DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a final office action for application 17/890,765 in response to the amendment(s) filed on 02/20/2026. Claims 1-21 are under examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 02/20/2026 have been fully considered but were not found persuasive over the previous prior art rejection of record for the reasons set forth below. See claims 1–21 rejections below.
Applicant argues that “anticipation requires that each and every element of the claim be disclosed in a single reference and asserts that Hikmet fails to disclose the presently claimed combination of features recited in independent claims 1 and 21” (see e.g. page 7 of Applicant’s arguments).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As set forth in the rejection, Hikmet discloses a battery structure including electrodes having coated and uncoated portions, separators disposed between and adjacent the electrodes, a rolled electrode assembly, and aligned holes through electrode materials and separators which are filled with polymeric material forming rivet-type bonding structures. Hikmet further teaches that the hole patterns are formed outside the active material regions of the electrodes (see e.g. paragraphs [0018], [0022]–[0025], [0087] and FIGS. 1, 3, and 4). Under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the claim language, the holes disclosed by Hikmet read on the claimed “plurality of holes formed in at least one of the second portion and the fourth portion” because Hikmet teaches that the holes may be located in peripheral regions outside the active material areas of the electrodes. Accordingly, the reference discloses each limitation of the claim as set forth in the rejection. For the above reason, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Hikmet requires holes in the separator and relies on filling such holes with an externally supplied polymeric material to form rivet-like bonding structures, whereas the present claims allegedly achieve bonding through interaction between binders coated on the separators which combine through holes formed in electrode portions” (see e.g. pages 8-10 of Applicant’s arguments).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims do not recite that holes are absent from the separator nor do they exclude the presence of additional holes in the separator. The claims merely require that a plurality of holes are formed in at least one of the electrode portions and that binders on the separators combine through the holes. Hikmet expressly teaches aligned holes in the electrodes and separators which are filled with polymeric material that bonds the layers together (see e.g. paragraphs [0022]–[0023]). Under the BRI of the claim language, Hikmet’s polymeric bonding material reads on the claimed “binder,” as the claims do not restrict the chemical identity, origin, or method of application of the binder material, nor do they exclude the use of additional polymeric material introduced into the holes. The bonding achieved through Hikmet’s filled holes therefore meets or at least inherently meets the claimed structure in which materials associated with the separator layers combine through holes. Applicant’s attempt to distinguish the prior art based on the source or method of formation of the bonding material relies on limitations not present in the claims. For the above reason, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “the present claims differ from Hikmet because the claimed bonding mechanism allegedly occurs through holes formed in electrode portions while preserving the structural integrity of the separator, whereas Hikmet forms holes in the separator and fills those holes with polymeric material” (see e.g. pages 9-10 of Applicant’s arguments).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As noted above, the claims do not recite that holes are formed exclusively in the electrode portions or that holes are absent from the separator. Hikmet teaches forming hole patterns in the electrode materials and corresponding hole patterns in the separators so that polymeric material may pass through the aligned holes to bond the layers together (see e.g. paragraphs [0022]–[0023]). Because Hikmet teaches holes in the electrode materials located outside the active material regions, the reference satisfies the limitation that holes are formed in uncoated electrode portions. The additional disclosure that corresponding holes may also be present in the separator does not remove the disclosure of holes in the electrodes. Under BRI, the claimed structure reads on a configuration in which holes are present in the electrode portions regardless of whether additional holes are also present in the separator. For the above reason, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant further argues that “forming through-holes in the separator may raise electrochemical concerns such as altered ion transport characteristics and potential current density irregularities, and therefore the structure disclosed by Hikmet is technically different from the present claims” (see e.g. page 10 of Applicant’s arguments).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Arguments regarding potential disadvantages or theoretical concerns associated with a prior art structure do not demonstrate that the structure is not disclosed by the reference. Hikmet expressly teaches the formation of holes and the introduction of polymeric material to form rivet-like bonding structures that secure the electrode assembly (see e.g. paragraphs [0022]–[0023]). The fact that Applicant asserts that a different design may offer electrochemical advantages does not negate the disclosure of the claimed structural features in the reference. Furthermore, the claims do not recite any limitation regarding ion transport characteristics, current density distribution, or preservation of separator structure. Accordingly, such arguments are not commensurate with the scope of the claims. For the above reason, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “even if Hikmet were combined with other references such as Lee, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to modify Hikmet’s rivet-type bonding structure into the claimed binder-through-electrode-hole bonding mechanism” (see e.g. pages 10-11 of Applicant’s arguments).