DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 10/24/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application, and no claims have been canceled. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome every claim objection and 103 rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 7/28/2025. It is noted that corrected drawings do not appear to have been submitted. The new grounds of rejection presented below are necessitated by the amendments. Accordingly, this Office Action is made Final.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits on page 9 of Remarks that Sergyeyenko does not disclose assigning a battery pack connecting any specific charger of the plurality of chargers 70a, 70b, 70c as the primary battery pack, as required by amended independent claim 1. As Sergyeyenko does not disclose, suggest, or teach assigning one of the battery packs as the primary packs, Sergyeyenko cannot possibly disclose, teach, or suggest determining a charging current being provided to the primary battery pack, as required by amended independent claim 1. Also, Sergyeyenko does not disclose assigning one of the battery packs connected to one or more of the chargers as the secondary battery pack. Since Sergyeyenko does not disclose assigning one or more battery packs as the secondary battery pack and charging current being provided to the primary battery pack, Sergyeyenko cannot possibly disclose, teach, or suggest, enabling or disabling a charging of the secondary battery pack based on a difference of total charging current being provided to the battery packs being charged and the threshold value. Accordingly, Sergyeyenko, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest all the features of the amended independent claim 1.
The examiner submits that primary and secondary batteries appear distinguishable in the claim language of claim 1 only in that a primary battery is connected to a charging terminal and a secondary battery is connected to an electrical outlet via an external charger. The combination of Sergyeyenko and Ehler covers these limitations with the controller 1000 of Sergyeyenko detecting the battery 200 via terminal blades and charging the battery, ¶0038, and with the controller 32 of Ehler charging the battery pack 12 via a charging tray or additional charging device 20 which is connected to network 14 through input side contact element 22. Sergyeyenko discloses the controller 1000 disconnecting or the stopping of transferring DC power if signal indicate a parameter exceeds a threshold value, ¶’s [84, 76-77].
Drawings
The examiner notes that corrected Figures 1 and 2 do not seem to be attached with filed amendments. The drawings filed 8/17/2022 are objected to because the unlabeled rectangular box(es) shown in the drawings should be provided with descriptive text labels. Although the boxes in the figures are numbered which allows a correlation to each box as one reads the specification, the numbers by themselves do not allow one to quickly ascertain the concept of the invention which is desirable during a later search of analogous art. The numbers should be complimented, or replaced, with words spelled out to facilitate future searches. Replacement drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.84 and 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-8, 11-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sergyeyenko (US 20190058339 A1) in view of Ehler et al. (US 20190020204 A1), hereinafter referred to as Ehler.
Regarding independent claim 1, Sergyeyenko discloses a charging station (Fig. 1A and ¶0026: charging system 50) for charging a plurality of batteries (Fig. 2: batteries 200), the charging station comprising:
a charging terminal (¶0036 and Fig. 1A: chargers 70a, 70b, 70c) for charging a primary battery (Fig. 2: any one of the batteries 200) of the plurality of batteries in a first charging mode (¶0096: fast mode) and a second charging mode (normal mode); and
a controller (Fig. 10: 1000) configured to
determine if a battery is connected to the charging terminal and assign the battery connected to the charging terminal as the primary battery (¶0038: terminal blades detect a battery pack),
initiate a charging of the primary battery and determine a charging current being supplied to the primary battery (¶0038 and 0096: when battery packs are inserted, the controller proceeds to charge in fast mode or normal mode), and
enable or disable the charging of the at least one secondary battery (Fig. 2: another one of batteries 200) to limit a total charging current of the charging station equal to or below a threshold value (¶0084: controller controls the maximum current to be within the charger protection limit to avoid over current), wherein the charging of the at least one secondary battery is enabled or disabled based on a difference between the threshold value and the total charging current being provided to one or more batteries that are being charged (¶’s [84, 76]: controller controls the maximum current to be within the charger protection limit to avoid over current. The examiner interprets determining a remaining current value by subtracting a total of currents supplied to the batteries from the threshold value as equivalent to the controller making sure the maximum current stays within the charger protection limit while charging multiple batteries. Controller 1000 disconnects or causes power module to stop transferring DC power should signals indicate a parameter exceeds a threshold value).
Sergyeyenko does not disclose at least one electrical outlet to enable connection of at least one external charger to enable a charging of at least one secondary battery of the plurality of batteries, and
a controller configured to determine if at least one battery is connected to the at least one electrical outlet via the at least one external charger and assign the at least one battery connected to the at least one electrical outlet as the at least one secondary battery.
