DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The drawing objection for claim 15 has been overcome.
Applicant's arguments filed 8/27/2025 utilized for the request for reconsideration 10/27/2025 in response to Office Action 6/27/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for at least the following reasons:
Regarding the claims and arguments, until the CIP matter (claims 14, 21, 34 for “closure” (Fig 7, 60’)); claims 2, 18, 26, 35, 36, 38 for “inductively couplable layer” (Fig 7, 29’)) is eliminated, there can be no allowance in spite of allowable subject matter being present because the inventor’s own parent publication of this invention can be used per the filing date. If said CIP matter limitations were to be canceled, the application could be allowed under the filed Terminal Disclaimer 11/20/2024 since the parent application was issued for the same allowable subject matter.
Otherwise, if secondary prior art Fujii were to be overcome by Applicant’s arguments that the claimed “inductively couplable layer” is electromagnetically heated by induction (i.e. the argued yet undisclosed occurrence of electromagnetic induction of the layer (page 16 of Remarks)), please see the attached references in PTO-892 (Conclusion at the end) that could read on electromagnetically inductively heated layers of the inner wall of a double-wall container. However, the application has not been sufficiently amended to narrow the claimed meaning of “inductively couplable layer” to overcome Fujii in that manner, so the examiner interprets the phrase under broadest reasonable interpretation again, in the rejection analysis below. For further explanation of the rebutted arguments, please see the After Final Office Action 9/19/2025 and Interview 8/28/2025 where all this was discussed in detail with all concerned parties in direct response to said arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-14, 18-22, 26, 34 and 38-40 are each independently rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210155384 by McCluskey (hereinafter “McCluskey”) in view of US 6119889 issued to Fujii et al. (hereinafter “Fujii”).
Regarding claim 2, McCluskey teaches (claim 1) a beverage container or kettle comprising (Fig 2, 10): a body having a closed bottom end (Fig 3, at 27), an open upper end (Fig 2 shown), and constructed from glass (Title), wherein the body is formed with a double wall having an inner wall and an outer wall, wherein a wall gap is defined by an inner surface of the outer wall and an outer surface of the inner wall, wherein the closed bottom end is formed with an inner bottom wall and an outer bottom wall to form a double bottom wall with the inner bottom wall continuous with the inner wall and the outer bottom wall continuous with the outer wall, wherein a bottom gap defined by an inner surface of the outer bottom wall and an outer surface of the inner bottom wall is continuous with the wall gap (Fig 3 shows this double wall), and wherein an inner face of the inner wall proximal the upper end is formed from ground glass to form a first half of a discontinuous or interrupted glass joint (Figs 1-2, joint is two faces therefor discontinuous from 32 and 33); and, a lid constructed from glass having a top lid surface and a bottom lid surface spaced by a lid side face (Fig 3, 30 wherein a space between its surfaces is a cavity 36), wherein the lid has a port or side channel that extends from the top lid surface through the lid side face and down to the bottom lid surface (32), wherein a portion of the port or side channel that extends through the lid side face creates a discontinuity or interruption in the lid side face (32 creates the discontinuity/interruption), wherein the lid side face is formed from ground glass to form a second half of the discontinuous or interrupted glass joint ([0044] “ground glass”), wherein the lid side face mates with, and registers against, the inner face of the inner wall of the body, except at the location of the port, to form the discontinuous or interrupted glass joint when the lid is inserted into the upper open end of the body (Fig 2).
But McCluskey does not explicitly teach an inductively couplable layer.
Fujii, however, teaches a beverage container with a lid (Fig 1, a container 1 with a lid 17) comprising:
an inductively couplable layer joined to, or secured to, the outer surface of the inner wall and/or to the outer surface of the inner bottom wall (Fig 1, col 6, lines 37-43, a layer 5 is coupled to the outer surface of the inner body wall 2b and the outer surface of the inner bottom wall of 2b, capable of being coupled by ion plating (i.e. inductively/electrical inductance), and being made of a metal/metal oxide powder to allow inductive/electromagnetic heating).
