DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 and 21-30 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 3, 10, 21, 23, and 30 are amended.
Claims 11-20 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 112 first paragraph applicant’s arguments, see page 7 paragraph 4, filed January 7, 2026, with respect to claims 1-10 and 21-30 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112 of claims 1-10 and 21-30 have been withdrawn.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 112 second paragraph applicant’s arguments, see page 8 paragraph 4, filed January 7, 2026, with respect to claims 1-10 and 21-30 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the 112 rejection has been withdrawn.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 applicant’s arguments, see page 10 - page 14, filed January 7, 2026, with respect to claims 1-5, 7, 9-10 and 21-25, 27 and 29-30 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9-10 and 21-25, 27 and 29-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Hence a new ground of rejection is further made in view of Freda et al. (US Pub. No.:2019/0320467). A second new ground of rejection is also presented in view of Dinan et al. (US Pub. No.:2018/0279376).
Notice re prior art available under both pre-AIA and AIA
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-10, 21-25, 27 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021/0329703), and further in view of Freda et al. (US Pub. No.:2019/0320467).
As per claim 1, Yang disclose A User Equipment (UE) for wireless communications (see Fig.16, a first wireless device 100), the UE comprising:
a transmitter (see Fig.16, one or more transceiver 106) configured to transmit, as part of a 2-step random access procedure (see Fig.13, para. 0111, 0112, Fig 13 illustrates a 2-step RACH procedure), a signature sequence in a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) occasion (see Fig.1, Fig.13, para. 0039, the UE performs a random access procedure to access the BS in steps S103 to S106 the UE transmit a random access request message (e.g., MsgA) to the BS, 1) MsgA (PRACH): MsgA is transmitted from the UE to the BS. MsgA is distinguished with a time/frequency resource (RACH occasion (RO)), on which a random access (RA) preamble {a signature sequence} is transmitted, and an RA preamble index (RAPID). MsgA transmission includes random access preamble (RAP) transmission (S1302) and PUSCH transmission (S1304). For random access, the UE transmits a preamble {a signature sequence} to the BS on a physical random access channel (PRACH) (S103) and receive a response message for preamble on a PDCCH and a PDSCH corresponding to the PDCCH (S104), see also Fig.13, see also para. 0065, 0069);
a receiver is configured to, as part of the 2-step random access procedure::
on a condition that the signature sequence is associated with a shared channel resource unit in the period, monitor for Downlink Control Information (DCI) in a first time window (see para. 0039, 0057-0059, Fig.13, Fig.14, to receive/detect a PDCCH, the UE monitors PDCCH candidates. The PDCCH candidates represent the CCE(s) that the UE should monitor for PDCCH detection. Each PDCCH candidate is defined as 1, 2, 4, 8, or 16 CCEs depending on an aggregation level (AL). The monitoring includes (blind) decoding of the PDCCH candidates. A set of PDCCH candidates monitored by the UE is defined as a PDCCH Search Space (SS). The SS includes a common search space (CSS) / a first time window or a UE-specific search space (USS). The UE may acquire DCI by monitoring the PDCCH candidates in one or more SSs configured by the MIB or higher layer signaling, see also para. 0061-0063, Fig.14, para. 0112, 0239-0243, 0245-0247, 0250-0255, the UE includes the C-RNTI (and/or BSR information) (other than the UE (global) ID) in the PUSCH part of MsgA. After MsgA transmission, the UE monitors (in an RAR window) Opt 1) the MsgB PDCCH and/or Opt 2) the PDCCH based on the C-RNTI thereof); and on a condition that the signature sequence is associated with a shared channel resource unit in the period, monitor for Downlink Control Information (DCI) in a first time window; and on a condition that the signature sequence is not associated with any shared channel resource unit in the period, monitor for the DCI in a second time window
on a condition that the signature sequence is not associated with any shared channel resource unit in the period, monitor for the DCI in a second time window (see para. 0039, 0057-0059, to receive/detect a PDCCH, the UE monitors PDCCH candidates. The PDCCH candidates represent the CCE(s) that the UE should monitor for PDCCH detection. Each PDCCH candidate is defined as 1, 2, 4, 8, or 16 CCEs depending on an aggregation level (AL). The monitoring includes (blind) decoding of the PDCCH candidates. A set of PDCCH candidates monitored by the UE is defined as a PDCCH Search Space (SS). The SS includes a common search space (CSS) or a UE-specific search space (USS) / a second time window, see also para. 0061-0063, 0193, 0244-0245. Fig.14, Next, for MsgB reception, the UE may monitor a PDCCH in a time window related to the RAP. Specifically, for MsgB reception, the UE may monitor a specific RNTI-based PDCCH (e.g., a CRC of the PDCCH is masked with a specific RNTI) in the time window. The specific RNTI may include an RA-RNTI, see also Fig.14, para. 0112, 0239-0243, 0245-0247, 0250-0255, for MsgB reception, the UE monitors a PDCCH in a time window related to the RAP. Specifically, for MsgB reception, the UE may monitor a specific RNTI-based PDCCH (e.g., a CRC of the PDCCH is masked with a specific RNTI) in the time window. The specific RNTI may include an RA-RNTI. In addition, the UE may monitor the PDCCH to check whether there is a C-RNTI-based PDCCH of S1404 (e.g., CRC of the PDCCH is masked with a C-RNTI) in the time window. In this case, the C-RNTI-based PDCCH may be detected (S1406) and a TA command may be included in a PDSCH indicated by the PDCCH of step S1406 (S1408), the UE determines that contention resolution is successful and may end the RACH procedure).
