DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made to Applicant’s claim amendments received 26 February 2026. Claims 1-12 are withdrawn from consideration, claims 13, 14 and 16 are under consideration and claims 15 and 17 are cancelled.
Claim Objections
Acknowledgment is made to Applicant’s claim amendments received 26 February 2026. The objections to the claims presented in the Office Action of 24 October 2025 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Acknowledgment is made to Applicant’s claim amendments received 26 February 2026. The rejections to the claims presented under 35 USC 112 in the Office Action of 24 October 2025 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Acknowledgment is made to Applicant’s claim amendments received 26 February 2026. The rejections to the claims presented under 35 USC 102 in the Office Action of 24 October 2025 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 105862066 A to Lee et al. (Lee) in view of US 2019/0390354 A1 to Frimann (Frimann).
As to claims 13 and 14, Lee teaches a method for producing hydrogen and oxygen by electrolysis of an electrolysis medium, the method comprising electrochemical splitting of water by means of an electrolysis cell stack (4), whereby a hydrogen loaded catholyte (H2/H2O stream) withdrawn from a cathode section of the electrolysis cell stack and an oxygen loaded anolyte withdrawn from an anode section of the electrolysis stack is obtained; supplying the hydrogen loaded catholyte to a catholyte gas-liquid separator (8) to separate hydrogen gas (through hydrogen exhaust valve (15)) from the hydrogen loaded catholyte, whereby hydrogen gas and a hydrogen depleted catholyte (exiting the bottom of separator (8)) is obtained; supplying the oxygen loaded anolyte (O2/H2O stream) to an anolyte gas-liquid separator (7) to separate oxygen (via oxygen vent valve (14)) from the oxygen loaded anolyte, whereby oxygen and an oxygen depleted anolyte (exiting the bottom of separator (7)) is obtained; withdrawing the hydrogen depleted catholyte from the catholyte gas-liquid separator (8) back to the electrolysis stack (4), including the cathode section (through circular pump (3)); withdrawing the oxygen depleted anolyte form the anolyte gas-liquid separator (7) back to the electrolysis stack (4), including the anode section (through circular pump (3)); and supplying the oxygen loaded anolyte withdrawn from the anode section of the electrolysis cell stack (4) to an anolyte cooler (5) to obtain a cooled oxygen loaded anolyte before supplying the oxygen loaded anolyte to the anolyte gas-liquid separator (7) (Paragraphs 0033, 0037, 0041, 0042, 0050 and 0051; Figure 1). Lee further teaches that, in at least one embodiment, the hydrogen depleted catholyte withdrawn from the catholyte gas-liquid separator (8) and the oxygen depleted anolyte withdrawn from the anolyte gas-liquid separator (7) are sent back to the electrolysis cell (4) without passing through a further cooler (Figure 1).
However, Lee teaches that the electrolysis medium is water alone and fails to teach that the electrolysis medium is a concentrated potassium hydroxide solution. However, Frimann also discusses water electrolysis for the production of hydrogen and oxygen and teaches that in addition to a proton exchange membrane the cell can comprise a 15 to 30 wt% potassium hydroxide (Paragraphs 0012 and 0041). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize a 15 to 30 wt% potassium hydroxide electrolyte in addition to the PEM of Lee as taught by Frimann, thus ensuring current flow through the apparatus for the electrolytic reaction via the combination of known means (MPEP 2144.06 I).
As to claim 16, the combination of Lee and Frimann teaches the method of claim 13. Lee further teaches that the hydrogen depleted catholyte withdrawn from the catholyte gas-liquid separator (8) and the oxygen depleted anolyte withdrawn from the anolyte gas-liquid separator (7) are mixed to obtain a hydrogen and oxygen depleted mixed electrolysis medium (sent through pump (3)) to obtain a hydrogen and oxygen depleted mixed electrolysis medium recycled to the electrolysis cell stack (4) through pump (3) (Paragraph 0033 and 0049; Figure 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 26 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants argue that Lee fails to teach that the electrolyte is an aqueous alkaline medium as newly amended. The Examiner does not disagree; however, the Examiner maintains that Frimann teaches this limitation, as discussed above. Applicants did not present any arguments against Frimann, previously utilized only for dependent claim 14.
Conclusion
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794