DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/12/26 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Office Action on 1/9/26. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The current amendment made by Applicant to claim 18 to obviate the claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, presented in the previous Office Action, is proper and has been entered. This particular rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ji et al. (U.S. 2018/0278382) (hereinafter “Ji”). Ji teaches all of the limitations of the specified claims with the reasoning that follows.
Regarding claim 1, “a transceiver comprising one or more HARQ entities; wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit a first data portion by use of a sidelink at a first timeslot and to receive a corresponding feedback portion at a first subsequent timeslot within a resource pool using the one or more HARQ entities” is anticipated by the scheduling entity 400 shown in Figure 4 that includes a transceiver 410; where the transceiver further includes a HARQ entity 800 as shown in Figure 8, where the HARQ entity 800 performs HARQ operations including transmission of transport blocks (first data portion), retransmission of the transport blocks, and reception and processing of HARQ ACK/NACK signaling (feedback portion) as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0084]; where the scheduled entities 500 may utilize sidelink signals for direct D2D communication as spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0049]; where a scheduled entity (e.g. a UE) utilizes a subset of a resource grid 304 (resource pool) to communicate with other entities as spoken of on page 6, paragraphs [0056]-[0057]; and where a number of timeslots N, N+1, N+2 (first timeslot, first subsequent timeslot), etc., are utilized for communication as shown in Figure 6.
Lastly, “wherein the one or more HARQ entities are configured to determine a number of HARQ processes used for a communication with another sidelink transceiver based on transmission parameters, wherein the transmission parameters comprise feedback periodicity, minimum time gap between the first and subsequent time slots and/or a timeslot for the retransmission” is anticipated by a scheduling entity (e.g. a UE) that may utilize a HARQ block 442 or 542 to determine a determined number of HARQ processes based on a number of available HARQ buffers 407 or 507, a maximum buffering time (minimum time gap), and a slot duration (a timeslot for a transmission/retransmission) as shown in step 1002 of Figure 10 and spoken of on page 11, paragraph [0096]; where the maximum buffering time refers to the maximum time delay between the transmission of data by the transmitter and the transmission of the corresponding HARQ response (ACK/NACK) by the receiver (minimum time gap between the first and subsequent time slots) as spoken of on pages 10-11, paragraph [0092].
Regarding claim 3, “wherein the transmission parameters comprise one or more resource pool parameters, or parameters extracted from a resource pool configuration” is anticipated by a scheduling entity (e.g. a UE) that may utilize a HARQ block 442 or 542 to determine a determined number of HARQ processes based on a number of available HARQ buffers 407 or 507, a maximum buffering time, and a slot duration (collectively resource pool parameters) as shown in step 1002 of Figure 10 and spoken of on page 11, paragraph [0096].
Regarding claim 4, “wherein the number of HARQ processes is determined on a roundtrip time of an entire HARQ process for one data portion” is anticipated by the HARQ entity 800 that maintains one or more HARQ processes 802 that each maintain a HARQ buffer for storing LLRs corresponding to received data transmissions as well as values indicating the number of transmissions that have taken place for PDUs or data currently stored in the HARQ buffer(s) (roundtrip time of entire HARQ process) as spoken of on pages 9-10, paragraph [0084].
Regarding claim 5, “wherein the one or more HARQ entities are configured to determine the number of HARQ processes used to identify a data portion for a communication with another sidelink transceiver” is anticipated by a scheduling entity (e.g. a UE) that may utilize a HARQ block 442 or 542 to determine a determined number of HARQ processes, where the determined number of HARQ processes may be the maximum or optimal number of HARQ processes that may be utilized for wireless communication (data portion for communication) between a scheduling entity 400 and a scheduled entity 500 as spoken of on page 11, paragraph [0096].
Regarding claim 6, “wherein a number of data packets to be stored by the one or more HARQ entities depends on the number of HARQ processes” is anticipated by the HARQ entity 800 that maintains one or more HARQ processes 802 that each maintain a HARQ buffer for storing LLRs corresponding to received data transmissions (number of data packets) as well as values indicating the number of transmissions (number of data packets) that have taken place for PDUs or data currently stored in the HARQ buffer(s) as spoken of on pages 9-10, paragraph [0084].
