Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 31, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 13 – 16 pertaining to “There appears to be agreement that Cousineau and Cruz do not suggest an energy management adapted to fit within one or more slots of a load center or panelboard that is measuring current flow through the main breaker of the load center or panelboard as well as at least one other individual breaker of the load center or panelboard. … This deficiency of Cousineau and Cruz is not remedied by further combination with Parker. Parker describes a "multiple circuit meter (MCM) 500" that is disposed separate/external from breaker panel (akin to a load center or panelboard). … No suggestion is found in Parker that the MCM 500 can be placed within one or more slots of the breaker panel, much less that it can be simultaneously disposed within slots of the breaker panel and connected to and measuring power flow through a main breaker as well as at least one other individual breaker of that same breaker panel. Since Parker only suggests a meter that is disposed separate/external from a load center or panelboard, it cannot fairly be considered to teach the aspects of the claim also missing from Cousineau and Cruz.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding amended claim 1, the Examiner does not rely on Cousineau and Cruz. The Examiner relies on Melecio. Melecio teaches “an energy management adapted to fit within one or more slots of a load center or panelboard that is measuring current flow through the main breaker of the load center or panelboard” (Fig. 2A. plug-on line connector 206) ,(Fig. 3B. Col. 3. Ln. 16 The invention enables easy retrofitting of a load center to incorporate monitoring, control, and alert capabilities). The module taught by Melecio is able to be fitted in a slot of a panelboard. It would be obvious for one skilled in the art to combine Cousineau in view of Melecio for the benefit of using simple, inexpensive equipment to convert a load center into an intelligent system to enable management of energy resources; Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz for the benefit of monitoring current to protect an electrical circuit from an overload or short ; and Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz in view of Parker for the benefit of monitoring current with a readily scalable system.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 16 pertaining to “Independent claims 11, 18 and 21 should be considered non-obvious over the references for at least similar reasons as claim 1.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Same response as the response to arguments regarding claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 4, 6, 7, 9 – 14, 16 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over COUSINEAU et al (WO 2012/007831 A2) (herein after Cousineau) in view of Melecio Ramirez et al (US 9,618,548 B1) (herein after Melecio) in view of Cruz (US 2016/0211658 A1) (herein after Cruz), and further in view of PARKER et al (US 2020/0400727 A1) (herein after Parker).
Regarding Claim 1, Cousineau teaches, 1. (CURRENTLY AMENDED) an energy management module having a form factor (Fig. 1, "intelligent" a conventional breaker; P. 4 multi-phase metering) adapted to fit within one or more slots (Fig. 4, Pg. 6, Ln. 22 "snap on" type bus bar arrangement) of a load center or panelboard of a structure (Fig. 4, breaker panel 50; Examiner interpretation: FIG. 4 is a block diagram of the overall system of figs 1 – 3: See P. 8, L. 35 – 36), comprising: a housing (Fig. 1, breaker case 10) of the energy management module configured to fit within the one or more slots of the load center or panelboard;
—, to enable the energy management module to produce power consumption measurements for each of the multiple breakers (Fig. 4,Pg 5, determine overall power and energy usage); and a microcontroller unit (Fig. 1, microcontroller 38) having a wireless network interface (Fig. 2, Bluetooth™ type of radio wireless transceiver 40) configured to communicate the power consumption measurements for each of the multiple breakers (Fig. 4, P. 9, L. 23 intelligent circuit breakers 52, 53, 54), to a host controller or cloud services (Fig. 3, remote computer 70) external to the load center or panel board that provide the power consumption measurements for display in an energy management user interface (Fig. 4, P. 9 L. 28 – 29, 34 – 35 The host computer (FIG. 3) calculates specific load power and energy usage; homeowner has the ability to view these computed values).
Cousineau fails to teach, — one or more clips each configured to engage and be electrically connected to a hot bus bar of the load center or panelboard and, when the energy module is disposed within the one or more slots of the load center or panelboard, derive power to operate the energy management module therefrom; a plurality of current sensor connectors of the energy management module that extend through the housing that are configured to, when the energy module is disposed within the one or more slots of the load center or panelboard, connect to current sensors that each measure current flowing through a respective breaker of multiple breakers of the load center or panelboard coupled to circuits within the structure, wherein the plurality of current sensor connectors include at least a first current sensor connector that extends through the housing and is configured to, when the energy module is disposed within the one or more slots of the load center or panelboard, connect to a first current sensor that measures current flowing through a main breaker of the load center or panelboard through which current to all the circuits flows, and one or more second current sensor connectors that extend through the housing and is configured to, when the energy module is disposed within the one or more slots of the load center or panelboard, connect to respective second current sensors that each measure current flowing through an individual breaker of the load center or panelboard to an individual one of the circuits;
one or more power measurement digital signal processors (DSPs) configured to measure power consumption of each of the circuits based on the measured current flows through each of the breakers, including the main breaker and one or more individual breakers, —
In analogous art, Melecio teaches, — one or more clips (Fig. 2A. plug-on line connector 206) each configured to engage and be electrically connected to a hot bus bar (Fig. 2A. main power bus 102) of the load center or panelboard and, when the energy module is disposed within the one or more slots (Fig. 3B. Col. 3. Ln. 16 The invention enables easy retrofitting of a load center to incorporate monitoring, control, and alert capabilities) of the load center or panelboard, derive power to operate the energy management module therefrom (Fig. 2A. Col. 4. Ln. 64 power supply 224, main power bus 102); — when the energy module is disposed within the one or more slots (Fig. 1. Col. 3. Ln. 34 an energy monitoring module 120 may be easily attached to each miniature circuit breaker in the load center 100) of the load center or panelboard, — when the energy module is disposed within the one or more slots (Fig. 1. Col. 3. Ln. 34 an energy monitoring module 120 may be easily attached to each miniature circuit breaker in the load center 100) of the load center or panelboard, — when the energy module is disposed within the one or more slots (Fig. 1. Col. 3. Ln. 34 an energy monitoring module 120 may be easily attached to each miniature circuit breaker in the load center 100) of the load center or panelboard, —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cousineau by combining the energy management module taught by Cousineau with an energy management module wherein, one or more clips each configured to engage and be electrically connected to a hot bus bar of the load center or panelboard and, when the energy module is disposed within the one or more slots of the load center or panelboard, derive power to operate the energy management module therefrom; when the energy module is disposed within the one or more slots of the load center or panelboard, when the energy module is disposed within the one or more slots of the load center or panelboard, when the energy module is disposed within the one or more slots of the load center or panelboard; taught by Melecio for the benefit of using simple, inexpensive equipment to convert a load center into an intelligent system to enable management of energy resources. [Melecio: Col. 1, Ln. 38 – 41].
