DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 have been presented for examination.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C . 101.
Claims 1, 3-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo, Huaixin, Tangsheng Chen, and Shang Shi. "Transient simulation for the thermal design optimization of pulse operated AlGaN/GaN HEMTs." Micromachines 11.1 (2020) in the view of Incropera, Frank P, DeWitt P. David, Bergman Theodore L. Lavine Adrienne S. “Fundamentals of heat and mass transfer” (ed. 6th – 2007), further in the view of Barbati; Alexander C (US 20180297289 A1)
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “ Guo, Huaixin, Tangsheng Chen, and Shang Shi. "Transient simulation for the thermal design optimization of pulse operated AlGaN/GaN HEMTs." Micromachines 11.1 (2020)in the view of Incropera, Frank P, DeWitt P. David, Bergman Theodore L. Lavine Adrienne S. “Fundamentals of heat and mass transfer” (ed. 6th – 2007), further in the view of Barbati; Alexander C (US 20180297289 A1), further in the view of Zając, Piotr. "Compact thermal modelling tool for fast design space exploration of 3D ICs with integrated microchannels." Energies 13.9 (2020):
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “ Guo, Huaixin, Tangsheng Chen, and Shang Shi. "Transient simulation for the thermal design optimization of pulse operated AlGaN/GaN HEMTs." Micromachines 11.1 (2020)in the view of Incropera, Frank P, DeWitt P. David, Bergman Theodore L. Lavine Adrienne S. “Fundamentals of heat and mass transfer” (ed. 6th – 2007), in the view of Barbati; Alexander C (US 20180297289 A1), further in the view of Zhao, Mao-mi (CN 109387301 A)
This action is Non-Final rejection.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 2022104956803 filed on 05/09/2022.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation are:
“a data acquiring module configure to … “ in claim 8.
“a temperature and time relationship acquiring module, configured to…” in claim 8
“a trough temperature acquiring module, configured to…” in claim 8
“an initial temperature field generating module, configured to…” in claim 8
“high-speed transient temperature change simulation result generating module…” in claim 8.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations in claim 8:
“a data acquiring module configure to … “
“a temperature and time relationship acquiring module, configured to…”
“a trough temperature acquiring module, configured to…”
“an initial temperature field generating module, configured to…”
“high-speed transient temperature change simulation result generating module…”
Invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112 sixth paragraph. However the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material or act for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material or act to the function. Instead this module are recited in the claim without any physical component to perform the function so claim 8 is rejected under 112(b) and claim 9 is also rejected on the same rational, since it depends on claim 8.
Examiner note: for the rest of the claim analysis, those module are interpreted as any system, method, material or product which is capable of performing the specified function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to mental process and mathematical concept without any additional elements that provide a practical application or amount to significant more than the abstract idea.
Step 1: Yes: the claims 1-7 recites a method and claims 8-9 recites a system, so claims 1-9 falls into a statutory category of a process.
Step 2A Prong 1: Yes, claims 1-9 recites abstract ideas.
Regarding Claims 1 and 8 , abstract ideas are bolded.
A method / system for high-speed transient thermal simulation of an electronic device (This claim does not direct to a computer implemented method or system using any specific computer implemented tool to find the high-speed thermal simulation of electronic device but it use a mathematical equations. Therefore under broadest reasonable interpretation, this can be performed by a human mind with the help of a pencil and paper by analyzing and observing the relationship of temperature and time, so it is an abstract idea under mental process).
acquiring parameter data of the electronic device;(insignificant extra solution activity – data gathering)
according to the acquired parameter data, calculating a dynamic weak balance relationship among a heat generation amount, an internal energy increment and a heat dissipation amount of the electronic device so as to obtain a functional relationship between an operating temperature and time of the electronic device( this claim limitation recites calculating a dynamic weak balance relationships based on the gathered parameter data, in order to perform this no computer implemented method, program or system is not recited in the claim, so under its broadest interpretation this claim limitation can be performed by a human mind using a pen and paper by analyzing, observing or judging the relationships between heat generated amount, internal energy , and heat dissipation in order to obtain a relationship of temperature and time according to the gathered parameter data. Therefore this claim limitation recites abstract idea, which falls under mental process)
based on the obtained functional relationship between the operating temperature and time of the electronic device, obtaining a trough temperature value of a transient temperature curve of the electronic device in a weak balance state by a limit solving algorithm;( this claim limitation recites obtaining trough temperature from the functional relationship of temperature and time, unorder to perform this it apply limiting of solving algorithm, but it does not recite any specific program or device to find the trough temperature, therefore under its broadest interpretation this claim limitation can be performed by a human mind by using pen and paper, since a person of ordinary skill in the art can find trough temperature by analyzing the functional relationship and apply a limit, so this claim limitation recites abstract idea, which falls under mental process).
