DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
This communication is in response to the amendments filed on 20 July 2026:
Claims 1, 11-12, 22 and 27 are amended.
Claims 4, 9-10, 15, 20-21 and 26 are canceled.
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 11-14, 16-19, 22-25 and 27 are pending.
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicant’s remarks filed on 20 July 2026:
a. Applicant’s arguments that Ju does not disclose or suggest any single vectorized weight representation has been fully considered but is deemed not-persuasive. Applicant’s attention is directed to the fact that Ju was brought in to cure the deficiencies of Aharoni specifically not teaching “a weight.” The Examiner interpreted “the special case for tensors” found in Aharoni to cover the corresponding weight that is encoded as a one-dimensional vector. However, assuming arguendo that Aharoni did not adequately teach that “weight,” Ju was introduced to show how a weight is commonly used in homomorphic encryption. Applicant’s attention is directed to Ju, Page 8, Paragraph 6, see “…determining the weight and deviation of the network layer and making the packaging strategy…using the SIMD characteristics of CKKS homomorphic encryption algorithm…the plurality of numerical value is encrypted to a ciphertext…”, where a homomorphic encryption is performed based on the packed data (packing strategy) and a weight.
b. Applicant’s arguments that Ding does not disclose the “wherein the one-dimensional vector weight enables homomorphic encryption operations to be performed with the image and enables both scalar homomorphic multiplication and full ciphertext multiplication within a same architecture” as recited by claim 24 has been fully considered but is deemed not-persuasive. Applicant’s attention is directed to Ding, Paragraph [0162], see “…The evaluation key is also referred to as an auxiliary calculation key, is used to perform a homomorphic operation (for example, ciphertext multiplication) on a ciphertext, and includes a re-linearization key and a key-switching key”, where “ciphertext multiplication on a ciphertext” is analogous to a full ciphertext multiplication. Applicant’s attention is further directed to Ding, Paragraph [0164], see “…The BFV (Brakerski/Fan-Vercauteren) algorithm is a homomorphic encryption algorithm that supports any form of operation on a ciphertext, and may be constructed based on learning with error and ring learning with error…”, where homomorphic encryption operations are enabled to be performed with an image/object based on the polynomials and wherein the BFV scheme supports any form of operation on a ciphertext is analogous to comprising both scalar multiplication and full ciphertext multiplication. Applicant’s attention is further directed to Ding, Paragraph [0259], see “…the ciphertext inner product operation in this embodiment of this application is a multi-dimensional vector multiplication process…expansion, of a number of dimensions of a ciphertext vector, caused by vector multiplication is controlled based on the evaluation key, and after ciphertext calculation is performed, key switching is performed, so that an expanded number of feature dimensions of the ciphertext is stored to an original number of feature dimensions of the ciphertext…”, where the expansion being managed by an evaluation key is used to allow for subsequent computations to be performed within the same architecture and the BFV scheme is known for allowing scalar homomorphic multiplication (scalar multiplication) and full ciphertext multiplication to be performed within a same architecture.
c. Applicant’s arguments that the Office’s statement that BFV is “well-known for allowing scalar homomorphic multiplication and full ciphertext multiplication to be performed within a same architecture” is precisely such an unsupported, naked assertion. Accordingly, Applicant requests the Office provide evidence supporting the Office’s purported Official Notice subject matter and conclusion. The Examiner respectfully submits that the Office Action cited in Paragraph [0164] of Ding, see “…The BFV algorithm is a homomorphic encryption algorithm that supports any form of operation on a ciphertext…”. Any form of operation would include both full ciphertext multiplication and scalar homomorphic multiplication. The Examiner has provided more reasoning and evidence as shown below. Applicant’s attention is directed to Ding, Paragraph [0162], see “…The evaluation key is also referred to as an auxiliary calculation key, is used to perform a homomorphic operation (for example, ciphertext multiplication) on a ciphertext, and includes a re-linearization key and a key-switching key.” This citation covers the limitation of allowing for full ciphertext multiplication to be conducted. As for the scalar homomorphic multiplication, Applicant’s attention is directed to Chandran et al. (U.S. PGPub. 2023/0032519), Paragraph [0055], see “…we require an additively homomorphic encryption scheme that supports addition and scalar multiplication, i.e. multiplication of a ciphertext with a plaintext. We use the additively homomorphic scheme of BFV…The BFV scheme uses the batching optimization that enables operation on plaintext vectors over the field, where n is a prime plaintext…” This paragraph of Chandran provides evidence that the BFV scheme is known for scalar multiplication, as well as its full ciphertext multiplication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aharoni et al. (U.S. PGPub. 2023/0053311), hereinafter Aharoni, in view of JU et al. (CN 112699384), hereinafter Ju, in further view of DING et al. (U.S. PGPub. 2024/0313958), hereinafter Ding.
