DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments filed 12/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s assertion that the amendments to claim 1 overcome the prior art of record, Examiner respectfully disagrees. In particular, the structure of Kim and US 425 combined includes both the ultra-low reflective coating layer (the antireflective layer) and the pixel pattern. Therefore, since the amended structure is taught in the combination of Kim and US 425, the recited functions would be necessarily present as well (MPEP §2112.01.I), so Kim and US 425 would still teach the claimed subject matter of claim 1 and the further rejections with references Ning, Seto, Tanaka, Takanashi, and Ito would still apply to the claims they rejected in the Office Action mailed 10/29/2025. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim states the limitation “ultra-low” in the last line of the claim. This limitation is unclear because what defines “ultra-low” from “high”, “low”, or any other definition for the reflectance of a coating layer is not specified. Is there some percentage range, as claimed in claims 15-17, which would define what is meant by “ultra-low”, or is there some other metric of determination used for this? Claims 15-17 cure this deficiency by disclosing several percentages, however since limitations from the specification cannot be imported into the claims and these percentages are not present in claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised as to the scope of the invention (MPEP §2111.01.III). For purposes of compact prosecution, so long as a lens has an anti-reflective coating, this limitation will be considered met.
Regarding claim 1, claim states the limitation “satisfying at least one of a first coating condition or a second coating condition” in lines 15-16 of the claim. This limitation is unclear because though the claim appears to identify conditions with corresponding specified ranges for the surfaces, there are no actual definitions nor any specific ranges for the conditions mentioned within the claim. What are these conditions? What are the ranges that define them? Due to these conditions, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised as to the scope of the invention (see MPEP §2173.05b.IV and §2173.05c). Claims 2 and 3 together would resolve this issue. For purposes of compact prosecution, the limitation will be considered met so long as the coating is placed onto a lens surface.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the pixel pattern" in line 13 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This rejection could be overcome if the limitation is amended to say “a pixel pattern”.
Regarding claim 14, claim states the limitation “gradually changed” in the second line of said claim. This limitation is unclear because what kind of change is meant for the index of refraction is not specified. Is this a change that happens for each coating on each lens, or one coating compared to other lenses? Further, what kind of change happens to the refractive index as being closer to the lens surface – does the value of the refractive index of the coating increase or decrease as the coating gets closer to the lens surface, or is there some other change to the refractive index that takes place? Due to these questions, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised as to the scope of the invention (MPEP §2173.05(b).II). For purposes of compact prosecution, examiner will interpret an antireflective coating to meet the limitation so long as it is deposited on a lens surface.
Also, claims 2-8, 10-17 are rejected by virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et. al US 20210149157 (hereinafter “Kim” of record), in view of Kim et. al US 20210151425 (hereinafter “US 425” of record).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches an electronic device comprising:
a display (Kim fig. 4 - 330, 331) including a panel layer in which a plurality of pixels are disposed (Kim para. 0068 - 330 may be a display panel and formed based on the structure of pixels and 331 may be a through-hole formed on 330); and
a camera module (Kim fig. 4 - 400) disposed under the display (330, 331), wherein the display (330, 331) includes a first area overlapping a field of view of the camera module (331, Kim fig. 4 shows through hole 331 overlapping with the field of view of 430 and 440 disposed below) and a second area (330) around the first area (331, fig. 4 shows 330 surrounding 331), and
wherein the camera module (400) includes an image sensor (Kim fig. 4 - 440) and a plurality of lenses (Kim fig. 4 - 430 including 431-434), and an optical axis of the plurality of lenses passes through the first area of the panel layer (Kim fig. 4 shows 430 disposed below 330 and 331, where the optical axis would travel along the indicated Z axis through the center of 430 and through 331),
wherein each of the plurality of lenses (430) includes lens surfaces disposed to face toward the display (330, 331) and the image sensor (440, Kim fig. 4 shows 430 with surfaces facing 330, 331, and 440), respectively,
wherein a coating layer (Kim fig. 5 - 4311) to reduce a flare having the pixel pattern shape by lowering reflectance (Kim para. 0083, see also MPEP §2112.01 – since the claimed antireflective coating structure is taught, it should perform the same function of flare reduction), is formed only on a lens surface (Kim fig. 5 - 4301 and 4302 of 431) of the plurality of lenses (430) satisfying at least one of a first coating condition or a second coating condition regarding whether an angle of slope of a partial area of the lens surface is within a specified range (Kim fig. 5 - either side of 431 is sloped in area A1, therefore could satisfy a first coating condition or a second coating condition),
wherein the angle of slope is an angle formed by the lens surface (4301) with a normal line perpendicular to the optical axis (see annotated Kim fig. 5 below - the angle of slope and normal line are shown), and
wherein the coating layer (4311) is an ultra-low reflective coating layer (Kim para. 0083 – 4311 is an anti-reflection coating layer).
