DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
A Summary of the Response to Applicant’s Amendment:
Claims 1, 10, 19, and 20have been amended.
Claim 25 has been canceled and claims 2, 7-8, 13, 15-16, and 18 were previously canceled.
Claims 1, 3-6, 9-12, 14, 17, and 19-24 are pending in this application.
Rejection to claims under 35 USC § 112 is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding claims 1, 3-6, 10-14, 19, and 20-22 filed on 03/16/2026 have been considered but are not persuasive and the arguments on the amended feature has been addressed in the instant Office Action with previously identified prior arts by mapping the relevant teachings for more clarification thereof that read on said added feature are moot. For example:
(i) Regarding “the integrated access and backhaul indication information comprising mobile integrated access and backhaul node information," Wei explicitly disclose these elements. Para [0109] of Wei discloses “Along with the measurement report, the mobile IAB node 1012 may transmit assistance or additional information for the source IAB CU 1011, such as information on MTs/UEs that are going to move together with the mobile IAB node 1012, for example the number of MTs, their on-going services, etc (interpreted as “a group mobility indication indicating that the plurality of mobile terminals support group mobility”).” Informing the network that a plurality of UEs are ‘moving together’ with the IAB serves as an “indication” that those terminals support and are participating in group mobility. The Applicant’s distinction regarding the word “support” is a mere semantic difference that does not impart patentable weight.
(ii) Regarding “initiating, by the first base station, a group handover of the plurality of mobile terminals from the first base station to a second base station in response to the integrated access and backhaul indication information including the group mobility indication indicating that the plurality of mobile terminals support group mobility," the Applicant further contends that Wei is silent on how the system operates based on the group mobility information. The Examiner respectively disagree. Para [0109] of Wei discloses:
[0109] Firstly, the mobile IAB node 1012 (which may in the following description be deemed equivalent or analogous to the first infrastructure equipment 1106 of FIG. 11 and indeed which is described below interchangeably with the first infrastructure equipment 1106 of FIG. 11 ) may perform measurements on received signals, and generate a measurement report which it transmits 1201 to the source IAB CU 1011. Based on this measurement report, the source IAB CU 1011 makes a handover decision 1202, in which it identifies that the mobile IAB node 1012 (or indeed another IAB node indicated by the measurement report received 1201 from the mobile IAB node 1012) is moving outside of its control area — i.e. the zone 1010 — and identifies the target IAB CU 1021 on the basis of the zone/control area that the source IAB CU 1011 determines the mobile IAB node 1012 is moving into. Along with the measurement report, the mobile IAB node 1012 may transmit assistance or additional information for the source IAB CU 1011, such as information on MTs/UEs that are going to move together with the mobile IAB node 1012, for example the number of MTs, their on-going services, etc.
As noted above, Wei explicitly discloses that a mobile IAB node transmits “assistance or additional information for the source IAB CU 1011, such as information on MTs/UEs that are going to move together with the mobile IAB node 1012, for example the number of MTs, their on-going services, etc.” This information clearly constitutes “group mobility indication information” as it identifies a set of terminals (‘MTs/UEs’) moving in coordination with the mobile IAB node.
Contrary to Applicant’s argument, Wei describes how the system operates using this information. Para [0109] of Wei, states that “Based on this measurement report [and assistance information along with the measurement report], the source IAB CU 1011 makes a handover decision 1202” The system further utilizes the specific details of the group-such as “the number of MTs, their on-going services, etc”– to perform admission control 1204 (see Fig. 12 and para [0113] of Wei) at the target CU. This confirms that the system’s decision-making process is directly predicted on the group mobility data.
Furthermore, Wei describes specific downstream operations required to support the group movement. In para [0114] of Wei, Wei discloses that “the target IAB CU 1021 may identify a potential IAB parent node 1200 or IAB parent node candidates for the mobile IAB node 1012; here the source IAB CU 1011 will send the received measurement report 1201 or an indication of the contents thereof to the target IAB CU 1021, and from the measurement report, the target IAB CU 1021 can deduce which node or candidate nodes may be the potential parent IAB node 1200 for the mobile IAB node 1012.” That is,
the target CU uses the information to identify potential “IAB parent node candidates” for the incoming mobile IAB and its associated group.
