DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friederich (US 20220280983) in view of Hayes (US 20200250956) and Kauffman (US 9893391).
Regarding claim 1, Friederich disclose a cleaning device for performing a cleaning activity (see Abstract), comprising:
a cleaning element for operating a cleaning activity selected from the group consisting of: upholstery cleaning, mattress cleaning, carpet cleaning, vehicle interior cleaning, overhead cleaning, spot removal, wet cleaning, moist cleaning, dry cleaning, carpeted floor cleaning, hard floor cleaning, and cleaning with the application of cleaning agent (see Abstract, Fig. 7, and paragraphs 0112 and 0199: pressure washing is a form of wet cleaning, sidewalk can also be considered a hard floor),
a communications interface for receiving a selection by a user about the cleaning activity to be performed, and for receiving a plurality of device settings or device applications for performing the cleaning activity (see Abstract, Figs. 3 and 7, and paragraphs 0025-0026, 0112, 0162, and 0190: discusses cleaning device with control unit for implementing the method, cleaning device has a communication interface output unit as well as buttons; see Fig. 7 and paragraphs 0112 and 0199: selection of cleaning activity; see also Fig. 1 and paragraph 0191),
wherein the device setting is selected from the group consisting of: power of an electrical consumer of the cleaning device, a dispensing quantity of a liquid application unit, a dispensing quantity of a cleaning agent application unit, a speed of a floor processing element that processes a surface, a vibration frequency of a floor processing element that processes a surface, a setting of a sealing element of a flow channel, and a flow cross section of a flow channel (see paragraphs 0100-0102: discloses volumetric flow of cleaning liquid, volume level for cleaning liquid, wherein, for example, the amount of cleaning liquid conveyed by the pump assembly per unit of time and admixing ratio of a cleaning chemical; see also paragraph 0180: volumetric flow, i.e. a dispensing quantity),
wherein the device application is selected from the group consisting of: connecting the cleaning device with an accessory, connecting the cleaning device with a suction nozzle, connecting the cleaning device with a cleaning brush, connecting the cleaning device with a wiping element, applying a liquid to a surface to be cleaned, moving the cleaning device over a surface to be cleaned, and performing the cleaning activity over a specific timespan (see paragraph 0033 and 0048: recommended accessory; see paragraphs 0226 and 0260: timespan/duration; see paragraph 0130: application fo cleaning liquid),
a storage device, in which a reference amount or reference range for the device setting or device application is stored (see paragraphs 0067-0069, 0132-0133, 0138, and 0224: storage unit for storing cleaning recommendations, control unit compares current parameters to see if there is a deviation from cleaning recommendations),
a control and evaluation unit in the form of a processor (see paragraphs 0132 and 0224-0226: control unit can monitor parameters/usage and detect misoperation; see paragraph 0097-0105: list of operating parameters), which is configured to
transmit to the user, by way of the communications interface, an instruction corresponding to the cleaning activity to be performed, with a plurality of steps to be implemented by a user in chronological sequence, which incorporate the device setting or device application, wherein the steps of the instruction to be implemented in chronological sequence are output separately in time, so that the user is only notified about the device setting or device application of the step of the instruction to be implemented next (see Figs 19-28 and paragraphs 0054 and 0260: chorological sequence of steps presented to the user, includes various parameters/settings),
determine an actual device setting or device application corresponding to the step to be currently implemented based upon a current amount for the device parameter, and compare it with a predefined reference amount or reference range (see paragraphs 0054 and 0059-0060: chorological/step-by-step guide; and see Fig. 7 and paragraphs 0112, 0199, 0249, and 0257-0258: instruction transmitted to user display/touchscreen in relation to the user’s selection, includes device setting; see paragraphs 0224-0226 and claim 59: transmits indication to a user in relation to deviation from a cleaning recommendation, deviation detected when at least one value of at least one operating parameter deviates from recommendation; see paragraphs 0132 and 0224-0226: control unit can monitor parameters/usage and detect misoperation; see paragraph 0097-0105: list of operating parameters, including an amount of liquid and pressure level, volumetric flow rate),
output a note via the communications interface that the actual device setting or device application deviates from the reference amount or reference range (see Fig. 15, paragraphs 0134, 0224-0226, and claim 59: transmits indication to a user in relation to deviation from a cleaning recommendation, deviation detected when at least one value of at least one operating parameter deviates from recommendation, display in Fig 15 includes a note that the pressure level is too high), and
wherein the control and evaluation unit is configured to prevent or stop the performance of the cleaning activity when the device setting or device application does not match the predefined reference (see paragraphs 0132-0133 and 0224: pump can be deactivated upon detection of deviation).