The purpose of a plated contact layer is to prevent thermal radiation/emission (Fujii, col 6, line 37). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inner wall of the body of McCluskey with a layer as taught by Fujii in order to advantageously retain heat to keep the desired beverage temperature longer by preventing heat dissipation/radiation, thereby enhancing insulation.
(and Fujii further teaches in light of related dependents:
(claim 5) at least one surface of the lid walls defining the cavity is coated with infrared-reflecting coating (Fig 1, col 3, line 11, thermal preventing reflecting layer 5 inside the lid on a wall; col 3, lines 13-14, low conductivity gas in the container wall, and in the lid, col 5, lines 10-13),
(claim 6) the cavity is filled with an insulating gas, wherein the insulating gas is selected from the group consisting of air, low-oxygen gas, low-pressure gas, low-conductivity gas and mixtures thereof (col 5, lines 10-13),
(claim 7) at least one surface of the inner surface of the container body outer wall and the outer surface of the inner wall is at least partially coated with an infrared-reflecting coating (Fig 1, 5 on at least one container wall)
(claim 8) the infrared reflective coating is coated onto the at least one surface in an artistic pattern (Fig 1 shows coating is in a subjective artistic design)
(claim 9) the wall gap is filled with an insulating gas, wherein the insulating gas is selected from the group consisting of air, low-oxygen gas, low-pressure gas, low-conductivity gas and mixtures thereof (col 3, lines 13-14).)
Regarding claim 3, McCluskey further teaches the lid has a cavity defined by the upper lid surface, the lower lid surface and the lid side wall (Fig 3, 36).
Regarding claim 4, McCluskey further teaches the inner surface of the inner wall proximal the upper open end is frustoconical in shape, and wherein the lid side wall is frustoconical in shape to mate with the inner surface of the inner wall proximal the upper open end ([0044] “frustoconical” mating).
Regarding claim 5, McCluskey/Fujii further teaches at least one surface of the walls defining the cavity is coated with infrared-reflecting coating (Fujii). See details in the parent claim 2 rejection above, including the motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify.
Regarding claim 6, McCluskey/Fujii further teaches the cavity is filled with an insulating gas, wherein the insulating gas is selected from the group consisting of air, low-oxygen gas, low-pressure gas, low-conductivity gas and mixtures thereof (Fujii). See details in the parent claim 2 rejection above, including the motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify.
Regarding claim 7, McCluskey/Fujii further teaches at least one surface of the inner surface of the outer wall and the outer surface of the inner wall is at least partially coated with an infrared-reflecting coating (Fujii). See details in the parent claim 2 rejection above, including the motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify.
Regarding claim 8, McCluskey/Fujii further teaches the infrared reflective coating is coated onto the at least one surface in an artistic pattern (Fujii). See details in the parent claim 2 rejection above, including the motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify.
Regarding claim 9, McCluskey/Fujii further teaches the wall gap is filled with an insulating gas, wherein the insulating gas is selected from the group consisting of air, low-oxygen gas, low-pressure gas, low-conductivity gas and mixtures thereof (Fujii). See details in the parent claim 2 rejection above, including the motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify.
Regarding claim 10, McCluskey further teaches the inner face of the inner wall proximal the upper open end is frustoconical in shape, and wherein the lid side face is frustoconical in shape to mate with the inner face of the at inner proximal the upper open end ([0044] “frustoconical” mating).
Regarding claim 11, McCluskey further teaches the lid is formed with a raised grip (34).
Regarding claim 12, McCluskey further teaches the upper open end of the body defines a body upper surface, wherein the lid, when inserted into the open upper end of the body, registers against the inner surface of the inner wall whereby the top surface of the lid is below a plane occupied by the body upper surface (Fig 3, registers below plane).
Regarding claim 13, McCluskey further teaches a clip formed from a flexible material, wherein the clip registers against the lid and an outer surface of the body to secure the lid to the body (Fig 2, clip 40).
