DETAILED ACTION
Applicant' s arguments, filed 8/27/2026, have been fully considered. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Applicants have amended their claims, filed 8/27/2026, and therefore rejections newly made in the instant office action have been necessitated by amendment.
Claims 1-19 are the currently pending claims herby under examination. Claims 20-22 have been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Petroff et al. (US 20220061670 A1), hereto referred as Petroff, and further in view of Cohen et al. (US 20140094689 A1), hereto referred as Cohen.
Regarding claim 1, Petroff teaches that the method comprises: receiving, by one or more processors, a plurality of extravascular images of the vessel during a pullback of an intravascular imaging probe having a defined pullback length along a first region of the vessel (Petroff, [0253]: "System 10 can provide high resolution morphological images and other high-resolution morphological information, such as are produced using at least OCT data gathered by probe 100"; [0240]: "System 10 can add lengths, by turning the time-points of each snap-shot into distances. For example, for a zero-order: the pullback speed is used to convert to distance... a radiopaque marker of probe 100 can be identified at the start of pullback and at the end of the pullback, and an angiography image (frame) closest in time to the respective trigger... The distance traversed between the radiopaque marker at sequence (ii) and (iv) is the pullback distance (e.g. a distance of 50 mm). System 10 can map this known pullback distance along the artery shape, such as in a linear fashion", demonstrating that Petroff receives both extravascular images and determines and uses a defined pullback length, where the pullback length is explicitly calculated and known for mapping to the vessel geometry (angiography) and intravascular images (OCT) during a defined pullback length; [0125]: "processor 52... perform any type of data processing", [0123]: "store software routines, algorithms... and data acquired...", Petroff further teaches that processor 52 performs data processing on the acquired imaging data thereby performing the recited step by one or more processors); and detecting, by the one or more processors, locations of one or more markers in the plurality of extravascular images (Petroff, [0113]: "Imaging probe 100 can comprise one or more visualizable markers along its length (e.g. along shaft 120), markers 131 a-b shown (marker 131 herein). Marker 131 can comprise markers selected from the group consisting of: radiopaque markers; ultrasonically reflective markers; magnetic markers; ferrous material; and combinations of one or more of these", [0115]: "In some embodiments, tip 119 can comprise a radiopaque marker configured to increase the visibility of imaging probe 100 under an X-ray or fluoroscope", [0240]: "...the radiopaque marker of probe 100 can be identified at the start of pullback and at the end of the pullback, and an angiography image (frame) closest in time to the respective trigger...", [0184]: "In some embodiments, the data can be registered using the location, size, and shape of one or more side branches of the selected artery", showing that Petroff uses both physical markers visible in extravascular images (e.g., radiopaque markers on the probe in angiography) and anatomical landmarks (side branches) seen in extravascular imaging as registration points for detection and localization; [0125]: "processor 52... perform any type of data processing", [0123]: "store software routines, algorithms... and data acquired...", Petroff further teaches that processor 52 performs data processing on the acquired imaging data thereby performing the recited step by one or more processors).
Also regarding claim 1, Petroff does not fully teach comparing, by the one or more processors, an apparent length of the first region of the vessel with the defined pullback length being represented in the plurality of extravascular images by locations of the one or more markers in the plurality of extravascular images. Rather, Petroff determines a known pullback length and explicitly maps that known pullback length onto the vessel geometry represented in the extravascular images (Petroff, [0240]: "The distance traversed... is the pullback distance... System 10 can map this known pullback distance along the artery shape"; [0184]: "OCT data and Non-OCT data (e.g. angiography data) can be registered (e.g. correlated)"; [0125]: "processor 52... perform any type of data processing"; [0123]: "store software routines, algorithms... and data acquired..."), with the identified processing performed by processor 52. Thus, Petroff relates a physically defined pullback length with the vessel as represented in the extravascular images using marker-based localization in combination with pullback-derived distance calculations based on speed and time, mapping a known physical length onto the image representation without expressly comparing the apparent angiographic length of the first region with the defined physical pullback length to obtain calibration information. In Petroff, the locations of the radiopaque markers anchor the pullback-derived length within the extravascular image, such that any relationship between physical length and image representation is based on the locations of the one or more markers in the plurality of extravascular images (Petroff, [0240]: "a radiopaque marker of probe 100 can be identified at the start of pullback and at the end of the pullback... The distance traversed... is the pullback distance"; [0113]: "Imaging probe 100 can comprise one or more visualizable markers along its length..."). However, Petroff does not derive a relationship between the apparent image length (i.e., a length as represented in the extravascular image) and the defined pullback length, and therefore does not explicitly teach comparing an apparent length in the extravascular image with the defined pullback length to establish a calibration relationship between image representation and physical length.
Cohen teaches that calibration factors are determined by relating image-based representations to known physical dimensions (Cohen, [0093]: "determine... calibration factors... based upon a known physical distance between two or more of the identified features"; [0092]: "based upon a known physical dimension associated with one or more of the identified features"; [0090]: "based upon a known speed at which the endoluminal device is moved through the lumen"), thereby establishing a relationship between apparent image dimensions and actual physical dimensions ([0044]: "determine... local calibration factors associated with respective portions of the roadmap image"), where the identified features include visible markers or anatomical landmarks whose locations are used to derive the calibration relationship. Cohen further describes using a known physical distance traveled by an endoluminal device and its corresponding apparent distance along the roadmap to establish a calibration factor, which may be used to convert image-based distances to physical distances (Cohen, [0378]-[0393]). This provides a concrete comparison of the known physical displacement and its extravascular image representation, rather than merely registering their locations.
Petroff provides a known pullback length and extravascular image representation, while Cohen teaches using known physical lengths, including motion-derived distances, to calibrate image representations and thereby compare apparent image dimensions with actual physical dimensions.
