Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 29, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant asserts that regarding Claim 1, the claim’s amended limitation “a busbar supported by and interfacing directly with a portion of the thermal barrier assembly”, the conductor rails may extend through the thermal barriers and may abut the alleged thermal barriers, but there is no teaching of the conductor rails being supported by the thermal barriers. This argument has been considered but has not been found to be persuasive. Where a first component abuts a second component, the second component has a position limiting effect on the first component, preventing its movement. By retaining the first component in its space, this position limiting effect constitutes support provided by the second component to the first component.
Additionally, the applicant asserts that in regards to claim 2, which recites “a plurality of mechanical fasteners which secure the thermal barrier directly to the cross-member”, Schoellkopf fails to teach this feature as they disclose that the separating wall is taught as being connected to the frame profile in a form fit manner, rather than via fasteners. This argument has been fully considered but has not been found to be persuasive. Here, the mechanical fasteners which secure the thermal barrier directly to the cross-member are not required by the claim to be fasteners which are connected to the thermal barrier and cross-member, holding them together. Instead, what is required is that mechanical fasteners are present, with said mechanical fasteners having an effect that results in the thermal barrier being secured directly to the cross member. Where the mechanical fasteners retain the thermal barrier, and the thermal barrier is in direct fit contact with the cross-member, the mechanical fasteners, in preventing the movement of the thermal barrier away from the cross-member act to secure the thermal barrier directly to the cross member.
Additionally, the applicant asserts that in regards to claim 5, the limitation “the thermal barrier assembly retains both the first and second barrier arrays”, the securing of the busbars to the modules 6 to the screws 9 does not teach retention through the divider wall 1a. This argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive. The scope provided by the term “retain” is broad, and can be interpreted through the view that it requires transitive movement prevention, in the sense that a first component which contacts a second component, which in turn contacts a third component, places a limitation on the movement of the third component and can therefore be understood as retaining it. Accordingly, the divider wall 1a, sandwich portion 3, and heat shrink hose 11 contact and retain the first and second battery arrays through connection to the conductor rail 1c, which is affixed to the battery arrays by means of the screw 9, thereby resulting in structure where the barrier assembly transitively retains both the first and second battery arrays.
Additionally, in regards to claim 6, the applicant’s arguments are persuasive. However, a modification in view of Schoellkopf is made obvious, presented in there rejection below, which does read upon the limitations of claim 6.
Additionally, in the applicant asserts that in regards to claim 8, that the heat shrink hose 11 prevents the alleged platform from interfacing directly with the alleged busbar. As discussed in the previous office action and herein, the platform is interpreted as including heat shrink hose 11, and protection cap assembly 1d.1. Accordingly, where the hose is a part of the platform, it can interface directly with the busbar.
Additionally, the applicant asserts that in regards to claim 9, the limitation “the first and second ridges interfacing directly with opposing laterally outer edges of the busbar”, the applicant asserts that where the busbar is wrapped in a heat shrink hose, the first and second ridges cannot interface directly with the outer edges of the busbar, this argument is not persuasive, as Schoellkopf discloses that their heat shrink hose is optional and nonlimiting (Paragraph 0038, “For example, the conductor rails 1 c can be at least partially surrounded by a heat shrink hose 11.”). Accordingly, the limitation of the instant claim is met by an embodiment of Schoellkopf which does not comprise the optional heat shrink hose
Additionally, regarding claim 12, the applicant asserts that where the claim recites “wherein the thermal barrier assembly provides a component retention assembly at a position between the first and second battery arrays” the bolt 9 is not between the first and second battery array. As displayed in figure 5, the bolts 9 are positioned between portions of the battery arrays 6. Even if portions of the battery arrays are beneath or on another side of the bolts 9, the fact that there are portions of the battery array on each side of the bolts means that the bolts are between the first and second battery arrays.
