DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 11/12/2025 has been entered. The Applicant amended claims 1, 2, 6-14 and 17-20. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 11/12/2025 with respect to amended independent claims 1, 12 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of the new references being used in the current rejection. Applicant arguments directed to the newly added claim limitations that were not previously rejected under art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. (US 7139113, of record) in view of Yang et al. (US 2007/0097486) and further in view of Hornbeck (US 2009/0168146, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Chu teaches an apparatus (refer to US 7139113), comprising:
an electrode layer comprising address electrodes (address electrode 460a, 460b, connected to address pads 410a-f, [C-12, L-56-57; Figs. 4A-C]) and a hinge base (pads 402 and vias 426; [C-9. L-18-19], [C-10, L-50], Fig. 4A);
a hinge layer (layer of hinge 458; [C-12, L-3]) over the electrode layer (address electrode 460a is disposed on one side of hinge 458, [C-12; L-57-58]), the hinge layer comprising:
a hinge having a longitudinal axis between opposite ends (Fig. 4A shows hinge 458 having a longitudinal axis between opposite ends, this hinge works as a torsional);
a first single spring tip and a second single spring tip spaced from the hinge (spring tips 459 (on two sides of 458) spaced from the hinge 458, Figs. 4A-C); and
electrodes (electrodes 460a-b, Figs. 4A and 4C) spaced from the hinge (from 458), from the first single spring tip, and from the second single spring tip (spring tips 459, [Figs. 4A-C]; spring tips 459 are disposed further from hinge 458, [C-13, L-38-39], Fig. 4A); and
a mirror (micro-mirror 442, [C-9, L-16; Fig. 4A]) over the hinge layer (layer of 458, [C-12, L-3]), the mirror having a tilt axis (406a-406b) on diagonal between a first corner and a second corner (tilt axis between first corner is 406a and a second corner is 406b, tilting axis is 406a to 406b in Fig. 4B; the micro-mirror is tilted in the direction of third and fifth beam portions 452c, 452e; and the micro-mirror is tilted in the direction of fourth and sixth beam portions 452d, 452f; therefore, axis goes from first corner 406a to second corner 406b of Fig. 4B; Thus, the micro-mirror may be tilted in the positive or negative direction, [C-12, L-50-51]), the tilt axis aligned with the longitudinal axis of the hinge (Figs. 4A-C shows that tilt axis 406a-406b aligned with the longitudinal axis of the hinge 458), the mirror having a first tilting corner (406c) and a second tilting corner (406d) opposing one another (see Fig. 4B) across and aligned with a another axis that is perpendicular to the tilt axis (aligned with a axis between 406d and 406c that is perpendicular to the tilt axis, Fig. 4B), the first single spring tip under the first tilting corner (tip 459 under corner 406c) and the second single spring tip under the second tilting corner (spring tips 459 under the second tilting corner 406d, Fig. 4A-C) aligned with the another axis (406c-406d).
Chu doesn’t explicitly teach the hinge is a torsional hinge, raised electrodes spaced from the torsional hinge, the flexible first single spring tip, and the flexible second single spring tip and the rolling axis, the roll axis that is perpendicular to the tilt axis. Chu and Yang are related as MEMS mirrors.
Yang teaches the hinge is a torsional hinge (deformable hinge of a
Yang teaches the hinge is a torsional hinge (torsion spring hinge 116, [0042]; Fig. 1A and 2D.); the flexible first single spring tip and the flexible second single spring tip, (1st and 2nd single flexible spring 710, Figs. 7A and 7B; the flexing of the landing spring will provide for a restoring force, [0104]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the apparatus of Chu by changing the tips to first single flexible spring tip and the second single flexible spring tip, as taught by Yang for the predictable advantage of flexible spring tips provide for restoring force to counteract stiction forces present in the landing region, [0104].
The modified Chu doesn’t explicitly the raised electrodes and another tilting axis is a roll axis.
Chu and Hornbeck are related as MEMS mirrors.
