Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 20, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that the rejection argues that a D5 value of 0.5 is "close enough to the claimed range" of "0.6 or more," even though 0.5 is clearly outside the claimed range (p. 2). However, the rejection makes no such argument. The rejection argues that the cited references provide motivation to increase the value of D5, including to values within the claimed range.
Applicant contends that the experimental examples of the instant specification demonstrate evidence of unexpected results not contemplated by the applied references (p. 2). However, as cited in the rejection, Lee teaches that narrowing the particle size distribution (i.e. increasing D5) yields improved material. The improvement is therefore not unexpected.
The rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-13, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2023/0049476 A1) in view of Shan et al. ("Promoting Si-graphite composite anodes with SWCNT additives for half and NCM811 full lithium ion batteries and assessment criteria from an industrial perspective," Frontiers in Energy 13(4), pp. 626-635, December 2019), as evidenced by Predtechenskiy et al. ("New perspectives in SWCNT applications: Tuball SWCNTs. Part 1. Tuball by itself—All you need to know about it," Carbon Trends 8 100175, July 2022).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a negative electrode comprising a carbon-coated SiOx negative active material comprising Mg and a conductive material (Lee Example 1, [0240]-[0244]). The SiOx composite is made by mixing 15 kg of Si and 11 kg of SiO2 (Lee [0240]), giving x~0.77, which falls within the range of the instant claim. The silicon-containing active material has a D50 of 6 µm and a D5 of approximately 3 µm (based on a D10 of 3.85 µm and a Dmin of 1.96 µm; see Lee Table 1 and Fig. 1) for a D5/D50 of 0.5.
Lee does not teach that D5/D50 is 0.6 or more or that D5 is 3.6 or more. Lee teaches that it is desirable to have a narrow particle size distribution (i.e., D5 is close to D50) so that particle size may be controlled and agglomeration may be reduced (Lee [0047]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to further narrow the particle size distribution, including to values of D5/D50 greater than 0.6, in order to control particle size and reduce agglomeration. As the silicon-containing active material of Example 1 has a D50 of 6 µm (Lee Table 1), a D5/D50 of 0.6 would yield a D5 of 3.6 µm, which falls within the range of the instant claim.
Lee does not teach that the conductive material includes single-walled carbon nanotubes. Shan teaches that adding SWCNTs to Si/C anodes significantly improves performance (Shan Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to add the SWCNTs of Shan to the anode material of Lee in order to improve lifespan and rate characteristics.
Shan teaches that the SWCNTs are from OCSiAl LLC (Shan 2.1 Materials and characterization). OCSiAl SWCNTs for battery applications have a BET surface area 500-1000 m2/g (Predtechenskiy Table 1), which falls within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 4, the silicon-containing active material of Example 1 has a D50 of 6 µm (Lee Table 1), which falls within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 6, the silicon-containing active material of Example 1 has a Dmax of 18.36 µm (Lee Table 1), which falls within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 7, the silicon-containing active material of Example 1 is made with 26 kg of SiOx (Lee [0240]) and 3 kg of Mg (Lee [0241]) and comprises 5% carbon (Lee Table 1). The material is therefore approximately 10 wt% Mg, which falls within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 8, the metal comprises Mg (Lee [0241]).
Regarding claim 9, the silicon-containing active material of Example 1 comprises 5 wt% carbon (Lee Table 1), which falls within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 10, the SWCNTs have lengths of 5 µm (Predtechenskiy Table 1), which falls within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 11, the SWCNTs have diameters of 1.6 nm (Predtechenskiy Table 1), which falls within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 13, Shan teaches that the SWCNTs should constitute 0.2 wt% of the negative electrode active material layer (Shan Abstract). Adding this to the negative electrode active material layer of Lee Example 1 (80 wt% active material; Lee [0247]) would give a Si-based active material:SWCNT ratio of 99.75:0.25, which falls within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 17, the negative electrode is incorporated into a secondary battery (Lee [0245]-[0250]).
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Shan and Predtechenskiy as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xiong et al. (“SiOx-based graphite composite anode and efficient binders: practical applications in lithium-ion batteries”, RSC Advances 11, pp. 7801-7807, February 2021).
Regarding claim 14, modified Lee does not teach that the electrode further contains a carbon-containing negative electrode active material. Xiong is directed to improved anodes for lithium-ion batteries. Xiong teaches that adding graphite (which is a negative electrode active material) to SiOx anodes is a known means to overcome expansion problems (Xiong Introduction). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to add the graphite of Xiong to Example 1 of modified Lee in order to overcome expansion problems with the SiOx material.
Regarding claim 15, Xiong teaches that adding graphite to SiOx anodes is a known means to overcome expansion problems (Xiong Introduction) and gives an example using graphite with a particle size of 22 µm (Xiong 3. Results and discussion). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to add the graphite of Xiong to Example 1 of modified Lee in order to overcome expansion problems with the SiOx material, which would give a DGr/DSiO of 22/6=3.67, which falls within the range of the claim 15.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Shan and Predtechenskiy as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ma et al. (“New developments in particle characterization by laser diffraction: size and shape”, Powder Technology 111(1-2), pp. 66-78, August 2000).
Modified Lee does not disclose a particle size as measured by SEM surface or cross-section analysis. Lee teaches that the particles preferably have a narrow size distribution (Lee [0047]) as measured by laser beam diffraction (Lee [0028]-[0030]). Ma teaches that non-spherical particles may give misleading diffraction results (Ma Introduction, 4th paragraph). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use spherical or nearly spherical particles in the negative electrode of modified Lee in order to avoid incorrect or misleading measurements. This would necessarily give the approximately same particle size results for each of laser diffraction, SEM surface analysis, and SEM cross-sectional analysis, which would be 6 µm for Example 1 of modified Lee, which falls within the ranges of the instant claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.A.C/ Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722