based on the trough temperature value, setting an initial temperature in a manner of loading a fixed-temperature heat source, and performing simulating calculation for a first preset number of cycles to obtain an initial temperature field;(under its broadest interpretation, this claim limitation can also be performed by a human mind using pen and paper, since it does not recite any specific computer implemented program, method or system . A human can set initial temperature, based on through temperature, and analyze the function based on the initial value to obtain initial temperature field, so this can be performed by a human mind by setting values for the variables in the functional relationship equation of temperature and time for any number of cycles using a pen and paper. Therefore this claim limitation recites abstract idea, which falls under mental process).
based on the initial temperature field, obtaining a highspeed transient temperature change of the electronic device by the operation of a second preset number of pulse stress cycles (under its broadest interpretation, this claim limitation can also be performed by a human mind using pen and paper. A human can perform this limitation, using the initial temperature field which is obtained in the above limitation, and analyze temperature and time functional relationship using pan and paper to find the high-speed transient temperature change. Therefore this claim limitation recites abstract idea, which falls under mental process).
the functional relationship between the temperature T and the time t of the electronic device is as follows
wherein Pi is power of each element, Di is a duty ratio of a power pulse period of each element, Ci is a constant pressure specific heat capacity of each element, pi is a density of each element, and Vi is a volume of each element; and T is a temperature of the device at time t, T0 is an ambient temperature, hi is a convective heat, exchange coefficient between each element and air, and Ai is a convective heat exchange area between each element and air (This claim limitation recites a mathematical equation. A claim that recites a numerical formula or equation will be considered as falling within the "mathematical concepts" grouping, so this claim limitation recites abstract idea under mathematical concept. The Supreme Court has identified a number of concepts falling within this grouping as abstract ideas including: a procedure for converting binary-coded decimal numerals into pure binary form, Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 65, 175 USPQ2d 673, 674 (1972); a mathematical formula for calculating an alarm limit, Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 588-89, 198 USPQ2d 193, 195 (1978); the Arrhenius equation, Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 191, 209 USPQ 1, 15 (1981); and a mathematical formula for hedging, Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 611, 95 USPQ 2d 1001, 1004 (2010) MPEP 2106.04 (a)(2) ).
As of claim 8, it also recites the same abstract idea to that of claim 1, and it use a module but the module doesn’t have any structure, check claim interpretation above ( 35 U.S.C 12f and 112(b)), so claim 8 is also interpreted in the same rational as claim 1.
Regarding claims 2 and 9:
the trough temperature value is as follows:
(This claim limitation recites a mathematical equation. A claim that recites a numerical formula or equation will be considered as falling within the "mathematical concepts" grouping, so this claim limitation recites abstract idea under mathematical concept. The Supreme Court has identified a number of concepts falling within this grouping as abstract ideas including: a procedure for converting binary-coded decimal numerals into pure binary form, Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 65, 175 USPQ2d 673, 674 (1972); a mathematical formula for calculating an alarm limit, Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 588-89, 198 USPQ2d 193, 195 (1978); the Arrhenius equation, Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 191, 209 USPQ 1, 15 (1981); and a mathematical formula for hedging, Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 611, 95 USPQ 2d 1001, 1004 (2010) MPEP 2106.04 (a)(2) ).