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Petroff in view of Cohen to compare an apparent length of a vessel in an extravascular image with a defined pullback length using calibration techniques, because Petroff already provides the known pullback length and image framework, and Cohen teaches using known physical distances to calibrate image representations. Such a modification would have been feasible because both references operate on co-registered intravascular and extravascular imaging data and rely on spatial relationships within the same imaging environment. The motivation for combining is to improve dimensional accuracy and reduce errors arising from apparent versus physical distances in extravascular imaging, thereby enabling more accurate vessel measurements. In particular, Petroff identifies the start and end locations of a radiopaque marker in angiographic frames and the physical distance traveled between them (Petroff, [0240]); Cohen uses known device displacement relative to its image representation to determine calibration information (Cohen, [0378]-[0380]). Applying Cohen’s technique to those same Petroff marker-defined endpoints would yield the recited comparison result, without changing Petroff’s acquisition of either the intravascular or extravascular images.
Also regarding claim 1, the modified Petroff does not fully teach determining, by the one or more processors, a size of a second region of the vessel represented in the plurality of extravascular images but not imaged by the intravascular probe during the pullback, using a result of the comparison of the apparent length of the first region of the vessel with the defined pullback length. Rather, Petroff teaches that, where disease is distal or proximal to an imaged area, its resistance can be estimated from angiography data (Petroff, [0222]: "If there is disease distal or proximal to an imaged area, its resistance to flow would need to be estimated, such as from angiography data"), and teaches angiographic analysis of vessel portions proximal and distal to the clear portion of a pullback (Petroff, [0232]: "angiography data can be analyzed to determine the extent of stenosis proximal and distal to the clear portion of the pullback"). Petroff also teaches obtaining vessel dimensional information from angiography (Petroff, [0183]) and representing a broader vessel anatomy angiographically than is captured by the intravascular imaging probe (Petroff, [0236]). Thus, Petroff provides angiographically represented vessel regions outside the intravascular imaging coverage, including regions that the probe did not image during the recited pullback. However, Petroff does not expressly use a result of comparing the first region’s apparent angiographic length with the known pullback length to determine the physical length of that second region. However, Petroff does not expressly teach using calibration information derived from comparing the apparent first-region length with the defined pullback length to determine the physical length of the second region.
Cohen teaches that once calibration factors relating apparent image dimensions to actual physical dimensions are determined, those calibration relationships are used to derive measurements of portions of the lumen, including lengths (Cohen, [0070]: "determine a length of a portion of the lumen that corresponds to a portion of the stack"; [0067]-[0069]: "determine a parameter... including length... based upon the co-registering of the endoluminal data points"). Cohen further teaches that the goal of calibration is "to determine the distance between any two points along the roadmap pathway" (Cohen, [0381]), and describes determining distances along that calibrated pathway (Cohen, [0382]-[0393]). The proposed measurement is the longitudinal length of the second vessel region from the angiogram, not a transverse measurement obtained from intravascular images of that region.
Petroff provides angiographic representation and dimensional analysis of vessel portions beyond the intravascular imaging coverage, while Cohen teaches that a calibration relationship between apparent roadmap distance and physical distance is used to determine vessel lengths. Thus, the proposed modification uses the comparison-derived calibration for the marker-defined first region to convert the apparent angiographic length of the second region into its physical length, without requiring the second region to have been imaged intravascularly during the pullback.
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Petroff in view of Cohen to determine the physical length of a second vessel region represented in the extravascular images but not imaged by the intravascular probe during the pullback, using the calibration result obtained by comparing the first region’s apparent angiographic length with the known pullback length. Petroff seeks to determine vessel dimensions from angiography (Petroff, [0183]) and identifies vessel anatomy distal or proximal to an intravascularly imaged area for which angiographic data is used (Petroff, [0222]; see also [0232], [0236]), while Cohen teaches using a physical-to-image calibration relationship to determine distances between any two points along an angiographic roadmap pathway (Cohen, [0378]-[0393], particularly [0381]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply that established calibration technique to Petroff’s angiographically represented vessel portions beyond the intravascularly imaged first region, to improve the accuracy of physical length measurements where intravascular imaging data was not obtained during the pullback. The known pullback length provides a physical calibration reference, rather than a limit on where dimensions can be determined from the broader angiographic representation. Applying the resulting calibration to a second-region length would have been a predictable use of Cohen’s calibrated angiographic measurement technique for the dimensional analysis already contemplated by Petroff, without requiring an additional intravascular scan of the second region.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Petroff teaches that the size of the second region of the vessel includes at least one of a length of the second region, a cross-section diameter within the second region, and a cross-sectional area within the second region (Petroff, [0232]: "angiography data can be analyzed to determine the extent of stenosis proximal and distal to the clear portion of the pullback. Subsequently, Rd is calculated for these areas outside of the delineated pullback", showing that the system determines the extent or length of disease in a second region (Petroff uses “extent of stenosis” in reference to vessel regions, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand this to include the length of affected vessel, not merely severity at a single point), as well as the resistance (Rd, [0217]) which uses a diameter (cross-section diameter) and by extension, cross-sectional area, in a region outside of the primary pullback zone).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Petroff implicitly, inherently, or obviously teaches that the method further comprises computing, by the one or more processors, a virtual flow reserve (VFR) of the vessel based on a plurality of images captured by the intravascular imaging probe and based on the determined size of the second region of the vessel (Petroff, [0185]: "In Step 1320, cardiovascular flow dynamics can be calculated based on the analyzed data (e.g. the OCT data and/or Non-OCT data collected and/or analyzed). In some embodiments, system 10 is configured to estimate microvascular resistance distal to the selected artery", showing that system 10 (which operates via one or more processors, [0123] and [0125]) calculates flow reserve using as inputs the analyzed data (including measurements of size and attributes of additional vessel regions (the 'second region')) so that the calculation is performed based on the determined size of the second region; [0249]: "For example, system 10 can be configured to produce pre and post-treatment FFR data. In some embodiments, system 10 compares information produced based on image data (e.g. OCT data and/or non-OCT data) gathered prior to treatment, to information produced based on image data (e.g. OCT Data and/or non-OCT data) gathered after a treatment has been performed", the modified Petroff discloses that the system’s processors generate FFR (VFR) by using analyzed image data from before and after an intervention, and this process is dependent on the characteristics ,including size, of the second region, thereby satisfying the requirement that VFR is computed based on the determined size of the second region; [0253]: "In some embodiments, the high-resolution information produced by system 10 is based on OCT data and non-OCT data (e.g. at least angiography data)" the modified Petroff confirms that the virtual flow reserve calculation performed by the processors utilizes both intra- and extravascular images, and incorporates the measured vessel characteristics of the second region as part of the computation). Although the modified Petroff does not use the phrasing “based on the determined size of the second region,” a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that computation of virtual flow reserve (FFR/VFR) necessarily requires the measured size (diameter, area, length) of the relevant vessel region as an input, since these attributes are fundamental to any hemodynamic calculation.