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed above, Hikmet already teaches bonding layers together through holes using polymeric material. Lee is cited to demonstrate that openings formed in electrode regions, including uncoated regions spaced from edges, were known structural features used to facilitate engagement or bonding. The combination merely applies known placement of openings in electrode regions to the bonding structure taught by Hikmet. Such modification represents the predictable use of known structural features to achieve the same bonding function. Applicant has not demonstrated that the combination would change the principle of operation of the prior art or render the prior art device unsatisfactory for its intended purpose. Therefore, the combination remains proper under 35 U.S.C. 103. For the above reason, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “dependent claims 3–6, 8, and 11 are patentable because the applied references allegedly fail to disclose the limitations of independent claim 1” (see e.g. page 11 of Applicant’s arguments).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Because the arguments directed to independent claim 1 are not persuasive for the reasons discussed above, the dependent claims which rely on the same asserted distinctions are likewise not persuasive absent separate arguments directed to the additional limitations of those claims. For the above reason, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant similarly argues that “claims 2, 9, 12–16, and 19–20 are patentable because Lee and the other cited references allegedly fail to disclose the limitations of the independent claims and asserts that the proposed combinations rely on impermissible hindsight” (see e.g. pages 11-13 of Applicant’s arguments).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The rejection does not rely on hindsight reconstruction but instead relies on the express teachings of the applied references. Hikmet teaches the bonded hole structure in the electrode assembly, while Lee demonstrates that openings positioned in uncoated electrode regions were known structural features. The combination of these teachings would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art seeking to provide structural engagement or bonding while maintaining active material regions. Applicant has not identified a specific claim limitation that is absent from the combination of references. Accordingly, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 remains proper. For the above reason, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant further argues that “dependent claims 7, 10, and 17–18 are patentable because they depend from independent claims 1 and 12 and therefore allegedly contain patentable subject matter for the same reasons” (see e.g. page 14 of Applicant’s arguments).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Because the arguments directed to independent claims 1 and 12 are not persuasive for the reasons discussed above, the dependent claims which rely on the same asserted distinctions likewise do not overcome the rejection absent separate arguments directed specifically to the additional claim limitations. For the above reason, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
In conclusion, the arguments and amendments filed were not found to be persuasive over the previous prior art rejection of record. The rejections of the claims have been updated to reflect the amendments where appropriate. See claims 1–21 rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 11 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hikmet et al. (US-2001/0041289-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Hikmet discloses an electronic device comprising: a battery (see e.g. "lithium battery" in paragraph [0024]) including:
a negative electrode (see e.g. "negative electrode" in paragraph [0016] and part number 12 in FIG. 3) including a first portion coated with a negative electrode active material (see e.g. "negative electrode active material" in paragraph [0028]) and a second portion not coated with the negative electrode (see e.g. " the pattern is provided outside the area of active material of the battery" in paragraph [0018]) and FIG. 4 and annotated figure below),
a positive electrode (see e.g. "positive electrode" in paragraph [0024] and part numbers 11A and 11B in FIGs. 3 and 4) including a third portion coated with a positive electrode active material (see e.g. "positive electrode active" in paragraph [0030]) and a fourth portion not coated with the positive electrode active material (see e.g. " the pattern is provided outside the area of active material of the battery" in paragraph [0018]) and FIG. 4 and annotated figure below),
a first separator disposed between one surface of the negative electrode and one surface of the positive electrode (see e.g. part number 7 in FIGs 3 and 4 and annotated figure below), and
a second separator disposed on another surface of the negative electrode (see e.g. part number 7 in FIGs 3 and 4 and annotated figure below), wherein the positive electrode, the first separator, the negative electrode, and the second separator are rolled (see e.g. "The battery according to the invention may be... wound into a cylindrical or rectangular prismatic shape." in paragraph [0036]),
wherein a plurality of holes are formed in at least one of the second portion and the fourth portion (see e.g. "patterns of holes can easily be made in the separators 7 stacked between the negative electrode 12 and the positive electrodes 11A, 11B in accordance with the positions of the holes in the electrode(s)." in paragraph [0087] and part number 3 in FIG. 1 and holes in FIGs. 3 and 4), and the plurality of holes include holes disposed apart from edge areas of the at least one of the second portion and the fourth portion (see e.g. holes in FIGs 1, 3 and 4), and
wherein a binder coated on the first separator and a binder coated on the second separator combine each other through the plurality of holes (see e.g. "The holes in the electrode material and the current collectors coincide with the holes in the separator. The polymeric material introduced into the holes forms a kind of rivets, which provide a bond between the electrodes and the separator." in paragraph [0023] and "separator is provided with a pattern of holes substantially overlapping the holes in the electrode materials, and in that the holes of the patterns are filled with the polymeric material." in paragraph [0022]).