Ehler discloses at least one electrical outlet (Fig. 1 and ¶0058: input side contact element 22) to enable connection of at least one external charger (additional charging device 20) to enable a charging of at least one secondary battery of the plurality of batteries (12), and
a controller (abstract ¶’s [39-40] and Fig. 1: charging controller 32) configured to determine if at least one battery (12) is connected to the at least one electrical outlet (22) via the at least one external charger (additional charging device 20) and assign the at least one battery connected to the at least one electrical outlet as the at least one secondary battery (¶’s [39-40]: the examiner interprets the controller 32 charging battery pack 12 as a strong indicator that the controller has determined battery 12 is connected to input side contact element 22 via an additional charging device 20).
Sergyeyenko and Ehler both disclose charging systems for multiple batteries. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the additional charging device of Ehler into the system of Sergyeyenko to provide supplemental power to safely charge more batteries quickly.
Regarding claim 3, Sergyeyenko in view of Ehler discloses the charging station of claim 1, wherein Ehler discloses the at least one external charger includes at least one slow charger (the examiner interprets slow charging as a default type of charge to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and therefore interprets any charge process executed in Ehler as meeting the requirements of a slow charger).
Regarding claim 5, Sergyeyenko in view of Ehler discloses the charging station of claim 1, wherein Sergyeyenko discloses the controller determines an absence of the connection of the battery to the charging terminal (¶0038: detecting the absence of a battery falls within the scope of Sergyeyenko since terminal blades detect a battery pack).
Regarding claim 6, Sergyeyenko in view of Ehler discloses the charging station of claim 5, wherein Sergyeyenko discloses
the at least one external charger includes a plurality of external chargers, and at least one secondary battery includes a plurality of secondary batteries (Fig. 2 and ¶0027: batteries 200 are battery packs) connected to the charging station via the plurality of external chargers and one of the plurality of external chargers is a quick charger (¶0096: one of the external chargers being a quick charger falls within the scope of Sergyeyenko in view of Ehler), and
the controller is configured to charge the secondary battery connected to the quick charger in a quick charging mode upon detection of the absence of the connection of the battery at the charging terminal (¶0038 and 0096: quick charging occurs when battery is connected).
Regarding claim 7, Sergyeyenko in view of Ehler discloses the charging station of claim 6, wherein the controller is configured to
determine a charging current of the secondary battery connected to the quick charger (0096: battery inserted into a charger port dedicated for quick charging), and
control the charging of remaining secondary batteries to maintain the total charging current of the charging station equal to or below the threshold value (¶0084: controller controls the maximum current to be within the charger protection limit to avoid over current.).
Regarding independent claim 8, Sergyeyenko discloses a charging station (Fig. 1A and ¶0026: charging system 50) for charging a plurality of batteries (Fig. 2: batteries 200), the charging station comprising:
a charging terminal (¶0036 and Fig. 1A: chargers 70a, 70b, 70c) for charging a primary battery (Fig. 2: any one of the batteries 200) of the plurality of batteries in a first charging mode (¶0096: fast mode) and a second charging mode (normal mode);
a controller (Fig. 10: 1000) configured to
determine if a battery is connected to the charging terminal and assign the battery connected to the charging terminal as the primary battery (¶0038: terminal blades detect a battery pack),
initiate a charging of the primary battery and determine a charging current being supplied to the primary battery upon determination that the primary battery (¶0038 and 0096: when battery packs are inserted, the controller proceeds to charge in fast mode or normal mode), and
enable or disable the charging of the at least one secondary battery (Fig. 2: another one of batteries 200) to limit a total charging current of the charging station equal to or below a threshold value (¶0084: controller controls the maximum current to be within the charger protection limit to avoid over current), wherein the charging of the at least one secondary battery is enabled or disabled based on a difference between the threshold value and the total charging current being provided to one or more batteries that are being charged (¶’s [84, 76]: controller controls the maximum current to be within the charger protection limit to avoid over current. The examiner interprets determining a remaining current value by subtracting a total of currents supplied to the batteries from the threshold value as equivalent to the controller making sure the maximum current stays within the charger protection limit while charging multiple batteries. Controller 1000 disconnects or causes power module to stop transferring DC power should signals indicate a parameter exceeds a threshold value).
