DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made to Applicant’s claim to priority to U.S. Provisional App. No. 63/233,661 filed August 16, 2021.
Status of Claims
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on May 29, 2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 2, and 10-12 have been amended. Thus, claims 1-22 are presently pending in this application.
Claims 2 and 10-22 were previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite. Applicant’s amendments to claims 1 and 10-12 obviate the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, and 10 were previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Longest et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0043585) in view of Ingenito (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/005787). Claim(s) 5 was previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable further in view of Hillsman (U.S. Pat. No. 4,984,158). Claim(s) 8-9 were previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable further in view of Regeneron Pharmaceuticals Inc.Claim(s) 11-20 were previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Longest et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0043585)in view of Ingenito (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/005787) in view of Hillsman (U.S. Pat. No. 4,984,158). Claim(s) 21-22 were previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable further in view of Regeneron Pharmaceuticals Inc.
Applicant's arguments are addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Longest et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0043585; hereinafter: “Longest”) in view of Ingenito (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/005787).
Regarding Claim 1, Longest discloses a method of delivering particles of delivering nebulized particles of a drug agent to a patient's nasal passages, the method comprising: operating a nebulizer (¶¶ 0014, 0015, 0044, 0045, 0068; Claim 15; Examiner notes: Longest discloses the aerosol generator as being a nebulizer.) containing the drug agent to continuously form particles containing the drug agent (¶¶ 0014, 0068); holding the nebulizer in the mouth (¶¶ 0045, 0070, 0073, 0076) and repeatedly inhaling for 4 seconds or longer from the nebulizer through the mouth (¶ 0045; Examiner notes: Longest discloses a slow inhalation may be up to 5 seconds through the mouth.) followed by exhaling only through the nose for 3 seconds or less (¶¶ 0045, 0070, 0073, 0076; Examiner notes: Longest discloses the exhalation may be 3 seconds through the nose).
Longest does specifically disclose the method comprising holding a mouthpiece of the nebulizer in the mouth with lips sealed over the mouthpiece.
Ingenito teaches a method comprising holding a mouthpiece (3; Fig. 1A) of a nebulizer (1; Fig. 1A) in the mouth with lips sealed over the mouthpiece (¶ 0057) for the purpose of providing a substantially leak tight connection (¶¶ 0057, 0078).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Longest to include holding the mouthpiece of the nebulizer in the mouth with lips sealed over the mouthpiece as taught by Ingenito for the purpose of providing a substantially leak tight connection (See Ingenito: ¶¶ 0057, 0078).
Regarding Claim 2, the modified method of Longest discloses the method wherein nebulized particles including the drug agent are delivered in an approximately equivalent surface concentration between the patient's nasal passages and lungs (See Longest: ¶¶ 0045, 0070-0076; Examiner notes: Longest discloses the method ensures the particles or droplets to grow and deposit in desired target regions of the nasal cavity or other regions of the respiratory tract.).
Regarding Claim 3, the modified method of Longest discloses the method wherein inhaling for 4 seconds or longer comprises inhaling for between 4-10 seconds (See Longest: ¶ 0045; Examiner notes: Longest discloses a slow inhalation may be up to 5 seconds through the mouth.).
Regarding Claim 4, the modified method of Longest discloses the method wherein exhaling only through the nose for 3 seconds or less comprises exhaling only through the nose for 3 seconds (See Longest: ¶¶ 0045, 0070, 0073, 0076).
The modified device of Longest discloses the method wherein exhaling only through the nose is for 2 seconds or less.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified method of Longest wherein exhaling only through the nose is for 2 seconds or less since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the modified method of Longest would not operate differently with the claimed exhalation time and since the exhalation time is intended to be short the method would function appropriately having the claimed exhalation time of 2 or less.
Regarding Claim 6, the modified device of Longest discloses the method wherein operating the nebulizer to continuously form particles containing the agent comprises forming particles of average particle or droplet size in the range from about 0.1 to about 200 microns (See Longest: ¶¶ 0011, 0022, 0048, 0049, 0070-0076).
