DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the communication filed 18 August 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
The objection to claim 1 is withdrawn, responsive to Applicant’s amendment of claim 1.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 20 contains a typo and should read: “wherein the touch-sensing layer is arranged on the thin-film encapsulation layer”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 13-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0240589 (published Aug. 18, 2016) (hereinafter “Jeong 1”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0079567 (published Mar. 17, 2016) (hereinafter “Cho”), U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0053918 (published Feb. 22, 2018) (hereinafter “Woo”), U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0193741 (filed Dec. 31, 2019) (hereinafter “Chen”), and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0006183 (effectively filed June 30, 2021) (hereinafter “Rhe”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Jeong 1 discloses: A display apparatus (FIG. 1, depicting an OLED display device, [0038]) comprising:
a substrate (FIG. 2, substrate 110, [0045]);
a first light-emitting device, a second light-emitting device, and a third light- emitting device (FIG. 2, depicting first, second, and third light emitting devices including organic light emitting layers 130r, 130g, and 130b, [0053]-[0054]),
which are arranged on the substrate (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the first, second, and third light emitting devices are arranged on the substrate 110) and respectively form emission areas by emitting light of wavelengths different from one another (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the first, second, and third light emitting devices, by virtue of organic light emitting layers 130r, 130g, and 130b, form emission areas by emitting red, green, and blue light, respectively); and
a color filter layer (FIG. 2, red color filter 170, [0071]) corresponding to only the first light-emitting device among the first light-emitting device, the second light-emitting device, and the third light-emitting device (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the red color filter 170 corresponds only to the first, red-light-emitting device including organic light emitting layer 130r among the organic light emitting layers 130r, 130b, and 130g).
Jeong 1 does not specifically disclose a low-reflection layer arranged on the first light-emitting device, the second light-emitting device, and the third light-emitting device, wherein the low-reflection layer comprises an inorganic material.
In the same field of endeavor, Cho discloses a display apparatus (FIG. 1, display apparatus 1, [0028]) including a low-reflection layer (FIG. 1, external light reflection layer 140, [0030]) arranged on a light-emitting device (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the external light reflection layer 140 is arranged on the light emitting devices formed from pixel electrodes 120a-c, intermediate layers 121a-c, and counter electrode 122) and below a light shielding layer (FIG. 1, black matrix 160), wherein the low-reflection layer (FIG. 1, external light reflection layer 140) comprises an inorganic material ([0044]: “The external light reflection layer 140 may be formed of a material, wherein a product of a refraction index and an extinction coefficient of the material is equal to or higher than 1. For example, the external light reflection layer 140 may include at least one of chrome (Cr), molybdenum (Mo), titanium (Ti), cobalt (Co), nickel (Ni), aluminum (Al), tungsten (W), CrNx, TiNx, TiAlNx, MoOx, and CuOx (x may be an integer greater than or equal to 1).”). Regarding the external light reflection layer 140, in [0045]-[0046], Cho states: “A portion of a light incident from outside may be reflected by the external light reflection layer 140, another portion of the light may be absorbed thereby, and the other portion of the light may be transmitted therethrough. The external light reflection layer 140 is formed of a material, wherein the product of a refraction index and an extinction coefficient is equal to or higher than 1, where the material may exhibit relatively low reflectance and relatively high light extinction coefficient compared to other metals. Therefore, a portion of a light incident from outside may be primarily absorbed by the external light reflection layer 140, and thus reflection of external light may be prevented or reduced.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display apparatus of Jeong 1 by adding the external light reflection layer 140 of Cho in order to prevent or reduce the reflection of external light in the display device. See Cho [0045]-[0046].
Jeong 1 does not specifically disclose a light-shielding layer arranged above the low-reflection layer, corresponding to a non-emission area between the emission areas, wherein the light-shielding layer comprises openings corresponding to the emissions areas.
