Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-15 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, noting that claim 20 cannot be considered to be a part of elected species H because Figure 10 does not disclose that the second drive source is a linear actuator as claimed, but instead discloses it is an eRCB, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/15/26.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description and shown in Figures 3, 6, and 8-11 but are not labeled: “rotation sensor 50”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0377147 A1 to Ishihara et al (hereinafter Ishihara) in view of US 2004/0245739 A1 to Larson et al (hereinafter Larson).
Regarding claim 1, Ishihara discloses a steering assembly for steering a vehicle in response to a steering input (Fig. 1 & [0018] and [0021]), the steering assembly comprising:
a plurality of linkages (Fig. 1) comprising:
a first pair of knuckles (13L/R) operatively coupled to the first pair of wheels (10L/R) (Fig. 1 & [0018]-[0020]);
a first tie rod (11,12L/R) extending between and coupled to the first pair of knuckles (13L/R) (Fig. 1 & [0018]-[0020]);
at least one drag link (14L/R) attached to one of the first pair of knuckles (13L/R) (Fig. 1 & [0018]-[0020]);
a primary electric drive source (16R) operatively attached to the at least one drag (14R) link and configured to move the at least one drag link (14R) in response to the steering input (18) to transfer movement through the plurality of linkages to turn the first pair of wheels (10L/R) (Fig. 1 & [0018]-[0020]); and
a secondary electric drive source (16L) operatively attached to one of the plurality of linkages (14L) and configured to independently and redundantly move the one of the plurality of linkages in response to the steering input (18) (Fig. 1 & [0024], [0026]-[0027], and [0067]).
Ishihara does not appear to explicitly disclose a first axle extending between a first pair of wheels.
Larson teaches that it was old and well known in the art of steering systems, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a first axle (18) extending between a first pair of wheels (Figs. 1 and 3 & Abstract and [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of steering systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the steering system disclosed by Ishihara to incorporate a first axle extending between a first pair of wheels as taught by Larson in order to rotatably support and drive the vehicles wheels and couple the wheels to the vehicles suspension, e.g., see Fig. 1 and [0005]-[0006] and as known by any person of ordinary skill in the art, and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 2, depending on claim 1, Ishihara further discloses a vehicle communication unit (VCU) (23) communicatively coupled to the primary electric drive source (16R) and the second electric drive source (16R) and configured to receive the steering input (18) and actuate each of the primary electric drive source (16R) and the secondary electric drive source (16L) based on the steering input (18) to turn the first pair of wheels (10L/R) (Fig. 1 & [0021], [0023]-[0025]).
Regarding claim 3, depending on claim 1, Ishihara further discloses wherein the primary electric drive source (16R) is an electronic recirculating ball (eRCB) assembly (Fig. 2) operatively coupled to the at least one drag link (14R) by at least one pitman arm (15R) (Figs. 1 and 3 & [0020], [0040], [0043]-[0044], and [0051]).
Regarding claim 5, depending on claim 1, Ishihara further discloses wherein the secondary electric drive source (16L) is an electronic recirculating ball (eRCB) assembly (Fig. 2) operatively coupled to the at least one drag link (14L) by at least one pitman arm (15L) (Figs. 1-2 & [0020], [0028][0032]-[0033]).
Regarding claim 16, depending on claim 1, Ishihara further discloses wherein the steering assembly further comprises a steering column (17) extending to the primary electric drive source (16R) to be physically attached to the primary electric drive source (16R), and rotation of the steering column (17) provides the steering input (18) to the primary electric drive source (16R) (Figs. 1 and 3 & [0021]).
Regarding claim 17, depending on claim 1, further discloses a steering wheel (18) and a rotation sensor (45) communicatively coupled to the steering wheel (18) to detect rotation of the steering wheel (18) (Figs. 1 and 3 & [0051]-[0052] discloses the steering wheel is rotatably coupled to the output shaft 34R of the ball screw where rotation angle sensor is mounted and configured to measure. Although the rotation sensor not directly coupled to the steering wheel, it still is interpreted as detecting rotation of the steering wheel), the rotation sensor (45) is communicatively coupled to the primary electric drive source (16R) to provide the steering input (18) to the primary electric drive source (16R) in response to the detected rotation of the steering wheel (18) (Figs. 1 and 3 & [0021], [0058], [0064]. See also Fig. 6 & supporting paragraphs [0070]-[0073], [0080], and [0088]-[00112] generally.).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishihara in view of Larson and further in view of US 2018/0244305 A1 to Cal et al (hereinafter Cai).
