DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to Applicant's response filed under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111 in response to a Non-Final Office Action. Claims 1, 4, 12, 15, and 20 have been amended; No claims have been added; Claims 2-3, 9, 13- 14, and 18 were canceled previously. Claims 1, 4-8, 10-12, 15-17, 19, and 20 are subject to examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-8, 10, 12, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (LEE hereafter) (US 20210111846 A1) in view of ZHANG et al. (ZHANG hereafter) (US 20210105753 A1).
Regarding claim 1, claim 12, and claim 20, LEE teaches, A method for determining a reference signal, performed by a communications device (LEE; the BS may configure CSI-RS-Resource-Mobility as the QCL source of NZP-CSI-RS-Resource for the UE, Par. 0286), comprising:
determining a target Reference Signal (RS) as a RS of a neighboring cell in response to related configuration information of a first object comprising an identifier (ID) of the neighboring cell (LEE; If the BS configures QCL-Type C, the UE may receive the CSI-RS by configuring the time and/or frequency synchronization of NZP-CSI-RS-Resource with respect to a cell with a cell ID indicated by CSI-RS-CellMobility, Par. 0289),
wherein the first object comprises a Channel State Information-Reference Signal(CSI-RS) (LEE; CSI-RS-ResourceConfigMobility, Par. 0222); and
performing measurement on the target RS (LEE; The UE measures CSI based on the received CSI-RS, Par. 0322), wherein the target RS comprises a RS in information of the first object (LEE; Table 32; The network may configure a CSI-RS resource ID for mobility (CSI-RS-Resource-Mobility or csi-RS-Index of CSI-RS-Resource-Mobility) as a QCL source for CSI-RS resource Type I (NZP-CSI-RS-Resource, Par. 0258; Each TCI state contains parameters for configuring a quasi co-location (QCL) relationship between one or two DL reference signals and the DMRS ports of the PDSCH, Par. 0170).
Although LEE teaches TCI state includes QCL information, but failed to explicitly teach,
RS in Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) information of the first object.
However, in the same field of endeavor, ZHANG teaches,
RS in Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) information of the first object (ZHANG; Table 16a; The TCI-State IE associates one or two DL reference signals with a corresponding QCL type, Par. 0260; An NZP CSI-RS can be configured by the NZP-CSI-RS-Resource IE in a suitable RRC message or by the CSI-RS Resource Mobility field in the CSI-RS-ResourceConfigMobility IE in a suitable RRC message, Par. 0092 [Note that LEE teaches in Table 32 that mobility information is part of QCL-info and Table 16a of Zhang teaches that QCL-info is part of TCI-state IE]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of LEE to include the use of TCI-state as taught by ZHANG in order to provide QCL source for target RS (ZHANG; Par. 0260).
Specifically regarding claim 12, LEE teaches, A communications device, comprising: a memory having a computer program stored therein; and a processor, wherein the computer program, when is executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform a method for determining a reference signal, comprising (LEE; the UE, Par. 0283).
Specifically regarding claim 20, LEE teaches, A non-transitory computer readable storage medium, storing a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform a method for determining a reference signal, comprising (LEE; the UE, Par. 0283).
Regarding claim 7, LEE- ZHANG teaches, The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
a RS in a list configured by a network device (LEE; TABLE 22, PhysCellId, csi-RS-Index, Par. 0222) or reported by a terminal; or a measured RS of the neighboring cell (LEE; the measurement of a plurality of CSI-RS resources, Par. 0307).
Regarding claim 8, LEE- ZHANG teaches, The method according to claim 7, wherein when multiple measured RSs exist in the neighboring cell, the measured RSs of the neighboring cell meet at least one of the following:
the multiple measured RSs have the best quality;
the multiple measured RSs have the largest TD or the smallest ID;
the multiple measured RSs have the highest priority; or
the multiple measured RSs are selected by the terminal or indicated by the network device (LEE; if the number of CSI resources that can be reported by the UE is less than the total number of CSI-RS resources, the network may instruct the UE to report at least one CSI-RS resource for each resource set or setting (through a higher layer parameter and/or DCI, Par. 0308).
Regarding claim 10 and claim 19, LEE- ZHANG teaches, The method according to claim 1 and The communications device according to claim 12 respectively, wherein the RS of the neighboring cell comprises at least one of the following:
a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), the CSI-RS (LEE; TABLE 22, csi-rs, Par. 0222), or a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS).
