DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 12, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schutz (US 20190001831) in view of Lee (US 20230191934).
Regarding claim 1, Schutz teaches a method for an electric vehicle (EV) charging system to autonomously charge an EV (shown in figure 1 defined in paragraph [0053] a vehicle charging system), comprising:
capturing, by a control system (figure 1 computing and processing unit item 18) and using an image capturing device (figure 1 camera item 12 and video camera item 26) , one or more first images, wherein the one or more first images indicates a position of an EV charging portal of the EV (paragraphs [0065]-[0066] teaches wherein the camera, item 12, detects the position by using an image and recording the image data);
maneuvering, by the control system, a robotic arm of the EV charging system based on the one or more first images (paragraphs [0062] wherein the robot is maneuvered, or moved based on the image data stored);
maneuvering, by the control system, the robotic arm of the EV charging system based on the one or more second images (paragraph [0075] teaches wherein the robot may be maneuvered based on one or more images determined from the data base. Schutz teaches wherein an image recorded from the camera and an image projected from the vehicle may provide data to indicate the position of the charging socket and where the robot should move to engage with the socket and provide charging);
capturing one or more second images using the image capturing device, wherein the one or more second images indicates a position of the one or more fiducial markers (paragraph [0041] teaches wherein the image capturing device detects a projected pattern).
Schutz teaches wherein the vehicle may project an image and use a fiducial marker device, defined in paragraph [0078] as a projection pattern P, but does not explicitly teach projecting, by the control system and using a fiducial marker device, one or more fiducial markers that are offset from the EV charging portal.
Lee teaches projecting, by the control system and using a fiducial marker device, one or more fiducial markers that are offset from the EV charging portal (defined in paragraph [0062] as an image aligner 260 may be configured to project a fiducial marker, interpreted as the bird's eye view image onto an offset location such as a reference plane, which may be the ground or a plane parallel to the ground).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Schutz reference with the charging system of the Lee reference so that the charging socket detection is more accurate
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Lee reference in paragraph [0005] wherein improving the accuracy of an automatic robot charging arm is taught.
Regarding claim 7, Schutz teaches the method of claim 1, wherein projecting the one or more fiducial markers comprises projecting a 6 degree of freedom (DoF) fiducial marker.
(defined in column 3 lines 44 – 46 wherein the robot moves with a plurality of degrees of freedom), but not explicitly wherein the fiducial markers comprise projecting 6 degrees of freedom.
Lee teaches wherein projecting the one or more fiducial markers comprises projecting a 6 degree of freedom (DoF) fiducial marker (defined in paragraph [0065] wherein the manipulator 500, which includes a fiducial marker (interpreted as an image aligner and a birds eye view manipulator) may be an articulated robot arm including a plurality of links each having six degrees of freedom).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Schutz reference with the charging system of the Lee reference so that the charging socket detection is more accurate
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Lee reference in paragraph [0005] wherein improving the accuracy of an automatic robot charging arm is taught.
Regarding claim 12, Schutz teaches an electric vehicle (EV) charging system for use in autonomously charging an EV (shown in figure 1 defined in paragraph [0053] a vehicle charging system), comprising:
a robotic arm that is controllably extendable and retractable, wherein the robotic arm is adapted to carry a charging plug located at a distal end of the robotic arm, wherein the charging plug is configured to be controllably moveable and insertable into an EV charging portal of the EV (paragraph [0014] teaches a robot charging arm, also defined as an extendable rod. Paragraph [0031] teaches wherein the robot includes an interface for charging);
an image capturing device configured to capture one or more images (figure 1 camera item 12 and video camera item 26);
a control system (figure 1 computing and processing unit item 18) configured to:
capture, using the image capturing device, one or more first images, wherein the one or more first images indicates a position of the EV charging portal of the EV (paragraphs [0065]-[0066] teaches wherein the camera, item 12, detects the position by using an image and recording the image data);
maneuver the robotic arm of the EV charging system based on the one or more first images (paragraphs [0062] wherein the robot is maneuvered, or moved based on the image data stored);
capture one or more second images using the image capturing device, wherein the one or more second images indicates a position of the one or more fiducial markers (paragraph [0041] teaches wherein the image capturing device detects a projected pattern); and
maneuver the robotic arm of the EV charging system based on the one or more second images (paragraph [0075] teaches wherein the robot may be maneuvered based on one or more images determined from the data base. Schutz teaches wherein an image recorded from the camera and an image projected from the vehicle may provide data to indicate the position of the charging socket and where the robot should move to engage with the socket and provide charging).
Schutz teaches wherein the vehicle may project an image and use a fiducial marker device, defined in paragraph [0078] as a projection pattern P, but does not explicitly teach a fiducial marker device configured to project one or more fiducial markers; and project, using the fiducial marker device, the one or more fiducial markers that are offset from the EV charging portal.