In the same field of endeavor, Woo discloses a display device including a light-shielding layer corresponding to a non-emission area (FIG. 4, depicting a black matrix 140 corresponding to a non-emission area NA, [0089]), wherein the light-shielding layer comprises an opening corresponding to the emissions area (FIG. 4, opening 140H corresponding to the emission area AA, [0089]). Regarding the black matrix configuration, in [0090], Woo states: “The black matrix 140 may transmit (e.g., allow to be transmitted), via the emission area AA, light generated in the EML in the intermediate layer 100, and may absorb, via the non-emission area NA, light from the outside of the organic light-emitting display apparatus. By doing so, a contrast and a luminescent efficiency of the organic light-emitting display apparatus may be improved.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display apparatus of Jeong 1 by adding black matrix configuration of Woo in order to improve contrast and luminescent efficiency. See Woo [0090].
Moreover, the black matrix 140 of Woo, added to each of the light emitting devices of Jeong 1 in the display apparatus of Jeong 1, would result in a configuration wherein the black matrix 140 would be arranged above the external light reflection layer 140 of Cho, the black matrix 140 would correspond to a non-emission area between the emission areas of Jeong 1, and further wherein red color filter 170 of Jeong 1 would be arranged in only one of the openings 140H in the black matrix 140, corresponding only to the red light emitting device of Jeong 1.
Jeong 1 does not specifically disclose a reflection control layer arranged on the light-shielding layer and the color filter layer, wherein at least a portion of the reflection control layer is in a same plane as the color filter layer, the same plane being substantially perpendicular to a light emission direction of the first light-emitting device.
In the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses a reflection control layer (FIG. 1, anti-reflection film layer 60 configured to “reduce the reflectivity of the display panel to external ambient light,” [0072]) arranged on a light-shielding layer and a color filter layer (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the anti-reflection layer 60 is arranged on the first and second light shielding layers 51,53 and the color resist 52, and further wherein the anti-reflection layer 60 is arranged over the entire display panel of Chen, conformally covering the display panel of Chen). Regarding the anti-reflection layer 60, in [0072], Chen states: “Further, in order to further reduce the reflectivity of the display panel to external ambient light, the display panel further comprises an anti-reflection film layer 60 that covers the second light shielding portion 53 and the opening 54.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display apparatus of Jeong 1 by adding anti-reflection film layer of Chen in order to reduce the reflection of external light in the display device. See Chen [0072].
Moreover, the addition of the anti-reflection film layer 60 would result in a configuration wherein, due to the addition of the black matrix 140 of Woo, the red color filter 170 of Jeong 1 would be arranged in only one of the openings 140H in the black matrix 140, the openings 140H not filled by the red color filter 170 of Jeong 1 would be filled by the anti-reflection layer6 60 of Chen, and thus at least a portion of the anti-reflection layer 60 would be in a same plane as the red color filter 170 of Jeong, the same plane being substantially perpendicular to a light emission direction of the first light-emitting device of Jeong 1.
Jeong 1 does not specifically disclose a touch-sensing layer arranged on the low-reflection layer, the touch-sensing layer including a conductive layer arranged over the low-reflection layer and an insulating layer arranged on the conductive layer, wherein the light-shielding layer overlaps the conductive layer, and each of the openings of the light-shielding layer exposes a portion of an upper surface of the insulating layer, and wherein the color filter layer is arranged in contact with the portion of the upper surface of the insulating layer exposed by the one of the openings of the light-shielding layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Rhe discloses a display device including a touch-sensing layer, the touch-sensing layer including a conductive layer (FIGS. 8/9, touch electrode TE, [0057]), and an insulating layer arranged on the conductive layer (FIGS. 8/9, touch passivation layer TPAS arranged on the touch electrode TE, [0112]). Regarding the touch sensing configuration, in [0055]-[0056], Rhe states: “Furthermore, the display device 100 according to embodiments of the present disclosure can provide a function detecting a touch of a user contacting the display panel 110. FIG. 2 is a diagram illustrating an example of a configuration for a touch sensing included in the display device 100 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display apparatus of Jeong 1 by adding the touch sensing configuration of Rhe in order to provide a touch sensing function, allowing the device to detect a user’s touch. See Rhe [0055].