Cousineau in view of Melecio fail to teach — a plurality of current sensor connectors of the energy management module that extend through the housing that are configured to, —, connect to current sensors that each measure current flowing through a respective breaker of multiple breakers of the load center or panelboard coupled to circuits within the structure, wherein the plurality of current sensor connectors include at least a first current sensor connector that extends through the housing and is configured to, —, connect to a first current sensor that measures current flowing through a main breaker of the load center or panelboard through which current to all the circuits flows, and one or more second current sensor connectors that extend through the housing and is configured to, —, connect to respective second current sensors that each measure current flowing through an individual breaker of the load center or panelboard to an individual one of the circuits; one or more power measurement digital signal processors (DSPs) configured to measure power consumption of each of the circuits based on the measured current flows through each of the breakers, including the main breaker and one or more individual breakers, —
In analogous art, Cruz teaches, — a plurality of current sensor connectors (Fig. 1A current monitoring probes 26, monitoring wires 28) of the energy management module that extend through the housing (Fig. 1A, ¶ 34 monitoring wires 28 that extend from the monitoring probes 26 to the two-pole breaker 27) that are configured to, —, connect to current sensors (Fig. 1A, ¶ 33 any suitable sensor and/or transducer) that each measure current flowing through a respective breaker of multiple breakers (Fig. 1A, ¶ 27 main circuit breaker 3, main power sources 4a and 4b) of the load center or panelboard coupled to circuits within the structure, — one or more power measurement digital signal processors (DSPs) (Fig. 1A, ¶ 62 Digital Signal Processor (DSP)) configured to measure power consumption of each of the circuits based on the measured current flows through each of the breakers (Fig. 1A, ¶ 30 amperage of both the main circuit breaker 3 and the alternative energy circuit breaker 27 may be monitored), including the main breaker and one or more individual breakers (Fig. 1A, ¶ 30 alternative energy circuit breaker 27), —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cousineau in view of Melecio by combining the power consumption measurement apparatus taught by Cousineau in view of Melecio with a power consumption measurement apparatus comprising: a plurality of current sensor connectors of the energy management module that extend through the housing that are configured to, connect to current sensors that each measure current flowing through a respective breaker of multiple breakers of the load center or panelboard coupled to circuits within the structure, — one or more power measurement digital signal processors (DSPs) configured to measure power consumption of each of the circuits based on the measured current flows through each of the breakers, including the main breaker and one or more individual breakers; taught by Cruz for the benefit of monitoring current to protect an electrical circuit from an overload or short [Cruz: ¶ 29].
Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz fail to teach — wherein the plurality of current sensor connectors include at least a first current sensor connector that extends through the housing and is configured to, —, connect to a first current sensor that measures current flowing through a main breaker of the load center or panelboard through which current to all the circuits flows, and one or more second current sensor connectors that extend through the housing and is configured to, —, connect to respective second current sensors that each measure current flowing through an individual breaker of the load center or panelboard to an individual one of the circuits; —
In analogous art, Parker teaches, — wherein the plurality of current sensor connectors include at least a first current sensor connector (Fig. 4, flexible interconnections 520) that extends through the housing (Fig. 4, ¶ 33 “flexible interconnections 520 extend outside multiple circuit meter 500”) and is configured to — connect to a first current sensor (Fig. 4, current transformers 510) that measures current flowing (Fig. 4, ¶ 33 multiple circuit meter 500 facilitates sensing the current levels from one or more circuits of the breaker panel) through a main breaker (Fig. 4, common breaker 220) of the load center or panelboard through which current to all the circuits flows, and one or more second current sensor connectors (Fig. 4, flexible interconnections 520) that extend through the housing and is configured to — connect to respective second current sensors (Fig. 4, current transformers 510) that each measure current flowing through an individual breaker (Fig. 4, ¶ 28 respective branch circuit) of the load center or panelboard to an individual one of the circuits (Fig. 4, ¶ 28 respective branch circuit); —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz by combining the power consumption measurement apparatus taught by Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz with wherein the plurality of current sensor connectors include at least a first current sensor connector that extends through the housing and is configured to connect to a first current sensor that measures current flowing through a main breaker of the load center or panelboard through which current to all the circuits flows, and one or more second current sensor connectors that extend through the housing and is configured to connect to respective second current sensors that each measure current flowing through an individual breaker of the load center or panelboard to an individual one of the circuits; taught by Parker for the benefit of monitoring current with a readily scalable system [Parker: ¶ 25].
Regarding Claim 2, Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz in view of Parker teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Cousineau, Cruz, and Parker fail to teach, 2. the energy management module of claim 1, further comprising: a terminal electrically connected to a neutral bus bar of the load center or panelboard.
Melecio further teaches, 2. the energy management module of claim 1, further comprising: and a terminal (Fig. 2A. plug-on mount 208) electrically connected to a neutral bus bar of the load center or panelboard.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz in view of Parker by combining the energy management module taught by Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz in view of Parker with an energy management module wherein, the energy management module of claim 1, further comprising: one or more clips each configured to engage and be electrically connected to a hot bus bar of the load center or panelboard; and a terminal electrically connected to a neutral bus bar of the load center or panelboard; taught by Melecio for the benefit of using simple, inexpensive equipment to convert a load center into an intelligent system to enable management of energy resources. [Melecio: Col. 1, Ln. 38 – 41].
