DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on (3 – 26 – 2026) has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and remarks filed (3 – 26 – 2026) have been fully considered but they are not persuasiveApplicant argues…
Ikeda et al. (US 20170155125 A1, hereinafter Ikeda) / Ikeda as modified does not teach the newly amended feature of wherein the temperature adjusting device is configured to cool the end portion by circulating cooling medium around an outer surface of the bearing in the housing to adjust a temperature of the end portion relative to the temperature of the central portion and improve uniformity between an outside diameter of the end portion and an outside diameter of the central portion.
Applicant further argues that none of the other applied references make up for the deficiency of Ikeda / Ikeda as modified.
This is not found to be persuasive because…
As detailed in the action of (11 – 28 – 2025) Ikeda was modified by Niskanen et al. (US 5244448 A, hereinafter Niskanen) which disclosed on (Col. 4, lines 27 – 37) teaches that in the embodiment of (Fig. 2), the secondary circuit 30 also functions to provide lubrication of the end bearings 17 of the roll, and for this purpose the secondary circuit 30 is provided with lubrication nozzles 32, through which fluid is passed to the end bearings 17. As such, the secondary cooling circuit 30 with lubrication nozzles 32 are found to provide for a temperature adjusting device that is configured to cool the end portion by circulating cooling medium (lubrication) around an outer surface of the bearing in the housing. In turn, providing for adjusting a temperature of the end portion relative to the temperature of the central portion. Highlighting, that lubrication is understood to provide for controlling heat by reducing friction and dissipating thermal energy that develops in the bearing. Consequently, providing for improving the uniformity between an outside diameter of the end portion of the roller and an outside diameter of the central portion of the roller.Highlighting, while no discrepancies are perceived to exist regarding improving the uniformity between an outside diameter of the end portion and an outside diameter of the central portion. However, the case law for intended use of apparatus may be recited. Where, it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). The manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself, In re Casey 152 USPQ 235.
This is unpersuasive because as explained above there was not found to be deficiency in Ikeda / Ikeda as modified.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A.) Claim(s) 1, 10, 13 & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda et al. (US 20170155125 A1, hereinafter Ikeda) and in further view of Niskanen et al. (US 5244448 A, hereinafter Niskanen)Regarding claim(s) 1 & 10,
An electrode manufacturing apparatus comprising a film forming device configured to form an electrode layer on a surface of a substrate, the film forming device including:
a first roll configured to rotate;
a second roll that is spaced apart from and opposed to the first roll and configured to rotate in an opposite direction of the first roll;
a third roll that is spaced apart from and opposed to the second roll and configured to rotate in the opposite direction of the second roll;
a temperature adjusting device configured to reduce a temperature difference between a central portion and an end portion in an axial direction of at least one roll of the first roll, the second roll, and the third roll; and
a housing rotatably supporting the end portion of each of the first roll, the second roll, and the third roll via a bearing,
wherein the temperature adjusting device is configured to cool the end portion by circulating cooling medium around an outer surface of the bearing in the housing to adjust a temperature of the end portion relative to the temperature of the central portion and
improve uniformity between an outside diameter of the end portion and an outside diameter of the central portion.
Wherein the temperature adjusting device is provided in the second roll and the third roll.
Ikeda teaches the following:
, b.) & c.) ([0007]) teaches that an electrode material is pressed between the first roll and the second roll at a position facing each other to form an active material layer. As shown in (Fig. 2) the first roll is spaced apart from the second to roll allowing for the electrode material to form an active layer. Adding, further illustrated in (Fig. 2) is that the first and second rolls are configured to rotate in an opposite directions.
([0007]) teaches that the active material layer on the second roll is pressed in the thickness direction together with the current collector foil at the opposing position between the second roll and the third roll and is thereby transferred onto the current collector foil. As shown in (Fig. 2) the second roll is spaced apart from the third to roll allowing for the electrode material to be pressed in the thickness direction. Adding, further illustrated in (Fig. 2) is that the second and third rolls are configured to rotate in an opposite directions.
