Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to amendment filed on 05/22/2025.
Claims 1-19 are pending this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The previously presented prior art cites the limitations of the claims presented.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., upper tier battery array) are not recited in the claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
See further responses to each claims’ arguments below:
In response to the argument of claim 1, as explained in detail below Perumalla teaches alternate configurations of the traction battery assembly to aid in heat distribution
In response to the argument of claim 2, as explained in detail below modified Perumalla teaches a configurations of the traction battery wherein the cells and the electronics assembly are on the same side of the thermal exchange plate. Therefore the thermal barrier taught by Hermann could be placed on the opposing side of the thermal exchange plate.
In response to the argument of claim 3, as explained in detail below modified Perumalla discloses the thermal barrier of claim 1 and Hermann also discloses the coupling of a thermal barrier and the heat sink insinuating that the two components are bonded together, and the thermal barrier covers (pockets) the sides of the heat sink.
In response to the argument of claims 4 and 19, modified Perumalla leaves room for the modification by Haag by stating that the thermal plate assembly comprises a multi-piece housing (par. [0026]).
In response to the argument of claim 5, as explained in detail below claim 5 of the application fails to disclose wherein the traction battery comprises an upper tier and a lower tier array. Therefore, modified Perumalla teaches a battery array that could be classified as an “upper tier”.
In response to the argument of claim 7, modified Perumalla’s different configurations of the traction battery do not all require both sides of the thermal plate to be utilized.
In response to the argument of claims 8-9 and 12, claim 1 has been rejected and therefore claim 8 is rejected via claim dependency and prior art teachings detailed below.
In response to the argument of claims 10-11, modified Perumalla discloses that the support structure may be welded, or bolted to the thermal plate assembly. This same method of combination between the support structure and the thermal plate assembly can be applied to the thermal barrier taught by Hermann and the thermal plate of Perumalla’s invention.
In response to the argument of claims 13-15 and 17, the tiered battery modifications made to Perumalla’s traction battery are supported by par. [0033] which states that the present disclosure provides a traction battery that employs a unique configuration of multiple components to efficiently manage heat.
In response to the argument of claim 16, modified Perumalla discloses the thermal barrier of claim 1 as taught by Hermann.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perumalla (US20160118700A1) in view of Hermann (US8541126B2).
As to claim 1, modified Perumalla teaches a vehicle traction battery assembly includes at least one battery cell array and a thermal plate (par. [0003]). Perumalla discloses a thermal plate (fig. 2 – thermal plate assembly 202), a battery cell array disposed on the thermal plate (fig. 4 – battery cell array 404), a support structure supporting the battery cell array and the thermal plate (fig. 4 – support structure 418; par. [0013],[0026]). Perumalla fails to disclose a thermal barrier sandwiched between the thermal plate and an enclosure.
Hermann teaches a thermal barrier element that separates the cells into groups prevent a thermal runaway event (col. 2, lines 16-21). Hermann discloses a thermal barrier (fig. 2 – thermal barrier elements 201) sandwiched between a heat sink and the enclosure structure (col. 2, lines 56-61). In order to mitigate the risk of a thermal runaway event happening, a thermal barrier is employed (col. 2, lines 16-21).
Claim 1 does not indicate that the thermal barrier needs to be in direct contact with the thermal exchange plate. Therefore, the thermal barrier of Hermann’s invention can be implemented underneath the electronics assembly of Perumalla’s invention instead of underneath the thermal plate and still block thermal energy from passing from the battery array tiers and the electronics assembly (par. [0021]). Perumalla teaches that unique configurations of multiple components may be implemented to efficiently manage heat (par. [0033]). In addition, Perumalla leaves room for the use of thermal management systems such as air cooling systems, liquid cooling systems and a combination of air and liquid systems (par. [0019]). Within the configuration of the traction battery displayed in fig. 2, Perumalla discloses that the heat sources being on opposing sides of the thermal exchange plate permits the use of potentially one cold plate instead of two separate plates (par. [0021]). Placing the thermal barrier underneath the electronics assembly follows but forgoes the limitation of the package not needing two cold plates (par. [0021]). Perumalla further discloses the traction battery assembly further includes an electronics assembly having a housing in contact with an opposing side of the thermal plate to exchange heat during operation (par. [0004]) which may act as the enclosure. The thermal barrier being implemented underneath the electronics assembly results in a thermal barrier sandwiched between the thermal plate and an enclosure. In addition, the alternative configuration presented in fig. 3 places the cells and the electronics assembly on the same side of the thermal exchange plate. Meaning, the thermal barrier could be placed on the opposing side of the thermal exchange plate and still block thermal energy from passing from the battery array tiers and the electronics assembly (par. [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the thermal barrier element of Hermann’s invention underneath the electronics assembly of Perumalla’s traction battery in order to mitigate thermal runaway events in the cells (col. 2, lines 16-21).