Therefore, the system in Wei operates in direct response to group mobility information, performing a “group handover” as claimed.
(iii) Regarding “AMF and NG Application Protocol (NGAP) message”, in the context of 5G NR (3GPP standards), it is well-known that mobility management involves the AMF (Access and Mobility Management Function) and that interface between the RAN and Core Network utilizes NGAP (see 3GPP TSG-WG3 Meeting #105, Ljubljana, Slovenia, 26th – 30th August, 2019, R3-194329 (source: Huawei) (hereinafter “3GPP R3-194329”). Incorporating these standard network elements and protocols into the system of Wei represents nothing more than the use of known components according to their established functions.
3GPP R3-194329 discloses that “AMF shall send an IAB Authorized indication to IAB donor (interpreted as “receiving, by the first base station, from Access Mobility Management Function (AMF), …, an indication that the AMF supports mobile integrated access and backhaul”) for SA case and MME shall send an IAB Authorized indication to eNB for NSA case, after the authentication/authorization of IAB node.” (see page 1 of 3GPP R3-194329). 3GPP R3-194329 further clarifies that this message is sent ove the NG interface (with utilizes NGAP) to transfer initial layer 3 information to the donor node (see page 4 of 3GPP R3-194329, “This message is sent by the NG-RAN node to transfer the initial layer 3 message to the AMF over the NG interface. … … RAN UE NGAP ID … AMF Set ID”). Examiner’s note: The ‘IAB Authorized indication’ is interpreted as “an indication that the AMF supports mobile integrated access and backhaul”. The IAB donor is interpreted as “first base station”. The IAB node comprising MT part and DU part is interpreted as “Mobile IAB”.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that “IAB Authorized indication” from the AMF serves as the indication that supports (authorizes) the mobile IAB node to operate within the 5G core network.
Thus, as discussed above, 3GPP R3-194329 teaches the claimed limitation “receiving, by the first base station, from Access Mobility Management Function (AMF), via an NG Application Protocol (NGAP) message, an indication that the AMF supports mobile integrated access and backhaul” as recited in claim 1.
For the reasons stated above, the handover framework with the mobile IAB and group mobility concepts of Wei and the context of 5G NR (`3GPP R3-194329’) renders the claimed invention obvious.
Therefore, the Applicant’s arguments overall are deemed unpersuasive, and the previous rejections are hereby maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 10-12, 14, 19, and 20-22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0039422 to Wei et al. (hereinafter “Wei”) and further in view of 3GPP TSG-WG3 Meeting #105, Ljubljana, Slovenia, 26th – 30th August, 2019, R3-194329, Huawei (hereinafter “3GPP R3-194329”).
