DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action has been issued in response to Applicant's RCE filed April 30, 2026.
Claims 23, 30-33, and 41-42 have been amended. Claims 23-42 have been examined and are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 3, 2025 have been fully considered but they not persuasive.
Applicant argues Hanko does not disclose the evaluate performance relative to a target range and does not recognize a condition where performance is excessive. Paragraph [0107] of Hanko discloses the server agent calculates whether the path is overloaded and needs to shed load, and what is the path's available (unused) bandwidth. The server agent determines that the path is overloaded if either the server's interface or the adapter's interface is overloaded. This discloses detecting being overloaded. Paragraph [0109] of Hanko discloses if there is another path available (between the server and the adapter coupled along the overloaded path) which is not overloaded and which has sufficient available bandwidth for another storage device, the server agent selects such other path for subsequent use. This discloses detecting if another path that is not overloaded (overperformance).
Applicant argues Haga does not disclose maintaining performance within a defined operating range or reducing performance in the absence of overload. Figure 4 of Haga discloses if the system is in over performance the policy is to reduce resources by releasing resources assigned. Haga further discloses a performance degradation condition (overloaded) where the policy is to assign resources.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Independent claims 23 and 33 recite “the overperformance condition indicates that the performance parameter exceeds a policy-defined target operating range and a measured resource load remains below a corresponding overload threshold and performing a load adjustment operation, via the first computing device, according to the determination of the overperformance condition, wherein the load adjustment operation reallocates one or both of data and task assignments, to mitigate excess performance comprising reducing effective throughput or redistributing workload despite available unused bandwidth while avoiding resource overload” Examiner was unable to find support for this in the specification. The specification recites an overperformance condition but does not appear to define it as exceeding a policy-defined target operating range and a measured resource load remains below a corresponding overload threshold. The dependent claims are similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-29, 32-39, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pub. No. 2017/0041182 to Hanko et al. (hereinafter “Hanko”) and further in view of US Pub. No. 2005/0192969 to Haga et al. (hereinafter “Haga”).
As to Claim 23, Hanko discloses a method for managing a distributed electronic storage system (DESS), the method comprising:
generating, via a first network adapter, an indication of a load on a first set of one or more resources associated with the first network adapter (Paragraph [0115] of Hanko discloses server agent 28 performs statistical characterization of traffic which agent 28 itself generates for its own server interfaces);
receiving, via a network link, an indication of a load on a second set of one or more resources (Paragraph [0115] of Hanko discloses requests (from each adapter agent) reports indicative of current overload status. Paragraph [0038] of Hanko disclose first and second adapters);
receiving an indication of a performance parameter over the network link, wherein the performance parameter is determined according to one or more bandwidth utilization and latency (Paragraph [0045] of Hanko discloses the adapter agent is configured to report at least one said consumed bandwidth indication and/or at least one said available bandwidth indication);
determining a condition of the DESS based on the performance over the network link, the indication of the load on the first set of one or more resources and the indication of the load on the second set of one or more resources, wherein a first computing device is operable to determine the condition as an overperformance condition distinct from an overloaded condition (Paragraph [0107] of Hanko discloses the server agent calculates whether the path is overloaded and needs to shed load, and what is the path's available (unused) bandwidth. The server agent determines that the path is overloaded if either the server's interface or the adapter's interface is overloaded. Paragraph [0109] of Hanko discloses if there is another path available (between the server and the adapter coupled along the overloaded path) which is not overloaded and which has sufficient available bandwidth for another storage device, the server agent selects such other path for subsequent use)
the overperformance condition indicates that the performance parameter exceeds a policy-defined target operating range and a measured resource load remains below a corresponding overload threshold (Paragraph [0109] of Hanko discloses if there is another path available (between the server and the adapter coupled along the overloaded path) which is not overloaded and which has sufficient available bandwidth for another storage device); and
performing a load adjustment operation, via the first computing device, according to the determination of the overperformance condition, wherein the load adjustment operation reallocates one or both of data and task assignments, to mitigate excess performance comprising reducing effective throughput or redistributing workload despite available unused bandwidth while avoiding resource overload (Paragraph [0109] of Hanko discloses if there is another path available (between the server and the adapter coupled along the overloaded path) which is not overloaded and which has sufficient available bandwidth for another storage device, the server agent selects such other path for subsequent use).