Hornbeck teaches the raised electrodes and another tilting axis is a roll axis, a roll another axis that is perpendicular to the tilt axis (the deformable element is capable of deforming along first and second directions [0005]), the raised electrodes (Raised addressing electrodes 182 and 184, ... raised electrodes for electrostatically attracting the stabilizer wings so as to rotate the mirror plate, [0092]) and another tilting axis is a roll axis (deformable hinge 100 comprises six degrees of freedom, which include rotations around the X, Y, and Z axes. [0052]; mirror plate rotates to the desired positions, for example through an angle .theta. as shown in FIG. 1b, the deformable hinge deforms along desired directions such that the normal vector N rotates in the X-Z plane around the Y axis. Such deformation of the hinge is often referred to as "tilt," "tilt deformation," or "tilt movement." The solid curve in the X-Z plane schematically illustrates the trajectory of the normal vector N as the hinge deforms., [0053], see Fig. 1b; deformable hinges, e.g. torsion hinges, [0125], Raised addressing electrodes 182 and 184, ... raised electrodes for electrostatically attracting the stabilizer wings so as to rotate the mirror plate, [0092]) spaced from the torsional hinge (deformable hinge 500, 182 and 184 are raised electrodes, [0095]; Fig. 11a shows raised electrodes spaced from the deformable hinge). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the modified apparatus of Chu to design electrode as a raised electrodes and add another tilting axis as a roll axis, as taught by Hornbeck for the predictable advantage of bringing the electrodes near to the hinge level to increase electro-statical attraction and to have the mirror rotate in both X and Y direction, see [0052-54];
Regarding claim 2, the modified Chu teaches the apparatus according to claim 1 (see above), spring tips 459 and bias vias 426, [C-9, L-15-19]. Chu teaches in a different embodiment: a first spring tip via supporting the first single spring tip and a second spring tip via supporting the second single spring tip, the first spring tip via and the second spring tip via mechanically and electrically coupling the first single spring tip and the second single spring tip, respectively, to the hinge base (FIG. 3B, six bias vias 308 support spring tips 326 and hinge 316 above the lower layer 360. The bias vias 308 may also operate to relay a bias voltage to hinge 316. Micro-mirror 304 is supported above the hinge 316 upon a single mirror via 302. In addition to providing support for the micro-mirror 304, the mirror via 302 may conductively transfer the bias voltage to the micro-mirror 304. Accordingly, in a manner similar to that described above, a bias voltage may be applied to the bias pad 330. The bias voltage may then be conductively transferred to the spring tips 326 and hinge 316 through the six bias vias 308. [C-7, L-2-11]; Figs. 4A-C show a first spring tip via supporting the first single spring tip and a second spring tip via supporting the second single spring tip, the first spring tip via and the second spring tip via mechanically coupling the first single spring tip and the second single spring tip, respectively, to the hinge base). Yang teaches the flexible first single spring tip and the flexible second single spring tip, (1st and 2nd single flexible spring 710, Figs. 7A and 7B; the flexing of the landing spring will provide for a restoring force, [0104]).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Chu teaches the apparatus according to claim 2 (see above), further comprising raised electrode vias supporting the raised electrodes and electrically coupling the raised electrodes to the address electrodes (Figs. 4A-4C: address vias 424 support raised address electrodes 460a and 460b above each address pad 410, and the address vias 424 relay a control or address voltage from the address pads 410 to the raised address electrodes 460a, 460b, [C-9, L-14-67]).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Chu teaches the apparatus according to claim 3 (see above), further comprising a mirror via on the torsional hinge supporting the mirror and electrically coupling the mirror to the torsional hinge ((see column 7, lines 4-7,
