DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-14, 16, 17, 19 and 20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/5/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant Argument A:
The Examiner contends that Li discloses a body of thermal insulation in the embodiment of the device in which two portions of insulation are disposed in the device, one between the device casing and the induction coil and one disposed between the coil and the cartridge. The Examiner also asserts in the Office Action that "a body of thermal insulation" does not limit the claim to a single piece of thermal insulation.
Contrary to Applicant's arguments, the Office Action asserts that Li discloses an embodiment ("Embodiment Mono", paragraph 2) in which there is a thermal insulation layer between the cartridge body 102 and the coil 103, and a separate thermal insulation layer between the housing 101 and the coil 103. This is inconsistent with the specific passage in Li referred to by the Examiner, however, in which it is clearly stated that the single thermal insulation layer, as shown in Figure 1, can disposed in one position and also, that is alternatively, in a different position, as shown in Figure 2.
The Examiner additionally contends that if their translation, and by implication their interpretation of the translation, is incorrect then it would be obvious to include both a first mass and a second mass of thermal insulation. Notably, the Examiner indicates that there are provided different masses of insulation for providing different purposes. Clearly each thermal insulation layer 113 of Li is disclosed to would be a separate component, with each layer being provided either side of the coil 103 and not linked or connected in any way either by the configuration, or indeed by their function.
The provision of two components, which is not taught by Li, that are disposed in different locations such that they are not structurally linked or connected in any way and also provided, as asserted by the Examiner, for different functions, cannot be considered to form two portions of the same body of insulation. Applicant takes issue with the notion that two spatially distinct layers of thermal insulation of Li that are disposed either side of the coil such that they are spatially distinct, could be considered to be part of the same body of insulation.
Examiner Response A:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims do not recite that the thermal insulation components which comprise the body of thermal insulation are “structurally linked or connected in any way”. The Applicant appears to be defining “a body of thermal insulation” to mean that the insulation components that comprise the body of thermal insulation are connected or linked, but that is an overly narrow characterization of the instant claim limitations.
Applicant Argument B:
Even if a person of ordinary skill in the art was to consider modifying Li in view of Monsees such that aerogel was placed between the cartridge body and the coil, they would still only arrive at the modified device having a single layer of insulation (now aerogel). Li is silent on the materials of the insulators and therefore does not teach the body of thermal insulation being made of more than one material. Li only discloses "a heat insulating material", and so a person of ordinary skill in the art would be provided with no motivation to modify the insulation to comprise more than one material. The person of ordinary skill in the art may consider replacing one insulator with another, for example aerogel, but they would not be taught to combine the insulating materials to arrive at a body of thermal insulation comprising aerogel and a further non-aerogel material.
In order to allegedly solve this problem, the Examiner has cited Liu, in particular, a "rubber insulation sleeve 21". This is disclosed to be around the outside of the top electrode which is located on the end of the heating element away from the article. The presence of the insulation sleeve on the electrodes implies that the sleeve provides electrical insulation to the device. Neither the location nor the function of this insulation sleeve would lead the person of ordinary skill in the art to consider introducing a further (non-aerogel) thermal insulator into modified Li. When looking to provide improved thermal insulation of modified Li, the person of ordinary skill in the art would not look to a document (Liu) in which an electrical insulation sleeve is provided in order to provide a further thermal insulator.
Also, Applicant points out that Liu does not disclose any thermal insulators around or near the heating element, it appears to focus on providing a seal to prevent hot air flowing into the device body at the opposite end to the heating element. There is therefore no teaching in this document that would lead a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Li further to arrive at the invention of independent claim 1.
There is still no disclosure in any of the documents of a body of thermal insulation comprising two different materials, for example an aerogel material and one or more further (non-aerogel) thermal insulators. The documents alone may disclose certain types of insulation individually, but this does not provide the motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine such embodiments which provide standalone insulation solutions. Nowhere is such a body of insulation disclosed or taught in a manner that would lead a person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the invention set forth in claim 1.
Examiner Response B:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Modified Li teaches two masses of insulation which comprise the body of thermal insulation, and thus it would be obvious that each mass of insulation is comprised of a different material that best serves the location of the first mass of insulation and the second mass of insulation, respectively.
Liu is relied upon to teach a well-known thermal insulation material in an electronic cigarette product.
Applicant Argument C:
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4 and 6-10 of co-pending U.S. Application No. 15/754,818.
The Applicant respectfully traverses this rejection for the same reasons as discussed above, namely that the teachings of Blandino are directed to material that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have no reasonable basis to consider such teaching when considering the type of body of thermal insulation and heating arrangement as found in claim 1. As such, the Applicant request said rejection be withdrawn.