Lee teaches a fiducial marker device configured to project one or more fiducial markers (defined in paragraph [0062] as an image aligner item 260 which projects an image onto reference plane); and projecting, by the control system and using a fiducial marker device, one or more fiducial markers that are offset from the EV charging portal (defined in paragraph [0062] as an image aligner 260 may be configured to project a fiducial marker, interpreted as the bird's eye view image onto a an offset location such as a reference plane, which may be the ground or a plane parallel to the ground).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Schutz reference with the charging system of the Lee reference so that the charging socket detection is more accurate
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Lee reference in paragraph [0005] wherein improving the accuracy of an automatic robot charging arm is taught.
Regarding claim 18, Schutz teaches the EV charging system of claim 12, wherein projecting the one or more fiducial markers comprises projecting a 6 degree of freedom (DoF) fiducial marker (defined in column 3 lines 44 – 46 wherein the robot moves with a plurality of degrees of freedom) but not explicitly wherein the fiducial markers comprise projecting 6 degrees of freedom.
Lee teaches wherein projecting the one or more fiducial markers comprises projecting a 6 degree of freedom (DoF) fiducial marker (defined in paragraph [0065] wherein the manipulator 500, which includes a fiducial marker (interpreted as an image aligner and a birds eye view manipulator) may be an articulated robot arm including a plurality of links each having six degrees of freedom).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Schutz reference with the charging system of the Lee reference so that the charging socket detection is more accurate
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Lee reference in paragraph [0005] wherein improving the accuracy of an automatic robot charging arm is taught.
Regarding claim 20, Schutz teaches non-transitory computer-readable medium having processor-executable instructions stored thereon, wherein the processor-executable instructions, when executed by one or more controllers (shown in figure 1 defined in paragraph [0053] a vehicle charging system), facilitate:
capturing, using an image capturing device, one or more first images (figure 1 computing and processing unit item 18 captures images from a camera. Shown as figure 1 camera item 12 and video camera item 26), wherein the one or more first images indicates a position of an EV charging portal of the EV (paragraphs [0065]-[0066] teaches wherein the camera, item 12, detects the position by using an image and recording the image data);
maneuvering a robotic arm of the EV charging system based on the one or more first images (paragraphs [0062] wherein the robot is maneuvered, or moved based on the image data stored);
capturing one or more second images using the image capturing device wherein the one or more second images indicates a position of the one or more fiducial markers (paragraph [0041] teaches wherein the image capturing device detects a projected pattern).
maneuvering the robotic arm of the EV charging system based on the one or more second images (paragraph [0075] teaches wherein the robot may be maneuvered based on one or more images determined from the data base. Schutz teaches wherein an image recorded from the camera and an image projected from the vehicle may provide data to indicate the position of the charging socket and where the robot should move to engage with the socket and provide charging).
Schutz teaches wherein the vehicle may project an image and use a fiducial marker device, defined in paragraph [0078] as a projection pattern P, but does not explicitly teach projecting, by the control system and using a fiducial marker device, one or more fiducial markers that are offset from the EV charging portal.
Lee teaches projecting, using a fiducial marker device, one or more fiducial markers that are offset from the EV charging portal (defined in paragraph [0062] as an image aligner 260 may be configured to project a fiducial marker, interpreted as the bird's eye view image onto an offset location such as a reference plane, which may be the ground or a plane parallel to the ground).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Schutz reference with the charging system of the Lee reference so that the charging socket detection is more accurate
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Lee reference in paragraph [0005] wherein improving the accuracy of an automatic robot charging arm is taught.
2. Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schutz (US 20190001831) in view of Lee (US 20230191934) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Pong (US 6237647).
Regarding claim 8, Schutz and Lee teach the method of claim 1, but do not explicitly teach wherein projecting the one or more fiducial markers comprises projecting a dot at a target position.
Pong teaches wherein projecting the one or more fiducial markers comprises projecting a dot at a target position (defined in column 14 lines 46-57 wherein a laser module can be mounted on the pan/tilt platform to paint a dot on the scene that can be seen by the tracking sensor 852).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Schutz in view of Lee references with the target positioning system of the Pong system so that the robot charging arm may be accurately positioned.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Pong reference in column 14 lines 46-57 wherein maintaining an accurate position is taught.
Regarding claim 19, Schutz in view of Lee teach the EV charging system of claim 12, but do not explicitly teach wherein projecting the one or more fiducial markers comprises projecting a dot at a target position.
Pong teaches wherein projecting the one or more fiducial markers comprises projecting a dot at a target position (defined in column 14 lines 46-57 wherein a laser module can be mounted on the pan/tilt platform to paint a dot on the scene that can be seen by the tracking sensor 852).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Schutz in view of Lee references with the target positioning system of the Pong system so that the robot charging arm may be accurately positioned.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Pong reference in column 14 lines 46-57 wherein maintaining an accurate position is taught.
3. Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schutz (US 20190001831) in view of Lee (US 20230191934) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Blackwell (US 8442661).
Regarding claim 9, Schutz in view of Lee teaches the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the fiducial marker device comprises a laser coupled with a galvanometer.
Blackwell teaches wherein the fiducial marker device comprises a laser coupled with a galvanometer (defined in column 4 lines 63 – 66 wherein a laser system comprises a galvanometer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Schutz in view of Lee references with the target positioning system of the Blackwell system so that the robot charging arm may be accurately positioned.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Pong reference in column 4 lines 63-66 wherein maintaining an accurate position is taught.
Regarding claim 11, Schutz in view of Lee teaches the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the fiducial marker device comprises a laser coupled to a plurality of servo motors.
Blackwell teaches wherein the fiducial marker device comprises a laser coupled to a plurality of servo motors (defined in column 4 lines 63 – 66 wherein a laser system comprises a first motor, such as a stepper motor or galvanometer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Schutz in view of Lee references with the target positioning system of the Blackwell system so that the robot charging arm may be accurately positioned.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Pong reference in column 4 lines 63-66 wherein maintaining an accurate position is taught.
4. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schutz (US 20190001831) in view of Lee (US 20230191934) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Christen (US 20190217715).
Regarding claim 10, Schutz in view of Lee teaches the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the fiducial marker device comprises a digital micro-mirror device (DMD) or a liquid crystal display projector.
Christen teaches wherein the fiducial marker device comprises a digital micro-mirror device (DMD) or a liquid crystal display projector (defined in paragraph [0023] wherein The projection unit may be a projection/heads up display (HUD)system that may use a solid-state light source (e.g., a Light Emitting Diode (LED)) that projects light through a Liquid Crystal Display (LCD) screen to create an image when reflected off of a surface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Schutz in view of Lee references with the projector system of the Christen system so that the images are clearly displayed to ensure accuracy.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Christen reference in paragraph [0023] maintaining an image clearly is taught.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, and 13 – 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/09/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claims 1 and 12, the applicant argues that the Schutz in view of Lee fails to disclose or suggest at least, “projecting, by the control system and using a fiducial marker device, one or more fiducial markers that are offset from the EV charging portal.” The applicant argues that the Lee reference remains silent regarding, “projecting one or more fiducial markers that are offset from the EV charging portal onto the EV.” Claim 1 requires, “…projecting, by the control system and using a fiducial marker device, one or more fiducial markers that are offset from the EV charging portal…” Lee teaches a system which projects an image which is offset from the EV charging portal, as it is projected away, in an different location or not directly on the charging portal. The claim does not require that this image is project ONTO the Electrical Vehicle itself. It simply claims an “offset” position which is interpreted to include anywhere not directly on to the charging portal.
Regarding claims 7-12,18-20, the claims are dependent from claims 1 and 12, respectively.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20170210237 A1 Vehicle Charging Station Comprising A Two-Membered Manipulator Buehs; Florian Et Al.
Us 20170225583 A1 Autonomous Vehicle Charging Station Chai; Boaz Jie Et Al.
Us 20250050770 A1 Ev Charging System With Plug System Having Concentric Magnetic And Electrical Surface Contacts Dicke; Steven Et Al.
Us 20210001737 A1 Plug-In System For Charging Hoess; Bernhard Et Al.
Us 20230191934 A1 Method And Device For Detecting Electric Vehicle Using External Camera And Electric Vehicle Charging Robot Using The Same Lee; Min Kyu Et Al.
Us 20160318415 A1 Automated Positioning Of A Vehicle Salasoo; Lembit
Us 20210001736 A1 Method And Device For Automatically Connecting A Charging Connector To A Charging Connector Socket Of A Vehicle, In Particular A Land Vehicle Schoob; Andreas Et Al.
Us 20210086643 A1 Systems And Methods For Automated Electrical Connector Positioning For Electric Vehicle Charging Satheesh Babu; Sree Shankar Et Al.
Us 10710459 B2 Method For Implementing At Least One Power Supply Procedure From At Least One Power Supply Unit To At Least One Transportation Vehicle To Be Supplied With Power Schütz; Daniel Et Al.
Us 20150095233 A1 Facilitating Access To An Electric Vehicle Charging Network Wild; Nick Et Al.
Us 20190202064 A1 Mobile Robot Docking Systems Wolff; Andrew Vincent Et Al.
Us 9056555 B1 Vehicle Charge Robot Zhou; Wesley
Us 20240295878 A1 Systems And Methods For Managing A Robotic Charging System Of A Manufacturing Environment Zimmerman; Jon Et Al.
Us 20240293938 A1 Robotic Arm Assembly For Electric Vehicle Charger Zimmerman; Jon Et Al.
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859