Additionally, the applicant asserts that regarding Claim 13, the arguments presented by the applicant are persuasive. For the purpose of elaboration, a rationale explaining the motivation of the attachment of the coolant hoses to the component retention assembly is presented in the rejection below, which reads upon the limitation of claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-12, 14, and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schoellkopf (US 20240291094 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Schoellkopf is an analogous art to the instant application, disclosing a battery pack system (Paragraph 0001, “The invention relates to a dividing wall assembly for a battery housing of the kind defined herein, a battery having a battery housing of the kind defined herein, and a vehicle having such a battery.”) comprising a first and second battery arrays of a traction battery pack (Paragraph 0032, “FIG. 1 shows the installation situation of a dividing wall 1a known from the prior art in a battery 5, for example a traction battery for vehicles.”) as depicted in their figure 5, which depicts first and second battery cells 6 which are members of battery cell arrays.
Additionally, Schoellkopf discloses a thermal barrier assembly disposed at least partially between the first and second battery arrays (Paragraph 0014, “A dividing wall assembly for a battery housing comprises a dividing wall that lies in a wall plane spanned by a longitudinal direction and a vertical direction orthogonal to the longitudinal direction and that is equipped to sub-divide a battery interior surrounded by the battery housing into chambers delimited from one another,”; Paragraph 0017, “Using the mineral material, the heat resistance of the dividing wall can be orthogonally increased through the wall plane, whereby the heat current transmitted from a cell module on fire to a neighboring cell module is reduced.”) where the thermal barrier assembly is configured to block thermal energy movement from the first battery array to the second battery array, and from the second battery array to the first battery array (Paragraph 0017, “Using the mineral material, the heat resistance of the dividing wall can be orthogonally increased through the wall plane, whereby the heat current transmitted from a cell module on fire to a neighboring cell module is reduced.”).
Additionally, Schoellkopf discloses a busbar which interfaces directly with a portion of the thermal barrier assembly, here disclosed by Schoellkopf as being a “conductor rail” 1c (Paragraph 0016, “Several conductor rails can generally also be received by a dividing wall. For example, two conductor rails can protrude through the dividing wall spaced apart from one another in the longitudinal direction. Two, or more than two, cell modules can be contacted via a conductor rail.”; Paragraph 0004, “To connect cell modules, the arresters of cell modules are connected by means of contact elements, also described as conductor rails.”). Additionally, the busbar is supported by a portion of the thermal barrier assembly, as shown in their figure 5, where the thermal barrier assembly 1a is positioned directly beneath the conductor rail 1c, as well as extending upwards to be in direct contact with the conductor rail, thereby providing support.
Regarding Claim 2, Schoellkopf anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Schoellkopf discloses structure wherein the busbar electrically couples together the first and second battery arrays (Paragraph 0016, “Two, or more than two, cell modules can be contacted via a conductor rail.”).
Regarding Claim 3, Schoellkopf anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Schoellkopf further discloses a cross-member disposed between the first and second battery arrays, here frame profile 10 (Paragraph 0032, “The separating wall 1a is, for example, connected in a form fit manner to a frame profile 10 protruding from the battery housing 2.”) depicted in figure 5 as being secured to the thermal barrier assembly 1a by means of direct contact.
Regarding Claim 4, Schoellkopf anticipates the invention of Claim 3. Additionally, Schoellkopf discloses structure where a plurality of mechanical fasteners secure the cross-member, shown in figure 5 where sandwich core 3 secures the position of the dividing wall 1a which is the thermal barrier, in direct contact with the cross member 10. Accordingly, this results in structure wherein the mechanical fasteners, in securing the structure of Schoellkopf, secure the thermal barrier directly to the cross-member.
Regarding Claim 5, Schoellkopf anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Schoellkopf discloses structure where the thermal barrier assembly retains both the first and second battery arrays, depicted in their figure 5, where the divider wall 1a, sandwich portion 3, and heat shrink hose 11 contact and retain the first and second battery arrays through connection to the conductor rail 1c, which is affixed to the battery arrays by means of the screw 9, thereby resulting in structure where the barrier assembly transitively retains both the first and second battery arrays.
Regarding Claim 8, Schoellkopf anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Schoellkopf discloses structure, as depicted in their figure 5, which comprises a platform of the thermal barrier assembly, the platform comprising an optional heat shrink hose 11, as well as protection cap assembly 1d.1. Here, as depicted in figure 5, the busbar 1c is disposed on a side surface of the portion of the platform which is either the optional heat shrink hose 11 or the protection cap assembly section 1d.1, thereby resulting in structure where the busbar is disposed on the platform. Additionally, where the platform surrounds the busbar, the platform is therefore interfacing directly with an underside surface of the busbar.