Haga further discloses load adjusting due to an overperformance condition.
Figure 4 of Haga discloses if the system is in over performance the policy is to reduce resources by releasing resources assigned.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the storage system as disclosed by Hanko, with load adjusting due to an overperformance condition as disclosed by Haga. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Hanko and Haga are directed toward storage systems and as such it would be obvious to use the techniques of one in the other. Implementing the teachings of Haga into Hanko would be improve Hanko’s ability to load balance for more conditions.
As to Claim 24, Hanko-Haga discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the first set of one or more resources resides on the first computing device (Paragraph [0115] of Hanko discloses server agent 28 performs statistical characterization of traffic which agent 28 itself generates for its own server interfaces. The own server interfaces are understood to reside on the device).
As to Claim 25, Hanko-Haga discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the first set of one or more resources comprises the first network adapter (Paragraph [0115] of Hanko discloses server agent 28 performs statistical characterization of traffic which agent 28 itself generates for its own server interfaces. The own server interfaces are understood to be the server’s network adapters).
As to Claim 26, Hanko-Haga discloses the method of claim 23 wherein the first network adapter is operable to store DESS traffic in a virtual container (Paragraph [0011] of Haga discloses the resource operations management system comprising a virtual resource management unit for setting virtual resources by assigning the real resources)
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 27, Hanko-Haga discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the second set of one or more resources resides on a second computing device (Paragraph [0115] of Hanko discloses requests (from each adapter agent) reports indicative of current overload status. Paragraph [0038] of Hanko disclose first and second adapters)
As to Claim 28, Hanko-Haga discloses the method of claim 27, wherein the second set of one or more resources comprises a second network adapter operable to store DESS traffic (Paragraph [0038] of Hanko disclose first and second adapters. Paragraph [0043] of Hanko discloses the adapters monitor data traffic (e.g., receive traffic and transmit traffic) occurring on each said adapter interface).
As to Claim 29, Hanko-Haga discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the condition is adaptable over time (Paragraph [0037] of Hanko discloses ongoing monitoring by each said adapter agent of traffic on each adapter interface of the adapter agent, and after the wait, to begin to evaluate (e.g., reevaluate)).
As to Claim 32, Hanko-Haga discloses the method of claim 23 wherein the method comprises: in response to the condition of the DESS being the overperformance condition, performing automatic provisioning of additional network bandwidth for use by the DESS, wherein the provisioning is selectively limited or deferred to maintain performance within the policy-defined target operating range the automatic provisioning of additional resources comprises one or more of: automatic provisioning of an additional processing core for use by the DESS; automatic provisioning of additional memory for use by the DESS; and automatic provisioning of additional nonvolatile storage for use by the DESS (Paragraph [0073] of Haga discloses this allows the software management unit 210 to upgrade the real resources assigned to the virtual resources of the applications with higher priorities).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 33, Hanko discloses a system for managing a distributed electronic storage system (DESS), the system comprising: a first network adapter comprising hardware circuitry (Paragraph [0115] of Hanko discloses requests (from each adapter agent) reports indicative of current overload status. Paragraph [0038] of Hanko disclose first and second adapters); a network link (Paragraph [0107] of Hanko discloses the server agent calculates whether the path is overloaded and needs to shed load, and what is the path's available (unused) bandwidth); and a first computing device operable to:
generate, via a first network adapter, an indication of a load on a first set of one or more resources associated with the first network adapter (Paragraph [0115] of Hanko discloses server agent 28 performs statistical characterization of traffic which agent 28 itself generates for its own server interfaces);
receive, via a network link, an indication of a load on a second set of one or more resources (Paragraph [0115] of Hanko discloses requests (from each adapter agent) reports indicative of current overload status. Paragraph [0038] of Hanko disclose first and second adapters);
receive an indication of a performance parameter over the network link, wherein the performance parameter is determined according to one or more bandwidth utilization and latency (Paragraph [0045] of Hanko discloses the adapter agent is configured to report at least one said consumed bandwidth indication and/or at least one said available bandwidth indication);
determine a condition of the DESS based on the performance over the network link, the indication of the load on the first set of one or more resources and the indication of the load on the second set of one or more resources, wherein the first computing device is operable to determine the condition as an overperformance condition distinct from an overloaded condition (Paragraph [0107] of Hanko discloses the server agent calculates whether the path is overloaded and needs to shed load, and what is the path's available (unused) bandwidth. The server agent determines that the path is overloaded if either the server's interface or the adapter's interface is overloaded. Paragraph [0109] of Hanko discloses if there is another path available (between the server and the adapter coupled along the overloaded path) which is not overloaded and which has sufficient available bandwidth for another storage device, the server agent selects such other path for subsequent use)
the overperformance condition indicates that the performance parameter exceeds a policy-defined target operating range and a measured resource load remains below a corresponding overload threshold (Paragraph [0109] of Hanko discloses if there is another path available (between the server and the adapter coupled along the overloaded path) which is not overloaded and which has sufficient available bandwidth for another storage device); and
performing a load adjustment operation, via the first computing device, according to the determination of the overperformance condition, wherein the load adjustment operation reallocates one or both of data and task assignments, to mitigate excess performance comprising reducing effective throughput or redistributing workload despite available unused bandwidth while avoiding resource overload (Paragraph [0109] of Hanko discloses if there is another path available (between the server and the adapter coupled along the overloaded path) which is not overloaded and which has sufficient available bandwidth for another storage device, the server agent selects such other path for subsequent use).