& f.) ([0051]) teaches a series of temperature sensors found on the outer circumferential surface of the rolls and is capable of detecting and outputting the temperature of the rolls. ([0052]) teaches a series of circulation units of the present embodiment that adjusts the temperature of a fluid circulated through flow path rolls, as the temperature of the rolls is outputted by the temperature sensors. As illustrated in (Fig. 2), it is understood that full length of the rolls are in contact with the flow path rolls. Accordingly, while there is no perceived discrepancies regarding the placement of a cooling device of the temperature adjusting unit utilized to cool the end portion of the rolls. The case law for rearrangement of parts and/or change of size may be recited. Where it has generally been recognized by the courts that to shift location of parts when the operation of the device is not otherwise changed is within the level of ordinary skill in the art, see In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70; In re Gazda, 104 USPQ 400 or Where the mere scaling up or down of a prior art process capable of being scaled up or down would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled, see In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976).
& f.) As illustrated (Fig. 2), the rollers are being supported / lifted in place via the unenumerated point / dot found in the middle of each roller. Highlighting, that the point / dot are understood to be representative of the following feature, namely the end points of core / housing rotatably supporting the end portion of the first, second and third roll. Noting, that while the figure provided above is for (Fig. 3) and the cooling rollers, 40, 50, 60, the same structure will be adopted for the first, second and third rollers, 10, 20, 30 as further discussed below at point (f). As such, the point / dot at the center of each roller is understood to provide a housing supporting that is capable of rotating via the end points / bearings.
& 10a.) As illustrated in (Fig. 2), the rollers being supported / lifted in place via the unenumerated point / dot found in the middle of each roller. As such, the point / dot at the center of each roller is understood to provide a support. However, even if the dot itself is not seen as a “housing” support for the rollers. It is understood that the rollers are suspend and thus supported. Additionally, Ikeda teaches on ([0047]) teaches that flow path rolls 40, 50, 60 comprise a metal core 71 that is hollow, and its internal space forms a flow path 75 through which a fluid 80 can pass. As illustrated, (Fig. 3) shows the flow path 75 of the flow path rollers traversing around / throughout and across a housing supporting the end portion of the flow path rollers. Accordingly, if the point / dots from above are not found to provide for a housing that rotatably supports the end portion of each of the first, second and third rolls, the structure of the flow path rollers provide for a roller with a housing that rotatably supports the end portion of each of the first, second and third rolls.Ikeda notes on ([0016] – [0018]) that by suppressing temperature changes in all of the first roll 10, the second roll 20, and the third roll 30, an active material layer of uniform thickness can be formed. As such, Ikeda provides motivation for controlling the temperature in the second roll 20, and the third roll 30. Accordingly, utilizing a one-piece construction in which the flow path rolls 40, 50, 60 are combined with their respective first roll 10, the second roll 20, and the third roll 30 provides for the recitation of the case law for making integral. Where, the use of a one-piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in the prior art would be obvious. It has been held to be within the general skill of one working in the art to make plural parts unitary or integral, In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 133 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965); In re Lockhart, 90 USPQ 214. Furthermore, implementing the flow path rolls 40, 50, 60 in place of their respective first roll 10, the second roll 20, and the third roll 30 provides for a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results and/or the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way and allows for the recitation of KSR case law. Wherein, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143. As illustrated (Fig. 3), the flow path 75 of the flow path rollers traversing across a housing supporting to the bearings / end portion of the flow path rollers. As such, and as noted above if the point / dots from above are not found to provide for a housing supporting, then the structure of the flow path rollers provides for a roller with a housing support capable of rotating by bearings found at the end points of the housing support. Highlighting, Ikeda notes on ([0016] – [0018]) that by suppressing temperature changes in all of the first roll 10, the second roll 20, and the third roll 30, an active material layer of uniform thickness can be formed. As such, Ikeda provides motivation for controlling the temperature in the second roll 20, and the third roll 30. Accordingly, utilizing a one-piece construction in which the flow path rolls 40, 50, 60 are combined with their respective first roll 10, the second roll 20, and the third roll 30 provides for the recitation of the case law for making integral. Where, the use of a one-piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in the prior art would be obvious. It has been held to be within the general skill of one working in the art to make plural parts unitary or integral, In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 133 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965); In re Lockhart, 90 USPQ 214. Furthermore, implementing the flow path rolls 40, 50, 60 in place of their respective first roll 10, the second roll 20, and the third roll 30 provides for a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain.