With respect to independent claims 1, 10, 19, and 20:
Regarding claim 1, Wei teaches An information transmission method comprising:
receiving, by a first base station, from an integrated access and backhaul node that is in communication with a plurality of mobile terminals and is movable together with the plurality of mobile terminals, integrated access and backhaul indication information (para [0109] of Wei: Firstly, the mobile IAB node 1012 (interpreted as “an integrated access and backhaul node”) (which may in the following description be deemed equivalent or analogous to the first infrastructure equipment 1106 of FIG. 11 and indeed which is described below interchangeably with the first infrastructure equipment 1106 of FIG. 11 ) may perform measurements on received signals, and generate a measurement report which it transmits 1201 to the source IAB CU 1011 (interpreted as “a first base station”). Along with the measurement report, the mobile IAB node 1012 may transmit assistance or additional information for the source IAB CU 1011, such as information on MTs/UEs that are going to move together with the mobile IAB node 1012 (interpreted as “that is in communication with a plurality of mobile terminals and is movable together with the plurality of mobile terminals”), for example the number of MTs, their on-going services, etc.), the integrated access and backhaul indication information comprising mobile integrated access and backhaul node information that indicates that the integrated access and backhaul node is a mobile integrated access and backhaul node and includes a group mobility indication indicating that the plurality of mobile terminals support group mobility (para [0109] of Wei: Along with the measurement report, the mobile IAB node 1012 may transmit assistance or additional information for the source IAB CU 1011, such as information on MTs/UEs that are going to move together with the mobile IAB node 1012 (interpreted as “mobile integrated access and backhaul node information that indicates that the integrated access and backhaul node is a mobile integrated access and backhaul node and includes a group mobility indication indicating that the plurality of mobile terminals support group mobility”), for example the number of MTs, their on-going services, etc.) (para [0111] of Wei: the measurement report may indicate (specifically in the case that the IAB node is a mobile IAB node));
receiving, by the first base station, (para [0113] of Wei: The source IAB CU 1011 will negotiate with the target IAB CU 1021 regarding whether the handover of the IAB node 1012 is acceptable. This may involve transmitting a handover request message 1203 to the target IAB CU 1021, which performs admission control 1204 and determines whether the handover of the IAB node 1012 is acceptable. If the handover is deemed acceptable, target IAB CU 1021 will send a handover request acknowledgment message 1205 comprising a re-configuration message to the source IAB CU 1011 (interpreted as “an indication that supports mobile integrated access and backhaul”) (taking any information received from the source IAB CU 1011 into consideration).) (Examiner’s note: the missing/crossed out limitations will be discussed in view of 3GPP R3-194329); and
initiating, by the first base station, a group handover of the plurality of mobile terminals from the first base station to a second base station in response to the integrated access and backhaul indication information including the group mobility indication indicating that the plurality of mobile terminals support group mobility (para [0115] of Wei: Furthermore, there may be a need to share route information between the source IAB CU 1011 and the target IAB CU 1021; for example, as described above, the target IAB CU 1021 may need to configure different routes for different services and so such information provided by the source IAB CU 1021 (for example as part of the handover request message 1203) will aid the target IAB CU 1021 in configuring such routes. This route information may be DRB specific.) (para [0116] of Wei: The source IAB CU 1011 may send a handover command 1206 comprising a re-configuration message to the mobile IAB node 1012 and will tell the IAB donor DU to suspend all the data targeted to this IAB node 1012 and forward 1207 this data to the target IAB donor DU (interpreted as “initiating, by the first base station, a group handover of the plurality of mobile terminals from the first base station to a second base station in response to …”, the target IAB donor DU is interpreted as “a second base station”). In other words, the handover procedure comprises the first central unit node controlling the first distributed unit node to forward data intended for transmission to the first infrastructure equipment to the second distributed unit node for subsequent transmission of the data to the first infrastructure equipment by the second distributed node. Here, the re-configuration message may be RRC signaling between the CU 1011 and the MT of the mobile IAB node 1012, or alternatively, the re-configuration message may be FLAP signaling over the F1 interface between the CU and the DU of the IAB node 1012.).
As indicated above, Wei fails to teach the features of “receiving, by the first base station, from Access Mobility Management Function (AMF, via an NG Application Protocol (NGAP) message, an indication …”
It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by 3GPP R3-194329. 3GPP R3-194329 discloses, in page 1, that, as follows:
Observation 1: …At the RAN3#103bis meeting, it was agreed that AMF shall send an IAB Authorized indication to IAB donor (interpreted as “receiving, by the first base station, from Access Mobility Management Function (AMF), …, an indication that the AMF supports mobile integrated access and backhaul”) for SA case and MME shall send an IAB Authorized indication to eNB for NSA case, after the authentication/authorization of IAB node.
…
For the MT part of IAB node, similar to normal UE, CN triggers the authentication/ authorization procedure for the USIM of IAB node. Considering that the IAB node is not only a mobile terminal but also a network device which has DU part, some device special authentication/authorization may needed for IAB node.