Kim does not specify an arrangement density of the plurality of first pixels in the first area is lower than an arrangement density of the plurality of second pixels in the second area.
In the same field of endeavor, US 425 teaches wherein an arrangement density of the plurality of first pixels in the first area (US 425 fig. 6 – A1) is lower than an arrangement density of the plurality of second pixels in the second area (US 425 fig. 6 – A2, see also para. 0059 – the transmission area may be formed to have pixels and/or wirings arranged at a lower density than the surrounding active area, where the transmission area resides within the display panel; see the annotated US 425 fig. 6 below) for the purpose of avoiding a large undesired diffraction of incident light (US 425 para. 0059). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have differences in pixel density within the display panel in order to avoid a large undesired diffraction of light (US 425 para. 0059).
Regarding claim 2, Kim and US 425 teach the electronic device of claim 1, and Kim teaches
wherein a first reference area (Kim fig. 5 – A1) is defined by an area overlapping a minimum effective diameter of lens surfaces of the plurality of lenses in a direction of the optical axis (see above Kim fig. 4, in which A1 is defined as being between the two black lines) and a second reference area is defined by an area having a same center as the first reference area and having a diameter 0.5 times a diameter of the first reference area (see annotated Kim fig. 4 below – where A1 is between the two black lines and the second reference area is between the two grey lines),
wherein a first coating condition is defined by the following conditional expressions:
−10°≤AS1≤10° (based on annotated Kim fig. 5 below, AS1 ≈ 3◦); and
−5°≤AS2≤5° (based on annotated Kim fig. 5 below, AS2 ≈ 2◦),
wherein “AS1” represents the angle of slope of a partial area of the lens surface located in the first reference area, and “AS2” represents the angle of slope of a partial area of the lens surface located in the second reference area.
Regarding claim 3, Kim and US 425 teach the electronic device of claim 2, and Kim further teaches wherein a second coating is condition defined by the following conditional expressions:
ED≥1.5×RaD (based on Kim fig. 12a, D = ED ≈ 2.3, and RaD ≈ 1.5, so 2.3≥2.25, see also citations below for each value); and
15°≤AS3≤40° (see annotated Kim fig. 4 below, zoomed in to show the angle AS3, AS3 ≈ 18◦),
wherein “ED” represents an effective diameter of the lens surface (Kim fig. 12a – D = ED ≈ 2.3 for lens 210, see also fig. 8a for lens 431 having the same anti-reflection coating 211 as 4311 disposed on 431 and para. 0128 – lens 210 may be at least partly similar to one of the lenses of 430), “RaD” represents the diameter of the first reference area (approximated using Kim fig. 12a compared to ED, approximately 1.5), and “AS3” represents the angle of slope of a partial area of the lens surface located between an area whose diameter is 0.7 times the effective diameter and an area whose diameter is 0.85 times the effective diameter (see Kim fig. 4 below, zoomed in to show the point in question between two denoted lines, where the angle can be seen).
Regarding claim 4, Kim and US 425 teach the electronic device of claim 1, and Kim further teaches wherein the angle of slope is defined as an angle defined to face the optical axis and formed by a tangent line defined to pass through a first point of the lens surface and a normal line defined to extend perpendicular to the optical axis while passing through the first point (see annotated Kim fig. 5 below, the first point – labeled as one point below but is the same point, tangent line passing through it, the normal line perpendicular to the optical axis, and the optical axis are all labeled in relation to each other and circled – and the slope between the tangent line and the normal line faces the optical axis).
Regarding claim 5, Kim and US 425 teach the electronic device of claim 4, and Kim further teaches wherein the tangent line defined to pass through the first point of the lens surface passes through a first intersection on the optical axis, and the normal line perpendicular to the optical axis passes through a second intersection on the optical axis (see annotated Kim fig. 5 below, where the first point and first and second intersections made when the tangent line and the normal line respectively cross the optical axis are labeled), and
wherein the angle of slope corresponding to the first point is an included angle between a first line segment defined to connect the first point and the first intersection and a second line segment defined to connect the first point and the second intersection in a triangle having the first point, the first intersection, and the second intersection as vertexes thereof (see annotated Kim fig. 5 below, where the triangle made of vertices including the first point, the first intersection, and the second intersection is circled and each vertex labeled).
