DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Fifteen (15) sheets of drawings were filed on August 16, 2022 and have been accepted by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4; the claim recites the limitation “wherein the FAU and a third FAU are separated by a second FAU, wherein the first FAU comprises the base and the protrusion” in lines 1-3 of the claim. This limitation is confusing because claim 2 defines a plurality of FAUs, so it’s unclear which of the plurality of FAUs is the FAU. If one presumes that “the FAU” is the same “the FAU” defined in claim 1, then that “the FAU” inherently includes the base and the protrusion defined in claim 1, not the third FAU. The examiner suggests rewording claim 4 to read – wherein the plurality of FAUs includes a first FAU and a third FAU separated by a second FAU, and each FAU comprises a base and a protrusion.-- Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 5; dependent claims inherently contain the deficiencies of any base or intervening claims from which they depend.
Regarding claim 18; the claim recites “the first FAU and the third FAU are coupled to the first PIC and the second PIC” in lines 1-2 of the claim. However, as defined in lines 6-7 of base claim 17, the third FAC is coupled to a third PIC. Thus, the limitations of claim 18 contradict the limitations of base claim 17. The examiner suggests changing “first PIC and the second PIC” in line 2 of claim 18 to – first PIC and the third PIC—to overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12, 13, 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nagarajan et al. (US 2022/0283360 A1), hereafter Nagarajan.
Regarding claims 12, 13, 17 and 21; Nagarajan discloses an electronic package (see Figures 4 and 10-12), comprising:
a package substrate (switch package substrate 100; see Figures 10-12);
a die (data processor 600 in Figure 12; control chips 260 of optical modules 200; the examiner notes that the control chips 260 are coupled via intervening structure) coupled to the package substrate (100);
a set of three or more photonics integrated circuits (PICs) (photonics chips 250 of optical modules 200) coupled to the die (600, 260); and
a set of three or more fiber array units (FAUs) (fiber array blocks 270 and 280 of each FAU) coupled to the set of three or more PICs (250), wherein a first FAU (FAU 280 of a first optical module 200) has a first height, a second FAU (FAU 270 of a second optical module) has a second height that is greater than the first height, and a third FAU (FAU 270 of a third optical module) that has the first height, and wherein the second FAU is between the first FAU and the second FAU (see Figures 10 and 11, wherein there are at least first, second and third optical modules 200 in a row on a side of the package substrate 100, having the FAUs (270, 280) attached to each;
wherein the set of three or more FAUs further comprises a fourth FAU (270) with the second height, wherein the third FAU separates the second FAU from the fourth FAU;
wherein in a method of assembling the electronic package, the die (600), plurality of PICs (250) are provided on the package substrate (100) and the first (280), second (270), third (280), and fourth (270) FAUs are coupled to first, second, third, and fourth PICs (see Figures 4 and 10-12 of Nagarajan).
Claims 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Whaley (US 10,495,820 B1).
Regarding claims 23-25; Whaley discloses a fiber array unit (FAU) (101; see Figure 1A), comprising:
a base plate (140) with a plurality of V-grooves (142) on a surface of the base plate (140);
a plurality of optical fibers (130) provided in the plurality of V-grooves (142); and
a cover plate (120) over the plurality of optical fibers (130) and the base plate (140),
wherein the base plate or the cover plate comprises a T-shaped cross-section (see Figure 1A);
wherein a plane of the T-shaped cross-section (T-shaped cross section along a line that is perpendicular to the direction the fibers 130 extend) is perpendicular to a direction of the plurality of optical fibers (130; see Figure 1A); and
wherein a plane of the T-shaped cross-section (T-shaped cross section along a line that the fibers extend parallel to; i.e. a plane of the side surfaces) is parallel to a direction of the plurality of optical fibers (130).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobrinsky et al. (US 2014/0203175 A1), hereafter Kobrinsky, in view of Whaley (US 10,495,820 B1).