Regarding claim 3
before setting an initial temperature in a manner of loading a fixed-temperature heat source, a physical structure model of the device is constructed and relevant material parameters are set, the relevant material parameters comprising: density, constant-pressure specific heat capacity and thermal conductivity ( under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this claim limitation recites a mental process because the claim does not recite any software or computer program to construct a physical model and there is no steps claimed on how this model can be constructed, so a human mind can construct a physical model using a pen and paper by visualizing the structure and representing it with a basic drawing, equation , and can set parameters. Therefore this claim limitation recites abstract idea, which falls under mental process)
Regarding Claim 4
the dynamic weak balance relationship among the heat generation amount, the internal energy increment and the heat dissipation amount of the electronic device is as follows:
Q heat generated amount = U internal energy + H heat dissipation
wherein Q heat generation amount is total Joule heat generated by each element in the device, U internal energy is an internal energy change amount of each element in the device, and H heat dissipation amount is a total convective heat exchange amount between each element and air (This claim limitation recites a mathematical equation. A claim that recites a numerical formula or equation will be considered as falling within the "mathematical concepts" grouping, so this claim limitation recites abstract idea under mathematical concept. The Supreme Court has identified a number of concepts falling within this grouping as abstract ideas including: a procedure for converting binary-coded decimal numerals into pure binary form, Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 65, 175 USPQ2d 673, 674 (1972); a mathematical formula for calculating an alarm limit, Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 588-89, 198 USPQ2d 193, 195 (1978); the Arrhenius equation, Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 191, 209 USPQ 1, 15 (1981); and a mathematical formula for hedging, Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 611, 95 USPQ 2d 1001, 1004 (2010) MPEP 2106.04 (a)(2) ).
Regarding claim 5
Where in
wherein Pi is the power of each element, and Di is the duty ratio of the power pulse period of each element (This claim limitation recites a mathematical equation. A claim that recites a numerical formula or equation will be considered as falling within the "mathematical concepts" grouping, so this claim limitation recites abstract idea under mathematical concept. The Supreme Court has identified a number of concepts falling within this grouping as abstract ideas including: a procedure for converting binary-coded decimal numerals into pure binary form, Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 65, 175 USPQ2d 673, 674 (1972); a mathematical formula for calculating an alarm limit, Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 588-89, 198 USPQ2d 193, 195 (1978); the Arrhenius equation, Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 191, 209 USPQ 1, 15 (1981); and a mathematical formula for hedging, Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 611, 95 USPQ 2d 1001, 1004 (2010) MPEP 2106.04 (a)(2) ).
Regarding Claim 6
wherein
wherein Ci is the constant-pressure specific heat capacity of each element, pi is the density of each element, Vi is the volume of each element, T is the temperature of the device at time t, and TO is the ambient temperature (This claim limitation recites a mathematical equation. A claim that recites a numerical formula or equation will be considered as falling within the "mathematical concepts" grouping, so this claim limitation recites abstract idea under mathematical concept. The Supreme Court has identified a number of concepts falling within this grouping as abstract ideas including: a procedure for converting binary-coded decimal numerals into pure binary form, Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 65, 175 USPQ2d 673, 674 (1972); a mathematical formula for calculating an alarm limit, Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 588-89, 198 USPQ2d 193, 195 (1978); the Arrhenius equation, Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 191, 209 USPQ 1, 15 (1981); and a mathematical formula for hedging, Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 611, 95 USPQ 2d 1001, 1004 (2010) MPEP 2106.04 (a)(2) ).
Regarding claim 7
Wherein
wherein hi is the convective heat exchange coefficient between each element and air, Ai is the convective heat exchange area between each element and air, T is the temperature of the device at time t, and TO is the ambient temperature (This claim limitation recites a mathematical equation. A claim that recites a numerical formula or equation will be considered as falling within the "mathematical concepts" grouping, so this claim limitation recites abstract idea under mathematical concept. The Supreme Court has identified a number of concepts falling within this grouping as abstract ideas including: a procedure for converting binary-coded decimal numerals into pure binary form, Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 65, 175 USPQ2d 673, 674 (1972); a mathematical formula for calculating an alarm limit, Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 588-89, 198 USPQ2d 193, 195 (1978); the Arrhenius equation, Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 191, 209 USPQ 1, 15 (1981); and a mathematical formula for hedging, Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 611, 95 USPQ 2d 1001, 1004 (2010) MPEP 2106.04 (a)(2) ).
Step 2A , Prong 2: No
The claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception because claim does not have additional elements or a combination of additional elements that apply, rely on or use the judicial exception in a manner that impose a meaningful limit on the judicial exception.
As of claim 1 and 8, the claim performs insignificant additional activity of data gathering by acquiring parameter data of the electronic device. Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., mere data gathering in conjunction with a law of nature or abstract idea such as a step of obtaining information about credit card transactions so that the information can be analyzed by an abstract mental process, as discussed in CyberSource V. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1375, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1694 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Step 2B: No
The claims do not include any additional elements that are sufficient amount to significantly more than the judicial exception as it was covered in step 2A and the entirely claim is a mental process and mathematical concept as it outlined above.