Regarding Claim 9, Schoellkopf anticipates the invention of Claim 8. Additionally, Schoellkopf discloses structure wherein the platform further comprises a first ridge extending upward from a first side of the platform, depicted in figure 5 on the left side of component 1d.1, which extends up from a left side of the platform. Additionally, Schoellkopf further depicts a second ridge which extends upward from the rightmost side of the component 1d.1, on a right side of the platform. Here, the first and second ridges interface with opposing laterally outer edges of the busbar which are oriented perpendicular to the underside surface through the intervening portions of the platform and busbar, the surfaces being the left and right sides of the busbars 1c, which are perpendicular to the underside surface of the busbar, viewing a variant of figure 5 which does not comprise the optional heat shrink hose (Paragraph 0038, “For example, the conductor rails 1 c can be at least partially surrounded by a heat shrink hose 11.”).
Regarding Claim 10, Schoellkopf anticipates the invention of Claim 8. Additionally, Schoellkopf further discloses structure where the platform is a part of a channel that receives a the busbar, as depicted in Schoellkopf’s figure 5, where the platform is located in a gap between the battery arrays, the space between and around the battery arrays cells 6 being the channel, where the platform occupies a portion of the channel, as does the busbar 1c, thereby resulting in structure where the platform is a part of the channel, and where the channel receives the busbar.
Regarding Claim 11, Schoellkopf anticipates the invention of Claim 8. Additionally, Schoellkopf discloses structure wherein the system further comprises a busbar cap, here the upper portion of the screw 9 depicted in Schoellkopf’s figure 5, where a portion of the busbar 1c is sandwiched between the busbar cap and the platform, by means of a diagonal vector which extends through the outer edge of the screw cap 9 towards the platform, including the portions of the busbar which are within the heat-shrink hose portion of the platform, thereby representing structure where a vector extending between the first and second battery arrays from the screw cap 9 can intersect with the busbar, and then the bottom portions of the platform.
Regarding Claim 12, Schoellkopf anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Schoellkopf discloses structure where the thermal barrier 1a provides a component retention assembly, as depicted in figure 5 where the thermal barrier 1a is in contact with and therefore acts to retain surrounding components, with the thermal barrier 1a being located at least partially between the first and second battery arrays.
Regarding Claim 14, Schoellkopf anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Schoellkopf discloses structure wherein the thermal barrier assembly is a polymer based material, through their disclosure that the dividing wall 1a comprises plastic (Paragraph 0042, “The dividing wall 1a and the protection cap arrangement 1d also preferably comprise a non-electrically conductive material, for example plastic.”).
Regarding Claim 22, Schoellkopf anticipates the invention of Claim 5. Additionally, Schoellkopf discloses structure, as shown in their figure 5, where the thermal barrier 1a includes a first lip and second lip which extend upwards, branching out from a primary attachment portion of the thermal barrier, the attachment portion being located at the join of the extending portions and the upper face of the thermal barrier which covers crossmember 10. Figure 5 further shows structure where the first lip extends up along a vertically upper side of the first battery array, extending up to contact cap assembly 1d.1, the lip being in contact with and pressed against a first battery array, thereby clamping the first battery array. Additionally, Figure 5 shows the same structure with the second lip, where it extends along a vertically upper side of the second battery array, being in contact with and pressed against the second battery array, thereby clamping it.