Although Yang disclose a transmitter to transmit a signature sequence in a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) occasion;
Yang however does not explicitly disclose as part of a 2-step random access procedure the signature sequence is randomly selected from a candidate sequence group in a period, wherein the candidate sequence group includes a plurality of sequences;
Freda however disclose A User Equipment (UE) for wireless communications (see Fig.1B, a WTRU 102), the UE comprising: a transmitter (see Fig.1B, a transceiver 120) configured to transmit, as part of a 2-step random access procedure (see para. 0165, the second RACH procedure is an eRACH procedure, a 2-step RACH procedure, an eRACH procedure include two steps) a signature sequence in a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) occasion (see para. 0166, when the WTRU selects the second RACH procedure, the WTRU determines at least one PRACH resource associated with the second RACH procedure, the WTRU determines a preamble sequence associated with the second RACH procedure, the WTRU determines a data resource for uplink data, based on the at least one PRACH resource, the preamble sequence, the WTRU sends a RACH transmission to a network device using the at least one PRACH resource and the data resource, the eRACH transmission include the preamble sequence), wherein the signature sequence is randomly selected from a candidate sequence group in a period, wherein the candidate sequence group includes a plurality of sequences (see Fig.6, paras. 0004-0005, 0129, 0132, 0141, 0147, the WTRU select an eRACH and also select a preamble sequence, e.g., in addition to resources for preamble and data, see also para. 0181-0184, the WTRU determine to perform an eRACH procedure, based on a synchronization signal (e.g. the presence or property of a synchronization signal from which PRACH resource or PRACH sequence may be derived), uses information about a synchronization sequence to make a determination, such as one or more of: (i) frequency band and associated type of access, (ii) sequence property, and/or (iii) presence of a second signature sequence, the candidate sequence group includes a plurality of sequences, see also para. 0228, the WTRU determines (e.g., select) a preamble (e.g., a preamble sequence), selecting a preamble, for example, based on a (e.g. required) PRACH and/or data reception reliability. For example, one or more preambles (e.g. potentially with data) may be spread over time, frequency, spatial resources, also per para. 0240-0242, a WTRU selects a long preamble sequence, e.g., to provide more accurate frequency and error correction at TRP receiver or a WTRU selects a preamble that consist of a number of repeated short sequences) and on a condition that the signature sequence is associated with a shared channel resource unit in the period, monitor for Downlink Control Information (DCI) in a first time window; and on a condition that the signature sequence is not associated with any shared channel resource unit in the period, monitor for the DCI in a second time window (see para. 0101, 0135-0136, 0140-0141, 0143, 0147-0149, a grant (e.g. in a DCI and/or RRC message) is received (e.g. in control signaling) by a WTRU, the grant is associated with the transmission of eMSG1. The grant may be for the transmission of eMSG1. The grant may (e.g. alternatively) be for the transmission of a data portion of eMSG1. Preamble transmission may be performed according to other information received in the control signaling, such as according to other parameters, e.g., as described herein. For example, a WTRU-dedicated grant may be indicated (e.g. for dedicated signaling) {monitor for the DCI in a second time window} or a contention-based grant (e.g. for shared signaling / on a condition that the signature sequence is associated with a shared channel resource unit in the period, monitor for Downlink Control Information (DCI) in a first time window)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a transmitter configured to transmit, as part of a 2-step random access procedure, a signature sequence in a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) occasion, wherein the signature sequence is randomly selected from a candidate sequence group in a period, wherein the candidate sequence group includes a plurality of sequences, as taught by Freda, in the system of Yang, so that a WTRU determines whether to select a first random access channel (RACH) procedure or a second RACH procedure for the random access. The first RACH procedure may be a legacy RACH procedure. The second RACH procedure may be an enhanced RACH (eRACH) procedure. The WTRU may determine whether to select the first RACH procedure or the second RACH procedure based on a type of uplink data to be transmitted and/or the purpose of the random access request., see Freda, paragraphs 3-5.