Regarding claim 7, “wherein the number of HARQ processes is: limited by a predefined number; or is reduced up to a predefined number, when enabling dynamic determination of the number of HARQ processes based on the transmission parameter; or is limited to the minimum of a predefined number; or is limited by a predefined number, based on a transmission parameter” is anticipated by the scheduling entity that maintains one or more HARQ processes at a HARQ entity 800 up to a determined optimal number (predefined number) as spoken of on page 11, paragraph [0096].
Regarding claim 8, “wherein one or more HARQ entities are configured to dynamically adapt the number of HARQ processes; and/or to activate the determination or dynamic determination of the number of HARQ processes; or to dynamically adapt the number of HARQ processes; and/or to activate the determination or dynamic determination of the number of HARQ processes by configuration or as a part of the resource pool configuration” is anticipated by a scheduling entity (e.g. a UE) that may utilize a HARQ block 442 or 542 to determine a determined number of HARQ processes (activate determination of number of HARQ processes) based on a number of available HARQ buffers 407 or 507, a maximum buffering time (minimum time gap), and a slot duration (a timeslot for a transmission/retransmission) as shown in step 1002 of Figure 10 and spoken of on page 11, paragraph [0096].
Regarding claim 9, “wherein the one or more HARQ entities are configured to buffer the first data portion and/or further data portions and/or to retransmit the first data portion or a further data portion upon a respective feedback portion indicating an incorrect receipt of the first data portion” is anticipated by the HARQ entity 800 that performs HARQ operations including transmission of transport blocks and, if necessary, retransmission of the transport blocks (first data portion) as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0084].
Regarding claim 10, “wherein the retransmission of the first data portion is performed at a first retransmission time slot after the first subsequent timeslot” is anticipated by the retransmission of data 614 occurring in a timeslot following the timeslot N+1 in which a NACK 612 is transmitted as shown in Figure 6 and spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0081].
Regarding claim 11, “wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit a second data portion by use of a sidelink at a second timeslot and to receive a corresponding feedback portion at a second subsequent timeslot” is anticipated by the transmission of data 608 in a timeslot N+1 following the transmission of data 602 in a timeslot N and the reception of a corresponding ACK 618 in a timeslot N+2 as shown in Figure 6 and spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0081].
Regarding claim 12, “wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit a further first data portion by use of a further sidelink to another further transceiver and to receive a further corresponding feedback portion indicating the correct receipt or incorrect receipt of the further first data portion” is anticipated by the multiple scheduled entities 204 that may communicate via sidelink traffic 214 and sidelink control 216 as shown in Figure 2 and spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0049].
Regarding claim 13, “wherein in case the one or more HARQ entities comprise no available HARQ process an existing HARQ process is overwritten or flushed” is anticipated by the selection of a number of HARQ processes (overwriting of existing HARQ process) to avoid running out (e.g. buffer overflow) of HARQ buffers during communication as spoken of on page 11, paragraph [0093].
Regarding claim 14, “wherein a buffer to be overwritten or flushed is chosen by one or more of: Lowest priority of a packet, Source and/or destination ID, Cast type, Associated logical channel (LCH) or QoS flow, Age of a data portion, Remaining packet delay budget, Number of retransmissions, Buffer size, Transmission with many retransmissions; or wherein the transceiver is to delete a large packet to free-up more soft buffer” is anticipated by the selection of a number of HARQ processes to avoid running out (e.g. buffer overflow) of HARQ buffers (having buffer size) during communication as spoken of on page 11, paragraph [0093].