Moreover, addition of the touch sensing configuration of Rhe would result in a configuration wherein the touch sensing configuration is located on the external light reflection layer 140, the touch electrode TE is arranged over the external light reflection layer 140, wherein the black matrix 140 overlaps the touch electrode TE, and the openings 140H expose an upper portion of the touch passivation layer TPAS, and the red color filter 170 is be arranged in contact with the portion of the upper surface of the touch passivation layer TPAS exposed by the openings 140H, and the black matrix 140 is arranged on the touch sensing configuration, just as the touch sensing configuration is arranged between the light emitting element ED and the black matrix BM and color filter CF as disclosed in Rhe.
Regarding claim 2, Jeong 1 in view of Cho, Woo, Chen, and Rhe further discloses wherein the first light-emitting device (Jeong 1 FIG. 2, first, red-light-emitting device including organic light emitting layer 130r) emits light of a red wavelength (Jeong 1 [0054]: “The organic light emitting layer 130 may include red, green, and blue organic light emitting layers 130 r, 130 g, and 130 b.”).
Regarding claim 3, Jeong 1 in view of Cho, Woo, Chen, and Rhe further discloses wherein the color filter layer (Jeong 1 FIG. 2, red color filter 170, [0071]) transmits light in a red wavelength range (Jeong 1 FIG. 2, disclosing wherein the red color filter 170 is a red color filter, [0071]: “A red color filter 170 may be arranged or formed on the thin film encapsulation layer 160 in the red pixel area PAr, and may include a red material or an organic material in which red materials are dispersed.”).
Regarding claim 4, Jeong 1 in view of Cho, Woo, Chen, and Rhe further discloses wherein the openings of the light-shielding layer (Woo FIG. 4, openings 140H in the black matrix 140) comprise a first opening corresponding to the first light-emitting device (Woo FIG. 4; Jeong 1 FIG. 2; depicting wherein the black matrix 140 would have a plurality of openings 140H for each of the light emitting devices of Jeong 1, including an opening 140H corresponding to the first, red-light-emitting device including organic light emitting layer 130r), a second opening corresponding to the second light-emitting device (Woo FIG. 4; Jeong 1 FIG. 2; depicting wherein the black matrix 140 would have a plurality of openings 140H for each of the light emitting devices of Jeong 1, including an opening 140H corresponding to either the green-light-emitting device or blue-light-emitting device including organic light emitting layers 130g or 130b, respectively), and a third opening corresponding to the third light-emitting device (Woo FIG. 4; Jeong 1 FIG. 2; depicting wherein the black matrix 140 would have a plurality of openings 140H for each of the light emitting devices of Jeong 1, including an opening 140H corresponding to either the green-light-emitting device or blue-light-emitting device including organic light emitting layers 130g or 130b, respectively), and the color filter layer (Jeong 1 FIG. 2, red color filter 170) is arranged only in the first opening (Woo FIG. 4; Jeong 1 FIG. 2; the black matrix of Woo, added to the display apparatus of Jeong 1, would result in a configuration wherein the red color filter 170 of Jeong 1, which is the only color filter, would be arranged in only one of the openings 140H in the black matrix 140, that opening corresponding to the first, red-light-emitting device including organic light emitting layer 130r).
Regarding claim 5, Jeong 1 in view of Cho, Woo, Chen, and Rhe further discloses wherein the reflection control layer (Chen FIG. 1, anti-reflection film layer 60) is arranged to fill the second opening (Woo FIG. 4; Chen FIG. 1; Jeong 1 FIG. 2; depicting wherein the antireflection layer 60 of Chen, which is arranged over the entire display panel of Chen would fill the openings 140H in the black matrix 140 of Woo in which the red color filter 170 of Jeong 1 is not disposed, including the opening 140H corresponding to either the green-light-emitting device or blue-light-emitting device including organic light emitting layers 130g or 130b, respectively) and the third opening (Woo FIG. 4; Chen FIG. 1; Jeong 1 FIG. 2; depicting wherein the antireflection layer 60 of Chen, which is arranged over the entire display panel of Chen would fill the openings 140H in the black matrix 140 of Woo in which the red color filter 170 of Jeong 1 is not disposed, including the opening 140H corresponding to either the green-light-emitting device or blue-light-emitting device including organic light emitting layers 130g or 130b, respectively).