Haga further discloses load adjusting due to an overperformance condition.
Figure 4 of Haga discloses if the system is in over performance the policy is to reduce resources by releasing resources assigned.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 23.
As to Claim 34, Hanko-Haga discloses the system of claim 33, wherein the first set of one or more resources resides on the first computing device (Paragraph [0115] of Hanko discloses server agent 28 performs statistical characterization of traffic which agent 28 itself generates for its own server interfaces. The own server interfaces are understood to reside on the device).
As to Claim 35, Hanko-Haga discloses the system of claim 33, wherein the first set of one or more resources comprises the first network adapter (Paragraph [0115] of Hanko discloses server agent 28 performs statistical characterization of traffic which agent 28 itself generates for its own server interfaces. The own server interfaces are understood to be the server’s network adapters).
As to Claim 36, Hanko-Haga discloses the system of claim 33 wherein the first network adapter is operable to store DESS traffic in a virtual container (Paragraph [0011] of Haga discloses the resource operations management system comprising a virtual resource management unit for setting virtual resources by assigning the real resources)
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 37, Hanko-Haga discloses the system of claim 33, wherein the second set of one or more resources resides on a second computing device (Paragraph [0115] of Hanko discloses requests (from each adapter agent) reports indicative of current overload status. Paragraph [0038] of Hanko disclose first and second adapters)
As to Claim 38, Hanko-Haga discloses the system of claim 37, wherein the second set of one or more resources comprises a second network adapter operable to store DESS traffic (Paragraph [0038] of Hanko disclose first and second adapters. Paragraph [0043] of Hanko discloses the adapters monitor data traffic (e.g., receive traffic and transmit traffic) occurring on each said adapter interface).
As to Claim 39, Hanko-Haga discloses the system of claim 33, wherein the first computing device is operable adapt the condition over time (Paragraph [0037] of Hanko discloses ongoing monitoring by each said adapter agent of traffic on each adapter interface of the adapter agent, and after the wait, to begin to evaluate (e.g., reevaluate)).
As to Claim 42, Hanko-Haga discloses the system of claim 33 wherein the he first computing device is operable to, in response to the condition of the DESS being the overperformance condition, perform automatic provisioning of additional network bandwidth for use by the DESS, wherein the provisioning is selectively limited or deferred to maintain performance within the policy-defined target operating range the automatic provisioning of additional resources comprises one or more of: automatic provisioning of an additional processing core for use by the DESS; automatic provisioning of additional memory for use by the DESS; and automatic provisioning of additional nonvolatile storage for use by the DESS (Paragraph [0073] of Haga discloses this allows the software management unit 210 to upgrade the real resources assigned to the virtual resources of the applications with higher priorities).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 23.
Claims 30, 31, 40, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanko-Haga and further in view of US Pub. No. 2013/0227111 to Wright et al. (hereinafter “Wright”).
As to Claim 30, Hanko-Haga discloses the method of claim 23. Hanko-Haga does not explicitly disclose wherein the method comprises: reducing a network congestion by changing a priority of DESS traffic according to the condition of the DESS, wherein the priority is reduced in response to the overperformance condition despite the absence of resource overload.