Regarding claim 4, the modified Petroff implicitly, inherently, or obviously teaches that the VFR of the vessel is computed based on a distance between a vessel centerline and a boundary of the vessel within the second region of the vessel identified in at least one of the plurality of extravascular images (Petroff, [0232]: "If the tissue at the end portions is diseased, angiography data can be analyzed to determine the extent of stenosis proximal and distal to the clear portion of the pullback", the modified Petroff demonstrates that a “second region”, meaning any area proximal or distal to the intravascular pullback zone, is identified and analyzed using extravascular imaging, with boundaries determined for VFR calculation; [0183]: "In some embodiments, non-OCT data is analyzed to identify one or more of the following: vessel geometries (e.g. curves, tapers, and/or trajectories)... vessel diameters...", the modified Petroff teaches that extravascular images are analyzed to determine vessel boundaries and diameters, which, when paired with a vessel centerline, provide the data necessary for centerline-to-boundary measurements in the second region; [0185]: "In Step 1320, cardiovascular flow dynamics can be calculated based on the analyzed data (e.g. the OCT data and/or Non-OCT data collected and/or analyzed)", the modified Petroff explicitly teaches using geometry from both OCT and extravascular imaging for flow reserve calculations, including in regions beyond the primary OCT pullback; [0194]: "System 10 can use the 3D coordinates of the centerline...to calculate cross-sectional images and/or reconstruct the vessel geometry in 3D space...", while this passage discusses centerline use for vessel reconstruction, the modified Petroff does not explicitly state that this is applied to extravascular images; however, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that all vessel geometry analyses, including in extravascular images, necessarily use a centerline as a reference, and such centerline-to-boundary distances are standard in VFR computation). A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Petroff’s method involves using extravascular imaging to determine vessel geometry, including the distance from centerline to boundary, in second regions (i.e., regions proximal or distal to the primary pullback), and that these values are required inputs for VFR calculation. All such steps are performed by system 10’s processor.
Regarding claim 5, the modified Petroff teaches that the second region of the vessel includes at least one of a distal epicardial region and a proximal epicardial region of the vessel (Petroff, [0232]: "If the tissue at the end portions is diseased, angiography data can be analyzed to determine the extent of stenosis proximal and distal to the clear portion of the pullback", the modified Petroff confirms that after imaging and correlating a primary region, the system analyzes regions beyond (proximal and distal) to the main pullback zone using extravascular imaging; [0184]: "system 10 can comprise a digital model of the expected branching of one or more of the major vessels of the heart, for example the LCx, RCA, and/or LAD arteries", demonstrating that both OCT and angiography data are registered with respect to a digital model of the major epicardial arteries, thereby encompassing analysis of both distal and proximal epicardial regions).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Petroff teaches that determining the size of a second region of the vessel includes determining a length of the distal epicardial region and a length of the proximal epicardial region (Petroff, [0232]: "If the tissue at the end portions is diseased, angiography data can be analyzed to determine the extent of stenosis proximal and distal to the clear portion of the pullback", the modified Petroff explicitly discusses analysis of regions proximal and distal to the main imaging area, including determination of disease extent (where a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand this to include the length of affected vessel, not merely severity at a single point) in these epicardial segments, thus encompassing determination of both distal and proximal region lengths; and [0184] demonstrates the region of interest to be epicardial arteries).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Petroff does not fully teach comparing the apparent length of the first region of the vessel represented in the plurality of extravascular images with the defined pullback length includes scaling a lumen size represented in at least one of the plurality of extravascular images. Rather, the modified Petroff determines a known pullback length and maps that length onto the vessel geometry represented in the extravascular images (Petroff, [0240]: "The distance traversed between the radiopaque marker at sequence (ii) and (iv) is the pullback distance (e.g. a distance of 50 mm). System 10 can map this known pullback distance along the artery shape, such as in a linear fashion. If landmarks are detected in the OCT image at time tlm, system 10 can add further corrections, where the distance moved is tlm, times the pullback speed"; [0189]: "In some embodiments, the data is shown in an overlay arrangement... Calculated vessel sizes are displayed along with the OCT images and/or non-OCT images"). Thus, the modified Petroff provides a known physical length and associates that length with the vessel representation in the extravascular images. However, it does not explicitly teach scaling a lumen size in the extravascular images based on a calibration relationship between apparent image dimensions and the defined pullback length.
Cohen teaches that calibration factors are determined by relating image-based representations to known physical dimensions and that such calibration relationships are used to determine dimensions of portions of the lumen (Cohen, ¶[0093]: "determine... calibration factors... based upon a known physical distance between two or more of the identified features"; ¶[0092]: "based upon a known physical dimension associated with one or more of the identified features"; ¶[0044]: "determine... local calibration factors associated with respective portions of the roadmap image"; ¶[0070]: "determine a length of a portion of the lumen that corresponds to a portion of the stack"). Such calibration includes scaling image-based lumen size to correspond to actual physical dimensions, and is performed as part of correlating apparent image length with actual physical length as set forth in claim 1. the modified Petroff provides the pullback-derived physical length and spatial mapping to the extravascular image, while Cohen teaches using known physical dimensions to scale image-based representations of the lumen as part of that comparison.
