Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 11, 14-17, and 24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2025/0226899), herein referred to as “Xiong”, in view of Shim et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2025/0267667), herein referred to as “Shim.” The Xiong reference claims priority to, and has support from, provisional application 63/347480.
Regarding Claim 1,
Xiong discloses: A first network entity configured for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory comprising computer-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to cause the first network entity to:
[0113] FIG. 6 depicts a flowchart 6000 of an embodiment to measure and mitigate cross-link interference such as the embodiments described in conjunction with FIGS. 1A-1B, 2, 3A-3E, 4, and 5A-5E. At the beginning of the flowchart 6000, an aggressor UE from a first cell transmits a sounding reference signal (SRS) or other uplink channels/signals in a UL subband for dynamic TDD such as SBFD operation (element 6005). For example, CLI-logic circuitry of the aggressor UE may receive a DCI from a first base station of the first cell indicating a SRS configuration for transmission of the SRS on communication resources. In response to receipt of the DCI, the CLI-logic circuitry of the aggressor UE may transmit the SRS for CLI measurement and mitigation. In some embodiments, the UE may transmit the SRS during SBFD operation.
[0114] In some embodiments for SBFD with dynamic TDD operation, CLI logic circuitry of the first base station (or a second base station from a second cell) may share a CLI measurement and report configuration with nearby base stations and the CLI measurement and report configuration may include one or more of: [0115] intended DL and/or UL subband configuration within the SBFD symbols, which may include the identification of frequency resources of the communication resources that may be used for UL reception at a victim UE, [0116] overall communication resources including both UL and DL that may be identified via a signaling similar to indication of location and bandwidth (BW) configuration of a BWP. [0117] one or more guard bands and their locations in frequency resources, if any, within the SBFD symbols, and/or [0118] time domain locations for SBFD symbols.
and perform interference mitigation (IM) while receiving an UL transmission,
[0113] FIG. 6 depicts a flowchart 6000 of an embodiment to measure and mitigate cross-link interference such as the embodiments described in conjunction with FIGS. 1A-1B, 2, 3A-3E, 4, and 5A-5E. At the beginning of the flowchart 6000, an aggressor UE from a first cell transmits a sounding reference signal (SRS) or other uplink channels/signals in a UL subband for dynamic TDD such as SBFD operation (element 6005). For example, CLI-logic circuitry of the aggressor UE may receive a DCI from a first base station of the first cell indicating a SRS configuration for transmission of the SRS on communication resources. In response to receipt of the DCI, the CLI-logic circuitry of the aggressor UE may transmit the SRS for CLI measurement and mitigation. In some embodiments, the UE may transmit the SRS during SBFD operation.
[0114] In some embodiments for SBFD with dynamic TDD operation, CLI logic circuitry of the first base station (or a second base station from a second cell) may share a CLI measurement and report configuration with nearby base stations and the CLI measurement and report configuration may include one or more of: [0115] intended DL and/or UL subband configuration within the SBFD symbols, which may include the identification of frequency resources of the communication resources that may be used for UL reception at a victim UE, [0116] overall communication resources including both UL and DL that may be identified via a signaling similar to indication of location and bandwidth (BW) configuration of a BWP. [0117] one or more guard bands and their locations in frequency resources, if any, within the SBFD symbols, and/or [0118] time domain locations for SBFD symbols.
Xiong does not disclose receive, from a user equipment (UE) served by the first network entity, a subband configuration and based on the subband configuration indication.
However, Shim discloses: receive, from a user equipment (UE) served by the first network entity, a subband configuration.
[0011] In addition, a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system includes receiving subband non-overlapping full duplex (SBFD) configuration information from a terminal, the SBFD configuration information including uplink subband configuration information and receiving uplink control information in a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource, wherein the PUCCH resource is associated with an initial uplink bandwidth part (BWP) and an uplink subband according to the uplink subband configuration information.
Shim also discloses based on the subband configuration indication.
[0011] In addition, a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system includes receiving subband non-overlapping full duplex (SBFD) configuration information from a terminal, the SBFD configuration information including uplink subband configuration information and receiving uplink control information in a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource, wherein the PUCCH resource is associated with an initial uplink bandwidth part (BWP) and an uplink subband according to the uplink subband configuration information.
Xiong in view of Shim are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong to include the concept of receiving a subband configuration from the UE and perform interference mitigation based on the subband configuration as taught by Shim so as to improve speed and data carrying capacity within the communication network.
Regarding Claim 2,
Xiong discloses: The first network entity of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the network entity to perform the IM to mitigate cross link interference (CLI) while receiving the UL transmission.