As to claim 2, modified Perumalla teaches a battery cell array in direct contact with the thermal plate (fig. 2 – thermal plate assembly 202). Perumalla fails to disclose wherein the thermal barrier is in direct contact with the thermal plate.
Furthermore, in fig. 3 of Perumalla’s displays an alternate configuration of the traction battery as opposed to fig. 2. In this configuration, the three heat sources (two cell arrays and electronics assembly) are on the same side of the thermal plate assembly. The support portion is attached to the upper portion of the thermal plate assembly between the electronics assembly and the two battery cell arrays and is a thermally conductive material (par. [0029]). Therefore, a thermal barrier being implemented on the opposite side of the thermal plate would still block thermal energy from passing from the battery array tiers and the electronics assembly (par. [0021]). Perumalla further discloses in this instance the thermal plate assembly may be directly mounted to a battery housing (enclosure) (par. [0029]) meaning that a thermal barrier could be implemented in between the thermal plate and the battery housing (enclosure).
Hermann further teaches a heat sink to improve heat withdrawal capabilities (col. 6, lines 46-49). Hermann discloses an embodiment in which the high thermal conductivity layer of the thermal barrier elements is coupled to a heat sink (col. 3, lines 45-48). A heat sink was employed to aid in the distribution and removal of thermal energy (col. 7, lines 57-61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the direct contact between the heat sink and thermal barrier in Hermann’s invention to Perumalla’s traction battery/thermal plate assembly in fig. 3 in order to aid in the distribution and removal of thermal energy (col. 7, lines 57-61).
The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
As to claim 3, modified Perumalla teaches a thermal plate that is covered on multiple sides (fig. 2 – thermal plate assembly) and a thermal barrier as taught by Hermann previously. Perumalla fails to disclose a thermal barrier including a pocket that receives the thermal exchange plate.
Modified Perumalla is the alternated version of the prior art as described in claim 1’s rejection. In this instance, modified Perumalla comprises a thermal barrier implemented in between the thermal plate and the battery housing (enclosure) (par. [0029]) based on the configuration of fig. 3. Or modified Perumalla comprises a thermal barrier implemented underneath the electronics assembly of Perumalla’s fig. 2 configuration and block thermal energy from passing from the battery array tiers and the electronics assembly (par. [0021]). In the instance where modified Perumalla comprises a thermal barrier implemented in between the thermal plate and the battery housing (enclosure) (par. [0029]) based on the configuration of fig. 3 It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to add a ‘pocket’ to the thermal barrier layer as Perumalla leaves room for modification by stating that the arrangement of components helps to reduce heat accumulation in the battery cells and electronics (par. [0033]). As showcased in fig. 3 and fig. 4’s traction battery configurations the thermal plate assembly was elongated to reduce thermal resistance (par. [0031]) and the support structure in fig. 3 was reduced in size to allow the thermal plate to be mounted to the housing (par. [0029]). Hermann also discloses the coupling of a thermal barrier and the heat sink insinuating that the two components are bonded together, and the thermal barrier covers (pockets) the sides of the heat sink.
Hermann teaches a thermal barrier that is coupled to a heat sink (col. 2, lines 50-56). Hermann discloses a channel that is coupled to the heat sink and thermal barrier (col. 2, lines 50-56) wherein the layers of the barrier are coupled to the heat sink (col. 2, lines 56-61). The coupling of layers provides improved heat withdrawal capabilities (col. 6, lines 46-49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the coupling element of Hermann’s invention to Perumalla’s thermal plate in order to improve heat withdrawal capabilities (col. 6, lines 46-49).
As to claim 5, modified Perumalla discloses an upper tier battery cell array (fig. 2 – battery cell array 204). Perumalla discloses in the example of the traction battery assembly, the heat sources include a first battery cell array, a second battery cell array, and an electronics assembly (par. [0021]).