Regarding claim 15, “a further transceiver comprising one or more HARQ entities, wherein the further transceiver is configured to receive a first data portion by use of a sidelink at a first timeslot and to transmit a corresponding feedback portion at a first subsequent timeslot within a resource pool using the one or more HARQ entities” is anticipated by the scheduling entity 400 shown in Figure 4 that includes a transceiver 410 for communication with a scheduled entity 500 (further transceiver) shown in Figure 5; where the transceiver further includes a HARQ entity 800 as shown in Figure 8, where the HARQ entity 800 performs HARQ operations including transmission of transport blocks (first data portion), retransmission of the transport blocks, and reception and processing of HARQ ACK/NACK signaling (feedback portion) as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0084]; where the scheduled entities 500 may utilize sidelink signals for direct D2D communication as spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0049]; where a scheduled entity (e.g. a UE) utilizes a subset of a resource grid 304 (resource pool) to communicate with other entities as spoken of on page 6, paragraphs [0056]-[0057]; and where a number of timeslots N, N+1, N+2 (first timeslot, first subsequent timeslot), etc., are utilized for communication as shown in Figure 6.
Lastly, “wherein the one or more HARQ entities are configured to determine the number of the HARQ processes used for a communication with another sidelink transceiver based on transmission parameters or configured grant configuration as part of the transmission parameters; wherein the transmission parameters comprise feedback periodicity, minimum time gap between the first and subsequent time slots and/or a timeslot for a retransmission” is anticipated by a scheduling entity (e.g. a UE) that may utilize a HARQ block 442 or 542 to determine a determined number of HARQ processes based on a number of available HARQ buffers 407 or 507, a maximum buffering time (minimum time gap), and a slot duration (a timeslot for a transmission/retransmission) as shown in step 1002 of Figure 10 and spoken of on page 11, paragraph [0096]; where the maximum buffering time refers to the maximum time delay between the transmission of data by the transmitter and the transmission of the corresponding HARQ response (ACK/NACK) by the receiver (minimum time gap between the first and subsequent time slots) as spoken of on pages 10-11, paragraph [0092].
Regarding claim 16, “wherein the one or more HARQ entities are configured to analyze the received first data portion with regard to its correct/incorrect/complete/incomplete receipt in order to determine the corresponding feedback portion” is anticipated by the HARQ entity 800 that performs HARQ operations including combining and decoding (analyzing) of received transport blocks (received first data portion), and, if configured, generation and transmission of HARQ ACK/NACK signaling (corresponding feedback portion) as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0084].
Regarding claim 17, “a system comprising at least a transceiver comprising one or more HARQ entities; wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit a first data portion by use of a sidelink at a first timeslot and to receive a corresponding feedback portion at a first subsequent timeslot within a resource pool using the one or more HARQ entities; wherein the one or more HARQ entities are configured to determine a number of HARQ processes used for a communication with another sidelink transceiver based on transmission parameters, wherein the transmission parameters comprise feedback periodicity, minimum time gap between the first and subsequent time slots and/or a timeslot for a retransmission” is anticipated by the scheduling entity 400 shown in Figure 4 that includes a transceiver 410; where the transceiver further includes a HARQ entity 800 as shown in Figure 8, where the HARQ entity 800 performs HARQ operations including transmission of transport blocks (first data portion), retransmission of the transport blocks, and reception and processing of HARQ ACK/NACK signaling (feedback portion) as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0084]; where the scheduled entities 500 may utilize sidelink signals for direct D2D communication as spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0049]; where a scheduled entity (e.g. a UE) utilizes a subset of a resource grid 304 (resource pool) to communicate with other entities as spoken of on page 6, paragraphs [0056]-[0057]; and where a number of timeslots N, N+1, N+2 (first timeslot, first subsequent timeslot), etc., are utilized for communication as shown in Figure 6; as well as a scheduling entity (e.g. a UE) that may utilize a HARQ block 442 or 542 to determine a determined number of HARQ processes based on a number of available HARQ buffers 407 or 507, a maximum buffering time (minimum time gap), and a slot duration (a timeslot for a transmission/retransmission) as shown in step 1002 of Figure 10 and spoken of on page 11, paragraph [0096]; where the maximum buffering time refers to the maximum time delay between the transmission of data by the transmitter and the transmission of the corresponding HARQ response (ACK/NACK) by the receiver (minimum time gap between the first and subsequent time slots) as spoken of on pages 10-11, paragraph [0092].
