Response to Amendments
In response to the amendments received 03/30/2026:
Claims 15-23 are pending in the current application. Claims 1-14 have been canceled. Claim 15 has been amended. Claims 22-23 are new.
Claim Interpretation
Independent claims 15, 21, and 22 recite “…connected to”. Using the broadest reasonable interpretation, “connected to” may be interpreted as physically, thermally, or electrically.
Independent claims 15, 21, and 22 recite “a single …electrode layer”. “A first electrode layer” does not mean that an electrode does not comprise several layers, or that the cermet/clad layers are not a part/also an electrode layer. In the current form, without further limiting how/what is included differentiating each layer, the prior art reads on the limitations. Furthermore, in light of the disclosure, the electrode layer and the clad/cermet layer are made of the same composition and both carry conductivity. Support layer and cermet layers are well-known and frequently referred to as an electrode sublayers/layers/collector/supports (i.e. wherein clad layer is anode sublayer with differing particle size and/or porosity).
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "… the second cermet layer…" in the recitation of the second layer (c). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohtani et al. (US 2014/0170532) in view of Son et al. (US 20120003565).
Regarding claim 15, Ohtani teaches a metal-supported electrochemical cell comprising in a layered configuration:
(a) a first cermet layer, or back surface layer 7 formed the same as the second cermet layer, comprising submicron-sized grains of a first metal and submicron-sized grains of a first metal oxide (P31.36-37.68.82.86);
(b) a porous metal support, or support substrate 2 configured as a layer having a porosity ranging from 30% to 60% (P35), overlapping the claimed range of 20 volume percent to 50 volume percent;
(d) a single first electrode layer, or anode 3 comprising submicron-sized grains of a second metal and submicron-sized grains of a second metal oxide (P31.36-37.68.71.82.86; Fig. 3);
(e) an electrolyte layer 4 (P29; Fig. 3); and
(f) a second electrode layer, or cathode 6 having a polarity opposite to that of the first electrode layer. (P29; Fig. 3).
Ohtani is silent in teaching a second cermet layer (d) comprising submicron-sized grains of a second metal and submicron-sized grains of a second metal oxide connected to the porous metal support; however, Son, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches an electrochemical cell with a porous anode and support (P17).
Son teaches including a porous metal support 10 with a second cermet layer (d) comprising submicron-sized grains of a second metal and submicron-sized grains of a second metal oxide connected to the porous metal support and a first electrode layer connected to the second cermet layer, and an electrolyte layer 20 connected to the first electrode, wherein the second cermet layer (d) comprising submicron-sized grains of a second metal and submicron-sized grains of a second metal oxide connected to the porous metal support and a first electrode layer connected to the second cermet layer are formed by a multi-layered nano-porous structure wherein the layers have different pore sizes. The second cermet layer closest to the support has larger pores than the first electrode layer, adjacent the electrolyte, or pore size diminishes closer to the electrolyte to resist shrinkage and improve interfacial adhesion strength, improving stability while allowing a thinner cell to be formed (P58.83.89-90.100-104.124-125; Fig. 25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to form the cell of Ohtani with a second cermet layer (d) comprising submicron-sized grains of a second metal and submicron-sized grains of a second metal oxide connected to the porous metal support and a first electrode layer connected to the second cermet layer, (electrode of sublayers with different porosity) as taught by Son, to improve stability and strength. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a method of enhancing a particular class of devices (methods, or products) has been made part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art based upon the teaching of such improvement in other situations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known method of enhancement to a "base" device (method, or product) in the prior art and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2143 C
Furthermore, with respect to the above combination of overall element, the rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. MPEP 2143 B
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. MPEP 2112.0
Regarding claim 16, modified Ohtani in view of Son teaches the first electrode, or fuel electrode, comprises nickel oxide and a metal oxide of yttrium or cerium (Son; P51.64.70-75.100 and Ohtani; P35).
Regarding claim 17, modified Ohtani teaches the electrolyte layer comprises a metal oxide of i.e., yttrium (P39).
Regarding claim 18, modified Ohtani teaches the second electrode layer, or oxygen electrode layer, is of ABO3 with i.e., strontium and iron (P41)
Regarding claim 19, modified Ohtani in view of Son teaches the first electrode layer is a fuel electrode (anode) layer (Son) and the second electrode layer is an oxygen or air electrode (cathode) layer (P29.41; Ohtani)
Regarding claim 20, modified Ohtani in view of Son teaches the fuel electrode layer has a thickness between 4 microns and 6 microns (P114.124-125; Son), overlapping the claimed range of 3 microns and 20 microns; the electrolyte layer has a thickness of 2 micron or less (P61.73; Son), overlapping the claimed range of between 1 micron and 20 micron; and the oxygen electrode layer has a thickness between 5 microns and 100 microns (P34; Ohtani), overlapping the claimed range of between 10 microns and 30 microns. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05- I
Regarding claim 21, modified Ohtani teaches an interlayer, or intermediate layer 5 is disposed in between the electrolyte layer 4 and the oxygen electrode layer 6 (P40; Fig. 3).