Regarding Claim 1, Ikeda is silent on cool the end portion by circulating cooling medium around an outer surface of the bearing in the housing. In analogous art for an invention concerned with a method and apparatus for regulating the temperature of an adjustable-crown roll, (Abstract), Niskanen suggests details regarding cool the end portion by circulating cooling medium around an outer surface of the bearing in the housing, and in this regard, Niskanen teaches the following:
(Col. 4, lines 48 – 51) teaches that the as illustrated in (Fig. 2), it is shown that the roll mantle 12 is supported on the roll axle 11 such that it revolves by means of end bearings 17. As such, the roll axle 11 acts as a housing rotatably supporting the end portion of each of the roll via end bearing 17 is provided.
& g.) (Col. 4, lines 18 – 27) teaches that as illustrated in (Fig. 2), the roll 10 is additionally provided with a second fluid circulation circuit, i.e. secondary circuit 30, by means of which the temperature-regulation fluid is passed into the unpressurized second chamber 16 in the roll. In the example of (Fig. 2), the temperature-regulation fluid acts as a cooling fluid. Through the secondary circuit 30, the cooling fluid is passed into the second chamber 16 in the roll through a number of nozzles 31, such that the cooling fluid is fed so as to be substantially uniformly distributed over the axial length of the roll. (Col. 4, lines 27 – 37) teaches that in the embodiment of (Fig. 2), the secondary circuit 30 also functions to provide lubrication of the end bearings 17 of the roll, and for this purpose the secondary circuit 30 is provided with lubrication nozzles 32, through which fluid is passed to the end bearings 17. As such, the secondary cooling circuit 30 with lubrication nozzles 32 are found to provide for a temperature adjusting device that is configured to cool the end portion by circulating cooling medium (lubrication) around an outer surface of the bearing in the housing. In turn, providing for adjusting a temperature of the end portion relative to the temperature of the central portion. Highlighting, that lubrication is understood to provide for controlling heat by reducing friction and dissipating thermal energy that develops in the bearing. Consequently, providing for
improving the uniformity between an outside diameter of the end portion of the roller and an outside diameter of the central portion of the roller.Highlighting, while no discrepancies are perceived to exist regarding improving the uniformity between an outside diameter of the end portion and an outside diameter of the central portion. However, the case law for intended use of apparatus may be recited. Where, it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). The manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself, In re Casey 152 USPQ 235.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing electrodes that utilizes rollers and a paste, as taught by Ikeda. By modifying the cooling rolls to comprise a secondary circuit that functions to provide lubrication of the end bearings of the roll, as taught by Niskanen. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement cooling rolls to comprise a secondary circuit that functions to provide lubrication of the end bearings of the roll as it provides for utilizing a cooling fluid that is introduced into the pressure chamber in an amount appropriate to keep the roll temperature and bearings at the correct level, (Col. 4, lines 9 – 11). Additionally, the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way and/or the application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results provides for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 13 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the first roll, the second roll, and the third roll each have a cylindrical shape with identical diameters.
Ikeda teaches the following:
([0064]) teaches that if it is impossible to suppress increase in temperature of each of the first roll 10, the second roll 20, and the third roll 30, each of the first roll 10, the second roll 20, and the third roll 30 becomes gradually larger in its radial direction due to expansion with heat along with progress of the manufacturing of the electrode plate 100. The gap GA at the first facing position A becomes smaller due to the expansion of the first roll 10 with the heat than that before the expansion with the heat. The gap GA at the first facing position A and the gap GB at the second facing position B become smaller due to the expansion of the second roll 20 with heat than that before the expansion with the heat. The gap GB at the second facing position B becomes smaller due to the expansion of the third roll 30 with heat than that before the expansion with the heat. ([0065]) adding that if at least one of the temperatures of the first roll 10 and the second roll 20 becomes increased, the thickness of the active material layer 131 formed on the second roll 20 becomes smaller than that before the increase in temperature.As such, the size of the rollers is understood to impact the gap that is formed between them at the various facing positions, where the gap in turn is understood to regulate and dictate the size of the thickness of the active material layer 131 formed. Accordingly, the size of the rollers is understood to be a result effective variable that impacts and tailors the thickness of the active material layer formed. Consequently, the case law for result effective variables may be recited. Where, it is well settled that determination of optimum values of cause effective variables such as these process parameters is within the skill of one practicing in the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), MPEP 2143 II (B).