Regarding claim 4, depending on claim 3, Ishihara further discloses wherein the eRCB assembly comprises:
a recirculating ball gear (33R) engaged with the at least one pitman arm (15R) to transfer rotation to the pitman arm (15R) (Figs. 1 and 3 & [0043]-[0044]); and
a … power pack (41R) engaged with the recirculating ball gear (33R) to transfer rotation to the recirculating ball gear (33R) (Fig. 3 & [0044] and [0046]), … the pair of power pack comprises:
a worm gear reducer (39R,40R) (Fig. 3 & [0046]);
a motor (41R) operatively attached to the worm gear reducer (39R,40R) to transfer rotation to the worm gear reducer (39R,40R) (Fig. 3 & [0046]); and
an ECU (22R) communicatively coupled to the motor (41R) to control operation of the motor (41R), the worm gear reducer (39R,40R) engages the recirculating ball gear (33R) to transfer rotation to the recirculating ball gear (39R,40R) (Figs. 1 and 3 & [0025]-[0026], [0049]-[0051], and [0057]).
Ishihara does not appear to disclose a pair of power packs engaged with the recirculating ball gear.
Cai teaches that it was old and well known in the art of steering systems, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for an eRCB assembly to include a pair of power packs (98, 104) engaged with the recirculating ball gear (46) (Fig. 1 & claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of steering systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the eRCB assembly disclosed by the modified combination of Ishihara /Larson to modify the power pack to be a pair of power packs as taught by Cai in order to provide redundancy in steering systems, e.g., see Cai Abstract, and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishihara in view of Larson and further in view of US 2,232,165 to Cochran.
Regarding claim 18, depending on claim 1, Ishihara further discloses the secondary electric drive source (16L) is operatively attached to the at least one drag link (14L/R) (Fig. 1 & [0018]-[0020])
Ishihara does not appear to further disclose:
a second axle extending between a second pair of wheels;
wherein the plurality of linkages further comprises:
a second pair of knuckles operatively coupled to the second pair of wheels, the at least one drag link is attached to one of the second pair of knuckles;
a second tie rod extending between and coupled to the second pair of knuckles.
Cochran teaches that it was old and well known in the art of steering systems, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention,
wherein the plurality of linkages further comprises:
a second pair of knuckles (29,30) operatively coupled to the second pair of wheels (13), the at least one drag link (38,40) is attached to one of the second pair of knuckles (29,30) (Fig. 2 & p. 1 col 2 ln 41 - p. 2 col 1 ln 12);
a second tie rod (28) extending between and coupled to the second pair of knuckles (29,30) (Fig. 2 & p. 1 col 2 ln 41 - p. 2 col 1 ln 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of steering systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the front wheel steering system including a drag link connected to the front wheel knuckle disclosed by Ishihara to incorporate the all wheel steering system including a second axle extending between a second pair of wheels; wherein the plurality of linkages further comprises: a second pair of knuckles operatively coupled to the second pair of wheels, the at least one drag link, which is also attached to one of the first pair of knuckles, is attached to one of the second pair of knuckles; a second tie rod extending between and coupled to the second pair of knuckles as taught by Cochran in order to improve the turning radius, particularly of large vehicles, e.g., see p. 1 col 2 ln 3-16, and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Larson further discloses a second axle (20) extending between a second pair of wheels (Figs. 1 and 3 & Abstract and [0027]).
It would have been obvious to have modified Ishihara in view of the teachings of Larson for at least the same reasons discussed above in claim 1 and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 19, depending on claim 18, the modified combination of Ishihara/ Larson/Cochran further discloses wherein:
the plurality of linkages further comprises a first pitman arm (Ishihara - 15R/Cochran - 67) and a second pitman arm (15L) each attached to the at least one drag link (Ishihara - 14R/14L / Cochran – 38,40) (Ishihara – Fig. 1/Cochran Figs. 2 and 4);
the primary electric drive source (Ishihara - 16R) is an eRCB assembly operatively attached to the at least one drag link (Ishihara – 14L/14R) by the first pitman arm (15R) (Figs. 1 and 3 & [0020], [0040], [0043]-[0044], and [0051]); and
the secondary electric drive source (Ishihara – 16R) is an eRCB assembly operatively attached to the at least one drag link (Ishihara – 14L/R) by the second pitman arm (Ishihara – 15L) (Figs. 1-2 & [0020], [0028][0032]-[0033]).
It would have been obvious to have modified Ishihara in view of the teachings of Cochran/Larson for at least the same reasons discussed above in claims 1 and 18 and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER B WEHRLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611