Sergyeyenko does not disclose at least one electrical outlet to enable connection of at least one external charger to enable a charging of at least one secondary battery of the plurality of batteries, wherein the at least one external charger is a slow charger, and
a controller configure to determine if at least one battery is connected to the at least one electrical outlet via the at least one external charger and assign the at least one battery connected to the at least one electrical outlet as the at least one secondary battery.
Ehler discloses at least one electrical outlet (Fig. 1 and ¶0058: input side contact element 22) to enable connection of at least one external charger (additional charging device 20) to enable a charging of at least one secondary battery of the plurality of batteries (12), wherein the at least one external charger is a slow charger (the examiner interprets slow charging as a default type of charge to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and therefore interprets any charge process executed in Ehler as meeting the requirements of a slow charger), and
a controller (abstract ¶’s [39-40] and Fig. 1: charging controller 32) configured to determine if at least one battery (12) is connected to the at least one electrical outlet (22) via the at least one external charger (additional charging device 20) and assign the at least one battery connected to the at least one electrical outlet as the at least one secondary battery (¶’s [39-40]: the examiner interprets the controller 32 charging battery pack 12 as a strong indicator that the controller has determined battery 12 is connected to input side contact element 22 via an additional charging device 20).
Sergyeyenko and Ehler both disclose charging systems for multiple batteries. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the additional charging device of Ehler into the system of Sergyeyenko to provide supplemental power to safely charge more batteries quickly.
Regarding claim 11, Sergyeyenko in view of Ehler discloses the charging station of claim 8, wherein Sergyeyenko discloses the controller determines an absence of the connection of the battery with the charging terminal (¶0038: detecting the absence of a battery falls within the scope of Sergyeyenko since terminal blades detect a battery pack).
Regarding claim 12, Sergyeyenko in view of Ehler discloses the charging station of claim 11, wherein Sergyeyenko discloses the controller is configured to control the charging of each of the secondary batteries such that the total charging current remains equal to or below the threshold value (¶0084: controller controls the maximum current to be within the charger protection limit to avoid over current).
Regarding claim 13, Sergyeyenko in view of Ehler discloses the charging station of claim 11, wherein
the at least one external charger includes a plurality of external chargers and one of the plurality of external chargers is a quick charger and remaining of the plurality of external chargers are slow chargers (one of the external chargers being a quick charger and the remaining plurality of external charger being slow chargers fits within the scope of Sergyeyenko in view of Ehler),
the at least one secondary battery includes a plurality of secondary batteries (Sergyeyenko – Fig. 2 and ¶0027: batteries 200 are battery packs) connected to the charging station via the plurality of external chargers (Ehler – Fig. 1: each additional charging device 22 connected to a battery pack 12), and
the controller is configured to charge the secondary battery connected to the quick charger in a quick charging mode upon detection of the absence of the connection of the primary battery at the charging terminal (¶0038 and 0096: quick charging occurs when battery is connected).
Regarding claim 14, Sergyeyenko in view of Ehler discloses the charging station of claim 13, wherein the controller is configured to
determine a charging current of the secondary battery connected to the quick charger (0096: battery inserted into a charger port dedicated for quick charging), and
enable or disable the charging of remaining secondary batteries to maintain the total charging current of the charging station equal to or below the threshold value (¶0084: controller controls the maximum current to be within the charger protection limit to avoid over current).
Regarding independent claim 15, Sergyeyenko discloses a method for charging a plurality of batteries (Fig. 2: batteries 200), the method comprising:
determining, by a controller (Fig. 10: 1000), if a battery (Fig. 2: any one of the batteries 200) of the plurality of batteries is connected to a charging terminal of a charging station (¶0038: terminal blades detect a battery pack) and assign the battery connected to the charging terminal as a primary battery, wherein the charging terminal is configured to charge the primary battery in a first charging mode (¶0096: fast mode) and a second charging mode (normal mode).
Initiating, by the controller, a charging of the primary battery and determining, by the controller (1000), a charging current being supplied to the primary battery (¶0038 and 0096: when battery packs are inserted, the controller proceeds to charge in fast mode or normal mode); and
enabling or disabling the charging of the at least one secondary battery (Fig. 2: another one of batteries 200) to limit a total charging current of the charging station equal to or below a threshold value (¶0084: controller controls the maximum current to be within the charger protection limit to avoid over current), wherein the charging of the at least one secondary battery is enabled or disabled based on a difference between the threshold value and the total charging current being provided to one or more batteries that are being charged (¶’s [84, 76]: controller controls the maximum current to be within the charger protection limit to avoid over current. The examiner interprets determining a remaining current value by subtracting a total of currents supplied to the batteries from the threshold value as equivalent to the controller making sure the maximum current stays within the charger protection limit while charging multiple batteries. Controller 1000 disconnects or causes power module to stop transferring DC power should signals indicate a parameter exceeds a threshold value).