Friederich does not expressly disclose at least one detection device for detecting a current amount of a device parameter characteristic for the device setting or device application,
receive the current amount for the detected device parameter from the detection device,
delay the output of a next step of the instruction and maintain the instruction in the current step until the actual device setting or device application of the chronologically preceding step matches the predefined reference amount or reference range,
automatically output the next step of the instruction via the communications interface immediately upon detecting that the actual device setting or device application of the chronologically preceding step matches the predefined reference amount or reference range; and
preventing or stopping performance the device until the actual device setting or device application matches the predefined reference.
Hayes discloses a cleaning device with at least one detection device for detecting a current amount of a device parameter characteristic for a device setting or device application (see paragraphs 0035, 0038, and 0080: discloses a plurality of sensors associated with application of cleaning device),
receive the current amount for the detected device parameter from the detection device (see paragraphs 0015 and 0045: receiving data from the at least one sensor),
delay the output of a next step of the instruction and maintain the instruction in the current step until the actual device setting or device application of the chronologically preceding step matches the predefined reference amount or reference range (see Abstract, Figs. 17A to 17D, and paragraphs 0046, 0050, and 0189-0190: User interface 40 may issue information informing the user of the next step of the cleaning protocol to be performed in response to automatically detecting completion of the preceding step of the protocol, i.e. outputting of the next step does not occur/is delayed until preceding step is complete/movement data meets threshold or motion requirements; and see paragraphs 0009, 0067, and 0100: reference data can correspond to a threshold level of cleaning or other various values in relation to specific cleaning actions),
automatically output the next step of the instruction via the communications interface immediately upon detecting that the actual device setting or device application of the chronologically preceding step matches the predefined reference amount or reference range (see Abstract, Figs. 17A to 17D, and paragraphs 0046, 0050, and 0189-0190: User interface 40 may issue information informing the user of the next step of the cleaning protocol to be performed in response to automatically detecting completion of the preceding step of the protocol; and see paragraphs 0009, 0067, and 0100: reference data can correspond to a threshold level of cleaning or other various values in relation to specific cleaning actions).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Friederich with the teachings of Hayes, i.e. only advancing to the next step when upon identifying that prerequisite conditions are met a previous step, for the advantageous benefit of ensuring that each step is complete before proceeding to subsequent steps. Once modified, only advancing to the next pressure washing step in Friederich when the previous step condition is met, the modification would meet the limitations of delaying the output of a next step of the instruction associated with the pressure washer cleaning device until the actual device setting or device application of the chronologically preceding step matches the predefined reference, i.e. previous step instructions have been completed.
Friederich and Hayes do not expressly disclose preventing or stopping performance the device until the actual device setting or device application matches the predefined reference.
Kauffman discloses a method of operating a cleaning device wherein at least one detection device for detecting the current amount of a device parameter characteristic, i.e. wherein the current amount is received from the detection device (see Abstract, Fig. 9, and column 1 lines 40-56: electronic sensor, processor receives values from sensor/detection device),
wherein the method prevents or stops performance the device until the actual condition matches a predefined reference condition (see column 3 line 51 to column 4 line 10 and column 5 lines 33-58: prevents cleaning operations upon detecting a deviation from a desired condition until the condition matches the predefined desired reference condition, i.e. until water is replenished).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Friederich with the teachings of Kauffman, i.e. preventing operation until desired operation conditions are met, for the advantageous benefit of stopping the cleaning operation when conditions aren’t met and resuming cleaning operations when the desired operation conditions are met so the cleaning process can continue. Once modified, preventing/stopping performance of Friederich until the actual conditions meet the predefined reference conditions, the modification teaches preventing or stopping performance the device until the actual device setting or device application matches the predefined reference of Friederich.
