DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment and Status of Claims
Pending: claims 1-20
Amended: claim 11
Withdrawn: 1-7 and 15-20
Elected and under examination: claims 8-14
Rejected: claims 8-14
The amendments obviate the previous objections, which are hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments concerning Rong not being eligible as prior art are not found persuasive. Rong (US 20210158999 A1) was published on 05/27/2021, which is more than 1 year earlier than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, of 08/12/2022. Therefore, Rong qualifies as prior art under § 102(a)(1), and as such, the 102(b)(2)(C) exception does not apply, which only applies to prior art references applied as prior art under § 102(a)(2).
The applicant’s arguments that Rong’s intermediate later is structurally and functionally distinct from the claimed interface portion (see page 6 of arguments) is not found persuasive because they are not commensurate in scope with the claims, which do not specify what structural limitations distinguish the claimed “portion(s)” from Rong’s layers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rong et al. (US 20210158999 A1).
Regarding claim 8, with regard to the claimed “A composite magnet comprising:
a magnetically-hard portion;
a magnetically-soft portion; and
an interface portion disposed between the magnetically-hard portion and the magnetically-soft portion”,
Rong teaches a composite permanent magnet includes a first magnetically-hard layer formed from a compacted powder material and a magnetically-soft layer formed from a sheet material applied over the first magnetically-hard layer; the composite permanent magnet also includes a second magnetically-hard layer formed over the magnetically-soft layer (Abstract).
Rong teaches that the combination of the first magnetically-hard layer, the magnetically-soft layer, and the second magnetically-hard layer defines an anisotropic layered internal structure within the composite permanent magnet [0006], [0028]. Rong states that Each of the first layer, second layer, and third layer is combined such that the magnetically-soft material is interleaved between two adjacent layers of magnetically-hard material [0007]. The combination of these layers meets the claimed “magnetically-hard portion”, “magnetically soft portion”, and “an interface portion”.
With regard to the claimed “the interface portion including a lower grade magnetically-hard material than the magnetically-hard portion or a magnetically semi-hard material such that it is different than the magnetically-hard portion and the magnetically-soft portion”, Rong teaches that the second magnetically-hard layer having unique electromagnetic properties [0028], and that in the context of the schematic of FIG. 2, magnetically-hard center layer 208 may have different electromagnetic properties relative to the magnetically-hard outer layers 210, 212 [0028].
Therefore, although not explicitly described as having “a lower grade” of magnetically-hard material, if the layers are different, then one layer would necessarily have a lower grade of properties based on given criteria. Furthermore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select one material for a given position in the magnet, while selecting a second, lower-grade material as an interface layer, as doing so would allow for maintaining good magnetic properties while saving on material costs by using a different material with lower grade properties (see [0024], [0027], and [0029] which appreciates selection of materials based on manufacturing costs).
Regarding claim 9, as discussed above, although not explicitly described as having “a lower grade” of magnetically-hard material, if the layers are different, then one layer would necessarily have a lower grade of properties based on given criteria. Furthermore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select one material for a given position in the magnet, while selecting a second, lower-grade material as an interface layer, as doing so would allow for maintaining good magnetic properties while saving on material costs by using a different material with lower grade properties (see [0024], [0027], and [0029] which appreciates selection of materials based on manufacturing costs).
Therefore, in the case where the ‘interface layer’ of Rong as discussed above is a lower grade than the other magnetically hard layer, the ‘interface layer’ would have a coercivity lower than the other magnetically hard layer. However, because the ‘interface layer’ of Rong would still be a magnetically hard layer, it would still have a higher coercivity than the magnetically soft layer, which meets the claim limitation of the interface portion having a coercivity between the magnetically-hard portion and the magnetically-soft portion.
Regarding claim 10, although not explicitly stated, a hard magnet necessarily has a higher coercivity than a soft magnet, as this is the defining property of being magnetically hard vs. magnetically soft. As such, it naturally follows that the ‘magnetically hard portion’ will have a higher coercivity than a ‘magnetically soft portion’.
Regarding claims 11-12, Rong teaches that a first magnetically-hard layer is disposed at a first portion of the composite magnet and a second magnetically-hard layer having unique electromagnetic properties is disposed at a second portion of the composite magnet. In the context of the schematic of FIG. 2, magnetically-hard center layer 208 may have different electromagnetic properties relative to the magnetically-hard outer layers 210, 212 [0028].
Rong teaches that the magnetically-hard materials of layers 202 may be, but is not limited to, NdFeB, SmCo5 (both meeting claim 12) MnBi (meeting claim 11). Sm-Fe-C, or other suitable permanent magnet materials or compounds, or combinations thereof [0028]. The materials of magnetically-soft layers 204 may be, but are not limited to, Fe, Co, FeCo, Ni, or combinations thereof [0028]. The magnetically-soft layers may also, in some examples, comprise a semi-hard magnetic phase, such as, but not limited to, Al-Ni-Co, Fe-N, an L10-material, Mn-Al, Mn-Al-C, Mn-Bi, or other similar materials [0028].
Regarding claim 13, Rong teaches the magnet of claim 8 above, and further discusses using the magnets in an electric machine, such as in a rotor of an electric machine. A magnet being used in a rotor in an electric machine implies that the electric machine is an electric motor, which means there would be both a rotor and stator (also see [0027], which discusses that the electric machine is an electric motor).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rong et al. (US 20210158999 A1), as applied to claim 13 above, in view of Rong 2 (US 20210234442 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Rong teaches the electric machine of claim 13 above, but is silent regarding a vehicle comprising a power system including the electric machine of claim 13.
Rong 2 teaches an electric machine that is configured to propel a vehicle includes a stator and a rotor (Abstract).
Rong teaches in [0012]:
The electric vehicle 10 includes a powertrain 12. The powertrain 12 includes an electric machine such as an electric motor/generator (M/G) 14 to propel the vehicle 10. The M/G 14 drives a transmission (or gearbox) 16. More specifically, the M/G 14 may be rotatably connected to an input shaft 18 of the transmission 16. The transmission 16 may be placed in PRNDSL (park, reverse, neutral, drive, sport, low) via a transmission range selector (not shown). The transmission 16 may have a fixed gearing relationship that provides a single gear ratio between the input shaft 18 and an output shaft 20 of the transmission 16. A torque converter (not shown) or a launch clutch (not shown) may be disposed between the M/G 14 and the transmission 16. Alternatively, the transmission 16 may be a multiple step-ratio automatic transmission. An associated traction battery 22 is configured to deliver electrical power to or receive electrical power from the M/G 14.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rong to use the electric machine of Rong in the vehicle of Rong 2, as doing so would allow for producing an electric vehicle with improved electric motor performance at a reduced cost (Rong, [0027]-[0029]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADIL A. SIDDIQUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735