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Petroff in view of Cohen to scale a lumen size represented in the extravascular images as part of the comparison between apparent image length and a defined pullback length because Petroff already provides a known physical length and image mapping framework, and Cohen teaches using known physical dimensions to calibrate and scale image-based representations as part of that correlation. Such a modification would have been feasible because both references operate on co-registered intravascular and extravascular imaging data and rely on spatial relationships within the same imaging environment. The motivation for combining is to improve the dimensional accuracy of lumen size measurements and to correct projection-related distortion in extravascular images, thereby enabling more accurate assessment of vessel dimensions.
Regarding claim 8, the modified Petroff teaches that the plurality of extravascular images are taken from a plurality of locations relative to the vessel (Petroff, [0127]: "Second imaging device 15 can comprise an imaging device such as one or more imaging devices selected from the group consisting of: an X-ray; a fluoroscope such as a single plane or biplane fluoroscope; a CT Scanner; an MRI; a PET Scanner; an ultrasound imager; and combinations of one or more of these. In some embodiments, second imaging device 15 comprises a device configured to perform rotational angiography", the modified Petroff expressly discloses that extravascular images may be acquired using one or more different imaging modalities, including rotational acquisition for multiple spatial perspectives).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Petroff teaches that the system analyzes the plurality of extravascular images so as to identify a three-dimensional orientation of one or more objects relative to the vessel (Petroff, [0127]: "Second imaging device 15 can comprise an imaging device such as one or more imaging devices... and combinations of one or more of these. In some embodiments, second imaging device 15 comprises a device configured to perform rotational angiography", the modified Petroff expressly discloses that multiple extravascular imaging modalities, including rotational angiography, provide images from varying perspectives, implicitly supporting the identification of 3D orientation; [0191]: "System 10 can be configured to calculate the flow dynamics... using a full 3D Navier-Stokes simulation... numerous geometric and other features of the imaged area", the modified Petroff confirms that images from different locations are used to reconstruct and determine 3D relationships of anatomical features and objects in the vessel; [0184]: "the data can be registered using the location, size, and shape of one or more side branches of the selected artery," the modified Petroff teaches that the system identifies the three-dimensional position and orientation of vessel branches (objects) relative to the vessel, based on multiple extravascular images and registration).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Petroff teaches that the one or more objects comprises a branch from the vessel and wherein the three-dimensional orientation of the branch includes a position and takeoff angle of the branch relative to the vessel (Petroff, [0180]: "System 10 can be configured to calculate (e.g. via algorithm 51) the branch angle of a side branch from the imaged artery. In some embodiments, the branch angle is used by algorithm 51 to calculate the side branch vessel diameter. System 10 can be configured to reconstruct at least a portion of the side branch from the OCT data (e.g. from the image slices of the OCT data), and/or from non-OCT data (e.g. from angiography data). In some embodiments, system 10 is configured to calculate the relationship between the side branch angle and the diameter of the size of the side branch (e.g. the size of the side branch relative to the size of the imaged artery)," the modified Petroff expressly demonstrates that the system identifies both the position and takeoff angle (branch angle) of vessel branches relative to the main vessel, based on analysis of OCT and/or extravascular (angiography) images; [0184]: "the data can be registered using the location, size, and shape of one or more side branches of the selected artery," the modified Petroff further confirms that the three-dimensional position and orientation of side branches (objects) relative to the vessel are determined through data registration).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Petroff implicitly, inherently, or obviously teaches that the one or more processors are further configured to compute a virtual flow reserve (VFR) of the vessel based on the identified position and takeoff angle of the branch (Petroff, [0180]: "...the branch angle is used by algorithm 51 to calculate the side branch vessel diameter... System 10 is configured to calculate the relationship between the side branch angle and the diameter...," the modified Petroff shows the system analyzes position and angle of vessel branches and incorporates these values in anatomical modeling for flow calculation; [0184]: "...the data can be registered using the location, size, and shape of one or more side branches of the selected artery," the modified Petroff confirms that branch features are included in the integrated model; [0191]: "System 10 can be configured to calculate the flow dynamics... using a full 3D Navier-Stokes simulation... numerous geometric and other features of the imaged area," the modified Petroff shows that VFR/FFR computation is based on comprehensive 3D geometry, which includes branch position and angle). Although the modified Petroff does not expressly state that VFR is computed solely from branch position and angle, the reference clearly teaches that anatomical features such as branch location and takeoff angle are measured and incorporated into the 3D anatomical vessel model, which is then used by the system’s processors to perform comprehensive flow reserve analysis using computational fluid dynamics (CFD). Because accurate CFD-based VFR/FFR calculations depend on complete vessel geometry, including the spatial relationships of all branches, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the contribution of branch position and angle is implicitly included in the flow reserve computation. This integration ensures that physiological models realistically represent the dynamics of blood flow in complex vascular networks, resulting in clinically meaningful and reliable VFR assessments.