Regarding claim 6, Kim and US 425 teach the electronic device of claim 4, and Kim further teaches wherein the angle of slope formed in a direction toward the image sensor with respect to the normal line has a positive (+) sign (see annotated Kim fig. 5 below, point 2 has a positive angle of slope formed in a direction toward the image sensor with respect to the normal line), and
wherein the angle of slope formed in a direction toward the display or an object with respect to the normal line has a negative (−) sign (see annotated Kim fig. 5 below, point 1 has a negative angle of slope formed in a direction toward the display or object with respect to the normal line).
Regarding claim 7, Kim and US 425 teach the electronic device of claim 1, and Kim further teaches wherein the plurality of lenses (430) include at least three lenses (431-434) sequentially disposed one on another along the optical axis in a direction from the display (330, 331) to the image sensor (440, Kim fig. 4 shows 431-434 disposed and centered between 330, 331, and 440).
Regarding claim 10, Kim and US 425 teach the electronic device of claim 1, and US 425 further teach wherein the first area (US 425 figs. 5a-b – the area labeled as 5b in fig. 5a and shown in fig. 5b), when the display (US 425 fig. 5a-b – 400 including 431, A1, A2, and 460) is viewed from above, includes a plurality of pixel areas corresponding to the plurality of pixels (US 425 fig. 6 – P disposed within A1 and A2, see also fig. 7A and para. 0059) and a plurality of opening areas (US 425 fig. 7A – 461, see also para. 0060) between the plurality of pixel areas (US 425 fig. 7A – 461 is disposed between P), and
wherein a first transmittance of the plurality of pixel areas (P) and a second transmittance of the plurality of opening areas (461) differ from each other (US 425 para. 0069 and 0076 – the transmittance of A1 depends on the placement/adjustment of 461).
Regarding claim 11, Kim and US 425 teach the electronic device of claim 10, and US 425 further teaches wherein a difference between the first transmittance and the second transmittance is 15% or more for light having a wavelength of 550 nm (US 425 para. 0076 – display panel includes 460 which is opaque and transmits 0% of visible light including at 550 nm, and A1 which is transparent and transmits 100% of visible light including at 55nm, which would result in a difference of at least 15% or above).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and US 425 as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Ning US 20050162757 (hereinafter “Ning” of record).
Regarding claim 8, Kim and US 425 teach the electronic device of claim 1, and Kim further teaches wherein the plurality of lenses (430) include a first lens (Kim fig. 4 - 431) located closest to the display (330, 331) or an object,
wherein the first lens (431) includes a first lens surface facing toward the display (330, 331) or the object and a second lens surface facing toward the image sensor (440), and
the coating layer (4311) is disposed on an entire area or a partial area of the first lens surface (Kim figs. 4-5 – 4311 is disposed on a surface of at least 431, see also para. 0128-0129 and figs. 12a-g – the coating may be disposed on at least part of one or all the lenses in a lens assembly).
Kim and US 425 do not teach the distance between the center of the first lens surface and the image sensor (TTL) and the length of a diagonal line of the image sensor (ImgD).
In a similar field of endeavor, Ning teaches wherein the coating layer is disposed on an entire area or a partial area of the first lens surface with respect to a first lens surface satisfying a third coating condition defined by the following conditional expression:
TTL/ImgD≤0.65 (Ning para. 0043 - TT/DI<1.5),
wherein “TTL” represents a distance between a center of the first lens surface and the image sensor, which is measured in a direction of the optical axis, and “ImgD” represents a length of a diagonal line of the image sensor for the purpose of allowing the camera to be a low profile optical imager making it suitable for compact digital camera modules (Ning para. 0043). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to allow the camera to be used in compact digital camera modules (Ning para. 0043).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and US 425 as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Seto et. al US 20040043210 (hereinafter “Seto” of record).
Regarding claim 12, Kim and US 425 teach the electronic device of claim 1, and Kim further teaches the coating layer (4311).
Kim and US 425 do not teach wherein the coating layer includes a porous layer in which a plurality of pores are defined.