figures 4A-4C in: a single mirror via 428 above the hinge 458 supporting the micro-mirror 442, wherein the mirror via 428 may conductively transfer the bias voltage to the micro-mirror 442, [Figs. 4A-C], see explanation in [C-7, L-4-13]).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Chu teaches the apparatus according to claim 4 (see above), further comprising: hinge vias at the opposite ends of the torsional hinge, the hinge vias supporting the torsional hinge and electrically coupling the torsional hinge to the hinge base (six bias vias 426, support the hinge 458 above the lower layer 420, and a bias voltage may be conductively transferred to the hinge 458)through the six bias vias 426, [C-7, L-1-11; Figs. 4A-C]).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Chu teaches the apparatus according to claim 5 (see above), wherein the mirror is configured to tilt about the tilt axis to a first angle from a horizontal position and the first tilting corner is configured to contact the first single spring tip (spring tips 459), and the mirror is configured to tilt about the tilt axis to a second angle opposite the first angle and the second tilting corner is configured to contact the second single spring tip (the micro-mirror 442 may be tilted in the positive or negative direction until the micro-mirror 442 contacts one or more spring tips 459; [C-7, L-47-49], see Fig. 4A-C;), and also see Hornbeck [0098], [0103], [0122]). Yang teaches the flexible first single spring tip and the flexible second single spring tip, (1st and 2nd single flexible spring 710, Figs. 7A and 7B; the flexing of the landing spring will provide for a restoring force, [0104]).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Chu teaches the apparatus according to claim 6 (see above), wherein the first spring tip via for the first single spring tip is a single spring tip via beneath the first tilting corner of the mirror (spring tips 459, vias 426 beneath the first tilting corner of the mirror 442) and the second spring tip via for the second single spring tip is a single spring tip via beneath the second tilting corner of the mirror (second spring tips 459 on the other side, vias 426 beneath the second tilting corner of the mirror 442, see Figs. 4A-C; the micro-mirror may be tilted in the positive or negative direction until the micro-mirror contacts one or more spring tips 459, [C-12, L-50-51]). Hornbeck in [0098], [0103], [0122], Figs.10-20: single stoppers 204, 214 are disposed in the same plane as a deformable hinge 210, the stoppers comprise a spring tip, and the stoppers 204, 214 are electrically connected to the mirror plate through the stopper post). Yang teaches the flexible first single spring tip and the flexible second single spring tip, (1st and 2nd single flexible spring 710, Figs. 7A and 7B; the flexing of the landing spring will provide for a restoring force, [0104]).
Regarding claim 12, Chu teaches an apparatus (refer to US 7139113), comprising: an electrode layer comprising address electrodes (address electrode 460a, 460b, [C-12, L-56-57; Figs. 4A-C]); a mirror layer (micro-mirror 442, [C-9, L-16; Fig. 4A]) comprising a mirror (micro-mirror 442, [C-9, L-16; Fig. 4A]) configured to tilt about a tilt axis (406a-406b) that runs diagonally between a first corner and a second corner (tilt axis between first corner is 406a and a second corner is 406b, Fig. 4A-C), the mirror having a first tilting corner and a second tilting corner (the micro-mirror is tilted in the direction of third and fifth beam portions 452c, 452e; the micro-mirror is tilted in the direction of fourth and sixth beam portions 452d, 452f; therefore, axis goes from first corner 406a to second corner 406b of Fig. 4B; Thus, the micro-mirror may be tilted in the positive or negative direction, [C-12, L-50-51], Figs. 4A-C shows tilt axis that runs diagonally between a first corner and a second corner); and
a hinge layer over the address electrodes (hinge 458; [C-12, L-3]; address electrode 460a is disposed on one side of hinge 458, [C-12; L-57-58]) and beneath the mirror layer (beneath the mirror 442), the hinge layer comprising:
a hinge having a longitudinal axis between two ends (Fig. 4A shows hinge 458 having a longitudinal axis between opposite ends), and aligned with the tilt axis (aligned with axis from 406a to 406b of Fig. 4B, same as tilt axis);
electrodes (electrodes 460a-b, Fig. 4C) spaced from the hinge (458); and a first spring tip beneath the first tilting corner and a second spring tip beneath the second tilting corner (spring tips 459 beneath the first tilting corner and the second tilting corner, Fig. 4AC), Although, Chu doesn’t explicitly teach the first tilting corner configured to contact the first spring tip when the mirror tilts at a first angle with respect to a horizontal position, and the second tilting corner configured to contact the second spring tip when the mirror tilts at a second angle with respect to the horizontal position. Disclosure of Chu teaches in C-13, L-38-39, and Figs 4A-C: spring tips 459 of the middle layer 450 disposed further from the hinge 458, and in C-7, L47-49, the micro-mirror 412 tilted in a positive or negative direction until the micro-mirror 412 contacts one or more spring tips 459, the Examiner interprets this is equivalent to “the first tilting corner configured to contact the first spring tip when the mirror tilts at a first angle with respect to a horizontal position, and the second tilting corner configured to contact the second spring tip when the mirror tilts at a second angle with respect to the horizontal position”.