Examiner’s note: The ‘IAB Authorized indication’ is interpreted as “an indication that the AMF supports mobile integrated access and backhaul”. The IAB donor is interpreted as “first base station”. The IAB node comprising MT part and DU part is interpreted as “Mobile IAB”.
3GPP R3-194329 further discloses the claimed limitation “…, via an NG Application Protocol (NGAP) message,” as follows
“If the AMF Set ID IE is included in the INITIAL UE MESSAGE message this indicates that the message is a rerouted message and the AMF shall, if supported, use the IE as described in TS 23.502 [10].” (see page 3)
“9.2.5.1 INITIAL UE MESSAGE
This message is sent by the NG-RAN node to transfer the initial layer 3 message to the AMF over the NG interface (interpreted as “NG Application Protocol (NGAP)”). … … RAN UE NGAP ID … AMF Set ID” (see page 4)
As discussed above, 3GPP R3-194329 teaches the claimed limitation “receiving, by the first base station, from Access Mobility Management Function (AMF), via an NG Application Protocol (NGAP) message, an indication that supports mobile integrated access and backhaul” as recited in claim 1.
Wei and 3GPP R3-194329 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of a mobile communication system using a IAB node. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Wei to incorporate the teachings of 3GPP R3-194329 and provide, from AMF, an indication that the AMF supports mobile IAB to a base station. gNB via NGAP.
Regarding claim 10, Wei teaches An information transmission method comprising:
transmitting, by an integrated access and backhaul node that is in communication with a plurality of mobile terminals and is movable together with the plurality of mobile terminals, to a first base station, integrated access and backhaul indication information (para [0109] of Wei: Firstly, the mobile IAB node 1012 (interpreted as “an integrated access and backhaul node”) … may perform measurements on received signals, and generate a measurement report which it transmits 1201 to the source IAB CU 1011 (interpreted as “a first base station”). Along with the measurement report, the mobile IAB node 1012 may transmit assistance or additional information for the source IAB CU 1011, such as information on MTs/UEs that are going to move together with the mobile IAB node 1012 (interpreted as “that is in communication with a plurality of mobile terminals and is movable together with the plurality of mobile terminals”), for example the number of MTs, their on-going services, etc.), the integrated access and backhaul indication information comprising mobile integrated access and backhaul node information that indicates that the integrated access and backhaul node is a mobile integrated access and backhaul node (para [0109] of Wei: Along with the measurement report, the mobile IAB node 1012 may transmit assistance or additional information for the source IAB CU 1011, such as information on MTs/UEs that are going to move together with the mobile IAB node 1012 (interpreted as “mobile integrated access and backhaul node information that indicates that the integrated access and backhaul node is a mobile integrated access and backhaul node”), for example the number of MTs, their on-going services, etc.) (para [0111] of Wei: the measurement report may indicate (specifically in the case that the IAB node is a mobile IAB node)).
, wherein the first base station receives, (para [0113] of Wei: The source IAB CU 1011 will negotiate with the target IAB CU 1021 regarding whether the handover of the IAB node 1012 is acceptable. This may involve transmitting a handover request message 1203 to the target IAB CU 1021, which performs admission control 1204 and determines whether the handover of the IAB node 1012 is acceptable. If the handover is deemed acceptable, target IAB CU 1021 will send a handover request acknowledgment message 1205 comprising a re-configuration message to the source IAB CU 1011 (interpreted as “an indication that …supports mobile integrated access and backhaul”) (taking any information received from the source IAB CU 1011 into consideration).) (Examiner’s note: the missing/crossed out limitations will be discussed in view of 3GPP R3-194329).