Regarding claim 14, McCluskey does not explicitly teach a body vent hole.
Fujii, however, teaches a vent hole is formed or created in the outer bottom wall in fluid communication with the wall gap (Fig 1, a vent hole aperture 6 in the outer bottom wall with a sealing closure 7) and a body wall closure secured in the vent hole (Fig 1, sealing closure 7).
The purpose of a vent hole in the double wall is to allow pulling a vacuum. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the double wall body of McCluskey with a vent hole as taught by Fujii in order to advantageously allow gas introduction or pulling a vacuum to improve insulation and save cost versus acquiring noble gas insulation.
Regarding claim 18, McCluskey teaches (claim 15) a beverage container or kettle (Fig 2, Title, Abstract) comprising:
a body having a closed bottom end, an open upper end, and constructed from glass (Fig 2 shows a body having a closed bottom end, an open upper end, and constructed from glass, Abstract), wherein the body is formed with a double wall having an inner wall and an outer wall, wherein a wall gap is defined by an inner surface of the outer wall and an outer surface of the inner wall, wherein the closed bottom end is formed with an inner bottom wall and an outer bottom wall to form a double bottom wall with the inner bottom wall continuous with the inner wall and the outer bottom wall continuous with the outer wall, wherein a bottom gap defined by an inner surface of the outer bottom wall and an outer surface of the inner bottom wall is continuous with the wall gap (Fig 3, the body is formed by a wall gap 26 between inner wall 24 and outer wall 25 and a bottom gap 26 between 27 and 28, wherein the gaps are continuous with each other, thereby forming a double wall structured container body), and wherein an inner face of the inner wall proximal the upper end is formed from ground glass to form a first half of a discontinuous or interrupted glass joint (Fig 2, Abstract, a glass joint is formed between a first half with an inner face 21, and discontinuous via a second half with an outer lid side face 31 at 32 and 33); and,
a lid having a top lid surface and a bottom lid surface spaced by a lid side face (Fig 3, Abstract, a glass lid 30 having a top surface 38 and a bottom surface 37 spaced by 31), wherein
the lid is formed with a raised grip (Fig 2, 34) having a depression formed in a central portion of the grip (34a) and two raised areas formed on outer portions of the grip (34b), wherein
the lid side face is formed from ground glass to form a second half of the glass joint, wherein the lid side face mates with, and registers against, the inner face of the inner wall to form the glass joint when the lid is inserted into the upper open end of the body, and wherein the upper open end of the body defines a body upper surface, wherein the lid, when inserted into the open upper end of the body to form the glass joint ([0044] ground glass joint of 21 and 31),
the top surface of the lid and/or the raised grip is level with or below the plane occupied by the body upper surface (Fig 1 and 2, 38 is below a plane formed the topmost flat surface of the body at 23)
But McCluskey does not explicitly teach an inductively couplable layer.
Fujii, however, teaches an inductively couplable layer is joined to, or secured to, the outer surface of the inner wall and/or to the outer surface of the inner bottom wall (Fig 1, col 6, lines 37-43, a layer 5 is coupled to the outer surface of the inner body wall 2b and the outer surface of the inner bottom wall of 2b, capable of being coupled by ion plating (i.e. inductively/electrical inductance), and being made of a metal/metal oxide powder to allow inductive/electromagnetic heating).
Regarding claim 19, McCluskey further teaches at least one drinking port or channel formed in the lid that traverses the lid from the top lid surface to the bottom lid surface and at least one vent port or channel formed in the lid that traverses the lid from the top lid surface to the bottom lid surface (Fig 2, a drinking port side channel 32 and a vent port side channel 33 passes completely through the lid from the top surface 38 to the bottom surface 37, Fig 3)
Regarding claim 20, McCluskey further teaches the lid has a drinking port or side channel that extends from the top lid surface through the lid side face and down to the bottom lid surface, wherein a portion of the drinking port or side channel that extends through the lid side face creates a discontinuity or interruption in the lid side face, wherein the lid further has a vent port or vent channel that extends from the top lid surface through the lid side face and down to the bottom lid surface, wherein a portion of the vent port or vent channel that extends through the lid side face creates a discontinuity or interruption in the lid side face (Fig 2, a drinking port side channel 32 and a vent port side channel 33 extends generally away from and also passes completely through the lid from the top surface 38 to the bottom surface 37, Fig 3).