Regarding Claim 3, Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz in view of Parker teaches the limitations of claim 2, which this claim depends on.
Cousineau further teaches, 3. the energy management module of claim 2, wherein the one or more power measurement DSPs are configured to measure power consumption of the circuits using a voltage supplied over the one or more clips(Fig. 4, P. 9 L. 28 – 29, 34 – 35 The host computer (FIG. 3) calculates specific load power and energy usage).
Regarding Claim 4, Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz in view of Parker teaches the limitations of claim 2, which this claim depends on.
Cousineau, Cruz, and Parker fail to teach, 4. The energy management module of claim 2, wherein the housing further comprises one or more tabs each configured to engage a retainer bar of the load center or panelboard, wherein a combination of the one or more tabs and the one or more clips retain the energy management module within the one or more slots of the load center or panelboard.
Melecio further teaches, 4. the energy management module of claim 2, wherein the housing further comprises one or more tabs each configured to engage a retainer bar (Fig. 2A. position-alignment connectors 105) of the load center or panelboard, wherein a combination of the one or more tabs and the one or more clips retain the energy management module within the one or more slots of the load center or panelboard (Fig. 2A. Col. 4. L. 33 – 34; Examiner interpretation: position- alignment connectors are inherently used to retain the energy management module).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz in view of Parker by combining the power consumption measurement apparatus taught by Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz in view of Parker with a power consumption measurement apparatus wherein, the housing further comprises one or more tabs each configured to engage a retainer bar of the load center or panelboard, wherein a combination of the one or more tabs and the one or more clips retain the energy management module within the one or more slots of the load center or panelboard; taught by Melecio for the benefit of using simple, inexpensive equipment to convert a load center into an intelligent system to enable management of energy resources. [Melecio: Col. 1, Ln. 38 – 41].
Regarding Claim 6, Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz in view of Parker teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Cousineau further teaches, 6. the energy management module of claim 1, wherein the wireless network interface comprises a Wi-Fi or Bluetooth low energy (BLE) interface configured to communicate the power consumption measurements to the host controller or the cloud services (Fig. 1, P. 5 L. 14 – 15 Bluetooth™ is a proprietary open 15 wireless technology standard for exchanging data).
Regarding Claim 7, Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz in view of Parker teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Cousineau further teaches, the energy management module of claim 1, further comprising: a local user interface configured to locally display at least some of the power consumption measurements and/or receive local control commands (Fig. 1, display 14).
Regarding Claim 9, Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz in view of Parker teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Cousineau further teaches, 9. the energy management module of claim 1, further comprising: an integrated panel bridge controller (PBC) (Fig. 4, host computer 60) that is configured to communicate via the wireless network with one or more companion modules (Fig. 4, gateway 66) that are each disposed within one or more slots (Fig. 4, Pg. 6, Ln. 22 "snap on" type bus bar arrangement) of the load center or panelboard and associated with respective breakers within the load center or panelboard, and to receive data from the one or more companion modules that include measurements of current flowing through additional individual breakers (Fig. 4, P. 9 L. 28 – 29, 34 – 35 The host computer (FIG. 3) calculates specific load power and energy usage) of the load center or panelboard to additional individual ones of the circuits and to send control commands to the one or more companion modules (Fig. 4, Pg. 7 L. 4 – 7 communication gateway 66 to allow it to be connected either directly to the Internet or through a nearby server to a local area network) to control the additional individual ones of the circuits.
Regarding Claim 10, Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz in view of Parker teach the limitations of claim 9, which this claim depends on.
Cousineau further teaches, 10. the energy management module of claim 9, wherein the wireless network interface comprises a Bluetooth low energy (BLE) interface configured to receive the data from the one or more companion modules and to send the control commands to the one or more companion modules (Fig. 2, P. 5 L. 14 – 15 Bluetooth™ is a proprietary open 15 wireless technology standard for exchanging data).
Regarding Claim 11, Cousineau teaches, 11. (CURRENTLY AMENDED) an energy management module having a form factor (Fig. 1, "intelligent" a conventional breaker) adapted to fit within one or more slots of a load center or panelboard of a structure (Fig. 4, breaker panel 50; “ FIG. 4 is a block diagram of the overall system of figs 1 – 3: See P. 8, L. 35 – 36”), comprising: a housing (Fig. 1, breaker case 10) of the energy management module configured to fit within one or more slots of a load center or panelboard (Fig. 4, breaker panel 50); — to enable the energy management module to produce power consumption measurements for each of the multiple breakers (Fig. 4,Pg 5, determine overall power and energy usage); and a microcontroller unit (Fig. 1, microcontroller 38) configured to communicate the power consumption measurements for each of the multiple breakers to a host controller or cloud services (Fig. 3, remote computer 70) external to the load center or panelboard.