Therefore it is concluded that claims 1-9 are found not eligible under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 ,3-6 and 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “ Guo, Huaixin, Tangsheng Chen, and Shang Shi. "Transient simulation for the thermal design optimization of pulse operated AlGaN/GaN HEMTs." Micromachines 11.1 (2020)in the view of Incropera, Frank P, DeWitt P. David, Bergman Theodore L. Lavine Adrienne S. “Fundamentals of heat and mass transfer” (ed. 6th – 2007), further in the view of Barbati; Alexander C (US 20180297289 A1)
As of claim 1, Guo teaches method for high-speed transient thermal simulation of an electronic device ( abstract The transient thermal characteristics of pulse operated AlGaN/GaN high electron mobility transistors (HEMT) used in high power amplifiers are systematically investigated by using three-dimensional simulation with the finite element method)
acquiring parameter data of the electronic device ( table 1, Geometric and working parameters of the designed device)
based on the initial temperature field, obtaining a highspeed transient temperature change of the electronic device by the operation of a second preset number of pulse stress cycles (section 3.1, The first observation in Figure 2a is that the thermal response changes rapidly with the sudden power rise because of the Joule heating, the trend is that the channel temperature rises instantly at the start, and then continues to rise in approximate linearity with the increase of load power time throughout the ON-state portion. At the OFF-state, the channel temperature reduces immediately as power returns to 0 W, which drops to 25% temperature increment (ΔTmax = maximal channel temperature—ambient temperature) when the time was 8.5 μs, then the channel temperature drops slowly until the next ON state).
Guo does not explicitly teach calculating a dynamic weak balance relationship among a heat generation amount, an internal energy increment and a heat dissipation amount of the electronic device so as to obtain a functional relationship between an operating temperature and time of the electronic device, obtaining a trough temperature value of a transient temperature curve of the electronic device in a weak balance state by a limit solving algorithm, setting an initial temperature in a manner of loading a fixed-temperature heat source, and performing simulating calculation for a first preset number of cycles to obtain an initial temperature field and the formula of temperature with time.
While Incropera teaches according to the acquired parameter data, calculating a dynamic weak balance relationship among a heat generation amount, an internal energy increment and a heat dissipation amount of the electronic device so as to obtain a functional relationship between an operating temperature and time of the electronic device ( page 14, The increase in the amount of thermal and mechanical energy stored in the control volume must equal the amount of thermal and mechanical energy that enters the control volume, minus the amount of thermal and mechanical energy that leaves the control volume, plus the amount of thermal energy that is generated within the control volume. This expression applies over a time interval t, and all the energy terms are measured in joules, page 271, From Equations 5.26 through 5.29, it is evident that, in addition to depending on x and t, temperatures in the wall also depend on a number of physical parameters. In particular
)
based on the obtained functional relationship between the operating temperature and time of the electronic device, obtaining a trough temperature value of a transient temperature curve of the electronic device in a weak balance state by a limit solving algorithm ( page 264 -265,
) as shown above the on the equation when t approach to infinite ( limit ) and trough temperature is T. based on the trough temperature value, setting an initial temperature in a manner of loading a fixed-temperature heat source, and performing simulating calculation for a first preset number of cycles to obtain an initial temperature field (page 304- 308, Accounting for changes in thermal energy storage, a general form of the energy balance equation may be expressed as
In the interest of adopting a consistent methodology, it is again assumed that all heat flow is into the node. To illustrate application of Equation 5.81, consider the surface node of the one-dimensional system shown in Figure 5.12. To more accurately determine thermal conditions near the surface, this node has been assigned a thickness that is one-half that of the interior nodes. Assuming convection transfer from an adjoining fluid and no generation, it follows from Equation 5.81 that
) from the above equation T0 is set the initial temperature and for the first cycle T1 is calculated based on the above equations, so T1 is interpreted as the initial temperature field.
the functional relationship between the temperature T and the time t of the electronic device is as follows:
While this equation can be rewrite as (T-T0) (
) =
∑I Ci pi V I ∆T + ∑I hi Ai ∆T t =
Q heat generated amount = U internal energy + H heat dissipation
(page 13-14,
The increase in the amount of thermal and mechanical energy stored in the control volume must equal the amount of thermal and mechanical energy that enters the control volume, minus the amount of thermal and mechanical energy that leaves the control volume, plus the amount of thermal energy that is generated within the control volume.
page 304
….(1)
Page 10,
Page 17:
Having already assumed steady-state conditions, no changes in latent energy, and no thermal energy generation, there are at least four cases in which further assumptions can be made to reduce Equation 1.11d to the simplified steady-flow thermal energy equation:
….(2)
Incropera and Guo are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention since they teaches thermal analysis .Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teaching of Guo to Incropera. The motivation to combine would have been for optimal designs of pulse-operated AlGaN/GaN HEMTs by the transient thermal response of GaN amplifier is measured using IR thermal photogrammetry, and the correctness and validation of the simulation model is verified ( Guo, abstract).
