DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (CN 110748241 A).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang teaches a system for a door comprising: a door lock (figs. 4) including a handle assembly (2); and an authentication module (211, 311) including a display screen (311) operable to portray a message (fig. 4), the authentication module having a housing (flexible material) being mounted to an exterior of the handle assembly such that the display screen is arranged at a position offset from a surface of the door and is rotatable with the handle assembly relative to the door.
Regarding claim 19, Zhang teaches the system of claim 18, wherein the message is a static message (fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 110748241 A) in view of Xin (US 10032327 B1).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang teaches the system of claim 18, however does not explicitly teach wherein the authentication module further comprises a microphone and a speaker and the display screen is operable to perform a video conference.
Xin teaches a similar door control system wherein the authentication module further comprises a microphone and a speaker and the display screen is operable to perform a video conference (col. 9, lines 7-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with those of Xin in order to include a microphone and speaker to allow for video conferences to be held on the display screen. Allowing for audio and video interaction prevents the unauthorized access of an unknown person by enabling a user to verify a person’s identity before opening the door. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-17 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Following the applicant’s amendments to independent claim 1, the best available art is the door control system taught by Zhang as utilized in the rejection to claim 18, however the housing of the authentication module does not extend vertically above the handle.
Claims 2-17 are allowable for depending upon an allowable base claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.E.I./Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675