Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on filed 8/21/26 (hereinafter Response) has been entered. Examiner notes that claims 1, 2, 4, and 19 have been amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application with claims 6-15 and 20 withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0377147 A1 to Ishihara et al (hereinafter Ishihara) in view of US 2004/0245739 A1 to Larson et al (hereinafter Larson).
Regarding claim 1, Ishihara discloses a steering assembly for steering a vehicle in response to a steering input (Fig. 1 & [0018] and [0021]), the steering assembly comprising:
a plurality of linkages (Fig. 1) comprising:
a first pair of knuckles (13L/R) operatively coupled to the first pair of wheels (10L/R) (Fig. 1 & [0018]-[0020]);
a first tie rod (11,12L/R) extending between and coupled to the first pair of knuckles (13L/R) (Fig. 1 & [0018]-[0020]);
at least one drag link (14L/R) attached to one of the first pair of knuckles (13L/R) (Fig. 1 & [0018]-[0020]);
a primary electric drive source (16R) comprising an electronic recirculating ball (eRCB) assembly (Fig. 3) operatively coupled to the at least one drag link (14R) by at least one pitman arm (15R) (Annotated Fig. 3, Fig. 1, & [0020], [0022]-[0023], [0040], [0043]-[0044], [0051], and [0057] disclose motor 41R drives the recirculating ball assembly depicted in Fig. 3 and transmits rotation from the motor to the output shaft 32R causing movement of the pitman arm and drag link through rotation of shaft 34R, linear movement of nut 27R, and rotational movement of output shaft 32R), eRCB assembly including a recirculating ball gear (A) and an output shaft (32R) engaged with the recirculating ball gear (A) (Annotated Fig. 3, Fig. 1, & [0043]-[0044] disclose the recirculating ball gear, generally indicated by parts within circle A in Annotated figure 3 are engaged with the sector gear 32R which also serves as an output shaft, this interpretation is in line with applicant’s disclosure of “ball gear 150” being multiple components, e.g., see [0035] of Applicant’s PG Pub.), the output shaft (32R) configured to transfer rotation from the recirculating ball gear (A) to the at least one pitman arm (15R) (Annotated Fig. 3, Fig. 1 & [0043]-[0044]);
the recirculating ball gear (A) comprising a worm shaft (34R) having a worm section (33R), the output shaft (32R) including an output teeth set (C) disposed radially on the output shaft (32R), and the recirculating ball gear (A) further comprising a ball nut (27R) disposed about a portion of the worm section (33R) of the worm shaft (34R), the ball nut (27R) including a nut teeth set (28R) that extends from the ball nut (27R) and engages the output teeth set (C), wherein rotation of the worm shaft (34R) moves the ball nut (27R) linearly and rotates the output shaft (32R) to transfer rotation from the recirculating ball gear (A) to the at least one pitman arm (15R) (Annotated Fig. 3, Fig. 1 & [0043]-[0044]);
wherein the primary electric drive source (16R) is configured to move the at least one drag link (14R) through the at least one pitman arm (15R) in response to the steering input (18) to transfer movement through the plurality of linkages to turn the first pair of wheels (10L/R) (Annotated Fig. 3, Fig. 1 & [0018]-[0021], [0043]-[0044]); and
a secondary electric drive source (16L) operatively attached to one of the plurality of linkages (14L) and configured to independently and redundantly move the one of the plurality of linkages in response to the steering input (18) (Fig. 1 & [0024], [0026]-[0027], and [0067]); and
a vehicle communication unit (VCU) (23) communicatively coupled to the primary electric drive source (16R) and the secondary electric drive source (16L) and configured to receive the steering input (18) and actuate each of the primary electric drive source (16R) and the secondary electric drive source (16L) based on the steering input (18) to turn the first pair of wheels (10L/R), and configured to separately actuate the secondary electric drive source (16L) such that the secondary electric drive source (16L) turns the first pair of wheels (10L/R) independently and redundantly from the primary electric drive source (16R) (Figs. 1 and 6 & [0024]-[0027][0066]-[0068] disclose the steering control devices 22L/R controlled by the VCU 23 are able to operate redundantly in the event of a failure of one of the units, because they can run when one unit has failed, this is interpreted as being configured to also run independently.).
Ishihara does not appear to explicitly disclose a first axle extending between a first pair of wheels.