As per claim 2, the combination of Yang and Freda disclose the UE of claim 1.
Yang further disclose wherein a time length of the first time window is equal to a time length of the second time window (see Fig.14, para. 0245-0247, the UE continues to perform the PDCCH monitoring procedure for receiving MsgB in the remaining time window / a time length of the first time window is equal to a time length of the second time window).
As per claim 3, the combination of Yang and Freda disclose the UE of claim 1.
Yang further disclose wherein: the receiver is further configured to receive one or more Synchronization Signal/Phvsical Broadcast Channel (SS/PBCH) Blocks (SSBs (see Fig.1, para. 0037, the UE receives a synchronization signal block (SSB) from the BS. The SSB includes a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH))); the UE further comprises a processor configured to measure a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) associated with an SSB of the one or more SSBs (see para. 0259, the UE selects any operation of the 2-step RACH and the 4-step RACH according to measured reference signal received power (RSRP) associated with an SSB of the one or more SSBs); and the candidate sequence group is determined based on the RSRP being not less than a threshold (see para. 0259, the UE selects any operation of the 2-step RACH and the 4-step RACH according to measured reference signal received power (RSRP), where the UE select one of the two RACHs according to a PUSCH transmit power that the BS desires to receive and/or a PUSCH transmit power necessary for path loss compensation in the UE. The above description may be applied as a condition for determining switching between MsgA transmission of the 2-step RACH and Msg1 transmission of the 4-step RACH and/or a condition for determining switching between MsgA transmission of the 2-step RACH and Msg3 transmission of the 4-step RACH / the candidate sequence group is determined based on the RSRP threshold).
As per claim 4, the combination of Yang and Freda disclose the UE of claim 1.
Yang further disclose, wherein the DCI is associated with a MsgB Radio Network Temporary Identifier (MsgB-RNTI) (see para. 0234-0238, the C-RNTI (other than UE (global) ID) may be included in MsgB. After confirming whether the C-RNTI included in MsgB is equal to a C-RNTI of the UE, the UE may transmit HARQ-ACK feedback for MsgB reception (by applying a TA command included in MsgB). Here, the MsgB PDCCH may be monitored based on an RA-RNTI).
As per claim 5, the combination of Yang and Freda disclose the UE of claim 1.
Yang further disclose wherein the signature sequence is associated with the shared channel resource unit in the period, and the shared channel resource unit in the period is used for determining a start time of the first time window (see para. 0098, to receive Msg2, the UE may monitor a PDCCH to check whether there is an RA-RNTI-based PDCCH (e.g., CRC of a PDCCH is masked with an RA-RNTI) in a time window related to Msg1 (hereinafter, an RAR window). Upon receiving the PDCCH masked with the RA-RNTI, the UE may receive the RAR on a PDSCH indicated by the RA-RNTI PDCCH, see also Fig.13, para. 0112).
As per claim 7, the combination of Yang and Freda disclose the UE of claim 1.
Yang further disclose wherein the signature sequence is not associated with any shared channel resource unit in the period, and the PRACH occasion is used for determining a start time of the second time window (see para. 0095-0098, Msg1 (PRACH): Msg1 is transmitted from the UE to the BS (S710). Msg1 may be distinguished with a time/frequency resource (RACH occasion (RO)), on which a random access (RA) preamble is transmitted and to receive Msg2, the UE monitor a PDCCH to check whether there is an RA-RNTI-based PDCCH (e.g., CRC of a PDCCH is masked with an RA-RNTI) in a time window related to Msg1 (hereinafter, an RAR window) / a start time of the second time window).
As per claim 9, the combination of Yang and Freda disclose the UE of claim 1.
Yang further disclose wherein the period is an association pattern period (see para. 0143, C-RNTI information to be used by the UE (and/or UE-specific search space (USS) configuration information for monitoring a C-RNTI-based UE-specific PDCCH) may be transmitted through MsgB. Here, the USS configuration information includes a time/frequency resource on which a USS may be configured/transmitted and/or period/slot information for performing a PDCCH monitoring (e.g., blind decoding) operation / an association pattern period).