However, Wright discloses this. Paragraph [0319] of Wright discloses the different QoS Management Policy Sets which are implemented for each respective client may have the effect of prioritizing some Clients over others. Paragraph [0230] of Wright discloses each node in the Cluster reports to each other node its calculated load values. In this way each node (and/or Service) may be informed about each other node's (and/or Service's) load values. Paragraph [0241] of Wright discloses upon receiving the LOAD(Service) value notification update, the other node(s) may automatically and dynamically update their respective local LOAD-Service Tables using the updated LOAD(Service) value information. Paragraph [0268] of Wright discloses at least a portion of the various types of functions, operations, actions, and/or other features provided by the QoS Client Policy Management Procedure may be implemented at one or more nodes and/or volumes of the storage system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the traffic management system as disclosed by Hanko, with prioritizing traffic as disclosed by Wright. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine to apply a known technique to a known device. Hanko and Wright are directed toward traffic management systems and as such it would be obvious to use the techniques of one in the other. Paragraph [0004] of Wright discloses prioritization provides a better client experience.
As to Claim 31, Hanko-Haga discloses the method of claim 23. Hanko-Haga does not explicitly disclose wherein the method comprises: adjusting, according to the condition of the DESS, one or more of: a read batch timing setting, a read batch size setting, a write batch timing setting, and a write batch size setting wherein at least one of the settings is reduced in response to the overperformance condition to limit performance relative to the policy-defined target operating range..
However, Wright discloses this. Paragraph [0225] of Wright discloses the LOAD(Write) values may be automatically and/or dynamically calculated (e.g., in real-time) based, at least partially, on measured amount(s) of write I/O latency and/or write cache queue depth(s) which are associated with the identified Service. Paragraph [0188] of Wright discloses temporarily throttling read and write IOPS for one or more selected services, nodes, volumes, clients, and/or connections.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the traffic management system as disclosed by Hanko, with adjusting read and write IOPS as disclosed by Wright. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine to apply a known technique to a known device. Hanko and Wright are directed toward traffic management systems and as such it would be obvious to use the techniques of one in the other. Paragraph [0004] of Wright discloses prioritization provides a better client experience and paragraph [0188] of Wright discloses prioritizing by throttling.
As to Claim 40, Hanko-Haga discloses the system of claim 33. Hanko-Haga does not explicitly disclose wherein the first computing device is operable to reduce a network congestion by changing a priority of DESS traffic according to the condition of the DESS, wherein the priority is reduced in response to the overperformance condition despite the absence of resource overload.
However, Wright discloses this. Paragraph [0319] of Wright discloses the different QoS Management Policy Sets which are implemented for each respective client may have the effect of prioritizing some Clients over others. Paragraph [0230] of Wright discloses each node in the Cluster reports to each other node its calculated load values. In this way each node (and/or Service) may be informed about each other node's (and/or Service's) load values. Paragraph [0241] of Wright discloses upon receiving the LOAD(Service) value notification update, the other node(s) may automatically and dynamically update their respective local LOAD-Service Tables using the updated LOAD(Service) value information. Paragraph [0268] of Wright discloses at least a portion of the various types of functions, operations, actions, and/or other features provided by the QoS Client Policy Management Procedure may be implemented at one or more nodes and/or volumes of the storage system.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 30.
As to Claim 41, Hanko-Haga discloses the system of claim 33. Hanko-Haga does not explicitly disclose wherein the first computing device is operable to adjust, according to the condition of the DESS, one or more of: a read batch timing setting, a read batch size setting, a write batch timing setting, and a write batch size setting, wherein at least one of the settings is reduced in response to the overperformance condition to limit performance relative to the policy-defined target operating range.
However, Wright discloses this. Paragraph [0225] of Wright discloses the LOAD(Write) values may be automatically and/or dynamically calculated (e.g., in real-time) based, at least partially, on measured amount(s) of write I/O latency and/or write cache queue depth(s) which are associated with the identified Service. Paragraph [0188] of Wright discloses temporarily throttling read and write IOPS for one or more selected services, nodes, volumes, clients, and/or connections.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 31.
Conclusion
/KEVIN S MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499