Regarding Claim 7, the modified device of Longest discloses the method wherein operating the nebulizer to continuously form particles containing the agent comprises forming particles of average particle or droplet size in the range from about 2 to 7 microns (See Longest: ¶¶ 0011, 0022, 0048, 0049, 0070-0076).
Regarding Claim 10, Longest discloses a method of delivering an approximately equivalent surface concentration of nebulized particles of a drug agent between a patient's nasal passages and lungs, the method comprising: operating a nebulizer (¶¶ 0014, 0015, 0044, 0045, 0068; Claim 15; Examiner notes: Longest discloses the aerosol generator as being a nebulizer.) containing the drug agent to continuously form particles containing the drug agent (¶¶ 0014, 0068); holding the nebulizer in the mouth (¶¶ 0045, 0070, 0073, 0076); and repeating one or more cycles of: inhaling, for an inhalation period of 4 second or longer, particles containing the drug agent through the mouth for the inhalation period (¶ 0045; Examiner notes: Longest discloses a slow inhalation may be up to 5 seconds through the mouth.), and exhaling, for an exhalation period of 3 seconds or shorter, through the nose but not the mouth for the exhalation period (¶¶ 0045, 0070, 0073, 0076; Examiner notes: Longest discloses the exhalation may be 3 seconds through the nose), wherein an approximately equivalent surface concentration of the particles containing the drug agent is deposited between the patient's nasal passages and lungs (See Longest: ¶¶ 0045, 0070-0076; Examiner notes: Longest discloses the method ensures the particles or droplets to grow and deposit in desired target regions of the nasal cavity or other regions of the respiratory tract.).
Longest does specifically disclose the method comprising holding a mouthpiece of the nebulizer in the mouth with lips sealed over the mouthpiece.
Ingenito teaches a method comprising holding a mouthpiece (3; Fig. 1A) of a nebulizer (1; Fig. 1A) in the mouth with lips sealed over the mouthpiece (¶ 0057) for the purpose of providing a substantially leak tight connection (¶¶ 0057, 0078).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Longest to include holding the mouthpiece of the nebulizer in the mouth with lips sealed over the mouthpiece as taught by Ingenito for the purpose of providing a substantially leak tight connection (See Ingenito: ¶¶ 0057, 0078).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Longest in view of Ingenito as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hillsman (U.S. Pat. No. 4,984,158).
Regarding Claim 5, the modified method of Longest discloses the method, shown above.
The modified method of Longest does not specifically disclose the method further comprising triggering a first indicator for the period of inhalation, wherein the first indicator is triggered for 4 seconds or longer and triggering a second indicator for the period of exhalation wherein the second indicator is triggered for 3 seconds or less.
Hillmans teaches a method comprising triggering a first indicator (46, 56; Fig. 6-8C) for the period of inhalation (col 2, ln 58 to col 4, ln 23; col 9, ln 9 to col 10, ln 17) and triggering a second indicator (47, 56; Fig. 6-8C) for the period of exhalation (col 2, ln 58 to col 4, ln 23; col 9, ln 9 to col 10, ln 17) for the purpose of indicating when user’s performance is deficient (col 9, ln 9 to col 10, ln 17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the modified method of Longest to include the triggering the first indicator for the period of inhalation, wherein the first indicator is triggered for 4 seconds or longer and triggering the second indicator for the period of exhalation wherein the second indicator is triggered for 3 seconds or less as taught by Hillmans for the purpose of indicating when user’s performance is deficient (See Hillsman: col 9, ln 9 to col 10, ln 17).
Claim(s) 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Longest in view of Ingenito as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Regeneron Pharmaceuticals Inc. (hereinafter "Regeneron").
Regarding Claims 8-9, the modified method of Longest discloses the method, shown above.
The modified method of Longest does not specifically discloses the method wherein the drug agent comprises a recombinant antibody comprising a human or humanized Fc region, wherein the recombinant antibody comprises a population of antibodies in which at least 40% comprise an oligosaccharide having a GO glycosylation pattern comprising a biantennary core glycan structure of Manal-6(Manal-3)Man 1-4GlcNAc3I -4GlcNAc3I with terminal N-acetylglucosamine on each branch that enhances the trapping potency of the recombinant antibody in mucus.