[0113] FIG. 6 depicts a flowchart 6000 of an embodiment to measure and mitigate cross-link interference such as the embodiments described in conjunction with FIGS. 1A-1B, 2, 3A-3E, 4, and 5A-5E. At the beginning of the flowchart 6000, an aggressor UE from a first cell transmits a sounding reference signal (SRS) or other uplink channels/signals in a UL subband for dynamic TDD such as SBFD operation (element 6005). For example, CLI-logic circuitry of the aggressor UE may receive a DCI from a first base station of the first cell indicating a SRS configuration for transmission of the SRS on communication resources. In response to receipt of the DCI, the CLI-logic circuitry of the aggressor UE may transmit the SRS for CLI measurement and mitigation. In some embodiments, the UE may transmit the SRS during SBFD operation.
Regarding Claim 3,
Xiong discloses: The first network entity of claim 2, wherein the CLI comprises at least one of inter-subband CLI and intra-subband CLI.
[0121] In addition, the CLI measurement and report configuration can be used for inter-subband and/or intra-subband CLI handling, which may depend on the DL/UL subband configuration in a serving cell and between serving cell and neighboring cells. For example, a base station may configure a UE to measure CLI in a subband and the UE may not be aware that the measured CLI is for inter-subband CLI only, intra-subband CLI only or both.
Regarding Claim 4,
Xiong discloses: The first network entity of claim 2, wherein the CLI comprises at least one of inter-gNodeB (inter-gNB) CLI or inter-user equipment (inter-UE) CLI.
[0065] FIG. 1B depicts an embodiment of a dynamic TDD system 150 including base stations, gNBs 152 and 162, and user equipment 156 and 166 associated with gNBs 152 and 162 respectively, to illustrate cross-link interference 170 and 172, respectively such as the user equipment and base stations shown in FIG. 1A. In this example, because of the different transmission directions among neighboring gNB at a given time, two types of CLI can be observed under dynamic TDD operation: UE-to-UE interference 172 and gNB-to-gNB interference 170. For UE-to-UE interference 172, CLI arises when a UL transmission 164 from the UE 166 to a neighboring base station, the gNB 162, interferes with reception of the DL transmission 154 from a serving base station, the gNB 152, by the UE 156. Furthermore, for gNB-to-gNB interference 170, CLI is generated when a DL transmission 154 of a neighboring base station, the gNB 152, interferes with reception of the UL transmission 164 from the UE 166 by a serving base station, the gNB 164. In other words, the DL transmission 154 creates the gNB to gNB interference 170 (CLI) when energy from the DL transmission 154 is detected at the receiver antennas of the gNB 162 while the gNB 162 is attempting to receive the UL transmission 164. Similarly, the UL transmission 172 creates the UE-to-UE interference 172 (CLI) when energy from the UL transmission 164 is detected at the receiver antennas of the UE 156 while the UE 156 is attempting to receive the DL transmission 154
Regarding Claim 11,
Claim 11 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in claim 1.
Xiong discloses: A user equipment (UE) configured for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory comprising computer-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to cause the UE to:
[0113] FIG. 6 depicts a flowchart 6000 of an embodiment to measure and mitigate cross-link interference such as the embodiments described in conjunction with FIGS. 1A-1B, 2, 3A-3E, 4, and 5A-5E. At the beginning of the flowchart 6000, an aggressor UE from a first cell transmits a sounding reference signal (SRS) or other uplink channels/signals in a UL subband for dynamic TDD such as SBFD operation (element 6005). For example, CLI-logic circuitry of the aggressor UE may receive a DCI from a first base station of the first cell indicating a SRS configuration for transmission of the SRS on communication resources. In response to receipt of the DCI, the CLI-logic circuitry of the aggressor UE may transmit the SRS for CLI measurement and mitigation. In some embodiments, the UE may transmit the SRS during SBFD operation.
[0114] In some embodiments for SBFD with dynamic TDD operation, CLI logic circuitry of the first base station (or a second base station from a second cell) may share a CLI measurement and report configuration with nearby base stations and the CLI measurement and report configuration may include one or more of: [0115] intended DL and/or UL subband configuration within the SBFD symbols, which may include the identification of frequency resources of the communication resources that may be used for UL reception at a victim UE, [0116] overall communication resources including both UL and DL that may be identified via a signaling similar to indication of location and bandwidth (BW) configuration of a BWP. [0117] one or more guard bands and their locations in frequency resources, if any, within the SBFD symbols, and/or [0118] time domain locations for SBFD symbols.
and transmit the subband configuration to a first network entity serving the UE.
[0113] FIG. 6 depicts a flowchart 6000 of an embodiment to measure and mitigate cross-link interference such as the embodiments described in conjunction with FIGS. 1A-1B, 2, 3A-3E, 4, and 5A-5E. At the beginning of the flowchart 6000, an aggressor UE from a first cell transmits a sounding reference signal (SRS) or other uplink channels/signals in a UL subband for dynamic TDD such as SBFD operation (element 6005). For example, CLI-logic circuitry of the aggressor UE may receive a DCI from a first base station of the first cell indicating a SRS configuration for transmission of the SRS on communication resources. In response to receipt of the DCI, the CLI-logic circuitry of the aggressor UE may transmit the SRS for CLI measurement and mitigation. In some embodiments, the UE may transmit the SRS during SBFD operation.