Claim 5 fails to disclose wherein the traction battery comprises an upper tier and a lower tier array. By definition, modified Perumalla teaches a battery array that could be classified as an “upper tier” even though the art only teaches one tier, claim 5’s language does not require two tiers of battery arrays.
As to claim 8, modified Perumalla teaches a thermal barrier that is coupled to a thermal plate. Perumalla fails to disclose wherein the thermal barrier comprises an intumescent.
Hermann teaches a thermal barrier that may be composed of intumescent material (col. 5, lines 61-67; col. 6, lines 1-24). Hermann discloses thermal barrier elements are comprised of a material with a high melting temperature (col. 5, lines 61-67) suitable materials include intumescent material and etc. (col. 6, lines 1-24). The thermal barriers require low thermal conductivity and a high melting temperature which intumescent material provide (col. 6, lines 1-24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the intumescent material of Hermann's invention to Perumalla's thermal barrier in order to employ a material that has low thermal conductivity and a high melting temperature (col. 6, lines 1-24).
As to claim 16, modified Perumalla discloses a thermal barrier between a thermal exchange
plate and an enclosure structure (col. 2, lines 56-61) as taught by Hermann. The thermal barrier is
configured to draw thermal energy away from the cell group/heat sink (col. 2, lines 16-21; col. 6, lines 25-30) as taught by Hermann.
Claim 1 nor 16 indicate that the thermal barrier needs to be in direct contact with the thermal exchange plate. Therefore, the thermal barrier of Hermann’s invention can be implemented underneath the electronics assembly of Perumalla’s invention instead of underneath the thermal plate and still block thermal energy from passing from the battery array tiers and the electronics assembly (par. [0021]). Perumalla teaches that unique configurations of multiple components may be implemented to efficiently manage heat (par. [0033]). In addition, Perumalla leaves room for the use of thermal management systems such as air cooling systems, liquid cooling systems and a combination of air and liquid systems (par. [0019]). Within the configuration of the traction battery displayed in fig. 2, Perumalla discloses that the heat sources being on opposing sides of the thermal exchange plate permits the use of potentially one cold plate instead of two separate plates (par. [0021]). Placing the thermal barrier underneath the electronics assembly follows but forgoes the limitation of the package not needing two cold plates (par. [0021]). Perumalla further discloses the traction battery assembly further includes an electronics assembly having a housing in contact with an opposing side of the thermal plate to exchange heat during operation (par. [0004]) which may act as the enclosure. The thermal barrier being implemented underneath the electronics assembly results in a thermal barrier sandwiched between the thermal plate and an enclosure. In addition, the alternative configuration presented in fig. 3 places the cells and the electronics assembly on the same side of the thermal exchange plate. Meaning, the thermal barrier could be placed on the opposing side of the thermal exchange plate and still block thermal energy from passing from the battery array tiers and the electronics assembly (par. [0021]).
As to claim 18, modified Perumalla discloses a thermal barrier comprising an intumescent (col.
5, lines 61-67; col. 6, lines 1-24) as taught by Hermann.
Claim(s) 4, 6-7, 13-15, 17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perumalla (US20160118700A1) and Hermann (US8541126B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Haag (US20180294450A1).
As to claim 4, modified Perumalla teaches a thermal barrier coupled to a thermal plate coupled via a heat pipe (pocket) such that the thermal barrier interfaces directly with a plurality of sides of the thermal exchange plate. Perumalla discloses support structure supporting the battery cell array and the thermal plate (fig. 4 - support structure 418; par. [0013],[0026]) but fails to disclose an enclosure mid-tray.
Haag teaches a first and second housing including a cover and floor (par. [0005]). Haag discloses a first housing and a second housing that are trays of the enclosure and have a tub-like configuration (par. [0054]). The floor (fig. 4 - floor 128) the second housing (fig. 3 - second housing 68) acts as an enclosure mid-tray. Multiple enclosures are employed to house and support the battery arrays (par. [0003]).
The second housing could be implemented as the enclosure mid tray in Perumalla’s invention to support the upper tier as defined in claim 5’s rejection. Perumalla leaves room for the modification by stating that the thermal plate assembly comprises a multi-piece housing (par. [0026]). The top of Perumalla’s housing defined in par. [0013] could be defined as the enclosure cover, the bottom of Perumalla’s housing defined in par. [0004], [0029] can be defined as the enclosure tray, and the modification taught by Haag could be defined as the mid enclosure tray.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the housing elements of Haag's invention to the support structure of Perumalla's invention in order to house and support the battery arrays (par. [0003]).