Chu doesn’t explicitly teach the hinge is a torsional hinge, raised electrodes spaced from the torsional hinge, flexible single spring tip; the first and second flexible spring tips aligned with a roll axis that is perpendicular to the tilt axis,
Chu and Yang are related as MEMS mirrors.
Yang teaches the hinge is a torsional hinge (deformable hinge of a
Yang teaches the hinge is a torsional hinge (torsion spring hinge 116, [0042]; Fig. 1A and 2D.); the flexible first single spring tip and the flexible second single spring tip, (1st and 2nd single flexible spring 710, Figs. 7A and 7B; the flexing of the landing spring will provide for a restoring force, [0104]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the apparatus of Chu by changing the tips to first single flexible spring tip and the second single flexible spring tip, as taught by Yang for the predictable advantage of flexible spring tips provide for restoring force to counteract stiction forces present in the landing region, [0104].
The modified Chu doesn’t explicitly the raised electrodes and the flexible first single spring tip, and the flexible second single spring tip align with a roll axis that is perpendicular to the tilt axis.
Chu and Hornbeck are related as MEMS mirrors.
Hornbeck teaches the raised electrodes and the flexible second single spring tip align with a roll axis that is perpendicular to the tilt axis (the deformable element is capable of deforming along first and second directions [0005]), the raised electrodes (Raised addressing electrodes 182 and 184, ... raised electrodes for electrostatically attracting the stabilizer wings so as to rotate the mirror plate, [0092]) and another tilting axis is a roll axis (deformable hinge 100 comprises six degrees of freedom, which include rotations around the X, Y, and Z axes. [0052]; mirror plate rotates to the desired positions, for example through an angle .theta. as shown in FIG. 1b, the deformable hinge deforms along desired directions such that the normal vector N rotates in the X-Z plane around the Y axis. Such deformation of the hinge is often referred to as "tilt," "tilt deformation," or "tilt movement." The solid curve in the X-Z plane schematically illustrates the trajectory of the normal vector N as the hinge deforms., [0053], see Fig. 1b; deformable hinges, e.g. torsion hinges, [0125], Raised addressing electrodes 182 and 184, ... raised electrodes for electrostatically attracting the stabilizer wings so as to rotate the mirror plate, [0092]) spaced from the torsional hinge (deformable hinge 500, 182 and 184 are raised electrodes, [0095]; Fig. 11a shows raised electrodes spaced from the deformable hinge). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the modified apparatus of Chu to design electrode as a raised electrodes and add another tilting axis as a roll axis, as taught by Hornbeck for the predictable advantage of bringing the electrodes near to the hinge level to increase electro-statical attraction and to have the mirror rotate in both X and Y direction, see [0052-54];
Regarding claim 13, the modified Chu teaches the apparatus according to claim 12 (see above), and further comprising a first spring tip via supporting the first spring tip and a second spring tip via supporting the second spring tip (see Figs. 4A-C, Vias 426 and spring tips 459 on both sides in Fig. 4C), the first spring tip (459) and the first spring tip via (426) are beneath the first tilting corner of the mirror to form a single contact point for the mirror at the first tilting corner of the mirror (the micro-mirror is tilted in the direction of third and fifth beam portions 452c, 452e; the micro-mirror is tilted in the direction of fourth and sixth beam portions 452d, 452f; therefore, axis goes from first corner 406a to second corner 406b of Fig. 4B; Thus, the micro-mirror may be tilted in the positive or negative direction, [C-12, L-50-51], Figures show spring tip via 426 are beneath the first tilting corner of the mirror 442 and are a single spring tip 459 and a single spring tip via 426 for the first tilting corner of the mirror;). Yang teaches the flexible first single spring tip and the flexible second single spring tip, (1st and 2nd single flexible spring 710, Figs. 7A and 7B; the flexing of the landing spring will provide for a restoring force, [0104]; spring 710 shows forming a single contact point for the mirror at the first tilting corner of the mirror).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Chu teaches the apparatus according to claim 12 (see above), wherein one of the raised electrodes (electrodes 460a-b, Figs. 4A-C) in the hinge layer (hinge 458) is between the first spring tip (459) and the torsional hinge (458), and spaced from the first spring tip (see Fig. 4A); Yang teaches the flexible first single spring tip and the flexible second single spring tip, (1st and 2nd single flexible spring 710, Figs. 7A and 7B; the flexing of the landing spring will provide for a restoring force, [0104]).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Chu teaches the apparatus according to claim 14 (see above), wherein the mirror has a roll axis perpendicular to the tilt axis and intersecting the tilt axis at a center of the mirror, the first tilting corner and the second tilting corner aligned with the roll axis, and the one of the raised electrodes is symmetrical about the roll axis and has a portion extending across the roll axis (see C-7, L- 47-49, Figs. 4A-C, the micro-mirror 412 has a first side and a second side divided by the hinge 458, the micro-mirror 412 is tilted in a positive or negative direction until the micro-mirror 412 contacts one or more spring tips 459, and Figs, 4A-C: first and second address electrodes 460a and 460b are separated by the hinge 458, see C-12, L-60-61.