Regarding claim 24, Aharoni teaches A processor-implemented method, the method comprising:
generating a mapping constant based on a dimension of a tensor corresponding to an image (Aharoni, Abstract, see “…receiving an input tensor having a shaped defined by…where k is equal to a number of dimensions that characterize the input tensor…”) (Aharoni, FIGURE 1C, see “124 APPLYING A PACKING ALGORITHM TO MAP EACH ELEMENT OF THE INPUT TENSOR TO AT LEAST ONE SLOT LOCATION IN THE TILE TENSORS”, which determines a mapping constant based on the dimension of tensor);
generating packed data by mapping data comprised in the image to an extended tensor based on the mapping constant (Aharoni, Paragraph [0008], see “…The present method, combined with tile tensor data structures, can be extended with additional dimensions, thus it also allows handling of multiple images”) (Aharoni, FIGURE 1C, see “124 APPLYING A PACKING ALGORITHM TO MAP EACH ELEMENT OF THE INPUT TENSOR TO AT LEAST ONE SLOT LOCATION IN THE TILE TENSORS”); and
generating, based on the packed data (Aharoni, Paragraph [0072], see “…One special case for tensors is when the array is one dimensional, in which case the array is generally referred to as a vector, where “special case for tensors” is being read as comprising the weight which is encoded as a one-dimensional vector), a convolution result by performing a convolution operation with the image (Aharoni, Paragraph [0015], see “…the tensor tiles are homomorphic encryption ciphertexts”) (Aharoni, Paragraph [0018], see “…data packing structure for fully homomorphic encryption (FHE) schemes”) (Aharoni, Paragraph [0117], see “…the present disclosure provides for a data packing scheme which permits efficient high-level tensor manipulation operations, such as convolution, over the encrypted data…”) (Aharoni, Paragraph [0119], see “The input of a convolutional layer is often an image tensor…”, where the homomorphic encryption operation is performed with the image (image tensor)),
However, assuming arguendo that Aharoni does not adequately teach the weight, the Examiner introduces Ju, which more specifically teaches the weight (Ju, Page 8, Paragraph 6, see “…determining the weight and deviation of the network layer and making the packaging strategy…using the SIMD characteristics of CKKS homomorphic encryption algorithm…the plurality of numerical value is encrypted to a ciphertext…”, where a homomorphic encryption is performed based on the packed data (packing strategy) and a weight).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the techniques disclosed of Aharoni, by implementing techniques of performing homomorphic encryption based on a weight, disclosed of Ju.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to implement techniques for homomorphic encryption, comprising of performing homomorphic encryption based on a weight. This allows for better security management as well as utilizing the weight to help the system learn to detect specific features and patterns based on the input data. Ju is deemed as analogous art due to the art disclosing techniques of performing homomorphic encryption based on a weight (Ju, Page 8, Paragraph 6).
Aharoni as modified by Ju do not teach the following limitation(s) as taught by Ding: wherein the one-dimensional vector weight enables homomorphic encryption operations to be performed with the image and enables both scalar homomorphic multiplication and full ciphertext multiplication within a same architecture (Ding, Paragraph [0164], see “…The BFV (Brakerski/Fan-Vercauteren) algorithm is a homomorphic encryption algorithm that supports any form of operation on a ciphertext, and may be constructed based on learning with error and ring learning with error…”, where homomorphic encryption operations are enabled to be performed with an image/object based on the polynomials) (Ding, Paragraph [0259], see “…the ciphertext inner product operation in this embodiment of this application is a multi-dimensional vector multiplication process…expansion, of a number of dimensions of a ciphertext vector, caused by vector multiplication is controlled based on the evaluation key, and after ciphertext calculation is performed, key switching is performed, so that an expanded number of feature dimensions of the ciphertext is stored to an original number of feature dimensions of the ciphertext…”, where the expansion being managed by an evaluation key is used to allow for subsequent computations to be performed within the same architecture and the BFV scheme is well-known for allowing scalar homomorphic multiplication and full ciphertext multiplication to be performed within a same architecture).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the techniques disclosed of Aharoni, and techniques disclosed of Ju, by implementing techniques of a vector enabling homomorphic encryption operations to be performed with an image and enabling both scalar homomorphic multiplication and full ciphertext multiplication within a same architecture, disclosed of Ding.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to implement techniques for homomorphic encryption, comprising of a vector enabling homomorphic encryption operations to be performed with an image and enabling both scalar homomorphic multiplication and full ciphertext multiplication within a same architecture. This allows for better performance optimization and noise management in homomorphic encryption workloads. Ding is deemed as analogous art due to the art disclosing techniques of a vector enabling homomorphic encryption operations to be performed with an image and enabling both scalar homomorphic multiplication and full ciphertext multiplication within a same architecture (Ding, Paragraph [0164]).
Regarding claim 25, Aharoni as modified by Ju and further modified by Ding teaches The method of claim 24, further comprising performing a homomorphic encryption operation comprising the convolution operation, wherein the image is an encrypted image (Aharoni, Paragraph [0073], see “It is known that tensors can be packed into tiles and, further, that mathematical operators can be performed on these tensors while in packed form”) (Aharoni, Paragraph [0098], see “The sum operator is also defined homomorphically…In an FHE environment, the latter summation requires using the rotate-and-sum algorithm”, wherein the rotate and sum algorithm (rotation operation and addition) is performed on the result of the convolution) (Aharoni, Paragraph [0119], see “The input of a convolutional layer is often an image tensor…”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 11-14, 16-19, 22-23 and 27 are allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RODMAN ALEXANDER MAHMOUDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2499