Larson teaches that it was old and well known in the art of steering systems, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a first axle (18) extending between a first pair of wheels (Figs. 1 and 3 & Abstract and [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of steering systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the steering system disclosed by Ishihara to incorporate a first axle extending between a first pair of wheels as taught by Larson in order to rotatably support and drive the vehicles wheels and couple the wheels to the vehicles suspension, e.g., see Fig. 1 and [0005]-[0006] and as known by any person of ordinary skill in the art, and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 2, depending on claim 1, Ishihara further discloses a steering unit (18) communicatively coupled to the vehicle communication unit (VCU) (23) to send the steering input (18) to the vehicle communication unit (VCU) (23). (Figs. 1 and 6 & [0021], [0023]-[0025] disclose and depict that operation of the steering wheel, i.e., steering input, is input into the steering wheel/unit 18 which is sensed by the torque sensor 21 which is transmitted to the VCU 23).
Regarding claim 5, depending on claim 1, Ishihara further discloses wherein the secondary electric drive source (16L) is an electronic recirculating ball (eRCB) assembly (Fig. 2) operatively coupled to the at least one drag link (14L) by at least one pitman arm (15L) (Figs. 1-2 & [0020], [0028][0032]-[0033]).
Regarding claim 16, depending on claim 1, Ishihara further discloses wherein the steering assembly further comprises a steering column (17) extending to the primary electric drive source (16R) to be physically attached to the primary electric drive source (16R), and rotation of the steering column (17) provides the steering input (18) to the primary electric drive source (16R) (Figs. 1 and 3 & [0021]).
Regarding claim 17, depending on claim 1, further discloses a steering wheel (18) and a rotation sensor (45) communicatively coupled to the steering wheel (18) to detect rotation of the steering wheel (18) (Figs. 1 and 3 & [0051]-[0052] discloses the steering wheel is rotatably coupled to the output shaft 34R of the ball screw where rotation angle sensor is mounted and configured to measure. Although the rotation sensor not directly coupled to the steering wheel, it still is interpreted as detecting rotation of the steering wheel), the rotation sensor (45) is communicatively coupled to the primary electric drive source (16R) to provide the steering input (18) to the primary electric drive source (16R) in response to the detected rotation of the steering wheel (18) (Figs. 1 and 3 & [0021], [0058], [0064]. See also Fig. 6 & supporting paragraphs [0070]-[0073], [0080], and [0088]-[00112] generally.).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishihara in view of Larson and further in view of US 2018/0244305 A1 to Cal et al (hereinafter Cai).
Regarding claim 3, depending on claim 1, Ishihara further discloses wherein the eRCB assembly (Fig. 3) comprises a … power pack (B) engaged with the recirculating ball gear (A) to transfer rotation to the recirculating ball gear (A) (Annotated Fig. 3 & [0044] and [0046]):
Ishihara does not appear to disclose a pair of power packs engaged with the recirculating ball gear.
Cai teaches that it was old and well known in the art of steering systems, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for an eRCB assembly to include a pair of power packs (98, 104) engaged with the recirculating ball gear (46) (Fig. 1 & claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of steering systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the eRCB assembly disclosed by the modified combination of Ishihara /Larson to modify the power pack to be a pair of power packs as taught by Cai in order to provide redundancy in steering systems, e.g., see Cai Abstract, and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 4, depending on claim 3, Ishihara further discloses wherein the … power pack (41R) are engaged with the recirculating ball gear (33R) to transfer rotation to the recirculating ball gear (33R) (Fig. 3 & [0044] and [0046]), … the pair of power pack comprises:
a worm gear reducer (39R,40R) (Fig. 3 & [0046]);
a motor (41R) operatively attached to the worm gear reducer (39R,40R) to transfer rotation to the worm gear reducer (39R,40R) (Fig. 3 & [0046]); and
an ECU (22R) communicatively coupled to the motor (41R) to control operation of the motor (41R), the worm gear reducer (39R,40R) engages the recirculating ball gear (33R) to transfer rotation to the recirculating ball gear (39R,40R) (Figs. 1 and 3 & [0025]-[0026], [0049]-[0051], and [0057]).
Ishihara does not appear to disclose the pair of power packs are engaged with the recirculating ball gear.
Cai teaches that it was old and well known in the art of steering systems, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for an eRCB assembly to include a pair of power packs (98, 104) engaged with the recirculating ball gear (46) (Fig. 1 & claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of steering systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the eRCB assembly disclosed by the modified combination of Ishihara /Larson to modify the power pack to be a pair of power packs as taught by Cai in order to provide redundancy in steering systems, e.g., see Cai Abstract, and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishihara in view of Larson and further in view of US 2,232,165 to Cochran.
Regarding claim 18, depending on claim 1, Ishihara further discloses the secondary electric drive source (16L) is operatively attached to the at least one drag link (14L/R) (Fig. 1 & [0018]-[0020]).
Ishihara does not appear to further disclose:
a second axle extending between a second pair of wheels;
wherein the plurality of linkages further comprises:
a second pair of knuckles operatively coupled to the second pair of wheels, the at least one drag link is attached to one of the second pair of knuckles;
a second tie rod extending between and coupled to the second pair of knuckles.
