Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The rejections under 35 USC 112 have been overcome by the amendments and are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 6-11, filed December 29, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 2, 4-10, 12-16, and 18-20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lilin (KR 20180033800 A), Choi (US 2022/0336809 A1), Neubert ("The Structure and Properties of Artificial and Natural Graphite," ANL-5524, February 1956), Wachtler et al. (“Carbon and Graphite for Electrochemical Power Sources”, in Industrial Carbon and Graphite Materials, Volume I: Raw Materials, Production and Applications, ISBN:9783527674046, April 2021), and Davis (“Granulation of ultra-fine powders: Examination of granule microstructure, consolidation behavior, and powder feeding”, Doctoral Thesis, Purdue University, December 2015).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 8, 12-15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lilin et al. (KR 20180033800 A; all citations refer English translation attached to the office action mailed September 23, 2025) in view of Choi (US 2022/0336809 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lilin discloses an anode for a secondary battery comprising a first anode active material comprising artificial graphite particles (second negative electrode active material) and second anode active material particles comprising an assembly of artificial graphite sub-particles (first negative electrode active material) mixed in an anode active material layer (anode composite layer) (Lilin [0005] and [0022]-[0023]).
The first anode active materials have a particle size of 10-16 µm (Lilin [0023]), which is close to the range of the instant claim. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties (or results). See MPEP 2144.05 I, citing, e.g., Titanium Metals Co. of Am. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985); Accord, In re Kirsch, Barnby, and Potts, 182 USPQ 286, 290 (CCPA 1974) (finding that prior art teachings lying slightly outside of a claimed range nevertheless negate non-obviousness, especially in the absence of any criticality statements regarding the claimed range). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select a particle size close the range disclosed by Lilin, including values within the range of the instant claim.
Lilin does not teach that the first anode active material particles include a coating layer formed on a core particle. Choi teaches that providing a coating layer on such artificial graphite core particles improves charge/discharge performance (Choi [0042]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide the coating layer of Choi on the artificial graphite particles of Lilin in order to improve charge/discharge performance.
Regarding claim 4, modified Lilin teaches that the coating may contain amorphous carbon (Choi [0043]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select amorphous carbon, since it is the only form mentioned by Choi.
Regarding claim 5, modified Lilin teaches that the coating is made from pitch (Choi [0071]).
Regarding claim 8, the carbon coating layer has a thickness of approximately 50 nm (Choi [0071]), so the diameter of the core particle will be essentially the same as the diameter of the coated particles, which falls within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 12, the uncoated particles have a larger diameter than the coated particles (Lilin [0023]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Lilin teaches that the uncoated particles should have an average diameter of 16-32 µm (Lilin [0022]), which overlaps the range of the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 14, modified Lilin teaches that the hardness of the coated particles is greater than that of the uncoated particles (Choi [0029]).
Regarding claim 15, Lilin discloses an anode for a secondary battery comprising a first anode active material comprising artificial graphite particles (second negative electrode active material) and second anode active material particles comprising an assembly of artificial graphite sub-particles (first negative electrode active material) mixed in an anode active material layer (anode composite layer) (Lilin [0005] and [0022]-[0023]).
The first anode active materials have a particle size of 10-16 µm (Lilin [0023]), which is close to the range of the instant claim. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties (or results). See MPEP 2144.05 I, citing, e.g., Titanium Metals Co. of Am. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985); Accord, In re Kirsch, Barnby, and Potts, 182 USPQ 286, 290 (CCPA 1974) (finding that prior art teachings lying slightly outside of a claimed range nevertheless negate non-obviousness, especially in the absence of any criticality statements regarding the claimed range). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select a particle size close the range disclosed by Lilin, including values within the range of the instant claim.
Lilin does not teach that the first anode active material particles include a coating layer formed on a core particle. Choi teaches that providing a coating layer on such artificial graphite core particles improves charge/discharge performance (Choi [0042]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide the coating layer of Choi on the artificial graphite particles of Lilin in order to improve charge/discharge performance.
Lilin teaches that anode should be included in a battery comprising a positive electrode (Lilin [0002]), and that the positive electrode material preferably includes a lithium metal oxide (Lilin [0030]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select a lithium metal oxide, since Lilin teaches that is preferred.
Regarding claim 18, modified Lilin teaches that the coating may contain amorphous carbon (Choi [0043]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select amorphous carbon, since it is the only form mentioned by Choi.
Regarding claim 19, modified Lilin teaches that the coating is made from pitch (Choi [0071]).
Regarding claim 20, the uncoated particles have a larger diameter than the coated particles (Lilin [0023]).
Claim(s) 2, 10, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lilin in view of Choi as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, as evidenced by Neubert et al. ("The Structure and Properties of Artificial and Natural Graphite," ANL-5524, February 1956).
Regarding claims 2, 10, and 16, modified Lilin does not teach that the particles comprise amorphous carbon. Neubert teaches that artificial graphite is formed by firing amorphous carbon (Neubert 2. THE GENERAL NATURE OF GRAPHITE) and that ungraphitized material remains in the product (Neubert 4. THE GENERAL NATURE OF ARTIFICIAL GRAPHITE). The artificial graphite particles of modified Lilin therefore necessarily include amorphous carbon.
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lilin in view of Choi as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Wachtler et al. (“Carbon and Graphite for Electrochemical Power Sources”, in Industrial Carbon and Graphite Materials, Volume I: Raw Materials, Production and Applications, ISBN:9783527674046, April 2021) and Davis (“Granulation of ultra-fine powders: Examination of granule microstructure, consolidation behavior, and powder feeding”, Doctoral Thesis, Purdue University, December 2015).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, modified Lilin does not teach any particular particle size of pitch to form the coating. Wachtler teaches that such coatings are typically made with ultra-fine pitch (Wachtler 7.4.3.3 Natural Graphite, last paragraph, p. 411). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use any conventional method to form the coating, including using ultra-fine pitch.
Davis teaches that ultra-fine powders are sized between 0.1-10 µm (Davis Abstract), which overlaps the ranges of the instant claims. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
/J.A.C/ Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/NIKI BAKHTIARI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1722