Regarding claim 12, Petroff teaches that the system for identifying attributes of a vessel comprises: one or more memories for storing images of the vessel (Petroff, [0108]: "Imaging system 10 can further comprise multiple imaging devices, second imaging device 15 shown" Petroff shows that the system includes hardware for capturing and storing vessel images; [0123]: "Processor 52 can include one or more memory storage components, such as one or more memory circuits which store software routines, algorithms (e.g. algorithm 51), and other operating instructions of system 10, as well as data acquired by imaging probe 100, second imaging device 15, and/or another component of system 10", Petroff expressly states that the system includes one or more memory circuits for storing and processing images) and one or more processors (Petroff, [0125]: "Console 50 can further comprise a processing assembly, processor 52, configured to execute algorithm 51, and/or perform any type of data processing, such as digital signal processing", Petroff confirms that one or more processors are present for controlling, analyzing, and processing imaging data) configured to: capture a plurality of extravascular images of the vessel during a pullback of an intravascular imaging probe having a defined pullback length along a first region of the vessel (Petroff, [0127]: "Second imaging device 15 can comprise an imaging device such as one or more imaging devices selected from the group consisting of: an X-ray; a fluoroscope such as a single plane or biplane fluoroscope; a CT Scanner; an MRI; a PET Scanner; an ultrasound imager; and combinations of one or more of these", Petroff describes at least one extravascular imaging device used for capturing images; [0253]: "System 10 can provide high resolution morphological images and other high-resolution morphological information... based on OCT data and non-OCT data (e.g. at least angiography data)", Petroff confirms the simultaneous use of intravascular and extravascular imaging; [0240]: "System 10 can add lengths, by turning the time-points of each snap-shot into distances... the radiopaque marker of probe 100 can be identified at the start of pullback and at the end of the pullback... The distance traversed between the radiopaque marker at sequence (ii) and (iv) is the pullback distance (e.g. a distance of 50 mm). System 10 can map this known pullback distance along the artery shape, such as in a linear fashion", Petroff teaches capturing both extravascular images (angiography) and intravascular images (OCT) during a defined pullback length); and detect locations of one or more markers in the plurality of extravascular images (Petroff, [0113]: "Imaging probe 100 can comprise one or more visualizable markers along its length (e.g. along shaft 120), markers 131 a-b shown (marker 131 herein). Marker 131 can comprise markers selected from the group consisting of: radiopaque markers; ultrasonically reflective markers; magnetic markers; ferrous material; and combinations of one or more of these", [0115]: "In some embodiments, tip 119 can comprise a radiopaque marker configured to increase the visibility of imaging probe 100 under an X-ray or fluoroscope", [0240]: "...the radiopaque marker of probe 100 can be identified at the start of pullback and at the end of the pullback, and an angiography image (frame) closest in time to the respective trigger...". [0184]: "In some embodiments, the data can be registered using the location, size, and shape of one or more side branches of the selected artery", showing that Petroff uses both physical markers visible in extravascular images (e.g., radiopaque markers on the probe in angiography) and anatomical landmarks (side branches) seen in extravascular imaging as registration points for detection and localization; where [0123] and [0125] discusses the processor used in the system).
Also regarding claim 12, Petroff does not fully teach comparing an apparent length of the first region of the vessel with the defined pullback length being represented in the plurality of extravascular images by locations of the one or more markers in the plurality of extravascular images. Rather, Petroff determines a known pullback length and explicitly maps that known pullback length onto the vessel geometry represented in the extravascular images (Petroff, [0240]: "The distance traversed... is the pullback distance... System 10 can map this known pullback distance along the artery shape"; [0184]: "OCT data and Non-OCT data (e.g. angiography data) can be registered (e.g. correlated)"). Thus, Petroff relates a physically defined pullback length with the vessel as represented in the extravascular images using marker-based localization in combination with pullback-derived distance calculations based on speed and time, mapping a known physical length onto the image representation without expressly comparing the apparent angiographic length of the first region with the defined physical pullback length to obtain calibration information. In Petroff, the locations of the radiopaque markers anchor the pullback-derived length within the extravascular image, such that any relationship between physical length and image representation is based on the locations of the one or more markers in the plurality of extravascular images (Petroff, [0240]: "a radiopaque marker of probe 100 can be identified at the start of pullback and at the end of the pullback... The distance traversed... is the pullback distance"; [0113]: "Imaging probe 100 can comprise one or more visualizable markers along its length..."). However, Petroff does not derive a relationship between the apparent image length (i.e., a length as represented in the extravascular image) and the defined pullback length, and therefore does not explicitly teach comparing an apparent length in the extravascular image with the defined pullback length to establish a calibration relationship between image representation and physical length.
Cohen teaches that calibration factors are determined by relating image-based representations to known physical dimensions (Cohen, [0093]: "determine... calibration factors... based upon a known physical distance between two or more of the identified features"; [0092]: "based upon a known physical dimension associated with one or more of the identified features"; [0090]: "based upon a known speed at which the endoluminal device is moved through the lumen"), thereby establishing a relationship between apparent image dimensions and actual physical dimensions ([0044]: "determine... local calibration factors associated with respective portions of the roadmap image"), where the identified features include visible markers or anatomical landmarks whose locations are used to derive the calibration relationship. Cohen further describes using a known physical distance traveled by an endoluminal device and its corresponding apparent distance along the roadmap to establish a calibration factor, which may be used to convert image-based distances to physical distances (Cohen, [0378]-[0393]). This provides a concrete comparison of the known physical displacement and its extravascular image representation, rather than merely registering their locations.
Petroff provides a known pullback length and extravascular image representation, while Cohen teaches using known physical lengths, including motion-derived distances, to calibrate image representations and thereby compare apparent image dimensions with actual physical dimensions.
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Petroff in view of Cohen to compare an apparent length of a vessel in an extravascular image with a defined pullback length using calibration techniques, because Petroff already provides the known pullback length and image framework, and Cohen teaches using known physical distances to calibrate image representations. Such a modification would have been feasible because both references operate on co-registered intravascular and extravascular imaging data and rely on spatial relationships within the same imaging environment. The motivation for combining is to improve dimensional accuracy and reduce errors arising from apparent versus physical distances in extravascular imaging, thereby enabling more accurate vessel measurements. In particular, Petroff identifies the start and end locations of a radiopaque marker in angiographic frames and the physical distance traveled between them (Petroff, [0240]); Cohen uses known device displacement relative to its image representation to determine calibration information (Cohen, [0378]-[0380]). Applying Cohen’s technique to those same Petroff marker-defined endpoints would yield the recited comparison result, without changing Petroff’s acquisition of either the intravascular or extravascular images.
