DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims status
Claims 1-43 are pending. Claims 1 and 43 are amended.
Claims 12-41 were withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions.
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Applicant's amendment and arguments filed 11/19/2025 with respect to the rejection of present claims 1-11 and 42-43 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glorioso et al. (US Pub. 2019/0387779; “Glorioso”) in view of Glorioso et al. (US 9,616,381; “Glorioso ‘381”) and EP 3280496 to Sun et al. (“Sun”) have been carefully studied and fully considered. The previous rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made based on Glorioso in view of EP 3280496 to Sun et al. (“Sun”), based on a different interpretation of different embodiments of Glorioso as discussed in details below in the body of the rejection.
Because Glorioso is continued to be relied up, the examiner address applicant’s arguments regarding Glorioso below.
Applicant contends that (1) the alleged modification of Glorioso in view of Glorioso ‘381 would change the principle of operation of Glorioso (remarks, page 11), because per applicant, the proposed modification of Glorioso to include the gel mixture of Glorioso ‘381 would change the principle of operation of Glorioso (remarks, page 11), and (2) Sun only discloses a fragrance delivery composition that includes “0.01 wt% to 10 wt% of a fragrance”, Sun does not teach “wherein the substantially pure plant extract comprising about 95% to about 100% of the plant extract is suspended in the gel mixture” (remarks, page 14, first to third para).
In response to contention (1), applicant’s argument is moot as Glorioso ‘381 is no longer relied upon for base of rejection. In this regard, upon further review, it should be noted that Glorioso further teaches as in one of its embodiments that the mixture of its humidity control material and the substantially pure plant extract is a gel mixture (para [0028], Glorioso teaches that its humidity control substance also includes a gelling agent, and thus, is a gel mixture; and Glorioso expressly teaches the gelling agent may increase viscosity of the humidity control substance 10 and the glycerin-plant extract mixture and may reduce or minimize the likelihood of the humidity control substance 10 and the glycerin-plant extract mixture leaching through the package).
In response to contention (2), Applicant's arguments have been carefully studied and fully considered, but they are not found persuasive. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck& Co., 800 F.2d 1091,231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). MPEP § 2145. In this case, the fragrance and the amount of the fragrance contained of Sun are not relied upon as base for rejection. The primary reference Glorioso teaches using plant extract, and Glorioso does not teach or suggest that its plant extract must include other extract/other than plant extract, and thus, such plant extract of Glorioso that is of 100% plant extract, and is considered being substantially pure plant extract comprises 100% plant extract, meeting the claimed limitations of being substantially pure plant extract comprises about 95% to about 100% of the plant extract. Glorioso teaches the mixture of substantially pure plant extract (that comprises about 95% to about 100% of the plant extract) blended with the two-way humidity control material is in a gel mixture.
Sun teaches a fragrance containing composition in the form of gel suspension having plant extract/fragrance suspended in the gel mixture providing extended longevity fragrance composition (para [0008] [0011] [0028], the suitable fragrance substance includes natural extracts).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the humidity control system of Glorioso in view the teachings of Sun, to include the substantially pure plant extract that comprises about 95% to about 100% of the plant extract in the gel mixture in the form of gel suspension as taught by Sun having the plant extract/fragrance suspended in the gel mixture as taught by Sun (para [0008] [0011] [0028]), to provide an improved humidity control system with extended longevity fragrance, which would have predictably arrived at a satisfactory humidity control system that is the same as instantly claimed.
Any rejections and/or objections, made in the previous Office Action, and not repeated in the present Office Action, are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 42-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glorioso et al. (US Pub. 2019/0387779; “Glorioso”) in view of EP 3280496 to Sun et al. (“Sun”).
Regarding independent claims 1 and 43, and claim 10, Glorioso teaches a humidity control system (humidity control system 1, see Figs. 2; para [0012]) comprising:
- a two-way humidity control material (Fig. 2, para [0006] [0019], the humidity control substance 10 of Glorioso that is two-way humectant, meeting the claimed limitations),
- a substantially pure plant extract (20) (the suitable plant extract such as terpenes, para [0006], Glorioso teaches the inclusion and the use of plant extract, and Glorioso does not teach or suggest that its plant extract must include other extract and/or substance, i.e., other than the plant extract, which would otherwise render the plant extract not pure, and thus, the plant extract of Glorioso is considered being substantially pure plant extract, meeting the claimed limitations) blended with the two-way humidity control material to form a mixture (para [0006], the two-way humectant is mixed with the plant extract/terpenes forming a mixture, meeting the claimed limitations), wherein the substantially pure plant extract comprises about 95% to about 100% of the plant extract (Glorioso teaches using plant extract, and Glorioso does not teach or suggest that its plant extract must include other extract/other than plant extract, and thus, such plant extract of Glorioso that is of 100% plant extract, and is considered being substantially pure plant extract comprises 100% plant extract, meeting the claimed limitations of claim 1 and claim 43; further Glorioso teaches using the suitable plant extract such as terpenes/pure terpenes, para [0020] [0021], which is the same plant extract as that of the instant application, meeting the claimed material limitations of claim 10); and
- a package (the package 30, Fig. 1; para [0006] [0012]) housing the two-way humidity control material (10) and the substantially pure plant extract (20) (see Fig. 1, para [0006] [0012]).
