Response to Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 13-24 in the reply filed on 10/13/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/13/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 and 15-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osborne et al. (US Patent Pub. 2007/0196296) in view of Vilantonio et al. (Appl. Phys. Rev 8, 23 June 2021, pp. 1-15).
Osborne et al. disclose a personal care composition comprising one or more active components ([0007). Osborne et al. disclose the composition comprises a retinoid, such as retinol and amino acid, such as the pentapeptide lys-thr-thr-lys-ser ([0063]-[0068]). Osborne et al. disclose the personal care composition can be in the form of an oil-in-water emulsion ([0145]). Osborne et al. disclose the composition comprises active components such as sodium PEG-7 olive oil carboxylate ([0045]). Osborne et al. disclose the composition comprises a metal ion source such as zinc oxide ([0133]).
Osborne et al. differs from the instant claims insofar as they do not disclose a jammed oil-in-water emulsion.
Vitantoni et al. disclose jammed emulsions comprising continuous and discontinuous phases used for personal care that have higher stability, are made to have minimal environmental impacts and are inexpensive to form (Introduction and Outlook).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the emulsions of Osbourne et al. into jammed oil-in-water emulsions motivated by the desire to have higher stability, are made to have minimal environmental impacts and are inexpensive to form as taught by Vilantoni.
Claim(s) 14 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osborne et al. (US Patent Pub. 2007/0196296) in view of Vilantonio et al. (Appl. Phys. Rev 8, 23 June 2021, pp. 1-15) as applied to claims 13 and 15-23 above, further in view of Sarkar et al. (US Patent Pub. 20130171080).
Osborne in view of Vilantonio is discussed above and differs from the instant claims insofar as they do not disclose mineral oil, petrolatum, coconut oil, or combinations thereof or an emulsifier comprising polysorbate, an alkyl sulfate, or combinations thereof.
Sarkar et al. disclose personal care compositions comprising at least one personal care component (Abstract). Sarkar et al. disclose the composition is an emulsion having a continuous aqueous phase; wherein the composition comprises polysorbate and mineral oil ([0047]).
It is prima facie obviousness to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. Also, established precedent holds that it is generally obvious to add known ingredients to known compositions with the expectation of obtaining their known function. MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have used polysorbate and mineral oil in the emulsion of Osborne in view of Vilantonio since they are known components of emulsion formulations.
Conclusion
/NANNETTE HOLLOMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612