Cousineau fails to teach, — one or more clips each configured to engage and be electrically connected to a hot bus bar of the load center or panelboard; a terminal electrically connected to a neutral bus bar of the load center or panelboard; a plurality of current sensor connectors configured to extend through the housing and, when the energy module is disposed within the one or more slots of the load center or panelboard, connect to current sensors that each measure current flowing through a respective breaker of multiple breakers of the load center or panelboard coupled to circuits within the structure, wherein the plurality of current sensor connectors include at least a first current sensor connector that extends through the housing and is configured to, when the energy module is disposed within the one or more slots of the load center or panelboard, connect to a first current sensor that measures current flowing through a main breaker of the load center or panelboard through which current to all the circuits flows, and one or more second current sensor connectors that extend through the housing and is configured to, when the energy module is disposed within the one or more slots of the load center or panelboard, connect to respective second current sensors that each measure current flowing through an individual breaker of the load center or panelboard to an individual one of the circuits; one or more power measurement digital signal processors (DSPs) configured to measure power consumption of each of the circuits based on the measured current flows through each of the breakers, including the main breaker and one or more individual breakers, —
In analogous art, Melecio teaches, — one or more clips (Fig. 2A. plug-on line connector 206) each configured to engage and be electrically connected to a hot bus bar (Fig. 2A. main power bus 102) of the load center or panelboard; — when the energy module is disposed within the one or more slots (Fig. 3B. Col. 3. Ln. 16 The invention enables easy retrofitting of a load center to incorporate monitoring, control, and alert capabilities) of the load center or panelboard, — when the energy module is disposed within the one or more slots (Fig. 3B. Col. 3. Ln. 16 The invention enables easy retrofitting of a load center to incorporate monitoring, control, and alert capabilities) of the load center or panelboard, — when the energy module is disposed within the one or more slots (Fig. 3B. Col. 3. Ln. 16 The invention enables easy retrofitting of a load center to incorporate monitoring, control, and alert capabilities) of the load center or panelboard, —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cousineau by combining the energy management module taught by Cousineau with an energy management module wherein, one or more clips each configured to engage and be electrically connected to a hot bus bar of the load center or panelboard; when the energy module is disposed within the one or more slots of the load center or panelboard, when the energy module is disposed within the one or more slots of the load center or panelboard, when the energy module is disposed within the one or more slots of the load center or panelboard; taught by Melecio for the benefit of using simple, inexpensive equipment to convert a load center into an intelligent system to enable management of energy resources. [Melecio: Col. 1, Ln. 38 – 41].
Cousineau in view of Melecio fail to teach — a terminal electrically connected to a neutral bus bar of the load center or panelboard; a plurality of current sensor connectors configured to extend through the housing and, connect to current sensors that each measure current flowing through a respective breaker of multiple breakers of the load center or panelboard coupled to circuits within the structure, wherein the plurality of current sensor connectors include at least a first current sensor connector that extends through the housing and is configured to, connect to a first current sensor that measures current flowing through a main breaker of the load center or panelboard through which current to all the circuits flows, and one or more second current sensor connectors that extend through the housing and is configured to, connect to respective second current sensors that each measure current flowing through an individual breaker of the load center or panelboard to an individual one of the circuits; one or more power measurement digital signal processors (DSPs) configured to measure power consumption of each of the circuits based on the measured current flows through each of the breakers, including the main breaker and one or more individual breakers, —
In analogous art, Cruz teaches, — a terminal electrically connected to a neutral bus bar (Fig. 1A, neutral bus-bar 32) of the load center or panelboard; a plurality of current sensor connectors (Fig. 1A current monitoring probes 26, monitoring wires 28) configured to extend through the housing (Fig. 1A, ¶ 34 monitoring wires 28 that extend from the monitoring probes 26 to the two-pole breaker 27) and, connect to current sensors (Fig. 1A, ¶ 33 any suitable sensor and/or transducer) that each measure current flowing through a respective breaker of multiple breakers (Fig. 1A, ¶ 27 main circuit breaker 3, main power sources 4a and 4b) of the load center or panelboard coupled to circuits within the structure, — one or more power measurement digital signal processors (DSPs) (Fig. 1A, ¶ 62 Digital Signal Processor (DSP)) configured to measure power consumption of each of the circuits based on the measured current flows through each of the breakers (Fig. 1A, ¶ 30 amperage of both the main circuit breaker 3 and the alternative energy circuit breaker 27 may be monitored), including the main breaker (Fig. 1A, ¶ 30 main circuit breaker 3) and one or more individual breakers (Fig. 1A, ¶ 30 alternative energy circuit breaker 27), —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cousineau in view of Melecio by combining the power consumption measurement apparatus taught by Cousineau in view of Melecio with a power consumption measurement apparatus comprising: a terminal electrically connected to a neutral bus bar of the load center or panelboard; a plurality of current sensor connectors configured to extend through the housing and, connect to current sensors that each measure current flowing through a respective breaker of multiple breakers of the load center or panelboard coupled to circuits within the structure, one or more power measurement digital signal processors (DSPs) configured to measure power consumption of each of the circuits based on the measured current flows through each of the breakers, including the main breaker and one or more individual breakers; taught by Cruz for the benefit of monitoring current to protect an electrical circuit from an overload or short [Cruz: ¶ 29].
Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz fail to teach — wherein the plurality of current sensor connectors include at least a first current sensor connector that extends through the housing and is configured to, connect to a first current sensor that measures current flowing through a main breaker of the load center or panelboard through which current to all the circuits flows, and one or more second current sensor connectors that extend through the housing and is configured to, connect to respective second current sensors that each measure current flowing through an individual breaker of the load center or panelboard to an individual one of the circuits; —
In analogous art, Parker teaches,— wherein the plurality of current sensor connectors include at least a first current sensor connector (Fig. 4, flexible interconnections 520) that extends through the housing (Fig. 4, ¶ 33 “flexible interconnections 520 extend outside multiple circuit meter 500”) and is configured to connect to a first current sensor (Fig. 4, current transformers 510) that measures current flowing (Fig. 4, ¶ 33 multiple circuit meter 500 facilitates sensing the current levels from one or more circuits of the breaker panel) through a main breaker (Fig. 4, common breaker 220) of the load center or panelboard through which current to all the circuits flows, and one or more second current sensor connectors (Fig. 4, flexible interconnections 520) that extend through the housing and is configured to, connect to respective second current sensors (Fig. 4, current transformers 510) that each measure current flowing through an individual breaker (Fig. 4, ¶ 28 respective branch circuit) of the load center or panelboard to an individual one of the circuits (Fig. 4, ¶ 28 respective branch circuit); —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz by combining the power consumption measurement apparatus taught by Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz with a power consumption measurement apparatus wherein the plurality of current sensor connectors include at least a first current sensor connector that extends through the housing and is configured to, connect to a first current sensor that measures current flowing through a main breaker of the load center or panelboard through which current to all the circuits flows, and one or more second current sensor connectors that extend through the housing and is configured to, connect to respective second current sensors that each measure current flowing through an individual breaker of the load center or panelboard to an individual one of the circuits;; taught by Parker for the benefit of monitoring current with a readily scalable system [Parker: ¶ 25].
