DETAILED ACTION
The instant Office action is responsive to the election of claims received 12/23/2025.
Claims 1-8 & 12-20 have been examined and are pending with this action.
Oath/Declaration
The Oath/Declaration is missing.
Claim Objection
Examiner suggest Applicant to cancel the non-elected claims which are 9-11.
Arguments
Applicant arguments are not persuasive based on the following arguments.
Applicant:
Applicant argues that PA doesn’t disclose wherein the first indication information comprises a first value indicating that the type of the first MDT is signaling based MDT.
Examiner:
Examiner cites LIU that discloses the amended limitation,
wherein the first indication information comprises a first value indicating that the type of the first MDT is signaling based MDT (LIU: [0042, 0280 & Fig 12 “ FIG. 12 is a diagram illustrating a representative signaling based MDT QoS architecture & The measurement period may be configured by the MME for signal based MDT and by OAM for Management based MDT.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Limba in view of LIU to figure out signaling based MDT. One would be motivated to do so because this may be used to enhance measurement objects for QoS verification MDT sessions. (LIU: [0102]).
Based on above explanation arguments made by applicant are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-4, 12-15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beg (WO 2019101125) in view of LIU (US PUB # 2013/0114446).
As per claim 1, Kimba discloses a communication apparatus (Kimba: [ABS]: “provides a minimization of drive test (MDT) configuration method and device, and an MDT measurement method and device. The MDT configuration method is applied in a base station in a first network.”), comprising:
at least one processor (Kimba: “an embodiment of the present disclosure provides a base station, including a processor); and
one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing program instructions for
execution by the at least one processor (Kimba: “an embodiment of the present disclosure provides a base station, including a processor, a memory, and a program stored on the memory and executable on the processor, where the program is implemented by the processor The steps of minimizing the drive test configuration method described on the one hand”), to perform the following:
receiving first minimization of drive-tests (MDT) measurement configuration information and first indication information from a first network device (Kimba: “Step 41: Receive configuration related information that is sent by the base station of the first network and activates the user terminal to perform MDT measurement of the second network.”),
wherein the first indication information indicates that a type of first MDT (Kimba: “ the user terminal sends an indication of the MDT measurement data of the second network to the base station of the first network and/or the base station of the second network;.”), and
the first MDT measurement configuration information comprises configuration information required by a terminal device to perform first MDT measurement, and wherein the communication apparatus is the terminal device or a chipset for the terminal device (Kimba: “Step 42: Perform MDT measurement of the second network according to the configuration related information that activates the user terminal to perform MDT measurement of the second network, to obtain MDT measurement data of the second network..”), ;
and
sending second indication information to a second network device, (Kimba: “Step 43: Report MDT measurement data of the second network..”), wherein the second indication information indicates the type of the first MDT, and the second network device is the same as or different from the first network device (Kimba: “ MDT measurement configuration information and indication information for activating MDT measurement, where the MDT measurement configuration information is used”),
Kimba does not explicitly discloses signaling based MDT.
LIU however discloses signaling based MDT (LIU: [0042 & Fig 12 “ FIG. 12 is a diagram illustrating a representative signaling based MDT QoS architecture;”).
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Limba in view of LIU to figure out signaling based MDT. One would be motivated to do so because this may be used to enhance measurement objects for QoS verification MDT sessions. (LIU: [0102]).
Claim 12 is rejected based on rationale provided for claim 1.
As per claim 2, Kimba/LIU discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second indication information is sent to the second network device by sending a first radio resource control (RRC) message to the second network device, wherein the first RRC message comprises the second indication information, and the first RRC message (Kimba: “In the embodiment of the disclosure, the base station of the LTE or eLTE network may deliver the RRC reconfiguration message, the RRC recovery message, the RRC suspension message, the RRC release message, and the RRC connection setup message to the selected user terminal.”). comprises any one of the following messages:
an RRC reconfiguration complete message, an RRC reestablishment complete message, or an RRC resume complete message (Kimba: “a radio resource control RRC connection state, an RRC inactive state, an initiation RRC restoration request state, an initiation service request state, an initiation access notification region update state, and an initiation tracking region update state.”).
As per claim 3, Kimba/LIU discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the memory is further configured to store a computer program, which, when executed by one or moreprocessors, causes the communication apparatus one or more memories store the program instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform the following:
sending the second indication information to a core network device (Kimba: “Other processing devices for the modem. The wireless terminal can communicate with one or more core networks via a Radio Access Network (RAN), which can be a mobile terminal, such as a mobile phone (or "cellular" phone) and a mobile terminal..”).
As per claim 4, Kimba/LIU discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the memory is further configured to store a computer program, which, when executed by one or more processors, causes the communication apparatus one or more memories store the program instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform the following:
performing MDT measurement based on the first MDT measurement configuration information to obtain a first measurement result (Kimba: “Step 33: The base station of the NR network selects a user terminal that performs MDT measurement of the LTE or eLTE network according to the MDT tracking report information and whether the saved user terminal supports information of MDT measurement of the LTE or eLTE network; and selects the user The terminal sends configuration related information that activates the MDT measurement of the LTE or eLTE network by the user terminal.”) ; and
sending the first measurement result and the second indication information to the second network device (Kimba: “Step 43: Report MDT measurement data of the second network..”).
As per claim 19, Kimba/LIU discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first indication information comprises a first value indicating that the type of the first MDT is signaling based MDT (LIU: [0042, 0280 & Fig 12 “ FIG. 12 is a diagram illustrating a representative signaling based MDT QoS architecture & The measurement period may be configured by the MME for signal based MDT and by OAM for Management based MDT.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Limba in view of LIU to figure out signaling based MDT. One would be motivated to do so because this may be used to enhance measurement objects for QoS verification MDT sessions. (LIU: [0102]).
Claims 13-15 and 20 are rejected based on rationale provided for claims 2-4.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 & 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SIBTE H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2449