Regarding claims 22-23, Ohtani teaches a metal-supported electrochemical cell comprising in a layered configuration:
(a) a first cermet layer, or back surface layer 7 formed the same as the second cermet layer, comprising submicron-sized grains of a first metal and submicron-sized grains of a first metal oxide comprising Gd (P31.36-37.68.82.86);
(b) a porous metal support, or support substrate 2 configured as a layer having a porosity ranging from 30% to 60% (P35), overlapping the claimed range of 20 volume percent to 50 volume percent connected to the first cermet layer;
(d) a single first electrode layer, or anode 3 (P31.36-37.68.71.82.86; Fig. 3);
(e) an electrolyte layer 4 (P29; Fig. 3); and
(f) a second electrode layer, or cathode 6 having a polarity opposite to that of the first electrode layer. (P29; Fig. 3).
Ohtani is silent in teaching a second cermet layer (d) comprising submicron-sized grains of a second metal and submicron-sized grains of a second metal oxide connected to the porous metal support; however, Son, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches an electrochemical cell with a porous anode and support (P17).
Son teaches including a porous metal support 10 with a second cermet layer (d) comprising submicron-sized grains of a second metal and submicron-sized grains of a second metal oxide including Y and connected to the porous metal support and a first electrode layer connected to the second cermet layer, and an electrolyte layer 20 connected to the first electrode, wherein the second cermet layer (d) comprising submicron-sized grains of a second metal and submicron-sized grains of a second metal oxide connected to the porous metal support and a first electrode layer connected to the second cermet layer are formed by a multi-layered nano-porous structure wherein the layers have different pore sizes. The second cermet layer closest to the support has larger pores than the first electrode layer, adjacent the electrolyte, or pore size diminishes closer to the electrolyte to resist shrinkage and improve interfacial adhesion strength, improving stability while allowing a thinner cell to be formed (P58.83.89-90.100-104.124-125; Fig. 25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to form the cell of Ohtani with a second cermet layer (d) comprising submicron-sized grains of a second metal and submicron-sized grains of a second metal oxide including Y connected to the porous metal support and a first electrode layer connected to the second cermet layer, (electrode of sublayers with different porosity) as taught by Son, to improve stability and strength. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a method of enhancing a particular class of devices (methods, or products) has been made part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art based upon the teaching of such improvement in other situations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known method of enhancement to a "base" device (method, or product) in the prior art and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2143 C
Furthermore, with respect to the above combination of overall element, the rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. MPEP 2143 B
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. MPEP 2112.0
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that newly added limitation of “…a single first/second electrode layer…” overcome a reference teaching multiple electrode layers and that the cermet/clad/interlayer/support layers are not to be interpreted as electrode layers and the electrode layer is not to be interpreted as an anode functional layer. Applicant argues that the claimed layers are different from those of the prior art and one of ordinary skill in the art would not make substitutions.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Where applicant claims a product/composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the product/composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103. "There is nothing inconsistent in concurrent rejections for obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 and for anticipation under 35 U.S.C. 102." It is noted that while features may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114)
“A first electrode layer” does not mean that an electrode does not comprise several layers, or that the cermet/clad layers are not a part/also an electrode layer. In the current form, without further limiting how/what is included differentiating each layer, the prior art reads on the limitations. Furthermore, in light of the disclosure, the electrode layer and the clad/cermet layer are made of the same composition and both carry conductivity. Support layer and cermet layers are well-known and frequently referred to as an electrode sublayers/layers/collector/supports (i.e. wherein clad layer is anode sublayer with differing particle size and/or porosity).
Examiner notes that a primary reference teaching a single “electrode”/anode layer combined with a second reference teaching an electrode comprising at least 2 layers can be combined and the layer interpreted as the “clad layer” is that closest to the support layer while the “electrode layer” is closest to the electrolyte layer.
The arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. The recitation of an additional advantage associated with doing what the prior art suggests does not lend patentability to an otherwise unpatentable invention.” MPEP 2145 II
It is noted that while features may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114).
All changes are necessitated by the amendment. Above set forth modified grounds of rejection establish prima facie obviousness of the amended claims.
Conclusion
/Amanda Rosenbaum/ Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/Helen Oi K CONLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752