DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 8 objected to because of the following informalities. The structures are of too low resolution to be clear enough for publication. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the numbering of views is incorrect. According to 37 C.F.R. 1.84(u) “View numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation “FIG.”". Currently, the view numbers are preceded by the word "FIGURE".. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al (US 2012/0112174) (Lee).
In reference to claims 1 and 5-7, Lee teaches a compound B-1 as shown below that reads on the instant claims.
For Claim 1: Reads on formula 1 wherein Ar is phenyl, Rn is hydrogen, Rm is hydrogen, L1 is a bond, a is 1, R1 and R2 are each biphenyl.
For Claim 5: Reads on wherein Ar is phenyl.
For Claim 6: Reads on where L1 is a direct bond.
For Claim 7: Reads on wherein R1 and R2 are the same and are each biphenyl.
Claims 1, 4-7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (CN 110317206) (Chen).
In reference to claims 1 and 4-7 , Chen teaches the compound 68 as shown below that reads on the instant claims
For Claim 1: Reads on formula 1 wherein Ar is phenyl, Rn is hydrogen, Rm is hydrogen, L1 is a bond, a is 1, R1 and R2 are each substituted fluorenyl.
For Claim 4: Reads on formula 7.
For Claim 5: Reads on wherein Ar is phenyl.
For Claim 6: Reads on where L1 is a direct bond.
For Claim 7: Reads on wherein R1 and R2 are the same and are each substituted fluorenyl.
In reference to claims 9-11, Chen teaches the device examples 2 and 13 that include anode, cathode, emitting layers, and hole transport layers wherein at least one hole transport layers comprises the compound 29 and 214 respectively that read on the instant claims (Chen [0023] [0113]-[120]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2012/0112174) (Lee).
In reference to claim 2, Lee teaches the compound B-1 as described above for claim 1. Lee further teaches that these the atoms in the groups can optionally include substituents such as deuterium and that R1 and R2 that can be selected from deuterium instead of hydrogen (Lee e.g. [0011] [0039]).
While Lee does not exemplify a compound wherein the groups are selected from deuterium instead of hydrogen, such a substitution is a taught alternative.
Lee discloses the compound B-1 that encompasses the presently claimed compound, including wherein hydrogen atoms are substituted for deuterium. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Lee are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound B-1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the compound to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Lee and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
In reference to claims 3 and 8, Lee teaches the compound B-1 as described above for claim 1. Lee further teaches that the amino group of chemical formula 4 can be attached at various positions (Lee see formulae 1-3 [0010]). Furthermore, it is noted that compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious). In light of the case law cited above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the compound disclosed in the present claims is but an obvious variant of the compound presently claimed, and thereby one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
For Claim 6: Reads on e.g. formula 2.
For Claim 7: Reads on e.g. 2-61.
Conclusion
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786