Lastly, “a further transceiver comprising one or more HARQ entities, wherein the further transceiver is configured to receive a first data portion by use of a sidelink at a first timeslot and to transmit a corresponding feedback portion at a first subsequent timeslot within a resource pool using the one or more HARQ entities, wherein the one or more HARQ entities are configured to determine the number of the HARQ processes used for a communication with another sidelink transceiver based on transmission parameters or configured grant configuration as part of the transmission parameters; wherein the transmission parameters comprise feedback periodicity, minimum time gap between the first and subsequent time slots and/or a timeslot for the retransmission” is anticipated by the scheduling entity 400 shown in Figure 4 that includes a transceiver 410 for communication with a scheduled entity 500 (further transceiver) shown in Figure 5; where the transceiver further includes a HARQ entity 800 as shown in Figure 8, where the HARQ entity 800 performs HARQ operations including transmission of transport blocks (first data portion), retransmission of the transport blocks, and reception and processing of HARQ ACK/NACK signaling (feedback portion) as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0084]; where the scheduled entities 500 may utilize sidelink signals for direct D2D communication as spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0049]; where a scheduled entity (e.g. a UE) utilizes a subset of a resource grid 304 (resource pool) to communicate with other entities as spoken of on page 6, paragraphs [0056]-[0057]; and where a number of timeslots N, N+1, N+2 (first timeslot, first subsequent timeslot), etc., are utilized for communication as shown in Figure 6; as well as a scheduling entity (e.g. a UE) that may utilize a HARQ block 442 or 542 to determine a determined number of HARQ processes based on a number of available HARQ buffers 407 or 507, a maximum buffering time (minimum time gap), and a slot duration (a timeslot for a transmission/retransmission) as shown in step 1002 of Figure 10 and spoken of on page 11, paragraph [0096]; where the maximum buffering time refers to the maximum time delay between the transmission of data by the transmitter and the transmission of the corresponding HARQ response (ACK/NACK) by the receiver (minimum time gap between the first and subsequent time slots) as spoken of on pages 10-11, paragraph [0092].
Regarding claim 18, “a method for determining the number of HARQ processes for a transceiver, wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit a first data portion by use of a sidelink at a first timeslot and to receive a corresponding feedback portion at a first subsequent timeslot within a resource pool using the one or more HARQ entities” is anticipated by the scheduling entity 400 shown in Figure 4 that includes a transceiver 410; where the transceiver further includes a HARQ entity 800 as shown in Figure 8, where the HARQ entity 800 performs HARQ operations including transmission of transport blocks (first data portion), retransmission of the transport blocks, and reception and processing of HARQ ACK/NACK signaling (feedback portion) as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0084]; where the scheduled entities 500 may utilize sidelink signals for direct D2D communication as spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0049]; where a scheduled entity (e.g. a UE) utilizes a subset of a resource grid 304 (resource pool) to communicate with other entities as spoken of on page 6, paragraphs [0056]-[0057]; and where a number of timeslots N, N+1, N+2 (first timeslot, first subsequent timeslot), etc., are utilized for communication as shown in Figure 6.
Lastly, “wherein the method comprises determining the number of HARQ processes used for a communication with another sidelink transceiver based on transmission parameters; wherein the transmission parameters comprise feedback periodicity, minimum time gap between the first and subsequent time slots and/or a timeslot for a retransmission” is anticipated by a scheduling entity (e.g. a UE) that may utilize a HARQ block 442 or 542 to determine a determined number of HARQ processes based on a number of available HARQ buffers 407 or 507, a maximum buffering time (minimum time gap), and a slot duration (a timeslot for a transmission/retransmission) as shown in step 1002 of Figure 10 and spoken of on page 11, paragraph [0096]; where the maximum buffering time refers to the maximum time delay between the transmission of data by the transmitter and the transmission of the corresponding HARQ response (ACK/NACK) by the receiver (minimum time gap between the first and subsequent time slots) as spoken of on pages 10-11, paragraph [0092].