Hornbeck teaches the deformable hinge may deform in such a way that the normal vector N rotates in the Y-Z plane around the X axis, which is referred to as "roll movement" or "roll deformation." The deformable hinge may also deform along the Z direction, [0053], see Fig. 1b).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Chu teaches the apparatus according to claim 12 (see above), wherein the address electrodes (address electrode 460a, 460b, [C-12, L-56-57; Figs. 4A-C]) are beneath the first tilting corner and the second tilting corner of the mirror (mirror 442, the micro-mirror is tilted in the direction of third and fifth beam portions 452c, 452e; the micro-mirror is tilted in the direction of fourth and sixth beam portions 452d, 452f; therefore, axis goes from first corner 406a to second corner 406b of Fig. 4B; Thus, the micro-mirror may be tilted in the positive or negative direction, [C-12, L-50-51]), and the address electrodes further have openings facing a center of the mirror, and the first spring tip via and the second spring tip via are mounted on spring tip via pads of a hinge base in the electrode layer that extend into the openings in the address electrodes (address electrodes 460a, 460b include areas 462 that identify the proximate location for the formation of the address vias, [C-12; L-60-65]).
Regarding claim 17, Chu teaches an apparatus (refer to US 7139113), comprising: a semiconductor substrate (DMD pixel element 240 may generally include a superstructure cell fabricated monolithically over a complementary metal-oxide semiconductor "CMOS" substrate 201, [C-4, L-20-32]; DMD pixel element 400 of FIG. 4A, [C-9, L-22-25]); an electrode layer over the semiconductor substrate (see Fig. 1, substrate 201and electrode layer over the semiconductor substrate; lower layer 420 also includes multiple address pads 410; [C-10, L-38-40]); the electrode layer comprising a first address electrode, a second address electrode spaced apart from the first address electrode, (address electrode 460a, 460b, [C-12, L-56-57; Figs. 4A-C], 460a and 460b are spaced apart from each other, Figs. 4A-C ), and a hinge base (vias 426; [C-9. L-18-19]) spaced from the first address electrode and the second address electrode (see Fig. 4A); a hinge layer (hinge 458) over the electrode layer (address electrode 460a is disposed on one side of hinge 458, [C-12; L-57-58]), the hinge layer comprising: a hinge (Fig. 4A shows hinge 458) having a longitudinal axis between opposite ends (Fig. 4A shows hinge 458 having a longitudinal axis between opposite ends); a first single spring tip and a second single spring tip spaced from the hinge (spring tips 459 spaced from the hinge 458, Figs. 4A-C); and electrodes (electrodes 460a-b, Fig. 4C) spaced from the hinge, from the first single spring tip, and from the second single spring tip (spring tips 459, [Figs. 4A-C]; spring tips 459 of middle layer 450 being disposed further from hinge 458, [C-13, L-38-39]); a mirror (micro-mirror 442, [C-9, L-16; Fig. 4A]) over the hinge layer (458, [C-12, L-3]), the mirror having first, second, third, and fourth corners,(four corners of full mirror 442) in which a tilt axis (rotational axis) extends on a diagonal between the first corner and the second corner, (from 406a to 406b; Figs A-C, mirror 442 having first, second, third, and fourth corners, corners of 406a-c,) in which a tilt axis extends on a diagonal between the first corner and the second corner (tilt axis extends on a diagonal between the first corner 406a/452a and the second corner 406b/452b, see, [C-12, L-50-51]), the tilt axis aligned with