(Hikmet, figure 4, annotated for illustration)
Regarding Claim 4, Hikmet discloses the electronic device of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Hikmet further discloses that the second portion is formed in at least one of a front end portion and a rear end portion of the negative electrode (see e.g. FIGs. 3 and 4; part number 12 in FIG. 4 is the negative electrode, multiple uncoated portions can be seen and can be considered to be at the front and/or rear end of the negative electrode), and
wherein the fourth portion is formed in at least one of a front end portion and a rear end portion of the positive electrode (see e.g. FIGs. 3 and 4; part numbers 11A and 11B in FIG. 4 are the positive electrode, multiple uncoated portions can be seen and can be considered to be at the front and/or rear end of the positive electrode). Regarding Claim 5, Hikmet discloses the electronic device of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Hikmet further discloses that the positive electrode and the negative electrode include a substrate surface formed of a metal, a conductive additive, and a binder (see e.g. "The positive electrode (also called cathode) comprises positive electrode active material and a positive current collector." in paragraph [0030] and "The positive electrode material may comprise a lithium intercalation compound, such as LiMn2O4, LiCoO2 or LiNiO2, dispersed in a polymeric binder matrix. The mixture also comprises a powdery conductive material" in paragraph [0031] and "The negative electrode (also called anode) in the above battery basically comprises negative electrode active material for the battery reaction and a negative current collector" in paragraph [0028] and "The negative electrode material is an intercalatable material, preferably carbon, such as amorphous carbon or graphite, dispersed in a polymeric binder matrix." in paragraph [0029] and "The electrode materials can be made by mixing negative or positive active material, conductive material, and binder material" in paragraph [0069] and "Any electronic conductor may be used for the current collector, provided that it does not induce chemical reactions in the battery. Examples of materials for the positive current collector (cathode) are stainless steel, aluminum and nickel. Examples of materials for the negative current collector (anode) are stainless steel, copper and nickel." in paragraph [0033]).
Regarding Claim 6, Hikmet discloses the electronic device of claim 5 (see e.g. claim 5 rejection above).
Hikmet further discloses that the conductive additive includes a fine carbon powder (see e.g. 'The mixture also comprises a powdery conductive material, such as carbon black (e.g. acetylene black, thermal black), graphite powder" in paragraph [0031]; carbon black and graphite powder are both commonly known fine carbon powders), and
wherein the binder is formed by uniformly applying slurry (see e.g. "The paste-like mixture obtained is then provided over the current collector, dried and compressed." in paragraph [0070] and " one of the following coating methods may be generally employed: screen printing, roller coating, doctor blade coating, knife coating, extrusion coating, bar coating, dip coating and squeeze coating."; all of these methods would be capable of forming the binder which is within the paste (slurry) onto the substrate uniformly).
Regarding Claim 8, Hikmet discloses the electronic device of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Hikmet further discloses that the binder coated on the first separator and the binder coated on the second separator directly combine each other through the plurality of holes formed in the second portion and the plurality of holes formed in the fourth portion (see e.g. "The holes in the electrode material and the current collectors coincide with the holes in the separator. The polymeric material introduced into the holes forms a kind of rivets, which provide a bond between the electrodes and the separator." in paragraph [0023] and "separator is provided with a pattern of holes substantially overlapping the holes in the electrode materials, and in that the holes of the patterns are filled with the polymeric material." in paragraph [0022] and FIG. 4; the binder coated on the first separator and the binder coated on the second separator would have to directly combine to each other through the plurality of holes as this is how the device is designed which can be seen in FIG. 4), and
wherein an inter-hole interval of the holes is varied (see e.g. annotated figure below).
(Hikmet, figure 1, annotated for illustration)
Regarding Claim 11, Hikmet discloses the electronic device of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Hikmet further discloses that the second separator, the negative electrode, the first separator, and the positive electrode are stacked sequentially to form the battery in a roll shape (see e.g. part numbers 7, 12, 11A and 11B in FIG. 4 and "The battery according to the invention may be... wound into a cylindrical or rectangular prismatic shape." in paragraph [0036]; FIG. 4 shows a second separator (top separator of part number 7), the negative electrode (part number 12), the first separator (bottom separator of part number 7) and the positive electrode (part number 11B) in sequential order).