Regarding Claim 12, Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz in view of Parker teaches the limitations of claim 11, which this claim depends on.
Cousineau, Melecio, and Parker fail to teach, 12. The energy management module of claim 11, wherein the one or more power measurement DSPs are configured to measure power consumption of the circuits using a voltage supplied over the one or more clips
Cruz further teaches, the energy management module of claim 11, wherein the one or more power measurement DSPs are configured to measure power consumption of the circuits using a voltage supplied over the one or more clips (Fig. 1A, ¶ 24 OCPD includes slots that are configured to receive the source lines).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz in view of Parker by combining the power consumption measurement apparatus taught by Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz in view of Parker with a power consumption measurement apparatus wherein, the one or more power measurement DSPs are configured to measure power consumption of the circuits using a voltage supplied over the one or more clips; taught by Cruz for the benefit of monitoring current to protect an electrical circuit from an overload or short [Cruz: ¶ 29].
Regarding Claim 13, Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz in view of Parker teaches the limitations of claim 11, which this claim depends on.
Cousineau further teaches, 13. the energy management module of claim 11, wherein the wireless network interface comprises a Wi-Fi or Bluetooth low energy (BLE) interface configured to communicate the power consumption measurements to the host controller or the cloud services (Fig. 1, P. 5 L. 14 – 15 Bluetooth™ is a proprietary open 15 wireless technology standard for exchanging data).
Regarding Claim 14, Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz in view of Parker teaches the limitations of claim 11, which this claim depends on.
Cousineau further teaches, 14. the energy management module of claim 11, further comprising: a local user interface configured to locally display at least some of the power consumption measurements and/or receive local control commands to control the local display (Fig. 1, display 14).
Regarding Claim 16, Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz in view of Parker teaches the limitations of claim 11, which this claim depends on.
Cousineau further teaches, 16. the energy management module of claim 11, further comprising: an integrated panel bridge controller (PBC) (Fig. 4, host computer 60) that is configured to communicate via the wireless network with one or more companion modules (Fig. 4, gateway 66) that are each disposed within one or more slots (Fig. 4, Pg. 6, Ln. 22 "snap on" type bus bar arrangement) of the load center or panelboard and associated with respective breakers within the load center or panelboard, and to receive data from the one or more companion modules that include measurements of current flowing through additional individual breakers (Fig. 4, P. 9 L. 28 – 29, 34 – 35 The host computer (FIG. 3) calculates specific load power and energy usage) of the load center or panelboard to additional individual ones of the circuits and to and send control commands to the one or more companion modules (Fig. 4, P. 7 L. 4 – 7 communication gateway 66 to allow it to be connected either directly to the Internet or through a nearby server to a local area network) to control the additional individual ones of the circuits.
Regarding Claim 17, Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz in view of Parker teaches the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends on.
Cousineau further teaches, 17. the energy management module of claim 16, wherein the wireless network interface comprises a Bluetooth low energy (BLE) interface configured to receive the data from the one or more companion modules and to send the control commands to the one or more companion modules (Fig. 2, P. 5 L. 14 – 15 Bluetooth™ is a proprietary open 15 wireless technology standard for exchanging data).
Regarding Claim 18, Cousineau teaches, 18. (CURRENTLY AMENDED) A method for using an energy management module having a form factor (Fig. 1, P. 9, L. 20 Method of Remote Data Collection; "intelligent" a conventional breaker) adapted to fit within one or more slots of a load center or panelboard of a structure (Fig. 4, breaker panel 50; Examiner interpretation: FIG. 4 is a block diagram of the overall system of figs 1 – 3: See P. 8, L. 35 – 36), comprising: — and configuring the energy management module to communicate to a host controller or cloud services (Fig. 3, remote computer 70) power consumption measurements for each of the circuits within the structure based on the measured current flows through each of the breakers (Fig. 4, P. 9 L. 28 – 29, 34 – 35 The host computer (FIG. 3) calculates specific load power and energy usage; homeowner has the ability to view these computed values) of the multiple breakers, including the main breaker (Fig. 4, ICB modules) and one or more individual breakers (Fig. 4, ICB modules), to enable the energy management module to provide power consumption measurements for each of the breakers (Fig. 4,Pg 5, determine overall power and energy usage).
Cousineau fails to teach, — comprising: installing the energy management module within the one or more slots of the load center or panelboard; connecting a plurality of current sensor connectors of the energy management module that extend through a housing of the energy management module with wires disposed within the load center or panelboard to a plurality of current sensors that each measure current flowing through a respective breaker of multiple breakers of the load center or panelboard to circuits within the structure, wherein the plurality of current sensor connectors include at least a first current sensor connector that extends through the housing and is connected with wires disposed within the load center or panelboard to a first current sensor that measures current flowing through a main breaker of the load center or panelboard through which current to all the circuits flows, and one or more second current sensor connectors that extend through the housing and connect with wires disposed within the load center or panelboard to respective second current sensors that each measure current flowing through an individual breaker of the load center or panelboard to an individual one of the circuits; configuring the energy management module with information describing the circuits within the structure; —
In analogous art, Melecio teaches, — comprising: installing the energy management module within the one or more slots (Fig. 3B. Col. 3. Ln. 16 The invention enables easy retrofitting of a load center to incorporate monitoring, control, and alert capabilities) of the load center or panelboard; —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cousineau by combining the method of using the power consumption measurement apparatus taught by Cousineau with a method of using a power consumption measurement apparatus comprising: installing the energy management module within the one or more slots of the load center or panelboard; taught by Melecio for the benefit of using simple, inexpensive equipment to convert a load center into an intelligent system to enable management of energy resources. [Melecio: Col. 1, Ln. 38 – 41].