Applicant Response C:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 8 of co-pending U.S. Application No. 15/754,818 explicitly states that the thermal insultation includes one or more thermal insulators selected from an aerogel and many other thermal insulation materials. Claims 4, 6, 7 and 9 of co-pending U.S. Application No. 15/754,818 teach the instantly claimed insulation configuration.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4 and 6-10 of copending Application No. 15754818.
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 6-10 of copending Application No. 15754818 teach all of the limitations in claims 1-6 of the instant application.
Claim 1, 3-5 of the instant application is taught by claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 8 and 9 of copending Application No. 15754818.
Claim 2 of the instant application is taught by claim 2 of copending Application No. 15754818.
Claim 6 of the instant application is taught by claim 10 of copending Application No. 15754818.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5,11-14, 16, 17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN203762288 (LI hereinafter) in view of US20130042865 (MONSEES hereinafter) and further in view of WO2014047954 (LIU hereinafter).
US 20150189915 is applied as a translation of WO2014047954. All citations to ‘Liu’ refer to US 20150189915.
Regarding claim 1, LI teaches an apparatus (Fig. 1), comprising:
a heating zone (1022) configured to receive an article including smokable material, specifically the ‘article’ comprises solid tobacco material (104) ([0024]);
an elongate heater element (102) disposed around the heater zone and including heating material that is heatable by penetration with the varying magnetic field (1021) to heat the heating zone ([0026]);
a magnetic field generator comprising a coil (103) and a device configured to pass a varying electrical current through the coil to generate the varying magnetic field ([0026]); and,
a thermal insulation between the coil and the heater element (113 in Fig. 2, “first mass of thermal insulation”) and a thermal insulator located between the coil and the housing (113 in Fig.1, “second mass of thermal insulation”) ([0027]).
Alternatively, if there is issue as to whether LI teaches applying the first mass of thermal insulation and the second mass of thermal insulation OR whether LI teaches applying the first mass of thermal insulation or the second mass of thermal insulation due to the machine translation LI, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have included both the first mass of thermal insulation and the second mass of thermal insulation in the apparatus because Li teaches that the first mass of thermal insulation prevent the conduction of heat to outside housing 101, and thereby prevents the user from having a hot sensation, and Li teaches that the second mass of thermal insulation serves to protect the inner wire because the coil is generally coated with an anti-oxidation coating on its surface, so the second mass of thermal insulation prevents the coil surface from being damaged (“Embodiment Mono”, paragraph 2). Thus by including both the first mass of thermal insulation and the second mass of thermal insulation in the apparatus, the benefits of both the first mass of thermal insulation and the second mass of thermal insulation are realized.
LI does not expressly teach the material of the thermal insulation.
MONSES teaches a device for generating an inhalable aerosol which includes aerogel insulation ([0080]-[0081]) next to the heating device ([0078]). It would have been obvious to apply aerogel insulation as the thermal insulation material in LI adjacent the heater element because MONSES teaches that aerogel insulation have extremely low density and thermal conductivity, almost nullifying the three methods of heat transfer (convection, conduction and radiation) ([0081]).
Modified LI teaches that the aerogel material comprises at least part of a body of thermal insulation (MONSES, [0080]-[0081]), specifically, modified LI teaches that the “first mass of thermal insulation” comprises the mass of aerogel material (113 in Fig. 2, “first mass of thermal insulation”).
Modified LI does not expressly teach the material of the further thermal insulator, or “second mass of thermal insulation”.
LIU teaches an electronic smoking device with an insulation sleeve of rubber ([0035]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have applied a well-known insulation material, such as rubber as taught by LIU, as the material of the further thermal insulator, or “second mass of thermal insulation” with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, LI teaches that the heating zone (1022) is defined by the heating element (102), wherein the heater zone forms a chamber defined by heater element (102) which just contains the smokeable material ([0026]), and therefore is free of any heating material that is heatable by penetration with the varying magnetic field.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, LI teaches that the insulation encircles the heating element (113 in Fig. 2) such that the insulation is between the coil and the heating element [0027]).
Regarding claim 5, LI teaches that the insulation encircles the coil (113 in Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 11-13, LI teaches that the insulation between the coil and heating element (113 in Fig. 2) is a first mass of thermal insulation and the insulation between the coil and the housing (113 in Fig. 1) is a second mass of thermal insulation.
Regarding claims 14 and 16, modified LI teaches that the aerogel material, which abuts the heating element (113 in Fig. 2) comprises at least part of a body of thermal insulation, wherein the aerogel material is a nonwoven material (MONSES, [0080]-[0081]).
Regarding claim 17, LI teaches that the coil is embedded in the body of thermal insulation ([0027]), specifically the coil is located between the layer of thermal insulation located between the coil and the heating element (113 in Fig. 2, “first mass of thermal insulation”) and layer of thermal insulation between the coil and the housing (113 in Fig. 1, “second mass of thermal insulation”).