wherein the first base station initiates a group handover of the plurality of mobile terminals from the first base station to a second base station in response to the integrated access and backhaul indication information including the group mobility indication indicating that the plurality of mobile terminals support group mobility (para [0115] of Wei: Furthermore, there may be a need to share route information between the source IAB CU 1011 and the target IAB CU 1021; for example, as described above, the target IAB CU 1021 may need to configure different routes for different services and so such information provided by the source IAB CU 1021 (for example as part of the handover request message 1203) will aid the target IAB CU 1021 in configuring such routes. This route information may be DRB specific.) (para [0116] of Wei: The source IAB CU 1011 may send a handover command 1206 comprising a re-configuration message to the mobile IAB node 1012 and will tell the IAB donor DU to suspend all the data targeted to this IAB node 1012 and forward 1207 this data to the target IAB donor DU (interpreted as “initiates a group handover of the plurality of mobile terminals from the first base station to a second base station in response to …”, the target IAB donor DU is interpreted as “a second base station”). In other words, the handover procedure comprises the first central unit node controlling the first distributed unit node to forward data intended for transmission to the first infrastructure equipment to the second distributed unit node for subsequent transmission of the data to the first infrastructure equipment by the second distributed node. Here, the re-configuration message may be RRC signaling between the CU 1011 and the MT of the mobile IAB node 1012, or alternatively, the re-configuration message may be FLAP signaling over the F1 interface between the CU and the DU of the IAB node 1012.).
As indicated above, Wei fails to teach the features of “wherein the first base station receives, from Access Mobility Management Function (AMF), via an NG Application Protocol (NGAP) message, an indication that the AMF supports mobile integrated access and backhaul”
It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by 3GPP R3-194329. 3GPP R3-194329 discloses, in page 1, that, as follows:
Observation 1: …At the RAN3#103bis meeting, it was agreed that AMF shall send an IAB Authorized indication to IAB donor (interpreted as “receives, from Access Mobility Management Function (AMF), , …, an indication that the AMF supports mobile integrated access and backhaul”) for SA case and MME shall send an IAB Authorized indication to eNB for NSA case, after the authentication/authorization of IAB node.
…
For the MT part of IAB node, similar to normal UE, CN triggers the authentication/ authorization procedure for the USIM of IAB node. Considering that the IAB node is not only a mobile terminal but also a network device which has DU part, some device special authentication/authorization may needed for IAB node.
Examiner’s note: The ‘IAB Authorized indication’ is interpreted as “an indication that the AMF supports mobile integrated access and backhaul”. The IAB donor is interpreted as “first base station”. The IAB node comprising MT part and DU part is interpreted as “Mobile IAB”.
3GPP R3-194329 further discloses the claimed limitation “…, via an NG Application Protocol (NGAP) message,” as follows
“If the AMF Set ID IE is included in the INITIAL UE MESSAGE message this indicates that the message is a rerouted message and the AMF shall, if supported, use the IE as described in TS 23.502 [10].” (see page 3)
“9.2.5.1 INITIAL UE MESSAGE
This message is sent by the NG-RAN node to transfer the initial layer 3 message to the AMF over the NG interface (interpreted as “NG Application Protocol (NGAP)”). … … RAN UE NGAP ID … AMF Set ID” (see page 4)
As discussed above, 3GPP R3-194329 teaches the claimed limitation “wherein the first base station receives, from Access Mobility Management Function (AMF), via an NG Application Protocol (NGAP) message, an indication that the AMF supports mobile integrated access and backhaul” as recited in claim 10.
Wei and 3GPP R3-194329 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of a mobile communication system using a IAB node. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Wei to incorporate the teachings of 3GPP R3-194329 and provide, from AMF, an indication that the AMF supports mobile IAB to a base station. gNB via NGAP.