Cousineau in view of Melecio fail to teach — connecting a plurality of current sensor connectors of the energy management module that extend through a housing of the energy management module with wires disposed within the load center or panelboard to a plurality of current sensors that each measure current flowing through a respective breaker of multiple breakers of the load center or panelboard to circuits within the structure, wherein the plurality of current sensor connectors include at least a first current sensor connector that extends through the housing and is connected with wires disposed within the load center or panelboard to a first current sensor that measures current flowing through a main breaker of the load center or panelboard through which current to all the circuits flows, and one or more second current sensor connectors that extend through the housing and connect with wires disposed within the load center or panelboard to respective second current sensors that each measure current flowing through an individual breaker of the load center or panelboard to an individual one of the circuits; configuring the energy management module with information describing the circuits within the structure; —
In analogous art, Cruz teaches, — connecting a plurality of current sensor connectors (Fig. 1A current monitoring probes 26, monitoring wires 28) of the energy management module (Fig. 1A, alternative energy circuit breaker 27) that extend through a housing (Fig. 1A, ¶ 34 monitoring wires 28 that extend from the monitoring probes 26 to the two-pole breaker 27) of the energy management module with wires disposed within the load center or panelboard to a plurality of current sensors (Fig. 1A, ¶ 33 any suitable sensor and/or transducer) that each measure current flowing through a respective breaker of multiple breakers (Fig. 1A, ¶ 27 main circuit breaker 3, main power sources 4a and 4b) of the load center or panelboard to circuits within the structure, — configuring the energy management module with information describing the circuits (Fig. 1A, ¶ 63 algorithm and functions) within the structure; —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cousineau in view of Melecio by combining the method of using the power consumption measurement apparatus taught by Cousineau in view of Melecio with a method of using a power consumption measurement apparatus comprising: connecting a plurality of current sensor connectors of the energy management module that extend through a housing of the energy management module with wires disposed within the load center or panelboard to a plurality of current sensors that each measure current flowing through a respective breaker of multiple breakers of the load center or panelboard to circuits within the structure, configuring the energy management module with information describing the circuits within the structure; taught by Cruz for the benefit of monitoring current to protect an electrical circuit from an overload or short [Cruz: ¶ 29].
Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz fail to teach — wherein the plurality of current sensor connectors include at least a first current sensor connector that extends through the housing and is connected with wires disposed within the load center or panelboard to a first current sensor that measures current flowing through a main breaker of the load center or panelboard through which current to all the circuits flows, and one or more second current sensor connectors that extend through the housing and connect with wires disposed within the load center or panelboard to respective second current sensors that each measure current flowing through an individual breaker of the load center or panelboard to an individual one of the circuits; —
In analogous art, Parker teaches — wherein the plurality of current sensor connectors include at least a first current sensor connector (Fig. 4, flexible interconnections 520) that extends through the housing (Fig. 4, ¶ 33 “flexible interconnections 520 extend through multiple circuit meter 500”) and is configured to connect with wires disposed within the load center or panelboard to a first current sensor (Fig. 4, current transformers 510) that measures current flowing (Fig. 4, ¶ 33 multiple circuit meter 500 facilitates sensing the current levels from one or more circuits of the breaker panel) through a main breaker (Fig. 4, common breaker 220) of the load center or panelboard through which current to all the circuits flows, and one or more second current sensor connectors (Fig. 4, flexible interconnections 520) that extend through the housing and connect with wires disposed within the load center or panelboard to respective second current sensors (Fig. 4, current transformers 510) that each measure current flowing through an individual breaker (Fig. 4, ¶ 28 respective branch circuit) of the load center or panelboard to an individual one of the circuits (Fig. 4, ¶ 28 respective branch circuit); —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz by combining the method of using the power consumption measurement apparatus taught by Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz with a method of using a power consumption measurement apparatus comprising: wherein the plurality of current sensor connectors include at least a first current sensor connector that extends through the housing and is connected with wires disposed within the load center or panelboard to a first current sensor that measures current flowing through a main breaker of the load center or panelboard through which current to all the circuits flows, and one or more second current sensor connectors that extend through the housing and connect with wires disposed within the load center or panelboard to respective second current sensors that each measure current flowing through an individual breaker of the load center or panelboard to an individual one of the circuits;; taught by Parker for the benefit of monitoring current with a readily scalable system [Parker: ¶ 25].
Regarding Claim 19, Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz in view of Parker teaches the limitations of claim 18, which this claim depends on.
Cousineau, Melecio, and Parker fail to teach, 19. The method of claim 18, wherein the installing the energy management module further comprises: engaging one or more clips of the energy management module to a hot bus bar of the load center or panelboard; and connecting a terminal of the energy management module to a neutral bus bar of the load center or panelboard.
Cruz further teaches, 19. the method of claim 18, wherein the installing the energy management module further comprises: engaging one or more clips (Fig. 1A, ¶ 25 connected to a bus-bar) of the energy management module to a hot bus bar (Fig. 1A, ¶ 27 bus-bars 5a and 5b) of the load center or panelboard; and connecting a terminal of the energy management module to a neutral bus bar (Fig. 1A, neutral bus-bar 32) of the load center or panelboard.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz in view of Parker by combining the method using the power consumption measurement apparatus taught by Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz in view of Parker with a method using a power consumption measurement apparatus wherein, the power consumption measurement apparatus further comprises: engaging one or more clips of the energy management module to a hot bus bar of the load center or panelboard; and connecting a terminal of the energy management module to a neutral bus bar of the load center or panelboard; taught by Cruz for the benefit of monitoring current to protect an electrical circuit from an overload or short [Cruz: ¶ 29].