[0114] In some embodiments for SBFD with dynamic TDD operation, CLI logic circuitry of the first base station (or a second base station from a second cell) may share a CLI measurement and report configuration with nearby base stations and the CLI measurement and report configuration may include one or more of: [0115] intended DL and/or UL subband configuration within the SBFD symbols, which may include the identification of frequency resources of the communication resources that may be used for UL reception at a victim UE, [0116] overall communication resources including both UL and DL that may be identified via a signaling similar to indication of location and bandwidth (BW) configuration of a BWP. [0117] one or more guard bands and their locations in frequency resources, if any, within the SBFD symbols, and/or [0118] time domain locations for SBFD symbols.
Xiong does not disclose receiving a subband configuration.
However, Shim discloses: receiving a subband configuration.
[0011] In addition, a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system includes receiving subband non-overlapping full duplex (SBFD) configuration information from a terminal, the SBFD configuration information including uplink subband configuration information and receiving uplink control information in a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource, wherein the PUCCH resource is associated with an initial uplink bandwidth part (BWP) and an uplink subband according to the uplink subband configuration information.
Shim also discloses transmitting the subband configuration.
[0011] In addition, a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system includes receiving subband non-overlapping full duplex (SBFD) configuration information from a terminal, the SBFD configuration information including uplink subband configuration information and receiving uplink control information in a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource, wherein the PUCCH resource is associated with an initial uplink bandwidth part (BWP) and an uplink subband according to the uplink subband configuration information.
Xiong in view of Shim are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong to include the concept of receiving a subband configuration from the UE and perform interference mitigation based on the subband configuration as taught by Shim so as to improve speed and data carrying capacity within the communication network.
Regarding Claim 14,
Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in claim 1.
Xiong discloses: A method for wireless communications by a first network entity, comprising:
[0113] FIG. 6 depicts a flowchart 6000 of an embodiment to measure and mitigate cross-link interference such as the embodiments described in conjunction with FIGS. 1A-1B, 2, 3A-3E, 4, and 5A-5E. At the beginning of the flowchart 6000, an aggressor UE from a first cell transmits a sounding reference signal (SRS) or other uplink channels/signals in a UL subband for dynamic TDD such as SBFD operation (element 6005). For example, CLI-logic circuitry of the aggressor UE may receive a DCI from a first base station of the first cell indicating a SRS configuration for transmission of the SRS on communication resources. In response to receipt of the DCI, the CLI-logic circuitry of the aggressor UE may transmit the SRS for CLI measurement and mitigation. In some embodiments, the UE may transmit the SRS during SBFD operation.
[0114] In some embodiments for SBFD with dynamic TDD operation, CLI logic circuitry of the first base station (or a second base station from a second cell) may share a CLI measurement and report configuration with nearby base stations and the CLI measurement and report configuration may include one or more of: [0115] intended DL and/or UL subband configuration within the SBFD symbols, which may include the identification of frequency resources of the communication resources that may be used for UL reception at a victim UE, [0116] overall communication resources including both UL and DL that may be identified via a signaling similar to indication of location and bandwidth (BW) configuration of a BWP. [0117] one or more guard bands and their locations in frequency resources, if any, within the SBFD symbols, and/or [0118] time domain locations for SBFD symbols.
and performing interference mitigation (IM) while receiving an UL transmission,
[0113] FIG. 6 depicts a flowchart 6000 of an embodiment to measure and mitigate cross-link interference such as the embodiments described in conjunction with FIGS. 1A-1B, 2, 3A-3E, 4, and 5A-5E. At the beginning of the flowchart 6000, an aggressor UE from a first cell transmits a sounding reference signal (SRS) or other uplink channels/signals in a UL subband for dynamic TDD such as SBFD operation (element 6005). For example, CLI-logic circuitry of the aggressor UE may receive a DCI from a first base station of the first cell indicating a SRS configuration for transmission of the SRS on communication resources. In response to receipt of the DCI, the CLI-logic circuitry of the aggressor UE may transmit the SRS for CLI measurement and mitigation. In some embodiments, the UE may transmit the SRS during SBFD operation.
[0114] In some embodiments for SBFD with dynamic TDD operation, CLI logic circuitry of the first base station (or a second base station from a second cell) may share a CLI measurement and report configuration with nearby base stations and the CLI measurement and report configuration may include one or more of: [0115] intended DL and/or UL subband configuration within the SBFD symbols, which may include the identification of frequency resources of the communication resources that may be used for UL reception at a victim UE, [0116] overall communication resources including both UL and DL that may be identified via a signaling similar to indication of location and bandwidth (BW) configuration of a BWP. [0117] one or more guard bands and their locations in frequency resources, if any, within the SBFD symbols, and/or [0118] time domain locations for SBFD symbols.