Regarding Claim 23, Schoellkopf anticipates the invention of Claim 22. Additionally, as shown in their figure 5, the system comprises an enclosure that houses the first and second battery arrays (Paragraph 0022, “According to the invention, a battery having a battery interior surrounded by a battery housing”). As discussed above, the first lip extends upward to the vertically upper side of the first battery array. Accordingly, the first battery array is clamped diagonally between the first lip and a floor of the enclosure. Additionally, where the second lip extends upward to the vertically upper side of the second battery array, the second battery array is clamped diagonally between the second lip and a floor of the enclosure
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoellkopf (US 20240291094 A1) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 6, Schoellkopf anticipates the invention of Claim 5. Additionally, in regards to the limitation of the instant claim, which requires structure where at least a portion of both the first and second battery arrays are clamped vertically between the thermal barrier assembly and a floor of the battery pack enclosure Schoellkopf fails to disclose said structure. However, in disclosing the structure of their thermal barrier assembly, Schoellkopf discloses that the goal of the thermal barrier is to obstruct heat flow between batteries (Paragraph 0017, “Using the mineral material, the heat resistance of the dividing wall can be orthogonally increased through the wall plane, whereby the heat current transmitted from a cell module on fire to a neighboring cell module is reduced.”).
As depicted in Schoellkopf’s figure 5, there is an unobstructed heat flow path above the thermal barrier assemblies, moving through the protection cap carrier 1d.3, through which heat can flow from one battery to another. Where Schoellkopf discloses that the intention of their thermal barrier assembly is to obstruct heat flow between batteries (Paragraph 0017, “Using the mineral material, the heat resistance of the dividing wall can be orthogonally increased through the wall plane, whereby the heat current transmitted from a cell module on fire to a neighboring cell module is reduced.”) it would therefore be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to extend the thermal barrier assembly to include covering the top face of the battery, thereby blocking the flow path between batteries. Accordingly, placing the thermal barrier assembly on top of the first and second battery assemblies would result in structure wherein at least a portion of both the first and second battery arrays are clamped vertically between the thermal barrier assembly and a floor of the battery enclosure.
Regarding Claim 7, Schoellkopf anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, in regards to the limitation of the instant claim which requires structure where the first and second battery arrays each include a plurality of battery cells disposed along a respective battery array axis, wherein a longitudinal axis of the thermal barrier is parallel to the battery axis of the first array and parallel to the battery array axis of the second array, Schoellkopf discloses structure which comprises two or more battery cells, divided by their thermal barrier assembly (Paragraph 0032, “In a battery interior surrounded by the battery housing 2, at least two cell modules 6 are arranged, which are delimited from one another by means of the dividing wall 1a.”). However, Schoellkopf fails to disclose or further discuss the arrangement of battery cells beyond the placement of the two cells depicted in their figure 5.
However, Schoellkopf does disclose that their figure 5 represents a cross-sectional view of two batteries and the thermal barrier assembly, one side’s battery being a portion of the first battery array, and the other sides being a portion of the second battery array (Paragraph 0031, “FIG. 5 shows a sectional view through a battery having the dividing wall assembly according to the invention in the installation position of the conductor rail.”). Accordingly, where a section of the thermal barrier assembly and busbar as shown in figures 3-5 comprises the components necessary to connect the batteries of the battery array to the battery system, it would therefore be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to extend the thermal barrier assembly and busbars, and battery array along the length direction of figure 2 which is also the normal vector direction of the cross-sectional view of figure 5. This would therefore result in structure where the batteries of the battery array are connected to the busbar, as well as being secured alongside the thermal barrier assembly, resulting in structure wherein the direction of the normal vector of figure 5’s cross sectional view is the longitudinal axis of the thermal barrier assembly, and where the first and second battery arrays each include a plurality of battery cells disposed along a respective battery array axis which is parallel to the longitudinal axis of the battery array axis of the first battery array and parallel to the battery array axis of the second battery array.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoellkopf (US 20240291094 A1) as applied to claim 12 above, in further view of Pettersson (US 20220158269 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Schoellkopf anticipates the invention of Claim 12. Additionally, in regards to the limitation of the limitation of the instant claim which further requires a coolant hose held by a component retention assembly, Schoellkopf fails to disclose said structure. Therefore, we look to Pettersson, which is an analogous art to the instant application, disclosing a traction battery and thermal management system (Abstract, “A vehicle includes a traction battery having a plurality of cells arranged in arrays and grouped into a plurality of cooling zones. A thermal management system includes a plurality of distinct circuits each associated with one of the zones.”). Here, Pettersson discloses that their thermal management system provides heating or cooling to individual zones of an attached traction battery system (Abstract, “The thermal management system is configured to provide individual heating or cooling to each of the circuits to independently control temperatures of the zones.”).