Regeneron discloses a population of antibodies in which at least 40% are glycosylated with a G0 glycosylation pattern comprising a biantennary core glycan structure of Man 1-6(Man -1-3)Man 4GlcNAc -1-4GlcNAc -1 (protein administered to subject, which can be a monoclonal antibody, can be 60-79% galactosylated glycans, wherein the core of a galatocyslated glycan comprises a biantennary core glycan structure of Man 1-6(Man -1-3)Man -1- 4GlcNAc -1-4GlcNAc -1 (¶¶ 0024, 0249) because G0 glycosylation pattern on greater than 40% of antibody, the lifetime of proteins is extended in the body (¶ 0026; Table 6-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the modified method of Longest to include the drug agent comprises a recombinant antibody comprising a human or humanized Fc region, wherein the recombinant antibody comprises a population of antibodies in which at least 40% comprise an oligosaccharide having a GO glycosylation pattern comprising a biantennary core glycan structure of Manal-6(Manal-3)Man 1-4GlcNAc3I -4GlcNAc3I with terminal N-acetylglucosamine on each branch that enhances the trapping potency of the recombinant antibody in mucus as taught by Regeneron because G0 glycosylation pattern on greater than 40% of antibody, the lifetime of proteins is extended in the body (See Regeneron: ¶ 0026; Table 6-4).
Claim(s) 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Longest in view of Ingenito in view of Hillsman.
Regarding Claim 11, Longest discloses a method of delivering an approximately equivalent surface concentration of nebulized particles of a drug agent between a patient's nasal passages and lungs, the method comprising: operating a nebulizer (¶¶ 0014, 0015, 0044, 0045, 0068; Claim 15; Examiner notes: Longest discloses the aerosol generator as being a nebulizer.) containing the drug agent to continuously form particles containing the drug agent (¶¶ 0014, 0068); holding the nebulizer in the mouth (¶¶ 0045, 0070, 0073, 0076); and repeating one or more cycles of: inhaling, for an inhalation period of 4 second or longer, particles containing the drug agent through the mouth for the inhalation period (¶ 0045; Examiner notes: Longest discloses a slow inhalation may be up to 5 seconds through the mouth.), and exhaling, for an exhalation period of 3 seconds or shorter, through the nose but not the mouth for the exhalation period (¶¶ 0045, 0070, 0073, 0076; Examiner notes: Longest discloses the exhalation may be 3 seconds through the nose), wherein an approximately equivalent surface concentration of the particles containing the drug agent is deposited between the patient's nasal passages and lungs (See Longest: ¶¶ 0045, 0070-0076; Examiner notes: Longest discloses the method ensures the particles or droplets to grow and deposit in desired target regions of the nasal cavity or other regions of the respiratory tract.).
Longest does specifically disclose the method comprising holding a mouthpiece of the nebulizer in the mouth with lips sealed over the mouthpiece and indicating, with a first indicator, the inhalation period of 4 second or longer, to guide the patient in inhaling particles containing the drug agent through the mouth for the inhalation period, and indicating with a second indicator, the exhalation period of 3 seconds or shorter, to guide the patient in exhaling through the nose but not the mouth for the exhalation period.
Ingenito teaches a method comprising holding a mouthpiece (3; Fig. 1A) of a nebulizer (1; Fig. 1A) in the mouth with lips sealed over the mouthpiece (¶ 0057) for the purpose of providing a substantially leak tight connection (¶¶ 0057, 0078).