Xiong does not disclose receiving, from a user equipment (UE) served by the first network entity, a subband configuration and based on the subband configuration indication.
However, Shim discloses: receiving, from a user equipment (UE) served by the first network entity, a subband configuration.
[0011] In addition, a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system includes receiving subband non-overlapping full duplex (SBFD) configuration information from a terminal, the SBFD configuration information including uplink subband configuration information and receiving uplink control information in a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource, wherein the PUCCH resource is associated with an initial uplink bandwidth part (BWP) and an uplink subband according to the uplink subband configuration information.
Shim also discloses based on the subband configuration indication.
[0011] In addition, a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system includes receiving subband non-overlapping full duplex (SBFD) configuration information from a terminal, the SBFD configuration information including uplink subband configuration information and receiving uplink control information in a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource, wherein the PUCCH resource is associated with an initial uplink bandwidth part (BWP) and an uplink subband according to the uplink subband configuration information.
Xiong in view of Shim are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong to include the concept of receiving a subband configuration from the UE and perform interference mitigation based on the subband configuration as taught by Shim so as to improve speed and data carrying capacity within the communication network.
Regarding Claim 15,
Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in claim 2.
Regarding Claim 16,
Claim 16 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in claim 3.
Regarding Claim 17,
Claim 17 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in claim 4.
Regarding Claim 24,
Claim 24 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in claim 1.
Xiong discloses: A method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
[0113] FIG. 6 depicts a flowchart 6000 of an embodiment to measure and mitigate cross-link interference such as the embodiments described in conjunction with FIGS. 1A-1B, 2, 3A-3E, 4, and 5A-5E. At the beginning of the flowchart 6000, an aggressor UE from a first cell transmits a sounding reference signal (SRS) or other uplink channels/signals in a UL subband for dynamic TDD such as SBFD operation (element 6005). For example, CLI-logic circuitry of the aggressor UE may receive a DCI from a first base station of the first cell indicating a SRS configuration for transmission of the SRS on communication resources. In response to receipt of the DCI, the CLI-logic circuitry of the aggressor UE may transmit the SRS for CLI measurement and mitigation. In some embodiments, the UE may transmit the SRS during SBFD operation.
[0114] In some embodiments for SBFD with dynamic TDD operation, CLI logic circuitry of the first base station (or a second base station from a second cell) may share a CLI measurement and report configuration with nearby base stations and the CLI measurement and report configuration may include one or more of: [0115] intended DL and/or UL subband configuration within the SBFD symbols, which may include the identification of frequency resources of the communication resources that may be used for UL reception at a victim UE, [0116] overall communication resources including both UL and DL that may be identified via a signaling similar to indication of location and bandwidth (BW) configuration of a BWP. [0117] one or more guard bands and their locations in frequency resources, if any, within the SBFD symbols, and/or [0118] time domain locations for SBFD symbols.
and transmitting
[0113] FIG. 6 depicts a flowchart 6000 of an embodiment to measure and mitigate cross-link interference such as the embodiments described in conjunction with FIGS. 1A-1B, 2, 3A-3E, 4, and 5A-5E. At the beginning of the flowchart 6000, an aggressor UE from a first cell transmits a sounding reference signal (SRS) or other uplink channels/signals in a UL subband for dynamic TDD such as SBFD operation (element 6005). For example, CLI-logic circuitry of the aggressor UE may receive a DCI from a first base station of the first cell indicating a SRS configuration for transmission of the SRS on communication resources. In response to receipt of the DCI, the CLI-logic circuitry of the aggressor UE may transmit the SRS for CLI measurement and mitigation. In some embodiments, the UE may transmit the SRS during SBFD operation.
[0114] In some embodiments for SBFD with dynamic TDD operation, CLI logic circuitry of the first base station (or a second base station from a second cell) may share a CLI measurement and report configuration with nearby base stations and the CLI measurement and report configuration may include one or more of: [0115] intended DL and/or UL subband configuration within the SBFD symbols, which may include the identification of frequency resources of the communication resources that may be used for UL reception at a victim UE, [0116] overall communication resources including both UL and DL that may be identified via a signaling similar to indication of location and bandwidth (BW) configuration of a BWP. [0117] one or more guard bands and their locations in frequency resources, if any, within the SBFD symbols, and/or [0118] time domain locations for SBFD symbols.
Xiong does not disclose receiving a subband configuration.
However, Shim discloses: receiving a subband configuration.
[0011] In addition, a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system includes receiving subband non-overlapping full duplex (SBFD) configuration information from a terminal, the SBFD configuration information including uplink subband configuration information and receiving uplink control information in a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource, wherein the PUCCH resource is associated with an initial uplink bandwidth part (BWP) and an uplink subband according to the uplink subband configuration information.