Regarding claim 15 as applied to claim 1,
wherein the end portion includes a first end portion and
a second end portion, and
wherein the housing includes a first housing that rotatably supports the first end portion of each of the first roll, the second roll, and the third roll via a first bearing and
a second housing rotatably supports the second end portion of each of the first roll, the second roll, and the third roll via a second bearing.
Regarding Claim 15, Ikeda is silent on the end portion structure comprising a first and second end portion and housing structure rotatably supports the first end portion of each of the roll via a first bearing and second housing rotatably supports the second end portion of the roll via a second bearing. In analogous art as applied above, Niskanen suggests details regarding the end portion structure comprising a first and second end portion and housing structure rotatably supports the first end portion of each of the roll via a first bearing and second housing rotatably supports the second end portion of the roll via a second bearing , and in this regard, Niskanen teaches the following:
& b.) As illustrated in (Fig. 2), and recreated here, the end portion includes a first end portion, and a second end portion as denoted by the two arrows.
& d.) (Col. 3, lines 48 – 20) teaches that as illustrated in (Fig. 2), it is shown that the roll mantle 12 is supported on the roll axle 11 such that it revolves by means of end bearings 17 and that, in the areas of the roll ends. As such, the housing includes a first housing that rotatably supports the first end portion of each of the rolls by a first set of end bearings 17 and the housing includes a second housing that rotatably supports the second end portion of each of the rolls by a second set of end bearings 17.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing electrodes that utilizes rollers and a paste, as taught by Ikeda. By modifying the structures of the end portion to comprise a first and second end portion and modifying the housing structure to rotatably supports the first end portion of each of the roll via a first bearing and second housing rotatably supports the second end portion of the roll via a second bearing, as taught by Niskanen. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement end portion and housing structure as aforementioned above, as it provides for the roll axle 11 to be revolved / rotated by means of end bearings 17 in the areas of the roll ends, (Col. 3, lines 48 – 20). Additionally, the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way and/or the application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results provides for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 16 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the bearing is disposed within the housing and the cooling medium circulates in the housing around the bearing.
Regarding Claim 16, Ikeda is silent on the bearing is disposed within the housing and the cooling medium circulates in the housing around the bearing. In analogous art as applied above, Niskanen suggests details regarding the bearing is disposed within the housing and the cooling medium circulates in the housing around the bearing, and in this regard, Niskanen teaches the following:
(Col. 4, lines 27 – 37) teaches that in the embodiment of (Fig. 2), the secondary circuit 30 also functions to provide lubrication of the end bearings 17 of the roll, and for this purpose the secondary circuit 30 is provided with lubrication nozzles 32, through which fluid is passed to the end bearings 17 As illustrated in (Fig. 2), and recreated here, the end portion includes a first end portion, and a second end portion as denoted by the two arrows. As depicted, the end bearings 17 are found to be disposed within the housing with the cooling medium circulating within the housing around the bearing.
The same rejection rationale, case law(s) and analysis that was used previously for claim 1, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.B.) Claim(s) 6 – 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda in view of Niskanen and in further view of Nakano et al. (US 20180006292 A1, hereinafter Nakano)
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the film forming device further includes temperature sensors that detect temperatures of the central portion and the end portion.
Ikeda teaches the following:
([0051]) teaches that the present embodiment includes a first temperature sensor 45, a second temperature sensor 55, and a third temperature sensor 65. The first temperature sensor 45 has its detecting position on the first outer circumferential surface 11 of the first roll 10 and detects and outputs a temperature of the first roll 10. The second temperature sensor 55 has its detecting position on the second outer circumferential surface 21 of the second roll 20 and detects and outputs a temperature of the second roll 20. The third temperature sensor 65 has its detecting position on the third outer circumferential surface 31 of the third roll 30 and detects and outputs a temperature of the third roll 30.