As to claim 6, modified Perumalla teaches an enclosure mid-tray made of the floor of the second housing. Perumalla fails to disclose an enclosure tray/bottom cover.
Haag teaches a first housing (fig. 4 - first housing 64) with a floor (fig. 4- floor 120). Haag discloses the first housing including, a floor (enclosure tray), and a plurality of walls extending at any angle transversely from the floor wherein the battery array is disposed on the floor (par. [0054]) to support the lower tier battery array (par. [0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the floor element of Haag's invention to Perumalla's battery array casing in order to support the lower tier battery array (par. [0004]).
As to claim 7, modified Perumalla teaches a stacked housing element with the floor of the first housing acting as the enclosure tray and the floor of the second housing acting as the enclosed mid-tray. Perumalla fails to disclose a lower tier battery array.
Perumalla’s invention teaches the arrangement of components helps to reduce heat accumulation in the battery cells and electronics. As showcased in fig. 4, Perumalla moves away from two battery arrays and opts for only one array as a possible configuration. Introducing a two tiered battery array to Perumalla’s invention is permitted based on par. [0033]. Perumalla also permits the use of one or more battery cell arrays in the traction battery to provide a high voltage direct current (par. [0012])
Haag teaches a stacked battery array (par. [0067]). Haag discloses battery arrays arranged in tiers within the traction battery (par. [0046]) wherein stacking the battery arrays in tiers reduces the volume and density of the traction battery (par. [0067]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the stack battery array element of Haag's invention to Perumalla's traction battery assembly in order to reduce the volume and density of the traction battery (par. [0067]).
As to claim 13, modified Perumalla teaches an upper and lower tier thermal plate (fig. 4 – thermal exchange plate 140), an upper and lower tier battery array disposed on the respective tiered thermal plates (fig. 4 – battery array 18b, 18a), an enclosure mid-tray supporting the upper tier thermal plate (fig. 4a – second housing 68a; par. [0054]), an enclosure tray supporting the lower tier thermal plate (par. [0054]), and an upper tier thermal barrier (fig. 2 – thermal barrier elements 201) sandwiched between the upper tier thermal exchange plate and the enclosure mid-tray (col. 2, lines 56-61) as taught by Hermann and Haag.
These modifications (tiered battery) to Perumalla’s traction battery are supported by par. [0033] which states that the present disclosure provides a traction battery that employs a unique configuration of multiple components to efficiently manage heat. Perumalla also permits the use of one or more battery cell arrays in the traction battery to provide a high voltage direct current (par. [0012])
As to claim 14, modified Perumalla discloses a lower tier (par. [0023]) thermal barrier sandwiched between the lower tier thermal exchange plate and the enclosure tray (col. 2, lines 56-61) as taught by Hermann and Haag.
These modifications to Perumalla’s traction battery are supported by par. [0033] which states that the present disclosure provides a traction battery that employs a unique configuration of multiple components to efficiently manage heat. Perumalla also permits the use of one or more battery cell arrays (battery tier system) in the traction battery to provide a high voltage direct current (par. [0012]).
As to claim 15, modified Perumalla discloses the upper tier thermal barrier and the lower tier thermal barrier (par. [0023]) each comprising an intumescent (col. 5, lines 61-67; col. 6, lines 1-24) as taught by Hermann and Haag.
These modifications to Perumalla’s traction battery are supported by par. [0033] which states that the present disclosure provides a traction battery that employs a unique configuration of multiple components to efficiently manage heat. Perumalla also permits the use of one or more battery cell arrays (battery tier system) in the traction battery to provide a high voltage direct current (par. [0012]).
As to claim 17, modified Perumalla discloses a thermal plate that exchanges heat during power flow (par. [0004]) for an upper tier (par. [0023])) battery array as taught by Perumalla and Haag.
These modifications to Perumalla’s traction battery are supported by par. [0033] which states that the present disclosure provides a traction battery that employs a unique configuration of multiple components to efficiently manage heat. Perumalla also permits the use of one or more battery cell arrays (battery tier system) in the traction battery to provide a high voltage direct current (par. [0012]).
There is no evidence in the specification that indicates that the dimensions of the traction battery needs to be limited in order to be applied into a hybrid vehicle. In the manner that the traction battery size is too large for its application, Perumalla has taught the reduction in size of components such as the electronics assembly and the support assembly if there are vertical space constraints in the available vehicle package (par. [0029]).