Shim also discloses transmitting the subband configuration.
[0011] In addition, a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system includes receiving subband non-overlapping full duplex (SBFD) configuration information from a terminal, the SBFD configuration information including uplink subband configuration information and receiving uplink control information in a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource, wherein the PUCCH resource is associated with an initial uplink bandwidth part (BWP) and an uplink subband according to the uplink subband configuration information.
Xiong in view of Shim are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong to include the concept of receiving a subband configuration from the UE and perform interference mitigation based on the subband configuration as taught by Shim so as to improve speed and data carrying capacity within the communication network.
Claims 5-8, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong in view of Shim, held further in view of Abdelghaffar et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2023/0354326), herein referred to as “Abdelghaffar”.
Regarding Claim 5,
Xiong in view of Shim does not explicitly disclose all of the limitations of claim 5.
However, Abdelghaffar discloses: The first network entity of claim 1, wherein:
the network entity comprises a distributed unit (DU)
[0004] In some examples, a wireless multiple-access communication system may include a number of base stations (BSs), which are each capable of simultaneously supporting communication for multiple communication devices, otherwise known as user equipments (UEs). In other examples (e.g., in a next generation, a new radio (NR), or 5G network), a wireless multiple access communication system may include a number of distributed units (DUs) (e.g., edge units (EUs), edge nodes (ENs), radio heads (RHs), smart radio heads (SRHs), transmission reception points (TRPs), etc.) in communication with a number of central units (CUs) (e.g., central nodes (CNs), access node controllers (ANCs), etc.), where a set of one or more DUs, in communication with a CU, may define an access node (e.g., which may be referred to as a BS, next generation NodeB (gNB or gNodeB), TRP, etc.). A BS or DU may communicate with a set of UEs on downlink channels (e.g., for transmissions from a BS or DU to a UE) and uplink channels (e.g., for transmissions from a UE to a BS or DU).
[0048] As illustrated in FIG. 1, the wireless communication network 100 may include a number of base stations (BSs) 110 and other network entities. A BS may be a station that communicates with user equipments (UEs). Each BS 110 may provide communication coverage for a particular geographic area. In 3GPP, the term “cell” can refer to a coverage area of a Node B (NB) and/or a NB subsystem serving this coverage area, depending on the context in which the term is used. In NR systems, the term “cell” and BS, next generation NodeB (gNB or gNodeB), access point (AP), distributed unit (DU), carrier, or transmission reception point (TRP) may be used interchangeably.
the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first network entity to receive the subband from the CU; and the second network entity comprises another DU associated with the CU.
[0004] In some examples, a wireless multiple-access communication system may include a number of base stations (BSs), which are each capable of simultaneously supporting communication for multiple communication devices, otherwise known as user equipments (UEs). In other examples (e.g., in a next generation, a new radio (NR), or 5G network), a wireless multiple access communication system may include a number of distributed units (DUs) (e.g., edge units (EUs), edge nodes (ENs), radio heads (RHs), smart radio heads (SRHs), transmission reception points (TRPs), etc.) in communication with a number of central units (CUs) (e.g., central nodes (CNs), access node controllers (ANCs), etc.), where a set of one or more DUs, in communication with a CU, may define an access node (e.g., which may be referred to as a BS, next generation NodeB (gNB or gNodeB), TRP, etc.). A BS or DU may communicate with a set of UEs on downlink channels (e.g., for transmissions from a BS or DU to a UE) and uplink channels (e.g., for transmissions from a UE to a BS or DU).
[0048] As illustrated in FIG. 1, the wireless communication network 100 may include a number of base stations (BSs) 110 and other network entities. A BS may be a station that communicates with user equipments (UEs). Each BS 110 may provide communication coverage for a particular geographic area. In 3GPP, the term “cell” can refer to a coverage area of a Node B (NB) and/or a NB subsystem serving this coverage area, depending on the context in which the term is used. In NR systems, the term “cell” and BS, next generation NodeB (gNB or gNodeB), access point (AP), distributed unit (DU), carrier, or transmission reception point (TRP) may be used interchangeably.
[0073] Sub-band full duplex (SBFD) (also referred to as flexible duplex), which is shown in FIG. 5B, is another type of FD operation in which devices can transmit and receive at the same time but on different frequency resources. As shown in FIG. 5B, the DL resource may be separated from the UL resource in the frequency domain by a guard band. This mode of operations reduces the self-interference cancellation requirements on the FD device since the leakage is lower.
Xiong in view of Shim and Abdelghaffar are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong in view of Shim to include the concept of a base station with a CU and multiple DUs as taught by Abdelghaffar so as to improve speed and data carrying capacity within the communication network.
Regarding Claim 6,
Xiong in view of Shim does not explicitly disclose all of the limitations of claim 6.