Regarding Claim 20, Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz in view of Parker teaches the limitations of claim 18, which this claim depends on.
Cousineau further teaches the method of claim 18, further comprising: configuring the energy management module to operate as an integrated panel bridge controller (PBC) (Fig. 4, host computer 60) of the load center or panelboard such that it communicates with one or more companion modules (Fig. 4, gateway 66) that are each disposed within one or more slots (Fig. 4, Pg. 6, Ln. 22 "snap on" type bus bar arrangement) of the load center or panelboard and associated with respective breakers within the load center or panelboard to receive data from the one or more companion modules that include measurements of current flowing through additional individual breakers (Fig. 4, P. 9 L. 28 – 29, 34 – 35 The host computer (FIG. 3) calculates specific load power and energy usage) of the load center or panelboard to additional individual ones of the circuits and send control commands to the one or more companion modules (Fig. 4, P. 7 L. 4 – 7 communication gateway 66 to allow it to be connected either directly to the Internet or through a nearby server to a local area network) to control the additional individual ones of the circuits.
Regarding Claim 21, Cousineau teaches, 21. (CURRENTLY AMENDED) An energy management module having a form factor (Fig. 1, "intelligent" a conventional breaker; P. 4 multi-phase metering) adapted to fit within one or more slots (Fig. 4, Pg. 6, Ln. 22 "snap on" type bus bar arrangement) of a load center or panelboard of a structure (Fig. 4, breaker panel 50; Examiner interpretation: FIG. 4 is a block diagram of the overall system of figs 1 – 3: See P. 8, L. 35 – 36), comprising: a housing (Fig. 1, breaker case 10) of the energy management module configured to fit within the one or more slots of the load center or panelboard; a plurality of current sensor connectors of the energy management module that extend through the housing that are configured to connect with wires disposed within the load center or panelboard to current sensors that measure current flowing though respective breakers of the load center or panelboard coupled to circuits within the structure, wherein the plurality of current sensor connectors include at least a first current sensor connector that extends through the housing and is configured to connect with wires disposed within the load center or panelboard to a first current sensor that measures current flowing through a main breaker of the load center or panelboard through which current to all the circuits flows, and a second current sensor connector that extend through the housing and is configured to connect with wires disposed within the load center or panelboard to a second current sensor that each measures current flowing through a first individual breaker of the load center or panelboard to a first individual one of the circuits; an integrated panel bridge controller (PBC) (Fig. 4, host computer 60) that is configured to communicate with a companion module (Fig. 4, gateway 66) disposed within one or more slots of the load center or panelboard and to receive from the companion module measurements of current flowing through a second additional individual breaker (Fig. 4, ICB modules) of the load center or panelboard to a second individual one of the circuits; one or more power measurement digital signal processors (DSPs) configured to measure power consumption of each of the circuits based on the measured current flows through each of the breakers, including the main breaker (Fig. 4, ICB modules), the first individual breaker (Fig. 4, ICB modules) measured using the second current sensor, and the second induvial breaker measured using the companion module (Fig. 4, P. 7 L. 4 – 7 communication gateway 66 to allow it to be connected either directly to the Internet or through a nearby server to a local area network), to enable the energy management module to produce power consumption measurements (Fig. 4,Pg 5, determine overall power and energy usage) for each of the breakers; and a microcontroller unit (Fig. 1, microcontroller 38) having a wireless network interface (Fig. 2, Bluetooth™ type of radio wireless transceiver 40) configured to communicate the power consumption measurements for each of the breakers (Fig. 4, P. 9, L. 23 intelligent circuit breakers 52, 53, 54) to a host controller or cloud services (Fig. 3, remote computer 70) external to the load center or panelboard that provide the power consumption measurements for display in an energy management user interface (Fig. 4, P. 9 L. 28 – 29, 34 – 35 The host computer (FIG. 3) calculates specific load power and energy usage; homeowner has the ability to view these computed values).
Cousineau fails to teach, — energy management module configured to fit within the one or more slots of the load center or panelboard; a plurality of current sensor connectors of the energy management module that extend through the housing that are configured to connect with wires disposed within the load center or panelboard to current sensors that measure current flowing though respective breakers of the load center or panelboard coupled to circuits within the structure, wherein the plurality of current sensor connectors include at least a first current sensor connector that extends through the housing and is configured to connect with wires disposed within the load center or panelboard to a first current sensor that measures current flowing through a main breaker of the load center or panelboard through which current to all the circuits flows, and a second current sensor connector that extend through the housing and is configured to connect with wires disposed within the load center or panelboard to a second current sensor that each measures current flowing through a first individual breaker of the load center or panelboard to a first individual one of the circuits; — one or more power measurement digital signal processors (DSPs) configured to measure power consumption of each of the circuits based on the measured current flows through each of the breakers, —
In analogous art, Melecio teaches, — energy management module configured to fit within the one or more slots (Fig. 3B. Col. 3. Ln. 16 The invention enables easy retrofitting of a load center to incorporate monitoring, control, and alert capabilities) of the load center or panelboard; —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cousineau by combining the energy management module taught by Cousineau with an energy management module configured to fit within the one or more slots of the load center or panelboard; taught by Melecio for the benefit of using simple, inexpensive equipment to convert a load center into an intelligent system to enable management of energy resources. [Melecio: Col. 1, Ln. 38 – 41].