Hillmans teaches a method comprising indicating with a first indicator (46, 56; Fig. 6-8C) for the period of inhalation (col 2, ln 58 to col 4, ln 23; col 9, ln 9 to col 10, ln 17) and indicating with a second indicator (47, 56; Fig. 6-8C) for the period of exhalation (col 2, ln 58 to col 4, ln 23; col 9, ln 9 to col 10, ln 17) for the purpose of indicating when user’s performance is deficient (col 9, ln 9 to col 10, ln 17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Longest to include holding the mouthpiece of the nebulizer in the mouth with lips sealed over the mouthpiece as taught by Ingenito and indicating, with the first indicator, the inhalation period of 4 second or longer, to guide the patient in inhaling particles containing the drug agent through the mouth for the inhalation period, and indicating with the second indicator, the exhalation period of 3 seconds or shorter, to guide the patient in exhaling through the nose but not the mouth for the exhalation period as taught by Hillsman for the purpose of providing a substantially leak tight connection (See Ingenito: ¶¶ 0057, 0078) and indicating when user’s performance is deficient (See Hillsman: col 9, ln 9 to col 10, ln 17), respectively.
Regarding Claim 12, the modified method of Longest discloses the method wherein the approximately equivalent surface concentration of the particles containing the drug agent comprises a surface concentration of between about 10:1 and 1:10 between the patient's nasal passages and lungs (See Longest: ¶¶ 0045, 0070-0077).
Regarding Claim 13, the modified method of Longest discloses the method further comprising triggering the first indicator at a start of inhalation by the patient (See Hillsman: col 2, ln 58 to col 4, ln 23; col 9, ln 9 to col 10, ln 17).
Regarding Claim 14, the modified method of Longest discloses the method , further comprising triggering the second indicator at a start of exhalation by the patient (See Hillsman: col 2, ln 58 to col 4, ln 23; col 9, ln 9 to col 10, ln 17).
Regarding Claim 15, the modified method of Longest discloses the method wherein the first indicator comprises illuminating a first LED (See Hillsman: col 2, ln 58 to col 4, ln 23; col 9, ln 9 to col 10, ln 17).
Regarding Claim 16, the modified method of Longest discloses the method wherein the second indicator comprises illuminating a second LED (See Hillsman: col 2, ln 58 to col 4, ln 23; col 9, ln 9 to col 10, ln 17).
Regarding Claim 17, the modified method of Longest discloses the method wherein inhaling for 4 seconds or longer comprises inhaling for between 4-10 seconds (See Longest: ¶ 0045; Examiner notes: Longest discloses a slow inhalation may be up to 5 seconds through the mouth.).
Regarding Claim 18, the modified method of Longest discloses the method wherein exhaling only through the nose for 3 seconds or less comprises exhaling only through the nose for 3 seconds (See Longest: ¶¶ 0045, 0070, 0073, 0076).
The modified device of Longest discloses the method wherein exhaling only through the nose is for 2 seconds or less.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified method of Longest wherein exhaling only through the nose is for 2 seconds or less since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the modified method of Longest would not operate differently with the claimed exhalation time and since the exhalation time is intended to be short the method would function appropriately having the claimed exhalation time of 2 or less.
Regarding Claim 19, the modified device of Longest discloses the method wherein operating the nebulizer to continuously form particles containing the agent comprises forming particles of average particle or droplet size in the range from about 0.1 to about 200 microns (See Longest: ¶¶ 0011, 0022, 0048, 0049, 0070-0076).
Regarding Claim 20, the modified device of Longest discloses the method wherein operating the nebulizer to continuously form particles containing the agent comprises forming particles of average particle or droplet size in the range from about 2 to 7 microns (See Longest: ¶¶ 0011, 0022, 0048, 0049, 0070-0076).
Claim(s) 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Longest in view of Ingenito in view of Hillsman as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Regeneron Pharmaceuticals Inc. (hereinafter "Regeneron").
Regarding Claims 21-22, the modified method of Longest discloses the method, shown above.
The modified method of Longest does not specifically discloses the method wherein the drug agent comprises a recombinant antibody comprising a human or humanized Fc region, wherein the recombinant antibody comprises a population of antibodies in which at least 40% comprise an oligosaccharide having a GO glycosylation pattern comprising a biantennary core glycan structure of Manal-6(Manal-3)Man 1-4GlcNAc3I -4GlcNAc3I with terminal N-acetylglucosamine on each branch that enhances the trapping potency of the recombinant antibody in mucus.