Regarding claim 19, modified LI teaches that the body of thermal insulation is arranged to maintain a relative positioning of the coil and the heating element, by being positioned between the coil and heating element (113 in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, LI teaches a system comprising an apparatus for heating smokable material to volatilize at least one component of the smokable material ([0001]-[0002]), the system comprising:
an article (100) including smokable material (104), specifically the ‘article’ comprises solid tobacco material ([0024]);
a heating zone (1022) configured to receive an article including smokable material, specifically the ‘article’ comprises solid tobacco material (104) ([0024]);
an elongate heater element (102) disposed around the heater zone and including heating material that is heatable by penetration with the varying magnetic field (1021) to heat the heating zone ([0026]);
a magnetic field generator comprising a coil (103) and a device configured to pass a varying electrical current through the coil to generate the varying magnetic field ([0026]); and,
a thermal insulation between the coil and the heater element (113 in Fig. 2, “first mass of thermal insulation”) and a further thermal insulator located between the coil and the housing (113 in Fig.1, “second mass of thermal insulation”) ([0027]).
Alternatively, if there is issue as to whether LI teaches applying the first mass of thermal insulation and the second mass of thermal insulation OR whether LI teaches applying the first mass of thermal insulation or the second mass of thermal insulation due to the machine translation LI, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have included both the first mass of thermal insulation and the second mass of thermal insulation in the apparatus because Li teaches that the first mass of thermal insulation prevent the conduction of heat to outside housing 101, and thereby prevents the user from having a hot sensation, and Li teaches that the second mass of thermal insulation serves to protect the inner wire because the coil is generally coated with an anti-oxidation coating on its surface, so the second mass of thermal insulation prevents the coil surface from being damaged (“Embodiment Mono”, paragraph 2). Thus by including both the first mass of thermal insulation and the second mass of thermal insulation in the apparatus, the benefits of both the first mass of thermal insulation and the second mass of thermal insulation are realized.
LI does not expressly teach the material of the thermal insulation.
MONSES teaches a device for generating an inhalable aerosol which includes aerogel insulation ([0080]-[0081]) next to the heating device ([0078]). It would have been obvious to apply aerogel insulation as the thermal insulation material in LI adjacent the heater element because MONSES teaches that aerogel insulation have extremely low density and thermal conductivity, almost nullifying the three methods of heat transfer (convection, conduction and radiation) ([0081]).
Modified LI teaches that the aerogel material comprises at least part of a body of thermal insulation (MONSES, [0080]-[0081]), specifically, modified LI teaches that the “first mass of thermal insulation” comprises the mass of aerogel material (113 in Fig. 2, “first mass of thermal insulation”).
Modified LI does not expressly teach the material of the further thermal insulator, or “second mass of thermal insulation”.
LIU teaches an electronic smoking device with an insulation sleeve of rubber ([0035]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have applied a well-known insulation material, such as rubber as taught by LIU, as the material of the further thermal insulator, or “second mass of thermal insulation” with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined teachings of LI, MONSES and LIU as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20140216485 (EGOYANTS hereinafter).
Regarding claim 6, LI teaches a gap between an outermost surface of the heating element and an innermost surface of the coil, specifically the space wherein thermal insulation is placed (113 in Fig. 2).
Modified LI does not expressly teach that the gap is between about one and about three millimeters.
EGOYANTS teaches a heat-not-burn tobacco apparatus which comprises thermal insulation (18) around the heater (3) ([0029]) wherein the insulation around the heater is about 1 mm ([0020]-[0022]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have applied the insulation thickness of about 1 mm of the apparatus of EGOYANTS to the insulation of Modified LI, which is silent as to the exact thickness of the thermal insulation, with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results, namely appropriate thermal insulation.
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined teachings of LI, MONSES and LIU as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 5369723 (COUNTS hereinafter).
Regarding claims 7-10, Modified LI does not expressly teach that the thermal insulation comprises air gaps.
COUNTS teaches a tobacco flavor unit provided for use in a smoking article for delivering to a smoker a tobacco flavor substance, the smoking article having electrical heating means (abstract). COUNTS teaches that the heater is surrounded by air gaps, which provide good thermal isolation, and because of the insulating nature of the air gaps, higher heater temperatures are allowed to be obtained for a given predetermined electrical power consumption (col. 6, lines 40-65 and col. 9, lines 52-56). Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have positioned an air gap next to the heating element and next to the coil in Modified LI with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results, namely because of the insulating nature of air gaps, less electrical power is needed to achieve a predetermined heater temperature than would otherwise be required (col. 6, lines 50-54).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
YANA B. KRINKER
Examiner
Art Unit 1755
/YANA B KRINKER/Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755