Regarding claim 2, Friederich, previously modified, further discloses wherein the communications interface has at least one of the following: a display, an operating device with a plurality of actuating elements (see Abstract, Figs. 3 and 7, and paragraphs 0025-0026, 0112, 0162, and 0190: discusses cleaning device with control unit for implementing the method, cleaning device has a communication interface output unit as well as buttons; see Fig. 7 and paragraphs 0112 and 0199: selection of cleaning activity; see also Fig. 1 and paragraph 0191).
Regarding claim 3, Friederich does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one detection device is selected from the group consisting of: a contact sensor, which detects a connection of an accessory to the cleaning device, a power meter configured for detecting a power consumption of an electrical consumer of the cleaning device, an acceleration sensor configured for detecting a back-and-forth movement of the cleaning device over a surface to be cleaned, a velocity sensor, a speed sensor, a force sensor, a pressure sensor, a voltage sensor, a current sensor, a code scanner, a fill level sensor, a flow sensor, and a temperature sensor.
Hayes discloses wherein the at least one detection device is selected from the group consisting of: a contact sensor, which detects a connection of an accessory to the cleaning device, a power meter configured for detecting a power consumption of an electrical consumer of the cleaning device, an acceleration sensor configured for detecting a back-and-forth movement of the cleaning device over a surface to be cleaned, a velocity sensor, a speed sensor, a force sensor, a pressure sensor, a voltage sensor, a current sensor, a code scanner, a fill level sensor, a flow sensor, and a temperature sensor (see paragraphs 0080 and 0107: 3-axis accelerometer, since it detects acceleration in 3-axes, it is configured for detecting a back-and-forth motion; also discloses pressure sensor).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Friederich with the teachings of Hayes, i.e. using a detection device for measuring various parameters, for the advantageous benefit of using conventional sensors to monitor the disclosed cleaning steps activity to ensure that the step was adequately carried out.
Regarding claim 4, Friederich, previously modified, further discloses wherein the cleaning device has a display, which shows a plurality of selectable cleaning activities and the steps of the instruction for the selected cleaning activity (see Fig. 7 and paragraphs 0112, 0163, and 0199: display with selection of cleaning activities; see Figs 19-28 and paragraph 0054: chorological sequence of steps presented to the user).
Regarding claim 5, Friederich, previously modified, further discloses wherein the storage device stores information about steps of the instruction to be performed within the framework of the cleaning activity (see paragraphs 0067-0069, 0132-0133, 0138, and 0224: storage unit for storing cleaning recommendations, control unit compares current parameters to see if there is a deviation from cleaning recommendations).
Regarding claim 6, Friederich, previously modified, further discloses wherein device parameters allocated to the steps are stored, which the cleaning device must have at the time the respective step of the instruction is being performed (see paragraphs 0067-0069, 0132-0133, 0138, and 0224: storage unit for storing cleaning recommendations, control unit compares current parameters to see if there is a deviation from cleaning recommendations; and see paragraphs 0132 and 0224-0226: control unit can monitor parameters/usage and detect misoperation, i.e. parameter must have as specified steps to prevent misoperation; see paragraph 0097-0105: list of operating parameters, including an amount of liquid).
Claims 9-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friederich (US 20220280983) in view of Hayes (US 20200250956).