the longitudinal axis of the hinge (Figs. 4A-C shows that tilt axis, rotational axis, aligned with the longitudinal axis, 452a-452b, of the hinge 458); a first spring tip via supporting the first single spring tip (via 426 supporting the first single spring tip 459, Fig. 4A) and a second spring tip via supporting the second single spring tip (via 426 of other side supporting the second single spring tip 459, Figs. 4A-C), the first spring tip via and the second spring tip via mechanically and electrically coupling the first spring tip and the second spring tip, respectively, to the hinge base (FIG. 3B, six bias vias 308 support spring tips 326 and hinge 316 above the lower layer 360. The bias vias 308 may also operate to relay a bias voltage to hinge 316. Micro-mirror 304 is supported above the hinge 316 upon a single mirror via 302. In addition to providing support for the micro-mirror 304, the mirror via 302 may conductively transfer the bias voltage to the micro-mirror 304. Accordingly, in a manner similar to that described above, a bias voltage may be applied to the bias pad 330. The bias voltage may then be conductively transferred to the spring tips 326 and hinge 316 through the six bias vias 308. [C-7, L-2-11]; Figs. 4A-C show a first spring tip via supporting the first single spring tip and a second spring tip via supporting the second single spring tip, the first spring tip via and the second spring tip via mechanically coupling the first single spring tip and the second single spring tip, respectively, to the hinge base); and the first single spring tip under the first tilting corner and the second single spring tip under the second tilting corner (spring tips 459 under the first tilting corner and the second tilting corner, Fig. 4A-C; tilting corners are aligned to corners 406c and 406d opposing one another, see Fig. 4B) .
Chu doesn’t explicitly teach the hinge is a torsional hinge, the flexible first single spring tip and the flexible second single spring tip, raised electrodes spaced from the torsional hinge, from the first single spring tip, and from the second single spring tip, and with the first and second flexible beams, and in which a roll axis perpendicular to the tilt axis extends between the third corner and the fourth corner; tilt axis aligned with the longitudinal axis of the hinge and with the first and second flexible beams, and in which a roll axis perpendicular to the tilt axis extends between the third corner and the fourth corner; the first flexible beam of the first single spring tip aligned with the roll axis and forming a single contact point with the third corner of the mirror and the second flexible beam of the second single spring tip aligned with the roll axis and forming a single contact point with the fourth corner of the mirror.
Chu and Yang are related as MEMS mirrors.
Yang teaches the hinge is a torsional hinge (deformable hinge of a
Yang teaches the hinge is a torsional hinge (torsion spring hinge 116, [0042]; Fig. 1A and 2D.); the flexible first single spring tip and the flexible second single spring tip, (1st and 2nd single flexible spring 710, Figs. 7A and 7B; the flexing of the landing spring will provide for a restoring force, [0104]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the apparatus of Chu by changing the tips to first single flexible spring tip and the second single flexible spring tip, as taught by Yang for the predictable advantage of flexible spring tips provide for restoring force to counteract stiction forces present in the landing region, [0104].
Chu and Hornbeck are related as MEMS mirrors.
