DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7, 9, 10, 15, 16 and 21-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 10, 15, 16, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2020/0027644 A1) in view of Li et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2015/0020378 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Ryu et al., hereinafter referred to as “Ryu,” teaches a coil component 100 (FIGs. 1-2) comprising:
a body 1 including first to fourth side surfaces (front, back, left and right side surfaces) and one surface (top or bottoms surface) and the other surface (the other of top or bottom surface) connected to each of the first to fourth side surfaces and opposing each other in a first direction (T axis direction);
a coil 12 disposed in the body; and
a substrate 11 disposed in the body,
wherein
the substrate has a thickness of 20µm or less, the coil is disposed on a surface (upper and or lower surface) of the substrate (paras. [0037], [0039] and [0043]).
Ryu does not expressly teach
a minimum distance from the coil to the first to fourth side surfaces of the body is 40 µm or greater.
Li et al., hereinafter referred to as “Lee,” teaches a coil component (Figs. 1-5) comprising:
a minimum distance 502 (Fig. 5) from the coil 401 to the first to fourth side surfaces front, back, left and right side surfaces) of the body is 40 μm or greater (para. [0046]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the minimum distance as taught by Li to the coil component of Ryu to provide large impedance, large inductance value and low direct current resistance (para. [0046]).
With respect to claim 3, Ryu in view of Li teaches the coil component of claim 1, wherein a thickness (combined thickness of top or bottom three thin sheets 403) of the coil is less than a minimum distance from the one surface of the body to the coil in the first direction (Li, paras. [0045]-[0046]).
With respect to claim 4, Ryu in view of Li teaches the coil component of claim 1, wherein a minimum distance (combined thickness of top or bottom three thin sheets 403) from the one surface of the body to the coil in the first direction is 70 µm or greater (Li para. [0045]).
With respect to claim 7, Ryu in view of Li teaches the coil component of claim 1, wherein the coil includes a coil pattern 121 and or 122 having at least one turn (turn(s) of coil pattern 121 and or 122) and an insulating layer 14 covering the coil pattern (Ryu, paras. [0050] and [0063]).
With respect to claim 9, Ryu in view of Li teaches the coil component of claim 1, further comprising external electrodes 21 and 22 respectively disposed on the first and second side surfaces (left and right surfaces) of the body opposing each other and having at least a portion extending to the one surface of the body (Ryu, para. [0035]).
With respect to claim 10, Ryu in view of Li teaches the coil component of claim 1, further comprising:
first and second external electrodes 21 and 22 disposed to be spaced apart from each other on the one surface of the body; and
a lead portion 122a and 122b disposed in the body and connecting the coil to each of the first and second external electrodes (Ryu, para. [0050]).
With respect to claim 15, Ryu in view of Li teaches the coil component of claim 1, further comprising:
a lead portion 122a and or 122b disposed in the body, connected to the coil, and extending from the first side surface of the body,
wherein the coil includes a coil pattern 121 and or 122 having at least one turn and an insulating layer 14 covering each of the coil pattern and the lead portion (Ryu, paras. [0050] and [0063]).
With respect to claim 16, Ryu in view of Li teaches the coil component of claim 1, further comprising external electrodes 21 and 22 respectively disposed on the first and second side surfaces of the body opposing each other (Ryu, para. [0035]).
With respect to claim 21, Ryu in view of Li teaches the coil component of claim 1, wherein the substrate includes a reinforcing material (“glass fabric impregnated with the resin”) (para. [0043]).
With respect to claim 22, Ryu in view of Li teaches the coil component of claim 21, wherein the reinforcing material includes a glass fiber or an inorganic filler (“glass fabric impregnated with the resin”) (para. [0043]).
Claims 2, 5, 6 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu in view of Li, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matsuura et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2022/0044858 A1).
With respect to claim 2, Ryu in view of Li teaches the coil component of claim 1. Ryu in view of Li does not expressly teach a distance from the one surface to the other surface of the body in the first direction is 440 µm or less.
Matsuura et al., hereinafter referred to as “Matsuura,” teaches a coil component 1 (FIGs. 1-7), wherein a distance H from the one surface 5 to the other surface 6 of the body 2 in the first direction (direction of height H) is 440 μm or less (“about 0.20 mm to about 0.40 mm”) (para. [0029]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the distance as taught by Matsuura to the coil component of Ryu in view of Li to reduce size.
With respect to claim 5, Ryu in view of Li teaches the coil component of claim 1. Ryu in view of Li does not expressly teach
a distance from the one surface to the other surface of the body in the first direction is 440 µm or less, and
a thickness of the coil in the first direction is less than a minimum distance from the one surface of the body to the coil.
Matsuura teaches a coil component 1 (FIGs. 1-7), wherein
a distance H from the one surface 5 to the other surface 6 of the body 2 in the first direction (direction of height H) is 440 μm or less, and
a thickness (thickness as coil 17 and or 18 as seen in FIG. 5) of the coil in the first direction is less than a minimum distance (combined thickness of sheets 3d and 3e minus thickness of coil 17 and or 18) from the one surface of the body to the coil (para. [0041]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the distance thickness of the coil in relation to the body as taught by Matsuura to the coil component of Ryu in view of Li to reduce size.
With respect to claim 6, Ryu in view of Li and Matsuura teaches the coil component of claim 5, wherein a minimum distance from the one surface of the body to the coil in the first direction is 70 μm or greater (Matsuura, paras. [0029] and [0041]). The body 2 has a height of about 0.4 mm and is made of five non-conductor layers 3a-3e. That means each non-conductor layer 3a-3e would have about 0.08 mm or (80 μm). Therefore, Matsuura teaches the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 24, Ryu in view of Li and Matsuura teaches the coil component of claim 6, wherein
the coil includes:
a coil pattern that includes at least two turns, and
an insulating layer 14 covering the coil pattern,
the at least two turns are disposed on the surface of the substrate, and
the insulating layer is disposed in an entirety of a space between adjacent turns among the at least two turns (Ryu, para. [0063]).
With respect to claim 25, Ryu in view of Li and Matsuura teaches the coil component of claim 24, wherein
the at least two turns includes a first turn (innermost turn), and a second turn (turn adjacent innermost turn) that is adjacent to the first turn, and
the second turn surrounds a side surface of the first turn (Ryu, para. [0037]).
With respect to claim 26, Ryu in view of Li teaches the coil component of claim 25, wherein
a distance from the one surface to the other surface of the body in the first direction is in a range of from 190μm to 440μm (Matsuura, para. [0041]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu in view of Li, as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2020/0194165 A1).
With respect to claim 23, Ryu in view of Li teaches the coil component of claim 22. Ryu in view of Li does not expressly teach the inorganic filler includes at least one selected from the group consisting of silica, alumina, silicon carbide, barium sulfate, talc, mud, mica powder, aluminum hydroxide, magnesium hydroxide, calcium carbonate, magnesium carbonate, magnesium oxide, boron nitride, aluminum borate, barium titanate, and calcium zirconate.
Lee et al., hereinafter referred to as “Lee,” teaches a coil component 1000 (FIGs.1-2), wherein the inorganic filler includes at least one selected from the group consisting of silica, alumina, silicon carbide, barium sulfate, talc, mud, mica powder, aluminum hydroxide, magnesium hydroxide, calcium carbonate, magnesium carbonate, magnesium oxide, boron nitride, aluminum borate, barium titanate, and calcium zirconate (para. [0041]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the inorganic filler material as taught by Lee to the coil component of Ryu in view of Li to provide better rigidity (para. [0040]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837