure shows only three Abs (out of dozens known to bind HEL). Almost all the residues predicted to be epitopic may be considered as correct predictions as they bind some Ab (Figure 1 C) but also as false predictions as they don't bind the others. Similarly, predicting that a residue is not in an epitope may be either a true negative or a false negative, depending on the Ab considered.” P2
Other prior art instances of a library of antigen-binding molecules, comprising antibodies or antigen-binding fragments thereof, that bind an epitope of interest, and may contain variants including in the CDR region, illustrating that the claimed library does not have markedly different characteristics include:
Edwards, B. M. et al. (2003) The Remarkable Flexibility of the Human Antibody Repertoire; Isolation of Over One Thousand Different Antibodies to a Single Protein, BLyS. Journal of Molecular Biology, vol 334, p103-118.
Sidhu, S. S. et al. (2004) Phage-displayed Antibody Libraries of Synthetic Heavy Chain Complementarity Determining Regions. Journal of Molecular Biology, vol 338: 299-310.
In summary: the claimed library which is 1) a physical collection of antigen-binding molecules, comprising antibodies or antigen-binding fragments thereof, 2) that bind the epitope of interest, and 3) may contain sequence variants when compared to a known sequence of an antigen binding molecule, including in the CDR region(s) does not have markedly differing characteristics from naturally occurring antibodies or naturally occurring antigen binding molecules. Variants of antigen binding molecules, even within the CDRs, in comparison to a known sequence were also shown to be naturally occurring.
With respect to step 2A-2: NO, the claim does not provide additional elements which would integrate the exception into a practical application.
The additional elements in claims 1-5 are limitations directed to the process by which the antigen binding molecules are made, and the associated substituted sequence data.
As explained in MPEP 2113, “The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted).”
The BRI of antigen binding molecules made by the process of claim 1, steps (a)-(f) was shown to include naturally occurring antigen binding molecules, thus the method of production does not provide a practical application.
The BRI of the associated variant antibody substituted sequence data is that of non-functional descriptive material. (MPEP 2111.05)
Claim 1 provides: “said library of variant antigen-binding molecules comprises said substituted sequence data of said template antigen-binding molecule.”
MPEP 2111.05:
"The first step of the printed matter analysis is the determination that the limitation in question is in fact directed toward printed matter. Our past cases establish a necessary condition for falling into the category of printed matter: a limitation is printed matter only if it claims the content of information." See In re DiStefano, 808 F.3d 845, 848, 117 USPQ2d 1265, 1267 (Fed. Cir. 2015).”
The “substituted sequence data” is information providing amino acid sequence data strings.
"[O]nce it is determined that the limitation is directed to printed matter, [the examiner] must then determine if the matter is functionally or structurally related to the associated physical substrate, and only if the answer is ‘no’ is the printed matter owed no patentable weight." Id. at 850, 117 USPQ2d at 1268.
The “substituted sequence data” is not tangibly embodied; there is no physical substrate such as paper, it is not attached to the library or any of its members, nor is it stored in any particular non-transitory computer readable media.
“If a new and nonobvious functional relationship between the printed matter and the substrate does exist, the examiner should give patentable weight to printed matter. See In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 1583-84, 32 USPQ2d 1031, 1035 (Fed. Cir. 1994);”
“To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated. See Lowry, 32 F.3d at 1584, 32 USPQ2d at 1035 (citing Gulack, 703 F.2d at 1386, 217 USPQ at 404)”
There is no structural or functional relationship between the information and the associated product, the library. The “substituted sequence data” may represent the amino acid sequence of a single antigen binding molecules, or multiple antigen binding molecules in the library, however that information does not perform any function. It conveys information to the user, independent of the supporting product.
“Where a product merely serves as a support for printed matter, no functional relationship exists. These situations may arise where the claim as a whole is directed towards conveying a message or meaning to a human reader independent of the supporting product.”
With respect to the interpretation that the information may be stored in a computer-readable media, MPEP 2111.05 notes the following:
“where the claim as a whole is directed to conveying a message or meaning to a human reader independent of the intended computer system, and/or the computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. For example, a claim to a memory stick containing tables of batting averages, or tracks of recorded music, utilizes the intended computer system merely as a support for the information. Such claims are directed toward conveying meaning to the human reader rather than towards establishing a functional relationship between recorded data and the computer.”
