Response to Arguments
The rejection of claim 3 under 35 USC 112(d) has been overcome by the amendment and is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 11-12, filed July 7, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Park et al. (US 2023/0128584 A1), Jang et al. (US 2023/0011595 A1), Protze (US Patent 4,156,408 A), Lee et al (US. 2019/0372069 A1), Capati et al (US. 2019/0081372 A1), Botadra et al. (US 2022/0131210 A1), and Yang et al. (KR 10-2019-0023917).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-12, 15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2023/0128584 A1) in view of Jang et al. (US 2023/0011595 A1) and Yang et al (KR 10-2019-0023917; all citations refer to attached English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a battery module with positive and negative terminals disposed on the exterior of the housing (connector visible in Fig. 2; see below) and cylindrical battery cells with positive (231) and negative (232) electrode terminals (Fig. 4) that may be connected to each other in series or in parallel via busbars ([0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to connect the batteries in an appropriate configuration to achieve the desired voltage, including connecting some or all of the batteries in parallel. Connecting any of the batteries in parallel would necessarily require connecting groups to the respective external terminals.
The module includes a heat sink (300) comprising upper and lower plates sandwiching a refrigerant flow channel ([0043]). Park does not teach any particular refrigerant flow structure. Jang teaches that a multidirectional coolant path (Fig. 5) including an inlet and outlet efficiently cools the entire area ([0074]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use the structure of Jang in the battery of Park in order to efficiently cool the entire module.
Modified Park does not teach that the module includes a thermal runaway protection blanket. Yang teaches that providing a heat dissipating member with recessed portions (predetermined spaces 400) in the surface facing the battery cells (i.e., the second surface) allows for discharge of gas from vents in the cells and prevents fire or explosion in neighboring cells (Yang [0047] and Fig. 4). The recessed portions above the cells are grooves (Yang [0047]) that extend to the end of the module (Yang Fig. 2), so the recess above each cell is in fluid communication with the recesses above adjacent cells and the common space at the end of the module. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to include the heat dissipating member of Yang in the module of modified Park to allow for discharge of gas from vents in the cells and to prevent fire or explosion in neighboring. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to place this heat dissipating member between the cells and the coolant plate, since the recesses must be adjacent to the cells, and the coolant plate is intended to improve heat dissipation.
Regarding claim 2, modified Park teaches that the heat sink may be made of a material such as aluminum (Park [0044]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use aluminum, since it is the only option listed.
Regarding claim 3, modified Park teaches that the heat sink may be made of a material such as aluminum (Park [0044]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use aluminum, since it is the only option listed. Aluminum has a thermal conductivity of 237 W m-1 K-1, which falls within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 9, the coolant channel of modified Park is serpentine (Jang Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10, the flow path of modified Park extends in a 1st direction and turns 180 degrees to extend in a parallel 2nd direction (Jang Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 11, the flow path makes multiple 180 degree turns to alternate between the 1st and 2nd directions (see figure above).
Regarding claim 12, the flow path extends in a 3rd direction perpendicular to the 1st direction and turns 180 to extend in a 4th direction parallel to the 3rd direction (see figure above).
Regarding claim 15, modified Park does not teach the use of a second inlet, second outlet, or second coolant flow channel. However, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.04 VIB; In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 20, modified Park teaches that battery packs comprising a plurality of battery modules may be used in a vehicle (Park [0004]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to connect the modules as needed to achieve the desired voltage, including in series. The positive and negative terminals of the modules of modified Park are on the same side (see Park Fig. 2 above).
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Jang and Yang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Protze (US Patent 4,156,408 A).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, modified Park does not teach the use of a valve. Protze teaches that the use of a thermostatic valve on a coolant line is the conventional means to begin cooling at a predetermined temperature (col. 3, line 64-col. 4, line 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to include a thermostatic valve in the coolant system of modified Park in order to begin cooling at a predetermined temperature.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 9-12, 15, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US. 2019/0372069 A1) in view of Jang and Yang.
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a battery module comprising a positive terminal and a negative terminal (contact receiving part 233 and contact connection part 245) on an exterior of the housing (Figs. 7-9) with cylindrical cells electrically connected in groups by busbars (250) such that the busbars of each group are connected to their respective terminals (Figs. 6-8 and [0103]-[0104]).
Lee does not teach the use of a cooling plate. Jang teaches that a multidirectional coolant path (Fig. 5) with upper and lower plates sandwiching a refrigerant flow path ([0065]-[0066]) including an inlet (520) and outlet (530) efficiently cools the entire area ([0074]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use the structure of Jang in the battery of Lee in order to efficiently cool the entire module.
Modified Lee does not teach that the module includes a thermal runaway protection blanket. Yang teaches that providing a heat dissipating member with recessed portions (predetermined spaces 400) in the surface facing the battery cells (i.e., the second surface) allows for discharge of gas from vents in the cells and prevents fire or explosion in neighboring cells (Yang [0047] and Fig. 4). The recessed portions above the cells are grooves (Yang [0047]) that extend to the end of the module (Yang Fig. 2), so the recess above each cell is in fluid communication with the recesses above adjacent cells and the common space at the end of the module. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to include the heat dissipating member of Yang in the module of modified Lee to allow for discharge of gas from vents in the cells and to prevent fire or explosion in neighboring. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to place this heat dissipating member between the cells and the coolant plate, since the recesses must be adjacent to the cells, and the coolant plate is intended to improve heat dissipation.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, modified Lee teaches that the cooling plate may be selected from a list of materials including various aluminum alloys (Jang [0080]: AL60, AL40, AL30), each of which has a thermal conductivity within the claimed range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to try any of the finite number of suitable materials listed, including aluminum.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, all of the cells of modified Lee have the same orientation (Lee [0094]). The cells do not have any particular orientation vertical orientation (there is no requirement for positive terminals to be up or down), so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have either terminal facing the cooling plate.