Also regarding claim 12, the modified Petroff does not fully teach determining a size of a second region of the vessel represented in the plurality of extravascular images but not imaged by the intravascular probe during the pullback, using a result of the comparison of the apparent length of the first region of the vessel with the defined pullback length. Rather, Petroff teaches that, where disease is distal or proximal to an imaged area, its resistance can be estimated from angiography data (Petroff, [0222]: "If there is disease distal or proximal to an imaged area, its resistance to flow would need to be estimated, such as from angiography data"), and teaches angiographic analysis of vessel portions proximal and distal to the clear portion of a pullback (Petroff, [0232]: "angiography data can be analyzed to determine the extent of stenosis proximal and distal to the clear portion of the pullback"). Petroff also teaches obtaining vessel dimensional information from angiography (Petroff, [0183]) and representing a broader vessel anatomy angiographically than is captured by the intravascular imaging probe (Petroff, [0236]). Thus, Petroff provides angiographically represented vessel regions outside the intravascular imaging coverage, including regions that the probe did not image during the recited pullback. However, Petroff does not expressly use a result of comparing the first region’s apparent angiographic length with the known pullback length to determine the physical length of that second region. However, Petroff does not expressly teach using calibration information derived from comparing the apparent first-region length with the defined pullback length to determine the physical length of the second region.
Cohen teaches that once calibration factors relating apparent image dimensions to actual physical dimensions are determined, those calibration relationships are used to derive measurements of portions of the lumen, including lengths (Cohen, [0070]: "determine a length of a portion of the lumen that corresponds to a portion of the stack"; [0067]-[0069]: "determine a parameter... including length... based upon the co-registering of the endoluminal data points"). Cohen further teaches that the goal of calibration is "to determine the distance between any two points along the roadmap pathway" (Cohen, [0381]), and describes determining distances along that calibrated pathway (Cohen, [0382]-[0393]). The proposed measurement is the longitudinal length of the second vessel region from the angiogram, not a transverse measurement obtained from intravascular images of that region.
Petroff provides angiographic representation and dimensional analysis of vessel portions beyond the intravascular imaging coverage, while Cohen teaches that a calibration relationship between apparent roadmap distance and physical distance is used to determine vessel lengths. Thus, the proposed modification uses the comparison-derived calibration for the marker-defined first region to convert the apparent angiographic length of the second region into its physical length, without requiring the second region to have been imaged intravascularly during the pullback.
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Petroff in view of Cohen to determine the physical length of a second vessel region represented in the extravascular images but not imaged by the intravascular probe during the pullback, using the calibration result obtained by comparing the first region’s apparent angiographic length with the known pullback length. Petroff seeks to determine vessel dimensions from angiography (Petroff, [0183]) and identifies vessel anatomy distal or proximal to an intravascularly imaged area for which angiographic data is used (Petroff, [0222]; see also [0232], [0236]), while Cohen teaches using a physical-to-image calibration relationship to determine distances between any two points along an angiographic roadmap pathway (Cohen, [0378]-[0393], particularly [0381]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply that established calibration technique to Petroff’s angiographically represented vessel portions beyond the intravascularly imaged first region, to improve the accuracy of physical length measurements where intravascular imaging data was not obtained during the pullback. The known pullback length provides a physical calibration reference, rather than a limit on where dimensions can be determined from the broader angiographic representation. Applying the resulting calibration to a second-region length would have been a predictable use of Cohen’s calibrated angiographic measurement technique for the dimensional analysis already contemplated by Petroff, without requiring an additional intravascular scan of the second region.
Regarding claim 13, the modified Petroff teaches that the size of the second region of the vessel includes at least one of a length of the second region, a cross-section diameter within the second region, and a cross-sectional area within the second region (Petroff, [0232]: "angiography data can be analyzed to determine the extent of stenosis proximal and distal to the clear portion of the pullback. Subsequently, Rd is calculated for these areas outside of the delineated pullback" showing that the system determines the extent or length of disease in a second region (the modified Petroff uses “extent of stenosis” in reference to vessel regions, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand this to include the length of affected vessel, not merely severity at a single point), as well as the resistance (Rd, [0217]) which uses a diameter (cross-section diameter) and by extension, cross-sectional area, in a region outside of the primary pullback zone).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Petroff implicitly, inherently, or obviously teaches that the system is configured to compute a virtual flow reserve (VFR) of the vessel based on a plurality of images captured by the intravascular imaging probe and based on the determined size of the second region of the vessel (Petroff, [0185]: "In Step 1320, cardiovascular flow dynamics can be calculated based on the analyzed data (e.g. the OCT data and/or Non-OCT data collected and/or analyzed). In some embodiments, system 10 is configured to estimate microvascular resistance distal to the selected artery" showing that system 10 (which operates via one or more processors, [0123] and [0125]) calculates flow reserve using as inputs the analyzed data, including measurements of size and attributes of additional vessel regions (the 'second region'), so that the calculation is performed based on the determined size of the second region; [0249]: "For example, system 10 can be configured to produce pre and post-treatment FFR data. In some embodiments, system 10 compares information produced based on image data (e.g. OCT data and/or non-OCT data) gathered prior to treatment, to information produced based on image data (e.g. OCT Data and/or non-OCT data) gathered after a treatment has been performed" the modified Petroff discloses that the system’s processors generate FFR (VFR) by using analyzed image data from before and after an intervention, and this process is dependent on the characteristics, including size, of the second region, thereby satisfying the requirement that VFR is computed based on the determined size of the second region; [0253]: "In some embodiments, the high-resolution information produced by system 10 is based on OCT data and non-OCT data (e.g. at least angiography data)" the modified Petroff confirms that the virtual flow reserve calculation performed by the processors utilizes both intra- and extravascular images, and incorporates the measured vessel characteristics of the second region as part of the computation). Although the modified Petroff does not use the phrasing “based on the determined size of the second region,” a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that computation of virtual flow reserve (FFR/VFR) necessarily requires the measured size (diameter, area, length) of the relevant vessel region as an input, since these attributes are fundamental to any hemodynamic calculation.