Here, Pettersson discloses the use of a cooling loop in their thermal management system (Paragraph 0005, “The thermal management systems includes a plurality of distinct circuits each associated with a different subset of the cells and having conduit configured to circulate coolant therethrough and valves each having a first inlet connected to a heating loop, a second inlet connected to a cooling loop, and an outlet connected to a corresponding one of the circuits,”), which comprises a heat exchanger, a pump, and a conduit connecting to the valve of the cooling loop, shown in their figure 4 (Paragraph 0030, “The heat exchanger 90, the pump 63, and the conduit connecting the pump to the valve 66 may be referred to as a cooling loop.”). Here, the conduit shown in Pettersson’s figure 4 is a cooling hose, which is held by the surrounding components of the thermal management system, which therefore act as a component retention system. Here, Pettersson further discloses that their thermal management system facilitates uniform temperature management of an attached traction battery array (Paragraph 0032, “The three-way valves 66, in combination with the cooling loop and the heating loop, enable the zones 62 to be independently heated and cooled at a same time. That is, some of the zones can be heated while other of the zones are simultaneously cooled. This may be done to simultaneously eliminate hot and cold spots and bring the battery 24 to a uniform temperature more quickly than relying on resistance heating from the battery cells to eliminate the cold spots.”).
Here, where Schoellkopf discloses that an intention of their invention is to address issues of thermal propagation by means of thermal isolation (Paragraph 0003, “Using such a dividing wall, individual cell modules can be thermally and electrically isolated from one another.”) and, where Pettersson’s invention manages the thermal state of individual regions, it is therefore aligned with managing the thermal state as discussed by Schoellkopf. Accordingly, it would therefore be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to apply the thermal management system of Pettersson to the traction battery array of Schoellkopf. Additionally, where the thermal management system of Pettersson has thermal zones having differing temperatures, and to direct cooling to higher temperature areas (Paragraph 0004, “An associated controller is programmed to rank the zones hottest to coldest based on the signals of temperature sensors, and, in response to a temperature of the coldest zone exceeding an upper temperature threshold, reduce an opening of the valve associated with the coldest zone to reduce the flow rate therethrough and increase an opening of the valve associated with the hottest zone to increase the flow rate therethrough.”), it would therefore be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to have cooling plates located on top sides and bottom sides of battery cells, so as to have greater control over cooling specific zones.
Accordingly, Pettersson discloses that their coolant system comprises tubes hoses and pipes (Paragraph 0029, “While not explicitly discussed, additional conduit, such as tubes, hoses, pipes, or the like, are used to connect to the cooling circuit 74 with the valves 66 and the outlet manifold 84.”). Further, as discussed above, Pettersson makes obvious applying cooling plates to tops and bottoms of battery cells, this would therefore require paths for coolant to travel from a top side to a bottom side of the battery system. Accordingly, where the thermal barrier assembly is a thermal barrier, which prevents heat transfer between adjacent batteries, and extends from a top side of the batteries to a bottom side, it would be obvious to have the coolant hoses be connected to the thermal barrier, allowing for the hoses to be secured, as well as to provide additional cooling to the thermal barriers, allowing them to better achieve their goal of preventing heat transfer,
Accordingly, where the component retention assembly is located between the first and second battery, the coolant hose held by the component retention assembly is located at the position between the first and second battery arrays.
Claim(s) 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoellkopf (US 20240291094 A1) as applied to claim 12 above, in further view of Kotik (US 20220255170 A1).
Regarding Claim 20, Schoellkopf anticipates the invention of Claim 4. Additionally, In regards to the limitation which requires structure wherein the thermal barrier includes a plurality of thermal barrier bores, and the mechanical fasteners each extending through one of the thermal barrier bores to threadably engage the cross-member, Schoellkopf fails to disclose said structure.