However, Abdelghaffar discloses: The first network entity of claim 1, wherein:
the first network entity comprises a first distributed unit (DU) associated with a first central unit (CU); the second network entity comprises a second DU associated with a second CU; and the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first network entity to receive the subband configuration from the second CU via the first CU.
[0004] In some examples, a wireless multiple-access communication system may include a number of base stations (BSs), which are each capable of simultaneously supporting communication for multiple communication devices, otherwise known as user equipments (UEs). In other examples (e.g., in a next generation, a new radio (NR), or 5G network), a wireless multiple access communication system may include a number of distributed units (DUs) (e.g., edge units (EUs), edge nodes (ENs), radio heads (RHs), smart radio heads (SRHs), transmission reception points (TRPs), etc.) in communication with a number of central units (CUs) (e.g., central nodes (CNs), access node controllers (ANCs), etc.), where a set of one or more DUs, in communication with a CU, may define an access node (e.g., which may be referred to as a BS, next generation NodeB (gNB or gNodeB), TRP, etc.). A BS or DU may communicate with a set of UEs on downlink channels (e.g., for transmissions from a BS or DU to a UE) and uplink channels (e.g., for transmissions from a UE to a BS or DU).
[0048] As illustrated in FIG. 1, the wireless communication network 100 may include a number of base stations (BSs) 110 and other network entities. A BS may be a station that communicates with user equipments (UEs). Each BS 110 may provide communication coverage for a particular geographic area. In 3GPP, the term “cell” can refer to a coverage area of a Node B (NB) and/or a NB subsystem serving this coverage area, depending on the context in which the term is used. In NR systems, the term “cell” and BS, next generation NodeB (gNB or gNodeB), access point (AP), distributed unit (DU), carrier, or transmission reception point (TRP) may be used interchangeably.
[0073] Sub-band full duplex (SBFD) (also referred to as flexible duplex), which is shown in FIG. 5B, is another type of FD operation in which devices can transmit and receive at the same time but on different frequency resources. As shown in FIG. 5B, the DL resource may be separated from the UL resource in the frequency domain by a guard band. This mode of operations reduces the self-interference cancellation requirements on the FD device since the leakage is lower.
Xiong in view of Shim and Abdelghaffar are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong in view of Shim to include the concept of having two base stations with their own CU and DU as taught by Abdelghaffar so as to improve speed and data carrying capacity within the communication network.
Regarding Claim 7,
Xiong does not explicitly disclose all of the limitations of claim 7.
However, in view of Shim Abdelghaffar discloses: The first network entity of claim 1, wherein: the first network entity comprises a first distributed unit (DU); the cell is operated the second network entity comprises a second DU; and the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first network entity to receive the subband configuration via an over-the-air (OTA) signal directed to the first network entity.
[0004] In some examples, a wireless multiple-access communication system may include a number of base stations (BSs), which are each capable of simultaneously supporting communication for multiple communication devices, otherwise known as user equipments (UEs). In other examples (e.g., in a next generation, a new radio (NR), or 5G network), a wireless multiple access communication system may include a number of distributed units (DUs) (e.g., edge units (EUs), edge nodes (ENs), radio heads (RHs), smart radio heads (SRHs), transmission reception points (TRPs), etc.) in communication with a number of central units (CUs) (e.g., central nodes (CNs), access node controllers (ANCs), etc.), where a set of one or more DUs, in communication with a CU, may define an access node (e.g., which may be referred to as a BS, next generation NodeB (gNB or gNodeB), TRP, etc.). A BS or DU may communicate with a set of UEs on downlink channels (e.g., for transmissions from a BS or DU to a UE) and uplink channels (e.g., for transmissions from a UE to a BS or DU).
[0048] As illustrated in FIG. 1, the wireless communication network 100 may include a number of base stations (BSs) 110 and other network entities. A BS may be a station that communicates with user equipments (UEs). Each BS 110 may provide communication coverage for a particular geographic area. In 3GPP, the term “cell” can refer to a coverage area of a Node B (NB) and/or a NB subsystem serving this coverage area, depending on the context in which the term is used. In NR systems, the term “cell” and BS, next generation NodeB (gNB or gNodeB), access point (AP), distributed unit (DU), carrier, or transmission reception point (TRP) may be used interchangeably.
[0073] Sub-band full duplex (SBFD) (also referred to as flexible duplex), which is shown in FIG. 5B, is another type of FD operation in which devices can transmit and receive at the same time but on different frequency resources. As shown in FIG. 5B, the DL resource may be separated from the UL resource in the frequency domain by a guard band. This mode of operations reduces the self-interference cancellation requirements on the FD device since the leakage is lower.
Xiong in view of Shim and Abdelghaffar are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong in view of Shim to include the concept of having two base stations with their own DU where the first network entity received the subband configuration over the air as taught by Abdelghaffar so as to improve speed and data carrying capacity within the communication network.