Regarding claim 1; Kobrinsky discloses an electronic package (300; see Figure 3A), comprising:
a package substrate (304);
a die (dies 302, 320, 330) coupled to the package substrate (TSVs 332 are provided for connection to the package substrate 304; see paragraph 47);
a photonics integrated circuit (PIC) (PLC310) coupled to the die (320, 330); and
a fiber array unit (FAU) (fiber bundle 306 with coupler 340) optically coupled to the PIC (310).
Kobrinsky does not disclose the details of the FAU (306/340), including the FAU having a base with a first width and a protrusion with a second width that is smaller than the first width, but does disclose that the FAU (306, 340) includes a plurality of optical fibers (fiber bundle 306) with a reflective coupler (340).
Whaley discloses a FAU (101; see Figures 1A and 1B) including a plurality of optical fibers (130) with a reflective coupler (132) and including a base (120) with a first width and a protrusion (140) with a second width that is smaller than the first width (see Figure 1A).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the FAU of Whaley as the fiber array unit (306/340) of Kobrinsky for the purpose of incorporating a known, readily available FAU having a plurality of fibers and a reflective coupler, since the FAU of Whaley is known alternatives FAU in the prior art and one of ordinary skill could have combined the elements by known coupling methods with no change in their respective functions to yield predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 2; Kobrinsky and Whaley teach and/or suggest the electronic package of claim 1, further comprising:
a plurality of PICs (PLCs 1030 suggested by the arrangement in Figure 10 of Kobrinsky) coupled to the die (302, 320, 330; the dies are coupled to the PLC via intervening electrical connections and the package substrate); and
a plurality of FAUs (fiber arrays 1050 with couple3rs 1040), wherein each FAU is coupled to a different one of the plurality of PICs (PLCs 1030; see Figure 10 of Kobrinsky).
Regarding claim 3; Kobrinsky and Whaley teach and/or suggest the electronic package of claim 2 as applied above. Before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use an FAU taught by Whaley as each of the plurality of FAUs, wherein the FAUs of Whaley comprise the base and the protrusion as discussed above with respect to claim 1 for the purpose of incorporating a known, readily available FAU having a plurality of fibers and a reflective coupler to form each FAU, since the FAU of Whaley is known alternatives FAU in the prior art and one of ordinary skill could have combined the elements by known coupling methods with no change in their respective functions to yield predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 4; Kobrinsky and Whaley teach and/or suggest the electronic package of claim 2, wherein the FAU and a third FAU are separated by a second FAU (see the arrangement of Figure 10, wherein at least a first and third FAU are separated by a second FAU, the first and third FAUs being on different sides of the illustrated arrangement; the examiner notes that the provision of three or more FAUs and corresponding PLCs on one side of the arrangement is within the level of ordinary skill in the art, although not specifically required by the present language of claim 4, and would not constitute allowable subject matter), wherein the third FAU comprises the base and the protrusion (as discussed above with respect to claim 3, each FAU, as suggested by the teachings of Whaley, includes a base and a protrusion).
Regarding claim 5; Kobrinsky and Whaley teach and/or suggest the electronic package of claim 4, but fail to specify that the second FAU has a height that is equal to or less than a height of the base. Before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to adjust the height of the FAUs, including the second FAU, to be any desired height that allows for a compact device while also allowing for the FAUs to be handled during assembly without damage, including a height that is equal to or less than a height of the base, since adjusting the height to a desired value would not appear to provide any novel or unexpected advantages, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component and it has been held that a change in size is generally recognized in as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)) and that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (In re Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233), and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)).
Regarding claim 6; Kobrinsky and Whaley teach and/or suggest the electronic package of claim 2, but do not specify that a gap between individual FAUs in the plurality of FAUs (see Figure 10 of Kobrinsky) is approximately 100μm or less. Before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to adjust a gap between individual FAUs to allow for the FAUs to be positioned and aligned with PLCs without damage to the FAUs and/or the PLCs and to mitigate unwanted signal interference while providing a compact arrangement of elements, including approximately 100μm or less, since adjusting the gap size to a desired value would not appear to provide any novel or unexpected advantages, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component and it has been held that a change in size is generally recognized in as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)) and that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (In re Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233), and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)).