Here, the “substituted sequence data” is analogous to tables of batting averages, or tracks of recorded music. The files of amino acid sequence data are provided to convey meaning to the user.
The substituted sequence data, and the steps of the process which produced the library do not integrate the natural product into a practical application.
The additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the product into a practical application, as set forth by MPEP 2106.05(a)-(c) and (e)-(h).
The additional elements do not provide “An improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field, as discussed in MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a);”
The additional elements do not “Apply[ing] or use [using] a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2);”
The additional elements do not “Implement[ing] a judicial exception with, or using a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(b);”
The additional elements do not “Effect[ing] a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(c); and”
The additional elements do not provide “Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(e).”
With respect to step 2B: NO, the claims do not set forth an inventive concept that provides significantly more than that natural product.
The additional elements of “substituted sequence data” and “steps (a)-(f)” which produced the claimed library, alone and in combination do not qualify as significantly more than the natural product, as explained by MPEP 2106.05 (a)-(h).
Physical libraries of antigen binding molecules which bind an epitope were well known in the prior art as exemplified by:
Sela-Culang (2013; PTO 1449) describes libraries of antibodies which bind an epitope of interest, such as those that bind the HEL protein as discussed above.
Davis (US 2002/0029231 A1) describes and claims libraries of antigen-binding molecules which bind an epitope of interest.
Stemmer et al. (US 6,297,053 B1) discloses libraries of antigen binding molecules which bind an epitope of interest.
Zhu et al. (US 6,410,271 B1) discloses libraries of antigen binding molecules which bind an epitope of interest.
Haurum et al. (6,849,259 B1) discloses a library, comprising a mixture of polyclonal antibodies to a given antigen. Polyclonal means each different antibody in the library has a different sequence, originating from the multiple clones of B cells stimulated by the antigen. This is in contrast to monoclonal antibodies which all are generated from a single B cell clone.
George et al. (US 2005/0130320) discloses libraries of antibodies that bind an antigen or epitope of interest.
Substituted sequence information of antigen binding molecules was also well known in the prior art as exemplified by:
Sela-Culang (2013) reviews and provides variable/ variant sequence data for antigen binding molecules as set forth above.
Davis (US 2022/0029231 A1) provides substituted sequence information of antigen binding molecules in comparison to a known or consensus sequence.
Stemmer (US 6,297,053 B1) provides substituted sequence information of antigen binding molecules in comparison to a template.
Zhu et al. (US 6,410,271 B1) discloses substituted sequence data of antigen binding molecules which bind an epitope of interest.
George et al. (US 2005/0130320) discloses substituted sequence data of antibodies that bind an antigen or epitope of interest.
The additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the product into a practical application, as set forth by MPEP 2106.05(a)-(h).
The additional elements do not provide: “i. Improvements to the functioning of a computer, e.g., a modification of conventional Internet hyperlink protocol to dynamically produce a dual-source hybrid webpage, as discussed in DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1258-59, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1106-07 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (see MPEP § 2106.05(a));”
The additional elements do not provide: “ii. Improvements to any other technology or technical field, e.g., a modification of conventional rubber-molding processes to utilize a thermocouple inside the mold to constantly monitor the temperature and thus reduce under- and over-curing problems common in the art, as discussed in Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 191-92, 209 USPQ 1, 10 (1981) (see MPEP § 2106.05(a));”
The additional elements do not provide: “iii. Applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, e.g., a Fourdrinier machine (which is understood in the art to have a specific structure comprising a headbox, a paper-making wire, and a series of rolls) that is arranged in a particular way to optimize the speed of the machine while maintaining quality of the formed paper web, as discussed in Eibel Process Co. v. Minn. & Ont. Paper Co., 261 U.S. 45, 64-65 (1923) (see MPEP § 2106.05(b));”
The additional elements do not provide: “iv. Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, e.g., a process that transforms raw, uncured synthetic rubber into precision-molded synthetic rubber products, as discussed in Diehr, 450 U.S. at 184, 209 USPQ at 21 (see MPEP § 2106.05(c));”
The additional elements do not provide: “v. Adding a specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, or adding unconventional steps that confine the claim to a particular useful application, e.g., a non-conventional and non-generic arrangement of various computer components for filtering Internet content, as discussed in BASCOM Global Internet v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 827 F.3d 1341, 1350-51, 119 USPQ2d 1236, 1243 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)); or”
The additional elements do not provide: “vi. Other meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, e.g., an immunization step that integrates an abstract idea of data comparison into a specific process of immunizing that lowers the risk that immunized patients will later develop chronic immune-mediated diseases, as discussed in Classen Immunotherapies Inc. v. Biogen IDEC, 659 F.3d 1057, 1066-68, 100 USPQ2d 1492, 1499-1502 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (see MPEP § 2106.05(e)).”