Therefore, we look to Kotik, which is an analogous art to the instant application, being directed towards the art of battery pack systems (Abstract, “A battery pack includes a battery pack housing having a lid joined to an open end via a fluid-impermeable seal. The battery pack further includes a battery module disposed within the battery housing and comprising a plurality of electrochemical cells.”). Here, Kotik discloses that their invention comprises the use of screw fasteners to secure components to a frame (Paragraph 0149, “n the illustrated embodiment, fasteners such as screws 522 are used to secure the flow diverter 540 and the end plate 506 to the frame 50,”). Here, in view of this teaching of the use of screw fasteners to secure components to a frame which is a component of a housing, further in view of Schoellkopf’s teaching screw usage to fix components together (Paragraph 0033, “The conductor rail 1 c has openings, for example through holes, through which the screws 9 are guided to fix the conductor rail 1 c to the two cell modules 6 .”) and the use of structure to prevent undesirable contact between conductors and other components which would cause a short circuit (Paragraph 0033, “The conductor rail 1 c is surrounded by a conductor rail housing 1 b to prevent undesirable contact of a component or a person with the conductor rail 1 c from leading to a short-circuit.”), it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to make use of screws which move through the thermal barrier, the cross member, and the housing/enclosure, where the floor of the housing acts as a cover of the enclosure, having bores which threadably engage the screws, to as to secure the housing, cross member, and the thermal barrier and prevent movement, thereby reading upon the limitation of the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 21, modified Schoellkopf makes obvious the limitations of claim 20. Additionally, as discussed above, Schoellkopf and Kotik make obvious structure where it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to make use of screws which move through the thermal barrier, the cross member, and the housing/enclosure, where the floor of the housing acts as a cover of the enclosure, having bores which threadably engage the screws, to as to secure the housing, cross member, and the thermal barrier and prevent movement, thereby reading upon the limitation of the instant claim.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoellkopf (US 20240291094 A1) as applied to claim 23 above, in view of Kotik (US 20220255170 A1).
Regarding Claim 24, Schoellkopf makes obvious the invention of claim 23. Additionally, in regards to the limitation which requires structure which further comprises a cross-member disposed between the first and second battery arrays, the thermal barrier assembly being secured directly to the cross-member, and wherein the primary attachment portion of the thermal barrier includes a plurality of thermal barrier bores each configured to receive a mechanical fastener that threadably engages the cross-member, Schoellkopf fails to disclose said structure.
Therefore, we look to Kotik, which is an analogous art to the instant application, being directed towards the art of battery pack systems (Abstract, “A battery pack includes a battery pack housing having a lid joined to an open end via a fluid-impermeable seal. The battery pack further includes a battery module disposed within the battery housing and comprising a plurality of electrochemical cells.”). Here, Kotik discloses that their invention comprises the use of screw fasteners to secure components to a frame (Paragraph 0149, “n the illustrated embodiment, fasteners such as screws 522 are used to secure the flow diverter 540 and the end plate 506 to the frame 50,”). Here, in view of this teaching of the use of screw fasteners to secure components to a frame which is a component of a housing, further in view of Schoellkopf’s teaching screw usage to fix components together (Paragraph 0033, “The conductor rail 1 c has openings, for example through holes, through which the screws 9 are guided to fix the conductor rail 1 c to the two cell modules 6 .”) and the use of structure to prevent undesirable contact between conductors and other components which would cause a short circuit (Paragraph 0033, “The conductor rail 1 c is surrounded by a conductor rail housing 1 b to prevent undesirable contact of a component or a person with the conductor rail 1 c from leading to a short-circuit.”), it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to make use of screws which move through the primary attachment portion of the thermal barrier, the cross member, and the housing/enclosure, where the floor of the housing acts as a cover of the enclosure, having bores which threadably engage the screws, to as to secure the housing, cross member, and the primary attachment portion of the thermal barrier and prevent movement, thereby reading upon the limitation of the instant claim.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoellkopf (US 20240291094 A1), in view of Kotik (US 20220255170 A1), and in view of Ford (US 20220231381 A1).
Regarding Claim 25, Schoellkopf is an analogous art to the instant application, disclosing a battery pack system (Paragraph 0001, “The invention relates to a dividing wall assembly for a battery housing of the kind defined herein, a battery having a battery housing of the kind defined herein, and a vehicle having such a battery.”) comprising a first and second battery arrays of a traction battery pack (Paragraph 0032, “FIG. 1 shows the installation situation of a dividing wall 1a known from the prior art in a battery 5, for example a traction battery for vehicles.”) as depicted in their figure 5, which depicts first and second battery cells 6 which are members of battery cell arrays, as well as an enclosure, depicted in their figure 5, containing the battery pack system contents within a housing.