Regarding claim 9, the coolant channel of modified Lee is serpentine (Jang Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10, the flow path of modified Lee extends in a 1st direction and turns 180 degrees to extend in a parallel 2nd direction (Jang Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 11, the flow path makes multiple 180 degree turns to alternate between the 1st and 2nd directions (see figure above).
Regarding claim 12, the flow path extends in a 3rd direction perpendicular to the 1st direction and turns 180 to extend in a 4th direction parallel to the 3rd direction (see figure above).
Regarding claim 15, modified Lee does not teach the use of a second inlet, second outlet, or second coolant flow channel. However, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.04 VIB; In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 18, modified Lee teaches arrangements including a plurality of battery modules connected in series via positive and negative terminals arranged on opposite faces (Lee Figs. 6 and 9).
Regarding claim 19, modified Lee gives examples with modules side by side and stacked (Lee Figs. 6 and 9).
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Jang and Yang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Protze.
Regarding claims 16 and 17, modified Lee does not teach the use of a valve. Protze teaches that the use of a thermostatic valve on a coolant line is the conventional means to begin cooling at a predetermined temperature (col. 3, line 64-col. 4, line 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to include a thermostatic valve in the coolant system of modified Park in order to begin cooling at a predetermined temperature.
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-12, 15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capati et al (US. 2019/0081372 A1) in view of Botadra et al. (US 2022/0131210 A1), Jang, and Yang.
Regarding claim 1, Capati teaches a battery module (100) with external positive and negative terminals (510 and 515) comprising groups of cylindrical cells (blocks 105 of cells 110) and a cooling plate (130) (Figs. 1 and 5). Capati does not teach that the cells within the groups are coupled by busbars. Botadra teaches that grouping cells in quadrants and connecting them by busbars simplifies the connection procedure ([0102]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use the busbar method of Botadra to simplify the connection process.
Capati does not teach the particular structure of a cooling plate. Jang teaches that a multidirectional coolant path (Fig. 5) with upper and lower plates sandwiching a refrigerant flow path ([0065]-[0066]) including an inlet (520) and outlet (530) efficiently cools the entire area ([0074]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use the structure of Jang in the battery of Lee in order to efficiently cool the entire module.
Modified Capati does not teach that the module includes a thermal runaway protection blanket. Yang teaches that providing a heat dissipating member with recessed portions (predetermined spaces 400) in the surface facing the battery cells (i.e., the second surface) allows for discharge of gas from vents in the cells and prevents fire or explosion in neighboring cells (Yang [0047] and Fig. 4). The recessed portions above the cells are grooves (Yang [0047]) that extend to the end of the module (Yang Fig. 2), so the recess above each cell is in fluid communication with the recesses above adjacent cells and the common space at the end of the module. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to include the heat dissipating member of Yang in the module of modified Capati to allow for discharge of gas from vents in the cells and to prevent fire or explosion in neighboring. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to place this heat dissipating member between the cells and the coolant plate, since the recesses must be adjacent to the cells, and the coolant plate is intended to improve heat dissipation.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, modified Capati teaches that the cold plate may be made of any conductive metal such as copper or aluminum (Capati [0026]), each of which has a thermal conductivity within the claimed range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to try any of the finite number of suitable materials listed, including copper or aluminum.
Regarding claim 7, modified Capati teaches that grouping cells in quadrants with alternating vertical orientations and connecting them by busbars simplifies the connection procedure (Botadra [0102] and Fig. 11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use the quadrant grouping of Botadra to simplify the connection process.
Regarding claim 8, modified Capati teaches that the battery modules can include a plurality of cooling plates, such as a plate for each battery block (Capati [0026]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to try any of the finite number of configurations suggested by Capati, including providing plates for each battery block within the module.
Regarding claim 9, the coolant channel of modified Capati is serpentine (Jang Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10, the flow path of modified Capati extends in a 1st direction and turns 180 degrees to extend in a parallel 2nd direction (Jang Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 11, the flow path makes multiple 180 degree turns to alternate between the 1st and 2nd directions (see figure above).
Regarding claim 12, the flow path extends in a 3rd direction perpendicular to the 1st direction and turns 180 to extend in a 4th direction parallel to the 3rd direction (see figure above).
Regarding claim 15, modified Capati does not teach the use of a second inlet, second outlet, or second coolant flow channel. However, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.04 VIB; In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 20, modified Capati teaches the use of multiple modules, each with positive and negative terminals (510 and 515) on the same face and connected in series (Capati Fig. 5).
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capati in view of Botadra, Jang, and Yang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Protze.
Regarding claims 16 and 17, modified Capati does not teach the use of a valve. Protze teaches that the use of a thermostatic valve on a coolant line is the conventional means to begin cooling at a predetermined temperature (col. 3, line 64-col. 4, line 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to include a thermostatic valve in the coolant system of modified Park in order to begin cooling at a predetermined temperature.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.A.C/ Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722