Regarding claim 13, while Cho discloses in [0044] wherein “the external light reflection layer 140 may include at least one of chrome (Cr), molybdenum (Mo), titanium (Ti), cobalt (Co), nickel (Ni), aluminum (Al), tungsten (W), CrNx, TiNx, TiAlNx, MoOx, and CuOx (x may be an integer greater than or equal to 1),” Jeong 1 in view of Cho, Woo, Chen, and Rhe does not specifically disclose wherein the low-reflection layer comprises at least one of a metal and a metal oxide.
Regarding the materials of the low-reflection layer, however, it is well-established that “when there is motivation to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” MPEP § 2143(I)(E) (quoting KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, (2007)).
Currently, there is a recognized need in the art to create display devices that maximize performance and minimize cost, often accomplished by using different, fewer, and/or smaller amounts of certain materials in each layer comprising the device such that the layers are thin enough to decrease cost and to shorten the production process, but thick enough and of a sufficient reflecting characteristic to reflect a sufficient amount of light and meet desired performance specifications. In the present case, there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions for meeting the abovementioned need in the context of material usage, including, noted in [0044] of Cho, forming the external light reflection layer 140 from “at least one of chrome (Cr), molybdenum (Mo), titanium (Ti), cobalt (Co), nickel (Ni), aluminum (Al), tungsten (W), CrNx, TiNx, TiAlNx, MoOx, and CuOx (x may be an integer greater than or equal to 1),” each having a reasonable expectation of success regardless of which known potential solution is pursued.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to try forming the external light reflection layer 140 from both a metal such as, for example, titanium (Ti) as well as a metal oxide such as, for example, CuOx.
Regarding claim 14, Jeong 1 in view of Cho, Woo, Chen, and Rhe further discloses wherein the low-reflection layer (Cho FIG. 1, external light reflection layer 140) comprises ytterbium (Yb), bismuth (Bi), cobalt (Co), molybdenum (Mo), titanium (Ti), zirconium (Zr), aluminum (Al), chromium (Cr), niobium (Nb), platinum (Pt), tungsten (W), indium (In), tin (Sn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), tantalum (Ta), manganese (Mn), zinc (Zn), germanium (Ge), silver (Ag), magnesium (Mg), gold (Au), copper (Cu), calcium (Ca), or a combination thereof (Cho [0044]: “For example, the external light reflection layer 140 may include at least one of chrome (Cr), molybdenum (Mo), titanium (Ti), cobalt (Co), nickel (Ni), aluminum (Al), tungsten (W), CrNx, TiNx, TiAlNx, MoOx, and CuOx (x may be an integer greater than or equal to 1).”).
Regarding claim 15, Jeong 1 in view of Cho, Woo, Chen, and Rhe further discloses wherein the low-reflection layer (Cho FIG. 1, external light reflection layer 140) has a refractive index (n) of 1 or more (Cho [0044]: “The external light reflection layer 140 may be formed of a material, wherein a product of a refraction index and an extinction coefficient of the material is equal to or higher than 1. For example, the external light reflection layer 140 may include at least one of chrome (Cr), molybdenum (Mo), titanium (Ti), cobalt (Co), nickel (Ni), aluminum (Al), tungsten (W), CrNx, TiNx, TiAlNx, MoOx, and CuOx (x may be an integer greater than or equal to 1).”).
Regarding claim 16, Jeong 1 in view of Cho, Woo, Chen, and Rhe further discloses wherein the low-reflection layer (Cho FIG. 1, external light reflection layer 140) absorbs a second wavelength range of a visible light range (Cho [0030]: “[E]xternal light reflection layer 140, [is] configured to reflect at least a portion of incident visible rays and absorb and transmit at least a portion of the incident visible rays”; [0046]: “[A] portion of a light incident from outside may be primarily absorbed by the external light reflection layer 140, and thus reflection of external light may be prevented or reduced.”), and optionally absorbs a first wavelength range of the visible light range ([0030]: “[E]xternal light reflection layer 140, [is] configured to reflect at least a portion of incident visible rays and absorb and transmit at least a portion of the incident visible rays”; [0046]: “[A] portion of a light incident from outside may be primarily absorbed by the external light reflection layer 140, and thus reflection of external light may be prevented or reduced.”).