Additionally, Schoellkopf further discloses a cross-member disposed between the first and second battery arrays, here frame profile 10 (Paragraph 0032, “The separating wall 1a is, for example, connected in a form fit manner to a frame profile 10 protruding from the battery housing 2.”) depicted in figure 5 as being secured to the thermal barrier assembly 1a by means of direct contact.
Additionally, Schoellkopf discloses a thermal barrier assembly disposed at least partially between the first and second battery arrays (Paragraph 0014, “A dividing wall assembly for a battery housing comprises a dividing wall that lies in a wall plane spanned by a longitudinal direction and a vertical direction orthogonal to the longitudinal direction and that is equipped to sub-divide a battery interior surrounded by the battery housing into chambers delimited from one another,”; Paragraph 0017, “Using the mineral material, the heat resistance of the dividing wall can be orthogonally increased through the wall plane, whereby the heat current transmitted from a cell module on fire to a neighboring cell module is reduced.”) where the thermal barrier assembly is configured to block thermal energy movement from the first battery array to the second battery array, and from the second battery array to the first battery array (Paragraph 0017, “Using the mineral material, the heat resistance of the dividing wall can be orthogonally increased through the wall plane, whereby the heat current transmitted from a cell module on fire to a neighboring cell module is reduced.”).
Additionally, Schoellkopf discloses structure, as shown in their figure 5, where the thermal barrier 1a includes a first lip and second lip which extend upwards, branching out from a primary attachment portion of the thermal barrier, the attachment portion being located at the join of the extending portions and the upper face of the thermal barrier which covers crossmember 10. Figure 5 further shows structure where the first lip extends up along a vertically upper side of the first battery array, extending up to contact cap assembly 1d.1, the lip being in contact with and pressed against a first battery array, thereby clamping the first battery array. Additionally, Figure 5 shows the same structure with the second lip, where it extends along a vertically upper side of the second battery array, being in contact with and pressed against the second battery array, thereby clamping it.
Additionally, as shown in their figure 5, the system comprises an enclosure that houses the first and second battery arrays (Paragraph 0022, “According to the invention, a battery having a battery interior surrounded by a battery housing”). As discussed above, the first lip extends upward to the vertically upper side of the first battery array. Accordingly, the first battery array is clamped diagonally between the first lip and a floor of the enclosure. Additionally, where the second lip extends upward to the vertically upper side of the second battery array, the second battery array is clamped diagonally between the second lip and a floor of the enclosure
Additionally, In regards to the limitation which requires structure wherein the thermal barrier includes a plurality of thermal barrier bores, and the mechanical fasteners each extending through one of the thermal barrier bores to threadably engage the cross-member, Schoellkopf fails to disclose said structure.
Therefore, we look to Kotik, which is an analogous art to the instant application, being directed towards the art of battery pack systems (Abstract, “A battery pack includes a battery pack housing having a lid joined to an open end via a fluid-impermeable seal. The battery pack further includes a battery module disposed within the battery housing and comprising a plurality of electrochemical cells.”). Here, Kotik discloses that their invention comprises the use of screw fasteners to secure components to a frame (Paragraph 0149, “n the illustrated embodiment, fasteners such as screws 522 are used to secure the flow diverter 540 and the end plate 506 to the frame 50,”). Here, in view of this teaching of the use of screw fasteners to secure components to a frame which is a component of a housing, further in view of Schoellkopf’s teaching screw usage to fix components together (Paragraph 0033, “The conductor rail 1 c has openings, for example through holes, through which the screws 9 are guided to fix the conductor rail 1 c to the two cell modules 6 .”) and the use of structure to prevent undesirable contact between conductors and other components which would cause a short circuit (Paragraph 0033, “The conductor rail 1 c is surrounded by a conductor rail housing 1 b to prevent undesirable contact of a component or a person with the conductor rail 1 c from leading to a short-circuit.”), it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to make use of screws which move through the thermal barrier, the cross member, and the housing/enclosure, where the floor of the housing acts as a cover of the enclosure, having bores which threadably engage the screws, to as to secure the housing, cross member, and the thermal barrier and prevent movement, thereby reading upon the limitation of the instant claim.