Regarding claim 21, McCluskey does not explicitly teach a body vent hole.
Fujii, however, teaches a beverage container with a lid (Fig 1, a container 1 with a lid 17) comprising:
a vent hole is formed or created in the outer bottom wall in fluid communication with the wall gap and a body wall closure secured in the vent hole (Fig 1, a vent hole aperture 6 in the outer bottom wall with a sealing closure 7).
The purpose of a vent hole in the double wall is to allow pulling a vacuum. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the double wall body of McCluskey with a vent hole as taught by Fujii in order to advantageously allow gas introduction or pulling a vacuum to improve insulation and save cost versus acquiring noble gas insulation.
Regarding claim 22, McCluskey/Fujii further teaches the top lid surface, bottom lid surface and lid side wall define a cavity, wherein the cavity is filled with an insulating gas, wherein the insulating gas is selected from the group consisting of air, low-oxygen gas, low-pressure gas, low-conductivity gas and mixtures thereof (Fujii, Fig 1, col 3, line 11, thermal preventing reflecting layer 5 inside the lid on a wall; col 3, lines 13-14, low conductivity gas in the container wall, and in the lid, col 5, lines 10-13). See details in the parent claim 18 rejection above, including the motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify.
Regarding claim 26, McCluskey teaches (claim 25) a beverage container or kettle (Fig 2, Title, Abstract) comprising:
a body having a closed bottom end, an open upper end, and constructed from glass (Fig 2 shows a body having a closed bottom end, an open upper end, and constructed from glass, Abstract), wherein the body is formed with a double wall having an inner wall and an outer wall, wherein a wall gap is defined by an inner surface of the outer wall and an outer surface of the inner wall, wherein the closed bottom end is formed with an inner bottom wall and an outer bottom wall to form a double bottom wall with the inner bottom wall continuous with the inner wall and the outer bottom wall continuous with the outer wall, wherein a bottom gap defined by an inner surface of the outer bottom wall and an outer surface of the inner bottom wall is continuous with the wall gap (Fig 3, the body is formed by a wall gap 26 between inner wall 24 and outer wall 25 and a bottom gap 26 between 27 and 28, wherein the gaps are continuous with each other, thereby forming a double wall structured container body), wherein
an inner face of the inner wall proximal the upper end is formed from ground glass to form a first half of a glass joint (Fig 2, Abstract, a glass joint is formed between a first half with an inner face 21, and discontinuous via a second half with an outer lid side face 31 at 32 and 33); and,
a lid having a top lid surface and a bottom lid surface spaced by a lid side face (Fig 3, Abstract, a glass lid 30 having a top surface 38 and a bottom surface 37 spaced by 31), wherein a surface of the lid side face is formed from ground glass to form a second half of the glass joint, wherein the lid side face registers against the inner face of the inner wall to form the glass joint when the lid is inserted into the upper open end of the body ([0044] ground glass joint of 21 and 31, Fig 1, lid registers).
But McCluskey does not explicitly teach an inductively couplable layer.
Fujii, however, teaches a beverage container with a lid (Fig 1, a container 1 with a lid 17) comprising:
an inductively couplable layer is joined to, or secured to, the outer surface of the inner wall and/or to the outer surface of the inner bottom wall (Fig 1, col 6, lines 37-43, a layer 5 is coupled to the outer surface of the inner body wall 2b and the outer surface of the inner bottom wall of 2b, capable of being coupled by ion plating (i.e. inductively/electrical inductance), and being made of a metal/metal oxide powder to allow inductive/electromagnetic heating).