Regarding claim 15, the modified Petroff implicitly, inherently, or obviously teaches that the system is configured to compute the VFR of the vessel based on a distance between a vessel centerline and a boundary of the vessel within the second region of the vessel identified in at least one of the plurality of extravascular images (Petroff, [0232]: "If the tissue at the end portions is diseased, angiography data can be analyzed to determine the extent of stenosis proximal and distal to the clear portion of the pullback" the modified Petroff demonstrates that a “second region”, meaning any area proximal or distal to the intravascular pullback zone, is identified and analyzed using extravascular imaging, with boundaries determined for VFR calculation; [0183]: "In some embodiments, non-OCT data is analyzed to identify one or more of the following: vessel geometries (e.g. curves, tapers, and/or trajectories)... vessel diameters..." the modified Petroff teaches that extravascular images are analyzed to determine vessel boundaries and diameters, which, when paired with a vessel centerline, provide the data necessary for centerline-to-boundary measurements in the second region; (Petroff, [0185]: "In Step 1320, cardiovascular flow dynamics can be calculated based on the analyzed data (e.g. the OCT data and/or Non-OCT data collected and/or analyzed)" the modified Petroff explicitly teaches using geometry from both OCT and extravascular imaging for flow reserve calculations, including in regions beyond the primary OCT pullback; (Petroff, [0194]: "System 10 can use the 3D coordinates of the centerline...to calculate cross-sectional images and/or reconstruct the vessel geometry in 3D space..." While this passage discusses centerline use for vessel reconstruction, the modified Petroff does not explicitly state that this is applied to extravascular images; however, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that all vessel geometry analyses, including in extravascular images, necessarily use a centerline as a reference, and such centerline-to-boundary distances are standard in VFR computation). A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Petroff’s system involves using extravascular imaging to determine vessel geometry, including the distance from centerline to boundary, in second regions (i.e., regions proximal or distal to the primary pullback), and that these values are required inputs for VFR calculation. All such steps are performed by system 10’s processor.
Regarding claim 16, the modified Petroff teaches that the second region of the vessel includes at least one of a distal epicardial region and a proximal epicardial region of the vessel (Petroff, [0232]: "If the tissue at the end portions is diseased, angiography data can be analyzed to determine the extent of stenosis proximal and distal to the clear portion of the pullback" the modified Petroff confirms that after imaging and correlating a primary region, the system analyzes regions beyond (proximal and distal) to the main pullback zone using extravascular imaging; [0184]: "system 10 can comprise a digital model of the expected branching of one or more of the major vessels of the heart, for example the LCx, RCA, and/or LAD arteries" demonstrating that both OCT and angiography data are registered with respect to a digital model of the major epicardial arteries, thereby encompassing analysis of both distal and proximal epicardial regions).
Regarding claim 17, the modified Petroff does not fully teach comparing the apparent length of the first region of the vessel represented in the plurality of extravascular images with the defined pullback length includes scaling a lumen size represented in at least one of the plurality of extravascular images. Rather, the modified Petroff determines a known pullback length and maps that length onto the vessel geometry represented in the extravascular images (Petroff, [0240]: "The distance traversed between the radiopaque marker at sequence (ii) and (iv) is the pullback distance (e.g. a distance of 50 mm). System 10 can map this known pullback distance along the artery shape, such as in a linear fashion. If landmarks are detected in the OCT image at time tlm, system 10 can add further corrections, where the distance moved is tlm times the pullback speed"; [0189]: "In some embodiments, the data is shown in an overlay arrangement... Calculated vessel sizes are displayed along with the OCT images and/or non-OCT images"). Thus, the modified Petroff provides a known physical length and associates that length with the vessel representation in the extravascular images. However, it does not explicitly teach scaling a lumen size in the extravascular images based on a calibration relationship between apparent image dimensions and the defined pullback length.
Cohen teaches that calibration factors are determined by relating image-based representations to known physical dimensions and that such calibration relationships are used to determine dimensions of portions of the lumen (Cohen, ¶[0093]: "determine... calibration factors... based upon a known physical distance between two or more of the identified features"; ¶[0092]: "based upon a known physical dimension associated with one or more of the identified features"; ¶[0044]: "determine... local calibration factors associated with respective portions of the roadmap image"; ¶[0070]: "determine a length of a portion of the lumen that corresponds to a portion of the stack"). Such calibration includes scaling image-based lumen size to correspond to actual physical dimensions, and is performed as part of correlating apparent image length with actual physical length as set forth in claim 1. Petroff provides the pullback-derived physical length and spatial mapping to the extravascular image, while Cohen teaches using known physical dimensions to scale image-based representations of the lumen as part of that comparison.
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Petroff in view of Cohen to scale a lumen size represented in the extravascular images as part of the comparison between apparent image length and a defined pullback length because Petroff already provides a known physical length and image mapping framework, and Cohen teaches using known physical dimensions to calibrate and scale image-based representations as part of that correlation. Such a modification would have been feasible because both references operate on co-registered intravascular and extravascular imaging data and rely on spatial relationships within the same imaging environment. The motivation for combining is to improve the dimensional accuracy of lumen size measurements and to correct projection-related distortion in extravascular images, thereby enabling more accurate assessment of vessel dimensions.
Regarding claim 18, the modified Petroff teaches that the one or more objects comprises a branch from the vessel and wherein the three-dimensional orientation of the branch includes a position and takeoff angle of the branch relative to the vessel (Petroff, [0180]: "System 10 can be configured to calculate (e.g. via algorithm 51) the branch angle of a side branch from the imaged artery. In some embodiments, the branch angle is used by algorithm 51 to calculate the side branch vessel diameter. System 10 can be configured to reconstruct at least a portion of the side branch from the OCT data (e.g. from the image slices of the OCT data), and/or from non-OCT data (e.g. from angiography data). In some embodiments, system 10 is configured to calculate the relationship between the side branch angle and the diameter of the size of the side branch (e.g. the size of the side branch relative to the size of the imaged artery)," the modified Petroff expressly demonstrates that the system identifies both the position and takeoff angle (branch angle) of vessel branches relative to the main vessel, based on analysis of OCT and/or extravascular (angiography) images [0184]: "the data can be registered using the location, size, and shape of one or more side branches of the selected artery," the modified Petroff further confirms that the three-dimensional position and orientation of side branches (objects) relative to the vessel are determined through data registration).