Claim 4-6 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE- ZHANG in view of MAATTANEN et al. (MAATTANEN hereafter) (US 20220386154 A1).
Regarding claim 4 and claim 15, LEE- ZHANG teaches, The method according to claim 1 and The communications device according to claim 12 respectively.
LEE- ZHANG fails to explicitly teach,
wherein the first object further comprises:
a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH), a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH), a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS), a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH), or a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH); and
the target RS further comprises: a RS in Quasi-CoLocation (QCL) information of the first object, or a RS in spatial relation information of the first object.
However, in the same field of endeavor, MAATTANEN teaches,
wherein the first object comprises at least one of the following: a PUCCH (MAATTANEN; TABLE 9, Par. 0095 [Note that the attached provisional application US 62909114 of MAATTANEN has TABLE 9 on Fig. 4C and page 14]); and
the target RS further comprises a RS in spatial relation information of the first object (MAATTANEN; TABLE 9, csi-RS-Index; Par. 0095).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of LEE- ZHANG to include the use of PUCCH IE as taught by MAATTANEN in order to configure RS (MAATTANEN; TABLE 9).
Regarding claim 5 and claim 16, LEE- ZHANG teaches, The method according to claim 1 and The communications device according to claim 12 respectively.
LEE- ZHANG fails to explicitly teach,
wherein the first object further comprises:
a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH), a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH), a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS),or a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH); or
the target RS is a Path Loss calculation reference Reference Signal (PL RS) of the first object.
However, in the same field of endeavor, MAATTANEN teaches,
wherein the first object further comprises a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) (MAATTANEN; TABLE 6; the UE may be configured with a pathloss reference RS. In this case, the added SSB(PCI) may be indicated in the corresponding RRC configuration, Par. 0088; for a UE to consider multiple sets of SSB, where each set has its independent PCI configured for the UE, in serving cell configuration, Par. 0060 [Note that the attached provisional application US 62909114 of MAATTANEN has TABLE 6 on Fig. 4B and page 12]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of LEE- ZHANG to include the use of PUCCH IE as taught by MAATTANEN in order to configure RS (MAATTANEN; TABLE 6).
Regarding claim 6 and claim 17, LEE- ZHANG teaches, The method according to claim 1 and The communications device according to claim 12 respectively.
LEE- ZHANG fails to explicitly teach,
wherein the first object is at least one of a target object set, wherein the target object set comprises the following: a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH), a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH), a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), Sounding Reference Signal (SRS), a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH), a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH), or a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH); and
the target RS further comprises at least one of the following: a RS in QCL information of a second object, a RS in Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) information of a second object, a RS in spatial relation information of a second object, or a Path Loss calculation reference Reference Signal (PL RS) of a second object, wherein
the second object is associated with the first object.
However, in the same field of endeavor, MAATTANEN teaches,
wherein the first object is at least one of a target object set, wherein the target object set comprises the following: PUCCH (MAATTANEN; TABLE 6; the UE may be configured with a pathloss reference RS. In this case, the added SSB(PCI) may be indicated in the corresponding RRC configuration, Par. 0088); and
the target RS comprises at least one of the following: a RS in QCL information of a second object, a RS in TCI information of a second object, a RS in spatial relation information of a second object, or a PL RS of a second object (MAATTANEN; TABLE 6, PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS, Par. 0089); and
the second object is associated with the first object (MAATTANEN; TABLE 6, Par. 0089; in order to perform UL power control, the UE may be configured with a pathloss reference RS, Par. 0088).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of LEE- ZHANG to include the use of PUCCH IE as taught by MAATTANEN in order to configure RS (MAATTANEN; TABLE 6).
Claim 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE- ZHANG in view of Cirkic et al. (Cirkic hereafter) (US 20210076267 A1).
Regarding claim 11, LEE- ZHANG teaches, The method according to claim 1.
LEE- ZHANG fails to explicitly teach,
wherein the determining a target RS as a RS of a neighboring cell is activated through signaling from a network device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cirkic teaches,
wherein the determining a target RS as a RS of a neighboring cell is activated through signaling from a network device (Cirkic; If the UE wishes to measure on a … CSI-RS from the neighboring cell, this may need to be activated by the neighboring cell, Par. 0004).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of LEE- ZHANG to include the use of activating RS as taught by Cirkic in order to measure (Cirkic; Par. 0004).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHARMIN CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416