Glorioso teaches its humidity control system with the inclusion of suitable humidity control material that includes the substantially pure plant extract (20) blended with the two-way humidity control material to form a mixture (para [0006]). Glorioso further teaches as in one of its embodiments that the mixture (of the humidity control material and the substantially pure plant extract) is a gel mixture (para [0028], Glorioso teaches that its humidity control substance also includes a gelling agent, and thus, is a gel mixture; and Glorioso teaches the gelling agent may increase viscosity of the humidity control substance 10 and the glycerin-plant extract mixture and may reduce or minimize the likelihood of the humidity control substance 10 and the glycerin-plant extract mixture leaching through the package).
As discussed above, Glorioso teaches the mixture of substantially pure plant extract (that comprises about 95% to about 100% of the plant extract) blended with the two-way humidity control material is in a gel mixture. In this regard, Glorioso teaches using plant extract, and Glorioso does not teach or suggest that its plant extract must include other extract/other than plant extract, and thus, such plant extract of Glorioso that is of 100% plant extract, and is considered being substantially pure plant extract comprises 100% plant extract, meeting the claimed limitations of being substantially pure plant extract comprises about 95% to about 100% of the plant extract.
Glorioso does not specifically teach the substantially pure plant extract (that comprises about 95% to about 100% of the plant extract) is suspended in the gel mixture, as instantly claimed in claims 1 and 43.
Sun teaches a fragrance containing composition in the form of gel suspension having plant extract/fragrance suspended in the gel mixture providing extended longevity fragrance composition (para [0008] [0011] [0028], the suitable fragrance substance includes natural extracts).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the humidity control system of Glorioso in view the teachings of Sun, to include the substantially pure plant extract that comprises about 95% to about 100% of the plant extract in the gel mixture in the form of gel suspension as taught by Sun having the plant extract/fragrance suspended in the gel mixture as taught by Sun (para [0008] [0011] [0028]), to provide an improved humidity control system with extended longevity fragrance, which would have predictably arrived at a satisfactory humidity control system that is the same as instantly claimed in claims 1 and 43.
Regarding claim 43, claim 43 contains process limitations with regards to how the mixture/blend is made, i.e., blended … by a homogenizer. It should be noted that the recitation of “the plant extract is blended with the mixture by a homogenizer” of claim 43 is considered as product-by-process limitation. It is the examiner’s position that the recited process does not result in a patentably distinctive structural difference in the resultant blend/mixture. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. [E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Further, “although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983). See MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 2, Glorioso teaches that the packaging comprises nonwoven fabric (para [0016]), meeting the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 3, Glorioso teaches as in one of its embodiments that the nonwoven fabric comprises polyethylene (para [0016]), meeting the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 4, Glorioso teaches as in one of its embodiments that the nonwoven fabric comprises polyethylene and a polypropylene spunbound material (para [0017]), meeting the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 5, Glorioso teaches the two-way humidity control material (10) comprises a viscous miscible glycerol and water mix (para [0019]), meeting the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 6, Glorioso teaches the two-way humidity control material comprises a saturated salt solution (para [0019]), meeting the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 7, Glorioso teaches as in one of its embodiments the inclusion of ascorbic acid para [0027]), the ascorbic acid being housed in the package with the two-way humidity control material and the substantially pure plant extract (para [0027], the ascorbic acid is included with the humidity control substance, being housed in the package).
Regarding claim 8, Glorioso teaches the inclusion of a humidity indicating card affixed to the package (para [0031]).
Regarding claim 9, Glorioso teaches the inclusion of suitable amount of the substantially pure plant extract in the amount of 0.025% to about 5% by weight (para [0195]), which range overlaps with the instantly claimed range of about 0.025% and about 5.0%. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 11, Glorioso teaches the suitable plant extract includes terpene Linalool, Myrcene, a-Pinene, Humulene, Beta-Caryophyllene (para [0020] [0021]), meeting the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 42, claim 42 contains process limitations with regards to how the mixture is added to the package, i.e., using a cylinder pump. It should be noted that the recitation of “the mixture is added to the package using a cylinder pump” of claim 42 is considered as product-by-process limitation. It is the examiner’s position that the recited process does not result in a patentably distinctive structural difference in the resultant humidity control system. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. [E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) . Further, “although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983). See MPEP 2113.
Conclusion
/YAN LAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782