Regarding Claim 21, Hikmet discloses a roll type battery (see e.g. "lithium battery" in paragraph [0024]) comprising:
a first electrode (see e.g. "negative electrode" in paragraph [0016] and part number 12 in FIG. 3) including a first portion coated with a first electrode active material (see e.g. "negative electrode active material" in paragraph [0028]) and a second portion disposed adjacent to the first portion, in which the first electrode active material is not coated (see e.g. " the pattern is provided outside the area of active material of the battery" in paragraph [0018]) and FIG. 4 and annotated figure below);
a second electrode (see e.g. "positive electrode" in paragraph [0024] and part numbers 11A and 11B in FIGS. 3 and 4) including a first portion coated with a second electrode active material see e.g. "positive electrode active" in paragraph [0030]) and a second portion disposed adjacent to the first portion, in which the second electrode active material is not coated (see e.g. " the pattern is provided outside the area of active material of the battery" in paragraph [0018]) and FIG. 4 and annotated figure below);
a first separator disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode (see e.g. part number 7 in FIGs 3 and 4 and annotated figure below); and
a second separator disposed on the first electrode (see e.g. part number 7 in FIGs 3 and 4 and annotated figure below),
wherein the first electrode, the first separator, the second electrode, and the second separator are rolled together (see e.g. "The battery according to the invention may be... wound into a cylindrical or rectangular prismatic shape." in paragraph [0036]),
wherein a plurality of holes are formed in the second portion of the first electrode, in which the first electrode active material is not coated (see e.g. "patterns of holes can easily be made in the separators 7 stacked between the negative electrode 12 and the positive electrodes 11A, 11B in accordance with the positions of the holes in the electrode(s)." in paragraph [0087] and part number 3 in FIG. 1 and holes in FIGS. 3 and 4),
wherein the plurality of holes includes holes disposed spaced apart from edge areas of the second portion of the first electrode (see e.g. holes in FIGs 1, 3 and 4), and
wherein a binder coated on the first separator and a binder coated on the second separator are combined to each other through the plurality of holes including the holes spaced apart from the edge areas of the second portion of the first electrode see e.g. "The holes in the electrode material and the current collectors coincide with the holes in the separator. The polymeric material introduced into the holes forms a kind of rivets, which provide a bond between the electrodes and the separator." in paragraph [0023] and "separator is provided with a pattern of holes substantially overlapping the holes in the electrode materials, and in that the holes of the patterns are filled with the polymeric material." in paragraph [0022]).
(Hikmet, figure 4, annotated for illustration)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9, 12-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hikmet et al. (US-20010041289-A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (US-20190355994-A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Hikmet discloses the electronic device of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Hikmet does not disclose that an adhesive is further applied to the plurality of holes.
Lee, however, in the same field of endeavor, electronic devices with patterned notch structures for enhanced battery performance, discloses that the portion of the partitioning films (separators) corresponding to the notches (holes) may be attached to each other by adhesives (see e.g. "A first area of the first partitioning film and a second area of the second partitioning film corresponding to the first notch structure may be attached to each other by the adhesives." in paragraph [0117] of Lee). Thus, the adhesive was applied to the notches.
While Lee discloses notches and the instant application claims holes, from FIGS. 7 and 10 it can be seen that the notches Lee discloses go through the entire uncoated portion of the negative and positive electrodes, forming a passage for the binder. This structure allows the binder to penetrate and combine the first and second separators through the notches, thereby functioning identically as the holes claimed by the instant application. Lee further states that the first and second partitioning films (separators) can contact and bond together through the binder, increasing the contact area and ensuring a strong bond (see e.g., paragraphs [0108] and [0109] and FIG. 10). The use of notches as an alternative to holes would have been an obvious design choice for a person having ordinary skill in the art, seeking to achieve the same bonding effect as the notches disclosed by Lee. The notches serve as a predictable alternate structure to facilitate the application and performance of the binder. See MPEP 2144.04.
Lee further teaches that, in doing so, the bond between separators can be reinforced, providing a structure robust to external stress and thereby improving the safety of the battery and stabilizing performance (see e.g. paragraphs [0007] and [0008] of Lee). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the electronic device of Hikmet et al. such that an adhesive is applied to the plurality of holes as taught by Lee in order to provide a robust structure to external stress and improve battery safety as suggested by Lee.