Regeneron discloses a population of antibodies in which at least 40% are glycosylated with a G0 glycosylation pattern comprising a biantennary core glycan structure of Man 1-6(Man -1-3)Man 4GlcNAc -1-4GlcNAc -1 (protein administered to subject, which can be a monoclonal antibody, can be 60-79% galactosylated glycans, wherein the core of a galatocyslated glycan comprises a biantennary core glycan structure of Man 1-6(Man -1-3)Man -1- 4GlcNAc -1-4GlcNAc -1 (¶¶ 0024, 0249) because G0 glycosylation pattern on greater than 40% of antibody, the lifetime of proteins is extended in the body (¶ 0026; Table 6-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the modified method of Longest to include the drug agent comprises a recombinant antibody comprising a human or humanized Fc region, wherein the recombinant antibody comprises a population of antibodies in which at least 40% comprise an oligosaccharide having a GO glycosylation pattern comprising a biantennary core glycan structure of Manal-6(Manal-3)Man 1-4GlcNAc3I -4GlcNAc3I with terminal N-acetylglucosamine on each branch that enhances the trapping potency of the recombinant antibody in mucus as taught by Regeneron because G0 glycosylation pattern on greater than 40% of antibody, the lifetime of proteins is extended in the body (See Regeneron: ¶ 0026; Table 6-4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 29, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that Longest discloses a nebulizer that delivers therapeutic aerosol particles effectively to targeted regions of the nasal cavity using a passive nebulizer that generates particles with hygroscopic properties, without the need of positive pressure and Ingenito discloses the seal serves a specific and necessary function: maintaining pressure within a pressurized system. Applicant further asserts a nebulizer, by contrast, does not operate under positive pressure and does not require a seal to function. When a person of ordinary skill operates a nebulizer, particles are generated passively as the patient inhales ambient air through the nebulizer. Applicant asserts there is no rational basis, rooted in the prior art or the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art, to combine a solution for maintaining pressurized breathing with a solution for delivering aerosol particles through controlled breathing dynamics, Pg. 7-10.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Examiner note Applicant is in error regarding the function of a nebulizer as it applies to Longest. Specifically, Longest describes its nebulizer utilizing an external positive pressure applied to deliver the aerosol (¶ 0045). Thus, the teaching of Ingenito, providing a substantially leak tight connection (¶¶ 0057, 0078) in a pressurized system would be germane and beneficial.
Applicant asserts Longest fails to disclose particles are deposited with "equivalent surface concentration between the patient's nasal passages and lungs." as recited in the method of independent claim 10. Specifically, Longest teaches particle deposition mechanisms and strategies to maximize nasal deposition. (¶ 0043) and merely acknowledges that particles may deposit in multiple regions, Pg. 10-11.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 10 Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. In this case, the recited steps of the method achieve the purpose of the method recited in the preamble. Specifically, claim 10 recites “a method of delivering an equivalent surface concentration of nebulized particles of a drug agent between a patient's nasal passages and lungs, the method comprising:
operating a nebulizer containing the drug agent to continuously form particles containing the drug agent; holding a mouthpiece of the nebulizer in the mouth with lips sealed over the mouthpiece; and repeating one or more cycles of: inhaling, for an inhalation period of 4 second or longer, particles containing the drug agent through the mouth for the inhalation period, and exhaling, for an exhalation period of 3 seconds or shorter, through the nose but not the mouth for the exhalation period, wherein an approximately equivalent surface concentration of the particles containing the drug agent is deposited between the patient's nasal passages and lungs.”
The preamble of the claims recites the particles are deposited with "equivalent surface concentration between the patient's nasal passages and lungs." then is followed by the specific steps in which that purpose is achieved. The method steps are disclosed by Longest in view of Ingenito, shown above. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude that the stated steps would result in the stated purpose i.e. the particles being deposited with "equivalent surface concentration between the patient's nasal passages and lungs." Examiner suggests amending the claims to specifically recite the steps required to achieve the particles being deposited with equivalent surface concentration between the patient's nasal passages and lungs to better capture Applicant’s invention and obviate the prior art.
Applicant’s arguments regarding independent claim 11 are addressed above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELLIOT S RUDDIE/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785