Regarding Claim 6, Ikeda as modified by Niskanen is silent on the apparatus including temperature sensors that detect temperatures of the central portion and the end portion. In analogous art for an electrode manufacturing apparatus that comprises three rolls that utilize a paste to form the electrode, Nakano suggests details regarding temperature sensors that detect temperatures of the central portion and the end portion and in this regard, Nakano teaches the following:
([0077]) teaches that the temperature sensors 22 can be a thermistor, for example, and outputs a signal that varies depending on a temperature of the outer peripheral surface of the roll. The temperature sensor 22 may directly measure a surface temperature of the roll or may measure a temperature of a given spot, such as a temperature of a rotating shaft of the roll, so that the surface temperature of the roll can be estimated from a result of the measurement. Further, a single temperature sensor 22 may be provided, or a plurality of temperature sensors 22 may be provided. Accordingly, while there is no perceived discrepancies regarding the placement of temperature sensors utilized for detect temperatures of the central portion and the end portion of the rolls. The case law for rearrangement of parts may be recited.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing electrodes that utilizes rollers and a paste, as taught by Ikeda as modified by Niskanen. By further modifying temperature sensors to include placement at various points include the central portion and the end portion of the roller, as taught by Nakano. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a plurality of temperature sensors and their placement at various points include the central portion and the end portion of the rollers provides for estimating and controlling the surface temperature of the roll, ([0077]).
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1,
further comprising a controller configured to control the temperature adjusting device such that the temperature difference becomes equal to or smaller than a predetermined value.
Regarding Claim 7, Ikeda as modified by Niskanen is silent on the apparatus including a controller configured to control the temperature adjusting unit such that the temperature difference of the roller becomes a predetermined value. In analogous art as applied above, Nakano suggests details regarding a controller configured to control the temperature difference of the roller to a predetermined value and in this regard, Nakano teaches the following:
([0012]) teaches the manufacturing method may include heating the roll such that a temperature of an outer peripheral surface of the roll is higher, by a predetermined temperature, than the temperature of the foil after the cooling. Since the temperature of the outer peripheral surface of the roll is higher than the temperature of the foil by the predetermined temperature, most processing heat generated herein moves to the foil. Accordingly, heat accumulation to the roll is further restrained. ([0079]) adds that the controller 70 determines a target temperature of the heating portion 20 so that a surface temperature of the roll becomes a temperature higher, by a predetermined temperature, than a temperature of the metal foil 11 cooled down by the cooling portion 5. More specifically, the controller 70 determines a target temperature of the surface of the roll so that it is set to a temperature difference obtained from a preset temperature of the metal foil 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing electrodes that utilizes rollers and a paste, as taught by Ikeda as modified by Niskanen. By further modifying the apparatus to include a controller configured to control the temperature difference of the roller to a predetermined value, as taught by Nakano. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a controller configured to control the temperature difference of the roller to a predetermined value provides for most of the processing heat generated herein to move to the foil (rather than accumulate at the roller), ([0012]). C.) Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda in view of Yoshimi et al. (JP 2021159814 A, hereinafter Yoshimi)Regarding claim 13 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the first roll, the second roll, and the third roll each have a cylindrical shape with identical diameters.
Regarding Claim 13, Ikeda as modified by Niskanen is silent on the apparatus including a first roll, the second roll, and the third roll each have a cylindrical shape with identical diameters. In analogous art for the production of an apparatus and a method for producing an electrode coating film, (Abstract), Yoshimi suggests details regarding a first roll, the second roll, and the third roll each have a cylindrical shape with identical diameters, and in this regard, Yoshimi teaches the following:
([0033]) notes that the number of rollers is three or more. ([0032]) teaches that the diameter Di + 1 (1 ≦ i ≦ n-1) of the (i + 1) roll may be the same as the diameter Di of the i-th roll or may be larger than the diameter Di. If the Di + 1 / Di ratio becomes too large, transfer defects may occur. Therefore, the Di + 1 / Di ratio is preferably 5.0 or less. Highlighting, with a ratio of Di + 1 / Di being 5.0 or less includes a ratio of 1.0, which is the case when rolls are the same diameter. Highlighting, ([0049]) teaches that when the left and right rolls have the same diameter, the directions of the principal stresses due to the left and right rolls are the same. On the other hand, when the roll diameters are different between the left and right rolls, strictly speaking, the directions of the principal stresses due to the left and right rolls are shifted. As such, the size of the rollers and their relative ratios is understood to impact the principal stresses imposed on the article being fabricated.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing electrodes that utilizes rollers and a paste, as taught by Ikeda as modified by Niskanen. By further modifying the apparatus to comprise an optimized roller sizes including rollers sizes that have identical diameters, as taught by Yoshimi. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement optimized roller sizes including identical diameters as it provides for tailoring the principal stresses imposed, ([0049]). Highlighting, that the diameters of the rollers are understood to be a result effective variable due to their impact on the principal stresses imposed during fabrication. Accordingly, the case law for result effective variable may be recited. Where, it is well settled that determination of optimum values of cause effective variables such as these process parameters is within the skill of one practicing in the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), MPEP 2143 II (B).
