DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-24, 31, 33-35 and 39-42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2020/104260 (Klein et al. US 2021/0370202 will be referenced as the US equivalent).
Claims 21 and 33, Klein teaches a filter device comprising: a replaceable filter element (15), a filter head (6) and a filter bowl (2), where the replaceable filter element includes a compensation device, an upper end cap (40), a lower end cap (42) and a filter element material (15) extending between the upper and lower end caps, the compensation device is configured to act between the filter head and the replaceable filter element, the compensation device includes a first shell part (55a) which is secured stationarily to the replaceable filter element and a second shell part (55b) which is movable, the second shell part includes a passage opening (55c) for guiding a fluid flow, the first shell part is part of the upper end cap and the second shell part defines a spherical ring in contact with the first shell part, the first shell part has respective stop edges for limiting a maximum possible swivel motion for the second shell part at opposite free rims, the respective stop edges define a hollow, spherical or annular mounting space for the second shell part and the respective stop edges are annular (fig. 1-4, see below). The recitation of the end caps being upper or lower end caps is a recitation of the relative orientation of the filter element but does not provide any particular structural limitation.
Claims 22-24, 31, 34-35 and 39-42, Klein further teaches the second shell part includes an annular sealing device (28), the annular sealing device is on an end of the second shell part facing the filter head, the annular sealing device includes a sealing ring which is configured to be pressed against the filter head in a secured state of the replaceable filter element and the sealing ring in on a free end face of the annular sealing device facing the filter head (fig. 1-4); a contact surface of the filter head for the sealing ring extends along a plane which is oblique with respect to a longitudinal axis of the filter head (fig. 1-4, par 2, 9-10); the first shell part has a concave contact surface (54) which, in any swivel position of the second shell part, is in contact with a convex contact surface (46) of the second shell part (fig. 1-4); the filter head includes a bypass valve (at 18) configured to open a fluid connection from a feed side to a filtrate side in the filter head via apertures (34) in the upper end cap of the replaceable filter element (fig. 1-4); the spherical mounting space is spherical (fig. 2, par 10); and one of the respective stop edges projects radially inward (at 64) underneath the second shell part such that the one stop edge is between the second shell part and the lower end cap in an axial direction (fig. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-24, 26, 28-35, 37 and 39-42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosaen US 4,721,563 in view of WO 2020/104260 (Klein et al. US 2021/0370202 will be referenced as the US equivalent).
Claims 21 and 33, Rosaen teaches a filter device comprising: a replaceable filter element (42), a filter head (14) and a filter bowl (12), where the replaceable filter element includes an upper end cap (43, 44), a lower end cap (45) and a filter element material (47) extending between the upper and lower end caps (fig. 1-3). Rosaen does not teach a compensation device.
Klein teaches a replaceable filter element (15) where the replaceable filter element includes a compensation device as part of an end cap (40), the compensation device is configured to act between a filter head and the replaceable filter element, the compensation device includes a first shell part (55a) which is secured stationarily to the replaceable filter element and a second shell part (55b) which is movable, the second shell part includes a passage opening (55c) for guiding a fluid flow, the first stationary shell part is part of the upper end cap and the second shell part defines a spherical ring in contact with the first shell part (fig. 1-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the compensation device of Klein because the compensation device provides a compensation option for possibly occurring misalignment errors to enable a reduction of the narrow tolerance limits that have to be observed for manufacture to allow for operationally reliability and favorable manufacturing costs (par 9).
Claims 22-23 and 34, Rosaen further teaches an annular sealing device (34) on an end of the end cap facing the filter head, the annular sealing device includes a sealing ring which is configured to be pressed against the filter head in a secured state of the filter element and the sealing ring is on a free end face of the sealing device facing the filter head (fig. 1). Using the compensation device of Klein would provide the sealing device on the second shell part as this is the portion in Klein that forms a seal with the head of Klein and a contact surface of the filter head for the sealing ring can extend along a plane which is oblique with respect to a longitudinal axis of the filter head, as taught by Klein (fig. 1-4, par 2, 9-10).
Claims 24, 35 and 39-42, Klein further teaches the first shell part has a concave contact surface (54) which, in any swivel position of the second shell part, is in contact with a convex contact surface (46) of the second shell part (fig. 1-4); the spherical mounting space is spherical (fig. 2, par 10); and one of the respective stop edges projects radially inward (at 64) underneath the second shell part such that the one stop edge is between the second shell part and the lower end cap in an axial direction such that if the filter element of Rosaen were modified with the compensation device of Klein the one stop edge would likewise be located between the second shell part and the lower endcap (45) if Rosaen (fig. 1-2).