Cousineau in view of Melecio fail to teach — a plurality of current sensor connectors of the energy management module that extend through the housing that are configured to connect with wires disposed within the load center or panelboard to current sensors that measure current flowing though respective breakers of the load center or panelboard coupled to circuits within the structure, wherein the plurality of current sensor connectors include at least a first current sensor connector that extends through the housing and is configured to connect with wires disposed within the load center or panelboard to a first current sensor that measures current flowing through a main breaker of the load center or panelboard through which current to all the circuits flows, and a second current sensor connector that extend through the housing and is configured to connect with wires disposed within the load center or panelboard to a second current sensor that each measures current flowing through a first individual breaker of the load center or panelboard to a first individual one of the circuits; — one or more power measurement digital signal processors (DSPs) configured to measure power consumption of each of the circuits based on the measured current flows through each of the breakers, —
In analogous art, Cruz teaches, — a plurality of current sensor connectors (Fig. 1A current monitoring probes 26, monitoring wires 28) of the energy management module (Fig. 1A, over current protection device (OCPD) 11, alternative energy circuit breaker 27) that extend through the housing (Fig. 1A, ¶ 34 monitoring wires 28 that extend from the monitoring probes 26 to the two-pole breaker 27) that are configured to connect with wires disposed within the load center or panelboard to current sensors (Fig. 1A, ¶ 33 any suitable sensor and/or transducer) that measure current flowing though respective breakers (Fig. 1A, ¶ 27 main circuit breaker 3, main power sources 4a and 4b) of the load center or panelboard coupled to circuits within the structure, — one or more power measurement digital signal processors (DSPs) (Fig. 1A, ¶ 62 Digital Signal Processor (DSP)) configured to measure power consumption of each of the circuits based on the measured current flows through each of the breakers (Fig. 1A, ¶ 30 amperage of both the main circuit breaker 3 and the alternative energy circuit breaker 27 may be monitored), —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cousineau in view of Melecio by combining the power consumption measurement apparatus taught by Cousineau in view of Melecio with a power consumption measurement apparatus comprising: a plurality of current sensor connectors of the energy management module that extend through the housing that are configured to connect with wires disposed within the load center or panelboard to current sensors that measure current flowing though respective breakers of the load center or panelboard coupled to circuits within the structure, one or more power measurement digital signal processors (DSPs) configured to measure power consumption of each of the circuits based on the measured current flows through each of the breakers; taught by Cruz for the benefit of monitoring current to protect an electrical circuit from an overload or short [Cruz: ¶ 29].
Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz fail to teach — wherein the plurality of current sensor connectors include at least a first current sensor connector that extends through the housing and is configured to connect with wires disposed within the load center or panelboard to a first current sensor that measures current flowing through a main breaker of the load center or panelboard through which current to all the circuits flows, and a second current sensor connector that extend through the housing and is configured to connect with wires disposed within the load center or panelboard to a second current sensor that each measures current flowing through a first individual breaker of the load center or panelboard to a first individual one of the circuits; —
In analogous art, Parker teaches, — wherein the plurality of current sensor connectors include at least a first current sensor connector (Fig. 4, flexible interconnections 520) that extends through the housing (Fig. 4, ¶ 33 “flexible interconnections 520 extend through multiple circuit meter 500”) and is configured to connect with wires disposed within the load center or panelboard to a first current sensor (Fig. 4, current transformers 510) that measures current flowing (Fig. 4, ¶ 33 multiple circuit meter 500 facilitates sensing the current levels from one or more circuits of the breaker panel) through a main breaker (Fig. 4, common breaker 220) of the load center or panelboard through which current to all the circuits flows, and a second current sensor connector (Fig. 4, flexible interconnections 520) that extend through the housing and is configured to connect with wires disposed within the load center or panelboard to a second current sensor (Fig. 4, current transformers 510) that each measures current flowing through a first individual breaker (Fig. 4, ¶ 28 respective branch circuit) of the load center or panelboard to a first individual one of the circuits (Fig. 4, ¶ 28 respective branch circuit); —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz by combining the power consumption measurement apparatus taught by Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz with a power consumption measurement apparatus comprising: wherein the plurality of current sensor connectors include at least a first current sensor connector that extends through the housing and is configured to connect with wires disposed within the load center or panelboard to a first current sensor that measures current flowing through a main breaker of the load center or panelboard through which current to all the circuits flows, and a second current sensor connector that extend through the housing and is configured to connect with wires disposed within the load center or panelboard to a second current sensor that each measures current flowing through a first individual breaker of the load center or panelboard to a first individual one of the circuits; taught by Parker for the benefit of monitoring current with a readily scalable system [Parker: ¶ 25].
Claim(s) 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over COUSINEAU et al (WO 2012/007831 A2) (herein after Cousineau) in view of Melecio Ramirez et al (US 9,618,548 B1) (herein after Melecio) in view of Cruz (US 2016/0211658 A1) (herein after Cruz), in view of PARKER et al (US 2020/0400727 A1) (herein after Parker), and further in view of Telefus et al (US 2020/0366078 A1) (herein after Telefus).
Regarding Claim 5, Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz in view of Parker teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Cousineau, Melecio, Cruz, and Parker fail to teach, 5. the energy management module of claim 1, wherein the one or more slots are two slots and the form factor is of a two-pole breaker
In analogous art, Telefus teaches, 5. the energy management module of claim 1, wherein the one or more slots are two slots and the form factor is of a two-pole breaker (Fig. 6A, ¶ 135 single pole, double-throw (SPDT) switch element 612).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz in view of Parker by combining energy management module taught by Cousineau in view of Melecio in view of Cruz in view of Parker an energy management module wherein, wherein the one or more slots are two slots and the form factor is of a two-pole breaker; taught by Telefus for the benefit of implementing an energy management module that uses solid-switch technology that operates faster, and is more reliable than electro-mechanical technology [Telefus: ¶ 110].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cook (US 2012/0327563 A1) teaches, a first current sensor that measures current flowing through a main breaker of the load center or panelboard, a second current sensor that each measures current flowing through a first individual breaker (Fig. 3, 4, ¶ 45 FIG. 4 shows the main circuit breaker (23) and several branch circuit breakers (24)(25) installed into conductive contact with the bus bar traces having the integrated current sensors from FIG. 3).
/JOSEPH O. NYAMOGO/
Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/FARHANA A HOQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858