D.) Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda in view of Knorr et al. (WO 2009146698 A1, hereinafter Knorr)
Regarding claim 16 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the bearing is disposed within the housing and the cooling medium circulates in the housing around the bearing.
Regarding Claim 16, Ikeda as modified by Niskanen is silent on the bearing is disposed within the housing and the cooling medium circulates in the housing around the bearing. In analogous art for an apparatus comprising a thermal roller to be subjected to the action of heating or cooling medium, (Abstract), Knorr suggests details regarding the bearing being disposed within the housing and the cooling medium circulates in the housing around the bearing, and in this regard, Knorr teaches the following:
([0057]) teaches that the schematic representation shows the routing of a heating or cooling agent through the roller shell. The heating or cooling medium passes through the axle body 60 into the roller shell. There, it is transported over the entire length of the roller to the other end and from there back again to be discharged at the left end. ([0052]) teaches that at the end of the projecting section 22, 22', each drum bracket 7, rests on a bearing 8, 8'. As illustrated in (Figs. 6 – 7 & 9 – 10) with (Fig. 6) provided within, the bearings 8, 8' provided are found within the housing (interior arrows), such that the cooling medium circulates in the entire length of the roller housing, including around the bearings (exterior arrows).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing electrodes that utilizes rollers and a paste, as taught by Ikeda as modified by Niskanen. By further modifying the apparatus to comprise a roller with the bearing is disposed within the housing and the cooling medium circulates in the housing around the bearing, as taught by Domeniconi. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a roller with the bearing is disposed within the housing and the cooling medium circulates in the housing around the bearing as it provides for a roller that can be heated or cooled with a medium, ([0012]), including over the entire length of the roller, ([0057]). Additionally, the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way and/or the application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results provides for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143. Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lorenzo Domeniconi (US 20180202725 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) A thermal roller (1) includes: a cylindrical body (2) extending along a longitudinal direction (X-X), the cylindrical body (2) including at least one inner tubular element (3) and at least one outer tubular element (4) that is concentrically arranged around the inner tubular element (3).
Heinz-Michael Zaoralek (US 6436022 B1) – teaches in the (Abstract) through the flanged trunnion of a heated roll for the treatment of a material web, more particularly a calender roll, a partial flow of the heat transfer fluid used for heating is diverted between the supply and return of the fluid so that the flanged trunnion is heated or cooled in its central portion.
Marschke et al. (US 6032725 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) a rotary steam joint and valve assembly for a steam heated roll includes a non-rotatable, axially slidable sleeve journaled on one of the roll shaft ends and operable to selectively withdraw condensate which pools in the lower part of the roll when the roll is stopped or operating at low speed.
Richard Cox (US 20060096745 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) that a heat exchanger transfers heat between primary and secondary fluid coolants. A housing has a longitudinal central axis lying within a transverse housing plane. A bottom wall with a concave inner surface faces upward and extends along the central axis. A plurality of arcuately helical lower sector fins are spaced apart along the central axis on the bottom wall inner surface.
Jorma Laapotti (US 5810974 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) a press section in a paper machine including a compact combination of rolls which form a number of press nips with one another in which water is removed from a paper web. The paper web has a closed draw supported by a press fabric or by a roll face at least between the nips.
Karl-Heinz Kuesters (DE 4400128 C1) – teaches in the (Abstract) a rolling device with a revolving roll having internal passages for the passage of a liquid heating medium, a heating device (50) for the heating medium is provided which comprises a housing (30) with a unitary internal space (40) closed in a pressure-tight manner. In the lower part of the internal space (40) there is water (56) up to a filling level (55) and this water can be heated by means of electric rod-type heating elements (51) situated in the water (56).
/Andrés E. Behrens Jr./Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/JaMel M Nelson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743