The purpose of a plated contact layer is to prevent thermal radiation/emission (Fujii, col 6, line 37). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inner wall of the body of McCluskey with a layer as taught by Fujii in order to advantageously retain heat to keep the desired beverage temperature longer by preventing heat dissipation/radiation, thereby enhancing insulation.
Regarding claim 34, McCluskey does not explicitly teach a body vent hole.
Fujii, however, teaches a vent hole is formed or created in the outer bottom wall in fluid communication with the wall gap (Fujii, Fig 1, a vent hole aperture 6 in the outer bottom wall with a sealing closure 7) and a body wall closure secured in the vent hole (Fujii, Fig 1, sealing closure 7).
The purpose of a vent hole in the double wall is to allow pulling a vacuum. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the double wall body of McCluskey with a vent hole as taught by Fujii in order to advantageously allow gas introduction or pulling a vacuum to improve insulation and save cost versus acquiring noble gas insulation.
Regarding claim 38, McCluskey teaches (claim 37) a beverage container or kettle (Fig 2, Title, Abstract) comprising:
a body having a closed bottom end, an open upper end, and constructed from glass (Fig 2 shows a body having a closed bottom end, an open upper end, and constructed from glass, Abstract), wherein the body is formed with at least one wall, and wherein an inner face of the at least one wall proximal the upper end is formed from ground glass to form a first half of a discontinuous or interrupted glass joint (Fig 2, Abstract, a glass joint is formed between a first half with an inner face 21, and discontinuous via a second half with an outer lid side face 31 at 32 and 33);
a lid constructed from glass having a top lid surface and a bottom lid surface spaced by a lid side face (Fig 3, Abstract, a glass lid 30 having a top surface 38 and a bottom surface 37 spaced by 31), wherein the lid has a drinking port or side channel that extends from the top lid surface through the lid side face and down to the bottom lid surface, wherein a portion of the drinking port or side channel that extends through the lid side face creates a discontinuity or interruption in the lid side face (Fig 2, a drinking port side channel 32 and a vent port side channel 33 extends generally away from and also passes completely through the lid from the top surface 38 to the bottom surface 37, Fig 3), wherein the lid side face is formed from ground glass to form a second half of the discontinuous or interrupted glass joint, wherein the lid side face mates with, and registers against, the inner face of the inner one wall of the body, except at the location of the drinking port, to form the discontinuous or interrupted glass joint when the lid is inserted into the upper open end of the body ([0044] ground glass joint of 21 and 31);
But McCluskey does not explicitly teach an inductively couplable layer.
Fujii, however, teaches a beverage container with a lid (Fig 1, a container 1 with a lid 17) comprising:
an inductively couplable layer is joined to, or secured to, the outer surface of the inner wall and/or to the outer surface of the inner bottom wall (Fujii, Fig 1, col 6, lines 37-43, a layer 5 is coupled to the outer surface of the inner body wall 2b and the outer surface of the inner bottom wall of 2b, capable of being coupled by ion plating (i.e. inductively/electrical inductance), and being made of a metal/metal oxide powder to allow inductive/electromagnetic heating).
The purpose of a plated contact layer is to prevent thermal radiation/emission (Fujii, col 6, line 37). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inner wall of the body of McCluskey with a layer as taught by Fujii in order to advantageously retain heat to keep the desired beverage temperature longer by preventing heat dissipation/radiation, thereby enhancing insulation.
(and Fujii further teaches in light of related dependents:
(claim 39) at least one surface of the walls defining the lid cavity is coated with infrared-reflecting coating (Fig 1, col 3, line 11, thermal preventing reflecting layer 5 inside the lid on a wall; col 3, lines 13-14, low conductivity gas in the container wall, and in the lid, col 5, lines 10-13),
(claim 40) the cavity is filled with an insulating gas, wherein the insulating gas is selected from the group consisting of air, low-oxygen gas, low-pressure gas, low-conductivity gas and mixtures thereof (col 5, lines 10-13).)