In a similar field of endeavor, Seto teaches wherein the coating layer includes a porous layer in which a plurality of pores are defined (Seto para. 0014) for the purpose of lowering the apparent refractive index of the antireflection film. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a porous coating in order to lower the refractive index of it (Seto para. 0014).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and US 425 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tanaka et. al US 20080055728 (hereinafter “Tanaka” of record).
Regarding claim 13, Kim and US 425 teach the electronic device of claim 1, and Kim further teaches the coating layer (4311).
Kim and US 425 do not teach wherein the coating layer includes a bumpy structure in which a plurality of protrusions are defined.
In a similar field of endeavor, Tanaka teaches wherein the coating layer includes a bumpy structure in which a plurality of protrusions are defined (Tanaka para. 0039) for the purpose of eliminating unwanted reflectance and allowing a high level of sensitivity for a sensor (Tanaka para. 0010). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a coating with a bumpy structure in order to provide a high level of sensitivity for a sensor (Tanaka para. 0010).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and US 425 as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Takahashi et. al US 20150103226 (hereinafter “Takahashi” of record).
Regarding claim 14, Kim and US 425 teach the electronic device of claim 1, and Kim further teaches
a coating layer (4311).
Kim and US 425 do not teach wherein a refractive index of the coating layer formed on the lens surface is gradually changed as being closer to the lens surface.
In the same field of endeavor, Takahashi teaches wherein a refractive index of the coating layer (Takahashi fig. 2 - 16) formed on the lens surface (Takahashi fig. 2) is gradually changed as being closer to the lens surface (Takahashi para. 0050-0051 – the refractive index of the light blocking portion gradually increases from the surface of the air layer toward the adhesion surface of the lens) for the purpose of enhancing an antireflection effect (Takahashi para. 0050). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a coating layer gradually changing from air to lens surface in order to enhance an antireflection effect (Takahashi para. 0050).
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and US 425 as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Ito et. al US 20030011315 (hereinafter “Ito” of record).
Regarding claim 15, Kim and US 425 teach the electronic device of claim 1, and Kim further teaches a coating layer (4311).
Kim and US 425 do not specifically teach wherein an average reflectance on the lens surface with the coating layer formed thereon is 0.25% or less for light having a wavelength range of 480 nm to 630 nm.
In the same field of endeavor, Ito teaches wherein an average reflectance on the lens surface with the coating layer formed thereon is 0.25% or less for light having a wavelength range of 480 nm to 630 nm (Ito para. 0112 – the measured reflectance of the coating is in a range of 0.1 to 1% for light having a wavelength range of 380 to 640 nm, which includes all reflectance value being 0.1%, which is lesser than 0.25%) for the purpose of enhancing the clearness of images on a display (Ito para. 0113). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an average reflectance of 0.25% or less in order to enhance the clarity of images (Ito para. 0113).
Regarding claim 16, Kim and US 425 teach the electronic device of claim 1, and Kim further teaches a coating layer (4311).
Kim and US 425 do not specifically teach wherein a maximum reflectance on the lens surface with the coating layer formed thereon is 0.35% or less for light having a wavelength range of 480 nm to 630 nm.
In the same field of endeavor, Ito teaches wherein a maximum reflectance on the lens surface with the coating layer formed thereon is 0.35% or less for light having a wavelength range of 480 nm to 630 nm (Ito para. 0112 - the measured reflectance of the coating is in a range of 0.1 to 1% for light having a wavelength range of 380 to 640 nm, which includes all reflectance value being 0.1%, which is lesser than 0.25%) for the purpose of enhancing the clearness of images on a display (Ito para. 0113). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a maximum reflectance of 0.25% or less in order to enhance the clarity of images (Ito para. 0113).
Regarding claim 17, Kim and US 425 teach the electronic device of claim 1, and Kim further teaches a coating layer (4311).
Kim and US 425 do not specifically teach wherein a reflectance deviation on the lens surface with the coating layer formed thereon is 0.25% or less for light having a wavelength range of 450 nm to 630 nm.
In the same field of endeavor, Ito teaches wherein a reflectance deviation on the lens surface with the coating layer formed thereon is 0.25% or less for light having a wavelength range of 450 nm to 630 nm (Ito para. 0112 - the measured reflectance of the coating is in a range of 0.1 to 1% for light having a wavelength range of 380 to 640 nm, which includes all reflectance value being 0.1%, which would give a deviation value of 0%, which is lesser than 0.25%) for the purpose of enhancing the clearness of images on a display (Ito para. 0113). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a reflectance deviation of 0.25% or less in order to enhance the clarity of images (Ito para. 0113).
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH M HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872