DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant elected claims 1-5 and 12-18 with traverse. Applicant’s arguments traversing the restriction requirement are found persuasive, the examiner hereby withdraws the previous restriction requirement. All claims are examined on their merit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN et al. (US 2020/0185974 A1, hereinafter, CHEN) in view of YANG (CN108923552A, hereinafter YANG).
Regarding claims 1 and 12 (claim 1 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), CHEN discloses a wireless charging circuit, comprising an oscillation circuit (See Fig.4, Items#52+ 46+L+C), wherein the oscillation circuit comprises an excitation voltage source (See Fig.4, Item#52 and Par.22, disclose an excitation voltage source), a full-bridge circuit (See Fig.4, Item#46 and Par.23, disclose a full-bridge inverter), and an LC series circuit that are connected in series (See Fig.4, discloses a resonant tank circuit 48 comprising L+C series circuit); and
a monitoring circuit (See Fig.4, Items:56+60 disclose a sample and sensing circuit and a processor), comprising a processing module (See Fig.4, Item#60), wherein the excitation voltage source is configured to provide a stable voltage for the LC series circuit (This is inherent as the voltage source generates a stable voltage to LC circuit in circuit 48);
the full-bridge circuit comprises a first bridge arm (See Fig.4, Items#Q1+Q4) and a second bridge arm that are connected in parallel (See Fig.4, Q2+Q3), the first bridge arm comprises a first switching transistor Q1 and a third switching transistor Q3 (See Fig.4, Switches Q1 and Q4), and the second bridge arm comprises a second switching transistor Q2 and a fourth switching transistor Q4 (See Fig.4, Switches Q2 and Q3);
the LC series circuit comprises an inductor and a resonance capacitor that are connected in series (See Fig.4, tank circuit 48 comprising L and C elements connected in series), one terminal of the LC series circuit is connected to a phase midpoint of the first bridge arm (See Fig.4, disclose LC circuit for tank circuit 48 is connected to a node point between switches Q1 and Q4), and the other terminal is connected to a phase midpoint of the second bridge arm (See Fig.4, discloses the second terminal of the LC circuit for tank circuit 48 is connected to midpoint A1 between Q2 and Q3); and
a phase midpoint of the LC series circuit is connected to the monitoring circuit and is configured to output a resonant voltage signal during damped oscillation to the monitoring circuit (See Fig.4, discloses the monitoring circuit 56+60 are connected to the midpoint of LC circuit of tank 48 and Par.17-18 disclose exciting transitory damped oscillations in the resonant tank circuit),
CHEN further discloses determining a quality factor Q based on a first parameter (See Par.15, discloses the sampling and sensing circuit 56 measures peak values of a sinusoidal waveform of resonator energy, and the processor 60 uses the measured peak values to estimate parameters along the curve via exponential curve fitting to determine Q factor value), and
monitoring a foreign object based on the quality factor Q to obtain a monitoring result (See Par.15, discloses using the Q factor values to detect the presence of a foreign object)
However, CHEN does not disclose the monitoring circuit comprising a comparison module sequentially connected to a processor,
the comparison module is configured to receive the resonant voltage signal, and convert the resonant voltage signal into a digital square wave signal;
the processing module is configured to:
receive the digital square wave signal, obtain a resonant voltage attenuation waveform during damped oscillation based on turn-on and turn-off of the switching transistors Q1 to Q4, obtain a first parameter that meets a first preset condition and that is in the resonant voltage attenuation waveform, determine a quality factor Q based on the first parameter, and
monitor a foreign object based on the quality factor Q to obtain a monitoring result, wherein the first parameter comprises a quantity of peaks, a quantity of troughs, or a sum of the quantity of peaks and the quantity of troughs, and the quality factor Q represents a ratio of power stored in the oscillation circuit to a power loss in each cycle.