Regarding claim 17, Jeong 1 in view of Cho, Woo, Chen, and Rhe further discloses wherein the first wavelength range is about 480 nm to about 500 nm (Cho FIG. 1, external light reflection layer 140 is disclosed as reflecting a portion of incident visible rays, which includes wavelengths in the range of 480 to 500 nm; [0030]: “[E]xternal light reflection layer 140, [is] configured to reflect at least a portion of incident visible rays and absorb and transmit at least a portion of the incident visible rays”; [0046]: “[A] portion of a light incident from outside may be primarily absorbed by the external light reflection layer 140, and thus reflection of external light may be prevented or reduced.”), and the second wavelength range is about 585 nm to about 605 nm (Cho FIG. 1, external light reflection layer 140 is disclosed as reflecting a portion of incident visible rays, which includes wavelengths in the range of 585 to 605 nm; [0030]: “[E]xternal light reflection layer 140, [is] configured to reflect at least a portion of incident visible rays and absorb and transmit at least a portion of the incident visible rays”; [0046]: “[A] portion of a light incident from outside may be primarily absorbed by the external light reflection layer 140, and thus reflection of external light may be prevented or reduced.”).
Regarding claim 19, Jeong 1 in view of Cho, Woo, Chen, and Rhe further discloses wherein the display apparatus further comprises a capping layer (FIG. 2, capping layer 150, [0066]) arranged on the first light-emitting device, the second light-emitting device, and the third light-emitting device (FIG. 2, depicting wherein the capping layer 150 is arranged on the first, second, and third light emitting devices including organic light emitting layers 130r, 130g, and 130b), wherein the capping layer comprises an organic material ([0066]: “The capping layer 150 may have a refractive index in a range of about 1.8 to about 2.5, and may be formed of at least one of an inorganic material and an organic material. Accordingly, the capping layer 150 may be formed of one of an inorganic layer and an organic layer, or may be formed of an organic layer containing inorganic particles.”). The configuration of the capping layer 150 is such that the external light reflection layer 140 of Cho would be arranged directly on the capping layer 150 (See Cho FIG. 1, depicting wherein the a thin film encapsulating layer 150 is arranged on the external light reflection layer 140, and the external light reflection layer 140 is arranged on the phase control layer 130, which is formed on the light emitting devices formed from pixel electrodes 120a-c, intermediate layers 121a-c, and counter electrode 122).
Regarding claim 20, Jeong 1 in view of Cho, Woo, Chen, and Rhe further discloses wherein the display apparatus comprises a thin-film encapsulation layer (Jeong 1 FIG. 2, thin film encapsulation layer 160, [0069]). The configuration of the thin film encapsulation layer 160 is such that the encapsulation layer 160 would be arranged on the external light reflection layer 140 of Cho (See Cho FIG. 1, depicting wherein a thin film encapsulating layer 150 is arranged on the external light reflection layer 140). Jeong 1 in view of Cho, Woo, Chen, and Rhe further discloses wherein the touch-sensing layer arranged on the thin-film encapsulation layer, wherein the light-shielding layer is arranged on the touch-sensing layer (Rhe FIGS. 8/9, depicting wherein the touch sensing configuration would be arranged on the thin film encapsulation layer 160, and the black matrix 140 is arranged on the touch sensing configuration, just as the touch sensing configuration is arranged between the encapsulation layer ENCAP and the black matrix BM and color filter CF as disclosed in Rhe).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong 1 in view of Cho, Woo, Chen, and Rhe and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0302217 (filed Oct. 30, 2020) (hereinafter “Ding”).
Regarding claim 6, Jeong 1 in view of Cho, Woo, Chen, and Rhe does not specifically disclose wherein a thickness of the color filter layer is 0.9 μm to 3.0 μm.