Regarding Claim 9, Hikmet discloses the electronic device of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Hikmet does not disclose that an adhesive is applied to at least a part of the plurality of holes formed in the second portion of the negative electrode or the plurality of holes formed in the fourth portion of the positive electrode, and wherein the binder coated on the first separator and the binder coated on the second separator directly combine with the adhesive.
Lee, however, discloses that an adhesive is applied to at least a part of the notches (holes) formed in the second portion of the negative electrode or the notches (holes) formed in the fourth portion of the positive electrode (see e.g. “A first area of the first partitioning film and a second area of the second partitioning film corresponding to the first notch structure may be attached to each other by the adhesives.” in paragraph [0117]). Additionally, Lee discloses that the binder coated on the first partitioning film (first separator) and the binder coated on the second partitioning film (second separator) combine directly with the adhesive (see e.g. “In this state, the first partitioning film and the second partitioning film may be bonded to each other using the adhesives, and the binder component of the first partitioning film and the second partitioning film may also react to enhance the adhesion strength.” in paragraph [0117] and FIG. 10).
Lee further teaches that, in doing so, the bond between separators can be reinforced, providing a structure robust to external stress and thereby improving the safety of the battery and stabilizing performance (see e.g. paragraphs [0007] and [0008] of Lee). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the binder of Hikmet at al. such that an adhesive is applied to at least a part of the notches (holes) formed in the second portion of the negative electrode or the notches (holes) formed in the fourth portion of the positive electrode and the binder combines directly with the adhesive as taught by Lee in order to reinforce the bond between the separators which provides a robust structure that improves the overall safety of the battery as suggested by Lee.
Regarding Claim 12, Hikmet discloses an electronic device comprising: a battery (see e.g. "lithium battery" in paragraph [0024]) including:
a negative electrode (see e.g. "negative electrode" in paragraph [0016] and part number 12 in FIG. 3) including a first portion coated with a negative electrode active material (see e.g. "negative electrode active material" in paragraph [0028]) and a second portion not coated with the negative electrode active material (see e.g. " the pattern is provided outside the area of active material of the battery" in paragraph [0018]) and FIG. 4 and annotated figure below),
a positive electrode (see e.g. "positive electrode" in paragraph [0024] and part numbers 11A and 11B in FIGS. 3 and 4) including a third portion coated with a positive electrode active material (see e.g. "positive electrode active" in paragraph [0030] and a fourth portion not coated with the positive electrode active material(see e.g. " the pattern is provided outside the area of active material of the battery" in paragraph [0018]) and FIG. 4 and annotated figure below),
a first separator disposed between one surface of the negative electrode and one surface of the positive electrode (see e.g. part number 7 in FIGs 3 and 4 and annotated figure below), and
a second separator disposed on another surface of the negative electrode (see e.g. part number 7 in FIGs 3 and 4 and annotated figure below),
wherein the positive electrode, the negative electrode, and the at least one of the first separator the second separator are rolled (see e.g. "The battery according to the invention may be... wound into a cylindrical or rectangular prismatic shape." in paragraph [0036]),
wherein a plurality of holes are formed in at least one of the second portion and the fourth potion (see e.g. "patterns of holes can easily be made in the separators 7 stacked between the negative electrode 12 and the positive electrodes 11A, 11B in accordance with the positions of the holes in the electrode(s)." in paragraph [0087] and part number 3 in FIG. 1 and holes in FIGs. 3 and 4), and the plurality of holes includes holes disposed apart from edge areas of the at least one of the second portion and the fourth portion (see e.g. holes in FIGs 1, 3 and 4), and
wherein a binder coated on the first separator and a binder coated on the second separator combine each other through the plurality of holes (see e.g. "The holes in the electrode material and the current collectors coincide with the holes in the separator. The polymeric material introduced into the holes forms a kind of rivets, which provide a bond between the electrodes and the separator." in paragraph [0023] and "separator is provided with a pattern of holes substantially overlapping the holes in the electrode materials, and in that the holes of the patterns are filled with the polymeric material." in paragraph [0022]).
Hikmet does not disclose that an adhesive is applied to the plurality of holes.
Lee, however, discloses that the portion of the partitioning films (separators) corresponding to the notches (holes) may be attached to each other by adhesives (see e.g. "A first area of the first partitioning film and a second area of the second partitioning film corresponding to the first notch structure may be attached to each other by the adhesives." in paragraph [0117] of Lee). Thus the adhesive was applied to the notches.