Regarding claim 9, Friederich disclose a method for operating a cleaning device (see paragraph 0010: method of operating high pressure cleaning system), comprising:
selecting by a user a cleaning activity to be performed by means of the cleaning device via a communications interface of the cleaning device or a communications interface of an external terminal having a communications link with the cleaning device (see Fig. 7 and paragraphs 0112 and 0199),
implementing by the user at least one device setting of the cleaning device or at least one device application of the cleaning device for performing the cleaning activity (see paragraph 0162, 0166, and 0212), and
performing the cleaning activity with the implemented device setting or device application (see Title and paragraphs 0258 and 0272),
wherein the device setting is selected from the group consisting of: power of an electrical consumer of the cleaning device, a dispensing quantity of a liquid application unit, a dispensing quantity of a cleaning agent application unit, a speed of a floor processing element that processes a surface, a vibration frequency of a floor processing element that processes a surface, a setting of a sealing element of a flow channel, and a flow cross section of a flow channel (see paragraphs 0100-0102: discloses volumetric flow of cleaning liquid, volume level for cleaning liquid, wherein, for example, the amount of cleaning liquid conveyed by the pump assembly per unit of time and admixing ratio of a cleaning chemical; see also paragraph 0180: volumetric flow, i.e. a dispensing quantity),
wherein the device application is selected from the group consisting of: connecting the cleaning device with an accessory, connecting the cleaning device with a suction nozzle, connecting the cleaning device with a cleaning brush, connecting the cleaning device with a wiping element, applying a liquid to a surface to be cleaned, moving the cleaning device over a surface to be cleaned, and performing the cleaning activity over a specific timespan (see paragraph 0033 and 0048: recommended accessory; see paragraphs 0226 and 0260: timespan/duration; see paragraph 0130: application fo cleaning liquid),
wherein an instruction for a plurality of steps to be implemented by the user in chronological sequence, which contain a device setting or device application, is transmitted to the user via the communications interface as a function of the selected cleaning activity (see paragraphs 0054 and 0059-0060: chorological/step-by-step guide; and see Fig. 7 and paragraphs 0112, 0199, 0249, and 0257-0258: instruction transmitted to user display/touchscreen in relation to the user’s selection, includes device setting), and
wherein a control and evaluation unit of the cleaning device or of the external terminal monitors the actual implementation of the device setting or device application corresponding to the step to be currently implemented (see paragraphs 0132 and 0224-0226: control unit can monitor parameters/usage and detect misoperation; see paragraph 0097-0105: list of operating parameters), and transmits a note to the user when the device setting or device application actually implemented by the user deviates from a predefined reference for the device setting or device application to be implemented (see paragraphs 0224-0226: transmits indication to a user in relation to deviation from a cleaning recommendation),
wherein a step of the instruction to be implemented later is only communicated to the user upon actuation of an interaction element indicating the user implemented the preceding step (see paragraph 0037-0038, 0044, and 0060: advances through the step-by-step guide upon acuration of an interaction element).
Friederich does not expressly disclose wherein the next chronological step of the instruction later is only communicated to the user if the device setting or device application of the chronologically preceding step implemented by the user matches the predefined reference for this chronologically preceding step, and wherein the next chronological step of the instruction is automatically output via the communications interface immediately upon detecting that the actual device setting or device application of the chronologically preceding step matches the predefined reference.
Hayes discloses a method of presenting a series of cleaning steps/instruction (see paragraphs 0189-0190);
wherein a next chronological step of the instruction later is only communicated to the user if the device setting or device application of a chronologically preceding step implemented by the user matches the predefined reference for this chronologically preceding step (see Abstract, Figs. 17A to 17D, and paragraphs 0046, 0050, and 0189-0190: User interface 40 may issue information informing the user of the next step of the cleaning protocol to be performed in response to automatically detecting completion of the preceding step of the protocol, i.e. outputting of the next step is only communicated if the preceding step is complete/movement data meets threshold or motion requirements; and see paragraphs 0009, 0067, and 0100: reference data can correspond to a threshold level of cleaning or other various values in relation to specific cleaning actions), and
wherein the next chronological step of the instruction is automatically output via the communications interface immediately upon detecting that the actual device setting or device application of the chronologically preceding step matches the predefined reference (see Abstract, Figs. 17A to 17D, and paragraphs 0046, 0050, and 0189-0190: User interface 40 may issue information informing the user of the next step of the cleaning protocol to be performed in response to automatically detecting completion of the preceding step of the protocol; and see paragraphs 0009, 0067, and 0100: reference data can correspond to a threshold level of cleaning or other various values in relation to specific cleaning actions).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Friederich with the teachings of Kauffman, i.e. preventing operation until desired operation conditions are met, for the advantageous benefit of stopping the cleaning operation when conditions aren’t met and resuming cleaning operations when the desired operation conditions are met so the cleaning process can continue. Once modified, preventing/stopping performance of Friederich until the actual conditions meet the predefined reference conditions, the modification teaches preventing or stopping performance the device until the actual device setting or device application matches the predefined reference of Friederich.
