DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 18/019,438. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant and patented claims are drawn to overlapping subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (KR 102076958) (Kim).
In reference to claims 1-6, Kim teaches a compound of formula 4 as shown below (Kim [0153]),
for example, wherein in the formula 4, X1 and X2 are each hydrogen or deuterium, L1 and L2 are each a direct bond, R1 is a heteroaryl group (e.g. a dibenzofuran), L1 is a direct bond, L2 is a direct bond, L5 is phenylene, L6 is phenylene and R5 to R6 are each phenyl (Kim [0011] to [0020]; [0053]; [0047]).
Kim discloses the compound of formula 4 that encompasses the presently claimed compound, including wherein in the formula 4, X1 and X2 are each hydrogen or deuterium, L1 and L2 are each a direct bond, R1 is a heteroaryl group (e.g. a dibenzofuran), L1 is a direct bond, L2 is a direct bond, L5 is phenylene, L6 is phenylene and R5 to R6 are each phenyl. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Kim are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound of formula 4.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the compound of formula 4 to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Kim and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
For Claim 1: Reads on wherein R1 is dibenzofuran and R2 is a biphenyl substituted amine, L1 and L2 are each a direct bond, and X1 and X2 are each hydrogen or deuterium.
For Claim 2: Reads on formula 3.
For Claim 3: Reads on phenyl or dibenzofuran.
For Claim 4: Reads on 10 to 100% deuterium.
For Claim 5: Reads on hydrogen or deuterium.
For Claim 6: Reads on e.g. compound 401.
In reference to claims 7-10, Kim teaches the compound as described above for claim 1 and further teaches that the compound is included in an organic light emitting device comprising an anode, a cathode and a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, a charge generating layer, and wherein the compound is used in the hole transport layer. Kim further teaches that when the compound is used in a device it results in a device with reduced drive voltage, improved light efficiency and lifetime characteristics (Kim [0020] to [0021]).
While Kim does not exemplify a device with this configuration and material included, it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the instant application have prepared a device of Kim with the material of Kim with the anticipation that such a device would have reduced driving voltage, improved light efficiency and lifetime characteristics.
Note that while Kim does not name a layer “hole transport auxiliary layer” the name of the layer does not modify its structure or composition and therefore the layers of Kim meet the limitation of a hole transport auxiliary layer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Concerning the outstanding rejections under 35 USC 103 over Kim et al, Applicant first argues that the rejection mischaracterizes the disclosure of Kim specifically arguing that in Kim R1 is defined as an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 to 20 carbon atoms and does not include heteroaryl groups such as dibenzofuran as relied upon in the rejection.
This argument has been fully considered but not found convincing. Applicant’s attestation is in direct conflict with the the disclosure of Kim. As pointed to in the previously and as shown below in an excerpt from the translation provided with the non-final office action, Kim discloses that R1 can be substituted or unsubstituted heteroaryl and defines that term to include dibenzofuran specifically. It is noted that the syntax of the machine translation is poor and the USPTO does not currently have a translator of the Korean language. However, an examiner fluent in Korean was consulted who confirmed that the text allows R1 to be a heteroaryl group.
Applicant next argues that each of the example materials of Kim’s formula 4 include a substituted or unsubstituted aryl group having 6 to 20 carbon atoms as an R1 group whereas the corresponding aryl group from the Markush groups defined in the instant claim 1 lists a substituted or unsubstituted aryl group having 21 to 60 carbon atoms. This argument has been fully considered but not found convincing for at least thee following reasons. The disclosure of Kim is not limited only to the examples set forth therein. That is, this does not negate a finding of obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 since a preferred embodiment such as an example is not controlling. Rather, all disclosures “including unpreferred embodiments” must be considered. In re Lamberti 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976) citing In re Mills USPQ 196 (CCPA 1972). Applicant has claimed a subset of the genus disclosed by Kim. For example, Kim teaches that R1 can be a C6 to C60 aryl group whereas the instant claims limit the corresponding group to be a C21 to C60 aryl group, a group completely within the disclosure of Kim. In the absence of unexpected results, the selection of different substituents from among those taught by Kim would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the instant application.
Applicant also argues that Kim does not disclose, suggest or illustrate a compound in which R1 is a heteroaryl group, an ordinarily skilled person would have had no guidance let alone a specific reason to make the structural modification that would lead to the compounds of the present invention. This argument is not convincing. As pointed to above herein and before, Kim expressly teaches that R1 is heteroaryl. Further, there is no need for “structural modification” of a compound of Kim as Kim specifically teaches wherein R1 is heteroaryl. Instead, selection from Markush groups is necessary to arrive at any material of Kim, just as arriving at any material of the instant formula 1 requires the selection from Markush groups.
Applicant next argues that the instantly claimed materials give rise to unexpected results. However, the data pointed to is not filed in the specification nor is it filed in the form of a declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 and is therefore not convincing.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786