Regarding claim 39, McCluskey/Fujii further teaches at least one surface of the walls defining the lid cavity is coated with infrared-reflecting coating (Fujii). See details in the parent claim 38 rejection above, including the motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify.
Regarding claim 40, McCluskey/Fujii further teaches the cavity is filled with an insulating gas, wherein the insulating gas is selected from the group consisting of air, low-oxygen gas, low-pressure gas, low-conductivity gas and mixtures thereof (Fujii). See details in the parent claim 38 rejection above, including the motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify.
Claims 35-36 are each independently rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210155384 by McCluskey (hereinafter “McCluskey”) in view of US 6119889 issued to Fujii et al. (hereinafter “Fujii”) in further view of NPL Fernico Wiki (hereinafter “Fernico Wiki”).
Regarding claim 35, McCluskey/Fujii further teaches an inductively couplable layer joined to, or secured to, the outer surface of the inner wall, wherein the inductively couplable layer has a coefficient of thermal expansion (Fujii, Fig 1, col 6, lines 37-43, a layer 5 is coupled to the outer surface of the inner body wall 2b). See details in the parent claim 26 rejection above, including the motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify.
But McCluskey/Fujii does not explicitly teach the layer matching the glass wall coefficient of thermal expansion.
Fernico Wiki, however, teaches an inductive coupling layer (FerNiCo/iron/nickel/cobalt metal is necessarily ferromagnetic) has a coefficient of thermal expansion matched to the coefficient of thermal expansion of glass (“these possess… thermal coefficients of expansion which match glass”; “FerNiCo has the same linear coefficient of [thermal] expansion as… glass”).
The purpose of matching thermal expansion coefficient of the metal layer to the glass is to seal the glass versus fractures or leaks from changes in temperature (Fernico Wiki, para 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the layer of Fujii to match the coefficient of thermal expansion of the body glass of McCluskey as taught by Fernico Wiki in order to advantageously prevent fractures and leaks through said fractures in the glass from changes in temperature.
Regarding claim 36, McCluskey/Fujii does not explicitly teach that the inductive coupling layer is a specific material.
Fernico Wiki, however, teaches an inductive coupling layer (FerNiCo is iron/nickel/cobalt metal so is necessarily ferromagnetic) being ferro magnetic or ferrimagnetic, wherein the inductive coupling layer is formed from at least one of Iron, Nickel, or Cobalt elements and combinations thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the layer of Fujii to be at least iron as taught by Fernico Wiki in order to advantageously prevent fractures and leaks through said fractures in the glass from changes in temperature through matched thermal coefficients (Fernico Wiki, para 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 15-17, 23-24, 25, 27-33, 37 have allowable subject matter for being allowed matter of the parent application under a Terminal Disclaimer. However, the remaining claims have new matter from the CIP so cannot escape rejection. In other words, rearranging the current limitations again will not suffice. The CIP matter allows use of the McCluskey publication.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
US 20090065500 - inner wall 410 bottom wall shown with induction heated layer 418 with a layer 417 "to provide a more evenly heated cooking surface" (Fig 10 [0101]); see also "electrically conductive material… ferromagnetic" [0058] "layer 118" [0076] wherein "Heat is generated in the target layer 118 of the inner wall 110 by a magnetic field generated by an induction coil of an induction cooktop" [0077]; and example thickness of said layer to be "such as 410 stainless steel having a thickness of roughly 0.76 mm" [0069] which is greater than the argued nanometers of Fuji; and the extent of the layer is not limited to the bottom wall of the inner wall but also can be to the sidewall of the inner wall "inner wall 13 is the target of the induction coil 12 and is formed of an electrically conductive material" (Fig 1A [0058])
KR 20110092716 - mica material layer 3 for indirect heating shown on the bottom and sidewall of the inner wall, likely by electromagnetic induction, or at least infrared radiation as disclosed (Figs 1-2)
DE 102013214902 - electromagnetic induction heated inner wall of a "beverage container 1" (Fig 1)
/ERIC C BALDRIGHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/DON M ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733