Regarding Claim 8,
Xiong in view of Shim does not explicitly disclose all of the limitations of claim 8.
However, Abdelghaffar discloses: The network entity of claim 1, wherein:
the network entity comprises a first distributed unit (DU); and the second network entity comprises a second DU.
[0004] In some examples, a wireless multiple-access communication system may include a number of base stations (BSs), which are each capable of simultaneously supporting communication for multiple communication devices, otherwise known as user equipments (UEs). In other examples (e.g., in a next generation, a new radio (NR), or 5G network), a wireless multiple access communication system may include a number of distributed units (DUs) (e.g., edge units (EUs), edge nodes (ENs), radio heads (RHs), smart radio heads (SRHs), transmission reception points (TRPs), etc.) in communication with a number of central units (CUs) (e.g., central nodes (CNs), access node controllers (ANCs), etc.), where a set of one or more DUs, in communication with a CU, may define an access node (e.g., which may be referred to as a BS, next generation NodeB (gNB or gNodeB), TRP, etc.). A BS or DU may communicate with a set of UEs on downlink channels (e.g., for transmissions from a BS or DU to a UE) and uplink channels (e.g., for transmissions from a UE to a BS or DU).
[0048] As illustrated in FIG. 1, the wireless communication network 100 may include a number of base stations (BSs) 110 and other network entities. A BS may be a station that communicates with user equipments (UEs). Each BS 110 may provide communication coverage for a particular geographic area. In 3GPP, the term “cell” can refer to a coverage area of a Node B (NB) and/or a NB subsystem serving this coverage area, depending on the context in which the term is used. In NR systems, the term “cell” and BS, next generation NodeB (gNB or gNodeB), access point (AP), distributed unit (DU), carrier, or transmission reception point (TRP) may be used interchangeably.
[0073] Sub-band full duplex (SBFD) (also referred to as flexible duplex), which is shown in FIG. 5B, is another type of FD operation in which devices can transmit and receive at the same time but on different frequency resources. As shown in FIG. 5B, the DL resource may be separated from the UL resource in the frequency domain by a guard band. This mode of operations reduces the self-interference cancellation requirements on the FD device since the leakage is lower.
Xiong in view of Shim and Abdelghaffar are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong in view of Shim to include the concept of having multiple DUs as taught by Abdelghaffar so as to improve speed and data carrying capacity within the communication network.
Regarding Claim 18,
Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in claim 5.
Regarding Claim 19,
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in claim 6.
Regarding Claim 20,
Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in claim 7.
Regarding Claim 21,
Claim 21 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in claim 8.
Claims 9, 12, 22, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong in view of Shim and Abdelghaffar, held further in view of Yoshimura and Yin (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2024/0064717), herein referred to as “Yoshimura”.
Regarding Claim 9,
Xiong in view of Shim and Abdelghaffar does not explicitly disclose wherein the subband configuration is based on a system information block (SIB) received by the UE.
However, Yoshimura discloses: The first network entity of claim 8, wherein the subband configuration is based on a system information block (SIB) received by the UE.
[0075] As illustrated in FIG. 8A, the base station transceiver circuitry 36 may be a transmission and reception point (TRP). The transmission and reception point (TRP) 36 may further comprise transmitter circuitry and receiver circuitry.
[0076] The base station processors 34 may comprise frame/message handler/generator 40 which prepares and generates information including user data and messages, e.g., signaling, for transmission over the radio interface 32, as which also processes information received over the radio interface 32. The base station processors 34 may also comprise system information block, SIB, generator 42 which serves to generate or at least store system information which is broadcast over the radio interface 32. The base station processors 34 may also comprise SBFD configuration memory 44, which stores the configuration of the Sub-Band Full Duplex, SBFD, region. In some example embodiments and modes or scenarios, the SBFD configuration information may be included in the system information generated by system information block, SIB, generator 42.
Xiong in view of Shim, Abdelghaffar, and Yoshimura are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong in view of Shim and Abdelghaffar to include the concept of a subband configuration based on a SIB as taught by Yoshimura so as to improve speed and data carrying capacity within the communication network.
Regarding Claim 12,
Claim 12 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in claim 9.
Regarding Claim 22,
Claim 22 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in claim 9.
Regarding Claim 25,
Claim 25 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in claim 9.
Claims 10 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong in view of Shim and Abdelghaffar, held further in view of Shim et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2023/0300755), herein referred to as “Shim II”.
Regarding Claim 10,
Xiong in view of Shim and Abdelghaffar does not explicitly disclose negotiate with the second network entity regarding a SBFD configuration for the first network entity.
However, Shim II discloses: The first network entity of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the first network entity to negotiate with the second network entity regarding a SBFD configuration for the first network entity.
[0106] FIG. 10 explains links and relationships between IAB nodes.