Regarding claim 19, it is a wireless communication device (Fig. 3 of Wei) claim corresponding to the method claim 1, except the limitations “ a processor” (Fig. 3 of Wei; Controller 34) and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, it is a computer program product claim corresponding to the method claim 1, except the limitations “a non-transitory computer- readable medium having code stored thereon” (Para [0042] of Wei; a microprocessor, a CPU, or a dedicated chipset, etc., configured to carry out instructions which are stored on a computer readable medium, such as a non-volatile memory.) and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding Claim 3, Wei and 3GPP R3-194329 teach The information transmission method of claim 1, Wei teaches
wherein the integrated access and backhaul indication information is transmitted by the integrated access and backhaul node or by the plurality of mobile terminals via a radio resource control (RRC) message (para [0122] of Wei; In at least some embodiments of the present technique, the source and target zones operate on the same frequency; that is, the donor node/CU which control each of the source zone and target zone, and the other IAB nodes within those zones, communicate signals within a same or substantially similar bandwidth as each other. Due to this, whilst the handover configuration is provided by RRC signaling (or F1AP signaling) in the manner described above with respect to other embodiments of the present technique, it is possible to perform the actual inter-cell handover execution using physical layer signaling.).
Regarding Claim 4, Wei, and 3GPP R3-194329 teach The information transmission method of claim 3, Wei teaches
wherein the integrated access and backhaul indication information is transmitted via an RRC setup complete message, or measurement report message, or UE Assistance Information message (para [0109] of Wei: Based on this measurement report, the source IAB CU 1011 makes a handover decision 1202, in which it identifies that the mobile IAB node 1012 (or indeed another IAB node indicated by the measurement report received 1201 from the mobile IAB node 1012) is moving outside of its control area — i.e. the zone 1010 — and identifies the target IAB CU 1021 on the basis of the zone/control area that the source IAB CU 1011 determines the mobile IAB node 1012 is moving into. Along with the measurement report, the mobile IAB node 1012 may transmit assistance or additional information for the source IAB CU 1011, such as information on MTs/UEs that are going to move together with the mobile IAB node 1012, for example the number of MTs, their on-going services, etc.) (para [0111] of Wei: the measurement report may indicate (specifically in the case that the IAB node is a mobile IAB node)).
Regarding Claim 5, Wei and 3GPP R3-194329 teach The information transmission method of claim 1, wherein:
Wei teaches the mobile integrated access and backhaul node information indicates that the integrated access and backhaul node supports mobile integrated access and backhaul (para [0105] of Wei; embodiments of the present technique provide solutions for the handling of IAB nodes or the like which are mobile and move between neighboring mesh zones, where such mesh zones may be defined… according to their CU association. Embodiments of the present technique propose inter-CU IAB node handover procedures, also considering the group mobility of mobile terminals associated with the IAB node involved in the handover procedures. That is, the measurement report (interpreted as “IAB indication information”) may comprise information associated with group mobility of the one or more communications devices.) (para [0111] of Wei: the measurement report may indicate (specifically in the case that the IAB node is a mobile IAB node)).
Regarding Claim 11, Wei and 3GPP R3-194329 teach The information transmission method of claim 10, wherein:
Wei further teaches the integrated access and backhaul indication information is transmitted via a radio resource control (RRC) message (para [0122] of Wei; In at least some embodiments of the present technique, the source and target zones operate on the same frequency; that is, the donor node/CU which control each of the source zone and target zone, and the other IAB nodes within those zones, communicate signals within a same or substantially similar bandwidth as each other. Due to this, whilst the handover configuration is provided by RRC signaling (or F1AP signaling) in the manner described above with respect to other embodiments of the present technique, it is possible to perform the actual inter-cell handover execution using physical layer signaling.).
Regarding Claim 12, Claim 12 has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 4, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 4.
Claim(s) 6, 14, and 21-24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei, in view of 3GPP R3-194329, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0058985 to Fujishiro (hereinafter “Fujishiro”).
Regarding Claim 6, Wei and 3GPP R3-194329 teach The information transmission method of claim 1, wherein: Wei and 3GPP R3-194329 fail to teach the integrated access and backhaul indication information is transmitted from the first base station to a second base station via an Xn Application Protocol (XnAP) message.