Hornbeck teaches the hinge is a torsional hinge (deformable element of a microelectromechanical device [abstract]; deformable hinge of a micromirror device, [0063]; design for a deformable hinge and stabilizer mechanism, torsional stiffness, sag stiffness, and roll stiffness may be among many other major factors relevant to the desired performance, [0089]; deformable hinge 100 comprises six degrees of freedom, which include rotations around the X, Y, and Z axes. [0052]; mirror plate rotates to the desired positions, for example through an angle theta. as shown in FIG. 1b, the deformable hinge deforms along desired directions such that the normal vector N rotates in the X-Z plane around the Y axis. Such deformation of the hinge is often referred to as "tilt," "tilt deformation," or "tilt movement." The solid curve in the X-Z plane schematically illustrates the trajectory of the normal vector N as the hinge deforms., [0053], see Fig. 1b; deformable hinges, e.g. torsion hinges, [0125], Raised addressing electrodes 182 and 184, ... raised electrodes for electrostatically attracting the stabilizer wings so as to rotate the mirror plate, [0092]) spaced from the torsional hinge (deformable hinge 500, 182 and 184 are raised electrodes, [0095]; Fig. 11a shows raised electrodes spaced from the deformable hinge. deformable hinges, e.g. torsion hinges, [0125]), raised electrodes (Raised addressing electrodes 182 and 184, ... raised electrodes for electrostatically attracting the stabilizer wings so as to rotate the mirror plate, [0092], Elements 228 and 242 mechanically support the raised electrodes 248 and 256, and provide an electrical conduction path between the raised electrodes 248 and 256, and the underlying electrode pads 230 and 244, [0110] spaced from the torsional hinge (deformable hinge 500, 182 and 184 are raised electrodes, [0095]; Fig. 11a shows raised electrodes spaced from the deformable hinge) from the first single spring tip, and from the second single spring tip (stopper 204 comprises spring tips 208a and 208b, and spring tips 206a and 206b, [0122]; Fig. 20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the apparatus of Chu to include to design the hinge deformable and raised electrodes as taught by Hornbeck for the predictable advantage of deforming the hinge to rotate the mirror as desired; bringing the electrodes near to the hinge level to increase electro-statical attraction and to have the mirror rotate in both X and Y direction, see [0052-54]; as taught by Hornbeck (the deformable element is capable of deforming along first and second directions [0005];).
Claims 8-11 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. in view of Yang and Hornbeck as applied to claim 1 and 17, and further in view of Mezenner (US 2009/0130303, of record).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Chu teaches the apparatus according to claim 2 (see above), wherein the first single spring tip further comprising: a first spring tip beam extending from a first spring tip collar, the first spring tip collar contacting the first spring tip via, the spring tip beam extending along the roll axis toward the first tilting corner of the mirror; and first landing tip at an end of the spring tip beam (Figs. 4A-C: the micro-mirror 412 have a first side and a second side divided by the hinge 458, the micro-mirror 412 is tilted in a positive or negative direction until the micro-mirror 412, contacts one or more spring tips 459, the spring tips 459 comprise extensions from third-sixth beam portions 452c-452f, six bias vias 426 support spring tips 459 above the lower layer 420, and the spring tips 459 provide a landing point for the micro-mirror 442, [claim 1 and C-7, L-1-49]; see Hornbeck: a single stopper is provided for stopping the rotation of the mirror plate along a rotation direction at a specific rotation angle. Specifically, single stopper 186 is provided for stopping the rotation of the mirror plate along the first direction at the first angle; and single stopper 188 stops the rotation of the mirror plate along the second direction opposite to the first direction at the second angle, [0093], Figs. 10-12).
Yang teaches the hinge is a torsional hinge (torsion spring hinge 116, [0042]; Fig. 1A and 2D.); the flexible first single spring tip and the flexible second single spring tip, (1st and 2nd single flexible spring 710, Figs. 7A and 7B; the flexing of the landing spring will provide for a restoring force, [0104]).
Hornbeck teaches the raised electrodes and another tilting axis is a roll axis, a roll another axis that is perpendicular to the tilt axis (the deformable element is capable of deforming along first and second directions [0005]), the raised electrodes (Raised addressing electrodes 182 and 184, ... raised electrodes for electrostatically attracting the stabilizer wings so as to rotate the mirror plate, [0092]) and another tilting axis is a roll axis (deformable hinge 100 comprises six degrees of freedom, which include rotations around the X, Y, and Z axes. [0052]; mirror plate rotates to the desired positions, for example through an angle .theta. as shown in FIG. 1b, the deformable hinge deforms along desired directions such that the normal vector N rotates in the X-Z plane around the Y axis. Such deformation of the hinge is often referred to as "tilt," "tilt deformation," or "tilt movement." The solid curve in the X-Z plane schematically illustrates the trajectory of the normal vector N as the hinge deforms., [0053], see Fig. 1b; deformable hinges, e.g. torsion hinges, [0125], Raised addressing electrodes 182 and 184, ... raised electrodes for electrostatically attracting the stabilizer wings so as to rotate the mirror plate, [0092]) spaced from the torsional hinge (deformable hinge 500, 182 and 184 are raised electrodes, [0095]; Fig. 11a shows raised electrodes spaced from the deformable hinge).