The modified model does not explicitly teach
even though Guo teaches temperature relationship with duty cycle on section 3.2. In order to derive the functional relationship between the temperature T and the time t, heat generation amount is used as it was explained on the above limitation.
While Barbati teaches heat generation =
( para 47, In the thermal energy balance 350, q.sub.in 352=P*duty Cycle, that is, energy per unit time used to heat the extrusion head 304 to the setpoint temperature 114, where P is a heater power rating of the heater 106 in Watts, and du Cycle is the duty cycle 116 controlled by the controller 108). Therefore by combining this equation with equation 1, 1.8 and 2, a person of ordinary skilling the art before the filling date can derive the claimed equation for multiple elements.
Barbati is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention since it focus on thermal analysis. Therefore it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before filling date to combine Barbati to the modified model in order to derive the formula of temperature with time to compute the high-speed transient thermal temperature.
The motivation would have been based on the thermal energy balance; the output flow rate may be determined based on a duty cycle of the heater. The output flow rate may be employed to affect the 3D printing to prevent over- or under-extrusion of the extrudate and to identify a fault condition( Barbati, abstract).
Claim 8 is also in the same scope with claim 1, and it is rejected under the same rational with claim 1(check claim interpretation ).
As of claim 3, the modified model of Guo, Incropera and Barbati teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and Guo also teaches Wherein before setting an initial temperature in a manner of loading a fixed-temperature heat source, a physical structure model of the device is constructed and relevant material parameters are set, the relevant material parameters comprising: thermal conductivity (Figure 1. (a) Schematic diagram of the actual module for GaN amplifiers; (b) the cross section of chip; (c) the top active region and table 2. Thermal parameters used in the simulation.
and Barbati also teaches density, constant-pressure specific heat capacity(para 15, The material properties may include a density of the build material and specific heat of the build material).
Barbati is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention since it focus on thermal analysis. Therefore it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before filling date to combine Barbati to the modified model in order to use set the relevant parameters.
The motivation would have been based on the thermal energy balance; the output flow rate may be determined based on a duty cycle of the heater. The output flow rate may be employed to affect the 3D printing to prevent over- or under-extrusion of the extrudate and to identify a fault condition( Barbati, abstract).
As of claim 4, the modified model of Guo, Incropera and Barbati teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and Incropera also teaches wherein the dynamic weak balance relationship among the heat generation amount, the internal energy increment and the heat dissipation amount of the electronic device is as follows:
Q heat generated amount = U internal energy + H heat dissipation
(page 13-14,
The increase in the amount of thermal and mechanical energy stored in the control volume must equal the amount of thermal and mechanical energy that enters the control volume, minus the amount of thermal and mechanical energy that leaves the control volume, plus the amount of thermal energy that is generated within the control volume and on page 304, Accounting for changes in thermal energy storage, a general form of the energy balance equation may be expressed as
Based on the conservation of energy as it is listed above a person of ordinary skill in the art can make simple algebraic math and use concept of engineering to derive the claimed equation.
As claim 5, the modified model of Guo, Incropera and Barbati teaches all the limitations of claim 4, and Barbati also teaches wherein
where in Pi is the power of each element, and Di is the duty ratio of the power pulse period of each element (para 47, In the thermal energy balance 350, q.sub.in 352=P*duty Cycle, that is, energy per unit time used to heat the extrusion head 304 to the setpoint temperature 114, where P is a heater power rating of the heater 106 in Watts, and du Cycle is the duty cycle 116 controlled by the controller 108). As it is cited above Barbati teaches a formula of energy per unit time for just one element, and for a person of ordinary skill in the art it will be obvious to try simple algebra to derive the claimed invention and do for multiple elements.