YANG discloses a wireless charging foreign object detection circuit comprising a monitoring circuit (See Fig.1, Items:120+130 disclose a monitoring circuit), the monitoring circuit comprising a comparison module (See Fig.2, Item#122 and Par.34, disclose a comparison circuit) sequentially connected to a processor (See Fig.1, discloses the output of the comparison circuit of conversion module 120 is connected to a processing module 130),
the comparison module is configured to receive the resonant voltage signal (See Fig.1, discloses the conversion module is connected to the mid-point of LC resonant circuit to receive input voltage which is received by conversion and comparison circuit 120), and convert the resonant voltage signal into a digital square wave signal (See Par.21, discloses “The decaying oscillation signal is then converted into a digital square wave signal by a conversion module.”);
the processing module is configured to:
receive the digital square wave signal, obtain a resonant voltage attenuation waveform during damped oscillation based on turn-on and turn-off of the switching transistors Q1 to Q4, obtain a first parameter that meets a first preset condition and that is in the resonant voltage attenuation waveform, determine a quality factor Q based on the first parameter (See Par.21 and Figs.1-3, disclose the processor receives the converted attenuated voltage waveform shown in Fig.3 as a decaying waveform converted to square pulses between peak U1 and dip U2 and the processing module 130 detects the number of period of the signal going to U1 and back to U2 which corresponds to a parameter when the voltage is above a threshold represented in the X-Axis. Once the voltage drops below the X-axis threshold, no equivalent pulses are converted as shown in Fig.3. Par.21 further discloses that the processor determines the quality factor based on the number periods N), and
monitor a foreign object based on the quality factor Q to obtain a monitoring result, wherein the first parameter comprises a quantity of peaks (See Par.21, discloses the number of periods [each period includes peaks U1 and troughs U2] is used to determine the quality factor which is then used to determine the presence of a foreign object), a quantity of troughs, or a sum of the quantity of peaks and the quantity of troughs, and the quality factor Q represents a ratio of power stored in the oscillation circuit to a power loss in each cycle (This is a definition of quality factor which is disclosed to be detected by processor).
CHEN and YANG are analogous art since they both deal with detection of foreign objects in wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by CHEN with the teachings of YANG by replacing the sample and sensing circuit and processor disclosed by CHEN with the conversion circuit and the processor disclosed by YANG for the benefit of improving the accuracy of the foreign object detection (See YANG, Par.7, discloses providing improved foreign object detection accuracy).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, CHEN and YANG disclose the wireless charging circuit according to claim 1, wherein the first preset condition is that in each oscillation cycle, a resonant voltage generated during damped oscillation is greater than a reference voltage (See YANG, Fig.3 and Par.21, disclose converting the periods where the waveform exceeds the threshold limit indicated on the X-Axis to pulses with voltage U1 peak and U2 trough) ; and when a voltage of the phase midpoint of the LC series circuit to ground reaches an amplitude voltage of the excitation voltage source, the damped oscillation occurs in the oscillation circuit to generate the resonant voltage (See CHEN, Par.18, discloses the damped oscillation takes place after energy source is removed and resonant voltage is generated via the LC tank in resonant tank circuit 48).
Regarding claim 3 and 14, CHEN and YANG disclose the wireless charging circuit according to claim 1, wherein the first parameter comprises the quantity of peaks (See YANG, Par.21 and Fig.3, discloses counting the number of periods, the number of periods is the same as thew number of peaks), and the quantity of peaks that meets the first preset condition is the quantity of peaks that meets the first preset condition and that is determined (See Fig.3, discloses the peaks correspond to the values when the sinusoidal voltage is above the threshold of the X-Axis), based on the digital square wave signal output by the comparison module, by the processing module when the first switching transistor Q1 of the first bridge arm is off, the third switching transistor Q3 of the first bridge arm is on, the second switching transistor Q2 of the second bridge arm is changed from on to off, and the fourth switching transistor Q4 of the second bridge arm is changed from off to on (See CHEN, Fig.3, discloses a first arm comprising Q1 and Q4 and a second arm Q2 and Q3. CHEN as modified by YANG, discloses a full bridge comprising the first arm and the second arm, the LC circuit is connected to the mid-points of the first and the second arm. CHEN, Par.26, discloses that when Q1 and Q3 are on while Q2 and Q4 are off during a first pulse and Q2 and Q4 are on while Q1 and Q3 are off);
the first parameter comprises the quantity of troughs, and the quantity of troughs that meets the first preset condition is the quantity of troughs that meets the first preset condition and that is determined (See YANG, Fig.3 and Par.21, disclose counting the number of periods, the number of periods is the same as the number of peaks U1 and troughs U2 since each period includes a peak and a trough), based on the digital square wave signal output by the comparison module, by the processing module when the second switching transistor Q2 of the second bridge arm is off, the fourth switching transistor Q4 of the second bridge arm is on, the first switching transistor Q1 of the first bridge arm is changed from on to off, and the third switching transistor Q3 of the first bridge arm is changed from off to on (See CHEN, Par.26); or the first parameter comprises the sum of the quantity of peaks and the quantity of troughs, and the sum is the sum of the quantity of peaks that meets the first preset condition and the quantity of troughs that meets the first preset condition.