Claims 26, 28, 31-32 and 37, Rosaen further teaches the upper end cap has a sealing rim on an outer circumference thereof for mounting a sealing ring (60) and the sealing ring projects radially in a circumferential direction beyond an outer circumference of the filter element material (fig. 1-3); the sealing rim of the upper end cap is spaced apart from the rest of the end cap by bars (between 58) and apertures (58) are defined between the bars and the sealing rim of the upper end cap of the filter element (fig. 1-3); the filter head includes a bypass valve (36) configured to open a fluid connection from a feed side to a filtrate outlet side in the filter head via apertures (58) in the upper end cap of the filter element (fig. 1-3); and a screw connection (24) configured to detachably connect the filter bowl with the filter element to the filter head, a first sealing ring (60) on the filter element is configured to, as screw on depth increases, be pressed against the filter head to for a first seal and a second sealing ring (34) on a free end of the upper end cap is configured to, as the screw on depth increases, be pressed against the filter head to form a second seal (using the compensation device of Klein would provide the sealing device on the second shell part as this is the portion in Klein that forms a seal with the head of Klein) (fig. 1-3).
Claims 29-30, Rosaen in view of Klein teaches the filter device of claim 1, and Rosaen further teaches the head has a filtrate outlet opening (32 or 30) but does not teach a spring loaded check valve in the filtrate outlet opening or a bypass valve between the feed side and the filtrate outlet side. Providing a spring loaded check valve in a filtrate outlet opening that rests against a contact ring forming a sealing seat is very common in the art as a way to prevent spillage of fluid during changing of the filter element. Each of these features would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Applicant did not traverse the previous official notice taken in the previous office action and as such it is now taken as admitted prior art.
Claim(s) 27 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosaen US 4,721,563 in view of WO 2020/104260 (Klein et al. US 2021/0370202 will be referenced as the US equivalent) and Sakraschinsky et al. US 2010/0282341.
Rosaen further teaches the sealing rim of the upper end cap and the sealing ring extend along a plane and the sealing rim of the upper end cap is spaced apart from the end cap by bars (between 58) and apertures (58) are defined between the bars and the sealing rim of the upper end cap and the filter element but does not teach the plane at least partially overlapping where the second shell part of Klein would be located on Rosaen.
Sakraschinsky teaches a filter device comprising: a replaceable filter element (9), a filter head (3), and a filter bowl (1), wherein the filter element includes a compensation device, an upper end cap (23), the compensation device is configured to act between the filter head and the filter element, the compensation device includes a first shell part (27) which is secured stationarily to the filter element and a second shell part (33) which is movable, the second shell part includes a passage opening for guiding a fluid flow and the first shell part is part of the upper end cap, and the upper end cap has a sealing rim (51) on an outer circumference thereof for mounting a sealing ring (53) which projects radially in a circumferential direction beyond an outer circumference of a filter medium (11) of the filter element and the sealing rim and the sealing ring extend along a plane that is at least partially overlapped by the second shell part with its sealing ring in the direction of the filter head (fig. 1-4). The recitation of providing the plane of the sealing rim and ring to overlap with the second shell part is a recitation of a rearrangement of the parts taught by Rosaen in view of Klein. Shifting the position of an element is unpatentable if shifting the position of the element would not modify the operation of the device, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (1950). Additionally, the recited position is known in the art as demonstrated by Sakraschinsky and would have been well within the normal capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art. The claim would have been obvious because "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/12/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Klein does not teach multiple annular stop edges. Applicant argues that Dictionary.com defines a ring as “anything resembling a band or circle” or “a circular or surrounding line or mark” and that a skilled artisan would have readily recognized “annular” to connote “circular”. The office takes the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language. Given the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term annular the edge, indicated in the annotated figure of Klein, is annular in that it surrounds the first shell part. Applicant is seeking to impose a narrower interpretation of the claim language. As Dictionary.com states a ring is “anything resembling a band or circle” or “a circular or surrounding line or mark”. Thus, the definition provided does not require a particular shape nor would one of ordinary skill have readily recognized that annular must require the narrower definition of circular. For these reasons, the interpretation presented in the office action is maintained as is the rejection.
Applicant argues that the annularity of the edge is interrupted by a locking block. While the locking block (64) of Klein interrupts the circular shape, the locking block is still part of the edge and the general shape of the edge still resembles a band or circle and still defines a surrounding line or mark. Therefore, the structure of Klein meets the limitations set forth in the claim.
Applicant argues that the edge at the top end is not designed to limit a maximum possible swivel motion but instead to enable it. As clearly seen in figure annular edge of Klein includes the block (64) which limits a maximum possible swivel motion of the second shell part as the bottom edge of the first shell part also interacts with the second shell part to limit the swivel motion as clearly seen in figure 2.
Applicant argues that the inner shell (55b, corresponding to the recited 2nd shell part) of Klein does not define a spherical ring because the inner shell is interrupted by at least recess (66), steps (68, 70) and projection (72). Klein specifically states,
“Advantageously, the arrangement can be made in such a way that the bearing has at least one convex bearing surface guided in at least one concave bearing surface. In this way, a spherical bearing is formed, which forms a kind of ball joint between the respective end cap and the element receptacle to compensate for misalignments without tensioning.” (par 10)
Thus, Klein clearly states the two shell parts form a spherical bearing or a kind of ball joint. Although the shell has the recess, steps and projection, the general shape of the shell is still spherical. Dictionary.com defines spherical as “having the form of a sphere, globular” and sphere as “any rounded body approximately of this form, a globular mass, shell, etc.” Therefore, given the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, the second shell is considered to define a spherical ring in contact with the first shell part as recited.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN M KURTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779