In the same field of endeavor, Ding discloses a display substrate (E.g., FIG. 10, depicting a display substrate) comprising a color filter layer (FIG. 10, color filter layer 30, [0048])). Regarding the thickness of the color filter layer, in [0089], Ding states: “In addition, as shown in FIG. 12, as the color filter thickness (CF thickness) increases (from 2.5 microns to 3.0 microns in FIG. 12), the reflectivity of the external natural light gradually decreases. That is, experiments (or simulation, etc.) show that the reflectivity of the external natural light decreases as the color filter thickness increases . . . .” Moreover, the thicknesses of various layers are commonly optimized to maximize performance and minimize cost, often accomplished by often accomplished by using fewer and/or smaller amounts of materials in each layer comprising the device such that the layers are thin enough to meet minimum performance specifications and to shorten the production process, but thick enough to meet desired increased performance specifications. Thus, noted in Ding, the thickness of the color filter layer is a result-effective variable for optimizing reflectivity of external light, production time, and desired light filtering performance.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the thicknesses of the color filter layer, identified by Ding as a result-effective variable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at a color filter layer ranging from 0.9 μm to 3.0 μm in order to achieve a desired balance between reflectivity of external light, production time, and desired light filtering performance as disclosed in Ding in [0089]. See MPEP § 2144.05 (“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”) (quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (C.C.P.A. 1955)).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong 1 in view of Cho, Woo, Chen, and Rhe and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0157354 (published May 23, 2019) (hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 7, Jeong 1 in view of Cho, Woo, Chen, and Rhe does not specifically disclose wherein a light transmittance of the color filter layer is 70% or more in a red wavelength range, and 50% or less in a green wavelength range and a blue wavelength range.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses a display apparatus including a color filter (E.g., FIG. 14, [0113]: “FIG. 14 is a graph showing a variation in a transmittance in percent (%) versus a wavelength in nanometers (nm) of an absorption type color filter applicable to a display apparatus according to an embodiment. The graph of FIG. 14 shows a variation in a transmittance (%) versus a wavelength (nm) of each of an absorption type red-color filter, an absorption type green-color filter and an absorption type Blue-color filter. The absorption type red-color filter, the absorption type green-color filter and the absorption type blue-color filter may be respectively applied to, for example, the first color filter 30 a, the second color filter 30 b, and the third color filter 30 c of [the display apparatus of] FIG. 1”), the plot of the red absorption type color filter in FIG. 14 depicting a color filter wherein a light transmittance of the color filter layer is 70% or more in a red wavelength range, and 50% or less in a green wavelength range and a blue wavelength range. Regarding the transmittances percentages of each of the respective filters, in [0075], Lee states: “The first, second and third color filters 30 a, 30 b and 30 c may be absorption type color filters including pigment or dye. . . . The red-color filter 30 a may selectively transmit light of a red wavelength region and absorb light of the other wavelength regions. . . . By such transmitting and absorbing described above, the first color filter 30 a may filter out undesired light among light incident thereto after passing through the first color control element 20 a.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display panel of Jeong 1 by substituting the red color absorption type color filter having specific transmission percentages—wherein the transmittance of the red color filter is 70% or more in a red wavelength range, and 50% or less in a green wavelength range and a blue wavelength range—of Lee in order to filter out undesired light among light incident thereto. See Lee [0075].
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong 1 in view of Cho, Woo, Chen, and Rhe and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0075682 (published Mar. 5, 2020) (hereinafter “Jeong 2”).
Regarding claim 8, Jeong 1 in view of Cho, Woo, Chen, and Rhe does not specifically disclose wherein the color filter layer comprises a scattering agent.