Regarding claim 19, “a method for determining the number of HARQ processes for a further transceiver, wherein the further transceiver is configured to receive a first data portion by use of a sidelink at a first timeslot and to transmit a corresponding feedback portion (indicating the correct/incorrect receipt of the first data portion) at a first subsequent timeslot within a resource pool using the one or more HARQ entities” is anticipated by the scheduling entity 400 shown in Figure 4 that includes a transceiver 410 for communication with a scheduled entity 500 (further transceiver) shown in Figure 5; where the transceiver further includes a HARQ entity 800 as shown in Figure 8, where the HARQ entity 800 performs HARQ operations including transmission of transport blocks (first data portion), retransmission of the transport blocks, and reception and processing of HARQ ACK/NACK signaling (feedback portion) as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0084]; where the scheduled entities 500 may utilize sidelink signals for direct D2D communication as spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0049]; where a scheduled entity (e.g. a UE) utilizes a subset of a resource grid 304 (resource pool) to communicate with other entities as spoken of on page 6, paragraphs [0056]-[0057]; and where a number of timeslots N, N+1, N+2 (first timeslot, first subsequent timeslot), etc., are utilized for communication as shown in Figure 6.
Lastly, “determining the number of HARQ processes used for a communication with another sidelink transceiver based on transmission parameters; wherein the transmission parameters comprise feedback periodicity, minimum time gap between the first and subsequent time slots and/or a timeslot for a retransmission” is anticipated by a scheduling entity (e.g. a UE) that may utilize a HARQ block 442 or 542 to determine a determined number of HARQ processes based on a number of available HARQ buffers 407 or 507, a maximum buffering time (minimum time gap), and a slot duration (a timeslot for a transmission/retransmission) as shown in step 1002 of Figure 10 and spoken of on page 11, paragraph [0096]; where the maximum buffering time refers to the maximum time delay between the transmission of data by the transmitter and the transmission of the corresponding HARQ response (ACK/NACK) by the receiver (minimum time gap between the first and subsequent time slots) as spoken of on pages 10-11, paragraph [0092].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji in view of Lee et al. (U.S. 2022/0337349) (hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 2, Ji teaches claim 1 as described above. Ji does not explicitly teach “wherein the communication with another sidelink transceiver is identified using one or more of source id, destination id and/or cast type”.
However, Lee teaches a method and device for managing HARQ processes in an NR V2X environment where a receiving UE determines an appropriate PSFCH resource (for sidelink feedback) by distinguishing between unicast or groupcast cast type as spoken of on page 14, paragraph [0172].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the PSFCH resource determination in relation to cast type as taught in Lee to the system of Ji in order to improve the HARQ feedback process by allocating feedback resources according to whether groupcast, unicast, and/or broadcast transmissions are received, thereby conserving resource overhead as spoken of on page 14, paragraph [0172] of Lee.
Regarding claim 21, Ji teaches claim 1 as described above. Ji does not explicitly teach “wherein the sidelink comprises a PC5 sidelink and the feedback portion is transmitted on a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH)”.
However, Lee teaches a method and device for managing HARQ processes in an NR V2X environment where a V2X communication (sidelink) may be provided via a PC5 interface as spoken of on page 1, paragraph [0003]; and where a receiving UE may transmit a HARQ-ACK/NACK (feedback portion) on a PSFCH to acknowledge a corresponding transport block as spoken of on page 7, paragraphs [0114]-[0115].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the PC5 and PSFCH usage taught in Lee to the sidelink communication of Ji in order to provide a dedicated channel resource for communication of sidelink feedback in compliance with the 5G NR standard as spoken of on page 1, paragraphs [0003]-[0005] of Lee.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23 (as amended) is allowable over the prior art of record.
Claims 20 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/9/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that Ji does not disclose a sidelink HARQ process determination performed for a sidelink communication or based on sidelink transmission parameters governing HARQ timing between communication sidelink transceivers. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As stated in page 11, paragraph [0095] of Ji, the HARQ process determination method of Figure 10 may be carried out by the scheduling entity 400 of Figure 4 or scheduled entity 500 of Figure 5. Paragraph [0096] of Ji further describes at block 1002, an apparatus (e.g. a scheduling entity or UE) may utilize a HARQ block 442 or 542 to determine a determined number of HARQ processes based on the number of available HARQ buffers 407 or 507, a maximum buffering time, and a slot duration. Paragraph [0046] of Ji further describes that a UE may function as a scheduling entity, scheduling resources for one or more scheduled entities (e.g., one or more other UEs); where the UE may function as a scheduling entity in a device-to-device (D2D), peer-to-peer (P2P), or vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) network.