Regarding claim 7; Kobrinsky and Whaley disclose and/or suggest the electronic package of claim 1, but fail to specify that the base has a height that is greater than a height of the PIC. Before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to adjust both the base height and the height of the PIC to provide a device having desired dimensions for an intended use, including provide a base having a height that is greater than a height of the PIC, since this would not produce and novel or unexpected results or advantages, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component and it has been held that a change in size is generally recognized in as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)) and that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (In re Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233), and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)).
Regarding claim 10; Kobrinsky and Whaley teach and/or suggest the electronic package of claim 1, wherein the FAU is optically coupled to the PIC by a grating coupler (see Figure 3A and paragraph 50 of Kobrinsky, wherein coupling mirror 316 may be replaced by a grating coupler; the examiner notes that these are standard, known alternative, coupling arrangements of prior art).
Regarding claim 11; Kobrinsky and Whaley teach and/or suggest the electronic package of claim 1, wherein the FAU (306/340) is optically coupled to the PIC (310) by edge coupling at a bottom or a top of the PIC (a bottom edge of a coupling portion is coupled to a top edge of the PIC; see Figure 3A of Kobrinsky).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobrinsky et al. (US 2014/0203175 A1), hereafter Kobrinsky, in view of Whaley (US 10,495,820 B1), and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2021/0132309 A1).
Regarding claim 8; Kobrinsky and Whaley teach and/or suggest the electronic package of claim 1 as applied above, but do not specifically teach a cutout in the package substrate, wherein the FAU passes at least partially through the cutout.
Kobrinsky teaches that alternative embodiments may include a PIC (PLC 740, On-PKG waveguides 850; see Figures 7 and 8) contained within a package substrate.
Zhang et al. teaches that a package substrate (102) may include a cutout (110; see Figure 1A), wherein an FAU (optical fiber array 112) at least partially passes through the cutout to be coupled to a photonics chip (101) embedded within the substrate.
Thus, before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to alternatively position the PIC within a package substrate and to provide a cutout in the package substrate, wherein the FAU passes at least partially through the cutout for the purpose of connecting the FAU to the PIC within the substrate in a known manner, since this is a known alternative prior art arrangement and one of ordinary skill could have combined the elements by known coupling methods with no change in their respective functions to yield predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 9; Kobrinsky and Whaley teach or suggest the electronic package of claim 8, but do not specify that a width of the cutout is up to approximately 100μm more than the first width. Before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the width of the cutout being greater than the first width for the purpose of allowing the FAU to be inserted therein, including approximately 100μm more than the first width, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component and it has been held that a change in size is generally recognized in as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)) and that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (In re Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233), and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)).
Claims 14-16, 18, 20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagarajan et al. (US 2022/0283360 A1), hereafter Nagarajan.
Regarding claim 14; Nagarajan et al. discloses the electronic package of claim 12, but fails to disclose that the second FAU has a T-shaped cross-section. Before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide the second FAU with any desired cross-section, including a T-shaped cross-section for the purpose of making the FAU easier to handle for assembly, since no novel or unexpected advantages would appear to occur from selection of a desired cross section and It has been held that more than mere change of form or rearrangement of parts is necessary for patentability (Span-Deck Inc. v. Fab-Con, Inc. (CA 8, 1982) 215 USPA 835), that change in form of any element of prior patent must result in more than useful natural phenomenon that man has accumulated through common knowledge; even though use of new device greatly improves field and provides great utility, and commercial success is enjoyed because of long-felt need, these features cannot sustain patentability where involves is only extended application of obvious attributes from prior art (Span-Deck, Inc. v. Fab-Con, Inc. (CA 8, 1982) 215 USPQ 835), and that the configuration of an element of prior art is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant (In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 15; Nagarajan discloses the electronic package of claim 12, as discussed above, but fails to disclose that a space between the fist FAU and the second FAU is approximately 100 μm or less. Before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide any desired space between the first FAU and the second FAU, including a space of approximately 100 μm or less to allow for the FAUs to be positioned and aligned with PLCs without damage to the FAUs and/or the PICs and to mitigate unwanted signal interference while providing a compact arrangement of elements, since adjusting the space size to a desired value would not appear to provide any novel or unexpected advantages, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component and it has been held that a change in size is generally recognized in as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)) and that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (In re Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233), and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)).