The claims have all been examined to identify the presence of one or more judicial exceptions. Each additional limitation in the claims has been addressed, alone and in combination, to determine whether the additional limitations integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Each additional limitation in the claims has been addressed, alone and in combination, to determine whether those additional limitations provide an inventive concept which provides significantly more than those exceptions. For these reasons, the claims, when the limitations are considered individually and as a whole, are rejected under 35 USC § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The metes and bounds of claim 1 are unclear, with respect to what Applicant regards as their invention. The claim is drawn to a library of variant antigen binding molecules, made by a process. Within that process are steps of synthesizing and testing antigen binding molecules, which would indicate the intended library is a physical library of synthesized molecules; however, the final limitation of claim 1 sets forth that the library comprises “substituted sequence information” which could indicate the intended library is an in silico library of sequence data. A third interpretation could be that the intended library comprises both a physical library and an in silico library. While breadth of a claim is not the same as indefiniteness, it is unclear what Applicant intended, and one of skill would not necessarily be apprised as to the scope of protection to afford the claims. Dependent claims 2-5 fail to clarify the nature of the claimed library.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Edwards et al. (2003).
Edwards, B. M. et al. (2003) The Remarkable Flexibility of the Human Antibody Repertoire; Isolation of Over One Thousand Different Antibodies to a Single Protein, BLyS. Journal of Molecular Biology, vol 334, p103-118.
The claims are directed to a library of antigen-binding molecules, which bind to an epitope of interest, comprise antibodies or antigen-binding fragments thereof, and variant sequence information. While the library may have been generated by a bioinformatics-based process, the claims are drawn to the produced library itself.
Edwards et al. provide a library of physical antigen-binding molecules, all of which are directed to the “BLyS” antigen.
“Over 1000 antibodies, all different in amino acid sequence, were generated to a single protein, B-lymphocyte stimulator (BLySTM protein).” (abstract).
The library of antigen-binding molecules comprises variants, when compared to template or known antibody sequences. The antibodies of Edwards include scFv antibodies: single chain Variable region antibodies. These meet the “antibodies or antigen binding fragments thereof, of claim 1.
“This is a highly diverse panel of antibodies as exemplified by the extensive heavy and light chain germline usage: 42/49 functional heavy chain germlines and 19/33 VL and 13/35 Vk light chain germlines were all represented in the panel of antibodies. Moreover, a high level of sequence diversity was observed in the VH CDR3 domains of these anti bodies, with 568 different amino acid sequences identified.” (abstract),
The antibodies of Edwards had varying specificity and selectivity for BLyS, including some that bind with sub-nanomolar IC-50 values and sub-nanomolar affinities. (abstract).
The nucleotide sequences of all anti-BLyS antibodies were determined, and the encoded amino acid sequences for each antibody were derived. (p104) These sequences were compared to known, or template antibody sequences, and variants were identified. This meets the BRI of “substituted sequence information” of claim 1.
“To illustrate the diversity within the antibody panel, the closest human germline for each anti BLyS antibody was identified by aligning its nucleotide sequence to germline VH, VL, D (diversity) and J (joining) databases (20–24) using BLASTN (version 2.0.9). The results are presented as dendograms that illustrate the familial relationships between the different germlines (Figure 3(a)–(d)).” P105
Edwards also provides substituted sequence information for variants within CDR regions.
“In the panel of 1287 anti-BLyS antibodies, we identified a total of 568 distinct VH CDR3 s, ranging in length from five to 25 amino acid residues (Figure 4). Again, this represents a level of diversity previously unreported for a single protein and suggests that antibodies may have been generated to many epitopes.” P105
The library comprises a large number of antibodies likely to bind the same epitope of the BLyS protein.