Chu and Mezenner are related as MEMS mirrors.
Mezenner teaches spring tip beam flexibly extending from a spring tip collar (the landing tip is a flexible beam structure for limiting rotation of the mirror plate at desired rotational angles, [0004]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the modified apparatus of Chu to include flexible landing tip, as taught by Mezenner for the predictable advantage securing the mirror when limiting the rotation of the mirror plate.
Regarding claim 9, the modified Chu teaches the apparatus according to claim 8 (see above), wherein the landing tip is aligned with the roll axis (spring tips 459 provide a landing point for a micro-mirror … spring tips 459 associated with third and fifth beam portions 452c, 452e may operate as a landing point for the micro-mirror, [C-12, L-41-50]).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Chu teaches the apparatus according to claim 8 (see above), wherein the landing tip that is offset from the roll axis (see Fig. 4C, spring tips 459 that is offset from the roll axis).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Chu teaches the apparatus according to claim 10 (see above), wherein the first landing tip and the second landing tip are disposed on opposite sides of the roll axis (Fig. 4C, landing tips 459 in both sides, they are on opposite sides of the roll axis).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Chu teaches the apparatus according to claim 17 (see above), wherein, the first single spring tip further comprising: first landing tip at an end of the spring tip beam (Figs. 4A-C: the micro-mirror 412 have a first side and a second side divided by the hinge 458, the micro-mirror 412 is tilted in a positive or negative direction until the micro-mirror 412, contacts one or more spring tips 459, the spring tips 459 provide a landing point for the micro-mirror 442, [claim 1 and C-7, L-1-49]; see Hornbeck: teaches the rotation of the mirror plate along a rotation direction at a specific rotation angle. Specifically, single stopper 186 is provided for stopping the rotation of the mirror plate along the first direction at the first angle; and single stopper 188 stops the rotation of the mirror plate along the second direction opposite to the first direction at the second angle, [0093], Figs. 10-12). Yang teaches the hinge is a torsional hinge (torsion spring hinge 116, [0042]; Fig. 1A and 2D.); the flexible first single spring tip and the flexible second single spring tip, (1st and 2nd single flexible spring 710, Figs. 7A and 7B; the flexing of the landing spring will provide for a restoring force, [0104]).
The modified Chu teaches landing tips, but doesn’t explicitly teach spring tip beam flexibly extending from a spring tip collar.
Chu and Mezenner are related as MEMS mirrors. Mezenner teaches spring tip beam flexibly extending from a spring tip collar (the landing tip is a flexible beam structure for limiting rotation of the mirror plate at desired rotational angles, [0004]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the modified apparatus of Chu to include flexible landing tip, as taught by Mezenner for the predictable advantage securing the mirror when limiting the rotation of the mirror plate.
Regarding claim 19, the modified Chu teaches the apparatus according to claim 18 (see above), wherein the second spring tip (459, Fig. 4A) further comprises a second landing tip at an end of the second flexible beam (see Fig. 4A-C;). Yang teaches the flexible first single spring tip and the flexible second single spring tip, (1st and 2nd single flexible spring 710, Figs. 7A and 7B; the flexing of the landing spring will provide for a restoring force, [0104]).
Regarding claim 20, the modified Chu teaches the apparatus according to claim 18 (see above), wherein the first landing tip and a second landing tip spaced from the first landing tip, the first landing tip and the second landing tip are disposed on opposite sides of the roll axis (see Fig. 4C, spring tips 459, which is landing tip; Fig. 4C, landing tips 459 in both sides, they are on opposite sides). Hornbeck teaches the roll axis, (deformable hinge 100 comprises six degrees of freedom, which include rotations around the X, Y, and Z axes. [0052]; mirror plate rotates to the desired positions, for example through an angle theta. as shown in FIG. 1b, the deformable hinge deforms along desired directions such that the normal vector N rotates in the X-Z plane around the Y axis. Such deformation of the hinge is often referred to as "tilt," "tilt deformation," or "tilt movement." The solid curve in the X-Z plane schematically illustrates the trajectory of the normal vector N as the hinge deforms., [0053]),
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.A/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872