As to claim 19, modified Perumalla discloses an enclosure mid-tray (fig. 4a - second housing 68a; par. [0054]) as taught by Haag.
These modifications to Perumalla’s traction battery are supported by par. [0033] which states that the present disclosure provides a traction battery that employs a unique configuration of multiple components to efficiently manage heat. Perumalla also permits the use of one or more battery cell arrays (battery tier system) in the traction battery to provide a high voltage direct current (par. [0012]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perumalla (US20160118700A1) and Hermann (US8541126B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jung (US20220115734A1).
As to claim 9, modified Perumalla teaches a thermal barrier composed of an intumescent material. Perumalla fails to disclose wherein the thermal barrier comprises an aerogel having an endothermic filler.
Jung teaches a heat insulating sheet between two adjacent battery cells (par. [0007]). Jung discloses the heat insulating sheet may include one of mica and aerogel (par. [0023]) and the first friction sheet may include at least one of silicone, polyurethane, thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU), and a pressure sensitive adhesive (PSA) (par. [0020]) to provide improved heat insulation whilst being lightweight (par. [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the aerogel and polymeric elements of Jung's invention to Perumalla's thermal barrier to provide improved heat insulation whilst being lightweight (par. [0071]).
These modifications to Perumalla’s traction battery are supported by par. [0033] which states that the present disclosure provides a traction battery that employs a unique configuration of multiple components to efficiently manage heat. Perumalla also permits the use of one or more battery cell arrays (battery tier system) in the traction battery to provide a high voltage direct current (par. [0012]).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perumalla (US20160118700A1) and Hermann (US8541126B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bardeleben (US20190277578A1).
As to claim 10, modified Perumalla teaches a thermal barrier in direct contact with a heat sink and coupled via a heat pipe. Perumalla fails to disclose if the thermal barrier is fastened to the heat sink.
Bardeleben teaches a heat exchanger including a plurality of mechanical fasteners (par. [0141]). Bardeleben discloses mechanical fasteners such as screws, bolts or rivets which passthrough aligned fastener holes of the plates (par. [0141]) to form sealed connections between the first plates of the first and second channel structures and the spacers (par. [0141]).
In this sense, the first plates refer to the upper portion and a lower portion of the thermal plate assembly and the first and second channel structures refer to the internal flow channels within the thermal plate (par. [0025]) and the spacers can be represented by the thermal interface material (par. [0023]) of Perumalla’s invention. Perumalla also discloses that the support structure may be welded, or bolted to the thermal plate assembly. This same method of combination between the support structure and the thermal plate assembly can be applied to the thermal barrier taught by Hermann and the thermal plate of Perumalla’s invention based on evidentiary use in the art by Perumalla and Bardeleben's.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the mechanical fasteners of Bardeleben's invention to the thermal barrier of Perumalla's invention in order to form sealed connections between the first plates of the first and second channel structures and the spacers (par. [0141]).
As to claim 11, modified Perumalla discloses a plurality of mechanical fasteners comprising a plurality of rivets as taught by Bardeleben in claim 10.
These modifications to Perumalla’s traction battery are supported by par. [0033] which states that the present disclosure provides a traction battery that employs a unique configuration of multiple components to efficiently manage heat. Perumalla also discloses the use of welding or bolting the support structure to the thermal plate so this same method could be applied to the thermal barrier.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perumalla (US20160118700A1) and Hermann (US8541126B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Motohashi (US20210036270A1).
As to claim 12, modified Perumalla teaches a thermal barrier made of on intumescent material. Perumalla fails to disclose wherein the thermal barrier is adhesively secured to the thermal exchange plate.
Motohashi teaches an adhesive layer (fig. 4 - adhesive layer 15). Motohashi discloses the heat sinks, the insulating sheets, and the restraining plate, are adhered by the adhesive layers (par. [0103]) to improve durability when the battery module 100 experiences vibrations, shocks, or the like (par. [0103]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the adhesive layer of Motohashi's invention to Perumalla's thermal barrier to improve durability when the battery module 100 experiences vibrations, shocks, or the like (par. [0103]).
These modifications to Perumalla’s traction battery are supported by par. [0033] which states that the present disclosure provides a traction battery that employs a unique configuration of multiple components to efficiently manage heat. Perumalla also permits the use of one or more battery cell arrays (battery tier system) in the traction battery to provide a high voltage direct current (par. [0012]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JADE SIMMONS
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727