“Nearly 35% of antibodies in the panel possessed VH CDR3 sequences related to D gene segment D3-9 (YYDILTGYYN), indicating a strong preference for this motif in BLyS binding.” P105
“To illustrate an example of the mutations that were observed between siblings, Figure 5 shows an alignment of seven antibodies all with the same VH germline 1-e, VL germline 1b and VH CDR3 ELGLSIVGATTGALDM. These antibodies differ from each other by between 1 and 26 amino acid residues, illustrating the considerable diversity that can exist even between siblings.” P106
Edwards converted certain scFv to IgG, providing antigen binding molecules which bind an antigen/ epitope, which are antibodies.
“Five anti-BLyS scFv were converted to IgG format and then re-tested in the BLyS inhibition assay. Following conversion to IgG format, three of the antibodies (AB-3, AB-7 and AB-12) showed improved potencies in the assay (Figure 7(B)” p108.
As such, the claims are anticipated.
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Sidhu et al. (2004).
Sidhu, S. S. et al. (2004) Phage-displayed Antibody Libraries of Synthetic Heavy Chain Complementarity Determining Regions. Journal of Molecular Biology, vol 338: 299-310.
Sidhu is directed to creating libraries of scFv, utilizing a bioinformatic process. Sequence variants in certain CDR regions were tailored. Six overall libraries were produced, each to one of six antigens. Certain scFv were converted to Fab, which retained high affinity for the respective antigen. (abstract).
The libraries of scFv were created, “as either monovalent or bivalent single-chain variable fragments (scFvs) with a single heavy chain variable domain scaffold and a fixed light chain variable domain. Using the structure of a parent antibody as a guide, we restricted library diversity to CDR positions with significant exposure to solvent. We introduced diversity with tailored degenerate codons that ideally only encoded for amino acids commonly observed in natural antibody CDRs.” (abstract).
The parent / template antibody was the anti-ErbB2 antibody humanized 4D5 (version 8). Both sequence and 3D structural information is available for this parent antibody. (p300, Fig 1). Figure 2 illustrates some of the diversity both naturally occurring or synthetically added to CDR regions. This sequence information meets the BRI of “substituted sequence information.”
“By tailoring the degenerate codons to mimic natural diversity, we limited the theoretical diversity to ~ 1016 combinations of approximately 8 x 103 CDR-H1s, 1.7 x 104 CDR-H2s and 108 CDR-H3s. This strategy provides two important benefits. Firstly, the number of misfolded or aggregation-prone clones should be significantly reduced, since the diversity at each CDR position was tailored to resemble sequences commonly found in natural antibodies. Secondly, the hierarchy of CDR diversities was the same as that in the natural repertoire, with CDR-H3 being most diverse, followed by CDR-H2 and CDR-H1. Thus, we believe that our strategy makes effective use of the combinatorial diversities achievable with phage display; we targeted those regions of the antibody scaffold best adapted to support sequence variations, and we did so in a manner that mirrored the variation patterns observed in the natural immune repertoire.” P303
The libraries were sorted against 6 separate antigens that were not the antigens for the parent anti-ErbB2 antibody. The 6 antigens included mVEGF, hIGF, hIgE, hIgG, hGH and hGHbp. (Table 2). The library of clones against mVEGF were analyzed by Sidhu, which found more than 80 clones which specifically bound mVEGF and were unique.
“Analysis of 86 unique anti-mVEGF clones revealed a broad range of affinities with the tightest binders exhibiting IC50 values in the 100 nM range (Figure 6). It is notable that the bivalent format allowed for the selection of numerous unique clones while the monovalent format allowed for the selection of the few clones with the highest affinities (Figure 5).”
As such, the claims are anticipated.
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Barbas (1997).
Barbas et al. Methods for producing antibody libraries using universal or randomized immunoglobulin light chains. US 5,667,988 B1, 9/16/1997.
Barbas provides libraries of antigen-binding molecules, and variants of those antigen binding molecules, which can comprise antibodies, or antigen-binding fragments thereof, which bind an epitope, and associated sequence information.