In the same field of endeavor, Jeong 2 discloses a display apparatus (FIG. 4, display device DS, [0067]) including a color filter layer (FIGS. 4/6/9, color filter portions CCF1 to CCF3, [0115]), wherein the color filter layer (FIGS. 4/6/9, color filter portions CCF1 to CCF3) comprises a scattering agent (FIGS. 4/6/9, [0115]: “The color filter member CFP includes a plurality of color filter portions CCF1, CCF2 and CCF3 and at least one of the plurality of color filter portions CCF1, CCF2 and CCF3 includes a scattering agent SP.”). Regarding the scattering agent SP, in [0134], Jeong 2 states: “In other words, if the resonance distances of the organic electroluminescent elements OEL-1, OEL-2, and OEL-3 are the same in the display device DS, in the first organic electroluminescent element OEL-1 and the second organic electroluminescent element OEL-2, which emit relatively long wavelength light, the luminance difference according to the viewing angle may be large. Accordingly, a scattering agent is included in the first color filter portion CCF1 and the second color filter portion CCF2 located on the first organic electroluminescent element OEL-1 and the second organic electroluminescent element OEL-2, respectively, to effectively scatter the light, so that it is possible to reduce the color luminance difference according to the viewing angle.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display panel of Jeong 1 by adding the scattering agent SP of Jeong 2 in order to reduce the color luminance difference according to the viewing angle. See Jeong 2 [0134].
Regarding claim 9, Jeong 1 in view of Cho, Woo, Chen, Rhe and Jeong 2 further discloses wherein the scattering agent (FIGS. 4/6/9, scattering agent SP) comprises at least one of TiO2, ZnO, A1203, SiO2, hollow silica, or polystyrene particles ([0117]: “The scattering agent SP may include at least one of TiO2, ZnO, Al2O3, SiO2, hollow silica, or polystyrene particles. The scattering agent SP may include any one of TiO2, ZnO, Al2O3, SiO2, hollow silica, and polystyrene particles, or may be a mixture of two or more materials selected from TiO2, ZnO, Al2O3, SiO2, hollow silica, and polystyrene particles formed of polystyrene resin.”).
Regarding claim 10, Jeong 1 in view of Cho, Woo, Chen, Rhe and Jeong 2 further discloses wherein the scattering agent (FIGS. 4/6/9, scattering agent SP) has an average diameter of 50 nm or more and 500 nm or less ([0120]: “The average diameter of the scattering agent SP may be less than 500 nm. For example, the scattering agent SP may have an average diameter of 50 nm or more and 500 nm or less.”).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong 1 in view of Cho, Woo, Chen, and Rhe, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0181189 (filed Dec. 11, 2018) (hereinafter “Chang”).
Regarding claim 11, Jeong 1 in view of Cho, Woo, Chen, and Rhe does not specifically disclose wherein the reflection control layer comprises dye, pigment, or a combination thereof.
In the same field of endeavor, Chang discloses a display device (FIGS. 2/3B/5, OLED 100, [0117]) including a reflection control layer (FIGS. 2/3B/5, light-absorption filter layer 200, [0078]), and further wherein the reflection control layer (FIGS. 2/3B/5, light-absorption filter layer 200) comprises dye, pigment, or a combination thereof (FIGS. 2/3B/5, [0079]: “The light-absorption filter layer 200 may include first light-absorption dyes 220 a and second light-absorption dyes 220 b in a transparent resin 210.”). Regarding the light-absorption filter layer 200, in [0086], Chang states: “For example, a first color mixing region A where the blue light and the green light all are transmitted exists at a range of about 470 nm to 550 nm, and thus the blue light transmitted at the blue sub-pixel B-SP may not be a pure blue light but be recognized as a blue light mixed with a green light. This phenomenon also happens to a second color mixing region B between the green light and the blue light. As a result, the OLED 100 may have a disadvantage of a low color reproduction range for emitted colors.” Chang further states in [0087] that “FIG. 3B is a graph showing a light transmission spectrum for the light-absorption filter layer 200. Referring to FIG. 3B, it is seen that a transmittance of a light passing through the light-absorption filter layer 200 is reduced at a first valley C and a second valley D.” and in [0090] Chang states: “In other words, it is seen that the first color mixing region A generated in a range of about 470 nm to 550 nm between the blue light and the green light, and the second color mixing region B generated in a range of about 570 nm to 620 nm between the green light and the red light are removed.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display panel of Jeong 1 by adding the light-absorption color filter layer 200 dyes 220a/220b of Chang in order to remove color mixing regions and increase the reproduction range of the colors of the display panel. See Chang [0086]-[0090].