Regarding claim 10, Friederich, previously modified, further discloses wherein a plurality of cleaning activities selectable by the user or the instruction for the selected cleaning activity is shown on a display of the cleaning device or external terminal (see Fig. 7 and paragraphs 0112 and 0199).
Regarding claim 11, Friederich discloses wherein monitoring a current amount of a device parameter of the cleaning device that is characteristic for the device setting or device application and communicates it to the control and evaluation unit (see paragraphs 0132 and 0224-0226: control unit can monitor parameters/usage and detect misoperation; see paragraph 0097-0105: list of operating parameters, including an amount of liquid, control unit is aware of operation parameters since it evaluates them).
Friederich does not expressly disclose wherein the device parameter is monitored using a detection device of the cleaning device measures the current amount of the device parameter, and communicates it to a control and evaluation unit.
Hayes discloses a method of operating a cleaning device wherein a device parameter is monitored using a detection device of the cleaning device measures the current amount of the device parameter for a cleaning application (see paragraphs 0035, 0038, 0080 and 0107 and claim 11: 3-axis accelerometer, since it detects acceleration in 3-axes, it is configured for detecting a back-and-forth motion; also discloses pressure sensor, detects current values during a cleaning application, processor receives sensor data).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Friederich with the teachings of Hayes, i.e. using a detection device for measuring various parameters, for the advantageous benefit of using conventional sensors to monitor the disclosed cleaning steps activity to ensure that the step was adequately carried out.
Regarding claim 12, Friederich, previously modified, further discloses wherein the control and evaluation unit accesses a storage device, in which a reference amount or reference range of the device parameter defined for the device setting or device application is stored, wherein the control and evaluation unit compares the measured amount of the device parameter with the stored reference amount or reference range (see paragraphs 0067-0069, 0132-0133, 0138, and 0224: storage unit for storing cleaning recommendations, control unit compares current parameters to see if there is a deviation from cleaning recommendations).
Regarding claim 13, Friederich, previously modified, further discloses wherein the steps to be implemented in chronological sequence are communicated to the user separately in time, so that the user is only notified about the device setting or device application of the step of the instruction to be implemented next (see Figs 19-28 and paragraph 0054: chorological sequence of steps presented to the user).
Regarding claim 15, Friederich, previously modified, further discloses wherein the cleaning activity is selected from the group consisting of: upholstery cleaning, mattress cleaning, carpet cleaning, vehicle interior cleaning, overhead cleaning, spot removal, wet cleaning, moist cleaning, dry cleaning, carpeted floor cleaning, hard floor cleaning, and cleaning with the application of cleaning agents (see Abstract, Fig. 7, and paragraphs 0112 and 0199: pressure washing is a form of wet cleaning, sidewalk can also be considered a hard floor).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that the prior art of record fails to disclose the claimed invention as currently amended, i.e. mainly the presentation of an automatic sequence of instructions based on sensor driven data. A newly cited reference, Hayes, is relied upon above in relation to the inventive concept of issuing subsequent steps of a cleaning process based on the automatic detection, i.e. sensor driven detection, of a preceding step of a cleaning process.
Applicant also argues that the combination of Kauffman is unsound as it is solely for battery safety and has no relevance for user-adjustable cleaning parameters. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Kauffman teaches the concept of halting the operation of a cleaning device when an undesired condition occurs. While Kauffman is concerned with a water level parameter, the teaching of halting the operation when an undesired condition exists is a sound concept that is applicable to the invention fo Friederich. Friederich is directed to an invention that seeks to ensure that the steps of a cleaning are properly implemented in a proper manner and is concerned with preventing damage to an object to be cleaned. Such damaged can be caused in relation to undesired settings or attachments. While the cause of damage and/or the parameter bringing monitored may differ, the teaching of halting the operation of a cleaning device when an undesired condition exist is extendable to Friederich. The invention of Friederich already identifies such deviations/undesired conditions. The examiner is only modifying Friederich to halt the operation of the cleaning device when such deviations/undesired conditions are detected.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Giacalone (US 20190388923) discloses determining operating parameters based on cleaning attachment.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J DALBO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857