Regarding claim 16; Nagarajan discloses the electronic package of claim 12 as applied above, wherein the second height appears to be at least twice as large as the first height (see Figure 4), but does not expressly state this. Before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide the second height to be at least twice as large as the first height for the purpose of providing sufficient room for the two FAUs (270 and 280) to be present without damaging either of the FAUs, since this arrangement would not appear to provide any novel or unexpected advantages, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component and it has been held that a change in size is generally recognized in as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)) and that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (In re Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233), and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)).
Regarding claim 18; Nagarajan discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the first FAU and the third FAU are coupled to first PIC and the third PIC, and the second FAU is coupled to the second PIC but does not specify that first and third FAUs are coupled before the second FAU is coupled to the second PIC. However, the first and third FAUs (280) are the lower FAUs (see Figure 4) and the second FAU (270) is an upper FAU, and it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to couple all of the lower FAUs (280) before coupling the higher FAUs (270) above corresponding lower FAUs (280) for ease of assembly, and thus a person of ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the present invention, would have found it obvious to couple the first and third FAUs before coupling the second FAU in the invention of Nagarajan.
Regarding claim 20; Nagarajan discloses the method of claim 17, and suggest that the first height is half the second height or less (see Figure 4), but does not explicitly state that the first height is half the second height or less. Before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the first height be half the second height or less for the purpose of providing sufficient room for the two FAUs (270 and 280) to be present without damaging either of the FAUs, since this arrangement would not appear to provide any novel or unexpected advantages, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component and it has been held that a change in size is generally recognized in as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)) and that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (In re Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233), and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)).
Regarding claim 22; Nagarajan discloses the method of claim 17 as applied above, but does not specify that the third FAU is coupled to the third PIC before the first FAU is coupled to the first PIC. Before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to couple any FAU to any desired PIC in any order, since there is not apparent advantage to choosing a specific order for coupling the first and third FAUs to the first and third PICs, respectively, and there is a limited number of options to choose from, i.e. there are only three obvious possibilities, including the first FAU being coupled first, the third FAU being coupled first, or the first and third FAUs being coupled simultaneously. Thus, given the limited number of possibilities, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to couple the third FAU to the third PIC before coupling the first FAU to the first PIC when assembling the device of Nagarajan, since one of ordinary skill could have combined the elements by known coupling methods with any of the limited options with no change in their respective functions to yield predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagarajan et al. (US 2022/0283360 A1), hereafter Nagarajan, in view of Whaley (US 10,495,820 B1).
Regarding claim 19; Nagarajan discloses the method of claim 17 as applied above, but fails to disclose that the second FAU comprises a base and a protrusion, wherein the protrusion has a width that is smaller than a width of the base.
Whaley teaches that a FAU may comprise a base (120) and a protrusion (140; see Figure 1A) that has a width that is smaller than a width of the base. Before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the FAU of Nagarajan to provide a base and a protrusion have a width smaller than the width of the base for the purpose of allowing the FAU to be assembled in a desired manner with selected optical fibers, as this was a known alternative configuration of FAUs in the prior art and would not appear to produce any novel or unexpected advantages and one of ordinary skill could have combined the elements by known coupling methods with no change in their respective functions to yield predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Conclusion
/MICHELLE R CONNELLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874