“The present invention describes methods for producing antibody libraries, and particularly for increasing antibody library diversity by inducing mutagenesis within the CDR regions of immunoglobulin heavy or light chains that are displayed on the surface of filamentous phage particles comprising the library. The invention also describes oligonucleotides useful for increasing the library diversity, and universal light chains useful in the library production methods.” (abstract).
Barbas provides selecting antigen binding molecules, based on their ability to bind a pre-selected antigen.
“In a preferred embodiment, the invention contemplates the above mutagenesis method that further comprises the steps of: a) isolating the amplified CDR to form a library of mutagenized immunoglobulin light chain genes; b) expressing the isolated library of mutagenized light chain genes in combination with one or more heavy chain genes to form a combinatorial antibody library of expressed heavy and light chain genes; and c) selecting species of the combinatorial antibody library for the ability to bind a preselected antigen. In one embodiment, the one or more immunoglobulin heavy chain genes can be provided as a library of heavy chain genes as described further herein.” (col 2).
Substituted sequence information is provided in the sequence listing.
As such, the claims are anticipated.
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Mattheakis (1999).
Mattheakis et al. In vitro peptide and antibody display libraries. US 5,922,545, 7/13/1999.
Mattheakis provides libraries of antigen-binding molecules, which bind a given epitope, which can comprise antibodies or antigen-binding fragments thereof, and substituted sequence information.
“Improved methods and novel compositions for identifying peptides and single-chain antibodies that bind to predetermined receptors or epitopes. Such peptides and antibodies are identified by improved and novel methods for affinity screening of polysomes displaying nascent peptides” (Abstract)
“The invention relates to methods and compositions for generating and screening combinatorial libraries of (1) displayed peptides and/or (2) displayed recombinant single-chain antibodies comprising variable region sequences encoded by natural or artificial variable region encoding sequences which are expressed on polysomes in an in vitro coupled transcription/translation system to facilitate screening.” (Col 1.)
The library is generated, and then antigen-binding molecules are synthesized and tested for binding to a given antigen or epitope.
“The present invention provides an improved method for generating libraries of polysomes displaying nascent peptides suitable for affinity interaction screening. … Portions or all of the displayed peptide sequence(s) can be random, pseudorandom, defined set kernel, fixed, or the like. The present display methods include methods for in vitro display of single-chain antibodies, such as nascent scFv, which enable large-scale screening of scFv libraries having broad diversity of variable region sequences and binding specificities.” (Col 6-7)
“The present invention also provides a method for affinity screening a library of polysomes displaying nascent peptides (including single-chain antibodies) for library members which bind to a predetermined receptor (e.g., a mammalian proteinaceous receptor such as, for example, a peptidergic hormone receptor, a cell surface receptor, an intracellular protein which binds to other protein(s) to form intracellular protein complexes such as heterodimers and the like) or epitope (e.g., an immobilized protein, glycoprotein, oligosaccharide, and the like).” (Col 7).
Mattheakis provides frameworks and parent antigen binding sequences. (col 7) Mattheakis provides variants of antigen-binding molecules by mutations in CDR regions. (col 31). Sequence information is provided in the sequence listing. As such, the claims are anticipated.
Claim(s) 1-5 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Luo et al (US 2003/0022240 A1).
Luo et al. Generation and affinity maturation of antibody library in silico. US 2003/0022240 A1.
With respect to claim 1, Luo generates in silico hit variant libraries of antigen-binding molecules, which are then screened against the epitope of interest both in silico and in vitro, wherein the antigen and the epitope are not the same. [0410-0499] A framework or template sequence is provided [0557-0585, 0642-0643]. Variants of the framework are generated, in various regions [587-0671] including CDR regions [0592, 0610, 0644, 0656-0658, 0682, 0698-0763]. Physical libraries of variant antigen-binding molecules can be synthesized [0599-0604, 0739-0746]. Luo provides substituted sequence information for the variant antigen-binding molecules.
As such, the claims are anticipated.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 27-39 of copending Application No. 18/262,419 [US 2024/0101675 A1] (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to antigen binding molecules, which are generated by a process, which are antibodies or antigen binding fragments thereof, which bind an epitope, and sequence information is provided.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/MARY K ZEMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1686