Sergyeyenko does not disclose the charging station further includes at least one electrical outlet and at least one secondary battery of the plurality of batteries is connected to the at least one electrical outlet via at least one external charger, and the method including
determining, by the controller, if at least one battery is connected to the at least one electrical outlet via the at least one external charger and assign the at least one battery connected to the at least one electrical outlet as the at least one secondary battery.
Ehler discloses at least one electrical outlet (Fig. 1 and ¶0058: input side contact element 22) to enable connection of at least one external charger (additional charging device 22) to enable a charging of at least one secondary battery of the plurality of batteries (12), and the method including
determining, by the controller (abstract ¶’s [39-40] and Fig. 1: charging controller 32), if at least one battery (12) is connected to the at least one electrical outlet (22) via the at least one external charger (additional charging device 20) and assign the at least one battery connected to the at least one electrical outlet as the at least one secondary battery (¶’s [39-40]: the examiner interprets the controller 32 charging battery pack 12 as a strong indicator that the controller has determined battery 12 is connected to input side contact element 22 via an additional charging device 20).
Sergyeyenko and Ehler both disclose charging systems for multiple batteries. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the additional charging device of Ehler into the system of Sergyeyenko to provide supplemental power to safely charge more batteries quickly.
Regarding claim 17, Sergyeyenko in view of Ehler discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the controller determines an absence of the connection of the battery to the charging terminal (¶0038: detecting the absence of a battery falls within the scope of Sergyeyenko since terminal blades detect a battery pack).
Regarding claim 18, Sergyeyenko in view of Ehler discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the at least one external charger includes a plurality of external chargers (Ehler - Fig. 1 and ¶0058: additional charging device 22), and the at least one secondary battery includes a plurality of secondary batteries (battery pack 12) connected to the charging station via the plurality of external chargers and one of the plurality of external chargers is a quick charger and remaining of the plurality of external chargers are slow chargers (Sergyeyenko - ¶0102: at least one charger port is designated as a fast charging port while other ports are slow charging ports. Sergyeyenko in view of Ehler does not explicitly teach that the external chargers are designated as slow chargers or fast chargers. However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have incorporated the slow chargers or fast chargers into the external chargers to increase the customizability of the charging system to slow charge or fast charge batteries), and the method further includes
enabling, by the controller, the charging the secondary battery connected to the quick charger in a quick charging mode upon detection of the absence of the connection of the battery to the charging terminal (¶0038 and 0096: quick charging occurs when battery is connected).
Regarding claim 19, Sergyeyenko in view of Ehler discloses the method of claim 18 further includes
determining a charging current of the secondary battery connected to the quick charger (0096: battery inserted into a charger port dedicated for quick charging), and
enabling or disabling, by the controller, the charging of remaining secondary batteries to maintain the total charging current of the charging station equal to or below the threshold value (¶0084: controller controls the maximum current to be within the charger protection limit to avoid over current).
Claims 2, 4, 9-10, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sergyeyenko in view of Ehler and further in view of Sato.
Regarding claim 2, Sergyeyenko in view of Ehler discloses the charging station of claim 1, wherein Sergyeyenko discloses the first charging mode is a quick charging mode (0096: fast mode) and a second charging mode is a slow charging mode (normal mode).
Sergyeyenko does not explicitly disclose the controller is configured to
charge the primary battery in the first charging mode when a charge level of the primary battery is below a predetermined value, and
shift the charging of the primary battery to the second charging mode when the charge level of the primary battery is equal to or above the predetermined value.
Sato discloses a controller is configured to
charge a primary battery in a first charging mode when a charge level of the primary battery is below a predetermined value (0003: constant current charging until battery charge reaches a predetermined charging end voltage), and
shift the charging of the primary battery to the second charging mode when the charge level of the primary battery is equal to or above the predetermined value (0003: constant voltage charging after battery charge reaches a predetermined charging end voltage).