Cochran teaches that it was old and well known in the art of steering systems, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention,
wherein the plurality of linkages further comprises:
a second pair of knuckles (29,30) operatively coupled to the second pair of wheels (13), the at least one drag link (38,40) is attached to one of the second pair of knuckles (29,30) (Fig. 2 & p. 1 col 2 ln 41 - p. 2 col 1 ln 12);
a second tie rod (28) extending between and coupled to the second pair of knuckles (29,30) (Fig. 2 & p. 1 col 2 ln 41 - p. 2 col 1 ln 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of steering systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the front wheel steering system including a drag link connected to the front wheel knuckle disclosed by Ishihara to incorporate the all wheel steering system including a second axle extending between a second pair of wheels; wherein the plurality of linkages further comprises: a second pair of knuckles operatively coupled to the second pair of wheels, the at least one drag link, which is also attached to one of the first pair of knuckles, is attached to one of the second pair of knuckles; a second tie rod extending between and coupled to the second pair of knuckles as taught by Cochran in order to improve the turning radius, particularly of large vehicles, e.g., see p. 1 col 2 ln 3-16, and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Larson further discloses a second axle (20) extending between a second pair of wheels (Figs. 1 and 3 & Abstract and [0027]).
It would have been obvious to have modified Ishihara in view of the teachings of Larson for at least the same reasons discussed above in claim 1 and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 19, depending on claim 18, the modified combination of Ishihara/ Larson/Cochran further discloses wherein:
the plurality of linkages further comprises a first pitman arm (Ishihara - 15R/Cochran - 67) and a second pitman arm (15L) each attached to the at least one drag link (Ishihara - 14R/14L / Cochran – 38,40) (Ishihara – Fig. 1/Cochran Figs. 2 and 4);
the eRCB assembly operatively attached to the at least one drag link (Ishihara – 14L/14R) by the first pitman arm (15R) (Figs. 1 and 3 & [0020], [0040], [0043]-[0044], and [0051]); and
the secondary electric drive source (Ishihara – 16R) comprises a second eRCB assembly operatively attached to the at least one drag link (Ishihara – 14L/R) by the second pitman arm (Ishihara – 15L) (Figs. 1-2 & [0020], [0028][0032]-[0033]).
It would have been obvious to have modified Ishihara in view of the teachings of Cochran/Larson for at least the same reasons discussed above in claims 1 and 18 and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the Response directed toward the 35 USC §103 rejection of claim 1 has been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See Response pp. 7-9.
Applicant specifically argues:
Applicant respectfully submits that the cited combination does not teach or suggest the amended arrangement of claim 1. Ishihara discloses that "[t]he first steered wheel 1OL and the second steered wheel 1OR are connected by a tie rod 11" and that, "[w]ith these, the first steered wheel 1OL and the second steered wheel 1OR are interlocked and turned (steered)." See Ishihara at paragraphs [0018]-[0019]. Ishihara further explains that "the entire of the links and the arms from the first electric steering mechanism 16L and the second electric steering mechanism 16R to the first steered wheel 1 OL and the second steered wheel 1 OR may be referred to merely as a link system (=connection member)." See Id. at paragraph [0020]. Thus, Ishihara's steering architecture mechanically interlocks the steered wheels through a tie rod and link system/connection member, rather than providing the claimed VCU-based separate actuation of a secondary electric drive source to turn the first pair of wheels independently and redundantly from the primary electric drive source.
The Examiner's reliance on Ishihara's control device 23 does not cure this deficiency. Ishihara discloses that "[t]he first motor actuator 20L of the first electric steering mechanism 16L is controlled by a first control device 22L," that "the second motor actuator 20R of the second electric steering mechanism 16R is controlled by a second control device 22R," and that "an integral control device 23 may constitutes the first control device 22L and the second control devise 22R" such that "the integral control device 23 can control the first electric steering mechanism 16L and the second electric steering mechanism 16R." See Id. at paragraphs [0023]- [0025]. That disclosure describes control of motor actuators within Ishihara's mechanically interlocked steering architecture. It does not teach or suggest the claimed VCU functionality, in which the VCU receives the steering input and separately actuates the secondary electric drive source such that the secondary electric drive source turns the first pair of wheels independently and redundantly from the primary electric drive source.
Examiner disagrees Ishihara fails to disclose the amended claim limitations. Ishihara discloses, as discussed above, a system that is redundantly operable in the event of the failure of one of the drive systems. If one of the systems can operate redundantly when one has failed, then it is also capable of operating independently. Applicant’s statement that this is not possible because steering architecture is interlocked is not persuasive because the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., non-interlocking steering architecture) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). For at least these reasons, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER B WEHRLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611