Lee further teaches that, in doing so, the bond between separators can be reinforced, providing a structure robust to external stress and thereby improving the safety of the battery and stabilizing performance (see e.g. paragraphs [0007] and [0008] of Lee). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the electronic device of Hikmet et al. such that an adhesive is applied to the plurality of holes as taught by Lee in order to provide a robust structure to external stress and improve battery safety as suggested by Lee.
(Hikmet, figure 4, annotated for illustration)
Regarding Claim 13, Hikmet in view of Lee disclose the electronic device of claim 12 (see e.g. claim 12 rejection above).
Hikmet further discloses that the negative electrode further includes a negative electrode tab on the second portion not coated with the negative electrode active material (see e.g. part numbers 6a and 6b in FIG. 3), and
wherein the positive electrode further includes a positive electrode tab on the fourth portion not coated with the positive electrode active material (see e.g. part numbers 5a and 5b in FIG. 3).
Regarding Claim 14, Hikmet in view of Lee disclose the electronic device of claim 12 (see e.g. claim 12 rejection above).
Hikmet further discloses that the second portion is formed in at least one of a front end portion and a rear end portion of the negative electrode (see e.g. FIGs. 3 and 4; part number 12 in FIG. 4 is the negative electrode, multiple uncoated portions can be seen and can be considered to be at the front and/or rear end of the negative electrode), and
wherein the fourth portion is formed in at least one of a front end portion and a rear end portion of the positive electrode (see e.g. FIGs. 3 and 4; part numbers 11A and 11B in FIG. 4 are the positive electrode, multiple uncoated portions can be seen and can be considered to be at the front and/or rear end of the positive electrode).
Regarding Claim 15, Hikmet in view of Lee disclose the electronic device of claim 12 (see e.g. claim 12 rejection above).
Hikmet further discloses that the positive electrode and the negative electrode include a substrate surface formed of a metal, a conductive additive, and a binder (see e.g. "The positive electrode (also called cathode) comprises positive electrode active material and a positive current collector." in paragraph [0030] and "The positive electrode material may comprise a lithium intercalation compound, such as LiMn2O4, LiCoO2 or LiNiO2, dispersed in a polymeric binder matrix. The mixture also comprises a powdery conductive material" in paragraph [0031] and "The negative electrode (also called anode) in the above battery basically comprises negative electrode active material for the battery reaction and a negative current collector" in paragraph [0028] and "The negative electrode material is an intercalatable material, preferably carbon, such as amorphous carbon or graphite, dispersed in a polymeric binder matrix." in paragraph [0029] and "The electrode materials can be made by mixing negative or positive active material, conductive material, and binder material" in paragraph [0069] and "Any electronic conductor may be used for the current collector, provided that it does not induce chemical reactions in the battery. Examples of materials for the positive current collector (cathode) are stainless steel, aluminum and nickel. Examples of materials for the negative current collector (anode) are stainless steel, copper and nickel." in paragraph [0033]).
Regarding Claim 16, Hikmet in view of Lee disclose the electronic device of claim 15 (see e.g. claim 15 rejection above).
Hikmet further discloses that the conductive additive includes a fine carbon powder (see e.g. 'The mixture also comprises a powdery conductive material, such as carbon black (e.g. acetylene black, thermal black), graphite powder" in paragraph [0031]; carbon black and graphite powder are both commonly known fine carbon powders), and
wherein the binder is formed by uniformly applying slurry (see e.g. "The paste-like mixture obtained is then provided over the current collector, dried and compressed." in paragraph [0070] and " one of the following coating methods may be generally employed: screen printing, roller coating, doctor blade coating, knife coating, extrusion coating, bar coating, dip coating and squeeze coating."; all of these methods would be capable of forming the binder which is within the paste (slurry) onto the substrate uniformly).
Regarding Claim 19, Hikmet in view of Lee disclose the electronic device of claim 12 (see e.g. claim 12 rejection above).
Hikmet further discloses that the first portion is positioned adjacent to the second portion and is formed in at least a part except for a front end portion and a rear end portion of the negative electrode (see e.g. FIG. 4 and annotated figure below), and
wherein the third portion is positioned adjacent to the fourth portion and is formed in at least a part except for a front end portion and a rear end portion of the positive electrode (see e.g. FIG. 4 and annotated figure below).
Hikmet does not disclose that the plurality of holes are only included in the front end portion and rear end portion of the negative electrode and the front end portion and rear end portion of the positive electrode.