Regarding claim 13, CHEN and YANG disclose the wireless charging method according to claim 12 as discussed above, wherein the first preset condition is that in each oscillation cycle, a resonant voltage generated during damped oscillation is greater than a reference voltage (See YANG, Fig.3, discloses each oscillation cycle is when the voltage waveform is over the threshold set as the X-axis); and
when a voltage of the phase midpoint of the LC series circuit to ground reaches an amplitude voltage of the excitation voltage source Us, the damped oscillation occurs in the oscillation circuit to generate the resonant voltage (See CHEN, Fig.4, discloses LC connected to the mid-point of the of the first arm and the second arm of an inverter which receives voltage input from a voltage supply 52. Par.18 discloses the damped oscillation takes place when voltage source is removed and resonant voltage is generated by the resonant LC circuit).
Regarding claims 4 and 15 (claim 4 is considered representative for limitationmatching purposes), CHEN and YANG disclose the wireless charging circuit according to claim 1, wherein the processing module is further configured to determine, based on the first parameter, the quality factor Q:
wherein m and n are both positive integers, m≥1, and U1 and U2 are any peak voltage or any trough voltage in the resonant voltage attenuation waveform (See YANG, Par.18, discloses Q = N·π/ln(u1/u2) ).
Regarding claims 5 and 16 (claim 5 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), CHEN and YANG disclose the wireless charging circuit according to claim 4 as discussed above, However, CHEN and YANG do not explicitly wherein when m = 2, the quality factor Q is:
n is the sum of the quantity of peaks and the quantity of troughs.
The examiner however explains that YANG, discloses in Pars.17-18 and 21, disclose using the number of periods which is defined as the number of times a voltage reaches U1 and back to U2. The number of periods is therefore equal to the number of peaks and equal also to the number of troughs. The examiner explains that by adding the sum of peaks and troughs, the value is double that of just the peaks or troughs and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to divide the formula disclosed by YANG by 2 when the sum of peaks and troughs is used for the benefit of arriving at the number of periods T as disclosed by YANG.
Regarding claim 17, CHEN and YANG disclose a device, wherein the device is a transmit device (See CHEN, Fig.4, discloses a wireless power transmitter) or a receive device, and the transmit device or the receive device comprises the wireless charging circuit according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, CHEN and YANG disclose a wireless charging system (Fig.4 and Par.21 disclose a wireless charging system), wherein the system comprises a transmit device (See CHEN, Fig.4 and Par.21, disclose a transmit device comprising 52+42+L+C+56+60) and a receive device (See CHEN, Fig.4, disclose a receive device comprising LS+ Adapter circuit 50 + Load 44), and the transmit device comprises the wireless charging circuit according to claim 1, and the receive device is a to-be-charged device (See CHEN, Fig.4 and Par.21, disclose a wireless charging system for charging the above identified receiving device).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-11 are allowed. Regarding claim 6, the prior art does not disclose “…a monitoring circuit, comprising a voltage biasing module… the voltage biasing module is connected to the oscillation circuit, and is configured to receive the resonant voltage signal output by the oscillation circuit, bias the resonant voltage signal, and
transmit a biased resonant voltage signal to the comparison module; the comparison module is configured to:
receive the biased resonant voltage signal, convert the biased resonant voltage signal into a digital square wave signal…” in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
Dependent claims 7-11 are also allowed.
Conclusion
/AHMED H OMAR/Examiner, Art Unit 2859