As of claim 6, the modified model of Guo, Incropera and Barbati teaches all the limitations of claim 4, and Incropera also teaches wherein
wherein Ci is the constant-pressure specific heat capacity of each element, pi is the density of each element, Vi is the volume of each element, T is the temperature of the device at time t, and TO is the ambient temperature ( page 17, having already assumed steady-state conditions, no changes in latent energy, and no thermal energy generation, there are at least four cases in which further assumptions can be made to reduce Equation 1.11d to the simplified steady-flow thermal energy equation:
)
Based on the above equation q is implemented as internal energy and m is implemented as density * volume (p*V) and it would be obvious to try for a person of ordinary skill in the art to perform summation if multiple elements exist.
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “ Guo, Huaixin, Tangsheng Chen, and Shang Shi. "Transient simulation for the thermal design optimization of pulse operated AlGaN/GaN HEMTs." Micromachines 11.1 (2020)in the view of Incropera, Frank P, DeWitt P. David, Bergman Theodore L. Lavine Adrienne S. “Fundamentals of heat and mass transfer” (ed. 6th – 2007), further in the view of Barbati; Alexander C (US 20180297289 A1), further in the view of Zając, Piotr. "Compact thermal modelling tool for fast design space exploration of 3D ICs with integrated microchannels." Energies 13.9 (2020):
As of Claim 2, the modified model of Guo, Incropera and Barbati teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and Incropera also teaches wherein the trough temperature value is as follows
Incropera on page 264 -265, teaches
and T- T~ = b/a as t ->∞ but it doesn’t explicitly have the exact formula since
while Zając also teaches For example, let us look at the points A and B in the figure. For the same value of the metric, the difference in peak temperature is around 14 ◦C, so this metric would not produce satisfactory results and a more accurate approach is needed. Hence, a simple thermal model is proposed here. Consider a one-channel system and the area located at the distance x from the inlet. The temperature of the fluid at location x can be approximated as:
Zając is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention since it focus thermal analysis, therefore by combining the two teaches it would be obvious to try for some of ordinary skilling the art to derive the claimed invention equation before the effective filing date. The motivation would have been thermal simulations of a 3D processor model using the proposed tool are used to estimate the optimal power dissipation profile in the chip and to prove that such an optimal profile allows for a very significant (more than 10 ◦C) peak temperature reduction ( Zajac, abstract).
Claim 9 is in the same scope to claim 2, therefore it is rejected under the same rational to that of claim 2.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “ Guo, Huaixin, Tangsheng Chen, and Shang Shi. "Transient simulation for the thermal design optimization of pulse operated AlGaN/GaN HEMTs." Micromachines 11.1 (2020)in the view of Incropera, Frank P, DeWitt P. David, Bergman Theodore L. Lavine Adrienne S. “Fundamentals of heat and mass transfer” (ed. 6th – 2007), in the view of Barbati; Alexander C (US 20180297289 A1), further in the view of Zhao, Mao-mi (CN 109387301 A)
As of claim 7, the modified model teaches all the limitations of claim 4, and Incropera also teaches wherein
wherein hi is the convective heat exchange coefficient between each element and air, Ai is the convective heat exchange area between each element and air, T is the temperature of the device at time t, and TO is the ambient temperature.
( page 10
While as shown above Incropera does not explicitly show heat radiation with time but Zhao teaches set according to Newton's law of cooling: the heat dissipated by the material through convection per unit time q= hS(TA – T_intermediate), where h is the surface heat transfer coefficient of the material, S is the surface area of the material, TA is the original temperature of the material at point A, and T_intermediate is the temperature of the surrounding environment medium; the heat dissipated by convection within time t is Q= hS(TA – T_intermediate)t;( para 13)
Zhao is analogous to the claimed invention since it focus on the thermal analysis, therefore it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date to combine Zhao teaching of calculating heat dissipation formula in to the modified model for thermal simulation.
The motivation would have been by using law of conservation of energy, the heat calculation formula and Newton's law of cooling to calculate the surface heat transfer coefficient h of the material by measuring the temperature change at a certain point, thereby deducing the temperature of the material at another point to compute the temperature at a given point ( Zhao, para 02-05).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chandra; Rajit (US 8019580 B1, Date Published 2011-09-13) this invention is also similar to the claimed invention since it focus on transient thermal analysis, temperature rates of change across a die and/or package of an integrated circuit are computed and tracked versus time.
McKay; Ian (US 20140298811 A1, Date Published 2014-10-09) this invention is also similar to the claimed invention since it teaches the rate of temperature change for the heat source over a period of time.
/ABRHAM ALEHEGN TAMIRU/Examiner, Art Unit 2188
/RYAN F PITARO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2188