Lee, however, discloses notches (holes) that are only included in the front end portion and rear end portion of the negative electrode and the front end portion and rear end portion of the positive electrode (see e.g. FIG. 7 of Lee).
While Lee discloses notches and the instant application claims holes, from FIGS. 7 and 10 it can be seen that the notches Lee discloses go through the entire uncoated portion of the negative and positive electrodes, forming a passage for the binder. This structure allows the binder to penetrate and combine the first and second separators through the notches, thereby functioning identically as the holes claimed by the instant application. Lee further states that the first and second partitioning films (separators) can contact and bond together through the binder, increasing the contact area and ensuring a strong bond (see e.g. paragraphs [0108] and [0109] and FIG. 10). The use of notches as an alternative to holes would have been an obvious design choice for a person having ordinary skill in the art, seeking to achieve the same bonding effect as the notches disclosed by Lee. The notches serve as a predictable alternate structure to facilitate the application and performance of the binder. See MPEP 2144.04.
Lee further teaches that, in doing so, the bond between separators can be reinforced, providing a structure robust to external stress and thereby improving the safety of the battery and stabilizing performance (see e.g. paragraphs [0007] and [0008] of Lee). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the plurality of holes of Hikmet et al. such that the plurality of holes are only included in the front end portion and rear end portion of the negative electrode and the front end portion and rear end portion of the positive electrode as taught by Lee in order to provide a robust structure to external stress and improve battery safety as suggested by Lee.
(Hikmet, figure 4, annotated for illustration)
Regarding Claim 20, Hikmet in view of Lee disclose the electronic device of claim 12 (see e.g. claim 12 rejection above).
Hikmet does not disclose that an adhesive is applied to at least a part of the plurality of holes formed in the second portion of the negative electrode or the plurality of holes formed in the fourth portion of the positive electrode, and wherein the binder coated on the first separator and the binder coated on the second separator directly combine with the adhesive.
Lee, however, discloses that an adhesive is applied to at least a part of the notches (holes) formed in the second portion of the negative electrode or the notches (holes) formed in the fourth portion of the positive electrode (see e.g. “A first area of the first partitioning film and a second area of the second partitioning film corresponding to the first notch structure may be attached to each other by the adhesives.” in paragraph [0117]). Additionally, Lee discloses that the binder coated on the first partitioning film (first separator) and the binder coated on the second partitioning film (second separator) combine directly with the adhesive (see e.g. “In this state, the first partitioning film and the second partitioning film may be bonded to each other using the adhesives, and the binder component of the first partitioning film and the second partitioning film may also react to enhance the adhesion strength.” in paragraph [0117] and FIG. 10).
Lee further teaches that, in doing so, the bond between separators can be reinforced, providing a structure robust to external stress and thereby improving the safety of the battery and stabilizing performance (see e.g. paragraphs [0007] and [0008] of Lee). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the binder of Hikmet at al. such that an adhesive is applied to at least a part of the notches (holes) formed in the second portion of the negative electrode or the notches (holes) formed in the fourth portion of the positive electrode and the binder combines directly with the adhesive as taught by Lee in order to reinforce the bond between the separators which provides a robust structure that improves the overall safety of the battery as suggested by Lee.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hikmet et al. (US-20010041289-A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (US-20120196165-A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Hikmet discloses the electronic device of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Hikmet further discloses that the negative electrode further includes a negative electrode tab on the second portion not coated with the negative electrode active material (see e.g. part numbers 6a and 6b in FIG. 3),
and wherein the positive electrode further includes a positive electrode tab on the fourth portion not coated with the positive electrode active material (see e.g. part numbers 5a and 5b in FIG. 3).
Hikmet does not disclose that an area of the positive electrode is larger than an area of the negative electrode.
Kim, however, in the same field of endeavor, electronic devices with a roll type structure disclose an area of a positive electrode being larger than an area of a negative electrode (see e.g. "The first separator 131 is disposed between the second negative electrode coating portion 113 and the first positive electrode coating portion 122, and has an area larger than the areas coated with the second negative electrode coating portion 113" in paragraph [0059] of Kim).
Kim also teaches that this type of secondary battery can raise the strength of the case and reduce manufacturing costs (see e.g. paragraphs [0071] and [0072] of Kim). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the positive electrode of Hikmet et al. such that the area of the positive electrode is larger than an area of the negative electrode as taught by Kim in order to increase strength of the case and lower manufacturing costs as suggested by Kim.