From the above, since Ji teaches that a UE may function as a scheduling entity for scheduling resources for one or more other UEs via a sidelink, and where the UE may implement the HARQ process determination method of Figure 10, it follows that Ji teaches embodiments using sidelink HARQ process determination as well as other embodiments using uplink/downlink HARQ process determination.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant also argues that Ji fails to disclose “wherein the transmission parameters comprise feedback periodicity, minimum time gap between the first and subsequent time slots and/or a timeslot for a retransmission”. Applicant further asserts that the maximum buffering time of Ji is a buffer management parameter used in calculating the maximum number of HARQ processes and is fundamentally different from the claimed scheduling parameter defining the HARQ feedback timing between data transmission and its associated feedback. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, the above claim language appears rather vague in that it utilizes the term “and/or” which appears to include embodiments where all of the claimed parameters are a basis for the determined number of HARQ processes, as well as embodiments where any of the claimed parameters in the alternative are a basis for the determined number of HARQ processes.
Using a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, Examiner has considered these parameters in the alternative in light of the prior art.
As provided in the previous Office Action and reiterated above, Ji teaches a scheduling entity (e.g. a UE) that may utilize a HARQ block 442 or 542 to determine a determined number of HARQ processes based on a number of available HARQ buffers 407 or 507, a maximum buffering time (minimum time gap), and a slot duration (a timeslot for a transmission/retransmission) as shown in step 1002 of Figure 10 and spoken of on page 11, paragraph [0096]; where the maximum buffering time refers to the maximum time delay between the transmission of data by the transmitter and the transmission of the corresponding HARQ response (ACK/NACK) by the receiver (minimum time gap between the first and subsequent time slots) as spoken of on pages 10-11, paragraph [0092].
Referring to the claim language of claim 1, “a first timeslot” is used to transmit “a first data portion” and “a first subsequent timeslot” is used to “receive a corresponding feedback portion”, where a “transmission parameter” may comprise “a minimum time gap between the first and subsequent time slots”. Examiner’s interpretation is that the minimum time gap is an interval of time between two time slots.
From the above, since Ji describes that the maximum buffering time is a maximum time delay (interval of time) between the transmission of data by the transmitter (transmitting of first data portion at a first timeslot) and the transmission of corresponding HARQ response by the receiver (corresponding feedback portion at a first subsequent timeslot), the maximum buffering time corresponds to the “minimum time gap” as claimed.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant also argues that the “slot duration” taught in Ji does not correspond to the claimed “timeslot for a retransmission”. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As provided in the previous Office Action and reiterated above, Ji teaches a number of timeslots N, N+1, N+2 (first timeslot, first subsequent timeslot), etc., that are utilized for communication as shown in Figure 6; as well as where a HARQ entity may perform HARQ operations including transport of transport blocks as well as retransmission of transport blocks as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0084].
Ji also teaches a scheduling entity (e.g. a UE) that may utilize a HARQ block 442 or 542 to determine a determined number of HARQ processes based on a number of available HARQ buffers 407 or 507, a maximum buffering time (minimum time gap), and a slot duration (a timeslot for a transmission/retransmission); where if the transmission is in slot N, the HARQ response (e.g. ACK/NACK) may be transmitted in the same slot or one or more slots after slot N (may prompt a retransmission) as shown in step 1002 of Figure 10 and spoken of on page 11, paragraph [0096].
From the above, it is maintained that the “slot duration” of Ji corresponds to the “timeslot for a retransmission” as claimed.
Additionally, the above claim language is rather broad in that it does not clearly recite what portion of the network that the transmission parameters apply to. Rather, the above claim language recites that a transceiver comprising one or more HARQ entities uses transmission parameters to determine a number of HARQ processes. The claimed “transmission parameters” could reasonably include parameters relating to a network side or a UE/subscriber side of the network in a bi-directional communication system.
Based on the above, it is maintained that Ji teaches the above limitation in question.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL J MOORE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467