DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
As of the reply filed 3/25/2026, claims 1-4 and 7-20 are pending. Claims 11-20 remain withdrawn from consideration. Claims 5-6 are cancelled. Claims 1-2 and 7 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that “causes for the objections to the Claims are completely addressed”, yet the Examiner notes that the cancellation of claim 5 and its incorporation into claim 1 did not remedy the previously filed objection to claim 5. Claim 1 still recites “in response the force applied to the seal” in the last line, therefore the objection to claim 1 remains.
The previously filed objections to claims 2, 4, and 10, however, have been remedied by the most recent amendments therefore the objections to those claims are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument in view of the Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, last line: “in response the force applied to the seal” is missing a word and should be amended to recite “in response to the force applied to the seal” instead.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (US PGPub 2021/0316128 A1) in view of Franer (US Patent No. 7,789,861 B2) and Venskytis et al. (US PGPub 2021/0213269 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Jiang et al. discloses a handle (54 in Fig. 18) configured for a sheath introducer (catheter sheath assembly 100 is intended for introducing catheters, therefore handle 54 is configured for a sheath introducer), the handle (54) comprising:
an elongated handle housing (exterior housing of 54);
an elongated shaft (50) disposed within the elongated handle housing (54, see Figs. 19-25, the tube 50 extends through the handle housing 54 to allow passage of a dilator 70, PP [0041]: “The hemostatic valve 20 is arranged at or close to a proximal end of the tube body 50. Further, the sheath 10 also includes a handle 54 arranged at the proximal end of the tube body 50”) and comprising a lumen concentric to a longitudinal axis of the handle (see Figs. 19-25, the lumen of 50 lines up with a longitudinal axis of 54);
a seal (20) comprising an opening (see cavity 256 in Fig. 22) substantially centered with the longitudinal axis (see Fig. 22).
However, Jiang et al. fails to disclose the seal being constrained to translate orthogonally in relation to the longitudinal axis in response to a force applied to the seal along or at an angle to the longitudinal axis;
a deformable annulus comprising an inner perimeter fixed in relation to the seal and an outer perimeter fixed in relation to the elongated handle housing, the inner perimeter comprising an inner edge of the deformable annulus; or
a rigid annulus affixed to the seal and affixed to the inner perimeter of the deformable annulus and comprising a proximal portion and a distal portion such that (i) an outer perimeter of the seal is positioned between the proximal portion and the distal portion and (ii) the inner edge of the deformable annulus is sandwiched between the proximal portion and the distal portion along the longitudinal axis, the rigid annulus being constrained to move orthogonally in relation to the longitudinal axis in response the force applied to the seal.
In the same field of hemostatic valves (abstract), Franer teaches a trocar seal assembly (see Figs. 1 and 4) comprising a seal (see Fig. 4) constrained to translate orthogonally in relation to a longitudinal axis of the device in response to a force applied to the seal (col. 3, lines 1-2: “The pleats (72) provide lateral pliancy so the assembly (120) can float”) along or at an angle to the longitudinal axis (since the assembly 120 can float/move laterally, the seal is configured to translate orthogonally in response to a force along or at an angle to the longitudinal axis);
a deformable annulus (72 in Fig. 4) comprising an inner perimeter (radially inner portion of 72 attached to 76) fixed in relation to the seal (80) and an outer perimeter (radially outer portion of 72 attached to 74) fixed in relation to a housing of the device (col. 4, lines 18-20: “The lateral flange (74) is compressed between the retainer ring (50) and the upper body (110) to provide a seal against the housing wall”), the inner perimeter comprising an inner edge of the deformable annulus (72, the inner radial end of 72 can be considered to be an inner edge); and
a rigid annulus (76 and 86 in Fig. 4 of Franer) affixed to the seal (80) and affixed to the inner perimeter of the deformable annulus (radially inner portion of 72) and comprising a proximal portion (86 is upper/more proximal) and a distal portion (76 is lower/more distal) such that an outer perimeter (85) of the seal is positioned between the proximal portion and the distal portion (85 extends between 86 and 76 to connect the seal to both portions, see Fig. 4), the rigid annulus (76 and 86) being constrained to move orthogonally in relation to the longitudinal axis in response the force applied to the seal (col. 3, lines 1-2: “The pleats (72) provide lateral pliancy so the assembly (120) can float”, since 76 and 86 are attached to 72 they are constrained to move orthogonally).
a rigid annulus affixed to the seal and affixed to the inner perimeter of the deformable annulus and comprising a proximal portion and a distal portion such that an outer perimeter of the seal is positioned between the proximal portion and the distal portion, the rigid annulus being constrained to move orthogonally in relation to the longitudinal axis in response the force applied to the seal.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Jiang et al. device to incorporate the teachings of Franer and include a seal constrained to translate orthogonally in response to an applied force as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this modification because it would have been a simple substitution of hemostatic seals in such a way as to obtain predictable results, since the Jiang et al. device would operate the same with the seal structure as taught by Franer.
Jiang et al. as modified by Franer further fails to disclose wherein the inner edge of the deformable annulus is sandwiched between the proximal portion and the distal portion along the longitudinal axis, the rigid annulus being constrained to move orthogonally in relation to the longitudinal axis in response the force applied to the seal, since the deformable annulus (72 in Fig. 4 of Franer) is merely attached to the proximal portion (76) and not sandwiched between the proximal portion (76) and the distal portion (86).