Claims 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hikmet et al. (US-20010041289-A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jegal et al. (US-20200119393-A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Hikmet discloses the electronic device of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Hikmet does not disclose that the first separator and the second separator include a separator fabric, a ceramic, and an adhesive binder.
Jegal, however, in the same field of endeavor, rechargeable lithium roll batteries, discloses that the separator, which is interposed between the positive and negative electrodes, is made of a separator fabric, a ceramic, and a binder (see e.g. paragraph [0066] of Jegal).
Jegal further teaches that lithium rechargeable batteries manufactured in the disclosed method, including separator made of a separator fabric, ceramic and a binder, leads to a suppression in the non-uniform production and growth of lithium dendrites as well as increasing charge and discharge efficiency, ultimately leading to an improvement in battery life (see e.g. paragraph [0087] of Jegal). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first and second separator of Hikmet et al. such that it includes a separated fabric, a ceramic, and a binder as taught by Jegal et al. in order to suppress the growth of lithium dendrites as well as increase charge and discharge efficiency as suggested by Jegal.
Regarding Claim 10, Hikmet in view of Jegal discloses the electronic device of claim 7 (see e.g. claim 7 rejection above).
Hikmet does not disclose that the ceramic is applied to one surface and another surface of the separator fabric, and wherein the adhesive binder is coated on an outer surface of the ceramic.
Jegal, however, discloses that the ceramic is applied to the surface of the separator fabric and the binder is coated onto the ceramic (see e.g. paragraph [0066] of Jegal).
Jegal teaches that lithium rechargeable batteries manufactured in the disclosed method, including separator made of a separator fabric, ceramic and a binder, leads to a suppression in the non-uniform production and growth of lithium dendrites as well as increasing charge and discharge efficiency, ultimately leading to an improvement in battery life (see e.g. paragraph [0087] of Jegal). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the separator of Hikmet et al. such that the ceramic is applied to the surface of the separator fabric and the binder is coated onto the ceramic as taught by Jegal et al. in order to suppress the growth of lithium dendrites as well as increase charge and discharge efficiency as suggested by Jegal.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hikmet et al. (US-20010041289-A1) in view of Lee (US-20190355994-A1) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Jegal et al. (US-20200119393-A1).
Regarding Claim 17, Hikmet in view of Lee disclose the electronic device of claim 12 (see e.g. claim 12 rejection above).
Hikmet in view of Lee does not disclose that the first separator and the second separator include a separator fabric, a ceramic, and an adhesive binder.
Jegal, however, in the same field of endeavor, rechargeable lithium roll batteries, discloses that the separator, which is interposed between the positive and negative electrodes, is made of a separator fabric, a ceramic, and a binder (see e.g. paragraph [0066] of Jegal).
Jegal further teaches that lithium rechargeable batteries manufactured in the disclosed method, including separator made of a separator fabric, ceramic and a binder, leads to a suppression in the non-uniform production and growth of lithium dendrites as well as increasing charge and discharge efficiency, ultimately leading to an improvement in battery life (see e.g. paragraph [0087] of Jegal). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first and second separator of Hikmet et al. in view of Lee such that it includes a separated fabric, a ceramic, and a binder as taught by Jegal et al. in order to suppress the growth of lithium dendrites as well as increase charge and discharge efficiency as suggested by Jegal.
Regarding Claim 18, Hikmet in view of Lee ad further in view of Jegal disclose the electronic device of claim 17 (see e.g. claim 17 rejection above).
Hikmet in view of Lee does not disclose that the ceramic is applied to one surface and another surface of the separator fabric, and wherein the adhesive binder is coated on an outer surface of the ceramic.
Jegal, however, discloses that the ceramic is applied to the surface of the separator fabric and the binder is coated onto the ceramic (see e.g. paragraph [0066] of Jegal).
Jegal teaches that lithium rechargeable batteries manufactured in the disclosed method, including separator made of a separator fabric, ceramic and a binder, leads to a suppression in the non-uniform production and growth of lithium dendrites as well as increasing charge and discharge efficiency, ultimately leading to an improvement in battery life (see e.g. paragraph [0087] of Jegal). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the separator of Hikmet et al. such that the ceramic is applied to the surface of the separator fabric and the binder is coated onto the ceramic as taught by Jegal et al. in order to suppress the growth of lithium dendrites as well as increase charge and discharge efficiency as suggested by Jegal.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.J.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/TONG GUO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723