In analogous art, Fujishiro teaches the integrated access and backhaul indication information is transmitted from the first base station to a second base station via an Xn Application Protocol (XnAP) message (para [0098] of Fujishiro; the gNB 200-1 transfers the handover request message including the IAB indication received from the IAB node 300-1, to the gNB 200-2 over the Xn interface, upon determining that the gNB 200-2 has the donor capability.),
Wei, 3GPP R3-194329, and Fujishiro are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of a mobile communication system using a IAB node. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Wei and 3GPP R3-194329 to incorporate the teachings of Fujishiro and provide a handover request message including the IAB indication via an Xn Application Protocol (XnAP) message.
Regarding Claim 14, Claim 14 has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 6, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 6.
Regarding Claim 23, Claim 23 has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 6, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 6.
Regarding Claim 24, Claim 24 has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 6, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 6.
Regarding Claim 21, Wei and 3GPP R3-194329 teach The information transmission method of claim 1, Wei and 3GPP R3-194329 fail to teach wherein the integrated access and backhaul indication information is sent via an XN SETUP REQUEST, or XN SETUP RESPONSE, or NG-RAN NODE CONFIGURATION UPDATE, or NG-RAN NODE CONFIGURATION UPDATE ACKNOWLEDGE message.
In analogous art, Fujishiro teaches wherein the integrated access and backhaul indication information is sent via an XN SETUP REQUEST, or XN SETUP RESPONSE, or NG-RAN NODE CONFIGURATION UPDATE, or NG-RAN NODE CONFIGURATION UPDATE ACKNOWLEDGE message (para [0098] of Fujishiro; the gNB 200-1 transfers the handover request message (interpreted as “XN SETUP REQUEST”) including the IAB indication received from the IAB node 300-1, to the gNB 200-2 over the Xn interface.).
Wei, 3GPP R3-194329, and Fujishiro are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of a mobile communication system using a IAB node. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Wei and 3GPP R3-194329 to incorporate the teachings of Fujishiro and provide the IAB indication via an Xn Application Protocol (XnAP) message.
Regarding Claim 22, Claim 22 has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 21, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 21.
Claim(s) 9 and 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei, in view of 3GPP R3-194329, and further in view of Huawei, 3GPP TSG-WG3 Meeting #105, R3-194327, Ljubljana, Slovenia, 26th – 30th August, 2019 (hereinafter “3GPP R3-194327”).
Regarding Claim 9, Wei and 3GPP R3-194329 teach The information transmission method of claim 1, Wei and 3GPP R3-194329 fail to particularly teach wherein the integrated access and backhaul indication information is transmitted via an NG SETUP REQUEST , or NG SETUP RESPONSE, or RAN CONFIGURATION UPDATE, or RAN CONFIGURATION UPDATE ACKNOWLEDGE, or AMF CONFIGURATION UPDATE, or AMF CONFIGURATION UPDATE ACKNOWLEDGE
However, 3GPP R3-194327 teaches the above limitation (pages 1-2, 2. Discussion, Phase 1: MT setup. A simple way is to enable the IAB-MT indicates it is an IAB node rather than a normal UE in UL RRC message towards the IAB-donor-CU, before the CU send INITIAL UE MESSAGE. After checking the UE initial access procedure shown in subclause 8.1 and 8.9.1 of [3], we found that the IAB node indication to the RAN part can be carried in either step 1 (the message 3, i.e. RRCSetupRequest) (interpreted as “via an NG SETUP REQUEST”) and step 5 (the message 5, i.e. RRCSetupComplete) (interpreted as “NG SETUP RESPONSE”). It will be RAN2’s scope to determine which one (carry IAB indication in message 3 or message 5) is better.)(page 2, Observation 2: An AMF IAB support indication sent from AMF to IAB donor may be needed in NG Setup or AMF configuration update procedures for AMF selection.)
Wei, 3GPP R3-194329 and 3GPP R3-194327 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of a mobile communication system using a IAB node. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a combination of Wei and 3GPP R3-194329 to incorporate the teachings of 3GPP R3-194327 disclosing a discussion of 3GPP TSG RAN WG2 Meeting #105 and provide an mobile IAB information indicating that the base station or AMF supports mobile IAB.
Regarding Claim 17, Claim 17 has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 9, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 9.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WON JUN CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411