DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7-10, and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0131006 (Chanduszko) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0227938 (Fasching et al.).
Regarding claim 1, Chanduszko teaches a hernia plug (30) (abstract; The limitation “hernia plug” is intended use. Since the plug of Chanduszko is configured and employed for closing an aperture in a body organ, the plug is capable of performing the claimed intended use, [0018], Figure 5), comprising:
a waist portion (36, 38) extending, along an extension axis, between a first waist end and a second waist end (Figures 3-4);
one or more first overhangs (32a-32c) coupled to or proximal the first waist end (Figures 3-4); and
one or more second overhangs (34a-34c) coupled to or proximal the second waist end (Figures 3-4),
wherein the hernia plug is formed of a thermo-responsive smart memory material and is configured to transform between a pre-activation shape and a post-activation shape in response to a thermal stimuli (shape memory: “a closure device is made from a single polymer tube 10 by providing slits 12, 14 at both ends and setting a desired shape, such as by thermo-mechanical treatment, to produce a design as shown in FIG. 2. This treatment can include heating or other thermal steps, and mechanical steps, such as folding back the struts”, [0008], [0018]-[0019]; “pre-activation state” shown in Figure 1 and “post-activation state” shown in Figures 2-4; [0024]; Figures 3-4).
Chanduszko does not teach the waist portion is expandable in an axis orthogonal to the extension axis in the post-activated state relative to the pre-activation shape.
However, Fasching teaches a hernia plug (30) (abstract; The limitation “hernia plug” is intended use. Since the plug of Fasching is configured and employed for closing an aperture in body tissue, the plug is capable of performing the claimed intended use, abstract, [0011], Figures 6A-6H), comprising a waist portion extending along an extension axis, between a first waist end and a second waist end ([0056]; See annotated Figure 6F below); a first overhang coupled to the first waist end (Figures 6F-6H); and a second overhang coupled to the second waist end (Figures 6F-6H); wherein the plug is formed of a thermo-responsive smart memory material and is configured to transform between a pre-activation shape and a post-activation shape in response to a thermal stimulus, the waist portion expandable in an axis orthogonal to the extension axis in the pos-activation state relative to the pre-activation state (“The wound closure device can be a biocompatible material. The biocompatible material can be selected from at least one of a compressible material, temperature dependent material, shape memory material, a swellable material, and an expandable material.”, emphasis added,, [0045]; [0056]; see Figures 6E-6H).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the waist portion of Chanduszko such that, in response to a thermal stimulus, the waist portion is expandable in an axis orthogonal to the extension axis in its post-activation shape relative to its pre-activation shape as taught by Fasching, in order to fully close the aperture in the body tissue and retain its position in the aperture.
Regarding claim 3, 7, and 8, Chanduszko in view of Fasching teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Chanduszko as modified teaches wherein in the pre-activation state, each of the one or more first and second overhangs (32a-32c, 34a-34c) extends substantially parallel to the extension axis, and in the post-activation state, each of the one or more first and second overhangs extends substantially orthogonal to the extension axis; wherein the thermal stimuli corresponds to the glass transition temperature (Tg) of the smart memory material; wherein the smart material polymer comprises a shape memory alloy ([0018]-[0019]; [0021]; nitinol, [0035]; Figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 9, Chanduszko in view of Fasching teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Chanduszko as modified teaches the hernia plug (30) is deployable at a hernia-defect site in the post-activation shape, and the one or more first overhangs are configured to engage a groin-side of an abdominal wall at the hernia-defect site, and the one or more second overhangs are configured to engage an abdomen-side of the abdominal wall (The limitations “deployable at a hernia-defect site in the post-activated state”, “to engage a groin-side of an abdominal wall at the hernia-defect site”, and “to engage an abdomen-side of the abdominal wall” are functional language. Since the plug 30 of Chanduszko is configured for insertion into a defect in a body organ in a first state, and to transform to a second state to anchor its overhangs on either side of the defect of the body organ, the plug 30 is capable of performing the claimed functions. See “anchoring”, [0007], [0018], [0024]-[0025], and Figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 10, Chanduszko in view of Fasching teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Chanduszko as modified teaches each of the one or more first and second overhangs (32a-32c, 34a-34c) comprises one of a planar member and a rod-like elongate member, and the waist portion (36, 38) comprises one of, (i) one or more connected continuous members, and (ii) one or more spaced discrete members (Figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 21, Chanduszko in view of Fasching teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Chanduszko as modified teaches the one or more first and second overhangs (32a-32c, 34a-34c) comprise two or more first and second overhangs, respectively ([0024]; Figures 3-4).
Regarding claim 22, Chanduszko in view of Fasching teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Chanduszko as modified teaches the first and second overhangs (32a-32c, 34a-34c) are translated outwardly, away from the waist portion, in the post-activation shape relative to the pre-activation shape (Figures 2-3).
Regarding claim 23, Chanduszko in view of Fasching teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Chanduszko as modified teaches the waist portion comprises a hollow interior (tube, [0018]-[0019]; Figures 2-4).
Regarding claim 24, Chanduszko in view of Fasching teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Chanduszko as modified teaches the waist portion includes a plurality of perforations (“perforations” or openings shown in whiskers 36, [0024]; Figure 3).
Regarding claim 25, Chanduszko in view of Fasching teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Chanduszko as modified teaches the waist portion comprises a plurality of discrete elongated members (36) extending along the extension axis ([0024]; Figure 3).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0131006 (Chanduszko) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0227938 (Fasching et al.) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0282374 (Sogard).
Regarding claim 5, Chanduszko in view of Fasching teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Chanduszko as modified teaches the thermal stimuli is an ambient temperature (upon deployment in the body, the device reverts to memory shape, [0021], [0035]), but does not quantify the temperature range.
However, Sogard teaches a three-dimensional (3D) implantable device (abstract; [0022]-[0024]), wherein the device translates from a pre-activation state to a post-activation state in response to a thermal stimuli, wherein the thermal stimuli is an ambient temperature in a range of 35°C to 40°C ([0081]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of Chanduszko as modified such that the device transforms from the pre-activation state to the post-activation state in response to an ambient temperature in a range of 35°C to 40°C, such as 37°C to 40°C, as taught by Sogard, to that the configuration of the device changes upon placement in the body at its target location following deployment (Sogard: [0081]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5, filed 11 May 2026, with respect to the informality objections of claims 3, 4, and 8 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendments to the claims. The objections of 15 January 2026 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-7, filed 11 May 2026, with respect to the rejections of claim 1 and its dependents under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendments to the claims. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration and as necessitated by the amendments to the claims, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chanduszko and Farsching as these references in combination better teach and/or suggest applicant’s claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
FR 2641692 (Kamiya et al., see attached machine translation): wound plug formed of shape memory material for expanding to fill the wound (Figures 4-5)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARRIE R DORNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791