As per claim 10, the combination of Yang and Freda disclose the UE of claim 1.
Yang further disclose wherein the shared channel resource unit is a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resource unit (see para. 0385, , the transmission is initiated using a MSG1 in the eRACH procedure, using a resource granted by the network, e.g. a semi-persistently allocated resource, a dynamically assigned resource by DCI reception, and/or using a grantless transmission procedure such as a contention-based access for a PUSCH resource (CB-PUSCH)).
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Claims 1 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021/0329703), and further in view of Dinan et al. (US Pub. No.:2018/0279376).
As per claim 1, Yang disclose A User Equipment (UE) for wireless communications (see Fig.16, a first wireless device 100), the UE comprising:
a transmitter (see Fig.16, one or more transceiver 106) configured to transmit, as part of a 2-step random access procedure (see Fig.13, para. 0111, 0112, Fig 13 illustrates a 2-step RACH procedure), a signature sequence in a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) occasion (see Fig.1, Fig.13, para. 0039, the UE performs a random access procedure to access the BS in steps S103 to S106 the UE transmit a random access request message (e.g., MsgA) to the BS, 1) MsgA (PRACH): MsgA is transmitted from the UE to the BS. MsgA is distinguished with a time/frequency resource (RACH occasion (RO)), on which a random access (RA) preamble {a signature sequence} is transmitted, and an RA preamble index (RAPID). MsgA transmission includes random access preamble (RAP) transmission (S1302) and PUSCH transmission (S1304). For random access, the UE transmits a preamble {a signature sequence} to the BS on a physical random access channel (PRACH) (S103) and receive a response message for preamble on a PDCCH and a PDSCH corresponding to the PDCCH (S104), see also Fig.13, see also para. 0065, 0069);
a receiver is configured to, as part of the 2-step random access procedure::
on a condition that the signature sequence is associated with a shared channel resource unit in the period, monitor for Downlink Control Information (DCI) in a first time window (see para. 0039, 0057-0059, Fig.13, Fig.14, to receive/detect a PDCCH, the UE monitors PDCCH candidates. The PDCCH candidates represent the CCE(s) that the UE should monitor for PDCCH detection. Each PDCCH candidate is defined as 1, 2, 4, 8, or 16 CCEs depending on an aggregation level (AL). The monitoring includes (blind) decoding of the PDCCH candidates. A set of PDCCH candidates monitored by the UE is defined as a PDCCH Search Space (SS). The SS includes a common search space (CSS) / a first time window or a UE-specific search space (USS). The UE may acquire DCI by monitoring the PDCCH candidates in one or more SSs configured by the MIB or higher layer signaling, see also para. 0061-0063, Fig.14, para. 0112, 0239-0243, 0245-0247, 0250-0255, the UE includes the C-RNTI (and/or BSR information) (other than the UE (global) ID) in the PUSCH part of MsgA. After MsgA transmission, the UE monitors (in an RAR window) Opt 1) the MsgB PDCCH and/or Opt 2) the PDCCH based on the C-RNTI thereof); and on a condition that the signature sequence is associated with a shared channel resource unit in the period, monitor for Downlink Control Information (DCI) in a first time window; and on a condition that the signature sequence is not associated with any shared channel resource unit in the period, monitor for the DCI in a second time window
on a condition that the signature sequence is not associated with any shared channel resource unit in the period, monitor for the DCI in a second time window (see para. 0039, 0057-0059, to receive/detect a PDCCH, the UE monitors PDCCH candidates. The PDCCH candidates represent the CCE(s) that the UE should monitor for PDCCH detection. Each PDCCH candidate is defined as 1, 2, 4, 8, or 16 CCEs depending on an aggregation level (AL). The monitoring includes (blind) decoding of the PDCCH candidates. A set of PDCCH candidates monitored by the UE is defined as a PDCCH Search Space (SS). The SS includes a common search space (CSS) or a UE-specific search space (USS) / a second time window, see also para. 0061-0063, 0193, 0244-0245. Fig.14, Next, for MsgB reception, the UE may monitor a PDCCH in a time window related to the RAP. Specifically, for MsgB reception, the UE may monitor a specific RNTI-based PDCCH (e.g., a CRC of the PDCCH is masked with a specific RNTI) in the time window. The specific RNTI may include an RA-RNTI, see also Fig.14, para. 0112, 0239-0243, 0245-0247, 0250-0255, for MsgB reception, the UE monitors a PDCCH in a time window related to the RAP. Specifically, for MsgB reception, the UE may monitor a specific RNTI-based PDCCH (e.g., a CRC of the PDCCH is masked with a specific RNTI) in the time window. The specific RNTI may include an RA-RNTI. In addition, the UE may monitor the PDCCH to check whether there is a C-RNTI-based PDCCH of S1404 (e.g., CRC of the PDCCH is masked with a C-RNTI) in the time window. In this case, the C-RNTI-based PDCCH may be detected (S1406) and a TA command may be included in a PDSCH indicated by the PDCCH of step S1406 (S1408), the UE determines that contention resolution is successful and may end the RACH procedure).