Sergyeyenko and Sato disclose teach systems for charging batteries. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the constant current and constant voltage charging of Sato into the system of Sergyeyenko to charge batteries quickly for the initial charge process and safely complete charging for the ending charge process.
Regarding claim 4, Sergyeyenko in view of Ehler discloses the charging station of claim 1.
Sergyeyenko does not explicitly disclose the charging station including a plurality of relays to control flow of electric current to the at least one electrical outlet and the charging terminal.
Sato discloses the charging station including a plurality of relays (¶0036: field effect transistors 4a and 4b used to control current through the battery charger to the battery pack) to control flow of electric current to the at least one electrical outlet and the charging terminal.
Both Sergyeyenko and Sato teach systems for charging batteries. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the FETs controlling the charging current in the system of Sato into the system of Sergyeyenko to serve as small inexpensive switches that require little or no power for operation, have a fast switching time, provide stable input voltage, and have high efficiency.
Regarding claim 9, Sergyeyenko in view of Ehler discloses the charging station of claim 8, wherein Sergyeyenko discloses the first charging mode is a quick charging mode (0096: fast mode) and a second charging mode is a slow charging mode (normal mode).
Sergyeyenko does not explicitly disclose the controller is configured to
charge the primary battery in the first charging mode when a charge level of the primary battery is below a predetermined value, and
shift the charging of the primary battery to the second charging mode when the charge level of the primary battery is equal to or above the predetermined value.
Sato discloses a controller is configured to
charge a primary battery in a first charging mode when a charge level of the primary battery is below a predetermined value (0003: constant current charging until battery charge reaches a predetermined charging end voltage), and
shift the charging of the primary battery to the second charging mode when the charge level of the primary battery is equal to or above the predetermined value (0003: constant voltage charging after battery charge reaches a predetermined charging end voltage).
Sergyeyenko and Sato disclose teach systems for charging batteries. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the constant current and constant voltage charging of Sato into the system of Sergyeyenko, modified by Ehler, to charge batteries quickly for the initial charge process and safely complete charging for the ending charge process.
Regarding claim 10, Sergyeyenko in view of Ehler discloses the charging station of claim 8.
Sergyeyenko does not explicitly disclose the charging station including a plurality of relays to control flow of electric current to the at least one electrical outlet and the charging terminal.
Sato discloses the charging station including a plurality of relays (¶0036: field effect transistors 4a and 4b used to control current through the battery charger to the battery pack) to control flow of electric current to the at least one electrical outlet and the charging terminal.
Both Sergyeyenko and Sato teach systems for charging batteries. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the FETs controlling the charging current in the system of Sato into the system of Sergyeyenko to serve as small inexpensive switches that require little or no power for operation, have a fast switching time, provide stable input voltage, and have high efficiency.
Regarding claim 16, Sergyeyenko in view of Ehler discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the first charging mode is a quick charging mode (0096: fast mode) and a second charging mode is a slow charging mode (normal mode).
Sergyeyenko does not disclose the method further includes
charging the primary battery in the first charging mode when a charge level of the primary battery is below a predetermined value, and
shifting the charging of the primary battery to the second charging mode when the charge level of the primary battery is equal to or above the predetermined value.
Sato discloses a controller is configured to
charge a primary battery in a first charging mode when a charge level of the primary battery is below a predetermined value (0003: constant current charging ), and
shift the charging of the primary battery to the second charging mode when the charge level of the primary battery is equal to or above the predetermined value (0003: constant voltage charging after battery charge reaches a predetermined charging end voltage).
Sergyeyenko and Sato disclose teach systems for charging batteries. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the constant current and constant voltage charging of Sato into the system of Sergyeyenko to charge batteries quickly for the initial charge process and safely complete charging for the ending charge process.
Regarding claim 20, Sergyeyenko in view of Ehler discloses the method of claim 15.
Sergyeyenko does not explicitly disclose the charging station including a plurality of relays to control flow of electric current to the at least one electrical outlet and the charging terminal.
Sato discloses the charging station including a plurality of relays (¶0036: field effect transistors 4a and 4b used to control current through the battery charger to the battery pack) to control flow of electric current to the at least one electrical outlet and the charging terminal.
Both Sergyeyenko and Sato teach systems for charging batteries. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the FETs controlling the charging current in the system of Sato into the system of Sergyeyenko to serve as small inexpensive switches that require little or no power for operation, have a fast switching time, provide stable input voltage, and have high efficiency.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ryu-Sung P. Weinmann/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 November 27, 2025
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859