DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Specifically, claim 3 lists a more general range of flame retardants than claim 1, upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-12, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schauber (WO 2021/156403 A1; US 2023/0081308 A1 cited as English language equivalent) in view of Hiwatashi (JP 2022/070984; US 12441065 B2 cited as English language equivalent).
Regarding claims 1-3, 8-12, and 24-25, Schauber teaches a composition of a polyketone and a diamine crosslinker (p. 4, [0037]-[0040]). In particular, the crosslinker may be DAPI (p. 5, [0046]), a saturated alicyclic compound having at least two primary amine groups (p. 3, [0025), a saturated alicyclic diamine (p. 9, [0103]), a diaminophenyl compound having two aminophenyl rings linked via an carbocyclic aliphatic group (p. 11, [0124]), or an asymmetric compound (p. 10, [0115], formula II.a). The composition may further include fillers, functional components, and/or customary additives (p. 6, [0070]). The composition is suitable for use in molded articles and electrical applications (claim 28).
However, Schauber does not specify use of a flame retardant. In the same field of endeavor, Hiwatashi teaches use of one or more flame retardants in resin compositions suitable for electrical and electronic applications, including aluminum diethylphosphinate and zinc diethylphosphinate (col. 20, lines 1-2; col. 23, lines 10-12). The flame retardant(s) may be added in amounts ranging from 5-90 parts by mass (col. 23, lines 38-40). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the composition of Schauber and the flame retardant of Hiwatashi to arrive at the claimed invention, and to achieve superior flame retardancy without impairing the properties of the resin composition, as taught by Hiwatashi (col. 23, lines 52-53).
Regarding claims 6-7, Schauber remains as applied to claim 1 above. Schauber further teaches use of glass fiber filler in the composition (p. 15, [0175]).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schauber in view of Hiwatashi as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Morita (JP 2012-045815 A, attached with translation).
Regarding claims 13-14, Schauber and Hiwatashi remain as applied to claim 1 above. Morita teaches polyketone membranes in batteries for electric vehicles (p. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to select the crosslinked polyketone of Schauber for use in Morita’s membrane, to arrive at the claimed invention, to provide improved temperature stability, as taught by Schauber (p. 5, [0049]), and to provide an additional economic outlet for Schauber’s composition.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 16 June 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Schauber and Hiwatashi.
Applicant argues that Schauber does not invite incorporation of a flame retardant. Examiner agrees that Schauber is silent as to use of a flame retardant. However, Schauber does not teach against use of a flame retardant. Hiwatashi provides proper motivation to include the flame retardant, as explained above.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the combination of Schauber and Roth are moot in light of the new rejection above.
All of Applicant’s arguments are believed to have been addressed in full above.
Conclusion
ELIZABETH K. AMATO
Examiner
Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762