Regarding claim 12, while Chang discloses wherein, in reference to FIG. 3B, “it is seen that a transmittance of a light passing through the light-absorption filter layer 200 is reduced at a first valley C and a second valley D,” Jeong 1 in view of Cho, Woo, Chen, and Chang does not specifically disclose wherein a light transmittance of the reflection control layer is about 64% to about 72%.
In [0099]-[0104], however, Chang states that “as the contents of the first and second light-absorption dyes 220 a and 220 b increase, an amount of a light absorbed by the first and second light-absorption dyes 220 a and 220 b increases and a brightness efficiency is reduced.” Accordingly, the amount of light-absorption dyes 220 a and 220 b, affecting light absorption and thus light transmittance, is a result-effective variable for display brightness and overlapping ratio (color reproduction range).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, amounts of light-absorption dyes 220a and 220b, affecting light absorption and thus light transmittance, identified by Chang as a result-effective variable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at an amount of light-absorption dye corresponding to a light transmittance ranging from 64% to about 72% in order to achieve a desired balance between display brightness and overlapping ratio (color reproduction range) as disclosed in Chang in [0104]. See MPEP § 2144.05 (“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”) (quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (C.C.P.A. 1955)).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong 1 in view of Cho, Woo, Chen, and Rhe and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0206613 (effectively filed Dec. 30, 2020) (hereinafter “Choi”).
Regarding claim 18, Jeong 1 in view of Cho, Woo, Chen, and Rhe further discloses wherein the first light-emitting device (Jeong 1 FIG. 2, depicting a first light emitting device including organic light emitting layer 130r) comprises a first pixel electrode (Jeong 1 FIG. 2, first electrode 120, [0053]), the second light-emitting device (Jeong 1 FIG. 2, depicting a second light emitting device including organic light emitting layer 130g or 130b) comprises a second pixel electrode (Jeong 1 FIG. 2, first electrode 120, [0053]), and the third light-emitting device (Jeong 1 FIG. 2, depicting a second light emitting device including organic light emitting layer 130g or 130b) comprises a third pixel electrode (Jeong 1 FIG. 2, first electrode 120, [0053]), the display apparatus further comprises a pixel-defining layer (Jeong 1 FIG. 2, pixel defining layer 180, [0046]) covering edges of the first pixel electrode, the second pixel electrode, and the third pixel electrode (Jeong 1 FIG. 2, depicting wherein the pixel defining layer 180 covers the edges of each of the first electrodes 120), and has an opening portion that exposes a center portion of each of the first pixel electrode, the second pixel electrode, and the third pixel electrode (Jeong 1 FIG. 2, depicting wherein the pixel defining layer 180 includes opening portions that expose centers of each of the first electrodes 120).
Jeong 1 in view of Cho, Woo, Chen, and Rhe does not specifically disclose wherein the pixel-defining layer comprises a light-blocking material.
In the same field of endeavor, Choi discloses a display apparatus (FIG. 1, display device 100, [0037]), the display apparatus including a pixel-defining layer (FIG. 3, bank 125, [0065]), wherein the pixel-defining layer (FIG. 3, bank 125) comprising a light-blocking material ([0065]: “Further, the bank 125 can be formed of a black insulation resin having a high light absorbance . . . .”). Regarding the bank, in [0065], Choi states: “The bank 125 is formed to divide an emission area in which the light is emitted, in the sub pixels SP1, SP2, and SP3. For example, the bank 125 is formed between the emission areas of adjacent sub pixels SP1, SP2, and SP3 to define a non-emission area. The bank 125 can be formed of an insulating material which insulates anodes 131 of adjacent sub pixels SP1, SP2, and SP3 from each other. Further, the bank 125 can be formed of a black insulation resin having a high light absorbance to suppress color mixture between adjacent sub pixels SP1, SP2, and SP3.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display panel of Jeong 1 by substituting the light blocking bank material 125 of Choi in order to define the emission and non-emission areas, insulate the anodes from each other, and suppress color mixture between adjacent sub pixels. See Choi [0065].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM D WEILAND/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813