[0107] Referring to FIG. 10, IAB node 1 is connected to IAB node 2 through a backhaul link A. For the backhaul link A, the IAB node 1 is the parent node of the IAB node 2, and the IAB node 2 is a child node of the IAB node 1. In addition, the IAB node 2 is connected to the IAB node 3 through a backhaul link B, and the IAB node 2 is a parent node of the IAB node 3 and the IAB node 3 is a child node of the IAB node 2 for the backhaul link B.
[0108] Here, each of the IAB nodes may perform two functions. One is Mobile Termination (MT), which maintains a wireless backhaul connection to an upper IAB node or donor node. And, the other is a DU (distributed unit), which provides access connection with UEs or connection with the MT of a lower IAB node.
[0153] For example, in a situation of MT-transmission and DU-reception, an SI received by the IAB node DU may be measured in the same manner as a method of measuring sounding reference signal (SRS)-RSRP or same link interference (SLI)-received signal strength indicator (RSSI) at cross link interference (CLI). In addition, since the IAB node is a single node, information may be smoothly exchanged between the MT and the DU. Therefore, the IAB node MT may measure the SI measured in the same or similar manner as a method of measuring SRS-RSRP or SLI-RSSI of CLI by the IAB node DU. Methods proposed hereinafter may be used when the IAB node MT is able to know the SI measured by the IAB node DU.
[0161] Alternatively, even if the transmission frequency band at which the full-duplex is performed, the transmission frequency band may be adjacent to the reception frequency band. For example, methods proposed through the present specification may be applied to a BS which uses a sub-band full duplex (SBFD)-based resource configuration and a single frequency full duplex (SFFD)-based resource configuration.
Xiong in view of Shim, Abdelghaffar, and Shim II are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong in view of Shim and Abdelghaffar to include the concept of negotiating with different network entities regarding a SBFD configuration as taught by Shim II so as to improve speed and data carrying capacity within the communication network.
Regarding Claim 23,
Claim 23 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in claim 10.
Claims 13 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong in view of Shim, held further in view of Liu et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2024/0349264), herein referred to as “Liu”.
Regarding Claim 13,
Xiong in view of Shim does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 13.
However, Liu discloses: The UE of claim 11, wherein the first network entity is associated with a cell operating with SBFD communications; the one or more processors configured to cause the UE to determine to transmit the subband configuration based on a comparison of the subband configuration with another subband configuration for the cell serving the UE; and the other subband configuration includes at least one of other time or other frequency locations of at least one of another DL subband or another UL subband.
[0101] In the communication system, SBFD is performed for at least one of the plurality of network devices. To be specific, there may be two scenarios. In a first scenario, SBFD is performed for all network devices. For example, SBFD is performed for both the network device 1 and the network device 2 in FIG. 4. In a second scenario, SBFD is performed for some network devices, and legacy TDD is performed for some network devices. For example, in FIG. 4, SBFD is performed for the network device 1, and legacy TDD is performed for the network device 2. A network device for which an SBFD slot configuration is used may be referred to as an SBFD network device, and a cell for which an SBFD slot configuration is used may be referred to as an SBFD cell. In addition, there may be a third scenario, which is referred to as a different-configuration scenario in this application. In the different-configuration scenario, the SBFD system is used, and a quantity of uplink transmission resources may be increased by increasing a quantity of resources occupied by an uplink in FIG. 1, to reduce an uplink delay and enhance uplink coverage (which may be referred to as new (New) TDD). A downlink transmission resource may correspond to a time-frequency resource whose slot format is configured as “downlink” on one CC, and the uplink transmission resource may correspond to a time-frequency resource whose slot format is configured as “uplink” on one CC. When a legacy TDD slot configuration is used for a cell and a new TDD slot configuration is used for a cell, there is a difference between slot configurations used for the two cells. Such a scenario is referred to as a different-configuration scenario.
Xiong in view of Shim and Liu are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong in view of Shim to include the concept of transmitting the indication based on a comparison of the configuration with another configuration for the cell serving the UE as taught by Liu so as to improve speed and data carrying capacity within the communication network.
Regarding Claim 26,
Claim 26 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in claim 13.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response filed on May 26, 2026 is acknowledged.
There are no new claims and there are no amended claims.
The following claims have been canceled: 18-20.
Claims 1-17, and 21-26 are pending.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 11, 14, and 24 have been fully considered but are unpersuasive.
Here, Applicant takes issue with the secondary Shim reference. First, Applicant contends that Shim does not disclose a SBFD configuration of a UL or DL subband for a cell associated with a second network entity. Id. at 8. Shim is being used in combination with Xiong to demonstrate the receiving the configuration by a network entity, and, when used in combination with Xiong, this art reads on the limitations as claimed. Applicant also states that the Shim reference is “inherently UE specific”, but this is exactly what the claim language requires (“receive, from a user equipment”). Id. at 8. As stated, when used in combination, the references read on the claims.
Further, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, which is occurring here, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSE P. SAMLUK/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411