Although Yang disclose a transmitter to transmit a signature sequence in a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) occasion;
Yang however does not explicitly disclose as part of a 2-step random access procedure the signature sequence is randomly selected from a candidate sequence group in a period, wherein the candidate sequence group includes a plurality of sequences;
Dinan however disclose A User Equipment (UE) for wireless communications (see Fig.4, a wireless device 406), the UE comprising: a transmitter (see Fig.4, Communication Interface 407) configured to transmit, as part of a 2-step random access procedure (see Fig.18, Fig.29, para. 0322-0324, the second wireless device 2806 determines to perform a two-step random access procedure and, at step 2908, the second wireless device 2806 initiate the two-step random access procedure) a signature sequence in a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) occasion (see Fig.8, para. 0244, a transmission comprise a random access preamble 1803, e.g., via a physical random access channel (PRACH), and data 1802. The data 1802 may comprise one or more transport blocks, an identifier of a wireless device, and/or other information. The data may be included in, e.g., an RRC connection request. The RRC connection request may comprise one or more of, e.g., the data 1802, an identifier of a wireless device, an indication of a type of data (e.g., emergency, high priority access, standard access, signaling, etc.), and/or other information. The RAP 1803 may comprise a preamble sequence, e.g., bits arranged in octets 1804. A guard time and/or a cyclic prefix may be inserted, e.g., at either end of the preamble sequence), wherein the signature sequence is randomly selected from a candidate sequence group in a period, wherein the candidate sequence group includes a plurality of sequences (see Fig.20, paras. 0270-0272, when a base station configures four-step and two-step RA procedures, the base station may use separate preamble signature groups and/or separate time-frequency resources for each of four-step and two-step RA preamble transmissions. Using separate preamble signature groups and/or separate time-frequency resources for different types of RA procedures may help the base station determine whether a wireless device attempts to initiate a two-step RA procedure or a four-step RA procedure. A base station may broadcast and/or unicast one or more configuration parameters that indicate separate preamble signature groups, and/or that use separate time-frequency resources, for four-step and two-step RA preamble transmissions ) and on a condition that the signature sequence is associated with a shared channel resource unit in the period, monitor for Downlink Control Information (DCI) in a first time window; and on a condition that the signature sequence is not associated with any shared channel resource unit in the period, monitor for the DCI in a second time window (see para. 0361-0363, monitor for Downlink Control Information (DCI) in a first time window and a condition that the signature sequence is not associated with any shared channel resource unit in the period, monitor for the DCI in a second time window).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a transmitter configured to transmit, as part of a 2-step random access procedure, a signature sequence in a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) occasion, wherein the signature sequence is randomly selected from a candidate sequence group in a period, wherein the candidate sequence group includes a plurality of sequences, as taught by Dinan, in the system of Yang, so a enable a two-step RA procedure, see Dinan, paragraph 4.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8, 26 and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Beale et al (US Pub. No.:2021/0022189) – see para. 0128, “… wherein the scheduling message is transmitted to the at least one communications device in response to receiving a physical random access channel, PRACH, signal comprising a preamble signature from the at least one communications device, and the characteristics of the scheduling message which indicates the subcarriers forming the second set of radio resources comprise a mapping between one or more of frequency resources used for the PRACH signal, time resources used for the transmission of the PRACH signal, and the preamble signature of the PRACH signal, and the subcarriers forming the second set of radio resources.”
Lei et al (US Pub. No.:2020/0146055) – see para. 0005, “he described techniques relate to improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support scalable preamble design for random access. Generally, the described techniques provide for generating random access preambles that may be transmitted by a user equipment (UE), which may include a mapping of signal sequences associated with a UE identifier to groups of resource elements, where such a mapping may include patterns that may be detectable by a base station. The random access preamble, or some portion or characteristic thereof, may be used to decode accompanying information about the transmitting UE, which may be used by the base station to establish communications with the UE or otherwise provide the UE with communication resources or configuration information to access a network (e.g., in response to a random access request from the UE).”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469