Regarding claim 19, the modified Petroff implicitly, inherently, or obviously teaches that the one or more processors are further configured to compute a virtual flow reserve (VFR) of the vessel based on the identified position and takeoff angle of the branch (Petroff, [0180]: "...the branch angle is used by algorithm 51 to calculate the side branch vessel diameter... System 10 is configured to calculate the relationship between the side branch angle and the diameter...," the modified Petroff shows the system analyzes position and angle of vessel branches and incorporates these values in anatomical modeling for flow calculation; [0184]: "...the data can be registered using the location, size, and shape of one or more side branches of the selected artery," the modified Petroff confirms that branch features are included in the integrated model; [0191]: "System 10 can be configured to calculate the flow dynamics... using a full 3D Navier-Stokes simulation... numerous geometric and other features of the imaged area," the modified Petroff shows that VFR/FFR computation is based on comprehensive 3D geometry, which includes branch position and angle). Although the modified Petroff does not expressly state that VFR is computed solely from branch position and angle, the reference clearly teaches that anatomical features such as branch location and takeoff angle are measured and incorporated into the 3D anatomical vessel model, which is then used by the system’s processors to perform comprehensive flow reserve analysis using computational fluid dynamics (CFD). Because accurate CFD-based VFR/FFR calculations depend on complete vessel geometry, including the spatial relationships of all branches, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the contribution of branch position and angle is implicitly included in the flow reserve computation. This integration ensures that physiological models realistically represent the dynamics of blood flow in complex vascular networks, resulting in clinically meaningful and reliable VFR assessments.
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. §103
Applicant's arguments filed 8/27/2026, pages 6-8, regarding the previous 103 Rejections of claims 1-19 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. As discussed below, the rejection does not rely on Petroff alone for the disputed comparison and second-region measurement limitations. Rather, the rejection relies on the combined teachings of Petroff and Cohen and the proposed modifications previously articulated in the Non-Final Office Action. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant’s Argument: Applicant contends that Petroff’s use of Murray’s Law to adjust arterial cross sections and its co-registration of OCT pullback data with angiography do not disclose comparing the apparent angiographic length of the first region with the defined physical pullback length. Applicant maintains that Petroff does not compare Lpullback-angio with Lpullback-groundtruth in the manner described in the instant specification.
Examiner’s Response: Petroff is not relied upon for deriving the comparison-based calibration relationship by itself. Petroff teaches determining a known physical OCT pullback length, locating the radiopaque marker at the beginning and end of the pullback in corresponding angiographic frames, and mapping that known distance along the angiographically represented artery (Petroff, ¶[0240]). Cohen teaches calibration of an extravascular roadmap based upon known physical distances, including distances associated with the movement of an endoluminal device, relative to corresponding image distances (Cohen, ¶¶[0090]-[0093], [0378]-[0380]). The proposed modification uses Cohen’s physical-to-image calibration technique with Petroff’s marker-localized pullback length to compare the apparent angiographic first-region length with the known physical pullback length. Petroff’s Murray’s Law calculations are not relied upon to supply that comparison. The modification would provide dimensional calibration for the angiographic vessel representation, consistent with Petroff’s determination of vessel dimensions from angiography (Petroff, ¶[0183]). The claim does not require the particular variable names or calculation described in the cited specification embodiment. Applicant’s distinction from Petroff alone therefore does not overcome the applied combination.
Applicant’s Argument: Applicant further contends that neither Petroff nor Cohen discloses using the result of the first-region length comparison to determine the size of a second region represented extravascularly but not imaged by the intravascular probe during the pullback. Applicant argues that Petroff’s measurements and co-registration do not establish this use, and that Cohen’s cited pathway-calibration paragraphs likewise fail to disclose the claimed second-region operation. Applicant applies the same arguments to claim 12 and, on that basis, claims 1-19.
Examiner’s Response: The rejection does not assert that either reference expressly discloses the entire recited sequence. Petroff teaches obtaining vessel dimensional information from angiography (Petroff, ¶[0183]) and using angiographic information concerning disease proximal or distal to an intravascularly imaged area (Petroff, ¶[0222]). Petroff further describes angiographic vessel information extending beyond the area covered by intravascular imaging (Petroff, ¶[0236]). Cohen teaches obtaining a physical-to-image calibration relationship and using the calibrated angiographic roadmap to determine physical distances along its pathway, including the distance between any two points along that pathway (Cohen, ¶¶[0378]-[0393], particularly ¶[0381]).
As stated in the rejection, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to apply Cohen’s calibrated roadmap measurement technique to the additional vessel regions represented by Petroff’s angiographic data to improve the determination of physical vessel lengths. In the proposed modification, the comparison of the apparent angiographic first-region length with Petroff’s known pullback length provides calibration information, and that information is used to determine the physical length of an additional angiographically represented vessel region outside the intravascular probe’s imaging coverage during the recited pullback. This measurement uses the extravascular representation of the second region and does not require the probe to image that region during the pullback. The pullback establishes the physical reference for calibration, rather than limiting the locations along the angiographic roadmap at which dimensions may be determined.
Claim 12 recites corresponding processor-configured functions, and Applicant raises the same substantive argument against that claim. The preceding analysis applies for the reasons set forth regarding claim 12 in the present rejection. Applicant advances no distinct argument directed to the additional limitations of claims 2-11 and 13-19; those rejections are maintained on the claim-specific grounds set forth above, subject to the inherited limitations addressed here.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to AARON MERRIAM whose telephone number is (703) 756-
5938. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:00 am - 5:00 pm.
using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is
encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Jason Sims can be reached on (571)272-4867. The fax phone number for the
organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to
registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit:
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for
more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for
information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO
Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/AARON MERRIAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/ADAM J EISEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791