In the same field of instrument seal assemblies (abstract), Venskytis et al. teaches a seal assembly (200 in Fig. 3A) comprising a deformable annulus (250, PP [0076]: “The bellows portion may allow side-to-side movement (e.g., perpendicular to an instrument insertion axis) of the puck assembly 220, which may protect the septum portion 243 of the septum seal 212 as an instrument is manipulated in a cannula or allow for greater range of motion or easier movement of an instrument shaft by a clinician or by a teleoperated surgical system controlled by a clinician”) comprising an inner edge (right-most end of 250 closest to 228 and 230) and further teaches a rigid annulus (228 and 230) comprising a proximal portion (280) and a distal portion (230), wherein the inner edge of the deformable annulus (250) is sandwiched between the proximal portion (228) and the distal portion (230) along the longitudinal axis (see Fig. 3C that shows unmarked annulus 250 extending between the proximal and distal portions), the rigid annulus (228 and 230) being constrained to move orthogonally in relation to the longitudinal axis in response the force applied to the seal (PP [0076]: “The bellows portion may allow side-to-side movement (e.g., perpendicular to an instrument insertion axis) of the puck assembly 220”, 228 and 230 are part of the puck assembly 220”, PP [0078]: “the upper puck part 228 may be coupled to the lower puck part 230 by inserting the protrusions 262 into holes in the receiving portions 264 of the upper puck part 228, which holds the upper puck part 228, lower puck part 230, flaps 202, 204, 206, 208 and septum seal 212 together to form the puck assembly 220”).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the Jiang et al. and Franer combination to further include the teachings of Venskytis et al. and incorporate the annulus connection as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this modification because doing so constitutes the use of a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way to yield predictable results, as modifying the Franer seal to connect the rigid annulus to the deformable annulus in this way would not have altered the main operating principle of Franer. Additionally, Venskytis et al. teaches that this assemblage “may advantageously provide a simple assembly procedure and simple overall puck assembly architecture” (PP [0078], please note that the “puck assembly” is equivalent to the rigid annulus assembly as claimed), which would provide benefits in manufacturing of the device.
Regarding claim 2, Jiang et al. as modified by Franer and Venskytis et al. further discloses the deformable annulus (72 in Fig. 4 of Franer) being configured to deform in response to the force applied to the seal (col. 3, lines 1-2: “The pleats (72) provide lateral pliancy so the assembly (120) can float”).
Regarding claim 3, Jiang et al. as modified by Franer and Venskytis et al. further discloses the deformable annulus (72 in Fig. 4 of Franer) comprising bellows (the pleats of 72 are bellows).
Regarding claim 4, Jiang et al. as modified by Franer and Venskytis et al. further discloses the bellows (72 in Fig. 4 of Franer) comprising a circular ridge concentric to the longitudinal axis and constrained to move orthogonally in relation to the longitudinal axis in response to the force applied to the seal (col. 3, lines 1-2: “The pleats (72) provide lateral pliancy so the assembly (120) can float”).
Regarding claim 7, Jiang et al. as modified by Franer and Venskytis et al. further discloses the deformable annulus (72 in Fig. 4 of Franer) comprising an outer perimeter fixed in relation to the elongated handle housing (col. 4, lines 18-20: “The lateral flange (74) is compressed between the retainer ring (50) and the upper body (110) to provide a seal against the housing wall”, 54 in Fig. 18 of Jiang et al., the combination as proposed would fix 74 to the housing wall of 54 of Jiang et al.).
Regarding claim 8, Jiang et al. as modified by Franer and Venskytis et al. further discloses a proximal housing portion (bottom end of 54 in Fig. 18 of Jiang et al.) comprising an annular proximal surface (55) defining a proximal end of the elongated handle housing (housing of 54), the proximal housing portion (bottom end of 54) comprising a circular opening concentric with the longitudinal axis (see opening through 55 in Fig. 24).
Regarding claim 9, Jiang et al. as modified by Franer and Venskytis et al. further discloses:
the elongated handle housing (housing of 54 in Fig. 18 of Jiang et al., the combination as proposed incorporates the seal of Fig. 1 of Franer into the housing 54 in place of 20) comprising a proximal portion (110 in Fig. 2 of Franer) configured to inhibit proximal movement of the seal (80, see MPEP 2112.01, 110 wraps around 80 to inhibit proximal movement) and a distal portion (50 in Fig. 2) configured to inhibit distal movement of the seal (80, see MPEP 2112.01, col. 2, lines 41-44: “The instrument seal assembly (120) is sandwiched between the retainer ring (50) and the upper body (110) to provide a seal at that location”),
each of the proximal and distal portions (110 and 50) respectively comprising a circular opening (see openings in Fig. 1) and a tubular extension extending distally from the respective circular opening (see Fig. 2, both 110 and 50 have height and extend distally in a tubular shape defined by their respective openings), and
each of the circular openings and the tubular extensions being concentric to the longitudinal axis (see Figs. 1-2, the openings and the respective heights/extensions of 110 and 50 are concentric to the longitudinal axis).
Regarding claim 10, Jiang et al. as modified by Franer and Venskytis et al. further discloses the rigid annulus (76 and 86 in Fig. 4 of Franer) comprising a proximal surface (upper surface of 86 in Fig. 4) configured to slide orthogonally against the proximal portion of the elongated handle housing in response the force applied to the seal (see Fig. 2, the upper surface of 86 abuts 110 via 90 and 100 and therefore slides against the proximal portion in response to applied force to 80), and comprising a distal surface (bottom surface of 76 in Fig. 4) configured to slide orthogonally against the distal portion of the elongated handle housing in response to the force applied to the seal (see Fig. 2, the lower surface of 76 fits into and slides against 50 in response to applied force to 80).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIDGET E. RABAGLIA/Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/TAN-UYEN T HO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3771