Additionally, Schoellkopf discloses a busbar which interfaces directly with a portion of the thermal barrier assembly, here disclosed by Schoellkopf as being a “conductor rail” 1c (Paragraph 0016, “Several conductor rails can generally also be received by a dividing wall. For example, two conductor rails can protrude through the dividing wall spaced apart from one another in the longitudinal direction. Two, or more than two, cell modules can be contacted via a conductor rail.”; Paragraph 0004, “To connect cell modules, the arresters of cell modules are connected by means of contact elements, also described as conductor rails.”). Additionally, the busbar is supported by a portion of the thermal barrier assembly, as shown in their figure 5, where the thermal barrier assembly 1a is positioned directly beneath the conductor rail 1c, as well as extending upwards to be in direct contact with the conductor rail, thereby providing support.
Additionally, Schoellkopf further discloses structure where the platform is a part of a channel that receives a the busbar, as depicted in Schoellkopf’s figure 5, where the platform is located in a gap between the battery arrays, the space between and around the battery arrays cells 6 being the channel, where the platform occupies a portion of the channel, as does the busbar 1c, thereby resulting in structure where the platform is a part of the channel, and where the channel receives the busbar.
Additionally, Schoellkopf discloses structure wherein the system further comprises a busbar cap, here the upper portion of the screw 9 depicted in Schoellkopf’s figure 5, which covers an upwardly facing surface of the busbar.
Additionally, in regards to the limitation which requires that the busbar and busbar cap each include a first aperture and a second aperture, the first aperture of the busbar and the first aperture of the busbar cap are configured to receive a first busbar mechanical fastener that threadably encages the first battery array to secure the busbar and busbar cap to the first battery array, and the second aperture of the busbar and the second aperture of the busbar cap are configured to receive a second busbar mechanical fastener that threadably engages the second battery array to secure the busbar and the busbar cap to the second battery array, Schoellkopf fails to disclose said structure. Therefore, we look to Ford, which is an analogous art to the instant application, being directed towards battery structure (Paragraph 0008, “Further disclosed is a battery comprising: multiple cells; a battery case holding the cells in an array; a cooling plate to which the cells are glued; a battery case cap defining holes that are located to expose each cell's electrical terminals;”). Here, Ford discloses a busbar cap which is directed towards a busbar cap comprising holes which expose terminals, as well as an insulating layer which provides controlled access to the battery terminals (Paragraph 0008, “a battery case cap defining holes that are located to expose each cell's electrical terminals; an insulating layer positioned over and spaced apart from the battery case cap, the insulating layer defining holes that provide access to the electrical terminals; a first structural”), and that the structure of fastening the cap and insulating layer to the busbar allows for an effective securing of the battery system (Paragraph 0052, “A potential benefit with using the structural busbars may occur during assembly, particularly if the case 50 has through-holes that loosely accommodate the cells. If the cells are picked and placed into the case 50, the battery case cap 52 is pressed into place and the lower layer of structural busbars 94 welded, then the busbars now secure all of the cells so that when the assembly is lifted by the case 50 to be moved to the next process, the cells do not fall out of the bottom of the case.”). Further, the insulation layer provides insulation protecting the battery busbars and batteries and allows for contact to be made with components safely (Paragraph 0050, “which insulates the upper structural busbar layer 96 and provides touch protection.”).
Accordingly, based on this teaching of Ford, it would be obvious to apply the cap structure of their invention to the invention of Schoellkopf, thereby resulting in structure where their cap is the busbar cap, having an aperture through which the screw 9 is the busbar mechanical fastener that threadably engages the first battery array through a first aperture of the first busbar and the first busbar cap to secure the busbar and busbar cap to the first battery array, as well as the second screw 9 being the second busbar mechanical fastener that threadably engages the second battery array through the second aperture of the busbar and the second aperture of the busbar cap to secure the busbar and the busbar cap to the battery array.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.W.E./ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725